acnbat's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics, The Comicbook Dispatch Reviews: 69
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Alpha Flight: True North #1

Sep 4, 2019

This one-shot does exactly what it's meant to do. It's inspired me to go out and read more Alpha Flight books. Like all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #1

Oct 23, 2019

Despite a far-fetched story, this issue has pretty much what I want in a comic. Really good art, for the most part, and a FUN story. Throw in a few nice easter eggs that long-time fans will no doubt pick up on, and we've got a good start to this ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.9
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

While the cliffhanger does provide a slight glimmer of hope, it can't save this issue. MJ is a truly great character, but unfortunately doesn't get a chance to shine in her own book. This series should really be called "The Mystery of Mysterio's Missing Self-Esteem". Because it's been ALL about him so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #3

Dec 11, 2019

The Amazing Mary Jane is all together anything but amazing thus far. Three issues in and MJ has done next to nothing. I'm beginning to think this series was done just to sell variant covers to collectors because the story is severely lacking when pertaining to the title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #28

Aug 28, 2019

While Spidey takes a backseat again for most of this issue, it's not all that bad! The twists and turns make this a story I want to see through till the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #33

Nov 7, 2019

Final Thoughts: As I read this utterly completely confusing issue I actually got mad at myself because I'll never get that time back. The fantastic art is the only thing preventing me from giving this issue a negative score. If that's even possible. And to give ASM this low a score really makes me sad. It should be held to a much higher standard and treated as such by the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman (2016) #100

Oct 8, 2020

James Tynion brings the Bat-Family back in a big way! He also sets up several storylines while finishing out the Joker War with a character that doesn't feel like the Joker all that much to this reviewer. The art is absolutely stunning! So while the main villain seemed a bit off, the issue/arc end with the series trending upwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Black Cat (2019) #11

Jun 10, 2020

Final Thoughts: While Black Cat isn't the most well-known character or biggest selling book by any means, it remains one of the best monthly books that Marvel puts out. It's a quick, fun read that has me waiting for issue number 12 very impatiently!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Contagion #4

Oct 23, 2019

In an issue that has obviously been bogged down by the weekly schedule, the highlight is one of Marvel's best street-level heroes getting a chance to shine! Hopefully, this series will end next week with a home run rather than a warning track fly out"..

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Contagion #5

Oct 30, 2019

This finale unfortunately sputters to its end. A series that started off so great couldn't maintain that pace and was only barely kept afloat by a very well written Moon Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Doctor Doom (2019) #1

Oct 9, 2019

Final Thoughts:This is a very thought-provoking issue, in a good way! We've got a major villain, a big disaster, and a major catastrophe that sets Doom up as their perpetrator. Throw in Doom's inner battle with himself, and we've got an awesome number one issue. I can't wait to see how this unfolds!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Doctor Doom (2019) #3

Dec 4, 2019

Many pages of the story went into Mephisto's deal for Doom, all to then be thrown completely away. While this was a slight twist, I preferred Mephisto's deal. I'm still invested enough to see where this goes, but I hope for some more plot development in issue four.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Empyre: X-Men #1

Jul 22, 2020

While the first half of this book is far better than the second, it's still well worth picking up. Whether you're in it for the X-men, Empyre, or both, it's worth your money for sure! And while it does get bogged down in its own wordiness, the good far outweighs the bad. Plus we do get some actual progression in the story as far the X-books. What has felt like being on a runaway train at times now feels like a more focused book. And I'm SO down for that!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Excalibur (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

Coming at this from the perspective of a new reader, which I am, I'm left with too many questions and kind of lost honestly. I really want to like this series. Unfortunately, it's extremely hard to right now. I'm hoping it improves. Quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Excalibur (2019) #3

Dec 4, 2019

My faith has been restored in Tini Howard and in magic! This is my favorite issue so far. The story is told in a way that isn't nearly as confusing to the reader, even while adding more characters to the mix.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Fantastic Four (2018) #15

Oct 2, 2019

Dan Slott changes perspectives and we get a completely different outlook on the Fantastic Four. I think he did a Fantastic job!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Fantastic Four (2018): 4 Yancy Street #1

Aug 28, 2019

This book has a great silver age sensibility to it and that's about all I needed to enjoy it. It's a whole lot of fun and the art fits it all perfectly. If you are looking for something a little less serious in a sea of dark and miserable comics, you should check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four: Antithesis #2

