Chris Aiken's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 94
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Champions #17

Mar 1, 2018

Champions remains the go-to book if you want a fun series featuring Marvel's legacy characters. However, a lot of the focus lately has been on Viv. Let's hope, moving forward, that they give some of the other characters a chance to shine, especially the newcomers, whom readers might not be familiar with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Champions #18

Mar 30, 2018

Overall, I'm just glad that we are moving on from this story arc. Wrapping up lingering plot points and expanding the team at the same time makes the new folks look like foot soldiers without much to do. While this arc is enjoyable in some aspects, what we really want to see is more interactions with the newbies and learn more about these characters. Thankfully, it looks like that is where the book is leading towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #19

Apr 11, 2018

This issue is the start of a promising new adventure. We have a new team behind the wheel but the same feel. The smaller, more focused roster works in their favor and I certainly hope Marvel realizes what a great book they have on their hands. Now, can I get a Champions cartoon series? Please?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #20

May 24, 2018

I'm digging the return to form for Champions, the new line up and creative team. I have some thoughts about the end of this issue but overall I like what I'm reading and ready for whatever Zub andIzaakse throw our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #21

Jun 21, 2018

The one problem that I have with this issue is the same problem that I have with a lot of books. The arc is really short, and feels like it ends abruptly. Things get resolved in the end, but I feel like another issue or two would have serviced it better. It would have fleshed out some of the stuff individual characters were dealing with when the arc first started, and added more weight to the conflict with Alpha Flight. However, it's not enough to sour how well Zub writes the Champions or prevent you from enjoying the best superhero team in Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #22

Jul 13, 2018

As always, Champions continues to be a fun ride with a great cast of young heroes just trying to do the right thing and make a difference. As they jump into the next mission, I can't wait to see how it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Champions #23

Aug 10, 2018

Jim Zub's run of Champions is doing fantastic things. He understands these young heroes and writes them all extremely well. I'm glad one of the most underrated teams in Marvel is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Champions #24

Sep 14, 2018

I can understand Marvel wanting to tread carefully by not making any kind of statements that can be viewed as political, but if you are going to tackle a subject like this, make a statement. Provide solutions. Enough is enough, and our heroes should fight to make sure that things like this never happen again. Staying strong while it happens over and over again shouldn't be the only answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Champions #25

Oct 5, 2018

One issue that I do have is the focus on the Master of the World (still can't get over that name) as the main villain. He keeps popping up randomly and it just seems coincidental rather than part of some grand master plan. Our champions deserve a better villain. However, we haven't seen much of him so I'm giving Zub the benefit of the doubt toward turning him into something better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #26

Nov 8, 2018

This arc is a lot of fun, especially for the spectacle of it all and I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that I'm going to miss these dope fantasy fits that the team is rocking. As the team eventually makes their way to save Weirdworld, they are in for another showdown against The Master. With Nova and Wasp on the villain's side, it's not going to be easy for Riri and the team to fight back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Come Into Me #1

Mar 21, 2018

Come Into Me is exactly the type of dark storytelling I'm into and the plot is incredibly well done. It's a must read and I highly recommend this to any fans of dark sci-fi like the Twilight Zone and Black Mirror. I look forward to seeing exactly how far this book goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Come Into Me #2

May 3, 2018

By the end of the book, we are left off on another tantalizing ending. I'm still waiting for the point where this totally unethical and out of control technology makes it to the public. All I know is that it will be sci-fi horror at it's best.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #3

Sep 5, 2018

I'd be remiss not to mention poor Ainsley, who just wanted to help. The poor woman tries to do everything in her power to help Quinn out of this obvious shit show and it ends up becoming worse than ever. The end is horrifying, and this is coming from someone who already has fears about what it would be like to have someone in your head. Whatever Thompson and Nadler have in store for the next chapter of Come Into Me, we are not ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dissonance #1

Jan 24, 2018

I feel like I came crashing into this book head first, stuck in the middle of an ongoing story rather than the beginning. The seeds are sown for some potentially interesting plot elements but altogether it's not as captivating as I hoped it would be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dissonance #2

