William J. Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 53
9.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #1010

Apr 24, 2019

I had my doubts about the Bendis takeover. But the Leviathan arc is impressing me, and I'm really wanting more Lois and Clark as reporter-heroes. I have a feeling we'll get it. Also, I'm stoked to see the final showdown between Superman and Leviathan, or Clark and Leviathan. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1012

Jun 26, 2019

Action Comics #1012 brings Leviathan out front and opens up the city of Metropolis to more than just background cannon fodder. Bendis is bringing his dialogue prowess to full bore in this series and things are pacing nicely to meet up with the Leviathan miniseries coming soon to plague the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1013

Jul 24, 2019

Action Comics #1013 is a rock-solid issue. Bendis is a boon to this book. Kudranski, Anderson and Sharpe Bring every panel to vibrant life. Every aspect of the book is great reading with wonderful visuals. This issue is not a jumping on point for new readers by far. However, it is part of a stellar series fans should add to their comic inbox.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1014

Aug 28, 2019

This is the best issue thus far of the run and I am loving this series more and more every month. Action Comics #1014 has some of the best pacing, storytelling, and dialogue in a Superman comic as well as a phenomenal supporting cast of characters, both good and bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1015

Sep 25, 2019

Additionally, the art complements the story, this time in a big way. Kudranski has Naomi nailed down and as typical in this series, he has a lot to draw. There is a lot of action sequences and none of them disappoint. Kudranski excels at creating dynamic panels with superhero extras coming in and out and excellent focus on the various character's facial expressions. Anderson illuminates this issue with bright yellow lights, horrific pink and magenta, and some very richly inked panels. Action Comics is a good series and truly makes Superman relatable and an exciting read. There's a lot going on but it never feels as if a lot has been missed and the creative staff team great care with every aspect of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1016

Oct 23, 2019

This issue packed in a lot, and the entire series does a lot with the Superman mythos that's well worth investing in. Plots are converging, and so this is a great time to jump into the happenings in Metropolis.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1017

Nov 27, 2019

This is a great issue in a wonderful series. Leviathan rocked Superman and Metropolis. Lex Luthor ruined what's left of our hero and his city. Leone has gone public to further her own ends. The Man of Steel is outflanked. His enemies have seized the day. But, this story is far from over, thankfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics (2016) #1018

Dec 25, 2019

Action Comics #1018 delivers a strong issue. Justice League issues and other books might be required reading to gain clarity on what's happening here, but such is the burden of crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1019

Jan 29, 2020

This issue is a better backstory than Action Comics #1018 as it brought Leviathan into the fold where he first became a name in the DC Universe. Whatever his plans may be, and how much of Metropolis will be left standing, is going to keep this book very interesting for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2016) #1021

Mar 25, 2020

Romita Jr., Janson, Anderson, and Sharpe keep giving readers a dynamic book in terms of visuals and wording. There is no problem with art, dialogue pacing or plot twists. This issue offers a better level of animosity between Superman and Luthor, and other characters than has been done in some time. It leaves enough opening for further threads to be left dangling, and that's a solid plus.I only wish it went out, not bigger, but more complex, considering all it brought tumbling down.'Metropolis Doom' is over. It will be fun seeing how the city rebuilds, how the Man of Steel handles any fallout, and how villains might exploit it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 12, 2019

If you love old style stories, robots, sci-fi and thinking heroes, pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blade Runner: 2019 #1

Jul 10, 2019

Blade Runner: 2019 #1 is a fantastic comic to expand the world of the films. Ash is a perfect introductory character to this world and the story makes for a good crime drama that is a must-read for anyone who enjoys police procedurals. Titan Comics put their best foot forward representing this universe with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #10

Apr 10, 2019

Overall, Catwoman #10 moved the story along and gives readers what you want from Selina Kyle. Theft, style, grimy streets, criminality, and action. I felt like the execution of it could have been more streamlined, but it doesn't degrade the book as a whole. I'm curious to see how the war against Penguin ends up. I love this comic, as it's one of the rare times I root for cats. Whether or not you are a fan of the Bat Family of titles, Catwoman is money well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #11

