William J. Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 200
9.3Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #1010

Apr 24, 2019

I had my doubts about the Bendis takeover. But the Leviathan arc is impressing me, and I'm really wanting more Lois and Clark as reporter-heroes. I have a feeling we'll get it. Also, I'm stoked to see the final showdown between Superman and Leviathan, or Clark and Leviathan. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1012

Jun 26, 2019

Action Comics #1012 brings Leviathan out front and opens up the city of Metropolis to more than just background cannon fodder. Bendis is bringing his dialogue prowess to full bore in this series and things are pacing nicely to meet up with the Leviathan miniseries coming soon to plague the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1013

Jul 24, 2019

Action Comics #1013 is a rock-solid issue. Bendis is a boon to this book. Kudranski, Anderson and Sharpe Bring every panel to vibrant life. Every aspect of the book is great reading with wonderful visuals. This issue is not a jumping on point for new readers by far. However, it is part of a stellar series fans should add to their comic inbox.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1014

Aug 28, 2019

This is the best issue thus far of the run and I am loving this series more and more every month. Action Comics #1014 has some of the best pacing, storytelling, and dialogue in a Superman comic as well as a phenomenal supporting cast of characters, both good and bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1015

Sep 25, 2019

Additionally, the art complements the story, this time in a big way. Kudranski has Naomi nailed down and as typical in this series, he has a lot to draw. There is a lot of action sequences and none of them disappoint. Kudranski excels at creating dynamic panels with superhero extras coming in and out and excellent focus on the various character's facial expressions. Anderson illuminates this issue with bright yellow lights, horrific pink and magenta, and some very richly inked panels. Action Comics is a good series and truly makes Superman relatable and an exciting read. There's a lot going on but it never feels as if a lot has been missed and the creative staff team great care with every aspect of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1016

Oct 23, 2019

This issue packed in a lot, and the entire series does a lot with the Superman mythos that's well worth investing in. Plots are converging, and so this is a great time to jump into the happenings in Metropolis.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1017

Nov 27, 2019

This is a great issue in a wonderful series. Leviathan rocked Superman and Metropolis. Lex Luthor ruined what's left of our hero and his city. Leone has gone public to further her own ends. The Man of Steel is outflanked. His enemies have seized the day. But, this story is far from over, thankfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics (2016) #1018

Dec 25, 2019

Action Comics #1018 delivers a strong issue. Justice League issues and other books might be required reading to gain clarity on what's happening here, but such is the burden of crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1019

Jan 29, 2020

This issue is a better backstory than Action Comics #1018 as it brought Leviathan into the fold where he first became a name in the DC Universe. Whatever his plans may be, and how much of Metropolis will be left standing, is going to keep this book very interesting for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2016) #1021

Mar 25, 2020

Romita Jr., Janson, Anderson, and Sharpe keep giving readers a dynamic book in terms of visuals and wording. There is no problem with art, dialogue pacing or plot twists. This issue offers a better level of animosity between Superman and Luthor, and other characters than has been done in some time. It leaves enough opening for further threads to be left dangling, and that's a solid plus.I only wish it went out, not bigger, but more complex, considering all it brought tumbling down.'Metropolis Doom' is over. It will be fun seeing how the city rebuilds, how the Man of Steel handles any fallout, and how villains might exploit it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1048

Oct 25, 2022

I loved both of these tales. This issue is part three of the main plot, so rush to your comic shop and snag issues #1046 and #1047.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1049

Nov 22, 2022

Action Comics #1049 is a testament to Superman's prowess. But more to the point, it's a treatise on what makes this hero resonate, not to mention a statement on what the recent film version of the character lacked. His qualities are infectious, showing readers that positive influence can spread outward. This issue is more than just eye candy. It's a reaffirmation of how to be a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1050

Dec 27, 2022

If you're looking for classic superhero action, this book is it. If you want a supervillain playing an A-list long game, get this. If you love Superman lore, Metallo, good writing, varied and great art, four-color visuals, streamlined lettering, amazing setups, solid characterizations, and are seeking to get hyped about comics for 2023? Action Comics #1050. Superman is far from boring. He's the summation of heroism, and this book and this team get him. But hot dang, they also really get his oldest, baddest foe, too. This issue feels old school but hits like fresh air.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1051

Jan 24, 2023

Action Comics #1051 has a lot to offer a comic book fan. You get an entire family of characters interacting with one another, a narration that keeps Lois relevant, exciting action enough to keep the House of El busy, previous plots coming together, a cool backstory for Jon Kent, and a great new start for Power Girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1052

Feb 28, 2023

You get three flawless stories in one classic comic book, folks. If you still believe that Superman is dull and his adventures can't challenge him, please get out of the 80s and step into the current run of Action Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1053

Mar 28, 2023

Three epic stories, not one is lacking. Each is drawing from the well of the Superman mythos while having a blast expanding it. The writing is top-tier from three brilliant writers in league with some of the brightest stars in the universe of comic book art, coloring, and lettering.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1054

Apr 25, 2023

Action Comics #1054 is your stop for heroism. This is a triple threat loaded with fabulous art, neat use of powers, familial conflict, moral struggles, and the neverending battle for narrative and character progress. this is the best Superman since before the New 52. Dont let more powers or an increase in Super characters dissuade you. Do you want great action, great heroes, and bad villains? Americas first superhero comic is your ground zero, my friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1055

May 23, 2023

You can't go wrong with Action Comics #1055. Folks are starting to learn what fans already know. Superman is awesome, as is his supporting cast and the city he lives in. Grab this issue and get three great tales for the price of one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1056

Jun 27, 2023

Action Comics #1056 killed it in every way. It built up three times over what came before, never lost traction or focus, and delivered on characterization. We're getting treated to a more empathic Superman that's seemingly been absent for a while and watching Steel reach for new heights

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 12, 2019

If you love old style stories, robots, sci-fi and thinking heroes, pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #124

Jun 7, 2022

Batman #124 is a wonderful issue that captures the essence of Batman, and with this, I hope Williamson returns to the title one day. And the added peek into what lies ahead for Poison Ivy is too good to miss. Writing and art are excellent, and you should not pass over this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #125

Jul 5, 2022

They hit the ground running at cheetah speed and delivered bloody, dark, bleak tales of good old vampiric Gotham City while keeping in the superhero fluff and never skipping a beat. Every panel is breathtaking, the words are sharp, emotional, and sometimes even mean. But it's all core Batman. To heck with a five. This is worth ten pale, maddened stars of justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #126

Aug 2, 2022

Batman #126 is superb in the stacked talent and the two great stories it puts forward. While I doubt it will end in a few months with the end of Batman, it does leave me wondering what will be left of him once all is said and done, and what status will Catwoman have in the Underworld is equally appealing. I highly recommend this issue because its really going places.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #127

