William J. Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 28
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #1010

Apr 24, 2019

I had my doubts about the Bendis takeover. But the Leviathan arc is impressing me, and I'm really wanting more Lois and Clark as reporter-heroes. I have a feeling we'll get it. Also, I'm stoked to see the final showdown between Superman and Leviathan, or Clark and Leviathan. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1012

Jun 26, 2019

Action Comics #1012 brings Leviathan out front and opens up the city of Metropolis to more than just background cannon fodder. Bendis is bringing his dialogue prowess to full bore in this series and things are pacing nicely to meet up with the Leviathan miniseries coming soon to plague the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 12, 2019

If you love old style stories, robots, sci-fi and thinking heroes, pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blade Runner: 2019 #1

Jul 10, 2019

Blade Runner: 2019 #1 is a fantastic comic to expand the world of the films. Ash is a perfect introductory character to this world and the story makes for a good crime drama that is a must-read for anyone who enjoys police procedurals. Titan Comics put their best foot forward representing this universe with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) #10

Apr 10, 2019

Overall, Catwoman #10 moved the story along and gives readers what you want from Selina Kyle. Theft, style, grimy streets, criminality, and action. I felt like the execution of it could have been more streamlined, but it doesn't degrade the book as a whole. I'm curious to see how the war against Penguin ends up. I love this comic, as it's one of the rare times I root for cats. Whether or not you are a fan of the Bat Family of titles, Catwoman is money well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #11

May 8, 2019

The art is a tag team event this month between Blanco and Petrus and it is very well done. The art is almost seamless and keeps up the gritty style. The chase and acrobatics pages are spectacular. Selina is elegant and a powerhouse all in one. This tag team effort gets complemented by the coloring of Kalisz who mutes much of the hues in the dark night of the chase. He contrasts this by offering an open brightness in the daytime talk among the Creel brood. Saida Temofonte manages the heavy dialogue scenes well. It would be easy to crowd up word balloons and drown out the art but she handles it expertly. She also makes sound effects in a smaller font size, which I tend to prefer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coda #8

Jan 2, 2019

A great melding of plotting, pacing and knowing when to let the art shine big and when to tell the tale.Comic books are not for kids only and are just as much eyeball feasts as they are food for thought.This is great work by a fine ensemble of comic book folk. It is not average D&D fantasy or even average comics. It's well worth it.Coda #8 is out in comic book stores everywhere and online retailers January 2, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crowded #6

Jan 9, 2019

For those on the hunt for titles with LGBTQ+ characters, grab this one. It offers representation in its main character Vita, who daring and bold in her driving and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyber Force (2018) #9

Mar 16, 2019

This is a tight story, moving a a fine clip towards an inevitable showdown. I have no clue how Stryker can possibly free himself, his daughter and the others from Cyberdata's nefarious grip, but I'm eager to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7

May 3, 2019

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7 is a great addition to Doctor Who lore and shows immense respect to the current iteration. It is smart, fun, and manages to walk the line between comedy and drama well while giving a great new adventure for these amazing characters. Definitely give this issue and the series a look if you're looking to get into Who or just want something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Freedom Fighters (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

I recommend this maxi-series to fans of World War Two, fans of the Amazon Prime show Man in the High Castle, geeks who love lees popular superheroes and anyone looking for a new series to dig into. This issue offered up a classic comic book fight, lots of boom, the air of heroism and good versus evil. Get in on it and spread the word. This talented crew is onto something special here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gasolina #14

Jan 10, 2019

There are plenty of secrets and enigmas brewing in this series to fixate upon as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant Days #46

Jan 2, 2019

This is a fun book that I simply have to get trade paperbacks for the back issues and suck them up. It's an excellent romp into the world of geekdom, friendship, and hyperactive imagination geeks and non-geeks alike can appreciate. I recommend it to those reader's who love stories of friendship, female comic fans as this is a girl-centric title, and superhero fans as this book is capeless. This book is about fans and our goofy ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #8

Jan 16, 2019

The eighth issue sets up the confrontation to come, and I await eagerly how this will affect the Earth and how Hawkman might defeat them. This is a character who tends to get a book and see it canceled down the road, so buy this book. It is a classic example of old school superhero comics that expertly advances a character to their next evolution, while not forgetting where it came from.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 13, 2019