May 8, 2019

The art is a tag team event this month between Blanco and Petrus and it is very well done. The art is almost seamless and keeps up the gritty style. The chase and acrobatics pages are spectacular. Selina is elegant and a powerhouse all in one. This tag team effort gets complemented by the coloring of Kalisz who mutes much of the hues in the dark night of the chase. He contrasts this by offering an open brightness in the daytime talk among the Creel brood. Saida Temofonte manages the heavy dialogue scenes well. It would be easy to crowd up word balloons and drown out the art but she handles it expertly. She also makes sound effects in a smaller font size, which I tend to prefer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coda #8

Jan 2, 2019

A great melding of plotting, pacing and knowing when to let the art shine big and when to tell the tale.Comic books are not for kids only and are just as much eyeball feasts as they are food for thought.This is great work by a fine ensemble of comic book folk. It is not average D&D fantasy or even average comics. It's well worth it.Coda #8 is out in comic book stores everywhere and online retailers January 2, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crowded #6

Jan 9, 2019

For those on the hunt for titles with LGBTQ+ characters, grab this one. It offers representation in its main character Vita, who daring and bold in her driving and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyber Force (2018) #9

Mar 16, 2019

This is a tight story, moving a a fine clip towards an inevitable showdown. I have no clue how Stryker can possibly free himself, his daughter and the others from Cyberdata's nefarious grip, but I'm eager to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7

May 3, 2019

Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7 is a great addition to Doctor Who lore and shows immense respect to the current iteration. It is smart, fun, and manages to walk the line between comedy and drama well while giving a great new adventure for these amazing characters. Definitely give this issue and the series a look if you're looking to get into Who or just want something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Freedom Fighters (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

I recommend this maxi-series to fans of World War Two, fans of the Amazon Prime show Man in the High Castle, geeks who love lees popular superheroes and anyone looking for a new series to dig into. This issue offered up a classic comic book fight, lots of boom, the air of heroism and good versus evil. Get in on it and spread the word. This talented crew is onto something special here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gasolina #14

Jan 10, 2019

There are plenty of secrets and enigmas brewing in this series to fixate upon as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant Days #46

Jan 2, 2019

This is a fun book that I simply have to get trade paperbacks for the back issues and suck them up. It's an excellent romp into the world of geekdom, friendship, and hyperactive imagination geeks and non-geeks alike can appreciate. I recommend it to those reader's who love stories of friendship, female comic fans as this is a girl-centric title, and superhero fans as this book is capeless. This book is about fans and our goofy ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #8

Jan 16, 2019

The eighth issue sets up the confrontation to come, and I await eagerly how this will affect the Earth and how Hawkman might defeat them. This is a character who tends to get a book and see it canceled down the road, so buy this book. It is a classic example of old school superhero comics that expertly advances a character to their next evolution, while not forgetting where it came from.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 13, 2019

I said last time that Hawkman is a great character with a book that usually suffers from early cancellation. I'd love for this to not be the case with this installment of Hawkman. Venditti and company are churning out the best Hawkman story in decades. Overall, I love this issue and can't wait for the next one to drop in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 13, 2019

Grab this one for the fine art, the fighting, and for the surprise at the end. Then, tell a friend. Tell a lot of friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #11

Apr 10, 2019

I encourage every comics fan should read Hawkman #11. This is a fine lesson in the art of storytelling, character building and plot twists. Buy copies for yourself and your friends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #12

May 8, 2019

Hawkman has a long history in comics, but his conflicting story confuses some. This new series is a triumph of character rebuilding and streamlining. And a new arc with a new artist begins in Hawkman #13, which isa perfect jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #14

Jul 10, 2019

Hawkman #14 is an excellent jumping on point for new reader, those interested in DC's supervillains, and Hawkman fans. Carter Hall comes to life more and more with each issue and now with a return to more established canon, older fans can appreciate the work Venditti and crew have labored on and the mythos they have enriched.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #15

