Kenneth Bowden's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch, Comic Bastards Reviews: 93
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Absolute Carnage: Weapon Plus #1

Nov 9, 2019

Jed MacKay and co. knock out a homerun in the next chapter of the Weapon Plus series of one shots. If you're looking for a great self contained read despite being attached to a huge event, this issue is perfect. All the benefits of Hulkverine vs Carnage without all the baggage of keeping up with a ton of other books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aero #1

Aug 12, 2019

Aero #1 is a light read, but a good one. I don't need every book I pick up to try and out artsy the Watchmen. Sometimes you just wanna see superheroes do super stuff and the usual accompanying dramatics that come with it. Aero is a perfect book for an afternoon read where you can zone out into it and just be entertained from the first page all the way to the last one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aero #2

Aug 19, 2019

Beautiful art, beautiful action and just enough intrigue to give Aero some real substance without being too weighty. It's just genuine fun from top to bottom and a great new addition to the Marvel landscape.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Annihilation - Scourge: Nova #1

Dec 10, 2019

Annihilation Scourge: Nova #1 (Rosenberg/Roberson/Lopez} does an excellent job adding some true human elements to an otherwise outlandish yet fun story. Rosenberg and the gang seem to be breaking the cycle on disappointing event sequels so let's just hope they can keep it going until Omega drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Annihilation - Scourge: Alpha #1

Nov 27, 2019

All in all an entertaining first outing, a solid reminder of the glory days of Annihilation Wave, Guardians of the Galaxy and Annihilators that will hopefully add more quality works to the cosmic landscape of Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Archer & Armstrong #8

Mar 14, 2013

This issue displays a lot of what makes this title exceptional, we’re dealing with extremely high stakes dealt with in a low stakes manner, but done with style. The ridiculously silly is balanced with the right blend of action and suspense giving us a unique title unlike anything out from the “Big Two” and unique even among Valiant’s own books. Looking for something fresh and different, look no further Archer & Armstrong’s quality storytelling and solid art will definitely itch that scratch and leave you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #103

Jan 11, 2013

To be frank, this issue isn’t really all that exciting throughout; not a terrible read, but I suspect one could glance through it in the store and get the gist of it for later issues without missing anything important. Like I said, the key artifact’s origin story is the most interesting part of this issue, BUT the most interesting part of the ongoing story is the interactions between Gell Dennar and the tribe’s shaman. The shaman is clearly a lot more potent in mysticism than his tribe believes and is slyly manipulating his own agenda. The swap in minds of Gell Dennar and Agent Howards seems to be more his doing than the magic weapon in question, but why and to what end is yet to be seen. All in all I didn’t hate it, and as a fan of Mike Mignola’s creations I will most likely keep an eye on this…but if I just so happen to miss an issue or two I definitely won’t miss any sleep.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 8, 2019

All in all not a bad book, there's definitely been better introductions to the Outsiders buuuut there's also been so majorly bad ones as well. This book does just enough right to land on the better side of that coin but also makes some iffy choices that will undoubtedly raise an eyebrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #2

Jul 1, 2019

It's hard not to be disappointed with what we've got so far considering the long history of criminally underrated Outsiders books that exist. At this point I just pop open an issue of the Judd Winick or Alan Davis runs after each reading of this one to remind myself why I was excited for it to begin with. Not the worst comic I've ever read but considering the Outsiders' legacy left to it and the amazing work by Tynion and Hill up to this point.....well this just ain't up to snuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #3

Jul 9, 2019

You know that line in season one of Young Justice where Robin ponders why people are always overwhelmed or underwhelmed but never just whelmed? Well read this issue and you'll discover he wasn't totally right about that concept. Cuz "meh" basically sums this up in one word. But hey Dexter Soy and Veronica Gandini are still killing the art though so that's a plus!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #4

Aug 22, 2019

......don't bother with this book if you have other things you're interested in. The only good things about it are Dexter Soy's art and the tiny interactions between Katana and Black Lightning. Those parts seem like they were edited in from a better book and that's about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #5

Sep 15, 2019

You're gonna come for the Outsiders and ironically will only stay for the two OG Outsiders in actively involved in the book. The rest is kinda just whatever if we're getting down to the nitty gritty.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #6