Sep 18, 2020

Final Thoughts:This is all I want in a comic book. A great story and great art! Mark Waid and Neal Adams take some of the most popular cosmic characters in the history of the Marvel universe and create a fresh new story with a classic look and feel. I really wish this wasn't limited to a five-issue mini! I'd be SO down on reading a title like this every single month!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fearless (2019) #2

Aug 21, 2019

Final Thoughts:A solid second issue. While this issue is jam-packed, I wish the X-23 story was longer. Looking forward to seeing how the camp story unfolds next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #12

Sep 18, 2019

Final Thoughts:Tom Taylor continues to build his character-driven book in fine fashion. He once again shows that he truly has the perfect voice for Peter and Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gwen Stacy (2020) #2

Mar 11, 2020

Bucking the trend of a big let down on issue two, Gwen Stacy ups the game with more impressive character study, and storytelling of one of my favorite Marvel characters. I really hope this series sells well enough to stick around past the five scheduled issues. These first two issues have been a breath of fresh air for me. Such great storytelling!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

Final Thoughts: As we get into dive into what I consider the greatest era of Marvel Comics, Mark Waid and Javier Fernandez bring their “A” game yet again in another very informative and beautiful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Journey To Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker - Allegiance #1

Oct 9, 2019

As a prelude of sorts to the Rise of Skywalker, I was expecting an original story. I didn't get that at all. I feel like I'll never get that time back that I spent reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League (2018) #54

Oct 2, 2020

Joshua Williamson proves again that he's up to the task of writing DC's premier team book. He's taken a book with lower-tiered characters and brought it to a level higher than previous writers did with the so-called Trinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Marvel (2020) #1

Mar 4, 2020

Although I prefer one of the stories and art styles far more than the other, I overall had an enjoyable experience. I appreciate the scope and expanse of how Nightmare may be interwoven throughout this whole series. Any Alex Ross art is always a plus too, even if the cover doesn't have anything to do with this current series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #8

Aug 21, 2019

Final Thoughts:Another great Wolverine story highlight this issue. The Spider-Woman story is also very relevant in our social media-obsessed society. As with the previous issue, one of the three stories bring down the overall story, albeit slightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #9

Sep 25, 2019

The main Wolverine story carries this issue. And once again, the lackluster backup story brings down my overall score a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #1

Sep 1, 2020

Final Thoughts: Despite a few major gaffes that keep my score down, this is quite a ride! To get the full story though, trust me and pick up Marvel Zombies Resurrection #1 from October 30, 2019! I can't believe I have to say that but I am because it's really worth reading and make this weeks issue much more enjoyable! Let's hope the mistakes are behind us for the remainder of this short mini!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #2

Sep 26, 2020

While we did get some progression to the story, it was done in a very boring way. The art also seemed hurried. If issue three isn't a marked improvement, I'm out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Marvels Snapshot (2020): X-Men #1

Sep 11, 2020

This issue was like a breath of fresh air to me. A top-notch story that by the end of the issue had me changing my opinion in a big way about Cyclops. Another rarity is an oversized issue that in this reviewer's opinion is well worth the extra dollar! Jay Edidin deserves a shot on a Cyclops ongoing for sure! Come on Marvel, you know you've got more X books in the pipeline!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Morbius (2019) #1

Nov 13, 2019

Although the introduction of the characters could have been handled better, the premise of this story and the artwork have me really looking forward to issue two. Give this a chance, I have a feeling we'll all be pleasantly surprised. At least I hope so!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Morbius (2019) #2

Dec 11, 2019

The spectacular art really set the tone in this series. Unlike a few other books I've reviewed this week, this issue was actually fun to read. I'm thoroughly enjoying reading it and hope the reasonably good sales will justify this series continuing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
New Mutants (2019) #12

Sep 2, 2020

X fans/comic fans need to head to their LCS or favorite digital platform and read this issue. This issue is a perfect example of the foundation of what X-men books were built on. You can thank me later!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
New Mutants (2019) #13

Oct 10, 2020

Ed Brisson ends his tenure as the writer of New Mutants by leaving it in better shape than when he started, in my opinion. He's crafted a story in this issue of the X of Swords event that could swing the tides in the favor of the mutants or it could be the lynchpin that causes it to crash and burn. I hope that Vita Ayala is up to the task of writing New Mutants because he's got some big shoes to fill!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Silver Surfer: Black #3