Aug 14, 2019

Hawkman #15 appears to be a simple hero versus villain tale. But it succeeds at doing what a proper conflict should, yet often fails by showing the villain getting under the hero's skin. The issue reveals what insecurities lie beneath. This elevates not only the story but the capabilities of a villain like Shadow Thief who is typically easily squashed. Now that the scene is set, it's going to be fun watching how Hawkman and Shade get out of their predicament.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #16

Sep 11, 2019

Skipper colors shadows enough to allow them to keep their shapes and stand out. The battle scenes are large and tumultuous while dialogue scenes appear more detailed. Many panels offer a faraway view in order to show the Shadowlands in continual transition. Between the art, the Shadowlands, and Carter's descent, this is a dark issue in more ways than one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #17

Oct 9, 2019

Hawkman #17 ends the tale of shadows and old rivalry in a brutal way. I hope the Shade returns later so the friendship he and Carter have can be deepened. However, for the time being, I'm eager for next month to see how the fallout from this issue builds upon, or tears down, Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #19

Dec 11, 2019

Sky Tyrant is a good thing. This series is an exploration of Carter Hall's identities, so one must take the bad with the good. Seeing this latest twisted life is character exploration, in a grotesque way. Sky Tyrant is the worst of Hawkman's old forms, but I really want to see how he gets out of this trap. More importantly, this story should have repercussions for him down the road. I hope at the least Shayera and Midway City are here to stay.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #20

Jan 8, 2020

Hawkman does not cease to impress. It keeps a tight, character-driven story that moves at a steady pace month after month. Carter Hall has always been a great character, but he has never been more dissected than he has in this series. The Batman Who Laughs has inadvertently brought about an epic journey and intense reading for Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #21

Feb 12, 2020

Hawkman #21 represents a great fight issue but also a fun Indian Jones-style artifact chase. Seeing the two sides of the tale come together is exciting, as is having the Atom and Adam Strange back in action. Another triumphal issue for this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #22

Mar 11, 2020

Hawkman is top-notch and deserves more fans. DC needs to advertise this book a lot more. It is hands down one of the finest stories the company is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #23

May 5, 2020

Hawkman #23 is such a joy to read. The timing and pacing of every issue of this series are a standout and the heroes and villains alike are nuanced. Carter's journey is far from over. He and Shayera have innumerable adventures that can be penned. Hopefully, this series goes on to record many of them, if not all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkman (2018) #24

Jun 16, 2020

Hopefully, this in-depth series about one of DC's oldest heroes keeps going on, building up the tradition Venditti laid down back in the first issue. Add this title to your comic bin!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #25

Jul 7, 2020

The creative team is doing a remarkable job in this series. Hawkman has reached its twenty-fifth issue. His general backstory and that of Hawkwoman is more or less complete. Looking forward to more details in specific lives in the past, but for now, this will do. The Lord Beyond's effects on them are yet to be seen. But the setup is there to move Hawkman into new terrain and push the character further than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hawkman (2018) #26

Aug 11, 2020

This book is a treat and deserves broader advertising. DC take note Hawkman is off to begin another story arc, another left turn for the character that is sure to please fans. This series is building up a lovely repertoire of DC lore under the radar. Give this and prior issues a good thumbing through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #27

Sep 8, 2020

Hawkman #27 was such a refreshing issue, new yet nostalgic. It's worth your time and money to get this one, to go back and get back issues or the trades. This is an exercise in character growth and forward momentum other comics need to be and companies need to allow more instead of slew after slew of retcons and history erasures. Hawkman has been a must-read title since the first issue and too many slept on it. It's not too late to wake up and appreciate this series that blazes new trails while respecting what came before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #28

Oct 13, 2020

This issue is brilliant from start to finish. As depressing as it is to wait for what will be the final issue in this character-defining series, it is also going to be hard to wait around for how the end to the battle against Hath-Set plays out, and what the future holds for DC's Winged Warriors.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 20, 2019

