Fay Clark's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 49
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Amethyst #1

Feb 26, 2020

I'm very happy to be reviewing this series. The plot feels like it has a lot to give, and if Reeder keeps up her stellar work then I know we're all in for a treat. The art is spectacular and gives off strong, mystical, otherworldly vibes. I have no idea what's going to happen next, but I'm definitely sticking around to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amethyst #2

Mar 27, 2020

This is quickly becoming one of my favourite comics to read.Amethyst #2 really had it all. Mystery, intrigue, great fight scenes, memory recalling and even some friendship. Amy Reeder is able to put so much in such a small comic and it definitely makes me want to come back for more. Until next time, keep those crystals shining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amethyst #3

Jun 10, 2020

I can't wait to see how the mystery unravels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amethyst #4

Jul 22, 2020

I have no idea what's going to happen next. I'll be honest and say that I was convinced this plot line was almost wrapped up. Boy, was I wrong! Amethyst #4 just kept throwing me through loop after loop. Amy Reeder knows where she wants Princess Amethyst to end up, and I cannot wait to get there. With only a few issues left… I'm super intrigued to see how this is all going to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amethyst #5

Aug 25, 2020

One more to go you say? That leaves a lot to wrap up in a short period of time. I'm not sure how it can be done. Do you still want to wait to finally get the conclusion we've all been waiting for? I would highly recommend it. Even I have no idea of how Amy Reeder plans to pull this off,as there's so much of the mystery still to be wrapped up. I'm upset that the next issue ends everything, but I really want to know what happens next! Talk about being in two minds about something.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2016) #30

Jan 4, 2019

I am definitely looking forward to getting some answers, hopefully in the next issue. Can't wait to find out what happens in the rest of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #31

Jan 31, 2019

It should be quite interesting to see where the story goes from here. I can't wait to get my hands on the next issue, as I need answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #32

Feb 28, 2019

I am itching to get my hands on the next issue to see what happens with our fateful heroine. For now, I might need some time to recover from what just happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #33

Mar 27, 2019

Yes, please and thank you. More. This was an outstanding issue, I have absolutely no idea what's going to happen next. Even less than last time. I can't wait to find out how things pan out and get resolved. Totally here for the ride, Batgirl has me hooked till the end. Would highly recommend everyone picking up this issue and living the drama with me and Babs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2016) #34

Apr 25, 2019

What will Batgirl do next? I'm picking up the next issue to find out, that's all I know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2016) #35

May 24, 2019

Should be interesting to see what happens in the next issue, as Batgirl has some butts to kick and businesses to save. Let's hope she can sort it all out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #36

Jul 3, 2019

As she ends her run, Mairghread Scott really has left a lasting impression on the comic and character. I thought this was a great last issue for her to bow out on. How it finished leaves it open for the next writer to come in take hold of the comic, sending it in a new direction if they wanted. I enjoyed the way that Scott planned out this arc, I didn't see a few of the twists coming and that is what makes it all the more exciting. I cannot wait to see what happens when the next person comes in. They will have some big shoes to fill, in my eyes anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2016) #37

Jul 24, 2019

This issue has set in motion a whole new story with some rather interesting implications. I really want to see where Castellucci goes with this arc. That ending was an absolutely mind melting moment. I had to re-read it about 3 times before everything that was happening properly sunk in. I think there is some promise here. As long as Batgirl keeps the villains off the streets, I'll be here to read about all her feats.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2016) #38

Aug 29, 2019

There's so much going on with this new story that I'm really intrigued to see how the Oracle part of it plays out. I guess we shall find out in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2016) #39

Sep 25, 2019

What an ending… it was outstanding! I really can't wait to see how everything goes down in the next issue. Castellucci has really raised the stakes in Batgirl #39, let's see what crazy things happen next month. Being able to see Babs relax a little bit more and hit the streets as herself rather than Batgirl was great. There seemed to be a little bit of a spark with a certain someone, so maybe that could come up at some point in the near future. There are so many different ways this arc could go, personally I'm rather interested to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2016) #40

Oct 23, 2019

I will be right here waiting with bated breath to get my hands on the next Batgirl. I do hope you'll be joining me in the chaos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #41

Nov 27, 2019

Oracle seems to be on a path of destruction so fierce that I think even Batman would struggle to tangle with them. This issue pours on the tension for our red headed heroine, will there be any stress relief in the next issue?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #42

