Dave Jones's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Get Your Comic On Reviews: 96
9.2Avg. Review Rating

8
Alice Ever After #1

Apr 6, 2022

A unique twist on the old tale, taking a darkened road and opening the story up to a whole new readership. I'm intrigued to see how this new story of Alice is going to unfold, it certainly is going to be an interesting tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alice Ever After #2

Jun 8, 2022

An intriguingly dark fairytale story told with passion and depth, a must read for any comic readers who are looking for a bit of a different magical journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alice Ever After #3

Jun 22, 2022

A series that seems it will most definitely be getting darker as things are beginning to happen allowing the story arc to develope and take shape into iconic series, this story arc definitely has the potential to go far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant (2021) #2

Feb 8, 2022

My new favourite superhero. A fantastic nostalgic feeling action packed thrill ride with a well written and deeper story, a great read that any action comic fan will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ant (2021) #3

Mar 11, 2022

A superhero comic with a difference. A great read with exciting undertones. This series is certainly building to something potentially huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basilisk #6

Jan 8, 2022

An expertly written, deep, dark story with hard hitting illustrations working together creating a masterpiece of storytelling. A dark almost supernatural tale that will appeal to horror readers around the globe. One thing for sure this story is not ready to slow down just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basilisk #7

Feb 8, 2022

A gripping and through provoking story which has absolutely blown my mind. The illustration will chill you to your very bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Basilisk #8

Mar 19, 2022

A chillingly graphic story that will grip you and take you deep within the pages. An exciting story that will have you on the edge of your seat with immersive storytelling and graphic detail, would definitely recommend to any horror fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #122

Apr 5, 2022

A blockbuster story which is steadily rocking the DC Universe. Top level writing from Williamson partners with the artistic talents of Porter and Hairsine to create a masterpiece. I'm looking forward to what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blood Syndicate (2022): Season One #1

May 10, 2022

The best way I can think to describe Blood Syndicate is a mix of Boyz in the Hood (my favourite film of all time) and The Boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Last Vampire Slayer (2021) #3

Feb 8, 2022

A new and exciting story arc that feels more gritty than Buffy ever has before. Casey Gilly appears to be pushing our favourite Slayer down a dark path which could change the multiverse as we know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Last Vampire Slayer (2021) #4

Mar 13, 2022

A unique take on a well loved cult story, Buffy The Last Vampire is without doubt one of the best comic series of this year so far bringing all the emotion and suspense into the story giving the reader the ultimate reading experience. A definite recommendation to any Buffy fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #34

Feb 8, 2022

A powerfully written story with equally powerful illustrations, Buffy fans are in for a treat. A fitting end to a fantastic arc left on a cliff hanger ending leaving readers wanting more I personally can't wait to see what the creative team have in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Blood #6

Jan 25, 2022

A dark and emotional story that pulls on your emotions, as a debut comic series from LaToya Morgan this story arc is strong and definitely has left me wanting to see more from her. A story that makes you stop and think is the sign of a good piece of writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Crisis (2022) #1

Jun 8, 2022

The comic event comic reader have been patiently waiting to see, this has been years in the making. It certainly does not disappoint. A truly epic event begins right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC vs. Vampires (2021): Hunters #1

May 24, 2022

A dark story but an interesting twist on a popular and iconic character, the book feels authentic to DC throughout but giving it a unique twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #8

May 3, 2022

Creatively perfect, simply put this arc is incredible and has the potential to rock the DC world to it's core. The writing is heart racing and the illustrations hypnotic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #9

May 24, 2022

An explosive issue which is easily my favourite of The Shadow War event. A story of epic magnitude which is clearly gearing towards an explosive ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Djinn Hunter #4

Mar 5, 2022

Djinn Hunter is a series which continues to grown in strength in every issue lead to an explosive conclusion. The mystical illustrations and captivating writing will take the reader's imagination on a journey like never before, a definite recommendation for any fantasy fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Djinn Hunter #5

