Matt Fischer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 36
7.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Ascender #3

Jul 2, 2019

Lemire is obviously giving us another epic. I cannot wait for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #4

Jul 29, 2019

This book so far has had 4 issues that they have hit out of the park. PLEASE KEEP READING THIS. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #5

Sep 19, 2019

This story is barely getting started. The whole universe is pen for world-building and we have yet to really glimpse the true power of magic God I hope the next issue comes soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #73

Jun 26, 2019

Batman 73 is a quick trot through the desert, combined with singing, a coffin, and what could be Thomas Waynes endgame. If only the issue was as compelling as the real world troubles of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #77

Aug 25, 2019

8 issues (kind of) left to go in Tom Kings run and we are ramping up. These two week breaks are killing me like never before.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #78

Sep 19, 2019

Everything is too on the nose. King is going for subtext, but its just too apparent. The only really worthwhile bit of info we got is that Bruce never blamed Selina for leaving, which took her by surprise as well as me. Now that they are finally back together, lets take down Bane. Please. 7 issues to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #79

Sep 21, 2019

A happy Bruce? A reinvigorated love? Bane is sooooooooo gonna get it. But it still remains to be seen what happens when Bruce finds out that Alfred is dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #80

Oct 24, 2019

Bane is in a whole heap of trouble. What the villains just cant seem to grasp is that Batman may be flesh and blood, he is not a man. He is a force, an idea, and he wont stop. EVER!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #81

Oct 24, 2019

As much as I complained about Batgod in this issue, I freaking love it. Its the Batman I grew up with and hes back. God I cant wait for Bruce to beat his father senseless.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman (2016) #82

Nov 13, 2019

I have defended Tom King through 82 issues of Batman. Regardless of the wedding (which I just knew wasnt going to happen) and Dick losing his memory (not his decision) I stuck by him. I stuck by him after Alfred died, and I even defended his ridiculous reason Bruce hit Tim that we got last issue. But this finally broke the straw clean in half. This was a fight that built up for almost 4 years. Ever since the first issue where we saw Bane standing in the shadows of the rooftop watching Bruce save that plane full of people, this fight has been about the two of them. Bane deserved his comeuppance. We were denied that and that is infuriating.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman (2016) #83

Dec 4, 2019

Tom King had me for 81 issues, but now I'm just ready for this to be over.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #84

Dec 5, 2019

This issue wasnt nearly as bad as the past 2, but it still doesnt crack adequate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Birthright #37

Jul 14, 2019

This book has never faltered, even during its side stories. 37 issues in and it still feels like we have an extremely long way to go. Thats necessarily not a bad thing. When a book is this well written and this gorgeous, I welcome the many issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice! #1

Jul 14, 2019

There is only one thing wrong with this issueits not longer. Seriously, I read through this issue and absorbed everything in about ten minutes. Give me more!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer: Age of Doom #12

Sep 30, 2019

The day is saved and everybody gets a happy ending. The characterization throughout these books is tremendous, with well thought out characters and a hell of a world that Jeff Lemire built. Its not the end (I think the Quantum League is still going on), but I have a feeling its the end for these characters (not counting Hammer.) Its been a wonderful ride and this book definitely gets 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Science #43

Sep 30, 2019

Grant McKay beat his personal demons. He gave up his intelligence. He even managed to save reality once or twice. With all of his faults, he strove to be a better man. To deny him a happy ending is a cheap shot Mr. Remender. After 42 issues of amazing work, you didnt stick the landing (at least in my opinion.)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal (2019) #7

Aug 25, 2019

If Sean Phillips, Jim Lee, Jeff Lemire, and Matt Kindt, could just draw all my books, Id be so happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #39

Jul 2, 2019

This book is a necessity every time it comes out. If you're not reading this, your just plain crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomsday Clock #11

Sep 8, 2019

Superman finally gets up and puts his costume on. He flies to Washington to stop the super-villains that Wonder Woman has been valiantly trying to fight off and of course stops everyone in their tracks. As much as Batman scares people, Superman has the power to instill over-whelming terror into super villains. The issue ends as Dr. Manhattan and Superman stare at each other Which wasnt what I thought was going to happen. I really thought wed end the issue on Manhattans vision of Superman running at him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 14, 2019