Sep 6, 2022

Batman #127, all in all, this issue was fantastic dark fun that rolls out a blockbuster story. I highly recommend it. Grab it. Enjoy its grim modern energy lovingly mixed in a pot of Silver Age manic sunshine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #128

Sep 27, 2022

Batman #128 is a win-win. You can't go wrong; even if you hate Batman, the stories within are too good to miss if you love comics. Throw on your costume and go get this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #129

Nov 1, 2022

Batman #129 is the continuation of one of the wildest Bat tales in some time, plus a new arc is one of its most disturbing that is making me appreciate Bruce Wayne...and make me more determined he needs to retire and live in peace. With Catwoman. Anyway, this is an amazing issue you should read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #130

Nov 30, 2022

Batman #130 is a dual hit finale to two supernova stories. If you want one that features a tour de force of script, characterization, art, coloring, inks, and lettering, rush back to your comic shop. Purchase Batman #125-130. Just binge-read the whole thing. I've rarely seen a better-written Batman, Tim Drake, and Failsafe, though it gets less and less to say near the end, is chilling in behavior from the jump. I never thought we'd see Zur-En-Arrh again, but considering how he was handled twice brought richness to the Batman mythos. No wrong done here. A crossover-level event, but done in-house

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #132

Feb 7, 2023

Batman #132 is an excellent comic with two tales about adapting to strange environments. My one gripe is Batman may have to learn a lesson, which means the Failsafe storyline was really just put on hold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #133

Mar 7, 2023

But for you fans out there, this is an issue worth getting for the overall story, the settings, great new takes on established villains, and lovely visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #134

Apr 4, 2023

Both of these stories really hit emotional high notes at their ends. I now believe in the first story all over again. I anxiously await the Batman and Robin reunion that will inevitably break me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #135

May 2, 2023

Batman #135 is a winner. This is comics. Justice, combat, and ridiculous storytelling with a spoonful of heart to stab you in the gut.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #136

Jun 6, 2023

Batman #136 is a blast, an emotional punch in the heart, and a jolting revelation that, even when the drama ends, it's really only just beginning to sink in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) Annual: 2022

May 31, 2022

Batman 2022 Annual #1 is a fun roller coaster that shows heroes adapting to change but still managing to make a difference. It's well worth your time, and we need more Batman, Inc. in the lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blade Runner: 2019 #1

Jul 10, 2019

Blade Runner: 2019 #1 is a fantastic comic to expand the world of the films. Ash is a perfect introductory character to this world and the story makes for a good crime drama that is a must-read for anyone who enjoys police procedurals. Titan Comics put their best foot forward representing this universe with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #10

Apr 10, 2019

Overall, Catwoman #10 moved the story along and gives readers what you want from Selina Kyle. Theft, style, grimy streets, criminality, and action. I felt like the execution of it could have been more streamlined, but it doesn't degrade the book as a whole. I'm curious to see how the war against Penguin ends up. I love this comic, as it's one of the rare times I root for cats. Whether or not you are a fan of the Bat Family of titles, Catwoman is money well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #11

May 8, 2019

The art is a tag team event this month between Blanco and Petrus and it is very well done. The art is almost seamless and keeps up the gritty style. The chase and acrobatics pages are spectacular. Selina is elegant and a powerhouse all in one. This tag team effort gets complemented by the coloring of Kalisz who mutes much of the hues in the dark night of the chase. He contrasts this by offering an open brightness in the daytime talk among the Creel brood. Saida Temofonte manages the heavy dialogue scenes well. It would be easy to crowd up word balloons and drown out the art but she handles it expertly. She also makes sound effects in a smaller font size, which I tend to prefer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
City Boy (2023) #1

May 23, 2023

I encourage you to try this title. Especially if you're young and looking for someone closer to your age, are an Asian comic fan looking for relatable characters, a 'regular Joe' wanting to explore a new corner of the DCU, or maybe if you like Spider-Man style angsty teens with powers. If any of these fit, City Boy #1 is your ticket to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
City Boy (2023) #2

Jun 27, 2023

City Boy #2 continues to demonstrate the strengths of the series through the nods to anime, the struggle Cameron is going through, and the intimidating stakes at play. City Boy is unleashed this time, and that sort of power attracts attention. And boy, does he get it big time by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
City Boy (2023) #3

Aug 1, 2023

There's a lot to love in City Boy #3 with this kid's struggles, and I can't wait to see more and where he'll go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coda #8

Jan 2, 2019

A great melding of plotting, pacing and knowing when to let the art shine big and when to tell the tale.Comic books are not for kids only and are just as much eyeball feasts as they are food for thought.This is great work by a fine ensemble of comic book folk. It is not average D&D fantasy or even average comics. It's well worth it.Coda #8 is out in comic book stores everywhere and online retailers January 2, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crowded #6

Jan 9, 2019

For those on the hunt for titles with LGBTQ+ characters, grab this one. It offers representation in its main character Vita, who daring and bold in her driving and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyber Force (2018) #9

Mar 16, 2019

This is a tight story, moving a a fine clip towards an inevitable showdown. I have no clue how Stryker can possibly free himself, his daughter and the others from Cyberdata's nefarious grip, but I'm eager to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1045

Nov 23, 2021

Detective Comics #1045 is two grim tales for the price of one. The first is dramatic, tense, and a superb character study of two driven individuals at odds. The second is a straightforward plot of a hero searching for answers and the foulness found along the way. Both are great and some of the best things I've read during this often anticlimactic standoff known as Fear State.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1046

Dec 28, 2021

Detective Comics #1046 ended 2021 by saying goodbye to the over-the-top stories that dominated the Batman line. It laid out the future in an accessible way and I look forward to 'Shadow of the Bat.'

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1047

Jan 4, 2022

Detective Comics #1047 won me over. I already was a fan of this series when I began reviewing it two months ago, but this issue struck all the right notes and improved on already sound quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1048

Jan 11, 2022

In short, this storyline is selling a post-Arkham Asylum Gotham very well. With the undercover operation and characters old and new, this issue reveals just enough to leave us wanting more, and that's a key to great mystery and drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1049

Jan 18, 2022

It is creepy good storytelling accented by Blanco's strong art, Bellaire's moody colors, and Leigh's expert lettering. And I think Detective Comics has gone into permanent Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1050

Jan 25, 2022

This issue is great for its character portrayal of Huntress and every aspect of the story. Jump in if you haven't yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1051

Feb 1, 2022

I hope I'm wrong, but it'll be a shame when this title goes back to monthly and has Batman in it again. Without him and the weekly double stories, Detective Comics is a whizbang title that makes modern Gotham CIty more ghoulish than it's ever been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1052

Feb 8, 2022

We're at the halfway point now, and I hope the Family saves the day and doesn't need to be bailed out by Batman's return, as DC loves to rewind the clock. Let Bats be a global hero. Leave Gotham for Batwoman and the Fam.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1053