Mar 5, 2022

A fantastical thrill ride with deep routed emotion, a story of broken hearts, revenge and fighting back from the very pit a story that captivates and inspires. Beautifully written and equally beautiful illustrations that will take you on a fantasy journey that you won't want to get off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flashpoint: Batman Knight of Vengeance #1

Apr 5, 2022

A strong introduction to a story arc that has huge potential to rock the universe we know. A creative team that has come together to create something visually stunning and captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flashpoint: Beyond #0

Apr 12, 2022

One of the finest comics this year to-date. An action-packed, emotional twist on the DC Universe and an arc which is primed to explode with catastrophic consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flashpoint: Beyond #2

Jun 7, 2022

A powerful and raw story that is growing with each issue creating an arc that definitely can't be missed. An alternate world that will have you looking at Arkham in a different way than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Frontiersman #4

Jan 8, 2022

A story that at first I didn't quite understand, I'm now enjoying and looking forward to the next issue. Frontiersman is fast becoming my favourite anti hero, definitely giving the reader a main character you can relate to, in a story full of twists and turns I am looking forward to see what the creative team have in store for out hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Frontiersman #5

Feb 2, 2022

Overall I found Frontiersman a pleasure to read throughout this arc, although at first I wasn't sure I can safely say that thanks to the creative team involved I definitely have changed my mind and I am looking forward to see where we go with the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ghost Cage #1

Mar 25, 2022

A comic I feel will take maybe a couple of issues to get into gear but the foundations have certainly be laid, it will be a case of waiting to see what will come next hopefully it will build the story up more as the potential is definitely there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #3

Dec 21, 2021

Another great piece of writing from Todd McFarlane and his creative team, Gunslinger Spawn as a character grows in strength with each issue and I can't wait to see what's coming next, fully recommend any Spawn fan to get involved with this character series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #4

Feb 8, 2022

Gunslinger Spawn is looking set to be the outstanding series of the year. Each issue grows in depth and feeling creating the ultimate reading experience. A definite must have comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #5

Mar 5, 2022

Gunslinger Spawn is a stand out comic series for 2022. The story works on every level, the writing is captivating and the illustrations are mind blowing all making for a premium comic title. As a story arc this is evolving into an arc not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #6

Mar 26, 2022

Once again another outstanding issue, a story arc that just gets better and I can't see it dropping off any time soon, you always get a top quality story from the multiverse when you feel you know what you're getting the bar gets raised and get surprised again, I am enjoying this ride of the multiverse and don't want to get off just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #7

Apr 27, 2022

Once again a full marks comic in series that continues to grow with each issue, in a multiverse containing so many strong characters Gunslinger stands head and shoulders above the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gunslinger Spawn #8

Jun 2, 2022

A series that can't be faulted, each issue is a top mark production and definitely one of my favourite Spawn characters, I literally am excited to see how this arc progresses further, a definite must read for any Spawn fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home Sick Pilots #11

Jan 19, 2022

A series which disappoints. Home Sick Pilots is everything I want in a comic book. A perfect combination of intense writing and eye catching illustration. This is what comics were made for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home Sick Pilots #12

Feb 16, 2022

This series is my top comic series of the moment, it has it all excitement and emotion captivating and moving your emotions and imagination. This has been an exciting ride so far and I'm looking forward to see where this arc will go it looks like things are about to get darker and more intense, the next part of the story is looking like it will be the best part yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home Sick Pilots #13

Mar 23, 2022

Straight up full marks for Home Sick Pilots this month. Without doubt the best story arc out there at the moment. I have enjoyed every issue so far and look forward to see where the creative team go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Home Sick Pilots #14

Apr 20, 2022

I'm hooked. I don't think this series could ever produce a bad book, from the first issue the comic has grown in strength, creating an iconic series that will stand the test of time. This is the comic I look our for and will be sorry to see it go but I'm looking forward to an epic ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King Spawn #6