Oct 14, 2019

Not much else to say here cept if you already dropped this book or were waiting to pick it up #6 is where you wanna start or pick it back up. This was the much needed shot in the arm this run was hurting for up til now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot #7

Jan 16, 2013

With the seeds planted in this issue and the actual event not kicking off until around Bloodshot #10, my faith is reinstated. The connection built here just makes perfect sense as to what Bloodshot and Psiots have in common, but also there is ample time to develop that before "Harbinger Wars" begins. With those two facts in mind I am definitely looking forward to what Valiant has in store for us this spring.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bloodshot #8

Feb 13, 2013

Duane Swierczynski as I’ve declared numerous times is a fabulous writer making an amazing book since #1 and that remains true here as well. If you’ve been reading up until now prepare for more awesomeness and if you’re just hoping on the wagon then prepare to be intrigued. As far as the art goes Manuel Garcia does a great job matching the action, flow and tone already established in this title. While you will notice there is definitely a different artist on this one compared to #7 and the like, you won’t be disappointed nor is his style so wildly different it’s jarring to the arc’s vibe. All in all just more Bloodshot goodness coming your way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot (2019) #1

Sep 22, 2019

In order to keep my inner Stan in check I reread this issue several times over the last couple weeks to make sure I wasn't letting nostalgia cloud my judgement. Final verdict: Tim Seeley and Brett Booth are the winning team on Bloodshot I didn't know I needed so badly. They make perfect sense paired together on this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bloodshot (2019) #2

Nov 7, 2019

Very rarely does an action book have real substance to it and even more rare is done seemingly effortlessly as it is done in Bloodshot #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bloodshot (2019) #3

Nov 20, 2019

Bloodshot #3[Seeley/Booth/Corona]- Valiant is taking no prisoners with this one, every page is killer in every sense of the word and it just doesn't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Conan the Barbarian #13

Feb 24, 2013

This issue is a great jump on point for old fans new to the current series and new Conan readers alike. Also despite my reservations for “Conan-in-love”, he is the most dangerous when shit gets personal and being abducted to fight against his own woman is not going to sit well with Conan for too long. Even with said minor gripes I am definitely looking forward to see how this goes down when it all comes to a head so I’ll be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan the Barbarian #14

Apr 4, 2013

I will say that the way it is shaping up I could see how one might be tempted to wait and read the “Woman on the Wall” in a trade so as to get a deeper enjoyment of the pacing and style of the story, but A) we still haven't seen the ending so I don't want to jump the gun and B) really how many comics AREN'T more enjoyable in a completed arc via a trade collection?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Conan the Barbarian #15

Apr 18, 2013

Still though this issue is enjoyable and shows yet again that while Brian Wood may not be the perfect Conan writer he does know the character and the world, while not afraid to try and break away a bit from the typical Conan formula and try to keep things fresh. While I would probably put this on the lower end of books I'd suggest to a new reader of Conan anyone familiar with the story or who's been following it up until now should shed all doubts and give this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Horse Presents #20

Jan 27, 2013

Overall this is a mixed bag of good, great and meh; hence my mixed feelings on it. But really that has more to do with personal preference than the quality of the stories in the book. In my opinion even the ones in genres I don't particularly care for are done pretty well. Also for this much content for under ten bucks is a pretty decent deal. I mean hell this is same price as Amazing Spider-Man #700 but with considerably more bang for your buck, so it's not a bad deal to pick this up. Would I recommend this book yeah probably but let's say it's not necessarily on the top of my pull list. I'd say thumb through it at your L.C.S. and if you don't hate what you see then yeah dude give a shot and cop one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Emily and the Strangers #1

Feb 7, 2013

Artistically, Emily Ivie does a perfect job for this book. She is clearly familiar with the imagery and style Emily the Strange is known for and nails it down without a hitch. I’ll admit I’m a tad unfamiliar with her work up until now, but between this and some Google Fu, I am definitely looking forward to seeing what else she does in the future. Her quirky, cartoony style blends the right amount of noir and sass for a book like this and I’d love to see how she handles other works. All in all, this is definitely gonna be a book where either ya love it right away or dodge it like the plague while a very small portion may give it a fair shot or two and in time it may grow on them, who knows right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Fallen World #1