I said last time that Hawkman is a great character with a book that usually suffers from early cancellation. I'd love for this to not be the case with this installment of Hawkman. Venditti and company are churning out the best Hawkman story in decades. Overall, I love this issue and can't wait for the next one to drop in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 13, 2019

Grab this one for the fine art, the fighting, and for the surprise at the end. Then, tell a friend. Tell a lot of friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #11

Apr 10, 2019

I encourage every comics fan should read Hawkman #11. This is a fine lesson in the art of storytelling, character building and plot twists. Buy copies for yourself and your friends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #12

May 8, 2019

Hawkman has a long history in comics, but his conflicting story confuses some. This new series is a triumph of character rebuilding and streamlining. And a new arc with a new artist begins in Hawkman #13, which isa perfect jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #14

Jul 10, 2019

Hawkman #14 is an excellent jumping on point for new reader, those interested in DC's supervillains, and Hawkman fans. Carter Hall comes to life more and more with each issue and now with a return to more established canon, older fans can appreciate the work Venditti and crew have labored on and the mythos they have enriched.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 20, 2019

I hope there is a resounding conclusion to this arc soon and it gives us a better Nightwing. I don't even mind him being Ric, if it ends in him being Nightwing. It would be a very roundabout way to move the character into a new phase but might pay off if done right. I saw nice new bits of him when Dick was a spy, even though I saw it as a setback. Here, I am looking forward to how this concludes, what new foes exist in Bludhaven rather than rogues pulled from Batman's list, and how Bludhaven grows as a character city. I will continue to see how this plays out, but hopefully, this particular saga moves on very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #59

Apr 17, 2019

Nightwing #59 made me like this story arc. But as a huge Dick Grayson fan, and a fan of Bludhaven, I really want this book to shine and get more readers and the depth I think it deserves. I think we're moving there, I just wonder how much longer it will take.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #60

May 15, 2019

While he may not be the exact same masked hero, the outcome is the same. The main difference is an additional cast this book needed. And, with them comes a better understanding of the city they inhabit, and why it deserves to be fought for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Terra Incognita #6

Jan 9, 2019

This series is a plus for Trekkies, and a solid run for any comics fan who has a foot in science fiction and stories revolving more around characterization and group dynamics rather than slugfests and powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #28

Mar 13, 2019

This issue brought forth all of the joys of the classic comic book. A huge battle. Kooky villains. A hero being tested. And all of it served the overall plot of getting Supergirl closer to a face-to-face confrontation with the elusive Circle, and finding out just why they handed Krypton a death certificate. Supergirl has fast become my favorite superheroine, and cosmic-level book to read. Well worth it, month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #29

Apr 10, 2019

However, my sole gripe with this issue is that Z'ndr is a teenager. I'm not sure why it bothered me, maybe I wanted Supergirl to have a mentor more than a fellow teen pal, but it rubbed the wrong way. Either way, Supergirl #29 was paced well, artistically beautiful and I eagerly await next month when the confrontation with Empress Gandelo goes down. A great job as usual. So glad the Zaar storyline got this series renewed because Supergirl is a great character. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #32

Jul 10, 2019

Supergirl #32 does not end the story of justice for Krypton, but it does add another layer to it. Supergirl doesn't get a satisfying resolution from her long quest for the truth, nor does she gain her immediate goal. But this issue is good reading, and an excellent advancement along the path to finding out how the Maid of Might will contend with the death of her people and how it shapes her.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, the issue is an action piece with a mystery tale interwoven. The plotting is good. But, it could be told with any number of DC heroes and still be enjoyable. The story was originally published in the Superman 100-Page Giant for Walmart stores.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Six Million Dollar Man (2019) #1

Mar 8, 2019

Even putting nostalgia aside, I can recommend the Six Million Dollar Man as a solid, entertaining read that makes for a great introduction to a forty-plus year old character and concept. Dynamite Entertainment assembled a top notch team to bring this property into the hands of readers old and young alike and I for one am eager to get my hands on the next issue. Please let this be a monthly and not a miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More