Alexander Moser's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Modern Age Comics Reviews: 184
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2011) #14

Nov 9, 2012

Minor quips aside, issue 14 is a terrific story full of a contemplating Superman fighting all sorts of aliens and saving lives. This issue is worth the purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2011) #16

Jan 10, 2013

Sure, if you hate deliberately confusing things, Action isnt for you.I personally think its a great book thatd probably be better if Iunderstood what was happening. But for now I think Ill settle forSuperman punching things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2011) #18

Mar 23, 2013

Whether it's the greatest Superman story of all time shouldn't matter.Action Comics provides an entertaining experience for those who care.It's not the best comic on the stands, but it's a good example of howone can try anything in comics, pulling characters and scenes from thedarkest depths of their imagination and forming it into a narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Action Comics (2011) #23.3

Sep 21, 2013

Between the questionably objectionable story and the decent, but not so great art, Action Comics 23.3 is a book that lacks a memorable plot and interesting action. Instead we get a boring story about a character we don't care about.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Age of Ultron #2

Mar 14, 2013

Wherever Age of Ultron is going, I hope it gets there soon. Right now, it's a little absurd and inconvenient to be wasting $8 a month for Captain America to sit down, and then get up for almost no reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Age of Ultron #6

Apr 19, 2013

While I'm glad Bendis has written a morally acceptable tale, it is not without it's flaws. First of all, why did it take so long to get to this point? I feel as though the team could have gone back in time many issues ago. While the interactions between Pym, Wolverine and Sue Storm are excellent, full of moral consequence and excitement, the rest of the issue feels obscure. It's clear that Wolverine and Storm changed the future, so why even have the future plot with Iron Man and others? There's good writing in this book, but it is not consistent.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Age of Ultron #10

Jun 19, 2013

Age of Ultron 10 is a colossal disaster of a story, doing nothing but taking our money and transitioning readers into the next big Marvel event, whatever that may be. It's something that should be ultimately skipped and never spoken of again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #2

Nov 29, 2012

All-New X-Menis a great book, and hopefully the high caliber of talent and consistency will stay strong throughout stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #3

Dec 8, 2012

If you are a big fan of Cyclops, thenAll-New X-Menreally isnt a book for you. It showcases the exact problems that people have with Cyclops slowly becoming more and more evil over the past few years. Having said that, I really am looking forward to the next issue, because the way this left us off is a gigantic cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #5

Jan 5, 2013

To sum it up in one sentence: Not the best, but still pretty good.There are problems, but it shouldn't be bothersome enough to reallyaffect the reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #9

Mar 23, 2013

It's not the best issue of All-New X-Men, but Bendis/Immonen's seriesis one of the best out of the Marvel NOW batch, and if you're notreading it, you're missing out on an impressive story that capturesthe emotions and feelings of young heroes lost in a sprawling world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #17

Oct 3, 2013

Overall, it's not a great issue, but if you just like the X-Men and follow the story, then sit back and just take in the detail given to us on these pages. I know you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #692

Sep 20, 2012

Despite the big price, this is a book that everyone should get. Never fear, new readers: if youve read one issue of Spider-Man, seen one cartoon, or one movie in the last fifty years, I think youll catch on pretty easily.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #700

Dec 24, 2012

ASM 700 is a terrific ending to a very long era.Goodbye Amazing, hello Superior.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 10, 2013

If you're an X-fan, then Amazing X-Men is for you. It's a fresh start for readers to jump right in and enjoy. I'd give it a try, at least for this first story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Animal Man #0

Sep 20, 2012

All 0-issues are definitely meant for new readers. It's overall enjoyable, but there's not enough "new" here to keep the book interesting for longtime fans of Animal Man like myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Animal Man #12

Aug 9, 2012

Rotworld is missing the supernatural horror thatAnimal Manhas been lauded for. Now that were through this expository chapter heres hoping things get better as the crossover continues inSwamp Thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #15

Dec 6, 2012

Rotworld sets you in the middle of a high-stakes adventure story. Theres a great fight scene in the beginning, and a lot of major conflict is foreshadowed through the rest of the book. Its a solid issue that reminds us why we love LemiresAnimal Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Animal Man #20

May 6, 2013

It's not the best issue of Animal Man, and I wouldn't recommend this issue to new readers, especially since there's really no Animal Man. While the ending may prove interesting, I don't feel quite hopeful for where the story is taking us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #21

Jun 20, 2013

Animal Man is still one of those DC titles that should be picked up. It's trying to do much more than the average superhero title and to an extent it does succeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2011) #0

Sep 29, 2012

If youre a new reader,Aquamanisnt a bad comic. Its perfect to jump onto, and its nice to look at. The story may be lacking some critical elements, so keep in mind while most ofAquamanisnt great, the rest of the series is still solid. Let this be a quick taste of whats to come for the rest of Johns great superhero work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2012) #1

Dec 7, 2012

Avengersis the book for everyone. Chances are youve already seenThe Avengersfilm more than once. You may not know who everyone is at the end of the book, but neither do I. The important part is that you know who the Avengers are, and what they stand for. And that is why Hickman and Opea madeAvengersinto a stellar masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 13, 2012

Avengers Arenais more like a sequel toAvengers Academy, but any new reader can get interested. I wish we got more of an introduction to the other characters in the book, but fans ofAcademywill definitely enjoy it. If you can look past the glaring problem that it might all be a dream,Arenais an enjoyable read, especially thanks to the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #5

Jul 26, 2012

If you have not read and of Avengers vs X-men yet this actually could be someplace to start. All you need to know is Hope Summers is supposed to be the new Phoenix and the X-men are for it and the Avengers well aren't. With that know they have been fighting pointlessly and you could easily get into this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Avengers Vs. X-Men #11

Sep 20, 2012

Being the penultimate chapter of a mini-series, I wouldnt recommend new readers to jump on this late, but if youve made it this far from the beginning, theres no reason why anyone should stop reading now. The ending may have been slightly spoiled on the internet already, but Im still excited to see how this will end up for the Marvel heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
AVX: VS #6