May 23, 2019

If you love Apocalyptic fantasy, crazy scifi or just well done comics there's tons for you here to delve into. Dan Abnett and Adam Pollina are already off to an amazing start that looks promising to end in an amazing finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fallen World #2

Jun 8, 2019

Bottom line this book is killing it from the first panel to the last. If you love samurai or ninjas or post apocalyptic stories or insane robots or well anything awesome and fun, you need to be reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Fallen World #3

Jul 14, 2019

If you're not reading Fallen World already, ask yourself why do you hate fun so much and then cut it out and pick up Fallen World #3 with the quickness! This book has everything to Final Fantasyish mystery to a war with machines that makes the Matrix look like the Matrix Reloaded. Abnett and Pollina are dropping straight up fire issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fallen World #4

Aug 7, 2019

I seriously cannot rant enough about what a solid book this is, each page is more delicious than the last. Once it ends, you're hit with that bittersweet flavor you loved as a kid when you got to the last page of a wondrous story, then comes the adrenaline rush of knowing an insane ending is right around the corner and with each issue building up so flawlessly so far the anticipation is too real. The long and short of it is, Dan Abnett and Adam Pollina are some kinda futuristic wizards because this book is pure magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fallen World #5

Sep 5, 2019

From the art to the dialogue of each and every panel, Abnett and Gorham hit grandslams all the way through Fallen World. The epic conclusion of this chapter is no exception and gives us the cyberpunk, wandering samurai/ outlaw cowboys, Mad Max war story you didn't realize you needed this bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
House of Gold & Bones #1

Apr 17, 2013

The other downside is just that you really have no clue what is actually going on by the end, save bad guy is bad and don't get your shit pushed in or what have you so despite its unique presentation it is not the most unique set up. It isn't terrible just a tad irritating to when you are actually engaged in the story and are racking your brains trying to put clues together. Still the downside could be much worse and really don't take too much away from the story if you're interested in giving this a once over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Incursion #1

Feb 23, 2019

With the unique blend of sci fi and magical elements there's something for just about any fan of comics regardless of the genre you prefer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Incursion #2

Apr 5, 2019

This story so far is highly enjoyable on it's own merit but I'd be a bold faced liar if I said it doesn't also hit the right notes to make you crave a reread of similar stories like Ninjak/Shadowman:Rapture (which is where Amy debuted but also a great look into what makes Tama so awesome) and the more Gilad/Geomancer centric stories like The Valiant and Book of Death. I would definitely recommend reading those either prior to starting this series or while you are waiting for #3 to drop but regardless in classic Valiant style this story remains rock solid on it's own two feet without the need of tie ins or any other such gimmicks the “Big 2” are so guilty of when it comes to rolling out an action packed event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Incursion #3

May 12, 2019

The concept of the story itself is so simple yet it's delivered in a straightforward manner that brings to light many things to contemplate: morality, compromise, the nature of death, what mortality means and so much more. All in all just a stand out event raising the bar for comics in general this summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Incursion #4

Jul 2, 2019

Simply put if this is how Valiant is kicking off the summer, I'm struggling not to fanboy hype out over how good the rest of their plans will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Invincible Universe #1

Apr 10, 2013

Still though not letting the soon to come idiocy of trolls ruin a good thing, this book is already spot on what you'd expect from a good title set in the Invincible universe w/o starring the titular character. All in all, whether you agree with the Guarding the Globe repackaging or not, just be thankful you still get to see all your favorites somewhere and if this launch goes well then I'd expect to see many more spin-offs in the same vein.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Killers #1

Aug 6, 2019

Ninjas, super powers, mystery and tons of action....what else could you want from a book called Killers? While I would highly recommend checking out Ninjak: Weaponeer or Ninja-K vol 1 at the least before reading this to fully grasp the beauty of the vicious nature of the Ninjas of the Ninja Programme, this is still a solid first issue. Having had a sneak peak of the second issue I can confidently say any misgivings one might have about coming into this blind will swiftly be dashed so if you're not totally sold, remember patience is a virtue for a reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Killers #2