Feb 15, 2022

Detective Comics #1053 is a bona fide blast from start to finish. I've never been more interested in Gotham and its quirky characters, even the common ones who turn the gears.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1054

Feb 22, 2022

This issue electrified me. So much happened. The breathtaking part is that there are still three more issues before the conclusion. Great job by everyone involved, and once again, next Tuesday can't get here fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1055

Mar 1, 2022

Detective Comics #1055 shines in the darkness of the stories it puts on display. The drama can still get more heated, surprisingly, as we get right near the finales. If you haven't already, get this issue and go back to #1047 and work our way up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1056

Mar 8, 2022

This issue features two amazing tales in one comic that should have Batfans all over it. This city has an incredible double dose of characterization and forward progression and an embarrassment of riches storywise. If you haven't already, get this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1057

Mar 15, 2022

I want both of these teams to stay in this book for years to come. Buy this! It's too good to miss, y'all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1058

Mar 22, 2022

If you never read these stories, get on it. If you can't spare the time to track down all twelve issues, make a mental note to get the inevitable trade when it releases. This is expert Gotham storytelling with a massive cast that never makes either tale feel jumbled or lose focus.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1059

Apr 26, 2022

I am even more a fan of this book now and can't wait for the next issue. I know Batman is overrated these days, but don't let it stop you from reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1060

May 25, 2022

There's too much to love about this issue, and I can't say enough about it. I'm a committed Gotham Girl fan now, thanks to Grace, and have been reunited in my old love for Gotham, Batman, and Bruce Wayne, thanks to Tamaki and Shammas. Good gosh, buy this. Buy several, pass them out, and spread the word.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1061

Jun 28, 2022

I will miss this book being done the way it has. Thankfully, you can reread each issue and buy the trades when they come out. But by gosh, they knocked this out of the park, and the ending defined the greatness and the sorrow that Batman and his city represent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1062

Jul 26, 2022

Detective Comics #1062 is a must for Batman fans. It brings all the modern gothic aesthetics, two poignant mysteries, and enigmatic characterization all with the grittiness you should expect in Gotham City.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1063

Aug 23, 2022

If you haven't gotten into this book yet, allow these stories to motivate you. They are beautifully penned and rendered, and I pray the payoffs for both are as meaningful as the road to their respective ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1064

Sep 27, 2022

Detective Comics #1064 is a golden modern Gothic adventure. Batman gets way too many books, but this one is worth it. Get it, get extra copies, and surprise people with them who walk home at night. This is excellent. If you haven't started this yet, go back to issue #1062 and inhale the vibe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1065

Oct 25, 2022

Detective Comics #1065 is page after page of enjoyable reading. Get a hold of this storyline and catch up if you haven't read it yet! It's twice the fire every thirty days or so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1066

Nov 22, 2022

I love the breakdowns taking place. Characters are disintegrating as they try to exist in whatever Gotham is about to become. It seems, for now, like only the Orghams can own contentment. Batman is behind the proverbial eightball. Two-Face is a pawn without and within. Gordon is just skirting by. And we haven't even gotten to the terror the city's new villain family will release. The air of change and its stressful weight is well handled in this book. I love these storylines and hope they continue to sizzle on every new page to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1067

Dec 27, 2022

Gotham lives and breathes as it spasms into whatever the future holds. I can't wait to see what Barbatos will mean for Batman and the Orghams and what Two-Face and Freeze might do next. So many good moving pieces. Find the space to add this to your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1068

Jan 24, 2023

Detective Comics #1068 is another journey into the Dante's Inferno called Gotham. Or perhaps it's best to call it Orgham's Inferno, for it is definitely dragging Batman and its citizens into a new level of darkness just when they were seeing a light at the end of the subway tunnel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1069

Feb 28, 2023

Detective Comics #1069 is platinum superhero storytelling twice over. This double team has renewed my love of Gotham City and its madhouse castrock on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1070

Mar 28, 2023

The degree of character immersion, the additions to the Gotham cast, and the overall depth these two stories attempt to reach are engaging. I cannot recommend Detective Comics #1070 enough. If youre a fan of Batman, a Grundy lover, a Mr. Freeze fanatic, think the Orghams are the first great new villains in a long time, or realize how Gotham is an incredible character all on its own, then wait no more. Get. This. Issue. Heck, when you see Detective Comics #1070 go up for pre-order, save it to your wishlist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1071

Apr 25, 2023

Detective Comics was already a banger and then V and company stormed the gates in a cloud of midnight to paint Batmans world a deeper shade of black, while Spurrier gave us a maddening tour into the pastel hellhole of Gothams quixotic underbelly. There are no disappointments to be found here, with its great storytelling, majestic art, cthuloid inks, dashing hues, and crisp letters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1072

May 30, 2023

Detective Comics #1072 is a gorgeous volume of modern gothic noir superheroism shaded by a blood moon eclipse I know you need in your comic book pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1073

Jun 27, 2023

As Gotham is dealt another destructive heartbreak, Detective Comics #1073 shows you its other heroes rising to the occasion. The Bat Family and supporting cast are given strong roles in the issue with well-rounded storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) Annual: 2022

Nov 29, 2022

I recommend this book. For the colonial Gathome setting, the fantastic cast needs a book or backup in another Batman title. I wish they left the Bat out of it, and then it would have been stellar. But go get this one. There are people and things in this annual you might never see again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) Annual: 2021

Nov 30, 2021

This is a nice prelude to what fans can expect in the regular series soon. Arkham tower looks to be a story that will be more inclusive for a wide variety of characters beyond Batman. With any hope, its effects will be felt for a long time coming and offer more of Gotham to absorb than just the same villains and crossovers that have little impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who Comic (2020) #2

Dec 19, 2020

This is an excellent Who story with as much fun and drama in the script as exists in the pencils, colors, inks, and letters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who Vol. 3 #3

Jan 15, 2021

Doctor Who #3 is a fun read with a crisp plot, a fine mix of dialogue, wit, and action with soothing art that taps directly into the TARDIS for a great ride across time and space. This comic is like taking in a tale with an old friend set in a familiar setting. Titan is doing well with this series. The creative team strikes gold handling the story, and it is an excellent homage to the Doctor Who Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7

May 3, 2019

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7 is a great addition to Doctor Who lore and shows immense respect to the current iteration. It is smart, fun, and manages to walk the line between comedy and drama well while giving a great new adventure for these amazing characters. Definitely give this issue and the series a look if you're looking to get into Who or just want something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Freedom Fighters (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

I recommend this maxi-series to fans of World War Two, fans of the Amazon Prime show Man in the High Castle, geeks who love lees popular superheroes and anyone looking for a new series to dig into. This issue offered up a classic comic book fight, lots of boom, the air of heroism and good versus evil. Get in on it and spread the word. This talented crew is onto something special here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Nightwing #1

