acnbat's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 38
7.1Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Alpha Flight: True North #1

Sep 4, 2019

This one-shot does exactly what it's meant to do. It's inspired me to go out and read more Alpha Flight books. Like all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #1

Oct 23, 2019

Despite a far-fetched story, this issue has pretty much what I want in a comic. Really good art, for the most part, and a FUN story. Throw in a few nice easter eggs that long-time fans will no doubt pick up on, and we've got a good start to this ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.9
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

While the cliffhanger does provide a slight glimmer of hope, it can't save this issue. MJ is a truly great character, but unfortunately doesn't get a chance to shine in her own book. This series should really be called "The Mystery of Mysterio's Missing Self-Esteem". Because it's been ALL about him so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #28

Aug 28, 2019

While Spidey takes a backseat again for most of this issue, it's not all that bad! The twists and turns make this a story I want to see through till the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #33

Nov 7, 2019

Final Thoughts: As I read this utterly completely confusing issue I actually got mad at myself because I'll never get that time back. The fantastic art is the only thing preventing me from giving this issue a negative score. If that's even possible. And to give ASM this low a score really makes me sad. It should be held to a much higher standard and treated as such by the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Contagion #4

Oct 23, 2019

In an issue that has obviously been bogged down by the weekly schedule, the highlight is one of Marvel's best street-level heroes getting a chance to shine! Hopefully, this series will end next week with a home run rather than a warning track fly out"..

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Contagion #5

Oct 30, 2019

This finale unfortunately sputters to its end. A series that started off so great couldn't maintain that pace and was only barely kept afloat by a very well written Moon Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Doctor Doom (2019) #1

Oct 9, 2019

Final Thoughts:This is a very thought-provoking issue, in a good way! We've got a major villain, a big disaster, and a major catastrophe that sets Doom up as their perpetrator. Throw in Doom's inner battle with himself, and we've got an awesome number one issue. I can't wait to see how this unfolds!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Doctor Doom (2019) #3

Dec 4, 2019

Many pages of the story went into Mephisto's deal for Doom, all to then be thrown completely away. While this was a slight twist, I preferred Mephisto's deal. I'm still invested enough to see where this goes, but I hope for some more plot development in issue four.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Excalibur (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

Coming at this from the perspective of a new reader, which I am, I'm left with too many questions and kind of lost honestly. I really want to like this series. Unfortunately, it's extremely hard to right now. I'm hoping it improves. Quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Excalibur (2019) #3

Dec 4, 2019

My faith has been restored in Tini Howard and in magic! This is my favorite issue so far. The story is told in a way that isn't nearly as confusing to the reader, even while adding more characters to the mix.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Fantastic Four (2018) #15

Oct 2, 2019

Dan Slott changes perspectives and we get a completely different outlook on the Fantastic Four. I think he did a Fantastic job!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Fantastic Four (2018): 4 Yancy Street #1

Aug 28, 2019

This book has a great silver age sensibility to it and that's about all I needed to enjoy it. It's a whole lot of fun and the art fits it all perfectly. If you are looking for something a little less serious in a sea of dark and miserable comics, you should check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fearless (2019) #2

Aug 21, 2019

Final Thoughts:A solid second issue. While this issue is jam-packed, I wish the X-23 story was longer. Looking forward to seeing how the camp story unfolds next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #12

Sep 18, 2019

Final Thoughts:Tom Taylor continues to build his character-driven book in fine fashion. He once again shows that he truly has the perfect voice for Peter and Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

Final Thoughts: As we get into dive into what I consider the greatest era of Marvel Comics, Mark Waid and Javier Fernandez bring their “A” game yet again in another very informative and beautiful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Journey To Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker - Allegiance #1

Oct 9, 2019

As a prelude of sorts to the Rise of Skywalker, I was expecting an original story. I didn't get that at all. I feel like I'll never get that time back that I spent reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #8

Aug 21, 2019

Final Thoughts:Another great Wolverine story highlight this issue. The Spider-Woman story is also very relevant in our social media-obsessed society. As with the previous issue, one of the three stories bring down the overall story, albeit slightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #9

