Dana Folkard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 104
9.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, Ive enjoyed the first issue of Dead Orbit and I look forward to watching this intense game of cat and mouse unfold. I love nothing more than being immersed in a scary, adrenaline-fueled space horror, especially one that involves a xenomorph. I just hope that this story maintains its chilling momentum and offers us something that we havent encountered from this nasty creature yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 11, 2017

Overall, Im excited about this comic adaptation and I look forward to future issues. Its great to be able to revisit this wonderful story, visualised with interesting and unusual art. Im curious to see how such a large novel will be condensed down into twenty-seven single issues without sacrificing the complex story that we have come to know. This is a comic for both old and new fans, for those who have read this book multiple times and for those who have never ventured into this strange world before. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 7, 2017

American Gods: Shadows #2 is maintaining its momentum as the story stays true to the original source material. The art reinforces the emotional tone of the story, delivering a visual dose of unease and apprehension. Things are starting to get interesting, as Shadows journey into the mystical world of the gods begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #3

May 12, 2017

Overall, I'm enjoying this comic adaption of American Gods. P. Craig Russell has been very faithful to the original source material and Scott Hampton's art brings a whole new dimension to this wonderful story. I'm curious to see how they'll continue to deliver this classic tale, packaged neatly in a satisfying and enjoyable comic and whether it'll continue to engage and entertain. I've read this novel before but I never tire of this excellent story and seeing it wonderfully adapted by P. Craig Russell makes for a fresh new experience that I'm thoroughly enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Gods: Shadows #4

Jun 12, 2017

Overall, I'm enjoying this comic adaptation of American Gods. This is such an excellent and engaging story, and seeing it imagined with expressive art is an absolute treat. I know I'm enjoying a story when I come to the end and I'm bitterly disappointed that it's over"well, this is how I feel when reading American Gods. Don't hesitate, do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Gods: Shadows #5

Jul 12, 2017

American Gods #5 is a strange and haunting jaunt into a mysterious world inhabited by gods. Things are slowly being revealed to Shadow, which makes for some compelling developments and curious changes in the way that Shadow perceives the world around him. There is a real sense of respect about the way in which P. Craig Russell delicately handles this adaptation, never sacrificing the bones of what makes this story special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #6

Aug 15, 2017

Overall, I found this to be an exciting and wild ride into a warped reality. Things are beginning to unfold, revealing secrets, identities and plans to Shadow at an alarming rate. P. Craig Russell delicately handles this adaptation in a subtle and respectful way, and this coupled with Scott Hampton's art, makes for an enjoyable journey. I'm looking forward to #7 where we'll see Shadow's next move in this bizarre game with the gods.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Gods: Shadows #7

Sep 12, 2017

I really liked this issue, as I felt that it captured the ominous and uneasy tone that is driving the narrative forward perfectly. As Shadow's journey unfolds, we learn more about him and his destiny, and this for me is what keeps me coming back. Also, P. Craig Russell has handled Neil Gaiman's novel with a level of delicacy and respect that I believe deserves commending and this coupled with Scott Hampton's art makes for an enjoyable and engaging read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Gods: Shadows #8

Oct 10, 2017

American Gods #8 was an enjoyable and confronting chapter in this story, where we see the introduction of two new curious characters, Mr. Ibis and Mr. Jacquel. A change is occurring within Shadow, heralding a dark and worrying shift in his emotional state. Overall, I found this to be an engaging and compelling issue and I'm looking forward to when the next one comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Gods: Shadows #9

Nov 15, 2017

Overall, I found this issue of American Gods to be an engaging and revealing chapter in this tale. There is a feeling of sadness and despair driving the narrative forward, as Mad Sweeney grapples with the reality of his situation, and the desperation that he is feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angelic #1

Sep 21, 2017

Overall, I really enjoyed the first issue of Angelic. I believe that this story has the potential to grow into an exciting and engaging narrative that will take us to some exciting new places. The story is unique and compelling, and this coupled with the vibrant art makes for a highly enjoyable read. Angelic is a a coming-of-age story that will appeal to teens and people of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angelic #2

Oct 25, 2017

Angelic #2 is an exciting chapter in Qora's tale, as we see her embark on a thrilling adventure with her new companion. Caspar Wijngaard's art is visually epic and beautiful, capturing the whimsical and curious nature of Qora perfectly. I find this to be an easy comic to immerse myself in, with a well-rounded story and lore to match.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #9