Aug 28, 2019

Bottom line when you pick up a book called Killers about super powered ninjas....this is exactly what you want. It manages to stay action oriented and sprinkle some comedy throughout without becoming meme material or cheapening the weight of the challenge these characters are facing. All around just a superbly done follow up to an opening issue that shown some promise but didn't quite grab the reader as completely as this one did.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Livewire (2018) #1

Jan 12, 2019

All in all this is exactly what Valiant needed to do, Livewire is shown to be relatable yet wildly capable as a hero and they found a way to tweak the lighthearted tone of Secret Weapons with the adrenaline thumping nature of Harbinger Wars. Bottom line: Livewire #1 is lit, this is the perfect introduction to the character for anyone who's never read her with just enough sauce on it to get you hungry for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Livewire (2018) #2

Feb 5, 2019

This issue has amazing pacing and is over way before you're ready like an episode of your fav show leaving you hyped up and anxious to hop on the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Livewire (2018) #4

Mar 31, 2019

If one needed a solid foundation to step foot into the Valiant universe, Vita Ayala just handed you four issues perfect for just that. Something intriguing without being overwhelming and familiar to older fans like myself without becoming stale. Besides when's the last time we got handed a strong independent black woman who didn't need no man in her own book that wasn't Storm? Bottom line Livewire is a solid series that already shows great promise and the potential to become just as synonymous with the name "Valiant" as Ninjak, Bloodshot or X-O Manowar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Livewire (2018) #5

May 11, 2019

To be honest there's not too much that need be said about this issue. It's solid from beginning to end, new reader friendly and just great superhero action while not being brainless or boring. If you weren't already convinced Vita Ayala is on to something great here then she's just dropped yet another reason why you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Livewire (2018) #6

May 13, 2019

I've sung Vita Ayala's praises on this title with every issue and this one is no exception. Each issue leaves the main hero a more entertaining, endearing and engrossing character than the one that proceeded it. Only six issues in and despite the long history Valiant has to it's name I wouldn't be shocked if this run was remembered as one of the great solo character runs alongside Ninja-K and Wrath of the Eternal Warrior.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Livewire (2018) #7

Jul 4, 2019

Amazing fights, double crosses, social commentary that isn't preachy yet still powerful. What's not to love? The only downside is knowing we gotta wait another 30 days to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Livewire (2018) #8

Aug 4, 2019

Vita Ayala and Kano just knocked another one outta the park that's definitely gonna get some debate stirred up and the nerd world is the better for it. So just when I thought I couldn't love this book anymore than I already do, here we are. One more reason to Stan out on Livewire.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Livewire (2018) #9

Aug 27, 2019

There's very few "the enemy is politics/politicians" type stories outside of the great Captain America runs I can name that are legitimately enjoyable, Livewire has definitively carved itself a niche among them. Without falling on old tropes of making politicians mustache twirling cartoonish villains we get a great intro to a new arc that shows the power of public opinion and the dangers of honeyed words.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Livewire (2018) #10

Sep 13, 2019

A cool mix of spy games and gladiator politics, mixes real world issues with superhuman issues and dares you to ask which one is really the problem? A person who can fly or one willing to stomp on liberty to further their own agenda?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Livewire (2018) #11

Oct 13, 2019

The long and short of it is this is a bittersweet issue, while on one hand I'm excited to see how Ayala wraps up an amazing run on Livewire I can't say I'm in a rush for it to be over. This issue does an amazing job setting up what promises to be a fitting grand finale though so if you weren't pumped for #12 going into this one I would check your pulse if you aren't now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Livewire (2018) #12

Nov 13, 2019

Livewire #12 (Ayala, Ford, Fitzpatrick) Pretty alright ending - great book overall though. Definitely gonna miss new issues each month but hopefully we'll see more of the baddest chick in Valiant, Livewire, sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Mars Attacks The Real Ghostbusters #1

Jan 20, 2013

I don't want to give away too much as this is a one-shot deal so there's not a heap of things going on. Even if you're totally new to Ghostbusters you can pick up this issue, read and fully enjoy the story as is. While that makes for an easy read it does go a bit light on any real character development or a deep story (whether the latter is a good or bad thing is up to the read considering the comedic nature of the story.) We do however learn about Dr.Ray Stantz's childhood interest in aliens and outer space before becoming infatuated with the paranormal. All in all what we have here is a short and sweet tale that is a good quick read and has some cool antagonists- Martian ghosts. Between that and the quality humorous dialogue this book is worth the time if you're looking for a quick distraction though I wouldn't call it essential reading unless you just really dig Ghostbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Punisher #1