Oct 5, 2012

If you once gave up onAvXor theVSbook, I think this one should be picked up regardless. Not only is it a wonderfully done sarcastic commentary on the series, its filled from end to end with a top list of talent, many of which deserve greater recognition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman '66 #1

Jul 24, 2013

Despite being a fun comic, Batman '66 isn't for everyone. It's goofy and funny, but if you never cared for the TV show, then the comic isn't for you. But if you wanted to have a fun comic that has a good laugh and you liked the Spongebob parodies of Batman, then try this out and have a blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #10

Jul 26, 2012

All in all this issue stood up to the rest of this series and hit us with a mind blowing ending that we all really should have thought of. If you didn't buy this today, shame on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #12

Sep 20, 2012

Batman12 is perfect for anyone who hasnt tried the series yet. Most of it is done with a fresh new character, and the whole electric theme is utilized well, and doesnt need an experienced reader to understand. Of course, those of us who have read the previous issues will be rewarded by a greatBatmanstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

Batman13 is simply a terrific beginning to a story. Forget about 0-month, issue 13 is where new readers should really get started with Batman comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 16, 2012

Snyder and Capullo pull together a tremendous book. Ive said this pretty much every month, and Ill say it again:Batmanis easily the number-one series DC has been publishing all year. Get it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2011) #17

Feb 16, 2013

It may not be the conclusion everyone wished for, but once it settles,I think everyone will come to enjoy Batman 17. I'm excited to see whatthe aftermath will be like in the future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #21

Jun 13, 2013

The one complaint that readers might have is that this is yet again an origin story. To me this means that we're getting an entire year of stories set in the past. For a few months, a story like this can work, but I foresee readers getting tired of "Zero Year" and not even some more glorious artwork can save that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #24

Oct 17, 2013

Batman 24 is very good. If there was one DC book to pick out of the pile, pick this one. The $6.99 price tag is more than worth your money"Zero Year is going to be the book we will talk about years from now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #26

Dec 14, 2013

Capullo out-Millers Frank Miller in the final page of the comic, where Batman dodges a horde of bullets, and every panel show something different. The separate panels are each a part of a whole, and each separate image link together in the mind's eye, showing us a synecdoche of slaughter while also presenting the terrifying speed that the bullets travel at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #18

Mar 14, 2013

Everyone has been saying good things about Peter Tomasi's Batman andRobin, and issues like #18 are the reason why. A terrific combinationof writing and art, this comic really makes you feel what Batman feelsthrough good storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman and Robin (2011) #19

Apr 13, 2013

I think I am enjoying Batman and Robin more than the sidekick-less Batman, particularly because of Patrick Gleason's artwork. Gleason makes the page flow nicely, providing emotive panels that flow well, bringing the action to a forefront most of the time. He also manages to pack in a remarkable amount of detail, whether on Frankenstein's wrinkled face or Batman's placid expression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #23.2

Sep 16, 2013

If you loved Snyder's Court of Owls storyline, then pick this comic book up. It's a good look at some villains and who knows, it might get you to read some more comics likeTalon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #8

Feb 28, 2013

The art in Batman Incorporated is nothing short of excellent. Burnhamdraws a certain subtlety which one picks up if they look close enough.For example, scan the background of a panel, and notice how it changesfrom point to point, and not a single detail is wasted. Jagged panelsgiving us small glimpses of being captured in the safe with Brucegives the feeling of claustrophobia and urgency.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman Incorporated #12

Jul 5, 2013

Batman Inc. is almost over, so when we get issues like these, it's almost unfair to judge it on one issue alone. This may not be the perfect fight issue, but it does add up to the whole series, which has been for the most part breathtaking and spectacular, despite some shortcomings.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Incorporated #13

Aug 3, 2013

This may not be the best issue of Batman of all time, but it's a nice ending for Grant Morrison. We may not see more of his Batman work, but it is always nice to see a long-building storyline finally hit a conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 27, 2013

f you like both of these characters, then Superman/Batman is a good book for you. It's a shame the book doesn't have enough story to fill through the issue, but I look forward to seeing what Pak/Lee provide next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jul 26, 2012

I have high hopes for the next issue, the ending was just as I assumed but none the less it did set up an arc. Now although this issue had some fun moments, they were overshadowed by poor dialogue choices and it is really the art that will bring me back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #2

Sep 20, 2012

Give this book a chance, and youll see why this is one of the most talked about books by comic fans and creators alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #4

Sep 29, 2012

I want to likeCaptain Marvel, because I think the book has tons of potential. The story, the dialogue, and the art just dont work for me. Seeing as this is a pivot point for the story, its not a good time to jump right on. Next issue features Emma Rios as artist, hopefully that will be more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #39

Jan 23, 2014

There's a reason why Chew has won so many awards. Even in an issue that doesn't feature the main character, it is still the most entertaining book of the week. You've got humor, action and intrigue. I couldn't ask for anything more in a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil: End of Days #1

Oct 4, 2012

If you are a fan ofDaredevil, this book is for you. Not only is it a capstone to an enlightening character, its also a well-done story, featuring art by some of the all-time greats. Pick this one up now, because we wont get another Daredevil story like this in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil: End of Days #8

Jun 6, 2013

Daredevil: End of Days is a great ending to a character's story. Sure, one page may not have been perfect, but the other 159 pages are full of extraordinary artwork and a compelling story. End of Days is the kind of Daredevil story you'll want to read again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
Dead End Boys #1

Feb 6, 2014

The best part about this comic that it's a brand-new #1. The first issue is the start of a brand-new story for anyone to read. So when you're out there, picking up comics from the shelves, look for the whirlpool Bluewater Comics logo. So if you're still reading this review, you can tell that Dead End Boys is an absolute mess of a comic book. I really cannot support the level of unprofessionalism in writing and artwork that I see here. While I think it is wonderful for writers and artists to always try to jump into a brand new series, there isn't much hope for a book like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadly Class #1