Nov 3, 2016

Overall, Bitch Planet #9 packs a punch! Its a well thought out and stimulating read. I feel like a lot of love and dedication has gone into this story and the women within it. Its confronting and inspiring at the same time and that itself makes it an important comic to read. I find that I take my time reading each new issue of Bitch Planet and I also enjoyreading all of the political and though-provoking essays and interviews at the end of the issue. DeConnick tears down those boundaries that make a lot of people uncomfortable and in doing so creates a truly unique story, filled with powerful characters. I just love this series and this issue is another great instalment to this epic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #10

Apr 26, 2017

This was an impressive and exciting end to the second story arc of Bitch Planet. Intense, gritty and thought-provoking, this issue truly captures the exciting and stimulating pace of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #1

Jun 14, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed the Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #1. I found it to be engaging and compelling, with each story fitting right into the world of Bitch Planet, but allowing us to explore this dystopian landscape from a fresh and new perspective. I enjoyed the variety of different art, and commend the different interpretations that each artist brings. If you are a lover of Bitch Planet, or new to the series and are curious to enter this world for the first time, then this is a comic you should definitely get your hands on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #2

Jul 19, 2017

Overall, I thought that this was a clever, entertaining and funny anthology. Each story is unique, smart and well written, fitting perfectly within the larger dystopian world of Bitch Planet. With a mixture of compelling themes alongside satirical humour, these stories all come together to create a powerful and thought-provoking narrative. I have found that the world of Bitch Planet has helped to foster a sense of solidarity and community for people from all walks of life, and this in itself is the biggest reason why you should go grab a copy, and become one of the non-compliant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #3

Sep 14, 2016

With each new issue of Black Hammer, Im learning more and more about this world, the characters and their personal stories. Its an interesting world, filled with complex personalities that have a lot to reveal and space to grow. Im excited with where this story is going and I look forward to learning more about what is going on and where it is all headed. There is mystery and intrigue littered throughout this story and I look forward to piecing together this cryptic puzzle and discovering more about this world and the characters within it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #4

Oct 17, 2016

Overall this issue has piqued my curiosity. Whilst a lot is slowly being revealed to us, there still remains a lot of unanswered questions, with more being added to the mix. I find the story and the characters both mysterious, complex and engaging. Im looking forward to seeing where Lemire is going to take the story and I cant wait until more is revealed to us about the Black Hammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #5

Nov 8, 2016

Black Hammer #5 delivers another intriguing issue to this mysterious story. By this point, I feel like Im really starting to get to know these superheroes, as I learn about their past and the things that have happened to them. Im curious to see where this is all leading to and learning more about these weird and wonderful characters, stuck in this strange and twisted world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #6

Dec 14, 2016

Black Hammer #6 has opened up even more mystery for us. Something is very wrong and Im curious to find out exactly what it is. The plot thickens even more, as unexpected developments occur resulting in some curious changes to the story. Its all very interesting and Im actually finding it hard to guess what is going to happen, which makes me even more intrigued. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP and step into Madame Dragonflys Cabin of Horrors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #7

Mar 14, 2017

Black Hammer #7 delivers an emotional dose of reflective storytelling. Joe Webers story is a sad one and it leads to a sad conclusion. Im curious to discover more about Lucy and her journey to the farm and whether this renewed hope will eventuate into something more. Knowing that the hammer must never fall and that someone must always wield it has me intrigued with what will transpire next. Im curious and excited for what the next issue will reveal and looking forward to learnning more about this mysterious story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 18, 2017

A spooky and puzzling issue that leaves us with more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #9

May 22, 2017

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue of Black Hammer. Both thought-provoking and moving, Lemire digs deep, revealing more about the emotional state and relationship of Weird and Talky. I'm also very curious as to what Weird is up to and how it will ultimately affect the overall larger narrative. Couple that with Rubin's lovely art and this makes for an interesting and creative instalment to this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #10

Jun 16, 2017

Overall, Black Hammer #10 is an intriguing and compelling issue. There are multiple things unfolding, all of which feel like they are building towards a narrative development or plot twist. I find that the characters are all going through some interesting changes, learning more about who they are and responding to these discoveries. I'm looking forward to when the next issue comes out, where we unearth what Madame Dragonfly is up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #11

Jul 25, 2017

I was sad when I came to the end of this issue, as I didn't want it to end. I really love this story, with its troubled characters, unexpected developments and overall spookiness. This really is an interesting and unique tale, that is illustrated beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #12

Aug 23, 2017

It was a pleasure to see David Rubin back to illustrate this issue, with his art bringing a new and interesting visual angle to this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #13