I hope there is a resounding conclusion to this arc soon and it gives us a better Nightwing. I don't even mind him being Ric, if it ends in him being Nightwing. It would be a very roundabout way to move the character into a new phase but might pay off if done right. I saw nice new bits of him when Dick was a spy, even though I saw it as a setback. Here, I am looking forward to how this concludes, what new foes exist in Bludhaven rather than rogues pulled from Batman's list, and how Bludhaven grows as a character city. I will continue to see how this plays out, but hopefully, this particular saga moves on very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #59

Apr 17, 2019

Nightwing #59 made me like this story arc. But as a huge Dick Grayson fan, and a fan of Bludhaven, I really want this book to shine and get more readers and the depth I think it deserves. I think we're moving there, I just wonder how much longer it will take.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #60

May 15, 2019

While he may not be the exact same masked hero, the outcome is the same. The main difference is an additional cast this book needed. And, with them comes a better understanding of the city they inhabit, and why it deserves to be fought for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #75

Oct 20, 2020

While there is one more con with this issue, later on, Nightwing #75 is an impressive return of the title character to his old self. It has been a long wait. Now that DC has Dick back on track, let's hope he gets his full adventuring life in Bludhaven. This is the city fans have clamored to come back, one made for Dick Grayson. But with all of the detours to the many Batman crossovers, and attempts to get rid of this beloved character, it feels like Bludhaven and, by extension, Nightwing, never really get to stand on their own. There is a broad swath of Bat titles. Gotham is covered. In ten years' time, let's add some good quality titles to the Nightwing Family and let this blossom.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Terra Incognita #6

Jan 9, 2019

This series is a plus for Trekkies, and a solid run for any comics fan who has a foot in science fiction and stories revolving more around characterization and group dynamics rather than slugfests and powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #28

Mar 13, 2019

This issue brought forth all of the joys of the classic comic book. A huge battle. Kooky villains. A hero being tested. And all of it served the overall plot of getting Supergirl closer to a face-to-face confrontation with the elusive Circle, and finding out just why they handed Krypton a death certificate. Supergirl has fast become my favorite superheroine, and cosmic-level book to read. Well worth it, month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #29

Apr 10, 2019

However, my sole gripe with this issue is that Z'ndr is a teenager. I'm not sure why it bothered me, maybe I wanted Supergirl to have a mentor more than a fellow teen pal, but it rubbed the wrong way. Either way, Supergirl #29 was paced well, artistically beautiful and I eagerly await next month when the confrontation with Empress Gandelo goes down. A great job as usual. So glad the Zaar storyline got this series renewed because Supergirl is a great character. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #32

Jul 10, 2019

Supergirl #32 does not end the story of justice for Krypton, but it does add another layer to it. Supergirl doesn't get a satisfying resolution from her long quest for the truth, nor does she gain her immediate goal. But this issue is good reading, and an excellent advancement along the path to finding out how the Maid of Might will contend with the death of her people and how it shapes her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #36

Nov 20, 2019

I'm curious to see where this leads while hoping it doesn't drag on for too long. This is sure to propel her into a new direction that will certainly have repercussions for her down the road. I had no interest in the Infected story arc before. This issue piqued my interest in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) #38

Jan 8, 2020

The majority of the issue is illustrated by Scott, a great artist who offers up a graceful yet eerie Supergirl. She has a terrific, straightforward style reminiscent of George Perez.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2016) #39

Feb 12, 2020

This is a fun, dramatic issue. There are increasing stakes and making Smallville the center of it all, especially after Superman revealed his secret identity to the world, in Superman #18 gives the story added weight.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, the issue is an action piece with a mystery tale interwoven. The plotting is good. But, it could be told with any number of DC heroes and still be enjoyable. The story was originally published in the Superman 100-Page Giant for Walmart stores.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Six Million Dollar Man (2019) #1

Mar 8, 2019

Even putting nostalgia aside, I can recommend the Six Million Dollar Man as a solid, entertaining read that makes for a great introduction to a forty-plus year old character and concept. Dynamite Entertainment assembled a top notch team to bring this property into the hands of readers old and young alike and I for one am eager to get my hands on the next issue. Please let this be a monthly and not a miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More