Mar 21, 2018

I'm still holding out hope that Dissonance will start expanding more on its world. Without it, it's a slow burn so far and frustrating to only get the surface level understanding of what the stakes exactly are. I want to see more and Nugroho needs to start giving us a reason to care about Folke and the manipulations of this group.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dissonance #3

May 9, 2018

What's funny is that all of the colliding storylines solve some of the issues I had before. The glimpse we get of the Fantasmen's first meeting with humans and the Conscience Agreement in the first issue no longer seems like something Nugroho skims over. Suddenly, I'm intrigued by this world's past and Folke's investigation into his parents' deaths, as well as how Rosia will deal with the issue's shocking ending. She definitely has a choice to make and the antagonistic relationship between her and Folke has reached an interesting point, that can only make for a better story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dissonance #4

Aug 8, 2018

Another great issue that sets up a lot of the future of Dissonance. Now that Folke's agenda is known to the world, it's will be interesting to see what happens next, as well as what decisions certain characters will make.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 6, 2018

It's hard for me to get behind a hero like Green Arrow being trapped in prison with powered people and all it takes is a bunch of trick arrows to dispatch them. There's no sense of desperation, or feeling that he might not make it out of this. Like I said, by the numbers. Thankfully, Matt Clark's gets to play with the different powered villains, trick arrows and a certain situation in a vent that's pretty funny. His art is this issues saving grace from total mediocrity. Hopefully, next issue's conclusion to this story offers more surprises than the beginning did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 4, 2018

Once again, this arc just doesn't do it for me. I feel like it should have been something more, and it's a shame that it's wasn't given the time to do that. Next issue, we move onto the new creative team. I hope they fully take advantage of the type of stories they choose to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #43

Aug 1, 2018

Other than me agonizing about Oliver Queen's faults, we have a solid issue. Javier Fernandez has a nice, loose-but-expressive style to his artwork. He also does great shadow work that makes the book look dark and gritty when it needs to be. The Citizen is a little bit of an Anarchy knockoff, however, he's still the kind of villain that matches the Green Arrow. They both have a similar goal just different ways of reaching it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 5, 2018

Another great issue marks a positive start to Julie and Shawna Benson's run on Green Arrow. I like what they are pitting Oliver against and how they are maintaining his relationships with those around him. With a surprise appearance by a pretty big name towards the end, I'm interested in seeing how Oliver deals with the people he knows who might not be as forgiving of his past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

Oliver has to move on and realize that he didn't do the best with Roy in life. How this will affect him in the coming issues? We don't know but it's apparent that Roy's death will not be an easy thing for him to live with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 7, 2018

Overall, the story could've handled Oliver's past sins and the reveal of the Citizen a bit better. It feels like we've lost a bit of momentum. However, with the ending in sight, maybe this arc can end on a good note as Oliver plans to somehow take down the Citizen and regain the public eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 6, 2018

For an arc that played with the themes of anarchy and social unrest, it hasn't been the best executed. However, the Bensons proved that they know what type of stories to approach with the Green Arrow and have evolved Oliver's character on a personal level, especially after Roy's death. It's a fitting end to an enjoyed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Hulk #1

Jun 7, 2018

Not only is the Hulk unkillable, but for the first time in a long time he comes with a major personality change, one that is unlike any other Hulk we've seen before. Ewing has made the Hulk monstrous in the way the people of the Marvel universe generally tend to see him. It's a great shift from the more recent attempts to make the Hulk a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Hulk #2

Jul 5, 2018

Ewing is doing something pretty crazy with the Hulk. It feels new and like a homage at the same time. He has very much turned the Hulk into a horror movie monster that would fit in with the likes of Dracula and the Creature from the Black Lagoon. I like it and surprised it hasn't been done more often. In my last review, I questioned not knowing where the book was going but now I wouldn't mind seeing every issue be a brand new tale of the Hulk as a spirit of vengeance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Hulk #3

Jul 20, 2018

The Immortal Hulk is by far my favorite interpretation of the Hulk in a long while. And we are only three issues in! Ewing puts a lot of thought into the character, his history and telling a compelling story. While experimental narrative we get for issue three, I hope he keeps moving more towards the horror aspect of The Immortal Hulk and the tales of this brutal Avenger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Immortal Hulk #4

