Matt Fischer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 17
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Ascender #3

Jul 2, 2019

Lemire is obviously giving us another epic. I cannot wait for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #4

Jul 29, 2019

This book so far has had 4 issues that they have hit out of the park. PLEASE KEEP READING THIS. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #73

Jun 26, 2019

Batman 73 is a quick trot through the desert, combined with singing, a coffin, and what could be Thomas Waynes endgame. If only the issue was as compelling as the real world troubles of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #77

Aug 25, 2019

8 issues (kind of) left to go in Tom Kings run and we are ramping up. These two week breaks are killing me like never before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Birthright #37

Jul 14, 2019

This book has never faltered, even during its side stories. 37 issues in and it still feels like we have an extremely long way to go. Thats necessarily not a bad thing. When a book is this well written and this gorgeous, I welcome the many issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice! #1

Jul 14, 2019

There is only one thing wrong with this issueits not longer. Seriously, I read through this issue and absorbed everything in about ten minutes. Give me more!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal (2019) #7

Aug 25, 2019

If Sean Phillips, Jim Lee, Jeff Lemire, and Matt Kindt, could just draw all my books, Id be so happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #39

Jul 2, 2019

This book is a necessity every time it comes out. If you're not reading this, your just plain crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomsday Clock #11

Sep 8, 2019

Superman finally gets up and puts his costume on. He flies to Washington to stop the super-villains that Wonder Woman has been valiantly trying to fight off and of course stops everyone in their tracks. As much as Batman scares people, Superman has the power to instill over-whelming terror into super villains. The issue ends as Dr. Manhattan and Superman stare at each other Which wasnt what I thought was going to happen. I really thought wed end the issue on Manhattans vision of Superman running at him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 14, 2019

Back to my rant. The idea of each force getting their own little storyline is fine, but now that has been going on since issue 50 (if Im not mistaken.) Barry is simply not progressing (yes, I know its comics and even if he does progress, a reboot will kick in and hell start all over). For years Barry Allen was a shining example of making good choices and even when he made bad ones, he tried his best to fix them. All Barry keeps doing is pushing Iris and Wallace (new Wally) away, apologizing for it, and then doing it again. Add to the fact that now we are having a 5- issue flashback just slows the story down more. Now, I know Barry has to remember something important and that some guy in a cloak made him go on this little journey, but we need some closure to all of this and soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #73

Jul 5, 2019

The Flash #73 is almost back on track...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #75

Jul 29, 2019

Oh and the guy who blasted Barry into his memory reviving coma is named Steadfast, who is the avatar of the Still Force who was stuck in it until Barry broke the barrier. Thats all we get at least for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #76

Sep 1, 2019

Barry Allen is back I for one, finally feel like this book is gaining some type of momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #26

Jun 25, 2019

This is a strong 4 out of 5. If there was just a bit more moving the story along, it would be another 5 for Snyder, but having the chance to see all these heroes together and acting like friends again is something that DC has been lacking in many titles for a long, long, time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: Risen #2

Jul 29, 2019

If this book had a regular schedule, its be 5 stars. With the way the story has progressed however, it takes it down a full star.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #300

Sep 8, 2019

(Now if we could only get Jim Lees original Wildc.a.t.s back. No offense Mr. Ellis.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2018) #12

Jun 14, 2019

While this issue is a tad maudlin, the conversation does way it down somewhat, Bendiss hot streak on Superman continues. The art is always fantastic and the story is finally reaching a conclusion. I should mention that Clark has the funniest line in a comic book I read in months. I wont repeat it here but lets just say that as much as Clark loves Lois, he also fears her more than maybe even Doomsday. I cant wait for the next issue. Now if only Action Comics could produce the same reaction from me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More