Jan 19, 2021

Future State: Nightwing #1 is a well-crafted introduction into what might be a 'last vigilante standing' tale for Nightwing. It's worth the time and money spent, though just how this will work itself into contemporary continuity if it even will, remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Nightwing #2

Feb 16, 2021

All in all, this was a fine ending for the short Future State of Dick Grayson. It finishes well and provides a nice segue into the Future State: Gotham series, so that may be worth checking out. However, the big question remains whether this future will come to pass or be retconned as yet another Elseworlds. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gasolina #14

Jan 10, 2019

There are plenty of secrets and enigmas brewing in this series to fixate upon as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant Days #46

Jan 2, 2019

This is a fun book that I simply have to get trade paperbacks for the back issues and suck them up. It's an excellent romp into the world of geekdom, friendship, and hyperactive imagination geeks and non-geeks alike can appreciate. I recommend it to those reader's who love stories of friendship, female comic fans as this is a girl-centric title, and superhero fans as this book is capeless. This book is about fans and our goofy ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2023) #1

Apr 25, 2023

Green Arrow #1 is in solid hands, and theres talk about using all the GA lore, villains, etc. This is going to be a hot summer, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2023) #2

May 23, 2023

Green Arrow #2 is an excellent issue. Fast-paced writing that gets into the main character's head and knows the supporting cast without fail.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2023) #3

Jun 27, 2023

It's so refreshing to find the current run in Green Arrow #3 powered by family commitment and good old-fashioned villain-busting. Green Arrow, trying to stick it to the Man as best he knows how. It's the broader powers of Waller and forces beyond, a classic David and Goliath story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #8

Jan 16, 2019

The eighth issue sets up the confrontation to come, and I await eagerly how this will affect the Earth and how Hawkman might defeat them. This is a character who tends to get a book and see it canceled down the road, so buy this book. It is a classic example of old school superhero comics that expertly advances a character to their next evolution, while not forgetting where it came from.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 13, 2019

I said last time that Hawkman is a great character with a book that usually suffers from early cancellation. I'd love for this to not be the case with this installment of Hawkman. Venditti and company are churning out the best Hawkman story in decades. Overall, I love this issue and can't wait for the next one to drop in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 13, 2019

Grab this one for the fine art, the fighting, and for the surprise at the end. Then, tell a friend. Tell a lot of friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #11

Apr 10, 2019

I encourage every comics fan should read Hawkman #11. This is a fine lesson in the art of storytelling, character building and plot twists. Buy copies for yourself and your friends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #12

May 8, 2019

Hawkman has a long history in comics, but his conflicting story confuses some. This new series is a triumph of character rebuilding and streamlining. And a new arc with a new artist begins in Hawkman #13, which isa perfect jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #14

Jul 10, 2019

Hawkman #14 is an excellent jumping on point for new reader, those interested in DC's supervillains, and Hawkman fans. Carter Hall comes to life more and more with each issue and now with a return to more established canon, older fans can appreciate the work Venditti and crew have labored on and the mythos they have enriched.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #15

Aug 14, 2019

Hawkman #15 appears to be a simple hero versus villain tale. But it succeeds at doing what a proper conflict should, yet often fails by showing the villain getting under the hero's skin. The issue reveals what insecurities lie beneath. This elevates not only the story but the capabilities of a villain like Shadow Thief who is typically easily squashed. Now that the scene is set, it's going to be fun watching how Hawkman and Shade get out of their predicament.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #16

Sep 11, 2019

Skipper colors shadows enough to allow them to keep their shapes and stand out. The battle scenes are large and tumultuous while dialogue scenes appear more detailed. Many panels offer a faraway view in order to show the Shadowlands in continual transition. Between the art, the Shadowlands, and Carter's descent, this is a dark issue in more ways than one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #17

Oct 9, 2019

Hawkman #17 ends the tale of shadows and old rivalry in a brutal way. I hope the Shade returns later so the friendship he and Carter have can be deepened. However, for the time being, I'm eager for next month to see how the fallout from this issue builds upon, or tears down, Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #19

Dec 11, 2019

Sky Tyrant is a good thing. This series is an exploration of Carter Hall's identities, so one must take the bad with the good. Seeing this latest twisted life is character exploration, in a grotesque way. Sky Tyrant is the worst of Hawkman's old forms, but I really want to see how he gets out of this trap. More importantly, this story should have repercussions for him down the road. I hope at the least Shayera and Midway City are here to stay.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #20

Jan 8, 2020

Hawkman does not cease to impress. It keeps a tight, character-driven story that moves at a steady pace month after month. Carter Hall has always been a great character, but he has never been more dissected than he has in this series. The Batman Who Laughs has inadvertently brought about an epic journey and intense reading for Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #21

Feb 12, 2020

Hawkman #21 represents a great fight issue but also a fun Indian Jones-style artifact chase. Seeing the two sides of the tale come together is exciting, as is having the Atom and Adam Strange back in action. Another triumphal issue for this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #22

Mar 11, 2020

Hawkman is top-notch and deserves more fans. DC needs to advertise this book a lot more. It is hands down one of the finest stories the company is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #23

May 5, 2020

Hawkman #23 is such a joy to read. The timing and pacing of every issue of this series are a standout and the heroes and villains alike are nuanced. Carter's journey is far from over. He and Shayera have innumerable adventures that can be penned. Hopefully, this series goes on to record many of them, if not all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkman (2018) #24

Jun 16, 2020

Hopefully, this in-depth series about one of DC's oldest heroes keeps going on, building up the tradition Venditti laid down back in the first issue. Add this title to your comic bin!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #25

Jul 7, 2020

The creative team is doing a remarkable job in this series. Hawkman has reached its twenty-fifth issue. His general backstory and that of Hawkwoman is more or less complete. Looking forward to more details in specific lives in the past, but for now, this will do. The Lord Beyond's effects on them are yet to be seen. But the setup is there to move Hawkman into new terrain and push the character further than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkman (2018) #26

Aug 11, 2020

This book is a treat and deserves broader advertising. DC take note Hawkman is off to begin another story arc, another left turn for the character that is sure to please fans. This series is building up a lovely repertoire of DC lore under the radar. Give this and prior issues a good thumbing through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #27

Sep 8, 2020

Hawkman #27 was such a refreshing issue, new yet nostalgic. It's worth your time and money to get this one, to go back and get back issues or the trades. This is an exercise in character growth and forward momentum other comics need to be and companies need to allow more instead of slew after slew of retcons and history erasures. Hawkman has been a must-read title since the first issue and too many slept on it. It's not too late to wake up and appreciate this series that blazes new trails while respecting what came before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #28

Oct 13, 2020

This issue is brilliant from start to finish. As depressing as it is to wait for what will be the final issue in this character-defining series, it is also going to be hard to wait around for how the end to the battle against Hath-Set plays out, and what the future holds for DC's Winged Warriors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #29

