Jason Motes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ScienceFiction.com Reviews: 210
7.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #700

Dec 27, 2012

This issue had a hefty price tag, $7.99! I almost balked, but this is an important comic. I just had to bite! The price gets one atom, but the rest… it was a satisfying and emotional issu with nice artwork, but I've read even harder hitting issues in the past, so it fell a tiny bit short, but just a bit!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ame-comi Girls #3

Dec 16, 2012

The art wasn't my favorite. The story was original in areas, but never reeled me in all the way. It was fine to kill ten minutes or so.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2011) #14

Nov 28, 2012

The story is a nice balance between set up for ‘Throne of Atlantis' with a few throwbacks to this series first two storylines. The art is slightly inconsistent, but is overall good. I'm not sure what to expect from ‘Throne of Atlantis.' Aquaman is pretty consistently solid, but I have been really disappointed in Justice League, so this could go either way. Maybe JL will rise to Aquaman's high standard and not drag him down to that book's level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2011) #15

Dec 29, 2012

Aquaman has been consistently great from the start. Justice League hasn't. But by bringing them both together, JL is looking stronger than it has up til now. Aquaman… just continues being great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #16

Feb 2, 2013

While overall, I think Geoff Johns is doing a good job with this story, this issue felt a little bit scattered with a lot of different stories happening at the same time, but they do come together in the end nicely. And this does end with quite a jaw-dropping twist. It was also nice to see the Justice League's roster expand and I love the choices, since Black Lightning and Vixen are two of my favorites. Hawkman in particular stands out, establishing a new status quo for the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #17

Mar 2, 2013

This was a transitional issue, but it was loaded with nice character bits, cool follow-up to the past storyline and the introduction of new plots and characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #18

Mar 30, 2013

I'm a lifelong Aquaman fan, so maybe I'm partial, but I am loving this run on this book. I am really impressed at how Johns has taken Aquaman's lengthy and not always stellar history and in many ways, turned it on its head. Vulko turned out to be a villain?? Whaaaaat?! I love this take on The Scavenger! It's very on-the-nose, but makes a lot of sense and he comes across as a pretty interesting villain. So even though there's not a ton of action, this issue delivered everything I want out of a comic, so…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #23

Sep 1, 2013

All in all, this book flows nicely. I'm glad to get some closure to a few plot lines that started out strong but was starting to feel as if it were dragging a bit. The artwork was great, as usual. But as I said, the way the issue ended was really odd and I'm not sure how I feel about that. But overall, this is a solid series and this was another strong issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #23.1

Sep 15, 2013

So this issue wasn't flawless. But it was strong and it was nice to get a new story and not another origin.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #23.2

Sep 29, 2013

Unlike a lot of 'Villains Month' books, this isn't an origin tale. Which is fine. Even preferable really. It builds up further one of Aquaman's major supporting characters/villains and sets him up for his eventual return to Atlantis. The art is really good. The characterization was strong. All in all, a solid entry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2011) #25

Nov 28, 2013

All in all, this was a great way to cap one of the best Aquaman runs in history. It nicely wove together a bunch of the extensive cast (another exceptional contribution from Johns), wrapped up a lot of plot lines while also setting up the future of the series. The art suited the story very well, quite grandiose and energetic. I'm sad to see Johns go, but he goes out with a bang!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2011) #26

Jan 4, 2014

In all, this book remains strong, so I hope its sales remain so. No one would have guessed just five years ago that Aquaman's comic would outsell The Flash's and Superman's! I hope it wasn't just Geoff Johns' name attached that attracted readers. The writing is still solid. The art was a little less thrilling, but still very well-done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2011) Annual #1

Nov 3, 2013

Like in their previous appearance, this was a tiny bit of a fill-in, but sometimes it's refreshing to get an entire story in one sitting and not have to wonder “What happens next?” There's a slightly contrived romantic subplot but over all this was a straightforward but still entertaining story with good dialogue and characterization and the art is quite appealing. All in all, it's well above average.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman And The Others #1

Apr 5, 2014

All in all, this book is very promising, but with John's departure from the main book and lack of involvement with this series, I'm not sure that Aquaman's halcyon days will last. But at least for the time being, Aquafans can smirk smugly that the King of the Seas who was so often mocked by comic know-it-alls (such as 'Robot Chicken' and others) now appears in more books than The Flash or any individual Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Arrow #1

Nov 29, 2012

The third chapter is the issue's high-point, focusing on villain Lady Shiva and revealling her secret origin, illustrated by Jorge Jiminez. Jiminez's art is excellent! It's fluid, crackles with energy and just as Grell's art felt a bit flat, Jiminez's does indeed pop off the page. And the story actually embellishes the story of the show, deepening the mythology.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #35

Oct 12, 2014

I had dropped this book, but I'm definitely adding it back to my pull list. The art is great, the writing is young and hip. I was quite impressed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #36

Nov 16, 2014

I just love this book! I'm not even sure how DC approved this drastic change. The past two issues are nothing like those leading up to if after the New 52 relaunch. I kind of wish this was just how the series had launched. But I think it's a change for the better. This is one I'm sticking with for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 29, 2013

So this issue is definitely worth picking up for the art, even though it's by two artists, so there is a bit of an inconsistency there. The writing is good, but there just isn't enough to really judge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #3

Sep 2, 2013

So while this issue featured great dialogue, the plotting and art were uneven which made it a little less enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #15

Dec 22, 2012

This was a good solid one-off issue that a new reader could probably pick up and comprehend pretty well, having not read the previous 14. It retained the vibe of the Batwoman issues, but had a slightly different feel to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman #16

Jan 26, 2013

I hate that this wasn't the culmination of the story, mostly because everything was just becoming so frantic and seemed to be building up to the big climax… next issue better really deliver, or I'm going to be severely disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman #17

Feb 24, 2013

If I have to find any fault, it's that this issue felt rushed. This is a story that has sprawled across 16 prior issues only to be entirely wrapped up in one issue. There were a few odds and ends that were resolved in the past issues, but a LOT was packed into this one installment. But despite that, it felt GOOD to end all of what has come before. Plus, we get a couple of excellent twists at the end, setting the stage for the next arc. I, uh, just hope that one doesn't drag on for 17 issues. But otherwise, excellent issue of, what I consider the best comic on stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #18

Mar 23, 2013

I still don't like the name Hawkfire, though. What was wrong with Flamebird?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman #19

Apr 20, 2013

As I've already stated, the art was wonderful, but beyond that, this book delivers a level of sophistication absent in the majority of super hero books. It's finely crafted from the ground up and its creators are clearly building something far from “just okay.”