Dec 2, 2019

What do you get when you slap together a couple cringified "society and technology bad!" rehashes of Black Mirror episodes with a story that's irrelevant to the event it's named after as well as kicking Punisher 2099/2099 lore in general in the face? This joint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Mera: Tidebreaker #1

Apr 27, 2019

Everyone's favorite Aquawoman gets a fresh retelling of her origin, modernized for the noobs while keeping it fresh for the grumpy old folks in the crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Metal Men (2019) #1

Oct 17, 2019

Metal Men #1 [Didio/Davis/Delecki/Wright] Sinister secrets, dope robots and some Dark Multiversal mystery what more do you really need from a new chapter of the Metal Men?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Metal Men (2019) #2

Nov 23, 2019

I was excited going into this and even more so by the end of issue #1, now I'm just pumped to see how the next issue stacks up to so much great build up done in such a short period of time. DiDio/Davis are knocking this out of the park already and they've just gotten started.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Morbius (2019) #1

Nov 15, 2019

Morbius #1 gets right to the point from page one and stays entertaining throughout. When you start a new series with a lesser known character this is how you wanna do it. Morbius fans, the dozens of us out there can pick this up and rest easy knowing it shows solid promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 10, 2013

Now mind you this IS just the first issue so maybe I’m a bit hasty in that statement, but I’m thinking not. Either way though the material presented thus far is pretty damn good. Jonathan Hickman has knocked out enough quality material in his Marvel tenure to warrant plenty of good faith in what is to come. This title will also feature the biggest Avengers line up we’ve seen in a very, very long time if not ever. So keep your eyes on this one it will be something you won’t wanna miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers (2013) #2

Jan 24, 2013

Like I said Jonathan Hickman is doing big things here without apology. With Steve Epting’s unmistakable art knocking out awesome imagery to accompany this killer writing this issue continues what is one of the best things to happen to the Avengers books in quite some time. In fact one the best things about what we got going on here is we FINALLY have a truly Avengers level threat actually happening and contained in one book. In all reality this is easily the biggest threat they’ve faced in recent memory and there’s not a zillion loosely connected tie-ins or a crap load of bs pumping up an event that does deliver… I’m looking at you Fear Itself and AvX. If more mainstream comics went back to this like they did in the old days I’m pretty sure comics in general would be in a much better state than they currently are. All in all I’m loving every moment and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #62

Jul 27, 2019

This is basically the Heroes Reborn version (and we saw how well that worked out for Marvel) of Nightwing so take that as you will. But Dan Jurgens is a ray of hope in an otherwise bleak situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Nightwing (2016) #63

Aug 30, 2019

Dan Jurgens is a name that brings a lot of expectations with it, the man is a legend. With Nightwing #63, he turns a mediocre at best book to something truly worth diving into with just a handful of pages. Any Nightwing fan who's been waiting for the other foot to fall has finally got what they've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Nightwing (2016) #64

Sep 23, 2019

Simply put Dan Jurgens clearly writes this book with a Make Nightwing Great Again hat on and it shows page after page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Nightwing (2016) #65

Oct 15, 2019

Nightwing #65 [Jurgens/Cliquet/Filardi] bring some Essential of Emmerill level spice that is much needed to the formerly bland story of "I'm not actually Nightwing despite acting exactly like Nightwing" Ric Grayson. If the concept had been this well done from the start it woulda been much more popular with fans like Grayson was under Seeley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Nightwing (2016) #66

Nov 22, 2019

While we can probably assume Nightwing won't be permanently joining the bad guys, seeing Jurgens and the gang take our hero down this path is exciting and has the reader itching for the next chapter to unfold. Something Nightwing has been missing for too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nightwing (2016) Annual #2

Nov 5, 2019

The Court of Owls is back big time and Dan "The Man" Jurgens is bringing the heat. Annual #2 is the best thing to happen to Nightwing since this amnesia debacle got started.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Nova (2013) #2

