Casper Rudolph's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 58
6.2Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Aquaman (2016) #39

Aug 15, 2018

So far, this crossover has been a good read. There are a few continuity inconsistencies between this and Suicide Squad #45, but if you can overlook those, the rest of the comic is well worth your time if you are into extended brawls and don't mind offbeat quips and banter.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #40

Sep 19, 2018

When this crossover started, I was on board because it was entertaining. This issue, however, fails to deliver a strong conclusion due to its highly predictable nature and a number of missed opportunities that I outlined above. Perhaps its greatest flaw is reducing a character to a mere plot device to resolve the story's conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #40

Feb 8, 2018

This is not a bad issue. There's plenty here to talk about and analyze, as is always the case with a King comic. The themes are carefully implemented and come full circle in the end. However, in my opinion the highlight of the comic is early on, and therefore the subsequent scenes feel like they lack some substance as they don't manage to live up to the highlight. The ending also left me with a feeling of: "So, that's it?", which is never a good sign.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #41

Feb 24, 2018

The story is well-paced, not too fast and not too slow, and enough happens to keep you turning the page. It also has a clear structure that makes the events easy to follow, and Batman and Catwoman are on point in terms of characterization. However, Poison Ivy is seriously overpowered, and that might not be to the liking of fans who prefer smaller, street-level Batman stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Nov 2, 2018

Batman Secret Files #1 is a highly entertaining comic that features five fun stories. There are some real gems in this anthology, and while it's true that some of these gems overshadow somewhat weaker stories, I think that every one is worth reading, even if it's just for the artwork, which is of high quality throughout the book. If you're a Batman fan, and particularly enjoy detective stories, then you'll likely love this anthology. Enthusiastically recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Aug 22, 2018

Your favorite Bat-suit is the blue and gray with the yellow oval!You are into psychedelic horror stories!You want to see Batman kicking ass! While there are times that the art is poorly executed and the writing veers toward clich, this is still a very fun read. If anything, Batman is as Batman as he can be"tactical, stealthy, powerful"and although this issue is almost entirely setup, it's a good setup, because all the themes have been introduced and now it's just a matter of kicking back, relaxing, and waiting for issue #2. Enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 29, 2018

It's refreshing to see a version of Batman who knows what he's doing and who goes about his business with full confidence in his abilities. However, I think there is still a lot of room for improvement when it comes to exploring Batman's greatest fears, because right now the creative team isn't bringing anything new to the table in that regard. But despite this, definitely pick up this comic if you have missed the street-level, more classic take on Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 25, 2018

You are into psychedelic horror storiesScarecrow is your favorite Batman villainYou like Gothic imagery that reflects the struggle and horror of the plot I really enjoyed this issue. We see nice Gothic imagery that adds to the horror elements; the lines between reality and hallucinations are blurred and thereby the stakes have been raised; and we get to see Batman's more caring, soft side when he finds a little girl all by herself in the streets. To all Batman fans: by all means, pick up this issue. Even if you dislike the artwork, I'm sure you'll find plenty to enjoy in the writing. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Dec 1, 2018

A great issue of a great series. We venture deep into Batman's psyche, and rather than spelling out everything in captions, Peterson fully trusts Jones to illustrate Batman's hallucinations and tell the story that way, and Jones is doing a great job. Especially in a time where other Batman titles fail to successfully "deconstruct" our hero, it is a real treat to see it done right in this book. Recommended to all Batman fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

Jun 1, 2018

If the remaining four books in this series are just as good, we're in for a treat. I definitely recommend this one"enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 15, 2018

I like this comic. However, I feel that the comic is trying to do too much within the limited amount of pages. As such, it is all very compressed and convoluted, and may cause confusion here and there. Add onto this the serious continuity error that I pointed out in the spoiler section, and I'm really unsure about Metal's conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 22, 2017

While this issue is very heavy on exposition and gets rather convoluted at times, it's still a fun read with some nice references to heavy metal music and bands. However, at this point in the series, I can't help but wonder if 6 issues is really enough (tie-ins notwithstanding), as it seems Snyder's cramming an enormous cosmic epic into a mini-series. As a result, you have to pay close attention as to what's going on, because a lot is going on at the same time. The art makes up for it, though, as it's bright and gorgeous and cinematic"you will not be disappointed in Capullo & co. That said, Snyder still manages to find a way to tell his story effectively with the limited page count at his disposal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Feb 2, 2018