Sep 20, 2017

Dean Ormston is back to illustrate this chapter of Black Hammer, bringing this wonderfully dark and gritty world to life. Emotions are flying in this issue, and Ormston perfectly captures the pain and anguish that these heroes are experiencing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 13, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed reading this curious tale and learning more about this mysterious tale. I found that Lemire paces his stories well, which allows for us to take in and absorb everything at a steady pace. Even though a lot happens, I never feel overwhelmed and I believe that this is because of his clever writing and character development. The art delivers so much variety and it brings a totally new and interesting element to the Black Hammer visual narrative. I highly recommend reading this, as its a wonderful addition to this very curious and cryptic tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
By Chance or Providence #1

Jul 26, 2017

By Chance of Providence is a magical jaunt into an enchanting and tragic world. The stories intrigue and engage, with tormented tales of lost love and regret. Becky Cloonan's art is hypnotic and captivating, transporting the reader into a beautifully detailed world that has a sense of history, lore and culture. I sincerely hope Cloonan plans to spin more tales like this, as this trilogy is an absolute treat.Dana Folkard

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empress #5

Sep 20, 2016

So far Im thoroughly enjoying Empress and this weird and wonderful chase through space that Millar and Immonen have created for us. This issue delivers more intense nail-biting moments and swashbuckling heroics, all framed in an epic space opera backdrop. Im looking forward to the next issue and the conclusion of the first story arc and hopefully getting an answer to the one question I have. Will our escapees evade death and danger one final time and be able to find their safe sanctuary?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empress #6

Sep 23, 2016

Empress #6 is an impressive conclusion to the first story arc of this series. Millar and Immonen have introduced us to a wonderful space opera that offers us some great characters, hair-raising moments and stimulating plot developments. Ive thoroughly enjoyed reading Empress and I've found it to be consistently clever, gripping and fun.Its concluding issue really ties it all nicely together, making it a cohesive and dynamic story that is well rounded and cleverly thought out. Im looking forward to the next story arc and seeing where this whirlwind of events and dramatic tale is going to take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #2

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, I find Ether #2 to be another enjoyable instalment to this story. Venturing out and exploring this unusual world has been both entertaining and amusing. There is something dark lurking there and I can sense the foreboding nature of it, however, that has yet to be revealed to us. So until then I look forward to reading the next issue and finding out exactly who murdered the Blaze and whether Boone make order from all of this chaos?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #3

Jan 17, 2017

Overall, I enjoy venturing into the Ether with Boone and Glum. It's an interesting world filled with magic that is reimagined in an interesting and creative way. The combination of an inventive concept, filled with likeable and funny characters, along with fun and whimsical art makes for an enjoyable read. I look forward to the next issue and once again stepping through the portal with Boone to this weird and wonderful world where magic and science collide!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #4

Feb 8, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed Ether #4. It was nice to deviate a little from Boone and Glums story for a moment and explore more of Hazels. Im curious about a few things, one being the villain in this story, Ubel. Every good story needs a balance of good and bad and it appears like we are just starting to scratch the surface of this. Im looking forward to learning more about these character's backstories and discovering why they are important.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #5

Mar 6, 2017

Overall, I've enjoyed the concluding issue for the first story arc of Ether. I found this to be a thought-provoking and intriguing read. It was interesting to discover more of Boones story and learn a little bit about his sad past. He is a broken and damaged man, who has sacrificed a lot to live a life of high-adventure and scientific discovery. Whilst I'm excited about discovering more about the sinister plot that is about to unfold Im keen to learn more about Boone and Hazel and the importance of their complicated relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Evolution #1

Nov 15, 2017

Overall, I found Evolution #1 to be an edgy and intense introduction to this series. The story is original and the art is beautifully detailed, aptly suiting this story. The creators of this comic have my attention, and I'm keen to follow this story to find out more about this apocalypse, and how the world is going to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves #1

Jan 18, 2017

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire is a wonderful story that will leave you entertained and amused. Neil Gaimans writing is witty, whimsical and clever and Shane Oakleys art is a perfect accompaniment to this satirical Gothic tale. I recommend grabbing a copy, so that you may experience this story depicted in a lovely visual narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gravetrancers #1

Nov 29, 2017

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the introduction to this tale. This is a horror story with a disturbing psychedelic twist, that will make your stomach churn and leave you feeling mighty uncomfortable. It has an interesting concept, and this combined with the detailed art makes for an engaging and gripping read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: Krampusnacht #1