Jan 23, 2014

Deadly Class is a great place to start if you want to jump onto some creator-owned work from Image. The style is very similar to superhero books like Daredevil or Captain America, and Remender's writing is very strong. Deadly Class is a strong buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2012) #1

Nov 9, 2012

If Marvel NOW is all about the new readers,Deadpoolsfirst issue is a solid bar to set for future series. It identifies a character that many of us know, thanks to video games, cartoons, and film, and puts him into a series that is readable by anyone.Deadpoolisnt the best comic book on the stands by any means, but its a solid example of a fun comic that you can get anyone to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool (2012) #2

Nov 22, 2012

Deadpoolisnt just a fun book, theres a lot of substance as well. The book feels longer than the average comic, despite still only being 20 pages. If you have to spend your $2.99 anywhere, youll get more than whats worth it in this comic. If you cant find issue 1, jump on right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Defenders (2011) #9

Aug 9, 2012

Fractions calling back to the old Marvel days, back in the 60s, and McKelvie is producing some really great artwork. Theres absolutely no reason why this book should be bad, but it is. If the story was a little more conciseDefenderscan really hit hard. Unfortunately, its been lacking a solid plot for some time now. Lets hope we see some more development next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #19

Apr 5, 2013

While all these stories flow well, there's still a hefty price tag. Eight dollars is really asking a lot, especially to readers who already have a tight budget. Yet if you can spare the change, Detective Comics 19 is the reason why you should be following this book. It may not be a stunning, game-changing book like Batman by Snyder and Capullo, but the book is a fun action story starring everyone's favorite caped crusader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dexter #1

Jul 5, 2013

Dexter is a good read for anyone who loves the novels or the television program. Sure the characters look a little different, but it doesn't go against the basic ideas of which both the comic and the show share"killing is what Dexter does best, and here, Dexter kills it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dream Thief #1

May 19, 2013

An amazing blend of word and image, Dream Thief is the next big book to pick up. The artwork alone will sell the book, regardless of what word balloons lay within.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2 #2

Jul 26, 2012

This issue was great, one hundred times stronger then the first issue, the characters were written in a way that they sounded real and the amount of cliffhangers and explosive art made this issue more than amazing, I have not one negative thing to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #1

Mar 31, 2013

I've got a feeling East of West is going to be a long series, and a very successful one, as long as Hickman/Dragotta continue to give readers an issue like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four (2012) #1

Nov 15, 2012

Fantastic Fourworks well as a Marvel NOW title. Even if you know just the smallest details about the FF, the book tells you exactly who they are, and gets into their psychologies as well. The Future Foundation school may look intimidating to new readers, but I have a feeling they wont be a focus on the title. Overall,Fantastic Fouris a fun read about Marvels first family, and Im excited for the sister titleFFas well as issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Fantastic Four (2012) #2

Dec 16, 2012

Overall,Fantastic Fouris just okay. Theres nothing special, and its incredibly hard to ignore the drawn out plot thats been given to us. Its not bad enough to bail on the book, but it simply isnt at the same level of other Marvel NOW books likeAvengers, or even other Fraction books likeHawkeye.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four (2012) #8

May 24, 2013

I was thinking about dropping Fantastic Four, but with issues like these, there are still plenty of reasons to stick around. With future issues delving into the meaning of the F4, it looks like there are also just as many reasons to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
FF #23

Oct 25, 2012

Its not a perfect issue, and some readers may want to see more when it comes to Valeria Richards or the other students of the school, but when it comes to a Fantastic ending, Hickman and Dragotta really nail it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
FF (2012) #1

Dec 2, 2012

FFis intended to be for new readers, but the amount of characters can still be quite overwhelming. Id still recommend this book to fans or newly interested readers simply because Mike Allreds artwork is great. Fractions script is pretty funny too. But whileFFs quirky style does produce a fun read, itdoesnt really do much aside from introducing the large cast of characters and what theyre doing in the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FF (2012) #2

Dec 20, 2012

FFisnt exactly a perfect comic. Some parts of the end feel a little off, and Darlas transformation into Miss Thing left a little more to be desired (she didnt really participate in the fight at all). Still, with the introduction of a new mysterious character at the end, well be seeing a lot more zaniness and mystery within the pages ofFF.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
FF (2012) #3

Jan 24, 2013

FF moves along slowly, but that means its early enough in the game tojump on whenever youre ready. I like the direction the story istaking; I just want the pacing to move a little better. Based on theway its going, the original FF will be coming home by November.Hopefully Fraction can finish his story by then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FF (2012) #7

May 18, 2013

This issue of FF isn't the best place to start, but even if one were to pick it up (the cover is quite attractive!), we see all the elements of what makes the book good. Whether it's the quirky set of characters or the innovative art style, FF is one of the best books to come out of Marvel NOW!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FF (2012) #9

Jul 24, 2013

FF is a fun book. I wouldn't say this is the best issue, but I think if there were anyone to jump onto FF, I would start with this issue. You won't leave disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2011) #23

Sep 1, 2013

Flash gives us a perfect time to start reading the comic. Filled with action and a surprising plot reveal, readers can jump right onto the title to see the latest info about the scarlet speedster. Manapul and Buccellato also will be giving us Reverse Flash's origins next month, so now's a great time to stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Forever Evil #1

Sep 5, 2013

Forever Evil is the kind of comic book that you can just sit down and enjoy. It doesn't need to break any walls or have a quirky art style to be successful. All you need is a good story with some exciting art in order to create an engaging comic book. I'm very excited for issue #2 already.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #2

Oct 6, 2013

Forever Evil is hitting the mark where it should be. I'm still waiting for something exceptional, but until then I will enjoy reading a comic by DC's big creative visionaries.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Forever Evil #3