Metal #5 is epic. I think that, in previous episodes, Scott Snyder is trying to cover too much story within the limited page count that he has, and as such the issues felt like they were crumbling under their own weight. This issue, however, is much more focused and I was able to perceive a clear structure that I interpreted as a song structure, which, for me as a musician, was very entertaining to read. Despite still having some issues with characterization (in particular Hal Jordan) and some plot holes that are much too convenient for me, I think that this issue overall is well worth your time. Seriously, if this creative team was a heavy metal band, they would blow your roof off. Get this comic. It has so much energy inside of it that the action just leaps off the pages!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 28, 2018

It's not a bad comic. It's actually very entertaining if you're looking for a straight-up fight comic and if you won't ask too many questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 4, 2018

All in all, this is a cool issue for only 25 cents, and these three short stories are well worth a read if you have 30 minutes of free time. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Harley Quinn/Gossamer #1

Aug 29, 2018

All things considered, Harley Quinn/Gossamer #1 is an incoherent comic book that's better left on the stands: there must be better stories out there that are worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Detective Comics (2016) #971

Dec 28, 2017

All in all, I recommend that you skip this issue as, to be perfectly honest, it doesn't really seem to go anywhere. You see, it's hard to get involved in a story whose villains are unconvincing and where the struggles are just straight-up uninteresting. Your money is better spent elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #45

Jul 4, 2018

This book may just be setup so far, but it's a fun setup, and I highly appreciate that Humphries is putting his own spin on the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #46

Jul 29, 2018

It's not strictly a bad comic, but it certainly leaves much to be desired in terms of strong characters and a convincing villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #47

Aug 5, 2018

This is an enjoyable conclusion to Humphries' first arc on the title. While I don't care for the meta jokes because they seem too random to me, I think Humphries has certainly demonstrated that he has a good feel for Harley's voice and I appreciate that there is at least some focus on her character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #48

Aug 17, 2018

The first half of the comic promises a fun, energetic adventure with great art, but for me the book falls apart during the second half. The core story is problematic because of many plot holes, and the attempts at humor overshadow logic to such an extent that at a certain point logic is completely thrown out of the window.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #49

Sep 9, 2018

This comic offers some fun, wild imagery with high entertainment value. But at the same time, this entertainment hinges on plot imposed restrictions and therefore none of it should be possible within those restrictions.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #50

Sep 22, 2018

Ultimately, I don't think this really is a story. It's just a series of strange scenes that play out like a self-repeating formula, and that's really it. Artwise, some of it is fantastic, some of it is good, and some of it is bad. In the end, it's a mixed bag.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #51

Oct 3, 2018

Harley Quinn really is a strange book. Breaking the fourth wall has become a core component of the narrative, and the titular heroine's relationships with supporting cast don't always make sense given that Harley is the Joker's ex and a member of the Suicide Squad. Some of the jokes feel forced, whereas others, particularly those involving Captain Triumph, are entertaining and funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #52

Oct 18, 2018

Harley Quinn #52 is not a comic without its problems, but all things considered, I really did enjoy this issue for its fun artwork and steady pace. While I wish DC would just stop with all the continuity and fourth wall breaking, I appreciate that Jonni DC contributed to Harley's character development in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #53

Nov 7, 2018

I hate to say it, but this might just be the weakest issue in Humphries's run so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #55

Dec 5, 2018

This comic entertains me, but, like I said, that does not mean that it wows me. There are still too many problems to really call this a "good" comic. But is it a "bad" comic? Well, it's not that either. I would say it sits somewhere in between. If you just want to sit back and relax with this comic and have a laugh (despite some of the heavier stuff relating to Harley's mom's condition), then I think there is plenty here for you to enjoy. But if you can't help but look at comics with a critical mindset"and especially if you agree with what I said in this review"then this might not really be the comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Old Lady Harley #1

Oct 29, 2018

You enjoyed Harley Quinn #42 and want to see more of that worldYou don't mind that the book is 90% jokes and 10% plotYou're just here for the imaginative, dynamic artwork I'm afraid I ended up rather bored, reading this issue. The creative team spends more time filling panels with word balloons of silly jokes, than actual plot progression, and that's why they lose me halfway through. Add to this that the plot doesn't seem to start in earnest until page 16 (of a 20 page comic book!), and all I can say is, either skip this one altogether or at least take a wait-and-see approach in case this series does pick up in #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Old Lady Harley #2