Dec 14, 2017

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this dark Christmas tale. Venturing forth once again with Hellboy is an absolute treat. Mignola weaves the kind of Krampus story that will make all lovers of Hellboy smile. What a delightful Christmas treat!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #3

Sep 18, 2016

Although this issue was slower paced and didnt progress a great deal, the deliberate gradual pace was needed to help establish these new and complex relationships. Overall Im really enjoying the character development and the interesting relationship dynamics that are forming. Im looking forward to when the next issue comes out and we get to see more of the super-villains plan to break into Supermax. Millar is laying the foundations for an all mighty raid and I cant wait to see how its all going to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Sep 28, 2016

The first two issues of Kill or be Killed so far have given us a tantalising taste of things to come. The dark and unexpected plot twist has added a whole new and interesting dimension to this story of murder. Im curious to see where we will be taken and what we will see Dylan do and his transformative evolution as the story progresses. Kill or be Killed is a unique thriller and Im looking forward to seeing where this wicked story is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #4

Nov 14, 2016

Overall, Im really enjoying this interesting twist on a modern horror/crime story. The plot has some interesting developments and I really enjoy watching Dylan evolve into a smart and efficient killing machine. His personal complications, mixed with his desperate situation is an interesting story and Im keen to see where it is headed. I want to see where this deal with the Devil will go and whether Dylan can handle the pressure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 6, 2017

Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1 is an exciting and enjoyable introduction to this new story arc. Rob Williams and Simon Fraser do a top job of taking the helm, creating an interesting story that reflects the original tone of this series. Nothing feels forced, and it all seemed to flow in a tight and tidy way. I'm looking forward to reading more and seeing whether the momentum can be maintained.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kingsway West #2

Sep 29, 2016

Overall Im really loving this Old West fantasy. The story has me intrigued, the characters are dark and mysterious and the world is epic. Seriously, give me a well-written gunslinging tale filled with magic and dragons and Ill be lining up for the next issue. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #2

Sep 15, 2016

Overall Im really enjoying having Josie Schuller back. I loved the first Lady Killer story arc so much and now it feels like its back to business, as things are once again starting to amp up in volume. In the past Josie has always relished in her job but as things are once again start to get serious, we see a new Josie emerge, as her personal life and work life begin to overlap. I cant wait for the next issue to come out where we can learn more about this mysterious organisation and see whether her new partnership is as sweet as it appears on the surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #3

Nov 9, 2016

Lady Killer 2 #3 delivers another entertaining and grotesque issue to this series. Full of twisted, dark humour and shockingly brutal murder, its hard not to enjoy this series and completely love Josie. Im curious to see what decision Josie will make and how it will impact her life, and whether it will be for better or worse. Do yourself a favour and grab yourself a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #4

Mar 1, 2017

Lady Killer 2 #4 is another exciting and gritty edition to this story. Things are getting complicated and intense for Josie and just when it all seemed to be working out perfectly for her, it all begins to come undone. Her relationship with Irving has dramatically changed and she now has a bitter enemy in him. I look forward to the concluding issue of this second story arc and discovering what exactly Josie is going to do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lady Killer 2 #5

Aug 29, 2017

Overall, I found this to be an enjoyable and engaging issue of Lady Killers. There is nothing like seeing Josie in action, as she fights for survival against a ruthless and unrelenting killing machine. The story has progressed in an interesting and compelling way, and I'm curious to see where this will take Josie and what her next venture will be. I highly recommend you grab a copy ASAP and be prepared to enjoy some bloody good action!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #1

Oct 19, 2017

It goes without saying, that I loved this first issue. I found it to be an exciting and compelling introduction. It has a strong story, rich lore, interesting characters and stunning art. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fantasy story with a huge and disturbing twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #2

Nov 15, 2017

Maestros #2 is an entertaining chapter in this story. There were a lot of laugh-out-loud moments for me, and I particularly loved spotting all of the geeky references to pop culture that Willy makes. The plot thickens, as we are introduced to Lord Rygol, who heralds an even darker and more complex shift in the narrative. I'm looking forward to where this story will progress and how things will unfold for Willy. I recommend grabbing a copy and immersing yourself in this dark, twisted and downright funny tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #3

Dec 13, 2017

Overall, I'm loving this story and find it to be a truly original and engaging concept. It's well written, filled with likeable characters " yes even the baddies are likeable " and the art speaks for itself. I was sad to reach the end of this issue, as I didn't want the mayhem to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Millarworld Annual #2