Nov 10, 2013

Between the dark colors and gaudy inks, it is very questionable if we will see another future event drawn by David Finch. Richard Friend does the best he can by finishing the artwork, but this isn't what I would expect from DC's best. But from a story perspective, the plot does carry the artwork around, promising a very bright future for the rest of Forever Evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #5

Feb 6, 2014

Forever Evil isn't bad at all. In fact, when done, I think it will be lauded as one of DC's best-selling trades for the rest of the year. But it's very difficult to ignore some of the glaring problems that have happened in issues 1-4 and continue in 5. This is one of the better issues so far, but I'm still waiting for the ultimate battle towards the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Gambit #1

Sep 20, 2012

Gambit is good for readers who know little to nothing about the character, and it is a solid first issue in terms of introducing the world of Gambit to the reader, but beyond that brings very little. For a first issue this comic certainly isnt offering much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2011) #17

Feb 7, 2013

I don't watch Arrow on TV. I haven't read much of Justice League whileOliver has been on the team. But despite not knowing much about thecharacter, I was able to dive in the series and overall really enjoyit. I think Marvel's Hawkeye is a better book, but in terms of a solidfirst issue on a DC title, Green Arrow is a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2011) #12

Sep 20, 2012

If youve been readingGreen Lantern, youll find this to be a rather enjoyable issue. If not, this isnt the best place to start, but those familiar with the Black Hand orBlackest Nightshould understand whats going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2011) #16

Jan 25, 2013

Green Lantern 16 has accomplished making Baz a fun character to read.Hopefully one day he will be as successful as Kyle Rayner or other lanterns. I would recommend this issue to new readers simply becauseBaz isnt developed enough that a new reader would struggle with thebook. However if youve never read the series once, its still adramatic jump to get into the series, so be aware.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2011) #20

May 24, 2013

While the beginning catches readers up to the present, if you haven't read any Green Lantern before, I don't know if starting at the end is the best idea. But if you want to see a good series end, there's no better example than by reading this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2011) #21

Jun 8, 2013

I won't lower this comic's score because it doesn't quite compare to Johns'. The story stands out on it's own, but I don't think there's anything special here to define it any differently from another comic on the rack. The story looks like it's moving in a good direction, so I'm hoping to get a lot more out of Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #0.1

Feb 28, 2013

It's not an essential read for Guardians of the Galaxy, but it's a fun origin story that doesn't press too much into our minds. Carried along by a pair of excellent storytellers (Bendis and McNiven), you reallycan't go too wrong with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #1

Apr 4, 2013

Guardians of the Galaxy is the next big thing. It's not a perfect first issue, but hey, a team book where the whole team is together in issue 1 is a pretty rare thing these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #3

Jun 15, 2013

The only downside to the issue is the typical Bendis "decompression" problems one might have. The past three issues have been nothing more than a giant fight scene between the Guardians and the Spartax. While the pacing is slow, I think readers can really admire the excellent storytelling driven by Marvel's top creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #4

Jun 29, 2013

If not for the decompressed writing, this would be a terrific issue. It's a good place to start reading Guardians, especially now if you're interested in Angela, who appears next issue. The most difficult part about choosing this issue over any other is the price. For $3.99 you get an action sequence and a bar scene. Other than discovering about Gamora's bounty, nothing else really happens. So far Guardians has felt like it has lasted twice as long as it should have, based on the amount of events that happened. I'll stick around for Angela, but if this is the kind of stories we're getting, I'm putting my money elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #5

Aug 3, 2013

Marvel is really drilling in this Angela stuff to us hard. I can't wait to see what happens next with the character. This is a story worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Happy #1

Sep 27, 2012

Happyis a dark story, filled with half a dozen f-bombs per page, sex and violence. This is not a book for children. On the other hand, anyone looking to get into a great new independent book surely will not be disappointed. Count me in for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #1

Aug 9, 2012

Overall, fans of the character will love this book. Fans of the Fraction/Aja will love this book. People who only know Hawkeye from the movie will also love this book. Its a great introduction to the character, and hopefully well see a good story when the next issue comes out in September.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #2

Sep 20, 2012

Marvel seems to be following a small trend here, because Captain Marvel's second issue was standalone from the first, as isHawkeye. So if you haven't read issue one by now, you can jump in right here. However, missing out on any issue of Hawkeye means missing out on some of the best superhero comics this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #6

Dec 23, 2012

I could talk about the book for hours, going page by page, telling you how terrific it is. But I think I'll let you go ahead and read it yourself. Hawkeye has been pulling out great issue after great issue.No need to catch up, you can start right here and join in on one of the best comics of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #7

Jan 30, 2013

Bottom line is that Hawkeye 7 represents the perfect combination ofwriting, art and coloring. If you're not buying this book for the amazing content inside, buy it to support the relief efforts for Hurricane Sandy"there are people who are still affected today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #10

May 6, 2013

If you love Hawkeye, you'll appreciate the effort the creators make here in fleshing out a villain, but overall issue 10 is largely filler. Even the fill-in artist doesn't do enough to make the single issue stand on its own. But when read, it's still a beautifully constructed comic that no other art team can reciprocate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #11

Jun 27, 2013

Hawkeye 11 really stands out as an example of unique storytelling. You don't need to know about the characters in order to appreciate the brilliance of Aja's artwork. All you need to do is look at the images and see what's going on. The result is a rewarding and enjoyable experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #13

Oct 21, 2013

Hawkeye 13 is the major turning point in Clint Barton's story. It's very simple to hop on here and follow along. If you are tired of the normal superhero stories and want to read something that breaks the mold, Hawkeye is where it all begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 Annual #1

Jul 25, 2013

Start here with Hawkeye and you won't go wrong. It's an extraordinary comic that should be picked up, even if the price is $4.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hit-Girl #2

Aug 9, 2012

There isnt much else to say about this issue ofHit-Girl. It has everything a comic book needs: action, some drama, art, comedy, and of course, a conflict. We dont see the villain, Red Mist until the end of this chapter, and when he does appear, the book ends, leaving the reader to want more. The book isnt necessarily short, but its a quick read, filled with large panels and silent panels.Hit-Girlcomes out once every six weeks or so, and every issues been enjoyable so far. If youre not following any ofKick-Ass, why not start here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hit-Girl #5