Nov 10, 2020

Who knows when the next title will spring up from the ashes, but readers can, and should, harvest this series to see its fine points and how it rejuvenated not only this character but also the supporting cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice Society of America (2022) #1

Nov 29, 2022

I love the story. I don't mind Huntress being the focal point for now. Hopefully, soon enough, we will see the entire team in action in various eras. I have no idea how she will deliver the team from the hands of destruction, but it looks to be a fantastic ride into action, lore, and personal struggle. If you have never read the Justice Society's previous comics, now's the time to learn about them. Time travel stories make that easier, and we get an interesting old/new character to take us on that tour.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice Society of America (2022) #2

Jan 24, 2023

Justice Society Of America #2 is as amazing as it is erratic. Janin, Kolins, and Ordway are killing it with the artwork, as are Bellaire and Kalisz on colors. Leigh's lettering is perfect in position and pace. But the continual back-and-forth time jaunts have already grown tiresome. This new era of starting a series with the main characters not present, for they need to be 'found,' is also a nuisance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice Society of America (2022) #3

Mar 14, 2023

The Justice Society, and other war-torn heroes, are back, in your face, and looking and acting like the top stars they've always been. V for Victory.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice Society of America (2022) #4

May 23, 2023

Justice Society Of America #4 is a feat of love and respect, but also a fantastic adventure that dips its toes into character insights for heroes and villains

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice Society of America (2022) #5

Aug 1, 2023

Justice Society Of America #5 is solid in its delivery, with peeks at members of the ensemble cast I can't wait to see get detailed. The fantastic artwork by legends in the field takes the four-color trope to the limit and sets the stage for the next era of JSA inspiration.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Knight Terrors: Batman (2023) #1

Jul 4, 2023

Knight Terrors: Batman #1 exemplifies why crossovers so often miss the mark, their stories too frequent and redundant.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Knight Terrors: Nightwing (2023) #1

Jul 18, 2023

I like Knight Terrors: Nightwing #1. I don't love it. The art moved me for its changes and some creep factor. I think fans who obsess over completionism in having every issue of a crossover will snatch this up. Otherwise, it's not a must to get you through Knight Terrors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lazarus Planet (2023): We Once Were Gods #1

Jan 24, 2023

Lazarus Planet: We Once Were Gods #1 just did an amazing thing. It made me hungry for an upcoming series I never gave a thought to. This issue revivified my interest in the Amazons, the Shazam Family, and especially Martian Manhunter

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lazarus Planet (2023): Assault On Krypton #1

Jan 17, 2023

Lazarus Planet Assault On Krypton #1 is a promising follow-up to the Alpha book, and hopefully, these changes within will last for the year at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 20, 2019

I hope there is a resounding conclusion to this arc soon and it gives us a better Nightwing. I don't even mind him being Ric, if it ends in him being Nightwing. It would be a very roundabout way to move the character into a new phase but might pay off if done right. I saw nice new bits of him when Dick was a spy, even though I saw it as a setback. Here, I am looking forward to how this concludes, what new foes exist in Bludhaven rather than rogues pulled from Batman's list, and how Bludhaven grows as a character city. I will continue to see how this plays out, but hopefully, this particular saga moves on very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #59

Apr 17, 2019

Nightwing #59 made me like this story arc. But as a huge Dick Grayson fan, and a fan of Bludhaven, I really want this book to shine and get more readers and the depth I think it deserves. I think we're moving there, I just wonder how much longer it will take.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #60

May 15, 2019

While he may not be the exact same masked hero, the outcome is the same. The main difference is an additional cast this book needed. And, with them comes a better understanding of the city they inhabit, and why it deserves to be fought for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #75

Oct 20, 2020

While there is one more con with this issue, later on, Nightwing #75 is an impressive return of the title character to his old self. It has been a long wait. Now that DC has Dick back on track, let's hope he gets his full adventuring life in Bludhaven. This is the city fans have clamored to come back, one made for Dick Grayson. But with all of the detours to the many Batman crossovers, and attempts to get rid of this beloved character, it feels like Bludhaven and, by extension, Nightwing, never really get to stand on their own. There is a broad swath of Bat titles. Gotham is covered. In ten years' time, let's add some good quality titles to the Nightwing Family and let this blossom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #76

Nov 18, 2020

All said Nightwing #76 is shaking off the old to move forward. This issue will perhaps startle as well as settle old scores and is definitely worth a look. If you quit on Nightwing in the recent past, pick it up again. See what sticks and what falls off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #77

Dec 15, 2020

Nightwing #77 keeps up the Nightwing fans know and love. This issue presented a bit of a breather from what happened before and allowed readers to relax and take it for what it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #78

Mar 16, 2021

Simply put, Nightwing #78 is brilliant. Top to bottom, panel for ever-loving panel. If anyone somersaulted away from the series after the Ric Grayson storyline, acrobat flip yourself right on back and get this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #79

Apr 20, 2021

Buy the book. Buy the past issues so you can see the difference. Note the changes. Whether you do or don't, do yourself and your comic fans a favor and scoop up Nightwing #79 and spread the word. This is a terrific issue, and big things are surely coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #80

May 18, 2021

Read Nightwing #80. Suck it in. That's it. Enjoy what this team is putting out and see why it functions with ease, and see how creators make art that appears as if it's done with little effort yet has so much to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #81

Jun 15, 2021

It cannot be stated enough that DC has a hit on its hands with this series. If you start with this issue, you'll be a very happy fan. But let it inspire you to get the previous three issues to see how it all progressed. It's exciting to see a character Dc once (twice) tried to remove from the scene now enjoys a spectacular storyline that hopefully, one day forms the center of a Nightwing family of titles. If possible, this would rate a 10 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #82

Jul 20, 2021

There's a lot to unpack this issue. Enjoy the show and take in what Nightwing #82 has to offer. Since issue 78, this feels more like this is his show and not a Bat book, and may DC keep allowing it to stand all on its own. If you haven't done so already, put this in your comic book rotation!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #83

Aug 17, 2021

All in all, Nightwing #83 reads like an ensemble cast spinning around Nightwing, a brilliant neo-noir tapestry expanding from a hero who has long deserved this sort of front and center attention. Hopefully, Barabara remains forever and the Zucco drama gets even more convoluted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #84

Sep 21, 2021

I loved this issue, despite the inevitable crossover. It keeps the focus on Nightwing and Babs, so in that sense, it remains on course. Not sure if the effects of the Magistrate will later trickle into Bludhaven (let's hope not). But as usual, I'm along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #85

Oct 19, 2021

Nightwing #85 is a solid issue for Barbara Gordon and her new nemesis. Not going to lie, though; Fear State can end ASAP. Now, if this story of Seer follows Babs into Bludhaven, awesome. But can't wait for the return to what this team has been working towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #86