Sep 21, 2017

Overall, I believe this is another successful Millarworld Annual, and I enjoyed delving into each of these six-engaging short-stories. Each story in their own right holds true to the original feel and vibe of the characters they are emulating, with each delivering an interesting take on each of these Mark Millar creations. I always love seeing new names added to the list of comic creators grow each year, and I'll be sure to keep an eye out for any new work coming from these guys in the future. Congrats to all the winners and good luck on your newfound careers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #8

Dec 2, 2016

Overall, I feel very intrigued with whats to come in Monstress after reading this issue. The story is building and we have been given some interesting nuggets of information that have left us with a lot of unanswered questions. Im curious and want to know more about this skeleton key and the links it has to Maikas mother and I cant wait to see what they will find at the Isle of Bones. I look forward to reading the next issue and discovering the answers to these questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #9

Dec 27, 2016

Monstress #9 is an intriguing issue, filled with some curious plot developments. So much is going on and I feel like we are only just beginning to scratch the surface of it all. Im looking forward to discovering more about these conspiracies and seeing whether Maika and her companions will make it to the mysterious Isle of Bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #10

Feb 22, 2017

Monstress #10 is creepy as all hell. We are finally on the Isle of Bones with Maika and confronted with multiple unsettling and curious developments. We are revealed a lot, whilst still having so much of the story shrouded in mystery. Im excited to see where the next issue will take us and what will be revealed as things progress. Im curious to see whether Maika will get the answers shes been looking for from the strange and unknown Lord Carrion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #11

Apr 19, 2017

Monstress #11 is a revealing issue that explores some interesting plot developments as it pushes toward the end of the second story arc. Things are getting interesting as we delve deeper into Maika's personal history and her blood connection to the mask and the Monstrum. I'm looking forward to the following issue and seeing what Maika plans to do with this newly discovered information.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #12

Jun 1, 2017

Overall, I must say that I enjoyed this issue. I felt like it was a compelling and though-provoking conclusion to the second story arc. Dark, intense and engaging, Maika's journey continues to develop in an interesting way, that is both intriguing and filled with surprises. I recommend grabbing a copy ASAP and enjoy the wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 23, 2017

The Old Guard #1 has me intrigued. Its engaging, gritty and thought-provoking. I think this is a creative concept that has the possibility of growing into a really interesting and well-rounded story. Im curious to learn more about Andy and her companions and see where this immortal life will take them next. Trouble is brewing and Im keen to know how its going to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #2

Mar 31, 2017

The Old Guard #2 has me hooked. Greg Rucka has created a compelling and gripping story, filled with interesting characters that all possess a unique past. The art is striking, dynamic and perfectly suited to this kind of story. There is depth here and I look forward to discovering more about Andy, her crew and the mystery behind their immortality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Guard #3

Apr 27, 2017

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue, with its intense action sequences, witty dialogue and touching moments. This is a compelling and exciting story that keeps gaining momentum as the narrative drives forward. I look forward to reading the next issue and seeing what these immortal warriors will do next and where their adventures will take them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Guard #4

May 25, 2017

The Old Guard #4 is an exciting and thought-provoking read, that will leave you wanting more. With wonderful art, clever writing and interesting characters, this story continues to engage and entertain on a complex level. A lot is explored and revealed in this issue but many things remain shrouded in mystery. Some unexpected plot developments have me asking many questions, and I look forward to discovering the answers to those in the future. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Guard #5

Jun 21, 2017

The Old Guard #5 caps off and intense and exciting story arc. I found it to be a thrilling and gripping ride, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I developed an affection for the characters, especially Andy, and yes, even Booker. The art is striking and edgy and that combined with the beautiful colouring, makes for a compelling visual narrative. I'm looking forward to when The Old Guard returns, and joining Andy and her ragtag group of immortal warriors on their next journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 8, 2017

COMIC DETAILSCREATIVE TEAM:Zack Kaplan, Andrea Mutti, Vladimir Popov and Troy PeteriPUBLISHER:Image ComicsPUBLICATION DATE:November 08, 2017REVIEWER:Dana Folkard

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rasputin: The Voice of the Dragon #1

Nov 16, 2017

Overall, I found Rasputin: The Voice of the Dragon #1 to be a compelling first issue. I'm really excited about this series and looking forward to venturing forth into Trevor Bruttenholm and Rasputin's past. The story is clever and well written, and this coupled with the wonderfully detailed art makes an outstanding first issue. If you're a Hellboy fan, I recommend that you go and grab yourself a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rasputin: The Voice of the Dragon #2

Dec 6, 2017

Overall, I found this to be an ominous and engaging chapter in the tale. Trevor is venturing forth into dark territory, and whilst we know how this story ends, it's exciting to see the events leading up to Project Ragna Rok, the arrival of Hellboy and the formation of the BPRD.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 3, 2017