Feb 8, 2013

In the end, I liked Hit-Girl. Does a comic book need to mean somethingimportant? Overall, the series has presented itself as a fun andenjoyable read. And if that's not testament of a good comic book, thenwhat is?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hunger #1

Jul 28, 2013

Hunger hits the mark on both story and art. This is a must-read for anyone who loves the Ultimate Universe or is a fan of Galactus in comics. This is also not a terrible place for newcomers either, especially since most people probably aren't familiar with Ultimate Rick. The comic satisfies my appetite, while leaving me room for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Indestructible Hulk #1

Nov 21, 2012

Overall, I likedIndestructible Hulk. Its not a bad story. It simply doesnt meet the expectations that one would get from an Eisner-winning writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity #1

Aug 15, 2013

This isn't the event for everyone. If you dig Hickman's work, especially Avengers and New Avengers, get ready for one of the best comics in your life. Otherwise, look at the pretty art and try to keep track of what's going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity #3

Sep 19, 2013

Infinity is a challenging comic book event. It's not like Secret Invasion or Fear Itself where the good guys and bad guys have clear and defined roles where we know the battle will take place in the last two issues. Hickman and his team of artists are constructing a serious event on a grander scale, one that makes you want to read every issue in the crossover, going over previous issues to catch what Star Brand's powers are or to try and figure out what Maximus the Mad is scheming. It may be tough to get into at first, but once you get to that last page, you'll be begging for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Infinity #6

Dec 1, 2013

Unfortunately, Infinity has some downsides to it as well, mostly attending to my complaints with the series overall. Not only does the "Avengers World" plotline seem silly, it detracted a lot from the story. I'd rather see a story with Thanos on Earth, leaving a minor faction of heroes to deal with the problem be the main focus, but instead it fell to the side. When the Avengers finally do get there, they don't do anything, and the battle is ended with a magical explosion. It's a cheesy effect that doesn't explain anything, and I don't think it was the most satisfying ending ever, certainly not one to warrant $5.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Iron Man (2012) #1

Nov 9, 2012

Iron Manis definitely a Marvel NOW issue. Its a good start for the title, and easy to jump onto. Its definitely a book for fans of the character, and for those who always wanted to follow Tony Stark and havent done before. Hopefully the next issue will give us a stronger ongoing plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Legacy #1

Apr 26, 2013

While not much happens in the overarching story, Jupiter's Legacy is a must-read, due to the stunning artwork and the addicting writing by Mark Millar. Pick this one up now before it definitely sells out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #0

Sep 20, 2012

The zero issue is meant for new readers may give a Shazam story, but I think its missing a crucial chapter. Unless we read past issues, we dont really know how Billygotto the Rock of Eternity, where he meets the wizard. Without that, the issue may fall apart for new readers. Though anyone familiar with Shazams origin should really love this book regardless. But if you despise Shazam, dont pay $3.99 for a four-page back-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #22

Jul 13, 2013

Trinity War seems like your average battle, but considering we've just jumped in, I foresee many plot twists to come in future issues. I'd stay tuned on this one if I were you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #23.2

Sep 12, 2013

I wouldn't say this is a perfect comic book, but Justice League 23.2 is something different that gives an old character a new life for what I believe is the better. I'd suggest giving this new Lobo a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League #23.3

Sep 19, 2013

I really do like the use of different artists. This is a very unique comic book, especially for DC. Miville is doing everything he can to give Dial H its last breath of air, but in the end, there isn't enough substance behind the twenty-artist gimmick to make the book anything more than a teaser to get more people interested in an already-canceled comic book series. So go ahead, pay $2.99 (or $3.99 for the lenticular cover) for a twenty-artist jam session with a quirky concept attached to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #24

Oct 27, 2013

If you've been following Forever Evil, this is the book you want to read. Just as Marvel's Avengers follow Infinity, it seems that DC is getting a good format working by providing the main story in the miniseries, but giving us backstory and character development in ancillary titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #15

Jan 5, 2013

Overall, JLD 15 is a solid issue with no major problems, other thanperhaps being a little confusing for newer readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Dark #22

Jul 25, 2013

There might be such thing as too many superheroes. There are three teams, each numbering six to eight members and only twenty pages in the comic (there might be an extra two here, I'm not sure). To be honest, there simply isn't enough room to cover every character. As a result, some characters like Flash, Deadman or the majority of the JLA don't get enough characterization to justify an appearance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League Dark #23

Aug 22, 2013

Finally, JLD gives me an issue I can get behind. In addition to the epic battles between over twenty characters, the book also cuts to the chase, revealing the big villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League Dark Annual #1

Nov 7, 2012

Overall, a its wonderful extra-sized chapter to a terrific story. While the annual may not stand on its own as a self-contained story, its still a great example of storytelling in comics, and provides a thrilling read that exceeds most other books that either company pulls out. Forget theJustice Leaguemovie, Warner Bros. should just adapt Lemires, because the last few issues have been such blockbuster issues, this one included. Call it magicor just good comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #1

Feb 21, 2013

JLA is a good jumping-on point for fans new and old of the New 52. You don't need to even read Justice League to get this one. The first issue promises some intrigue, but I think Johns needs to show us the bite that comes after the bark.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2013) #6

Jul 24, 2013

It's not a bad issue, but there are small things in JLA that drag it down. Even if you didn't know what it was, I think an average reader would agree that this isn't a perfect issue. Trinity War is still interesting so far and I wouldn't use this issue as an excuse to back out now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America (2013) #7

Aug 17, 2013

I may just be tired of these big events and crossovers, but Trinity War isn't doing it for me. The whole story seems too generic and thoughtless, like the entire book was simply based around the concept of putting three superhero teams together for fun. That being said, JLA is a fun read if you like this kind of thing, but don't expect anything groundbreaking or astonishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America (2013) #8