Nov 16, 2021

This is the last Fear State issue for the series. Though it was good seeing Batgirl and Red Robin, there is too much going on in Bludhaven fans need to see. Hopefully, the next Gotham menace won't have to involve Dick. But for what it's worth, this issue crafted an enjoyable team-up of Robins and Batgirls. While it didn't add anything to the Magistrate, it did give us Seer. It will be interesting to see if she comes after Nightwing down the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #87

Dec 21, 2021

Nightwing #87 is an enjoyable ride back into Bludhaven after a rather tedious romp back in Gotham. This issue epitomizes what the new creative team is about: great art, humor, well-rounded characterizations, and solid storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #88

Jan 18, 2022

Nightwing #88 is a perfect issue in a perfect series run by this team thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #89

Feb 15, 2022

Nightwing #89 is emotional goodness, and Taylor keeps writing it with ease. This time around, he's brought forward empathy, discipline, and familial comfort that ups the heartwarming.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #90

Mar 15, 2022

There is a wonderful setup for all the inevitable showdowns coming. Not sure yet if this will be a full-on war, but it next issue will contain some very personal confrontations. Grab this issue and settle in for a dramatic series of events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #91

Apr 19, 2022

This is an excellent issue that brings home what Nightwing has in his corner, which means Blockbuster will have to really raise the stakes to get at the hero. We'll have to wait and see how destructive that will be, but this issue serves as an excellent dissection of a long friendship and charts a course for what may come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #92

May 17, 2022

Nightwing #92 delivers no shortcomings. Pacing, characterization, mood, development, and the interaction of all the characters are delivered in perfect pitch. There are lovely moments of levity, action, intrigue, and drama. Hopefully, DC leaves this book out of future Gotham crossovers so that it can continue to flourish.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #93

Jun 21, 2022

Nightwing #93 brings multiple stories out to play and makes it looks easy. One rolls into the next and, considering all that Dick has to handle, he never looks too worn out. But the tension grows just enough here and every month to let you know the implosion is right down the road. This issue really brings the actions, the laughs, and is smart enough to offer peeks into certain things to make you come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #94

Jul 19, 2022

Nightwing #94 does no wrong, pulls no punches, and knows how to escalate a plot. Nothing fancy happens here. The storytelling is simply laid out straightforward with no fuss, nothing confusing. One event leads to another, as it should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #95

Aug 16, 2022

Nightwing #95 is a crime countdown that reads in a surprisingly fun, almost light mood until you reach the final pages and the gloves come off. It's a good superhero version of a partnership with law enforcement that moves at a good clip.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #96

Sep 20, 2022

Nightwing #96 is summer action movie greatness. I loved every panel, the twists and turns were sublime all the way to the final page, and there was enough humor squeezed between the broken glass and electric arcs to make things amusing. I'm hyped to see what comes next in Bludhaven, from rebuilding to what will befall Nightwing next. This was a phenomenal issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #97

Oct 18, 2022

Nightwing #97 delivers a superb story that stings readers with a sucker punch. I would love to be a fly on the wall as fans reach the end. Well done, Taylor. Kudos to the art team for making everything sublime.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #98

Nov 15, 2022

What I thought would turn bad quickly became an enjoyable read full of stories and potential. It's wild and woolly, but it adds a new vibe to the expanding Nightwing mythos, especially as he gets more prominence in other areas of the DCU. Grab this issue when you hit the comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #99

Dec 20, 2022

Nightwing #99 represents perhaps the best storyline I've ever read about picking up the pieces and dealing with issues between major storylines. Next month is the big issue #100, where I expect massive changes. This book has been in solid hands for a good while now, and it looks like this issue has set us up perfectly for a new year of Nightwing tales. Jump onboard, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #100

Jan 17, 2023

A round of applause for every artist, inker, Lucas, and Abbott on page after page of smooth art and daring colors, with moody inks hitting the correct times. Solid wording and lettering, expert characterizations, some bold choices in storytelling, and a lot to look forward to!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #101

Feb 21, 2023

Nightwing #101 runs straight into large, personal storylines that offer our hero the chance to flex multiple muscles, teases us with the titans before their new book drops in May and brings back Neron for nostalgia flair. Obviously, this is way above our hero's pay grade, so it will be great to see how he handles this threat versus, say, Batman. These two stories are going to be big. Come snag this issue and see just how devious they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #102

Mar 21, 2023

I sing the praises of this run every month, but I have to. So far, this series has completely flipped the script on a character that has been dumped on for decades, especially since the New 52. Nightwing deserves these kinds of stories and attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #103

Apr 18, 2023

Nightwing #103 is a cool double feature that carries out one important task establishing the leadership capabilities of Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #104

May 23, 2023

Nightwing #104 is a smooth book despite its demonic deals and dark tone. I feel Taylor has not only captured Nightwing perfectly, but he has nailed the 1980s Teen Titans vibe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #105

Jun 21, 2023

Nightwing #105 is a visual delight, a fun story, and a swift return to what this book is all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) Annual: 2021

Jan 1, 1970

Nightwing 2021 Annual #1 is definitely worth the money and time. Nightwing is in top form; Red Hood is grim yet on the move forward. It feels like there's no stopping at this point like we're headed for a better set of Bat heroes and perhaps a better Gotham. Get this one for your Bat collection. Heck, get it even if you're not a DC fan. It's just plain great reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) Annual: 2022

Nov 29, 2022

With DC setting up Nightwing to be big and lead the Titans to new heights, this story becomes ever more critical. I never thought we would get a Nightwing Renaissance, but this annual is a dose of reality for the foundation of the next great set of Nightwing stories. So stay tuned, and grab this title!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Girl Special (2023) #1

May 30, 2023

Power Girl Special #1 is what you want in a comic. A big story, big action, amazing art with shiny colors and easy letters, and characters you can really dig and root for. This is a great way to meet three heroes and become fans of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 27, 2021

Robin #1 starts off big and keeps up the momentum, and I for one am a solid fan of Damian Wayne/Robin thanks to this creative team. It will be great to see the League of Lazarus be unveiled over time, how Robin will survive against opponents no doubt much better than he is, and to see who in the DC Universe pops up to confront him, and maybe align with his goals. It's an absolute joy to see Robin become its own title and move out from the shadow of the Bat, so hopefully, fans will uplift this series so it can achieve longevity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #2

May 25, 2021

This issue presented a worthy setup for what's to come and is pulling other characters forward as readers piece together just what is going on with Damian, his visions of Alfred, and his choice of reading material. All in all, this character is getting a solid detailing, and the DC Universe is making use of a plethora of obscure characters. I am hungry for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #3

Jun 22, 2021

Robin's personal development is wonderful to behold in its baby steps. I can't wait to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #4