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #21

Jun 23, 2013

Killer Croc is a character I never gave two thoughts to. Giant crocodile man? M'kay. And most writers chose never to delve any deeper. This is strange considering how nuanced most of Batman's enemies are, but most were willing to employ him as simply muscle. J.H. Williams III and W. Haden Blackman actually gave this character some depth and made me interested in him here. I enjoyed the story and thought the art suited it well!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman #23

Aug 25, 2013

This series displays rare maturity and maintains its own voice. I've actually discussed it with other fans, but for whatever reason, a lot of readers don't care for it. I think it's, at its worst, very solid and at times sublime! This issue falls closer to that description. I can't say it's perfect, but it's very, very good and the art is improving… and it was already good to begin with!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman #24

Oct 20, 2013

Well, I'm sad to see the founding writers of this series depart. they brought an immeasurable amount of love and concern to this series. While this issue was sound, they've done better work and the normally bang-up art was a tad rough and inconsistent. It was still above average, but the book has been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman #25

Nov 24, 2013

The writing was really good, though and the art was solid… actually really good at times. And I'm loyal to characters, so I will probably continue to follow this book. It's not as unique as Williams' run with W. Haden Blackman, but it's still a better than average book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman #26

Jan 4, 2014

Yeah, so this book is in good hands. As much as I loved the series before, I didn't think I could love it any more… and maybe I don't love it MORE, but I love it in a different way. Andreyko brings a fresh voice that honors the prior writers but adds so much that's brand new. Haun likewise rises to the challenge and delivers some really excellent art. I'm just going to go there:

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman #27

Jan 25, 2014

The artwork is beautiful. Jeremy Haun and Francis Manapul deliver a gorgeously executed book. There was one panel that confused me, where the guy who hired Wolf Spider does something to a painting. It looks as if he may have set it on fire, but I don't think that's right. I just didn't get it, but I'm sure it will be explained.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman #29

Mar 23, 2014

Over all, this was more of a character building issue, but it worked well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #7

Nov 25, 2012

This issue felt a little light, but the art was decent and the dialogue was very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #8

Dec 23, 2012

It's not the most gripping story, but it's fun and entertaining and I really enjoyed the art! And even if the story is a bit rote, I appreciate the way the story was told and how different plot threads came together at the end. This book had a rocky start. It was the book I so desperately wanted to like more than I actually did… and it looks like it might just live up to that potential and soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #9

Jan 19, 2013

This was an off-beat, light-hearted issue, but it was entertaining and really helped to further develop Carol as a leading character. This series as a whole seems almost anti-commercial and you kind of have to respect that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #10

Feb 23, 2013

I enjoyed this issue, but this series as a whole has been spotty. I like that Marvel is employing unique artists, but uniqueness isn't always commercial. I think this book really needs to find a better balance and these more indie artists should be given assignments on edgier series. But, just judging by my own tastes, the writing and art were great! I understand it won't all appeal to every reader, but if you're open to quirkier fare, definitely give this book a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #11

Mar 23, 2013

This was a solid issue and a dramatic storyline. I guess if I have to pick one word to describe this series as a whole, it's “personal.” Carol has really been fleshed out as a real 3-dimensional person with a large supporting cast that is equally well developed. Carol is the star here, not “Captain Marvel.” It's a really satisfying read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #12

Apr 20, 2013

The writing on this book is consistently good, especially the dialogue, but the real treat is how dense Carol's back story is shaping up and how rich her supporting cast has become, incorporating new characters like Helen Cobb, who effortlessly slip into Marvel's past history, along with pre-existing characters like Dakota North and Spider-Woman, Jessica Drew. Think about the best super heroes, like Spider-Man and immediately you think of Aunt May, Mary-Jane Watson, Gwen Stacey, J. Jonah Jameson, Robbie Robertson, etc. That's often something that's missing when it comes to less successful heroes (e.g. Wonder Woman, whom every writer seems to think needs a new supporting cast as soon as they start writing her book). Marvel is trying to position Captain Marvel as their leading female hero and this book services her well to that end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #13

Jun 22, 2013

I'm a real cheerleader for this series and this is another solid issue. Of course, if you haven't already, I suggest grabbing ‘Avengers: The Enemy Within' #1 (one-shot) and ‘Avengers Assemble' #16 first, otherwise, even with the recap on the first page, I doubt you'll get this story. But I definitely think it's worth your effort!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #15

Aug 31, 2013

So, while the writing is solid, the fact that it had to be tailored around another event really disappointed me and the fact that a major development in the life of the lead character was glossed over via recap page really burns me. The art wasn't bad, but just wasn't to my liking. So in all, it was kind of a disappointing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #16

Sep 21, 2013

This is the worst example I can think of, of a crossover miniseries simply crippling an ongoing title. The crispness of the usual book is nearly absent as the lead character is saddled with poorly defined alien marauders. The book is weighted down with clunky, hard to read dialogue and too many other characters. Sadly, as a big a champion of this character and the series as a whole, I don't recommend this issue at all. Thankfully, it looks like next issue takes things back to normal.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2012) #17

Nov 8, 2013

So in some ways, I feel Marvel didn't quite accomplish what they set out for with this book" basically a Marvelized Wonder Woman. Instead, what they wound up with as an all too human, flawed but completely empathize-able female hero, not drawn by cheesecake illustrators, but more daring indie-style artists. It may not have sold as well as was hoped. (That odd faux hawk mullet probably didn't help.) But this run was, for the most part, pretty solid and pushed some boundaries. And this was a truly perfect way to wrap things up. Looking forward to the next phase of Carol's career! #CarolCorps

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Constantine #1

Mar 24, 2013

Don't get me wrong. It's not bad at all. It looks great, but it just failed to grab me. It was okay, but not epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Demon Knights #14

Nov 19, 2012

This is a fun team book, that doesn't seem to get the love I think it deserves. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it's a fun mix of disparate characters. It's fairly light and humorous at times and the art is consistently really solid. This was kind of a breather issue, but it was still entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #7

Dec 6, 2012

This series is a roller coaster for me. This issue was really interesting and solid. Others have left me wanting or have felt very trite and stereotypical. It's a real middle of the road series for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #8

Jan 13, 2013

So far, this isn't my favorite series, but at its best, it's an interesting case of world building. It exists within its own continuity and doesn't have to answer to the events in any other books. There's a certain freedom in that that comes across to the reader. No issue of this book so far, including this one, has blown me away, but it's starting to feel like it's all actually leading some place that could pay off satisfactorily.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #9

Feb 9, 2013

This book has really come together. I was really disappointed at first, but after I let go of the past, it's shaping up to be pretty entertaining!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #10

Mar 9, 2013

This book wasn't perfect from the beginning. It's still not. But it's perfectly enjoyable and very easy on the eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #11

Apr 6, 2013

This title has shaped up from it's rough beginnings. While it's not groundbreaking or even what I consider a must-read, it's still entertaining with really beautiful art. I guess I would classify it as “Not a waste of money.”