Aug 2, 2018

The Immortal Hulk continues to impress. I do hope though that Ewing starts to focus more on Banner's objectives, as well as unveiling the overarching plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Immortal Hulk #5

Sep 7, 2018

For Banner and the Hulk, the situation has become personal, and the villain behind everything has already proven more haunting than the Hulk because of it. If anything, it shows that while the Hulk might be immortal, he's not invincible. Meanwhile, Mcgee finally reveals why she has been chasing the Hulk and that can lead to nowhere good. Another great issue of The Immortal Hulk proves that Ewing and Bennet have found success in trying something different. As the story moves forward I can't wait to see how the Hulk deals with a situation he can't punch himself out of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Immortal Hulk #6

Sep 21, 2018

Unfortunately for the Bruce, his fight with the possessed Sasquatch has attracted some unwanted attention. It's here we get the introduction of a brand new villain who has ties to a certain General known for hunting the Hulk. His addition is a welcomed one. I like that Ewing is starting to explore how the rest of the world is reacting to the Hulk's re-emergence. It also helps that this villain introduction shows what lengths he is willing to go to capture the Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Hulk #7

Oct 11, 2018

Al Ewing is really testing the lengths to which he can go with this new Hulk, especially when it comes to his persona and powers. The Immortal Hulk equal parts haunting, fascinating and a wild ride. After this issue, I can't wait to see where this story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Hulk #8

Nov 8, 2018

However, Ewings continues to evolve his Hulk in ways that feel brand new and this chapter more than cement the Hulk's new status as immortal. This book has definitely become a favorite new series and I can't wait to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Hulk #9

Nov 25, 2018

Another issue in the books for The Immortal Hulk proves it's a must-read. While some of the plot threads need some work, Ewing's reinvention of the character is fascinating. Also, I'm convinced that Ewing and Bennett are trying to outdo themselves with how to make the ending of each issue more grotesque than the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Hulk #10

Dec 7, 2018

I usually balk at stories when the go left-field like this, but I'm so intrigued by the premise. It was something that was hinted at during the Hulk's fight with the Avengers. Ewing has done a stellar job so far taking the Hulk into new territory, so I trust that this new arc will give us something interesting to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

I really like New Challengers. While we don't get to know more about the other members of the team or get to see more of their first mission, I'll chalk that up to the fact that you can only fit so much in the first issue. Synder and Gillespie do a great job of selling the premise and teasing what's to come. They have also given Andy Kubert a lot to work with. I like his art, especially what he does with the settings. I'm ready to see how he draws the crazy set pieces and the dangers the team will encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Challengers (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

I'm not as hyped about the second issue of New Challengers as I was about the first. However, there were a few key parts of the story from Synder and Gillespie that have me intrigued. Between Moses backstory and the shocking ending, the two writers brought up a lot of questions in the second issue that have easily turned this book from a great adventure to a mystery that needs to be solved that will most likely keep you coming for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Challengers (2018) #5

Sep 20, 2018

Anyway, the ending of this issue holds some promise. Synder excels at writing high concept books.New Challengers is definitely worth the read if you are just going in for the premise alone.From the looks of it, the team's adventures are only going to get more extravagant as we move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Challengers (2018) #6

Oct 17, 2018

I give credit to Scott Snyder for putting together a book of epic proportions. Between cloned zombies, raptors, and body snatchers, there's little you won't love. The characters are great, each with their own unique backstory, and the adventures are wild. I could see myself jumping into another arc of New Challengers just to see what unknown corner of the DC universe they explore next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Persephone OGN #1

May 22, 2018

By the end, you reach a satisfying conclusion but still feel like more can be told from this story. There is a perfect balance of adventure, levity, and character development that makes you want to continue on Persephone's journey. Here's to hoping that Locatelli-Kournwsky still has more stories to tell in this wonderful world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #1