Jan 1, 2020

What a way to end this six part arc. The writing was great, the artwork was stunning and the ending was dramatic, which we always enjoy. There are so many places the story can go now with Batgirl and her life. We can see where she might be trying to reach out and reconnect with some people. I guess we'll just have to wait and see what happens in the next issue of Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #43

Jan 22, 2020

Batgirl has some soul searching to do and, as per usual, some innocent bystanders to save. Until the next issue, keep reading folks!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2016) #44

Feb 26, 2020

Yes. Dragons. Fantasy. Batgirl. This is what I didn't know I needed in my life. There was a great plot point in this issue, and we really see Jason and Batgirl work together to find out what love really means. Cecil Castellucci has given us a little something to look forward to in the next issue of Batgirl., and there are so many different ways we could end up going with this fantasy based story and. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #45

Mar 25, 2020

I didn't think Cecil Castellucci could hook me anymore with her plot lines, especially not after the dragon. I'm happy to be wrong. There are many moving parts to what's happening here. Batgirl's crime fighting life is coming into contact with Barbara's work and love life, and a new villain on the block with a weird new way of hurting the citizens of Gotham has reared her head. Batgirl might just have a bit of trouble with this one, but check in next issue to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #46

Jun 26, 2020

There are several reasons why I can't wait to get my hands on the next issue of Batgirl, and you only need to readBatgirl #46 to find out why!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #47

Jul 23, 2020

With only a few issues until this run ends, I cannot wait to see what happens to our beloved heroine. (I would give this 11/10, but I'm not allowed!)

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #48

Aug 26, 2020

I don't want it to end. We're definitely coming up on something big, I can feel it in my bones. I really hope, from what I've seen of Castellucci's writing, that she'll do right by Batgirl. There's so much that can still happen. There are so many different angles the plot line could split off into. Right now, all that's needed is Batgirl kicking the Jokers' face in. Now that, would be doing right by her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2016) #49

Sep 24, 2020

What do you mean this is coming to an end?! No it isn't. Not in my heart or my feelings. This run of Batgirl is going to stay with me for a long time to come. The way Batgirl herself has been written, and the wonderful stories we've been gifted with will always remain in my head, and my heart. I have precisely no scooby-doo (Cockney rhyming slang) as to what's going to happen in the last issue. However, I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Canary: Ignite #1

Nov 2, 2019

Come and join the Black Canary, as she tries to figure out what her future career should be; cop, rock-star… or even maybe superhero?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dear Justice League OGN

Aug 7, 2019

This book was great and I enjoyed reading every page. Old, young or mid-life crisis, age doesn't matter. Dear Justice League is a book for all, it even answered some of my own questions. This is a precious, cute and all around lighthearted jaunt with the Justice League. I am very happy to have read this, and I know that I will be coming back to it again at some point, just to put a smile on my face. Towards the end of the book we get a sneak peak at the next title in the series. I would just like to say that I cannot wait for that one! I'm always ready for more of this, just throw it my way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 5, 2019

I want more, like… yesterday! I need all of them and I can't wait to see what Houser does with this story, as it has so much promise. Anything that brings Harley and Ivy back together is exciting, but this I think stands above the rest. The artwork is stunning and the writing is masterful. I love it when Harley gets her sass on, and that is definitely something I want to see more of. Things are looking interesting for Ivy, Harley has had a wild idea. My girls are going on an ADVENTURE!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 12, 2019

Please join the ride, you won't regret it. Just beware if you have motion sickness, because you'll get really dizzy on this emotional roller-coaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 16, 2019

I, for one, am looking forward to finding out what happens next and what crazy adventures we'll be going on. I'll be staying tuned, will you?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #4

Dec 13, 2019

I have no idea how Jody Houser's going to pull this off, but I can't wait to find out, next time on Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #5

Jan 9, 2020

There's no map for how this road trip will end in the next issue, but I'm happy to get lost with my girls just to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #6

Feb 12, 2020

The first 5 pages got to me and I knew then we were in for a ride. There's so much vulnerability and anger… but enough about me. Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy have been through green hell and back together, as Jody Houser has thrown some punches and grenades at them along the way. All we can do now is hope against hope that they recover and remember, it's better to be crazy together than crazy alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass OGN

Aug 21, 2019

I had a bunch of fun reading this new version of Harley's beginnings. I found it really interesting to see Tamaki's take on her life and Steve Pugh bringing it all to life. Being able to see Harley become herself over a short amount of time, really being able to accept herself and help her new family, was very heartwarming. That's not really something people associate with Harley but, after this new story, they will. Little Harleen with hit you with some truths, some lies and some random nuttiness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #32