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #14

Jul 7, 2013

All in all, this was a decent issue with great artwork, but not much in terms of story development.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2 #15

Aug 10, 2013

The art, by Nicola Scott, is awesome as always, but overall it doesn't make up for the weak story. I was expecting a lot more plot development and despite all the action, it really felt like filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #16

Oct 5, 2013

I'd say the pay off forthe last year or soworth of stories was pretty satisfying. The book stumbled at times, even disappointed at others, but now that we've reached our destination, I think it works pretty well overall. The art is just spectacular and the story was solid and surprising enough to keep me coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2 #17

Nov 10, 2013

Even with a new writer, Tom Taylor, taking over for James Robinson, this book is still just barely managing to be average. The artwork is great, but the story is flat and unexciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #18

Dec 8, 2013

And Nicola Scott's art, as usual looks amazing, so even if the writing were sub-par, this could be one of those books you buy just because it's pretty! This is shaping up to be a pretty solid book and rumor has it, that soon ‘Earth 2′ will be interacting with Earth 1, the principle DC Earth. If that happens, you might want to jump on board and get versed on this world in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2 #19

Jan 11, 2014

The cast is ballooning to Legion of Super Heroes proportions, but the story is picking up and does keep things interesting. I hope to see Green Lantern, The Flash, Hawkgirl and Doctor Fate take back the spotlight. I really don't need a new Batman book. But all and all, not bad!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #20

Feb 9, 2014

This series has stepped up since Tom Taylor took over scripting it. Things are really coming together and this book is more engaging than it was under James Robinson. I would like to see more of the initial cast, including Green Lantern and The Flash, but… the fact that this is a down-played issue focusing on sideline characters, it was still interesting and engaging. The art was nice as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2 #22

Apr 6, 2014

So art-wise this issue was excellent, but unfortunately the story was a bit slow and I'd like the story to speed up a little and for there to be some resolution to at least a couple of ongoing plot threads.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2011) #14

Dec 1, 2012

This is a consistently fun, beautifully drawn series. It's not the most ground-breaking book out there, but it's completely solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2011) #15

Jan 5, 2013

Storywise, there are a few details that further the plot, but I would be lying if I said I didn't wish things weren't furthered just a tad more. This story is good and is really establishing Grodd as a violent foe and a serious villain in the DC Universe. It's just suffering from the same problem that a lot of books these days do, decompressed story telling. But, it wasn't bad. As a whole, this issue touched bases with the various different cast members involved in this story and as the story did move ahead a bit. Both artists delivered great artwork, but their styles failed to mesh. But still definitely above average.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2011) #16

Feb 2, 2013

So stunning artwork, but kind of a dragging storyline… it's still well-written, just slow (even for The Flash).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #17

Mar 2, 2013

This issue might be the end of a storyline, but it sets up several new ones, and is pretty action packed. If you've never read it, it might be too much to absorb… or maybe not. I thought it was pretty solid!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #18

Mar 30, 2013

And Buccellato's writing is just as crisp as Manapul's before. The dialogue is strong and I enjoyed The Trickster storyline. It may not be a great jumping-on point for new readers, though as it references a lot of stuff that's happened before. But if you've been following this series and were maybe worried about Manapul's departure, you have nothing to fear. This book still works.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #2

Oct 3, 2013

Overall, though this is a good story with good characterization. The art is perfectly suited to its dark tone. There are a couple of (what could be) flaws, but all in all, it entertains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #3

Nov 10, 2013

This issue served as a nice interlude that filled in some story gaps and advanced the story, while also paying attention to the characters and establishing them for readers that may not read every DC book. The first two issues were a tad cryptic, but here questions begin to get answered and we get more insight into the characters that are most likely to play a role in resolving this plot line.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #4

Dec 28, 2013

There's not a lot more to say. Very few comics came out this week, but at least one was so completely satisfying, that it's better than if I'd bought twelve books that were just okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #5

Feb 8, 2014

One thing that made me pause and actually laugh a bit at is that in the narration, Lex Luthor states that it was 48 hours ago that the Crime Syndicate invaded and took over this world. Funny it seems like that happened my ENTIRE LIFE AGO! Sigh… sorry. I'm all for good storytelling. I'm sure this series will read great in trade format, but as a monthly comic that has almost no impact on the DCU as a whole, I'm like “GET ON WITH IT!!!” Or maybe I'm just on my computer too much and want everything immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #7

May 24, 2014

This book was great! Definitely worth the wait! David Finch's pencils are excellent and really deliver the massive battle sequences. The story is riddled with references to past DC history and clues about where its headed, which should be even bigger! I certainly dislike a LOT of the New 52, which is why the number of books I read has steadily dwindled. But big things are coming up. I may have to delve back in and start reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil: A.R.G.U.S. #1

Nov 3, 2013

It was okay. It wasn't my cup of tea, but the art is pretty good and the writing is also solid. There are some interesting developments, which I am interested to see play out. I'll probably hang in for one more issue at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #1

Oct 19, 2013

This book fills a nice niche. The Crime Syndicate arrived and, presumably, expected that all of this world's super criminals would fall in line and help them conquer the Earth. But there are different tiers of villainy and The Flash's Rogues are just glorified bank robbers. They aren't murderers of conquerors and it's interesting to contrast them with the other super foes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #2

Nov 24, 2013

All in all, this is an off-beat book. It's a spin-off of one of the darker event comics DC has done, yet contrasts that completely by being fun and bright. So far, I'm into it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grayson #1

Jul 13, 2014

I'm definitely on board with this book for a while. This is definitely one of those books where it's worth it just for the art. It certainly helps, however, that the story was lighthearted and interesting. I may not have given this a perfect score, but oh right, Dick Grayson works out in his underwear.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grayson #2

Aug 10, 2014

This is a nifty book. I wasn't necessarily thrilled from cover to cover, but it flowed nicely enough. The dialogue is light and believable. The art is stunning. The only thing I'm somewhat concerned about is that this story clearly has a finite run. Eventually, Grayson is going to uncover the corruption within Spyral. Then what? Will he go back to being Nightwing? Guess we'll have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson #4

Nov 9, 2014

This was a slower issue, allowing the characters (and readers) to take a breath. But it still builds on the overall story and helps flesh out the characters. And the art is certainly not filler material. It's some of the best you will see in a monthly comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #0.1

Mar 2, 2013

This is one of those books that you can just pick up, read, enjoy and be satisfied with. Yes, it leads into a new Guardians series, but even if you don't read any further, this single issue is completely satisfying. The plot isn't 100% original, but the way it is delivered is refreshing at least. Good dialogue, excellent artwork, okay plot… it's worth picking up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #1

Dec 22, 2013

But the book has a fun tone and the characters are unique and should be fun. It's a decent first issue that nicely sets up the series to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League #14

Nov 21, 2012

The book looks good, but it's about the flimsiest thing I've ever read that Geoff Johns has written.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #15

Dec 28, 2012

But the main attraction is the Justice League and their portion of the issue, while not perfect, at least lived up to this book's potential more than any issue prior.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #16

Jan 26, 2013

So while the story was pretty sweeping and is shaping up to be for Aquaman what Blackest Night was for Green Lantern, the characters really irritated me this time. Here's hoping they come to their senses and act like a team that could actually prove to be effecting and not the Bad News Bears of the DC Universe. And the art makes the book worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #17

Feb 23, 2013

Finally, this book has grown into the book it should have been from the beginning– DC's best mainstream super hero book. It's truly a flagship book now, big, loud super fisticuffs, anchored by great character development. Can it stay this good? That remains to be seen, but this was probably my “must read” book this week!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #18

Mar 23, 2013

The Justice League part is fun. The art is gorgeous. The dialogue is entertaining. The Shazam part… well the art is gorgeous. The writing isn't bad at all, but it's just not fresh enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League #19

Apr 20, 2013

This issue wasn't the worst comic I've ever read. I may be reacting too harshly. It's been a rough week. But, it's absolutely, with no prejudice, lazy. And that's the real crime, considering the formidable talent behind it. At least it's pretty. (Oh and apparently Shazam will factor in at some point.)