Feb 2, 2022

Issue-by-issue I'm getting more and more involved with King Spawn. Franchise fans will love the world building whilst casual readers have a lot to enjoy from the series action roots.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King Spawn #7

Feb 22, 2022

The continuation of a potentially epic story arc. King Spawn is a much welcomed piece of the Spawn puzzle. I am looking forward to seeing the story develops in future issues of this must-read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King Spawn #8

Mar 23, 2022

You may aswell times those stars by 3, an incredible series that just gets better with every issue. The creative team have created a monster and I am definitely along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King Spawn #9

Apr 20, 2022

My favourite issue of the series to-date. King Spawn is the pinnacle of the Spawn Multiverse, so full of emotional depth and wonderful illustrations. A fantastic job by the creative team, leaving me waiting with bated beeath for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King Spawn #10

May 18, 2022

Another issue which adds depth and nuance to the world of King Spawn. A great addition to the Spawn multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King Spawn #11

Jun 22, 2022

There is no doubt to what score I will give this comic, I think from reading the review it was a dead cert that a full marks score would be given. As a Spawn fan I was sceptical at first when different stories began to appear, but I didn't need to worry as this King Spawn arc is only making the multiverse stronger and I excited to see what Sean and the rest of the creative team have planned. A definite recommendation from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magic (2021) #10

Jan 5, 2022

A mesmerising series that started off as a slow burner but reaching it's peak turned the comic completely on it's head, I personally enjoyed reading every issue and hope the creative team have more in the tank as I would love to read more from the MTG world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Magic (2021) #11

Feb 8, 2022

A welcome return to Ravinca with a new exciting arc with new characters and new dangers. I am enjoying more and more being able to visually explore the MTG multiverse through the eyes of the creative team and long may it continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Magic (2021) #12

Mar 5, 2022

A comic series that I have waited many years for, having played the card game for years in my youth I was waiting to be able to visually see what I once imagined, it is fantastic that such a talented creative team have taken the idea and turned it into a true heavyweight in the comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Magic (2021) #13

Apr 6, 2022

A perfect piece of storytelling that captures the mind and takes you on a magical journey. The first arc was one of my favourites at the time and now this second arc is definitely becoming one too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magic (2021) #14

May 4, 2022

A mystical step inside the inner minds of the Planeswalkers, the arc is beginning to tie together to create an arc that goes deeper into the lore of the multiverse building to an epic conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magic (2021) #15

Jun 2, 2022

A thrilling read that is gathering pace with every issue, this arc is what childhood me imagined when playing the card game and I am thrilled to be able to witness the growth of the multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magic: The Hidden Planeswalker (2022) #2

May 25, 2022

This new arc is building itself into something quire dramatic, as the story begins to unfold the intense chase becomes breathtaking and visually stunning, well worth picking up if you're a MTG fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #15

Jan 11, 2022

With Mighty Morphin #15, The Eltarian War arc continues to be a thrilling ride and one that I don't want to stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #16

Feb 8, 2022

There could be no doubt that this is going to get a 5 rating. Mighty Morphin is, by far, the best series on the market right now. Every month the series keeps me coming back with jaw-dropping bombshells and masterpiece cliffhangers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #17

Mar 11, 2022

As always a solid top marks read, the change of writer has not altered the story whatsoever, they say you can't improve on perfection but this is pretty close.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #18

Apr 20, 2022

After The Eltarian War I thought that there wouldn't be more stories to tell to come out of this multiverse and how wrong I was. This particular Mighty Morphin arc just seems to gather pace with each issue and I am back with the intense excitement waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #19

May 11, 2022

Another intense, action-filled Rangers story that has left me ready for more. Both Mighty Morphin and Power Rangers continue showing the potential to develop yet another epic arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin (2020) #20

Jun 13, 2022

This issue is another masterpiece from the creative powers behind the Power Rangers multiverse, after 20 issues it still feels vibrant and fresh with each issue investing me further into the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Monkey Meat #1