Mar 25, 2013

Bottom line the only way I could possibly recommend this book is for anyone who wants to find a comic appropriate for young kids and I mean like kids who just learned or are learning how to read. If you're a serious reader of comics then just step away from this one. This isn't necessarily the worst book Loeb has ever done, I mean he ruined an entire franchise with Ultimates 3 but then topped that by ruining an entire line of comics with Ultimatum, but still I cannot and will not recommend this book to anyone who enjoys quality comics. If ya get a copy for free or something I'd say leave this puppy on the back of your toilet so next time you drop a deuce BAM you don't even need teepee for your bunghole cuz ya got twenty odd jumbo sheets in waiting for ya already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Psi-Lords #1

May 7, 2019

Van Lente gambles on stepping away from the established core of what keeps Valiant fans reading and knocks it out of the park. In one issue you're sparked with more interest in what this brings next and what other new projects Valiant will reveal in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Psi-Lords #2

Jul 26, 2019

If you love great sci-fi action, a good mystery and/or beautiful art this book is basically all you need wrapped up in a tidy little package. It may have taken decades to see the Psi-Lords name on a book again, but everything about this series so far has proven worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Psi-Lords #3

Sep 2, 2019

While not your typical superhero fanfare by any means, Psi-Lords is a well crafted book that balances the perfect mix of humor, action and intrigue. This is a fresh take on the classic "whodunit" trope that is just flat out enjoyable from beginning to end. If you're looking for super people beating up bank robbers then you're barking up the wrong tree here but if you're looking for something a little more cerebral yet visually engrossing then this is definitely where you wanna be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Psi-Lords #4

Sep 24, 2019

Psi-Lords #4 [Van Lente/Guedes] is a fun mind trip through space with some simple beautiful art, Psi-Lords blends witty humor, sci fi action and good ole fashioned weirdness that only the gems of the comic medium can deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Psi-Lords #5

Oct 19, 2019

Some solid humor, some bloody action and juicy world building, Psi-Lords is doing big things albeit subtle at times and the Valiant universe is all the better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Psi-Lords #6

Nov 25, 2019

I literally cannot sing the praises of this book enough, every issue brings satisfying answers while begging even crazier questions and never disappoints or gives you time to get complacent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Psi-Lords #7

Dec 5, 2019

Psi-Lords #7 (Van Lente, Guedes) is an immersive spacefaring tale that delivers the perfect mix of grand drama and well-timed quips. Rarely is a new cast of characters from the heroes to the villains and everything in between written so entertaining without a weak link in the chain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 19, 2019

Bunn perfectly balances the more "out there" elements of her character with the reality that she's decades older than she appears and as such is a skilled veteran not to be taken lightly by man or monster. Any doubts you have about whether this book is something substantial or just one long meme about a chick with a pink mohawk that loves the Doors will be dashed by the conclusion of this debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Punk Mambo #2

May 31, 2019

Punk Mambo is swiftly establishing itself as the magic based book of the summer. It gets to the point without rushing, it's indulgent without feeling bloated or pretentious. It's near perfect for an intro to what Punk Mambo is capable of for new readers and reminder to loyal fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Punk Mambo #3

Jul 3, 2019

Hitting the just over halfway point and Punk Mambo shows zero signs of slowing down. Bunn is ramping up the stakes with each and every issue and this one is no exception. One can only hope this will lead to Bunn taking on Punk Mambo again in an ongoing series or at least another mini with how crazy good this book already is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Punk Mambo #4

Aug 9, 2019

Simply put, Cullen Bunn and Adam Gorham have just raised the bar yet again for what promises to be the gold standard for Punk Mambo stories. When tackling new territory like this, knocking out the kinda book all future runs will get side-eyed and measured against is basically as good as it gets and the homies here have done that and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Punk Mambo #5

Aug 14, 2019

While some may argue the fight with Azaire coulda been a bit longer, I think it played out beautifully. Everything about the writing/pacing of this story and the almost crude yet beautiful art is just a lethal one-two combo. Punk Mambo never had a solo book before this and now everyone is gonna be left wondering "what took so long to fix that?" Simple answer, Bunn and Gorham had to bring together that A-game fire to make sure her first outing was every bit as solid as it needed to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Rai (2019) #1