Oct 21, 2013

The biggest fault of the comic is that while Kindt did a good job telling the story and Mahnke showing us, the bits and pieces are too far and in between to really bring the reader in. The issue was more like a slideshow, showing us how the Justice League has been tortured. Overall it's good, but far from excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League Of America's Vibe #1

Feb 22, 2013

Vibe is great for any new reader. I honestly have never heard of the character before. And I happened to enjoy the book. It may not be the most perfect read around, but it's still a solid addition to fans of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kick-Ass 3 #1

Jun 11, 2013

This marks the beginning of the end for Kick Ass. If you've been on the fence about the series, I'd recommend getting back into it right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Manifest Destiny #1

Nov 18, 2013

There isn't much bad about Manifest Destiny. I really found it a pleasant surprise. Maybe Roberts's art isn't the best everywhere, for example, his characters look a little misshapen or eccentric at times. But overall, this certainly is a comic book for readers to pick up and give a look through. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Manifest Destiny #2

Dec 15, 2013

Manifest Destiny is a comic that deserves much more praise than people give it. It's a captivating book that you really need to try.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #1

Oct 5, 2013

At the end of the read, we have to ask ourselves: is this book worth $3.99? Kindt's story is enjoyable and Rudy's artwork is sensational, but this isn't the type of Spider-Man story I think everyone will like. To be honest, it might be a more enjoyable idea to wait for the trade on this one. But if you love the art like this, then pick it up and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marvel NOW! Point One #1

Oct 18, 2012

If youre any interested in Marvel NOW,Point Oneis the place to begin. Every story in here is designed to be for a new audience, and is done by some of the top talent in the industry. Sure, the price may look steep ($5.99) but the content on the inside is easily worth the purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Avengers (2013) #1

Sep 12, 2013

Mighty Avengers is off to a promising start. Let's hope the fun story and artwork don't wear off in the near future, because the comic is a very solid take on a superhero team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers (2010) #34

Nov 29, 2012

New Avengerson a whole is a decent story, but marred down with less-than-spectacular artwork. Fans of Doctor Strange and Luke Cage should read this issue, otherwise if you dont like theAvengersyou can just wait for the next volume in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 2, 2013

New Avengers isn't a complete failure. It is solid book that justfeels a little slow and oddly paced. Yet despite the $3.99 price tagand the slow speed, I am committed to the next issue because ofHickman's characterization of Black Panther and his great reputationto build towards a culminating story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #3

Feb 7, 2013

New Avengers has really picked up as of now, so I'd say jump onto thebook soon before the plot thickens. I'd also suggest Avengers becausethere are ties between the two titles, even though we haven'tnecessarily seen them yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers (2013) #8

Sep 2, 2013

Since it seems to tell a story that's separate from Infinity, New Avengers is somewhat of an essential tie-in to readers who want to check out Marvel's next big thing. If you're not into Infinity, then pick up that first issue or you may as well skip these ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nova (2013) #1

Feb 21, 2013

It's a little slow for some people's taste, but Nova is a really good start to what may be Marvel's next big hit. Now that the ball has begun to roll, I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nova (2013) #3

Apr 19, 2013

It's not too late to jump onto Nova. Sam is a new character who is getting established as we speak, so catch him now before he gets too involved midstory. Issue 3 isn't a bad issue, but there are clear moments that you think could have been written better, preventing a good book from being a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Pretty Deadly #2

Dec 1, 2013

So pick up Pretty Deadly if you can, and make sure you start with issue #1. Not everyone is a fan of books with art like Emma's, but there needs to be more artists that have their own style like this. A fun comic, unfortunately hampered with some slow moments, still worth the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #6

Sep 20, 2012

If you were readingSaga, Id say its monumentally important to get the back-issues, or pick up the trade. Its a must-buy, because this book is so well crafted, from the idea of the universe, to the way it performs on page to page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #7

Nov 15, 2012

I think I was expecting more from this issue, but I didnt leave it disappointed either. Vaughan has built a very vast world, and the story is a little overwhelming. Its also slow-building, due to the giant cast. Sometimes Id rather see more of Alanas story rather than see Will watching old videotapes. Id love to saySagafeels too short, but maybe just after a long break, I want to read more and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #12

Apr 17, 2013

If you aren't reading Saga yet after a dozen issues, then there's no better time than now to start. Issue 12 takes the story into new territory that makes it not hard to jump onto. Plus, issue 13 hasn't been solicited yet, so there's plenty of time to catch up and freshen up on the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #13

Aug 15, 2013

Saga is back and the only problem with this is the fact that when you're done reading, you instantly want a lot more. Thirteen issues in and we see why BKV and Fiona Staples' amazing comic is really deserving of all their Eisner Awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Saga #17

Dec 19, 2013

#17 has action, drama, and some sad moments. It's a terrific comic. There's really nothing left to say here, because if you're not reading Saga, you don't understand what you're missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #18

Jan 30, 2014

I don't want to say much more for fear of spoiling you readers, but even if you read Saga in collected editions, this is one comic you'll want to read. There was an awful amount of time spent on Quietus if you think about it, but the stay lead up to one rewarding conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Savage Wolverine #1

Jan 20, 2013

The only fault Id give this book is the lack of sustainability. Insome ways, Savage Wolverine is just a Savage Land story with Wolverinetacked onto it. Its good if you like Wolverine, but I wonder wherewell see this book in six months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #1

Sep 30, 2013

Sex Criminals is a fun comic that will make readers laugh and smile. It's not erotica. It's a good story that just incorporates some young adults who just want to have sex at times. But if you like superheroes and comics with flash battle scenes, you won't find that here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Men #4

Aug 9, 2012

Even though Im slightly disappointed,Spider-Menwas overall enjoyable to fans of either universe. Its got good artwork and a good script, but right now neither is great. With one more issue to go, Im very excited to see everything wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars #1