Dec 2, 2018

Unfortunately, I'm not too fond of this issue. There are some great ideas here and the artwork is really solid, but the jokes are still as forced as they were in #1 and I just don't think they are funny. For example, I'm getting tired of Red Tool constantly repeating how many spouses Harley has had. Lastly, the story takes a long time to go anywhere, and right now, it's still not going anywhere. Maybe this will pick up with #3, but with this only getting 5 issues in total I'm skeptical. As such, I can't really recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 11, 2018

If you are looking to jump onto Suicide Squad, I'd suggest waiting a while to see if the reviews become more positive in the future, because it seems like this is just an average, throwaway two-parter.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #34

Jan 25, 2018

As I said in the introduction, this is a prime example of how even great artwork cannot save a bad script. The issue has some plot holes that I can't overlook and a main protagonist that is not at all interesting to read about. The ending of the story just leaves me with a feeling of: "what did I just read?" and I'm glad that it's over so we can move on to, hopefully, better things. I recommend skipping this issue, even if you picked up the previous part. Trust me. It's better to spend your hard-earned money elsewhere. Now here's to hoping that Williams, after having taken a break, will come back with new energy and a bunch of killer stories!Score: 3.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #35

Feb 15, 2018

This is a quick and easy read, and gorgeously drawn, but in the end it is nothing more than a series of (as of yet) seemingly unconnected events, and therefore never amounts to more than setup for the rest of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #36

Mar 2, 2018

If I were you, I'd just quietly move away toward other books on stands this week. But if you do buy this book, at least you'll have stellar artwork and there's a fantastic Sorrentino variant cover available that would be a nice addition to the collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #37

Mar 15, 2018

Suicide Squad #37 doesn't really do it for me. I never really get the chance to bond with Hack and root for her, and end up feeling rather careless. The Squad members act in character, but their lines feel forced and too predictable. The story also never reaches an actual conclusion but immediately drags readers into the next arc, despite it being marketed as a "conclusion."

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #38

Mar 30, 2018

This is a really fast read and there's not much here to analyze, but sometimes that's all that's necessary in order to enjoy a story. However, with the high level of predictability, the story feels rather uninspired and it takes away from the entertainment value. Although the next issue could be a lot of fun due to the Squad's upcoming mission, I can't really recommend #38 based on its own merits, even if it sets up a potentially fun next chapter. This is an average comic at best. So my advice is to wait and see what the next review will be like.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #39

Apr 13, 2018

This is definitely a step up in quality. It's an entertaining comic, action-packed, and it is structured in such a way that it gets more and more intense. Unfortunately, at the point where the climax is supposed to be, it sort of peters out in my opinion. But with entertaining banter, a strong and charismatic Rick Flag, and solid artwork, I think you will still have a good time with this issue. It's not a home-run yet, but it's definitely not as bad as the series has been recently.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #40

Apr 27, 2018

It's not a bad book, but it also just doesn't feel quite right to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #41

May 10, 2018

Recommended if you have some free time and want to kick back, relax, and enjoy a fast-paced action comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #42

May 25, 2018

This is exactly what I think Suicide Squad should be focusing on: smaller stories with simpler concepts, instead of city-wide destruction and still pretending it's a secret task force. But really, if you've been looking to get into Suicide Squad I'd recommend you do so now that it's actually getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #43

Jun 13, 2018

However, though the first half is interesting and serious, a sudden switch in tone to a more light-hearted approach takes me out of the story and the stakes don't seem as high anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #44

Jul 12, 2018

I'm sad to say I can't really recommend this one, though, and it's probably only of interest to those who've been reading the arc anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #45

Aug 10, 2018

While this issue is just the setup for now, the creative team finds a way to unite both series' worlds through both solid artwork and well-written characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #46

Sep 15, 2018

I think this is actually a really fun comic. I think Master Jailer could've been a much more interesting character; I don't like that this story is rehashing some themes from the recent Throne of Atlantis story (see spoiler tags); and I think that the "fight" between King Shark and Killer Croc is extremely underwhelming. But this comic moves fast, has plenty of action, features gorgeous coloring and the creative team has managed to make me a fan of Lord Satanis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #47

Oct 11, 2018

I think the comic's biggest struggle is balancing out character moments and action sequences. It seems to try to be both a character-piece centered around Boomerang, and an entertaining, light-hearted action comic that races toward the finish line. Had the creative team committed to either the one approach or the other, I think the narrative would've been stronger.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #48