Sep 25, 2019

The main Wolverine story carries this issue. And once again, the lackluster backup story brings down my overall score a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Morbius (2019) #1

Nov 13, 2019

Although the introduction of the characters could have been handled better, the premise of this story and the artwork have me really looking forward to issue two. Give this a chance, I have a feeling we'll all be pleasantly surprised. At least I hope so!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Silver Surfer: Black #3

Aug 14, 2019

Donny Cates and company have outdone themselves yet again as each issue gets better and better! They continue to build the Surfer's mythology while giving a shocker of an ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Silver Surfer: Black #4

Sep 11, 2019

We get yet another in-depth view of the complexities that make up the Silver Surfer, and some stellar artwork too. An outstanding issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Silver Surfer: Black #5

Oct 30, 2019

As the issue came to its conclusion, I was left a bit surprised. There is a definite ending, something we don't get in some comics, but not the ending I was expecting at all. I'll be very very curious to see what role the Surfer plays in the upcoming months!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Spider-Man (2019) #1

Sep 18, 2019

Abrams proves he can hang in the "primetime" of the comic world! An absolutely fantastic first issue that will have Spidey fans a buzz for sure! I highly recommend this book!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Spider-Man (2019) #2

Oct 16, 2019

While we do get a few answers, we also just just get more unanswered questions in issue two. However, the art steals the show. Sara Pichelli clearly is in her groove while drawing Spidey. This book also loses points for a typo. It can't happen on a book at this level. Or any book for that matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 2, 2019

This is everything a number 1 should be! A super fun issue that introduces us to the characters, what the problems are, and what the plan is to resolve the problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

If you can get past the fact that Ryan North basically ignores everything Jed MacKay did in issue one, you'll be pleasantly surprised with what basically is Miles lending a hand in an Aunt May one shot. How this issue matters in the Spider-Zero/Annie May story I have absolutely no idea. Hopefully it'll be explained by the end of the mini-series. I'd give this a much higher score if it was just a one shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Star Wars (2014) #71

Sep 6, 2019

In reviewing my first Star Wars comic I'm immediately thrown into the Star Wars Universe. It may not all make complete sense to me now, but I want to read and review more so that it does!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Star Wars (2014) #72

Oct 2, 2019

I've become even more immersed in the Star Wars universe, and despite a bit of lackluster art, I'm all in on this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Star Wars (2014) #73

Oct 23, 2019

Unless you're a die-hard fan of this series you'd be better off to skip this issue. Rather than being allowed to end well, this issue is clearly rushed as the "next" relaunch seems more important even though it doesn't start until January. What a shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Star Wars (2014) #74

Nov 13, 2019

Final Thoughts: For this reviewer, the story trumps all. And despite some art issues, the story rebounded nicely with a couple of very clever things that move the story forward. While all eyes are seemingly on the reboot, I'm holding out hope for a nice series finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Star Wars (2014) #75

Nov 20, 2019

After giving some previous issues some pretty low scores, I couldn't be happier with how this series ended. Greg Pak took a big chance with Star Wars canon and it worked wonderfully!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Strikeforce (2019) #1

Sep 25, 2019

While the premise of the team and the story are intriguing, the execution of this debut issue of this series is extremely lacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Strikeforce (2019) #2

Oct 23, 2019

Now This what I was hoping for in a Strikeforce series! After a very slow start, issue two really hits the mark! Great character moments, with Jessica Drew stealing the show!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sword Master (2019) #2

Aug 14, 2019

Issue two of Sword Master continues to build on the previous issue while throwing in a few BIG surprises. A solid start to an ongoing series. Looking forward to issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sword Master (2019) #3

Sep 11, 2019

We get very little in the progression of both stories, but the art by Gunji ALMOST makes up for it. This book seems to be struggling with finding it's groove.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Sword Master (2019) #4

Oct 2, 2019

This issue really seems to have hit its's stride. We get advancement to each story, some genuinely funny moments, all while maintaining the ever-present great art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Thanos (2019) #5

Aug 28, 2019

With one issue left we finally get Thanos being his own true self. I'm curious to see how Magus will factor in the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More