Back to my rant. The idea of each force getting their own little storyline is fine, but now that has been going on since issue 50 (if Im not mistaken.) Barry is simply not progressing (yes, I know its comics and even if he does progress, a reboot will kick in and hell start all over). For years Barry Allen was a shining example of making good choices and even when he made bad ones, he tried his best to fix them. All Barry keeps doing is pushing Iris and Wallace (new Wally) away, apologizing for it, and then doing it again. Add to the fact that now we are having a 5- issue flashback just slows the story down more. Now, I know Barry has to remember something important and that some guy in a cloak made him go on this little journey, but we need some closure to all of this and soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #73

Jul 5, 2019

The Flash #73 is almost back on track...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #75

Jul 29, 2019

Oh and the guy who blasted Barry into his memory reviving coma is named Steadfast, who is the avatar of the Still Force who was stuck in it until Barry broke the barrier. Thats all we get at least for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #76

Sep 1, 2019

Barry Allen is back I for one, finally feel like this book is gaining some type of momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #79

Sep 30, 2019

A lot stuff happens in this issue, but the plot barely inches forward. Can we PLEASE just get to the forces dying?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash (2016) #80

Oct 19, 2019

Flash is almost at a dead stop. It takes a very slow step forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #81

Nov 13, 2019

This issue gave us a nice bow on top of the final Zoom package and FINALLY CONCLUDES the force powers storyline. It went on for WAY too long, but the story has made sudden leaps and bounds ahead. Im excited for the Flash once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Flash Forward (2019) #1

Sep 19, 2019

To say that this issue surprised me would be a fair statement. Its not astounding by any means but Lobdell actually created something average. Im suitably impressed. The issue lagged with how much Wally was moping and I hope to god that lessens as we go on. Im cautiously optimistic about the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #26

Jun 25, 2019

This is a strong 4 out of 5. If there was just a bit more moving the story along, it would be another 5 for Snyder, but having the chance to see all these heroes together and acting like friends again is something that DC has been lacking in many titles for a long, long, time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 30, 2019

Snyders story is barely half done, so we have quite a long way to go before the heroes win. Im more intrigued with what is going on with the Society, but I guess thatll have to wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #34

Nov 13, 2019

I knew that Hawkgirl was going to screw everything up. Ever since Jonn had died, shes been a damn mess. She gave into rage, which in this story at least, is EVIL! The whole story is just totally up-ended now. We finally have reached the end of the first of three chapters and now its time for darkness to reign. Once again, my only nitpick is that the pages seem cluttered.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #35

Dec 4, 2019

Snyder still has 4 more issues to give this some real emotional weight. I have faith in my comics that he can do it. Now if youll excuse me, I have to go cry over the death of Superior Spider-man.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #36

Dec 4, 2019

I actually really loved this issue. As has been my complaint of numerous issues of this run the page count puts the art at a deficit. The scene where the heroes assembled looked so tiny with just a lot of outlines. If it had a page (or dare I say two) to breathe, the art would have been phenomenal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #37

Dec 5, 2019

Heres the major problem: Im still not connected to this like I should be. When the heroes fight the villains, Im invested, but I just couldnt care less about Perpetua. We all know these worlds are coming back. Plus, with just two issues to go in this story (and Snyders run), there is a lot of stuff we still have to get to. Heres hoping issue 39 is a double-sized issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: Risen #2

Jul 29, 2019

If this book had a regular schedule, its be 5 stars. With the way the story has progressed however, it takes it down a full star.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #300

Sep 8, 2019

(Now if we could only get Jim Lees original Wildc.a.t.s back. No offense Mr. Ellis.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2018) #12

Jun 14, 2019

While this issue is a tad maudlin, the conversation does way it down somewhat, Bendiss hot streak on Superman continues. The art is always fantastic and the story is finally reaching a conclusion. I should mention that Clark has the funniest line in a comic book I read in months. I wont repeat it here but lets just say that as much as Clark loves Lois, he also fears her more than maybe even Doomsday. I cant wait for the next issue. Now if only Action Comics could produce the same reaction from me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More