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League #21

Jun 29, 2013

It's certainly not awful. The art is great, but the writing never finds the right groove. The story is just okay and the dialogue is sort of clunky. If you haven't been enjoying the “Shazam” backup strips, definitely skip this issue and come back next month when the Justice League returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #22

Jul 14, 2013

So while this is a fun big time crossover, it was plagued by a few too many weak points that could have been avoided. Johns may be stretched too thin on his various other projects and his executive status at DC. This storyline has been hyped for months. It's good, but it should have been the best comic of the New 52 so far and sadly it wasn't. It's worth a read, though and like I said, the art is brilliant!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #23

Sep 1, 2013

Overall, though there's little to complain about here. It's fast-paced and chocked full of super heroes, not to mention a few villains for good measure. There are twists, fake-outs and betrayals to keep readers on their toes. The only drawback is it's open-ended, setting up ‘Forever Evil' without taking a second for readers to catch their breath, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #23.1

Sep 8, 2013

Over all, unfortunately there was a sense that this was “extra” material, like a DVD bonus. It certainly helps embellish things and flesh things out further, but if you didn't read it, you wouldn't be missing out. There's nothing vital here, that you HAVE to know. It's okay if you just want something to read. The art is nice, but it just isn't essential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #23.4

Sep 26, 2013

Hopefully, more will be revealed in 'Forever Evil' #2. As atmospheric and intriguing as this book was, it was also so vague it left me more than a little unsatisfied. I'm sure ultimately, it will provide an important piece of the puzzle for as for right now, I think I have more questions now than when I started reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #24

Oct 25, 2013

This issue is just fun. I can see how some might find it indulgent, but Johns was clearly having fun here. Earth Three is clearly the opposite of Earth One and this issue was much more coherent than the ‘Secret Society' Villains Month one-shot. The big confrontation was one that I honestly don't recall ever seeing, so that was pretty nifty!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #25

Dec 14, 2013

Am I getting impatient for the heroes to return and set things right? Sure, but in the meantime, Johns is crafting one for the ages. I wasn't sure how this was going to go, but by balancing huge super battles with clever in-depth character development like this, this is turning into one of the better crossover events in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #26

Dec 28, 2013

Overall, this was another solid issue. The Crime Syndicate are some nasty customers and this captures that well. And the art just elevates that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #27

Jan 25, 2014

Overall, this issue felt like a good installment of the Forever Evil storyline. It was nice to see Cyborg get a spotlight and the inclusion of the Doom Patrol and Metal Men was unexpected but welcome world building. The art is beautiful. Solid across the board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #28

Feb 22, 2014

All in all, though this was a side-story of sorts and didn't really feature the actual Justice League, which is the main attraction, I found it to be a great fill-in, with excellent as always art by Ivan Reis with Joe Prado and Scott Hanna.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #29

Apr 20, 2014

Overall, this was a solid issue with great characterization and excellent artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #30

May 24, 2014

This issue was solid and it's nice to see the ‘Forever Evil' storyline wrapped up (satisfactorily), but to continue to feel the ramifications. This is indeed a new status quo for the Justice League and it will be interesting to see two villains on the team. It should also be fun to see Captai… Shazam. I didn't really enjoy his backup features in earlier issues of this series, but since then he's been handled pretty entertainingly. And we see some glimpse of what's left of the Crime Syndicate on Earth. All in all, this was a solid issue and one that will prove essential in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #31

Jun 28, 2014

Overall, this was a quieter issue focused more on character development, but it nicely sets things up to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #32

Aug 3, 2014

If you expect more Justice League in your ‘Justice League,' you might be a little disappointed with this issue. If you like seeing classic DC properties resurrected for a modern audience, then you should be quite satisfied at the “freak show” that is the Doom Patrol. And finally, if you're a Lex Luthor fan, this should certainly satisfy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #33

Sep 6, 2014

The characterization is excellent– you can practically feel the sliminess in Luthor's voice– and the Doom Patrol make a unique and intriguing addition to the New 52. All in all, a really solid issue. This series started off a bit rocky for me, but lately, it's really going smoothly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #14

Dec 3, 2012

The art by Graham Nolan and Victor Drujiniu is extremely pretty, but I'm not sure if that's a good thing here. It's a tad too clean for a borderline horror comic. It's hard to criticize art for being too attractive! It's really nice, but I think maybe something sketchier or grittier may have served the story a bit better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #15

Jan 5, 2013

Flawless art and solid writing… this is a great super hero book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #16

Feb 3, 2013

I've read that this book is going to become more closely tied to the rest of the DC Universe and I hope it helps direct more attention to it. It's a real sleeper hit! I don't see how it could be more satisfying. Great writing and brilliant art! People that don't read this are really missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #17

Mar 2, 2013

This is a fringe book. The “Justice League” in the title doesn't seem to be generating that much buzz, but it's quite well written and absolutely gorgeous to behold. It's definitely worth checking out, if you aren't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League Dark #18

Mar 30, 2013

So while this is a gorgeous book, the pacing was way off. It was entirely too rushed. The characters are fascinating and the dialogue is solid. The story itself was a lot of fun, up until this point. I'm not sure why the ending was so crammed, but it left me really unsatisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #23

Aug 24, 2013

So this is a beautifully drawn, well paced action story. It's not incredibly deep, but it doesn't seem to be aspiring to that. It's the big super hero event story of the summer and as such, it perfectly well lives up to that and delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League Dark #23.1

Sep 8, 2013

Skip this. It's a hot mess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #23.2

Sep 22, 2013

This issue doesn't really tie into 'Forever Evil' at all, but it's also not yet another origin story. It's just kind of its own free standing story which presumably will lead into later comics. I've kind of gotten the impression that Eclipso will eventually play a larger part in the DC Universe and this will certainly factor in as an essential issue. All in all, it's definitely above average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Dark #24

Oct 26, 2013

This book has been consistently well above average and much better than the regular ‘Justice League' series. But ‘JL' has actually gotten better and not that this issue was poor by any means, but I can't help be a tiny bit disappointed. Maybe it was the absence of the rest of the cast and their interpersonal bickering. Maybe once he puts his new gang together and they hopefully recover the existing team, things will get back on track. Or maybe it's just going to take new writer deMatteis a few issues to find his footing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #25