Jan 3, 2022

I enjoyed the introduction to Monkey Meat and its expanding multiverse, a solid mix of dark corruption and comedy to keep an interesting story vibrant and engaging, I look forward to see what Juni Ba is bringing next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #14

Jan 5, 2022

If there were more than 5 stars available then I would award them. By far my favourite comic of 2021 and I am definitely excited to see what is to come for the Rangers in 2022.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #15

Jan 19, 2022

There was going to be no doubt that this issue would get full marks (if I could give more I would) An incredible story with epic scale artwork, bringing together one of the best story arcs I have ever read. If you haven't yet got involved in this event you genuinely have to it is a story not to be missed, even if you're not a fan of Rangers it is something that would probably appeal to most readers that enjoy and epic action story arc and if you are a Rangers fan then it goes without saying you definitely don't want to miss this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #16

Feb 16, 2022

Awe inspiring and visually fantastic. The creative team has created a book which is continually breathtaking to read. Even if you aren't a Power Rangers fan you should be reading this!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #17

Mar 19, 2022

I personally thought that The Eltarian War would be the peak of the stories from the Power Rangers multiverse, well I couldn't have been more wrong for The Eltarian War was essentially the start of the new era of Power Rangers and I for one am excited to see how the story arcs play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #18

Apr 20, 2022

This series feels like something big is building, the anticipation of what is about to unfold is gripping me more and more, this definitely could become one of the Power Rangers story arcs yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #19

May 18, 2022

Once again an incredible job by the creative team. Ryan Parrott and Marco Renna are powerhouses in the comic book game and having those names at the helm you just know you are in for epic level reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers (2020) #20

Jun 22, 2022

Once again a full mark score has to be given to this book, a creative masterpiece created by the best team in the business. A powerful and thought driven story that will leave you thinking about it in you head after you've finished, a great piece of writing that no Power Rangers fan should miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers: Universe #1

Jan 3, 2022

Power Rangers Universe is one event I have been looking forward to and I was not disappointed. Great writing and illustration make this a must read for franchise fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers: Universe #3

Mar 1, 2022

This is Power Rangers at its finest and looks to be getting better with every issue that passes. With one of the strongest creative teams out there at the moment this is a story arc that just needs to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Rangers: Universe #4

Mar 25, 2022

Whilst not my favourite of the series so far, what started out slowly still feels essential to the overall arc of the Power Rangers Universe series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers: Universe #6

May 26, 2022

An outstanding story arc from the beginning to end, a creative masterpiece from a strong creative team. This story is a great addition to the multiverse and a must read for any Rangers fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Radiant Red #1

Mar 8, 2022

A deep story with fantastic illustrations. This book is a symphony for the eyes. From the foundations that have been laid this is definitely a story arc not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Radiant Red #2

Apr 7, 2022

The Radiant Black world is beginning to turn into an exciting multiverse of interlocking stories potentially creating something epic. The creative team have once again created an overall intense and full on reading experience and I'm looking forward to see how this develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Radiant Red #3

Jun 2, 2022

A good addition to the multiverse of stories but also beginning to evolve into it's own stand out character. A thoughtful, action packed story arc definitely recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robin (2021) #12

Mar 23, 2022

Robin #12 is a deeply dark and emotional story. It's great to see one of my favourite DC characters hogging the limelight and Damian does it so well. A captivating read for DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #13

May 3, 2022

Without doubt The Shadow War is my favourite story arc so far this year it perfectly jumps between issues blending together different veins of the story. A super arc which is changing the landscape of DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #14

May 24, 2022

A fully deserved full marks score, if a comic could be perfect then this would be close to that mark, it gave me everything I wanted and more each character growing in depth with strength and emotional identity, a creative masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rogue Sun #1