Jul 27, 2021

Robin #4 keeps enriching my love for this series, all the combatants and hungry for answers about Lady Swan, Lazarus Island, the League of Lazarus, and League of Assassins backstory, Damian's progress, and how this tournament will play out once it truly begins. I expect lots of blood, gore, and sinister revelations. But I'm here for the growing love for the young hero Damian Wayne, and no previous book really succeeded in getting me to like him. Until this one. Robin creative team, keep showing us whatcha got!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #5

Aug 25, 2021

Robin #5 gives us a highly competent Damian Wayne and opens him up to face what is to come. There is a lot to experience in this issue alone, and the fate of all the fighters, not just the main protagonist, will be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #6

Sep 28, 2021

This issue is a continuation of greatness in a series that this team hopefully continues on for years to come. I want the League and Robin and company to grow and really make waves in the DC Universe. Do not sleep on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #7

Oct 26, 2021

Robin #7 scores the victory. Robin is growing into his own, with what looks like his own archenemy to contend with for a time and the chance to come out of this as a better hero who will take the Boy Wonder fame to new heights. Cheers to this issue and the creative team, and looking forward to issue #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #8

Nov 23, 2021

I didn't think Robin's journey could be so revealing, so maturing for the character by placing him in a story with more combat than dialogue. But with this issue especially, Robin has blossomed into an independent, self-motivated hero who has learned from others and his own mistakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #9

Dec 28, 2021

There are a lot of surprises in this issue for fans. I won't reveal them, but all matters are attended to. This book brought back a lot of old characters who were collecting dust and cleaned them off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #10

Jan 25, 2022

This was a great look into the al-Ghul clan. My one minor quip being the end of the battle in issue #9, left us in this backstory. I love it but found it to be a minor distraction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #11

Feb 22, 2022

Robin #11 takes what came before and fires it forward. Damian has found himself and a clan all his own to tackle his enemies. What will become of Ra's, Talia, and Mother Soul remains to be seen, but certainly, they will play major roles in this book throughout its tenure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Robin (2021) #12

Mar 22, 2022

I recommend this book highly despite my rating. Get it and enjoy it because the steps Robin takes never miss a beat. Though I may or may not end up patiently waiting for 'Shadow War' to come and go, there is never enough Robin.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Robin (2021) #13

Apr 26, 2022

Robin #13 is good. Not great, and not stellar. But it's a visual fun fest that grants 'Shadow War' some much-needed plot direction despite the slow pace and limitations on certain characters. I still recommend it but would love to get past this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Robin (2021) #14

May 24, 2022

Robin #14 is okay. But personally, I want to get far away from this and get back to the stories that made this book amazing and see where they take Robin next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #15

Jun 28, 2022

Robin #15 is a solid book that returns to what it did best: establish Robin as his own hero, even a leader, one who can begin a new chapter in his life, and for other characters we still dont yet know well enough. Hopefully, we wont have to endure any more parental tugs-of-war as it seemed clear long ago Damian had made his own path. Lets hope he gets to keep blazing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #16

Jul 26, 2022

Robin #16 is a bright tale despite the secrecy of Lazarus Island. It feels like an older comic of heroes teaming up, a new Dynamic Duo. Robin and Connor are committed to helping fighters with nowhere to go, giving them a purpose and functioning as true heroes. I am loving Damian more and more with every issue. Definitely worth reading to see how the Boy Wonder is molded into a leader, plus what becomes of these other characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #17

Aug 23, 2022

This series has been an action-packed tale that snuck in teen angst and a coming-of-age tale that also made good use of underused characters. Such a treat. I recommend this issue for the way it continues to build on Damian Wayne and who he will become.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) Annual: 2021

Nov 30, 2021

Robin 2021 Annual #1 brings the bad guys forward, and it does so with reliable storytelling and pleasing visuals. It's a must for those following the series and a good pick-up title for those looking to glean a bit more from these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spirit World (2023) #1

May 23, 2023

I loved Spirit World #1. I love the Chinese language, food, and lore, and this book hit the spots. Xanthe is another gray-area hero like City Boy. Every piece of this is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spirit World (2023) #2

Jun 13, 2023

Spirit World #2 offers plenty of story developments, working through themes such as family dynamics and dealing with loss while also offering readers the chance to learn about another culture through the merger of two art styles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spirit World (2023) #3

Jul 11, 2023

As far as I can tell, Wong has a hit with Spirit World #3. I'm hoping this title brings in a robust readership. Praying the love Americans have for manga will translate into a love of this new hero and their amazing adventures

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Terra Incognita #6

Jan 9, 2019

This series is a plus for Trekkies, and a solid run for any comics fan who has a foot in science fiction and stories revolving more around characterization and group dynamics rather than slugfests and powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stargirl: The Lost Children #1

Jan 1, 1970

Stargirl The Lost Children #1 starts with great affection for every character involved, lays the groundwork for cool winter mystery reading, and aims to put several heroes on the DC map. No small mountains are being climbed here. I love the opening salvo for the story, art, colors, letters, and overall vivacity. If you love the show, the Golden Age of comics, Green Arrow, or are looking for something new to put into your bin, choose this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stargirl: The Lost Children #3

Jan 17, 2023

If you haven't tried this series yet, do so. Stargirl is a great character who has come a long way, and here it shows. This looks and feels like an old comic, and this is a good way for newer fans to get a handle on the Golden Age without having to absorb loads of back issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stargirl: The Lost Children #4

Feb 28, 2023

You have to get this issue and read the series if you haven't started it yet: fresh heroes, a mysterious plot, the maturation of Stargirl, and great art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stargirl: The Lost Children #5

Mar 28, 2023

Introducing one new character is hard. Dozens is just asking for trouble. But maybe not. Johns has effectively dropped a small army into the DC Universe and made it look like childs play. We have engaging children, a bit of maturity for Stargirl and Red Arrow along the way, and were waiting to see whatever is wrong with Hourman. Theres a lot to take in, and a ton to enjoy. If you want new heroes to read about, DC has a busload for you right in these pages, with a zingy story to boot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stargirl: The Lost Children #6

May 9, 2023

Stargirl the Lost Children #6 is a winner that ends in a glorious Golden bang. Its pure fun, with amazing new heroes to enjoy, a cool plot that wraps up neatly, and hints we will see more of these folks soon enough. I encourage you to get all six, or at the very least, snag the trade once it comes out later this year. Stargirl is an excellent hero who deserves her own series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #28

Mar 13, 2019

This issue brought forth all of the joys of the classic comic book. A huge battle. Kooky villains. A hero being tested. And all of it served the overall plot of getting Supergirl closer to a face-to-face confrontation with the elusive Circle, and finding out just why they handed Krypton a death certificate. Supergirl has fast become my favorite superheroine, and cosmic-level book to read. Well worth it, month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #29