Nov 29, 2013

The art on this book is some of the most gorgeous in all of comics. No flaws there. The writing is solid, has some really excellent details, but the overall plot is lacking just a little bit. I don't mean to hate! It's enjoyable, the characterization is great and I really respect this approach to magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Dark #26

Jan 4, 2014

All in all another strong issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #1

Feb 23, 2013

Overall, it was a somewhat by-the-numbers “putting the gang together” story. This format has been employed many times, but it was still entertaining. The dialogue is nice and Johns actually takes on the haters head-on by addressing the criticism fans have already lobbied at some of these character choices. This appears to be an eclectic mix and that could go either way, but I'm intrigued to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2013) #2

Mar 24, 2013

I liked the interaction between characters. I liked some of the humorous notes, like Vibe meeting Hawkman. In all, this was a really solid, entertaining book that worked on nearly every level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2013) #3

May 11, 2013

Geoff Johns has a great handle on all of these characters and they play off each other nicely. Whereas the other Justice League are all respectful professionals, none of these guys trusts the others one bit. There's great tension and interaction. Johns has done an excellent job differentiating this team and making them a fascinating ragtag gang of misfits, even just three issues in. This is a solid book that I hope readers will give a chance despite the absence of Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman and despite the presence of Vibe. (C'mon, give the guy a chance! Even if you agree with Catwoman's statement, “Vibe, you suck!”)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2013) #4

Jun 3, 2013

The one slight drawback for me is the Martian Manhunter backup feature which simply doesn't appeal to me. It's pretty and all. I just didn't think it was interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2013) #5

Jun 30, 2013

This was definitely an above average issue. I'm not loving the idea that the Secret Society storyline is (most likely) being placed on the back burner in favor of this upcoming crossover, but here's hoping that “Trinity War” delivers loads of super hero versus super hero awesomeness! But this team is gelling nicely, as diverse as they are. And the art is pretty solid, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2013) #7

Aug 17, 2013

This title has been consistently stronger than ‘Justice League,' which is odd since Geoff Johns writes both. But the character interactions are much better in this title. This was maybe the best issue of ‘Trinity War' so far and the art was exceptional! If you've been displeased with this crossover and were thinking of dropping it, this issue may change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2013) #7.1

Sep 8, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think of “Villains Month” and although this book doesn't tie into the regular JLA book at all, it's still very well written and nicely drawn. I definitely give this one a thumbs up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2013) #7.3

Sep 20, 2013

Overall, I'd say this book falls above average. The art and writing aren't groundbreaking but are both quite good. It's solid and entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America (2013) #8

Oct 18, 2013

After several months of mystery, things are starting to roll here. This is the turning point for this storyline and the creators don't disappoint. If you're reading ‘Forever Evil' you need this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #9

Nov 16, 2013

But overall, this issue felt a little stagnant and touched on too many elements from the previous installment. It's certainly not bad, but with such a huge storyline as ‘Forever Evil' you kind of go in expecting things to move a bit more briskly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #10

Dec 15, 2013

Anyhoo… cover aside, this writing on this issue was sound. The art was decent, but not the best ever. It felt a little filler-y since it had only a vague connection to ‘Forever Evil' but it certainly wasn't a waste of money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2013) #11

Jan 18, 2014

So, unfortunately, I found this issue strictly average. The writing was okay but choppy. Nothing about it really impressed me, but it was okay enough. I prefer Barrow's art style. It's sleek and energetic, forgiving the confusing Clayface fight. Derenick's art looks" well, just like Jerry Ordway's. There's nothing wrong with it, but" well, I'd never buy a book based on the fact that he drew it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Of America's Vibe #1

Feb 24, 2013

In all, the book works. It's entertaining and you can tell the creators are really handling this one with care. Unfortunately, maybe they need to loosen up a bit. But it was good! Nice artwork. Interesting characters. Decent story. I'll give this at least a few more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Of America's Vibe #2

Mar 23, 2013

Even with my criticisms, though, I do recommend this book. It's a real risk for DC, but it's not bad at all!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Of America's Vibe #3

Apr 20, 2013

Obviously, this book is building up to Vibe breaking away from A.R.G.U.S. and someone (Booster Gold, maybe???) shows up to point him in that direction. What role Vibe will play in the larger scheme of things remains to be seen, but from the looks of things, it will be huge! Who knew a character from such a humble origin could prove so vital? And likeable and entertaining?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Of America's Vibe #6

Jul 19, 2013

Luckily, there's more to offer. Dante has a nice arc here as he, the “loser” brother, tries to make good by rescuing his brother. Cisco and Gypsy are also endearing characters and even hard-nose Dale Gunn proves increasingly appealing. The overall storyline is fun. The hint Waller drops could really push this book into an exciting direction, but as of right now, I think this book is coasting a bit too much on the likeability of its characters. But we're still building, so things could turn around. And like I said it's “nice” so at least it's not “bad.” It's better than average, but doesn't push the envelop toward great yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Of America's Vibe #8

Oct 20, 2013

Vibe was a character no one really wanted to see in his own comic book. I'm not sure why DC even thought to bring him back. (He was dead prior to the New 52 relaunch.) But this book isn't bad at all. It's nicely written and drawn and seems to be building to something greater… or at least helping to build to something greater. But it says something that it's outlived ‘Sword of Sorcery' which I thought was brilliant! Obviously, DC has a reason to keep it afloat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League United #0

Apr 26, 2014

That said, this book was entertaining enough. The dialogue was fun. The art was amazing! The characters are likeable, so I hope that's enough to bring in readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League United #1

May 18, 2014

So in all, this is a light, fun diversion from the epic adventures of the ‘main' Justice League. If you just enjoy fun team adventures, this delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Katana #1

Feb 16, 2013

Katana is no one's idea of a lead character. I'm not sure why DC felt she deserved her own series, but this issue is stellar. The creators really sink their teeth in and deliver a solid comic! It's the first issue! Jump on board! (Plus, she's going to be in the Justice League of America, so this could help you understand this character before seeing her there!)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Katana #2

Mar 16, 2013

I truly think this a great book… that won't last. I'm already getting the same feeling I got from reading I, Vampire and Sword of Sorcery, like “I absolutely LOVE this… no one else will read it.” Why do you do this to me, fandom? Buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Katana #3

Apr 27, 2013

So despite a big change in the art style, this issue continues to deliver a unique, entertaining comic series and I will continue reading it for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Katana #6

Jul 14, 2013

So while the plot was decent, the characterization was solid as usual and the art, though not entirely cohesive, was still great to behold. A strong issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Katana #7

Aug 18, 2013

I think this is one of the most underrated books out there right now. The story is engaging, with a fun, quirky cast and a unique setting. The story telling is nicely paced as well, as the pieces fall together over time. And the art is consistently solid! This was a risky choice for a solo comic, and I get that it's a hard sell for DC, but it's definitely a strong book in all areas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Katana #8

Oct 13, 2013

All in all, this is one of those great under-the-radar books. It has a unique style and voice. It's not like anything else I'm reading on a monthly basis. I'm not sure if this makes the best issue to suddenly jump into, but overall, it's a good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Miss Fury #1