Nov 24, 2019

Dan Abnett doesn't miss a beat after delivering the flawless Fallen World series with Rai #1, beautiful art by the Ryp/Dalhouse team just makes an insanely good read all the more enjoyable. Bottom line if you love comics then this is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shadowman #3

Jan 10, 2013

All in all, this issue is definitely a solid read, first off New Orleans and mysticism is a no-brainer to go hand and hand. It’s a nice change from the usual places like New York and adds unique flavor to the book. If you’re a fan of the previous Shadowman runs I doubt you’ll be disappointed by this one. It’s off to a great start and at this pace it can only get better. Writer Justin Jordan knows how to mix humor, the occult and action without overdoing any one aspect. Slap that together with some solid art from Patrick Zircher and you’ve got a sure-win with Shadowman. Easy on the eyes and fun for the mind, do yourself a favor and give this a peep ya dig?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadowman #4

Feb 6, 2013

As far as the writing and the art in this issue goes I can keep that short and sweet, as I said before in my last review both are stellar. They represent all the various themes: comedy, the occult, the bayou vibe, etc, very, very well without making a joke out of it or taking itself way too seriously. By #4 I think it’s safe to say Justin Jordan and Patrick Zircher have definitely hit their stride and they know what they are doing with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shadowman #5

Mar 12, 2013

Not to mention the art has also remained seriously badass from the first panel of the first issue and this is no exception, guest artist Roberto Delatorre definitely makes his splash in this issue handling the Deadside scenes, adding his own personal deliciously dark touch to the book without breaking up the flow visually or breaking away from the authentic feel the art of previous issues featured. All in all it’s a damn good read with plenty of future promise for an already promising series, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Shadowman (2018) #11

Jan 28, 2019

In traditional Valiant form the story does wrap up in the 4 issue structure but in this instance it feels a bit rushed which is unusual for the brand. The addition in the last issue or so of another artist to fill in some pages is also somewhat detracting from the INSANELY beautiful color pencil inspired art of Renato Guedes. That being said if youre a Shadowman fan, enjoy mystery and mysticism or a reader of comics like Doctor Strange, Curse of Brimstone, or even the Punisher then this action filled tale will have something for you in it. Andy Diggles writing is solid even when it feels like hes being forced to push things forward faster than youd usually see in a story like this and Guedes art will make your eyes gluttonous wanting to devour more of it as you absorb each panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
She-Hulk (2017) Annual #1

Aug 31, 2019

She-Hulk Annual #1 is a textbook well done annual. It self contained a great and fun story that doesn't make the reader feel like they just read a filler issue. The themes though heavily comedic also have an underlying current of weight to them which is what really makes this book shine along side some very well done art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Son of Merlin #1

Feb 6, 2013

Now all that being said there in fact are two major saving graces for this book, it is fu-cking gor-ge-ous. Zid’s art from cover to the final page is outstanding. This is easily some of the best illustrations I’ve seen in comics in recent memory, seriously even if it had no words this would be worth looking at from cover to cover just to say “Damn that’s pretty.” The other thing is the book is only a damn dollar, seriously, that’s it. There are tons of comics out there DEFINITELY far inferior to this one despite its flaws for a lot more cheddar. So if you’re debating what to spend some chump change on well Hell this is a great way to spend 100 pennies, 4 quarters, 10 dimes or any other sum of a dollar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #25

Jan 2, 2019

Soule has a talent for balancing sledgehammer heavy action with artful plot seed planting, and the way he uses both here shows that hes truly gets Vader. Not just as a battle-hardened killing machine (although he nails that too) but also as the tragically flawed man underneath the mask. If ever you needed a simple example of why Vader is so great and enduring this run is it, consistent in quality from start to finish. Soule brings an epic run to rollercoaster conclusion that will have any fan needing a minute to truly digest all that hes revealed while also clamouring for the next chapter in Vaders history to see how these things play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Walking Dead #107