I'm happy to have the Rat Queens back, because I honestly missed them. The Queens wisecracking and crass antics are forever entertaining and that coupled with an intriguing story makes for an enjoyable read. This soft reboot has me excited for whats to come and I look forward to seeing more of Owen Gienis art bring this wild fantasy world to life. I cant wait to do more questing with these booze-guzzling, monster killing gals and hear their endless jokes about Gary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #2

Apr 12, 2017

Rat Queens: Cat Kings and Other Gary's #2 has me intrigued and wanting more. Already we are aware of a sinister twist to the story brewing and I'm excited to discover more about this. This issue is action-packed, loads of fun and it's great to see the wisecracking Queens back to their old questing antics. Grab a copy, laugh-out-loud and enjoy the epic fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

Rat Queens #3 delivers another hilarious dose of shenanigans and questing. With wonderful illustrations, clever writing, filled with witty jokes and hilarious banter, this is one story that keeps on entertaining. Whilst I focused a lot on the funny side of this issue, I should also mention that I'm curious and looking forward to the larger narrative relating to the mysterious cult. I'm interested in discovering more about this side of the story and seeing where the next big adventure will take out beloved Queens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 7, 2017

Rat Queens #4 takes us on an exciting and mysterious ride, filled with hilarious quips, unusual encounters and unexpected plot developments. Things are getting mighty strange for the Queens, and this is one adventure I'm looking forward to embarking on again. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP, as this is high-fantasy dungeon delving at its best!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #5

Aug 16, 2017

Kurtis Wiebe has created an entertaining narrative, filled with lovable characters that are both relatable and endearing, and this coupled with Owen Gieni's beautiful illustrations make for an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #6

Nov 23, 2017

Overall, I found this to be yet another enjoyable chapter in this story. The Queens never fail to entertain me with the witty banter and hilarious antics. I'm very intrigued with the arrival of this new wizard, who brings with him a dark and compelling new twist. If you're seeking high adventure with a ragtag group of gals, then do yourself a favour and grab a cop ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017): Orc Dave Special #1

Sep 27, 2017

Overall, I absolutely loved this one-shot Orc Dave special. Delving into Dave's past proved to be a delightful and unexpected journey, filled with a lot of emotion and genuine pathos. I highly recommend grabbing a copy of this one-shot, so you can immerse yourself in some forest orc lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #1

Oct 8, 2016

Reborn #1 is an intriguing and exciting introduction to this highly-anticipated new series. Its thought-provoking, exciting and action filled. We have been introduced to some interesting characters and a unique and complex story with the foundations for what will no doubt be an exhilarating journey. Im excited and curious to see where Millar and Capullo are going to take us and I look forward to when the next issue comes out. If youre looking for a fresh take on a sci-fi/fantasy with some deep concepts and lovely art, then do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #2

Nov 15, 2016

Reborn #2 has me intrigued. I think its a really cool concept and I just love the sci-fi fantasy setting. I want to go explore this world with Bonnie and her dad and go on an adventure with them both. Im looking forward to seeing where this story is going and how its going to develop and unfold. Seriously, do yourself a favour and grab as copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

Reborn #3 has me hooked. Whether it's the characters, the setting, the story or the visuals, its all unique, diverse and fantastical. This is a story that will appeal to not only fantasy lovers but also to those who are looking for an engaging story with wonderful art. Im curious to see more of Bonnie's warrior powers and I want to explore the Dark Lands and see what Lord Golgotha has planned for them. The only disappointment I have is that I have to wait for the next issue. Seriously, get into it and embark on a journey!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #4

Jan 24, 2017

Reborn #4 launches straight into action. Bonnie is going through some epic changes and right now it seems like nothing can halt her in her quest to find Harry. All in all, its an impressive issue with epic art, heroic battles and a few interesting plot developments. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy and be prepared to jump into the fray!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #5

Mar 24, 2017

Overall this is a slower-paced and more though-provoking issue of Reborn. During these quieter moments, its nice to see Bonnie reflect and ponder things, exploring her feelings and embracing her emotions. It feels like we are getting to know her more, as small fragments about her past and the way she looks at life is revealed to us. Im looking forward to venturing back into the Dark Lands with Bonnie and straight into the gates of hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #6