Aug 14, 2019

Donny Cates and company have outdone themselves yet again as each issue gets better and better! They continue to build the Surfer's mythology while giving a shocker of an ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silver Surfer: Black #4

Sep 11, 2019

We get yet another in-depth view of the complexities that make up the Silver Surfer, and some stellar artwork too. An outstanding issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Silver Surfer: Black #5

Oct 30, 2019

As the issue came to its conclusion, I was left a bit surprised. There is a definite ending, something we don't get in some comics, but not the ending I was expecting at all. I'll be very very curious to see what role the Surfer plays in the upcoming months!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Spider-Man (2019) #1

Sep 18, 2019

Abrams proves he can hang in the "primetime" of the comic world! An absolutely fantastic first issue that will have Spidey fans a buzz for sure! I highly recommend this book!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Spider-Man (2019) #2

Oct 16, 2019

While we do get a few answers, we also just just get more unanswered questions in issue two. However, the art steals the show. Sara Pichelli clearly is in her groove while drawing Spidey. This book also loses points for a typo. It can't happen on a book at this level. Or any book for that matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 2, 2019

This is everything a number 1 should be! A super fun issue that introduces us to the characters, what the problems are, and what the plan is to resolve the problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

If you can get past the fact that Ryan North basically ignores everything Jed MacKay did in issue one, you'll be pleasantly surprised with what basically is Miles lending a hand in an Aunt May one shot. How this issue matters in the Spider-Zero/Annie May story I have absolutely no idea. Hopefully it'll be explained by the end of the mini-series. I'd give this a much higher score if it was just a one shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Spider-Verse (2019) #3

Dec 11, 2019

While the actual story in this issue isn't bad at all, I'm growing increasingly frustrated in lack of seeing or mentioning who were to be the main focal points of this entire series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Woman (2020) #2

Jul 16, 2020

While I'm thrilled there's a new Spider-Woman series, perhaps my expectations were set too high. This book isn't terrible by any means but I want it to be great!! My hope is that after we get some stability with release schedules and Karla settles in, that this book will find it's groove.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Spider-Woman (2020) #4

Sep 18, 2020

This book continues to be a wild ride and has stayed true to itself thus far, and I'm totally fine with that. I love the recaps/editors notes that Karla uses. It adds depth to the story. And after this month's cliffhanger, I'm really curious to see what Karla has up her sleeve in issue 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Star Wars (2014) #71

Sep 6, 2019

In reviewing my first Star Wars comic I'm immediately thrown into the Star Wars Universe. It may not all make complete sense to me now, but I want to read and review more so that it does!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Star Wars (2014) #72

Oct 2, 2019

I've become even more immersed in the Star Wars universe, and despite a bit of lackluster art, I'm all in on this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Star Wars (2014) #73

Oct 23, 2019

Unless you're a die-hard fan of this series you'd be better off to skip this issue. Rather than being allowed to end well, this issue is clearly rushed as the "next" relaunch seems more important even though it doesn't start until January. What a shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Star Wars (2014) #74

Nov 13, 2019

Final Thoughts: For this reviewer, the story trumps all. And despite some art issues, the story rebounded nicely with a couple of very clever things that move the story forward. While all eyes are seemingly on the reboot, I'm holding out hope for a nice series finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Star Wars (2014) #75

Nov 20, 2019

After giving some previous issues some pretty low scores, I couldn't be happier with how this series ended. Greg Pak took a big chance with Star Wars canon and it worked wonderfully!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Star Wars (2020) #1

Jan 2, 2020

Despite a few minor issues in how I may have chosen to interpret this issue, Charles Soule has given us a fine introduction into this period of Star Wars history. It takes a lot of guts to write this period of Star Wars history, so I give him a lot of credit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Star Wars (2020) #3

Feb 26, 2020

Charles Soule is becoming one of my favorite writers as he continues to surprise me with another great issue of Star Wars! No let down at all as far as I'm concerned. Soule clearly is a fan and takes pride and care in filling in this huge gap in the Star Wars universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Star Wars (2020) #4

Mar 18, 2020

This shared Star Wars universe that all the Star Wars books are in is quickly shaping up to be really good. All the books are off to really good starts, led here rightly so, by the flagship book. Do yourself a favor and check one or all of them out. I can't recommend them enough if you're a Star Wars fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Star Wars (2020) #6