Mar 13, 2022

Rogue Sun is the comic book hero we have been waiting for. I was anxious to see what this book was all about but instantly Ryan Parrott's blistering story had me sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rogue Sun #2

Mar 31, 2022

A great world-building issue for Dylan, developing him in to a more relatable character. With the creative team behind this book I have no doubt this series will go on to greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rogue Sun #4

Jun 2, 2022

The Rogue Sun arc is growing with a fast pace with each book that passes you just feel that it's leading onto something epic and being a fan of Ryan Parrott's previous work you just know that it will definitely be explosive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadow War (2022): Omega #1

Jun 2, 2022

A phenomenal story arc comes to an end, each issue blew me away, a creative masterpiece that has created a very different looking DC world for the future, I definitely look forward to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadow War (2022): Alpha #1

Mar 29, 2022

This is the start of something special, with Shadow War Alpha #1 DC has the potential to change one corner of the DC Universe forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow War (2022): War Zone #1

May 17, 2022

A great selection of shorter stories that adds more background detail to the overall main arc. Artistically spot on with a collection of stories that captured me further into the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #326

Feb 8, 2022

Spawn #326 is another outstanding effort from the creative team. The long-running series continues to grow with every issue and never fails to feel fresh and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #328

Mar 31, 2022

Not as fast paced as the others but another great issue for the series which is definitely building us up for something massive, which I am definitely looking forward to see unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #330

Jun 8, 2022

A vibrant cat and mouse story that is building to epic conclusions. This is a standard Spawn story but elevated to epic levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Speed Republic #1

Jan 28, 2022

A surprisingly gripping story with and deep and emotional undertone that I am looking forward to see how it all unfolds and comes together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stray Dogs: Dog Days #1

Dec 23, 2021

An interesting view into the lives through the eyes of pets, a unique and new comic arc and something completely different, will be interesting to see where this will go and what the creative team have in store fir us the readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stray Dogs: Dog Days #2

Feb 2, 2022

A unique concept and different approach to storytelling make this a new and interesting take on the thriller genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Killer: Affairs of State (2022) #1

Mar 5, 2022

A new series with great potential. The Killer: Affairs of the State will definitely be a slow burner but one with the potential to expand in to something great.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Last Session #2

Jan 25, 2022

A story arc that has surprised me from the start. A comic out of my comfort zone but one I'm happy to have discovered. If you're not already playing D&D, this one may turn you on to the idea!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Sandman Universe: Nightmare Country #1

Apr 12, 2022

A chillingly dark tale that chills you to the bone, it is bit slow to start but does pick up in pace. The illustrations are dark and doesn't leave alot untold, I am looking forward to see how the arc unfolds in the hope that it does gather pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Sandman Universe: Nightmare Country #2

May 10, 2022

A dark story arc that takes you into the deepest parts of the underground taking you on a psychological journey like no other. Captivating and thought provoking, an arc that stays with you even after you finish, wouldn't say the best bed time reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #1

Jan 13, 2022

A great start to what looks to be another amazing story arc from the Spawn multiverse, this comic has everything a gripping story and amazing illustrations an all round perfect production.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #2

Feb 10, 2022

In just two issues this series has blown me away. I can't wait to see more of the Scorched world. Another fantastic job by the whole creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #3

Mar 23, 2022

The Scorched has only intensified my Spawn fandom. The series is a perfect fir for the Spawn universe. I'm hoping that the big streaming services may pick it up as it would be incredible to see this on screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #4

Apr 11, 2022

A series that is rapidly becoming a favorite, definitely has that "just one more page feeling to it with the story so intense you can't put it down, a phenomenal job by the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #5

May 11, 2022

A close to comic book perfection as one can imagine. The story and artwork work in tandem to deliver another issue which blew my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Scorched (2022) #6

Jun 8, 2022

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trial of the Amazons (2022) #1

Mar 8, 2022

A much deserved five stars. Trial of the Amazons has everything: an empowering story; striking visuals and captivating characters.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More