Jan 4, 2018

Rise of the Black Panther is the perfect origin for newcomers and a great start to retelling the legacy of Wakanda. If Narcisse and Coates continue with the same quality of work they put in this first issue, this book might be the go-to read anyone who wants an introduction to the Black Panther.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #2

Feb 8, 2018

I'm ready for more. I can't wait to see what the next chapter holds as Wakanda opens up to the rest of the Marvel Universe. This book is an exciting read and if it continues at this pace, the whole collection will be a must buy for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #3

Mar 8, 2018

This is minor gripe but the dialogue and science could have been minimized a bit during the fight. I do like where the book ends though. The cliffhanger presents an interesting confrontation for T'challa and if the last issue's encounter with Namor is any indication, we're in for something good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #4

Apr 5, 2018

Back in Wakanda, dissension continues to grow and the seeds are sown for future conflict. With the arrival of Erik Killmonger, he will most definitely play a role in testing T'Challa's rule. Enjoyable doesn't even begin to describe Rise of the Black Panther. Every one of Marvel's iconic heroes should have a book like this for new and old fans alike. It will truly be sad to see this end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #5

May 3, 2018

As always the art is on point. Both Pina and Salazar keep the action, characters and setting looking great. I also hold a special place in my heart for the designs of all the characters clothes, especially the Black Panther suit and Storm's outfit. As we reach the end of Rise of the Black Panther (I know, I'm going to miss it too), it's clear who will be the last enemy that T'challa will have to face. I do wonder at what point in T'challa first year we will end up. Here's to hoping it ends just as strong as the rest of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Panther (2018) #6

Jun 8, 2018

I'll say what I said at the beginning of this series. Rise of the Black Panther is the perfect origin for newcomers and a great start to retelling the legacy of Wakanda. It's definitely a must-read for anyone looking to jump into the world of Black Panther. Every hero should have a book like this that so gracefully retells their origins and greatest adventures. Respect to Narcisse, Coates, Renaud, and Pina for treating Black Panther with such care.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sideways #1

Feb 14, 2018

However, none of this distracts too much from the story. Sideways is a fun read. I don't think there are too many teenage superheroes in the DC Universe who aren't already a part of a team or a sidekick. So, this is an interesting addition to DC's roster of heroes. And with the promise of how crazy things to come might get, Sideways seems like it's worth sticking with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sideways #3

Apr 11, 2018

Sideways has a pretty bright future in the DC Universe. He's fun, different, and is going up against some interesting foes. I'm looking forward to finding out what he steps into next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sideways #4

May 9, 2018

Sideways still has potential. There is always a tease of a larger narrative working its way into the story. I just need that narrative to do what superhero stories do best – give us a superhero that aspires to be great and learns something along the way. Derek as he is, seems like a self-centered kid using his powers for the wrong reason. Thankfully, I think the story is pushing Derek toward more and more situations that are way over his head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sideways #5

Jun 13, 2018

That aside, we have a pretty strong issue. Sure, the villain of the week is nothing to cry home about, but he serves his purpose narratively. Sideways is easily becoming a great addition to the DC Universe. With hints of a greater destiny at hand and a shocking ending, it looks like we've got some good stuff coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sideways #6

Jul 11, 2018

I still feel like Sideways is a fun new character to have in the DC universe. He's different from a lot of the other caped heroes and big shots in the way that he's just a kid doing the hero thing on his own. That's why I'm a bit disappointed in where the issue ends. For a hero that is different, his story deserves moments that are less disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sideways #7

Aug 8, 2018

In the end, this was a good issue with a lot of emotional weight. I also like that Derek's world is opening up, and more importantly, we get a prelude to him interacting with the rest of the DC Universe. As one of the new heroes on the block, it will be interesting to see what role he is set to play in larger events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways #8

Sep 12, 2018

Sideways has a tendency to switch gears a lot. It can be hard to keep track of what kind of story Didio is going to give you next. While I do wish that he would stick to one story at a time, the detour into the Dark Multiverse is a weird and enjoyable one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sideways #9