Apr 6, 2013

So while neither the story nor the art were perfect, they were both overall better than average. And both showed glimpses of potential greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pretty Deadly #1

Oct 27, 2013

There's a whole lot to take in here and you can tell there's going to be a lot more coming up. Some things feel clearer by the end, but clearly some things are left unanswered for now.It should be an enjoyable ride if this creative teamcan maintain this level of energy and quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Secret Origins #1

Apr 26, 2014

Honestly, if you're already familiar with these characters, you can easily skip this entirely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Storm #1

Jul 27, 2014

Is it flawless? Not 100%. But it's a strong start and I'm coming back for more. (Also I have never snapped my fingers so much while reading a comic. Wurk it gurl.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2011) #14

Dec 2, 2012

All in all, a satisfying read with lovely artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2011) #15

Jan 4, 2013

So overall, this is a decent comic, but I would never call it a must-read. Great art plus okay writing…

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2011) #16

Feb 2, 2013

The art is fantastic, but I wouldn't say this is essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2011) #18

Mar 30, 2013

So this was all over the place for me. I'm not even sure how I felt about it. The dialogue was fine. The art ranged from decent to excellent. But the weird throwback storytelling devices, like I said, just took me right out of the story. I'm just going to have to give this an average score, although the art makes me wish I could give it more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #1

Oct 12, 2013

So no, it wasn't flawless, but it was damn good. I had a lot of reservations about this book and I haven't been completely on board with slapping Superman and Wonder Woman together as a couple, but Soule takes the bull by the horns and confronts the differences between the two. And he seems to have a great grasp on both of them. And the art is very pretty. I'm good with this!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #3

Dec 15, 2013

I'm a big Wonder Woman fan, so like most, I went into this book with a little hesitation, but it's vastly surpassed my expectations!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #4

Jan 18, 2014

So in all, this was a good issue. The dialogue is quite strong and the art is really appealing. It has its faults but in the larger scheme of things, those may be corrected.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sword of Sorcery #2

Nov 24, 2012

This isn't a super hero comic, so if you're slavishly devoted to those, maybe you won't like this. But if you are a fantasy fan or are looking for just a GREAT comic regardless of genre, grab this! It's fantastic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sword of Sorcery #3

Dec 23, 2012

The episode is more drama than action, but the story advances nicely. Amaya's powers develop and the plot is furthered and new concepts are introduced. I think this book is just very enjoyable. Writer Christy Marx is crafting a true mythology. You get get this richness and depth in every issue which makes you realize that Gemworld is this massive place with a long, storied history, that you can't wait to explore to its fullest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sword of Sorcery #4

Jan 27, 2013

But the main attraction is Amethyst and unfortunately this issue screamed “fill-in issue” like a neon sign. The art was not as good as usual and the story was a complete stand-alone that doesn't help to embellish the already-fairly-rich storyline. It does further a connection to Justice League Dark and John Constantine, though. I suppose it really felt like a “.5″ issue that publishers put out every so often. It's not essential reading, but it adds a bit to the mythology, so it's like a nice bonus feature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sword of Sorcery #5

Feb 24, 2013

This issue nicely builds upon the mythology that Marx has very well developed from the start of this book. It's still building up a lot of things that I am very sad may never play out. This book could really be epic. Unfortunately, it won't get the chance. The art is simply gorgeous and suits the story perfectly. Amaya is an engaging lead and at least she may carry on in Justice League Dark. The Amethyst concept is so good, it would be tragic to simply have it evaporate into the ether, while Red Hood and the Outlaws and The Ravagers are allowed to carry on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sword of Sorcery #6

Mar 24, 2013

Even though this series is ending soon, I can't endorse it enough! Give it a shot!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sword of Sorcery #7

Apr 20, 2013

I've stated before, this book just feels rich. So much thought and planning must have gone into it before the title even launched and you just feel that reading it. Nilaa has a vast and complex history and all of these characters have a role to play in the upcoming battle. You just get the feeling that nothing is wasted here. No one is just there for the ride or to fill space. There is a reason for everything and everyone. It's sort of amazing that writer Christy Marx hasn't really written many comic books, working mainly in animation and video games. Maybe that's the key, a fresh attitude and approach. (It would seem to be the case, considering how many comic veterans are writing for DC these days and are turning in by-the-numbers, mediocre books.) This is a great book and one of the ones I look forward to the most every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2011) Annual #2

Nov 3, 2013

This book has certainly improved from the surly beginnings. At least the characters are somewhat sympathetic and likeable now. (Well, the important ones, at least.) The writing is also fairly solid, but the general plot feels stale. It's sort of right there in the middle for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fearless Defenders #1

Feb 10, 2013

This was an entertaining book. The story itself is well-paced, with above average dialogue and the art is good, but there is room for improvement. But in all, it's enough to make me want to check back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fearless Defenders #2

Mar 16, 2013

I'm going to remain optimistic. There are some really nice bits to it, in art and story, but it's not wowing me yet. (I do like it better than Birds of Prey, which I ultimately dropped, because it was just okay.) BUT, there's been a lot of talk about female books not selling well and I think mediocrity is a big part of that. Mediocre books are NOT going to sell. But Fearless Defenders is better than mediocre and I think it'll find its footing as we go on.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Fearless Defenders #5

Jun 9, 2013

I want to love this series, but honestly, it's just okay. Maybe once the full team is assembled and solidified, things will take off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fearless Defenders #6

Jul 13, 2013

Overall, I don't love the art on this book, but it's still reasonably entertaining with some good characters with loads of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fearless Defenders #8

Aug 18, 2013

Overall, a fun issue that serves as a nice stand-alone issue and jumping-on point, that still ties into the larger storyline without seeming too daunting to a potential new reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fearless Defenders #9

Sep 14, 2013

I've been somewhat iffy on this book. It's regularly been the book I most wanted to love, but simply didn't. It's just barely managed to be more than average. Suddenly, with this single issue, things have taken a turn for the better! The writing is crisp with sharp dialogue and a fun, light tone. The art has vastly improved! If you didn't care for this series initially, give this issue a try. It may turn you around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fearless Defenders #10

Oct 12, 2013

I definitely commend the creative team for taking on the challenge of tying into the larger ‘Infinity' crossover event, but still managing to tell their story their way. This series took a while to find its footing, but now it seems month after month they are knocking it out of the park. This was another excellent installment!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fearless Defenders #12

Dec 8, 2013

I'm really going to miss this book. It had a nice mix of interesting characters, many of which haven't even had a chance to shine. The team is left intact at the end, though, so hopefully that leaves the door open for them to return at some point. As it states when the team strikes a pose after their battle “The Fearless Defenders, The Most Fabulous Fighting Team Of All.” You won't get an argument from me! Here's hoping for a swift return. And because this is the last time I get to review it, and the creators went above and beyond, I'm giving it…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity: The Just #1

Oct 26, 2014

In all, though it wasn't flawless, it was a solid comic that was respectful of DC's past continuity. The art was beautiful and the meta ideas presented were intriguing, although Morrison has tread similar ground in other books in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Sandman Overture #1