Jun 7, 2017

Overall, I have loved everything about Reborn. This is a story that continued to grow and deliver something new with each issue. The conclusion to this story arc was well thought-out, clever and satisfying. Combining clever character development, an interesting concept and stunning art, this is one story that will appeal to all sorts of people, seeking an intelligent and enjoyable piece of escapism. Whilst I'm sad to see the end of this story, I'm excited to see where the next adventure will take us and where Reborn will go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #1

Jun 29, 2017

Redlands #1 is everything I hoped and more. From the very first page, I was hooked. I was immersed in a world of brutality, murder and dark magic. I'm looking forward to discovering more about these mysterious witches, and why they've decided to take over Redlands with such ruthless force. This is a story that will appeal to those who love a good horror story with a mysterious and uncertain path, that delivers equal amounts of adrenaline and moody atmosphere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #2

Sep 13, 2017

Redlands #2 dives straight into an intense and gritty story, that is both engaging and immersive. I'm curious to see how this story will unfold and where things will go from here. It's hard not to like what Jordie Bellaire and Vanesa Del Rey have created, with its compelling story-telling, complex characters and striking art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #4

Nov 8, 2017

Redlands #4 is a dark and revealing chapter in this story. Sinister, mysterious and deeply unsettling, this issue explores some curious developments, whilst also focusing on the personal dynamic within the coven. There is a sense of menace in the air!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rose #2

May 18, 2017

Overall, I'm really enjoying this journey that Meredith Finch is taking us on. It's great to have a story with not only a strong female protagonist but also a strong female villain as well. There is a lot here that has yet to be explored and I'm looking forward to discovering more about the lore of this world and learning about what drives some of the characters. I'm also keen to see more of Thorne in the future and the role that he has to play. If you're interested in venturing into an exciting new fantasy world, filled with intriguing characters and a compelling story, then do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rose #3

Jun 14, 2017

Rose #3 is an exciting and compelling edition that explores some interesting character developments. Rose is going through some changes, finally embracing her magical abilities and her destiny to become a guardian. We are also introduced to the glorious Thorne, a captivating giant black kitty! The art is vibrant and fresh, and captures the enchanting side to this world. I'm looking forward to going on more adventures with Rose, and seeing her meet Thorne for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rose #4

Jul 12, 2017

Rose #4 is an exciting and adrenaline-fuelled ride that keeps on going. Things are accelerating at a fast rate, forcing us to learn and discover the lore as the story unfolds. Whilst we have established Rose's motivations and character, I would really like to see and learn more about Drucilla. For me, she is a mysterious, maniacal ice queen, who likes to hide out in her tower of doom. Who is she? Why does she do these things? These are things, a stickler like me needs to know!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rose #5

Aug 7, 2017

Overall, I found this to be a gripping and engaging issue of Rose, with the tension quickly building as war is on the horizon. Rose and Thorne are together, but they need to find a way back to the rebels before it's too late, so I'm looking forward to seeing how they will overcome this obstacle. I'm also mighty curious to see what Drucilla has planned for this rebellion, as I'm sure it's something brutal and depraved"and I wouldn't expect any less from the vile despot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Rose #6

Sep 13, 2017

Overall, I found this to be an exciting and engaging end to the first story arc. I'm looking forward to seeing how the aftermath of the battle with unfold and what steps Drucilla will take next, and whether she will go ahead with the threats she has made. Grab a copy ASAP and prepare for battle!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

Scales and Scoundrels #1 is a fun and engaging introduction, that has me intrigued. I'm already in love with Luvander and her roguish smirk, and I'm excited to jump into this adventure with her. I'm curious to learn more about the secret surrounding her, and these interesting powers that she possesses. Every good story must have an equally good villain, so I'm looking forward to seeing more of this sinister looking figure and what it is they want with Luvander.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #1

Oct 18, 2017

Overall, I though this to be a strong and engaging introduction to Sherlock Frankenstein. I'm looking forward to diving straight into this adventure with Lucy, as she probes for answers concerning the whereabouts of Sherlock and ultimately her father.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #2

Nov 23, 2017

Sherlock Frankenstein #2 is a slower-paced, yet revealing issue, as we delve into the origin story of Cthu-Lou. I'm really enjoying how Lemire is introducing us to some pretty wild and new characters, all with their own sad story to tell. I'm looking forward to what the next issue brings and being introduced to the next Spiral City villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 16, 2017

Overall, I found this to be an entertaining introduction for Spy Seal. Whilst it may have been a little predictable at times, I actually didn't mind, as I loved the overall vibe and flow of the narrative. Malcolm Warner has me intrigued, and I'm looking forward to seeing where this new adventurous life will take him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Gravediggers Union #1