Apr 10, 2019

However, my sole gripe with this issue is that Z'ndr is a teenager. I'm not sure why it bothered me, maybe I wanted Supergirl to have a mentor more than a fellow teen pal, but it rubbed the wrong way. Either way, Supergirl #29 was paced well, artistically beautiful and I eagerly await next month when the confrontation with Empress Gandelo goes down. A great job as usual. So glad the Zaar storyline got this series renewed because Supergirl is a great character. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #32

Jul 10, 2019

Supergirl #32 does not end the story of justice for Krypton, but it does add another layer to it. Supergirl doesn't get a satisfying resolution from her long quest for the truth, nor does she gain her immediate goal. But this issue is good reading, and an excellent advancement along the path to finding out how the Maid of Might will contend with the death of her people and how it shapes her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #36

Nov 20, 2019

I'm curious to see where this leads while hoping it doesn't drag on for too long. This is sure to propel her into a new direction that will certainly have repercussions for her down the road. I had no interest in the Infected story arc before. This issue piqued my interest in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) #38

Jan 8, 2020

The majority of the issue is illustrated by Scott, a great artist who offers up a graceful yet eerie Supergirl. She has a terrific, straightforward style reminiscent of George Perez.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) #39

Feb 12, 2020

This is a fun, dramatic issue. There are increasing stakes and making Smallville the center of it all, especially after Superman revealed his secret identity to the world, in Superman #18 gives the story added weight.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, the issue is an action piece with a mystery tale interwoven. The plotting is good. But, it could be told with any number of DC heroes and still be enjoyable. The story was originally published in the Superman 100-Page Giant for Walmart stores.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New Golden Age (2022) #1

Nov 8, 2022

The New Golden Age #1 has taken some significant strides I hope the series following it live up to. This is an excellent introduction to the Justice Society and DC Comics lore and is a visual treat. We have the JSA again, but what form will they take after all is said and done? We'll have to dig into their series to find out. Welcome back, Golden Age. May you gain 1 million new fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Six Million Dollar Man (2019) #1

Mar 8, 2019

Even putting nostalgia aside, I can recommend the Six Million Dollar Man as a solid, entertaining read that makes for a great introduction to a forty-plus year old character and concept. Dynamite Entertainment assembled a top notch team to bring this property into the hands of readers old and young alike and I for one am eager to get my hands on the next issue. Please let this be a monthly and not a miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Titans (2023) #1

May 16, 2023

Titans #1 is a cool read with heroes you can relate to, who look out for each other 24/7, not just during the next weekly meeting. If you love team comics, you'll find this a bit familial, but it contains the usual stuff a fan of such books craves: big action, team dynamics, and revelations of threats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Titans (2023) #2

Jun 20, 2023

Titans #2 is a vivacious read you can sit down and enjoy with an ending that will undoubtedly prompt healthy discussion amongst fans. Wonderfully written, the issue gives each hero a moment to shine, features heroism and humanity, and brings it all to life through slick, bright, detailed art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vigil (2023) #1

May 16, 2023

As a fan of espionage movies and comics, this book hooked me easily. But the creative team opened up a new world to me that I really hope other fans will take a liking to it too. Yes, it can be cozy to stay in one's lane and stick to what you know. But this corner of the DCU is jam-packed with cool secrets in a hot climate, a cast of die-hard vigilantes, and a litany of questions I need answers to. Do yourself a favor and support this book

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vigil (2023) #2

Jun 20, 2023

This is such a good book mixing superheroes and international espionage. Arclight makes for a complicated antihero and perhaps even a leader for this subversive team. The characters are solid yet enigmatic, and, along with the other disturbing things happening behind their backs, I cannot wait to see where the operation leads them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vigil (2023) #3

Jul 18, 2023

The Vigil #3 offers a great story and tension along with strong characterization and art. Read The Vigil and make your geeky brain happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #1

Nov 8, 2022

WildCATS #1 is a hit out of the gate. The characters are varied, standing out from each other. There are some fun ways the team's targets have infiltrated the DCU. I look forward to seeing who else they've corrupted and what happens when they have run-ins with other heroes. This issue was fun and a sheer blast to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #2

Dec 14, 2022

WildCATS #2 is a rocket-powered demolition derby of chaotic antiheroes and turbulent maneuvering by their diminutive overlord. Everything proudly feels like it's set for self-destruct, and I'm here for the carnage, the character development, the jokes, and just finding out what the heck Halo and the Court think they're doing. This team is having fun with this book, and they're knocking it out of the park. Shimmy some room in your bin for the CATS and enjoy the slow explosion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #3

Jan 10, 2023

WildCATS #3 is a wild issue. Grifter can barely keep himself afloat. The team as a whole is much too passive as to their own fates and how Marlowe plays them. Now the Seven Soldiers are up and running and full of bad agents. Let's not forget the team messed up a Court of Owls retreat and is on the run from the Bat Family and other heroes. There's no way this can go wrong. Sign me up for more self-destructive superhero glamor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #4

Feb 14, 2023

WildC.A.T.S #4 is a colorful, flashy, bloody survival drama where we get to see the resilience of Grifter. While we still aren't getting enough of the other C.A.T.S to satiate curiosity, this issue really put forth that Grifter isn't alone...completely. There's a lot of string-pulling behind the scenes that I can't wait to see how they connect and for this team to really overcome Marlowe and be all they can be. This is a great issue full of little giggles, action, corruption, and surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #5

Mar 14, 2023

WildC.A.T.S #5 is a good mystery over Grifter's demise coupled with rocking action that is setting up a huge confrontation, and maybe, just maybe, we can get Grifter to roll over in his grave and join in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #6

Apr 12, 2023

WildC.A.T.S #6 is a fun issue that finally tugs its various strings to bring the team together to discover what is up with Marlowe and his devious corporation. If youre looking to see all the original members as one unit, you dont quite get it. Yet. I enjoyed this issue and its surprises, the writing, the artwork, the hues, and the words.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #7

May 9, 2023

This issue may not bring you the team you want, but the story is steadily releasing new clues, new dramas, and excellent, well-rounded personas for these 90s classics. I feel this is a newer, cleaner version of Wildstorm thats doing more than just integrating them into the DCU. This is amplifying each individual, so theyll be bright and ready to form that Covert (or Crisis) Action Team we all love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #8

Jun 13, 2023

Needless to say, WildC.A.T.S #8 was an interesting take on the C.A.T.S and, by its conclusion, offers more strange actions by our guy. While the Multiverse angle is sadly getting stale already, issue #8 does roll the plot ahead in other ways I enjoyed. Once they get their act together, and finally become the WildC.A.T.S, the you-know-what will hit the fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
WildC.A.T.S. (2022) #9

Jul 11, 2023

This is a great action issue with some very hard choices for the team, and I love every juicy panel. Please snag this one and revel in the Checkmate-stylemadness of this current WildC.A.T.s run.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More