Jan 11, 2013

Its not a great comic, but if you are an ultra-fan of the series, Star Wars will be the comic for you. For the rest of us, its just mediocre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #1

Jul 9, 2013

What is advertised as a supplementary book to fans of Superior Spider-Man is likely to be one of Marvel's breakout titles (I hope). This is well executed "done in one" based around characters you've barely heard of, but should continue to read next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 10, 2013

Superior Spider-Man isnt exactly for new readers. Its a continuationof an existing storyline. Id suggest beginning over with AmazingSpider-Man 698, at least. Other than that, its not a bad story, butheres a good question: knowing this book will likely revert itsstatus quo in a year, will you still keep along? I willfor now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #2

Jan 31, 2013

Overall, Superior Spider-Man is a comic filled with everything youlove about Spidey, but then injects the reader with a sinister plot byDan Slott.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #9

May 2, 2013

uperior Spider-Man is wonderfully written, depicting a very "mental" battle between the two Spider-men. The personification of Peter's hopes and his anxieties are well-executed, using his memories as physical figures in order to associate what he cares about or what he fears. The transcendence into Spidey vs. Spidey is really nice, raising the stakes by a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #12

Jun 25, 2013

Despite any setbacks, Superior Spider-Man is a great issue and a rewarding experience for anyone who has been keeping up with the series to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #1

Jul 29, 2013

Overall, SSMTU is a fun read for anyone who wants to get into Superior Spider-Man. I found it to be quite fun in both reading and enjoying the artwork. Let's hope Yost and Lopez keep up the pace because I'm excited to see the new Superior team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2011) #23.1

Sep 8, 2013

Superman 23.1 isn't a bad read. I actually liked it. I'd recommend it for fans of Luthor and those who are really into Forever Evil. But if you're reading to learn about Superman, then this issue isn't really worth spending the price, unless you want to pay $3.99 for the wicked cool cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman Unchained #1

Jun 14, 2013

I'd recommend this book to new readers, but there's a pretty big price tag. $4.99 for a comic is a lot, so I'd remenber to check your wallets before biting into this one. You might be better off saving $15 and buying a better book in collected form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Swamp Thing (2011) #0

Sep 20, 2012

Swamp Thingreally is essential for those readers who absolutely love the series so far. Its not the most accessible for brand new readers, though perfect for fans that started reading with the Rotworld story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Swamp Thing (2011) #12

Aug 9, 2012

Overall,Swamp Thingdoes a good job presenting the story, showing some good art, and scares the readers with a cliffhanger ending that will have readers jaws dropping. Rotworld is here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #14

Nov 12, 2012

Swamp Thingshould be on everyones reading list. If you are a fan of Scott SnydersBatman,Swamp Thingis even better. While issue 14 may not be the best jumping-on point for new readers, anyone can pick it up and see that theres something working here, on the writing level and the art level, that isnt found in many comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #18

Mar 7, 2013

I don't know what's next for Swamp Thing, but whatever it is, it will have a tough time topping this bombastic finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #19

Apr 4, 2013

It's not a complete win for me, but I'm still interested to see Soule's plot unfold. It's a good way to get into Swamp Thing if you'd like to try it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Swamp Thing (2011) Annual #1

Nov 7, 2012

What you get in the annual may be nice, but it might not be worth the $4.99. Despite the great art by Cloonan, Im not sure if it was worth it. Id recommend it to those who are die-hard fans of the series, or collectors who want a complete set of the series. Otherwise, its kind of nonessential to the Rotworld story.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Thanos Rising #1

Apr 4, 2013

Thanos is a character who is difficult to write. In that sense, I think Aaron, Bianchi and the rest of the team is working very hard to put together a successful story. I'm not very confident they will pull it off, but who knows what will happen in issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Green Team #1

May 24, 2013

You can ultimately pass on The Green Team. There's just not a ton here to enjoy. The enjoyable aspects of the comic are either overshadowed by exposition or at moments so few and far between that there's just nothing substantial to get out of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Mighty Thor #18

Aug 9, 2012

Aside from the Loki scenes, we have a good beginning for whats to come. The action scenes lift us up, but were let down far too often in others. The story continues inJourney into Mystery642, on-sale 8/29.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #1

Mar 20, 2013

Private Eye is what you should expect from a comic by Brian K. Vaughan and Marcos Martin. It's very good. I expect many more popular creators will be pulling the internet-exclusive act very shortly. If digital comics aren't your thing, I'd still give the book a shot because of the high-caliber talent associated with it, and the value of getting a book for whatever you wish to pay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Private Eye #2

May 9, 2013

Private Eye is one of the best books to be read this year. Not only is the story interesting, but the artwork is better than many other comics could produce. Even though issue 2 isn't quite as good as #1, it's still a more worthwhile purchase than many other books on the shelves this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #3

Jun 29, 2013

The Private Eye is still one of the best stories out there. It's inventive and brings new surprises in every chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Private Eye #4

Oct 17, 2013

Even though it may be a few more months until the next issue, The Private Eye is an absolutely amazing story. It'll never sell out, but you'll want to read upcoming issues as soon as they come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Overture #1

Nov 3, 2013

I've said many times that book-X is what you get when you take two top creators together and I give it a perfect score. Sandman Overture is more than that. It's the beginning of the collaboration between two legendary creators, a.k.a. the perfect "treat" on Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #2

Jul 13, 2013

Killjoys has continued to hit its mark for the second week in a row. I can't wait to see the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Wake #1

May 30, 2013

The Wake is the next big thing for Vertigo and comic books in general. Like Saga or Hawkeye, what you read is a well-crafted comic made by some of the industry's best creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #112

Jul 13, 2013

The Walking Dead proves that in ten years it can still put out a great story, always escalating conflict and making the story interesting through clever dialogue and plot twists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 17, 2013

Hang onto your seats, because this is one of the best Walking Dead issues that we've seen in a long time. And as Rick says, "It's only just begun."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 11, 2014