Feb 14, 2013

So while this issue might not have been very action packed nor has the many twists and turns we're used to in this series, but lulls have happened before right before shit got real. So if you take away anything from this issue know that very, very soon it is going down. Negan has kept Rick and many others in a tight stranglehold for long enough and he's about due for a reckoning. Next issue will introduce us to a new mystery ally and bring us one step closer to seeing the final clash between Rick, Negan and the Saviors. So keep reading cuz if you've kept up until now you'd be loony to skip out before the showdown pops off.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
The Walking Dead: The Governor Special #1

Feb 13, 2013

I'm a firm believer in "ya can't knock the hustle" so while this review has a sour taste in its mouth towards this issue I understand completely why it exists and how it is a smart move business wise. Kirkman may be an "ar-teest" as a writer and all that "I'm dedicated solely to my craft" hipster pretentious nonsense however bills don't pay themselves, so yeah I get it Mr.Kirkman, I do. Still though as I mentioned with Michonne he's played this card before and it turned out quite awesome, had he done something similar this time then I'd have no qualms singing its praises. Sadly that is not the case and it's pretty plain to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Titans: Burning Rage #1

Aug 20, 2019

Light fun reading here and some will be annoyed this isn't exactly "their" Titans being an amalgam of different periods but overall it's a good time so def worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers Prime: Rage of the Dinobots #4

Feb 24, 2013

Keep an eye out for the Dinobots next adventures in the “Beast Hunters” because if this is any indication the hits are gonna just keep on coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers Spotlight: Megatron #1

Feb 6, 2013

I highly recommend this book to anyone who digs Transformers or kick ass machines/robots. If ever you wanted to know how Megatron keeps an ever growing army of evil robots in line then this is the book for you. If Megatron is one of your favorite Transformers then this is the book for you! The writing of the Spotlight series as I've noted before is excellent, exemplifying what makes each character great and this is no exception. If anything this issue raises the bar for those to follow. Nick Roche handles both the art and writing and the art is definitely good. It isn't totally mind-blowing per say but it does a great job portraying the characters, fits the genre and meets expectation at the very least. Here I'd say Nick's characterization and quality dialogue outshine really everything else involved in this issue; this guy gets Megatron, of that there is no doubt. If ya like great comics then do yourself a favor and read this nice, thick slice of awesome sauce

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers Spotlight: Thundercracker #1

Jan 20, 2013

To find out just what they are and the outcome of the Seekers hunt for Metroplex you'll have to read for yourself, but if you are a fan of Transformers I do recommend you give this book a read, it may not be a splash with readers unfamiliar with the franchise I'll admit but that doesn't take away from the quality of this issue on its own merit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Wolverine & Captain America: Weapon Plus #1

Jul 13, 2019

Wolverine and the good ole Cap team up to smash on bad guys worthy of their time. The issue ends on a solid cliffhanger that will have you ready to scoop up #2, Sacks and Neves had a mission here and definitely achieved it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar #10

Feb 24, 2013

Now on one hand that is some selfish shit right there, but on the other considering dude sold out his parent race to save the world he is a survivor. How exactly will Alexander stay alive riding solo with a worldwide secret alien empire gunning for him? One can only speculate so far, but considering that the only other person fully aware of the invasion is the sick shinobi Ninjak. Well I’m thinking if Alexander is any kind of smart he knows exactly where to go to get help and while I don’t doubt that subplot will probably be overshadow by Aric’s one man campaign against a whole world, I am also sure it will just add one more layer of flavor to this big bucket of awesome sauce we have already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #24

Mar 4, 2019

Bottom line, if you ever wondered..."what would happen if you put Jason Aaron's Thor, Ed Brubaker's Captain America and Matt Fraction/Warren Ellis Iron Man into a blender and only kept the amazing parts that really worked?" well wonder no more, because that's exactly what X-O Manowar is. I've said it before and I'll say it again, if you aren't reading Valiant you're cheating yourself of some of the greatest art and writing on the market the since they relaunched in 2012 and they've shown the ability to maintain that 7 years later with no signs of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
X-O Manowar (2017) #25

Apr 30, 2019

Solid action, great art and keeps us pumped for what comes next. Simple but effective.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
X-O Manowar (2017) #26

May 10, 2019

Despite some pacing issues, it's still a decent enough issue. The future of X-O Manowar looks great even with this hiccup along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More