Mar 13, 2019

I am very happy, and I could not praise this issue any more (well I could, but we'd be here for a while). I loved all of it, I cannot wait for more. I've only read part one and I already have this massive, goofy grin on my face, just thinking about getting to read the next issue. Lobdell's work is great and I'm very excited to see where he's going with this new story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #34

May 8, 2019

What happens next? Boy, I really want to know, as I'm having the greatest time keeping up with Jason's adventures. Where will he go next? I hear you ask. Well, I have no idea but I sure as hell will be here to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #35

Jun 14, 2019

Yes, please. More. Thank you. I don't think I will ever get sick of reading about Jason and his various exploits, definitely won't happen before I see how this story line ends. There's so much that still needs to be tied up, and with that cliff hanger ending I need to read the next issue ASAP. Until then, Jason my boy, I'll be guessing my heart out as to what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #37

Aug 30, 2019

Yet again Lobdell has blown my mind out of the water and I get so much entertainment out of this series. The plot line for this new arc is interesting and I'm really looking forward to seeing where this is going. (I'm still holding out for Jason to get his own Teen Team). Lobdell seems to enjoy leaving everything on a cliffhanger, so we shall have to wait until next time to see what happens to Red Hood and his merry band of misfits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Sep 25, 2019

The way this issue ended completely killed me! I didn't know whether to laugh, scream or email the writer to ask him what was going on! I will for sure be picking up the next Red Hood Outlaw!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Oct 25, 2019

Jason Todd, I love you man. I will never get tired of reading about your shenanigans. I can tell you right now there are a load more on the way. The final few panels" pheeeeweeee! I'm looking forward to reading the next few issues and seeing what is going to happen with my favourite people. I can tell you right now, it's gonna be fun" violent, and fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #40

Nov 29, 2019

More. That's it. That's all of it. Just more. More Jason. More Red Hood. More Generation Outlaw. More Artemis. More Bizarro. More Pup Pup. More sassy Uber driver. MOOOOORRRREEE!!! Thank you for listening to my Ted Talk.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #41

Jan 3, 2020

I can't wait to see how our next Generation of Outlaws handles life now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #42

Jan 24, 2020

Everyone needs Red Hood in their lives, it'll just make it that little bit better. The sass, the life lessons, the friendships. Honestly there isn't much more anyone could ask for. After this lovely little respite, I'm pretty sure something big's going to be coming next" the calm before the storm, as they say. Then again, when have things not be stormy for Jason?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #43

Feb 26, 2020

I'm in love with the writing style of Scott Lobdell, he really has a way of making the characters jump off the page. I want to jump into the page, so that I can be an Outlaw! I'm very interested to see how Jason, Artemis and Bizarro get back to their old “normal” team dynamic and how that will affect everyone else that had a side role in Red Hood Outlaw #43, because I'm hooked!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #44

Mar 26, 2020

To date I thinkRed Hood Outlaw might be my favourite comic book. There's such awesome plot and character writing from Scott Lobdell and it's always bought to life by the amazing artists that come and work on the comic. I'm really enjoying the team being back together and slowly finding their groove again. The plot seems like it is going somewhere interesting and I can't wait to see what happens to my disaster kids next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #45

May 20, 2020

When can I have the next issue? I have to wait? Well, in that case. I'll just re-read this one a few hundred more times, I'm sure there are details that I missed. Everything's really falling into place for the Outlaws. Whatever is going to happen next, we can tell that it's going to be BIG.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #3

Aug 1, 2019

In short...more please. Very happy to keep reading these Annuals and can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2019) #7

Jul 30, 2020

My take away form this is… I've missed out of six amazing issues of this run. Also, the next issue some true problems are going to arise for anyone that stands in Lawton's way. The Suicide Squad seem to have their work cut out for them, trying to help Deadshot and keep themselves out of danger. Yeah… that's likely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans: Beast Boy #1

Sep 22, 2020

I need one of these books for every single character ever. I could happily have a series dedicated to Beast Boy, or Raven… or both! YES, they heard me. We will get to see more of both of these amazing characters, written and drawn by these awesomely talented people, in Teen Titans: Beast Boy Loves Raven.I don't know about anyone else. but this has sent me over the edge. I'm now on the floor scratching at the carpet, to give my hands something to do while we wait for the next instalment to come out. Garfield's such a precious, good hearted character, and Kami and Gabriel really bring that out in him.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More