Nov 3, 2013

I… want to give this a five. The writing is incredibly intelligent and poetic. The art is possibly the best I've ever seen. It may have just been a teenie, tiny bit too intelligent (if that's even a thing) and challenging. I think once the entire thing is collected, that might go away. Who knows what the rest of the series holds? The fact that the first issue may also not be new-reader friendly also makes me take a step back on my rating. Just barely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #105

Dec 14, 2012

Last issue was a tad slow, but this issue was pivitol! It's one of the most important single issues in this series, all the while it doesn't completely resolve anything. It's part of the ongoing journey, but it's a very significant step. If you are going to skip an issue every now and again, this is NOT one to pass on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #106

Jan 12, 2013

It's hard to call anything at this point a “filler” issue, but this comes close. There are no big reveals. No deaths. Some character interludes. The stakes are too high for it to be a filler, though. The tension between Negan and Carl is pretty intense and you are sort of on the seat of your pants, wanting to know what could possibly happen in a confontation between a battle-scarred child and this physically powerful, mentally unbalanced tyrant. That was the focus of this issue, but almost all the other bits, although some were seemingly random, were still nice and added to the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #107

Feb 16, 2013

Overall, it was a solid issue which added some elements to the story, but it was a bit slow and there wasn't much resolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #108

Mar 16, 2013

This was a pretty major issue. It's nicely balanced with big story and intimate moments, with some really interesting new shades to long-running characters like Carl, Andrea and Michonne. Not one to skip!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #110

May 12, 2013

I know some people are still upset that Glenn's death still hasn't been avenged, and I can understand that. It does seem odd that everyone has sort of gone back to normal. But I think there is going to be a big payoff soon… at least there better be! But taken for its own merits, this issue delivers. Charlie Adlard's art is as dependable as ever. At this point, I can't imagine anyone else taking over. It just wouldn't be the same. I like that interesting new cast members are being introduced at a point when most books would be eschewing any sort of character development or new elements and racing toward the big blow out fight scene. That said, when Negan goes down, it needs to be slow and painful!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Walking Dead #111

Jun 15, 2013

Hopefully, as in the past, this lull will end up adding to the overall picture. But sadly, this issue just left me wanting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #112

Jul 14, 2013

Was it the best issue of ‘The Walking Dead' ever? No. But after this last dragging year, for the first time I feel that this series may be getting its groove back. If “All Out War” can build on this momentum, it could redeem a lot and possibly even rank as one of the best story arcs in this entire series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 18, 2013

The art, by regular Charlie Adlard, is excellent as usual. The pacing and storytelling are his strong suit and as usual, he delivers. My favorite subtle contribution he makes is his depiction of Negan. He conveys his rage and smarmy confidence both adeptly, but on thing he does, which I just noticed this issue, is that he often obscures his face with shadows, illustrating his dark nature. Not always, but it happens at least once per page.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Walking Dead #114

Sep 14, 2013

That event is really going to have to deliver though. I'm really looking forward to SOMETHING happening in this book! For heaven's sake, Glenn is still unavenged!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #115

Oct 12, 2013

All in all, it's a decent launch to this event, but still left me a little unsatisfied. Hopefully with the next issue, things will really hit the fan and we'll get some real action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 17, 2013

This issue ramps things up a bit. It definitely feels like the book is drifting back to its old self, the book we all fell in love with. It's not quite there yet, but it's getting there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #117

Nov 30, 2013

Obviously, we still have a bit more to go in this story, but it felt nice for Rick and his crew to take a couple of steps forward. They've been rolling over and taking it from Negan for over a year now. I'm ready for some payback! How do you feel?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #118

Dec 15, 2013

So overall, this book is still not moving along as briskly as I'd like. But it's picking up, so that's good. Not to sound sadistic, but there are still a few cast members that I wouldn't mind seeing killed off. Since Rick and the others arrived in Alexandria, the book's been too crowded. But who will live and who will die? That remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 12, 2014

Over all, this is a solid issue that serves the overall story well, but like I said, the general flaws with this series as a whole lessen the impact. It LOOKS as if next issue is going to be the equivalent of The Governor attacking the prison, so expect a bloodbath and a climax (FINALLY!!!) to the Negan storyline. I hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Walking Dead #120

Jan 26, 2014

This siege was nowhere near the shocking bloodbath that The Prison climaxed with. For one thing, it's not over. The only people who “died” this issue were zombie Holly and nobodies on Negan's side. There are a few teases, but… I'll just leave it at that. Though Kirkman's dialogue is great, this book really needs a reboot. Get revenge on Negan (painfully), thin out the herd and throw these characters back on the road where they have to fend for their lives constantly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #122

Mar 1, 2014

As for my rating? It was another slower issue, but hopefully it's building toward something huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #124

Mar 30, 2014

I hate to come across as blase. It wasn't a bad issue, I just had some issues. I would not call this a filler issue, because I think it was better than that. But there have been other, much stronger issues. So this one comes in right above average.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #125

Apr 11, 2014

All in all, I'm glad the pace is picking up. A lot of what makes this book fun are here, zombie fights, characterization and a sort-of cliffhanger. So in all, I'd say at the very least, its a step in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Walking Dead #126

Apr 26, 2014

While not a complete letdown, the climax wasn't totally satisfying. But at least next issue will kick off a new direction and storyline. As perverse as it sounds, the heroes are getting by a bit too easily. The recent deaths were not really notable at all. And the status quo for the most part remains in place here. I just think there should be more drama. This story was really hyped up and it just didn't deliver all I felt it should have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #127

May 18, 2014

In all, this is a great place to jump on board if you haven't already. The major characters, for the most part get ample spotlight time and even some of the characters that have been more in the background like Heath and Aaron get some face time. The time jump gives this a fresh start, so you don't necessarily need to know everything that led to this point, but for longtime readers we get a bit of a gap that could potentially be explored in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #128

Jun 14, 2014

The new characters need a LOT of additional development. Magna is the only one whose name I can remember. But their storyline hints at some much needed action and drama. ‘All Out War' didn't deliver what I wanted it to, so here's hoping this fresh start returns this book to being one of the certified “must read” books every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #129

Jul 12, 2014

Honestly, I'm just happy to see this book going somewhere and building to something exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Walking Dead #134

Nov 16, 2014

Obviously, if you're a regular reader of the comics, you have to buy this issue just to keep up with the story, but it's not the most thrilling installment. This used to be a book I HAD to read in trade format because each issue ended in such a shocking cliffhanger that I just couldn't wait a whole month to see resolved. Sadly, I no longer feel that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 6, 2013

Honestly, my reaction to this book is that it's really anti-commercial. It's sad. It's not particularly exciting. The art isn't “commercial.” It certainly isn't bad, but I think I was expecting more. This story continues in Justice League as part of the “Trinity War” storyline. But you could seriously just start there and avoid this issue entirely and not really be missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Velvet #1