Sep 11, 2020

The Star Wars flagship book does exactly as it should. It's leading the way for this rebooted comic line in both its writing and art. So, if you're not sure which of the four Star Wars books to get, you can't go wrong with this, the main book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars (2020) #7

Oct 2, 2020

The Star Wars flagship title also continues to set the standard for all Star Wars books as far as top-notch stories! It continues to be one of my favorite books month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #1

Mar 10, 2020

As with the current Star Wars, and Vader comic, Bounty Hunters takes a huge gamble/risk in tackling the period of time that starts literally as soon as The Empire Strikes Back ends. Ethan Sacks does a masterful job of introducing our cast while planting the seeds of what looks to be a thrilling story. Why can't we get a double ship on the Star Wars books?!?!?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #2

Mar 11, 2020

Greg Pak keeps the momentum going and throws in yet another surprise. Our revenge/vengeance quest has added another layer of depth and intrigue. This was a real page-turner!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #3

Jul 29, 2020

Issue three of Darth Vader is my favorite issue of this series thus far. That's quite an accomplishment considering the long period of time between issues. While Pak could have stayed in the vastness of Star Wars history, he didn't. He picks up the story and moves it along with some familiar faces, vehicles, and locations for sure, but what he's added makes this an even better Star Wars experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #5

Sep 11, 2020

While there are elements of this issue that are much too similar to previous ones, we do get some progression to the story, albeit with not one, but two shocking cliffhangers. One of which made this reviewer a bit sad. This series continues to impress with a solid study of one of the most popular villains in the history of, well anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #1

May 26, 2020

Final Thoughts: Alyssa Wong has done a pretty darn good job of crafting a solo series that also perfectly fits in the very tight time frame in which it's set. Star Wars fans are some of the most finicky, jaded fans in all of fandom, but I'd be surprised if this debut gets very many complaints at all! As with all the other recently rebooted Star Wars books, I'm greatly looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #2

Jul 22, 2020

This issue and series are just plain fun. It's a perfect example of why I love comics. It's an escape to another world. I don't have to do any research to figure out what I've read. I can just sit down, read an issue, and pretend for just a little while at least that I'm in a galaxy far, far away! All the Star Wars books are really worth checking out too!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #3

Aug 26, 2020

While not without some flaws, I still am getting far more enjoyment from Dr. Aphra than I am some of the major books that Marvel is putting out. Yes, Empyre, I'm looking at you".. And while this issue may not as good as issue two, there's still plenty to enjoy. I'm still "all in" with this series. Check it out "folks". I think you'll enjoy it!!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Strikeforce (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

While the premise of the team and the story are intriguing, the execution of this debut issue of this series is extremely lacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Strikeforce (2019) #2

Oct 23, 2019

Now This what I was hoping for in a Strikeforce series! After a very slow start, issue two really hits the mark! Great character moments, with Jessica Drew stealing the show!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sword Master (2019) #2

Aug 14, 2019

Issue two of Sword Master continues to build on the previous issue while throwing in a few BIG surprises. A solid start to an ongoing series. Looking forward to issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sword Master (2019) #3

Sep 11, 2019

We get very little in the progression of both stories, but the art by Gunji ALMOST makes up for it. This book seems to be struggling with finding it's groove.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Sword Master (2019) #4

Oct 2, 2019

This issue really seems to have hit its's stride. We get advancement to each story, some genuinely funny moments, all while maintaining the ever-present great art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Thanos (2019) #5

Aug 28, 2019

With one issue left we finally get Thanos being his own true self. I'm curious to see how Magus will factor in the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
X-Factor (2020) #3

Sep 9, 2020

Final Thoughts: There's a whole lot going on here. Unfortunately not much is all that good. I'll stick with this through the first arc, and hope that once this Mojoworld story ends that the nonsense will end too. But if I don't see a big improvement, very soon, X-Factor will be the first X-book I drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Factor (2020) #4

Sep 26, 2020

Final Thoughts: Leigh Williams has upped her game and written what will be a massive game-changer in the lives of mutants going forward. Actions now have actual meaningful and lasting consequences. And Leigh has also cemented in my mind what many already think. That being, who the biggest threat to mutants really is…

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More