Nov 18, 2018

You've come this far and you just want to complete Williams's runYou really dislike Waller In my opinion this is a very lackluster issue. There's a lot of action, there's some intrigue, there are a few character moments, but none of it offers anything new to the Suicide Squad narrative. As such it feels rather stiff, like the comic is just going from story beat to story beat because it has to, and not because it has an incredibly exciting story to tell. I'm afraid I cannot really recommend this issue. Perhaps wait and see if the story picks up with the next installment, or just spend your hard-earned money on other comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #49

Dec 16, 2018

The second-to-last installment in this 50 issue run is a far cry from #1. There are cool ideas in the story, but they never get fully realized and as a result the story remains superficial. Unfortunately I can't say I like this issue, and therefore I also can't recommend this in good conscience. It's a shame. I want this series to succeed because I like the Suicide Squad characters. Now I'm just going to cross my fingers and hope that #50 will be great against all odds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) Annual #1

Aug 22, 2018

A fun horror comic with some weird humor on top. There are a few inconsistencies in the art that might raise questions while reading, and the comic's ending is ambiguous and open. But on the whole, this is a good, well-paced, suspenseful horror story featuring obscure characters. Prepare for a high body count, gore and a lot of ghosts, and enjoy this break from the usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2016) #37

Dec 21, 2017

While there are a few moments where I'm questioning some of the writing, the pacing and action is on point and doesn't slow down. The fight is in your face, and Jiminez manages to characterize Bruce, Clark and Tim through their body language alone. Honestly, I haven't been this excited about artwork in a long time. And that's saying something, because I had not expected the art to totally steal the show if one of my favorite writers in comics is actually on script duties.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2016) #15

Dec 27, 2017

Teen Titans #15 is a bit of mixed bag. The art is good but suffers from jarring transitions between artists; Damian and Jon are lovely but Tim of Tomorrow is starting to piss me off; Hypertime is intriguing but I'm wondering in what way this will be relevant for the story's outcome. It's not a bad issue overall, but it doesn't quite stand out either. At least it gets the job done and pushes the story forward. Here's to hoping the remaining chapters will raise the level of quality so this crossover can end on a high note. I know Tomasi and Gleason are more than capable. In the meantime, I recommend that you wait and see if the next reviews will be more positive before committing yourself to this 5-part crossover story.Score: 6/10

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2016) #16

Jan 25, 2018

I don't think it's a bad comic. But at the same time I don't think it's a phenomenal read, either. In my opinion, this issue could easily be skipped and you would not really miss a thing, since the issue has some questionable choices regarding characterization, somewhat inconsistent artwork where bodily proportions are way off, and a number of plot holes that make the narrative very wobbly for me. As such, I would not recommend buying this issue unless you are a hardcore Starfire fan and have been looking to read a story where she takes center-stage, or you just don't want to leave any holes in your Rebirth Teen Titans comics collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2016) #17

Mar 2, 2018

I recommend that you skip this issue, or at least wait for the next couple of reviews to see if this arc gets any better. As it stands, it's not a strong issue at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2016) #19

Apr 28, 2018

So, long story short, get this book if you're a big fan of Teen Titans and don't want to miss a thing, or if you just want to complete Percy's run. If you're still on the fence, though, I'd say wait a month, because a new creative team is coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

This is a great opening to a Batman story. It has heart, it has action, it has horror both psychological and physical. It sets up a few intriguing themes that will likely be further developed as the series goes on. I think this story works best when you try to imagine what it's like to experience what Bruce is experiencing. And while you're at it, be sure to check out that Capullo variant. Enthusiastically recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #1

Feb 22, 2018

Even though there is a lot of exposition here, emphasis on world building, and therefore a ton to keep track of, this issue is still an entertaining read and a true sight to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #2

Mar 23, 2018

While it might not be as strong as the opening chapter, it's clear a lot of care and thought has been put into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #4

May 17, 2018

This is another great chapter in Sharpe's Brave and the Bold series. Slowly more information is revealed to us, bringing us closer to the conclusion inch by inch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #5

Jun 21, 2018

Yet another fantastic chapter in the Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman miniseries. Batman steps into the role of detective, Wonder Woman uses smart rhetoric, and by the end of this issue the stakes are extremely high. While the book sometimes suffers from too much narration all at once, it is the overall story and the gorgeous art that truly makes this a comic worth buying. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #6

Jul 19, 2018

Now that we've seen the character in action, only time will tell what he's going to do next, and I'm excited to see it. I just wish there was more room for Sharpe to further flesh out some of his ideas, but all in all, this is a beautiful book and totally worth a read. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More