Overall, "All Out War" has been a mixed bag. Other than the fact that TWD is double-shipping, there's nothing exciting or new or different about the comic. Negan certainly is an interesting character to watch, but when he's only in the last three pages, it doesn't really matter. If you recently caught up to here, reading 100 issues in the past month (I know people who have), then I understand how this could be great. For those of us who have been reading for six/seven years or more, it's getting to be the time to put the foot down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Trillium #1

Aug 8, 2013

Trillium is a really great comic. While I'm not sure if future issues follow the flipbook idea, Lemire will still keep me going by addressing an interesting pair of characters who I already have fallen in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultron #1AU

Apr 11, 2013

I'm not sure who Marvel is really marketing this book towards. Ultron appeals to the Runaways fans, but it doesn't really deal much with those characters. It's a good jumping-on point for new readers that will read the other Age of Ultron books, but even then it's an unsatisfying take on a character whose fate really is not deemed important in the main book. If Victor Mancha was important in the AoU universe, wouldn't he be in the main book? Case in point Ultron doesn't really add much to the table, so unless you're pining for some Runaways, you can skip out on this one altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #1

Oct 11, 2012

Uncanny Avengerssucceeds that it can be a fresh jumping-on point for new readers. Though we may not understand all of the subplots laid in the story, its still a solid beginning for anyone to pick up Marvel comics. We may not be getting an all-out reboot like DC Comics, but well still enjoy a brand-new story thanks to the A-list writing and art team, featuring both AvengersandX-Men. Overall, a solid book, and I cant wait for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Uncanny X-Force #35

Dec 20, 2012

It is worth noting that readers who have never triedUncanny X-Forceby Remender should definitely try the series from the beginning. If you read any X-books, this is one of the influential titles that changed the status quo for many characters such as Angel, Psylocke, and the introduction of Genesis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #1

Feb 16, 2013

If you haven't already jumped on the boat with All-New X-Men, now'syour chance to get into the X-books. Uncanny harkens to the core ofthe original 1960s X-Men"a parable on civil rights building off ofMalcolm X and MLK. Yet it is clear Cyclops is neither of thesecharacters, and he is headed down a course for destruction. I preferAll-New X-Men, but I'm willing to give Bendis the benefit of the doubtand stick with Uncanny for a little longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 23, 2013

If you like Bendis, read this book. If you like Bachalo, read this book. If you like these quirky new X-Men characters, then you will love this book. I can sense Benjamin Deeds as a new fan-favorite for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Velvet #1

Oct 27, 2013

Velvet is everything done in your spy novels, Captain America comics, as well as the unrestrained freedom that Image allows. With a book that has high caliber talent such as Epting, Brubaker, Elizabeth Breitweiser on colors and Chris Eliopoulos on letters, there's no reason that this book shouldn't be on your buy pile already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wolverine (2013) #1

Mar 15, 2013

Unfortunately, I wanted more in my Wolverine title. It's notexcellent, but the book manages to do the job and tell a Wolverinestory. But why pay money for this when you can simply buy a bettertrade on the character? Hopefully the book will take the character tonew places and really grow onto the reader's interest otherwise peopleare going to abandon this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #19

Nov 7, 2012

Overall, the issue is quite nice, and a good story for fans of the book, but its definitely disorienting for new readers, and the Wolverine plot is definitely the least entertaining. Id prefer to see merely a slice-of-life issue, but its understandable that the story moves at a quicker pace this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine and the X-Men #31

Jun 17, 2013

While newer readers may be pointing fingers at "who's who" with all the different characters, I really can't recommend this book enough, despite anyone's familiarity with the X-Men. Plus, there's an index in the back of the book with everyone's names. Aaron and Bradshaw show us why Wolverine and the X-Men is the must-read X-book on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Factor #241

Aug 9, 2012

X-Factoris overall a consistent book that brings a lot of fun for its fans. I wouldnt suggest starting with this issue, but the series as a whole is enjoyable and worth the buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Factor #242

Sep 20, 2012

Im not saying I didnt likeX-Factor.I still think the book is quite solid. The biggest problem with this book is just making it seem important or fun. This issue was more of a letdown to me, but fans of Wolfsbane, Darwin, and even Rictor should love this chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Factor #244

Sep 20, 2012

The issue is continuing off other plot lines, particularly from the last issue, and also from about five issues ago, when Banshee was attacked in Ulster County, NY. If you didnt read those, this one is still a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Factor #261

Aug 23, 2013

I can't exactly recommend this book to readers unless they're already familiar with X-Factor. After all, this is the second to last issue of the long running comic book. But if you've read here and there and would like to check up on some of the characters, here is where you can do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men (2013) #1

May 30, 2013

X-Men isn't the perfect start for new readers, but for anyone who has been an X-fan, this is easily the book for you. It's a solid plot with a fresh take on some of the most famous X-Men. A newer reader may not understand who is who and what their powers are, but with Coipel's art, it doesn't really matter much because it all looks really pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men Legacy #270

Aug 9, 2012

Read this book if you're following AvX. Its not the best tie-in, but felt more like a tie-in to the main story more than Avengers Academy or Wolverine & the X-Men. Pick it up if you're into AvX or Rogue, otherwise you may be lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Treme X-Men Vol. 2 #1

Aug 9, 2012

Alternate dimensional X-Men need to stop inter-dimensional threats. Dazzlers on the team. Its a little early to say, but this book needs to do something great, otherwise its going to be quite forgettable. If you like any of the X-Men, Id say give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 24, 2013

Young Avengers demonstrates great character work and plot movement injust 20 pages, while juggling multiple characters. I wish we got alittle more Loki and Hawkeye time, but lets save that for the nextissue. For now, enjoy Marvels latest hit, because its really good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Avengers (2013) #7

Jul 13, 2013

Marvel is putting out amazing comics that go against what we believe to be conventional superhero stories. Young Avengers is a must read for everyone"it's just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More