Oct 25, 2013

This is my pick of the week! It's simply excellent! It all works perfectly. It's thrilling, the dialogue is great, the art is the perfect accompaniment… I have no complaints! Okay one minor one. Velvet sounds like a stripper's name. But that's it! And that's not enough to deduct points from my grade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Velvet #2

Dec 8, 2013

If you're interested in gritty noir, look no further. The early 70s setting is unique for comic storytelling and works excellently here. It's just fresh and different. It's nice to break away from traditional super heroes every so often and Brubaker and Epting have delivered something really fantastic here. Like I said, I didn't quite love this issue as much as the first one, so I'm just going to deduct the tiniest bit, but I still heartily endorse this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Velvet #3

Jan 19, 2014

The first issue of this book was nearly flawless. The subsequent issues haven't been quite as impressive, mainly because I really loved the period aspects in the first issue. That hasn't been revisited since. These issues may as well be taking place in the present, but even so, this is a bang up, must read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #14

Nov 23, 2012

There wasn't a ton of action in this issue, but I liked Wonder Woman's characterization, as it really felt true to who she really is. The dialogue between Diana and Siracca was actually quite good and deepened both characters. I'm intrigued by this newly emerged god and am curious to see where this storyline goes. But as I've said in the past, I'm a bit tired of the gods and their heavy presence in this book and would like to see a storyline that doesn't involve them at some point soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #15

Dec 22, 2012

The art by Cliff Chiang is, as always, fantastic, though. And don't get me wrong, the writing wasn't awful by any means, but there wasn't anything fresh about it. There were some interesting developments and I've been hoping for something more traditionally super heroic, so adding Orion to the mix satisfies that. It's… better than average.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #16

Jan 26, 2013

So while it looks good, it's not the more essential read. I'm not even sure if you hadn't been reading this series up until now, that this single issue would even make sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #17

Feb 23, 2013

I love Wonder Woman the character! But I will admit her series isn't always great. Brian Azzarello is a great comic writer, but I'm starting to suspect he took on this series with a handful of “Holy $#!@” moments and not much else. I don't know where this series is going, and at this point, I'm not sure I care. Sorry to get all jaded… this wasn't the worst issue I've ever read, but I really can't endorse it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #18

Mar 24, 2013

Oh I'll keep reading. Wonder Woman has had some crappy runs in the past and I kept reading. But this book really needs a fresh start. This one storyline meandered for nearly two years only to end poorly. I'm ready for a new beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #19

Apr 21, 2013

Not a lot happened, in terms of story, but it helped set up the next arc. Unfortunately for me, the next arc is basically the same as the previous, which I didn't care for. But I suppose things have been worse. The dialogue is fun and the art was nice enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #21

Jun 22, 2013

So this issue had its pluses and minuses. The art, overall was solid with some excellent moments. There are hints at something larger coming, which I'm all for. So it's pretty solid all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #23

Aug 25, 2013

This issue marked a real turning point, effectively wrapping up this most recent arc. I'm not sure how First Born will be handled in his one-shot. Perhaps it will be a flashback? A lot of things occurred to shake up the book and its cast. The action delivered and was beautifully rendered. This series isn't always consistent and drags at times, but this issue illustrates just how good it can be when all the parts that make it up click.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #23.1

Sep 19, 2013

Like I said, this was probably my favorite 'Villain Month" issue so far. If you're not feeling this whole event, this may be one to take a chance on. It's well drawn and very well written.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #23.2

Sep 28, 2013

I must admit, however, I really enjoyed the 'Cheetah' issue because it broke away from the regular storyline for just a little bit and we got to see a Wonder Woman that was more an integrated part of the DC Universe and that's something I miss. Azzarello clearly have a vision with this book. It's pretty lush and sweeping and I can't fault him for that, but I wish he would be more open to stepping away from his gods and monsters and letting Wonder Woman play with all the toys in the sandbox. (I guess that's not really a valid criticism, just an opinion.) But overall, this was a strong, though not perfect issue that fits well in with all that's gone before it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #24

Oct 20, 2013

There's not much in terms of action in this issue, but the dialogue reveals some really important things about both the characters themselves and what may possibly be lying ahead. This issue is actually a great example of the elements of this book I like! (I have issues with other elements, but those are mostly absent here.) Solid issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #25

Nov 24, 2013

This issue was light on action, although we do get the fight between Hermes and Orion. It was more character building and set up, but I think that sort of thing is what makes things really matter when the fur does start flying. You've got to care about the characters and why they are doing what they're doing and why they take certain sides. It was a good solid issue, which may seem like filler, but I think it does a nice job accomplishing what the creators intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #26

Dec 22, 2013

I know a lot of people consider this the best run on Wonder Woman ever. Unfortunately, it's hard to argue that, considering the character has been plagued by lackluster runs and inconsistent depictions. And while I applaud it for being a different take on the character, I feel that overall the book is growing stagnant with too many similar characters… hell, too many characters in general. And not to spoil things, but Zola and that baby in danger again? AGAIN?! So while the issue is hardly terrible, the series overall is dragging and the art was just a little better than average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #27

Jan 25, 2014

While this was a bit of a slow issue, it read interestingly enough, especially the throwback to Marston's original concepts. And the art was excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #28

Feb 22, 2014

But, it wasn't horrible by any means. There's lots of action, so that's somewhat satisfying. The art (mostly) by Cliff Chiang looks great as usual. I just sort of want to shake things up a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #29

Mar 23, 2014

All in all, though this issue was a little slow, a lot was revealed and a lot more was set up for future issues, so it actually ended up being a pretty important issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Worlds' Finest #7

Dec 7, 2012

All in all, this was a satisfying, if brief installment. The art is beautiful, even though the two styles don't quite mesh as well as one would hope. The story is shaping up and I hope the pay off works.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Worlds' Finest #8

Jan 12, 2013

Overall, though we don't see the heroes working together, we do get some nice development and the art was more cohesive than it's been except on issues that have only had one artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Worlds' Finest #9

Feb 9, 2013

Beautiful art, strong character development and lots of action"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Worlds' Finest #10

Mar 9, 2013

The art and dialogue push this past the average mark, but it's far from perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Worlds' Finest #11

Apr 6, 2013

Obviously something big is ramping up with all the Apokolips references here and in Earth 2, Wonder Woman and Superman. Maybe that will jazz things up, but unfortunately, as is, this book is average at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men (2013) #2

Jun 28, 2013

The first issue received universal rave reviews. It made me feel chintzy for only giving it 4 out of 5 atoms! The art is great. The characterization is on point and quite fun. It's a solid book! But, sorry, I don't think it's perfect. Even so, I'm willing to go up a half an atom…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men (2013) #4

Aug 24, 2013

Overall, this is an extremely good looking comic, with some great dialogue. The major plot is a bit of a throw-away, but it's not the main attraction anyway. I definitely think it's worth picking up, regardless!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2013) #8

Dec 22, 2013

In all, I like that the story is exploring new territory and going in a fresh direction and that some lesser known characters get to shine. And the art while great, is just a tiny bit inconsistent.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More