David Beasley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Aspiring Kryptonian Reviews: 22
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (2016) #1065

May 14, 2024

Even though some of the end results of this crossover has been revealed through the hype of 'Absolute Power', the journey has proven to be worth the ride. I'm especially impressed Williamson stayed true to Lobo by not boxing him into his "good guy version that tends to happen when he teams up with heroes. The additions of Brainiac's successors also makes the title of the crossover more than just a play on The House of El and keeps the uncertainty of the story's outcome shrouded in mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Action Comics (2016) #1067

Jul 10, 2024

For a first chapter story, you couldn't ask for much better. Instant set up and execution, cliffhanger twist ending, superb art, and a great jumping on point for new and/or returning readers. This easily has the makings of being something special as it's already a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kneel Before Zod (2024) #3

Mar 5, 2024

The prologue in "Action Comics and issue #1 of this series peppered in some possible bigger threads, but haven't really hit on them since.Am I just being too impatient? Perhaps, but at least my interest is still piqued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kneel Before Zod (2024) #4

Apr 2, 2024

I find the art fantastic and am repeatingly reminded of other classic sci-fi imagery while flipping through the issue. I am genuinely upset over the beginning of this book, but my biggest concern is the seemingly sense of constant redirection each instalment takes. I find myself continuing to read the series out of morbid curiosity than through an actual investment to the plot. I do trust Joe Casey to eventually get to the heart of things, I just wish it would've happened already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kneel Before Zod (2024) #5

May 7, 2024

I continually find myself impressed with the art of this book. It's such a love letter to the Space Opera genre and yet maintains a uniqueness all its own. The last page of this issue feels like an end to the story rollercoaster the last few issues had us on, but I could just be hopefully optimistic. Zod did feel a little out of character bearing his wrath at the beings who saved his life, but he has just lost everything he cared about so it's a small thing to discount.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Kneel Before Zod (2024) #6

Jun 4, 2024

The space horror trope was a really fun change. I wholeheartedly enjoy the art of this book, but it's hard to maintain interest in the overall story when it has altered course nearly every issue. Still, I've made it half way through and there's plenty of time for Joe Casey to show us what this story's all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kneel Before Zod (2024) #7

Jul 3, 2024

What could've been an interesting alliance between Zod and The Emerald Eye plays out for comedy as a filler issue. The visuals are super fun and contributes to most of the entertainment value. I've resigned to the idea this series has turned into a version of 'A Series of Unfortunate Events' featuring Zod which makes the disjointed nature of each issue more enjoyable albeit a tad disappointing from where the series began.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Girl (2023) #6

Feb 27, 2024

A few personal biases keep this issue from being absolutely perfect for me. I've been a huge fan of Marguerite Sauvage's art for years now, but was hoping to see Paige sport her eye patch a bit longer.Also, Supergirl came to Power Girl for help because there might be some slight illegal activity involved but the two minor incidents that occur, she she takes great exception too which felt a little out of character.Otherwise it's a fun issue that does an expert job of setting up the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Power Girl (2023) #7

Mar 26, 2024

The art is fantastic and adds an inviting all-ages aspect to the comic as a whole. The writing has been stellar from the beginning, but this one is especially fun done up like a fairytale. The story is well contained but I actually wouldn't have minded staying in Ferimbia a bit longer. My guess is we haven't seen the last of these new concepts as long as Leah Williams remains the writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Girl (2023) #8

Apr 23, 2024

It's impressive to have a story clearly connected to what's happening in two other books but capable of standing apart on its own. Not only is 'Power Girl' #8 a smart tie-in to 'House of Brainiac', but it's also a great first issue to a new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Girl (2023) #9

May 28, 2024

The art and writing really make this book fun and inviting. While the levity break is welcomed within the House of Brainiac crossover as a whole, I personally would've liked the danger to carry similar weight for Paige. Still, it's an enjoyable read and fits well with the reimaging Leah Williams has been creating for Power Girl from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Power Girl (2023) #10

Jun 24, 2024

This one has it all. It's comical and heartfelt in the right places with plenty of action and set-up for future stories. I feel like this Power Girl series as a whole is absolutely great for young or new readers and is a rather refreshing book for older ones. It's possibly one of the more underrated books on the shelves these days and I encourage more people should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Girl (2023) #11

Jul 23, 2024

This book had me chuckle more than once and had a "feel good quality to the story. The art is fantastic and I can only imagine what's in store for us in later issues. I look forward to this arc being a nice interlude to the Absolute Power event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad: Dream Team (2024) #1

Mar 12, 2024

Although the art is dynamic, it could sometimes feel too busy or distracting, especially in some of the more somber moments of the story.Honestly, my expectations weren't too high going into this book but found myself thoroughly engaged the entire time.The real take away is the impressiveness of Nicole Maines writing. Some of these characters aren't the easiest to capture on their own, let alone in an ensemble cast, and she absolutely nails it. I'm genuinely intrigued where this series is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Suicide Squad: Dream Team (2024) #2

Apr 9, 2024

This issue's layouts felt less jumbled than in issue #1 making the flow of the story more coherent. The art is top notch and the book is worth picking up on that alone. Add in the fact Nicole Maines is proving to be quite the storyteller and this book becomes a must have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad: Dream Team (2024) #3

May 14, 2024

The art and storytelling in Suicide Squad: Dream Team #3 is absolutely fantastic. I'm not typically one to get into The Suicide Squad, but this series has been top notch with this issue being my favorite thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad: Dream Team (2024) #4

Jun 11, 2024

I can tell I'll be gushing and raving about this book, and series as a whole, for a long time. It blew away any kind of expectations I could've possibly had and delivered a truly thought provoking story with plenty of fun interactions, amazing drama, and spectacular action sequences. Also, I need more Harley and Dreamer hijinks in my life, just saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2023) #12

Mar 19, 2024

Although I find the art fun and adventurous, I can see it not being for everyone.The only other mild complaint is the lack of Marilyn Moonlight.I kind of figured she'd play into this more, but that just adds to the idea we haven't reached the end of this story yet. Otherwise this is a near perfect issue that brilliantly answers questions by posing more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2023) #13

Apr 16, 2024

An absolutely stellar book from start to finish.I've actually read it several times to make sure I wasn't just swept up in the excitement of the possibilities this crossover has to offer and every read through left me feeling the same way in the same scenes. It's just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman (2023) #14

May 21, 2024

The pacing of the story has been well timed between Superman and Supergirl's separate involvements, keeping the reader constantly engaged. The art is simply fantastic and moves the story effortlessly from page to page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman (2023) #16

Jul 17, 2024

I was pleasantly surprised Zatanna's involvement didn't revolve around, what I feel is, the obvious reason to showcase her. Even with it being a tie-in, the story has the potential to still stand on its own, and the ending Lois reveal was fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2023): House of Brainiac Special #1

Apr 30, 2024

The art and storytelling are all top notch, where my issues lie are with the relevancy of this 'book 'Superman: House Of Brainiac Special #1' to the House of Brainiac crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More