Nov 1, 2017

Overall, I found The Gravediggers Union #1 to be a hoot. I was skeptical at first, but once I was introduced to Cole and his gang of ragtag monster slayers, I began to suspect that this comic might be a little different. Wes Craig has my attention, as I'm intrigued with the story and want to know what going to happen next. Horror fans delight, as this is a gritty apocalyptic story, filled with plenty of guts and gore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Gravediggers Union #2

Dec 6, 2017

Overall, I found this to be a revealing and informative issue. We discovered a lot about the impending apocalypse, the Black Temple and Morgan's role in all of this. A lot of lore is being explored here, which is important when laying the foundations of the story. I'm curious to see how things will unfold and how the Gravediggers Union will try to stop the rise of the Black Temple.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Once And Future Queen #1

Feb 22, 2017

The Once and Future Queen #1 is a story that will appeal to a younger audience wanting to familiarise themselves with the Arthurian tale with a modern twist. This interpretation seeks to make the story of Arthur a more believable in a real-world sense, whilst still trying to capture the magical essence of King Arthur. Its early days yet, so any world building or character development has yet to be established, so these things may unfold in later issues. Im curious to see where this story will go and how it will unfold and whether it can continue to drive forward in a fresh and original way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1

Apr 12, 2017

The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1 is a great introduction to this new story arc. Intense, wild and absurd, this issue is the beginning of something I'm excited to see unfold. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP, even if it's just to see Darrow's epic and amazing art. It really is something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Void Trip #1

Oct 25, 2017

Void Trip #1 is an enjoyable and entertaining read that will leave you craving more. The characters are perfectly suited for one another, giving off a vibrant and bubbly energy that will have you in stitches. I'm very intrigued by their mysterious pursuer and why he wishes to ruin the fun for them and what this might mean for their future plans. If you're looking for a fun-filled space adventure with a bunch of space froot munching crazies, then grab a copy and enjoy the trip.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 15, 2017

Overall, I'm loving Winnebago Graveyard. This is a horror story I can sink my teeth into. It has an engaging story, an unexpected twist, stimulating characters and an awesome setting. I'm excited to see where this story goes and what sinister things lurk around the corner in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Jul 19, 2017

Things are looking grim for this small family, as they desperately try and find a way out of this town and away from these mysterious hooded figures. I really enjoy the unexpected developments that keep popping up in this story, reminding me that this isn't your typical creepy cult. These guys are bad news, and I like it! I'm looking forward to third issue and seeing how these events will unfold for this scared and vulnerable family.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winnebago Graveyard #3

Aug 16, 2017

The writing is fast-paced and engaging, and this coupled with the beautifully detailed art makes for an enjoyable and compelling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Winnebago Graveyard #4

Sep 13, 2017

This was such an excellent and climactic conclusion to this dark and twisted tale. Steve Niles delivered us a finale that is both exciting and compelling, whilst Alison Sampson's art offers equal amounts of realistic gore and stunning details. Overall, this is a unique horror story that is suspenseful, menacing and downright terrifying. I want more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2

Sep 22, 2016

Mysterious, engaging and sinister, Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2 delivers us a dose of eldritch horror, steeped in awe and secrecy. The plot has thickened, as we are introduced to some interesting and unexpected developments. I look forward to reading the next issue and discovering more about this enigmatic story and unravelling the puzzle thats plaguing Sir Edward Grey. Do yourself a favour and pick up a copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #3

Oct 26, 2016

Witchfinder: City of the Dead #3 delivers us another exciting instalment to this mysterious case. The veil is finally being lifted, as we begin to unravel more to this case steeped in secrecy and mystery. Im thoroughly enjoying this dark Victorian horror set in the Mignolaverse and I highly recommend that you grab yourself a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #4

Nov 29, 2016

Witchfinder: City of the Dead #4 delivers us another spine tingling instalment to this uncanny story. The mood is tense and filled with a sense of unease, which matches Greys concerned and troubled mind. Im excited to see how this story will end and what will happen to Grey as he courts damnation and tries to save London and his Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #5

Dec 27, 2016

Overall, Ive really enjoyed this Witchfinder story. The tension slowly built, which really drove the narrative forward in an ominous and foreboding way. I found the story gripping, the characters compelling and it all came together to give us a sinister and atmospheric story. A story that many of us have been waiting to be told. Im excited to see what will happen next for Sir Edward Grey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zodiac Starforce: Cries of the Fire Prince #1

Jun 29, 2017

Witty dialogue, combined with an engaging story and beautiful art, this is a great introduction to the new story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More