Oct 17, 2018

We also get a glimpse at what is happening back in Gotham in Derek's absence. He's been gone a while. It's going to be interesting to see what he comes back home to, as well as how his friends and family react to him coming back. One thing that was curiously absent from this issue is the Seven Warriors. While Derek's own adventure is a solid story, it feels like they were forgotten. It only adds to the feeling that Sideways never really focuses on one plot line before starting another. However, it doesn't ruin another solid issue of Sideways, a series that is a great addition to DC's wild and fantastic world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sideways #10

Nov 21, 2018

Sideways #10 is a bit light on the action, but the story more than makes up for it. Derek is really starting to find his footing as Sideways as well as his purpose for being a hero. With the return to Gotham and enemies unknown to Derek finally making some moves, we are in for some exciting things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways Annual #1

Nov 8, 2018

However, none of this distracts enough to ruin what is ultimately a solid ending. There are a lot of unanswered questions this issue but, hopefully, they will be addressed down the line. This adventure definitely seems to be what Derek needed after the death of his mother. It will be interesting to see what state Derek will be in emotionally when he gets back to Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward #1

Mar 28, 2018

In the end, I do love a good concept and Skyward delivers a great world to explore. My biggest issue is that we don't really get a major conflict right away. The book does hint a something major developing towards the end but, once again, the first issue is pretty short. We won't get to see how our characters react to this until the next issue. However, since I'm hooked it's not much of a problem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 22, 2018

One thing I will note is that while Willa's adventurous spirit and overeagerness to escape her life are fun, we are already starting to see how much trouble it's getting her into. It will be interesting to see what she stumble into further down the line and hope we keep getting more amazing issues of Skyward down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

What I love about Skyward is that every issue leaves you wanting more. I'm interested in seeing how Willa's character reacts to her life (forgive me for this) being turned upside down. By the end of the issue, the stakes are raised to a point that her trouble doesn't just affect her. I have a feeling will give us that and so much more as he continues to open up this wild and wonderful world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward (2018) #4

Jul 18, 2018

Henderson keeps the ball rolling with Willa's crazy journey in this exciting world that he has created. Also, the best of Garbett's artwork is saved for the end of this issue and continues to prove why he was born to draw this book. Next time in the world of Skyward isn't soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #5

Aug 15, 2018

I can't express in enough words just how enjoyable Skyward is, and why you should pick it up. It's an untapped concept for a world that Henderson is seeing to its fullest potential, and every issue reveals another aspect of how it works. You can tell that Henderson is having fun just building it for the reader piece by piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #6

Sep 18, 2018

Every chapter of Skyward leaves a smile on my face and it's fun to follow a book with so many surprises and likable characters. As Willa continues to push towards her journey, it's going to be fun to see where her adventure leads next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #7

Oct 17, 2018

I really like how Henderson is opening up this book. With the first arc, we focused on Willa playing around in the world she knew, now we see her facing dangerous and unknown obstacles. Henderson is really playing around with his imagination. More than anything, Skyward continues to prove that there are no limits the wonders its world can offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward (2018) #8

Nov 14, 2018

Willa is definitely trying her hardest to survive and stick to her mission. However, if this issue has a theme, it's trust and learning who to put faith in. I do think Edison has more than earned her trust and you can see the strain on their relationship as she continues to hide the fact that she wants to fix the world's gravity. I understand that she feels like her mission would hurt him but he's come this far. As the story moves on, the ending leaves a lot of choices for Willa. Eventually, she is going to have to let someone in on her secret and trust that they can help her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Geddon #1

Oct 11, 2018

For any fans of Spider-Verse, just wait until the end of the issue. Gage goes for the jugular and makes a statement about the consequences of Otto's mistake. The Inheritor's return means serious business for our Spider-Friends and this introduction to Spider-Geddon makes sure to let everyone know that no one is safe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Geddon #2

Oct 28, 2018

More than half of this issue is dedicated to recruiting some of the Spider-men and women into the war. Here, we get to see who some of the big players will be. If you are just like me, you'll be excited to see a couple of fan favorites (like a certain wall-crawler from a recent PS4 game) and some wild cards that are sure to make things interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Geddon #3

Nov 8, 2018

No matter what universe it is, there is always a 90 percent chance that it's Norman Osborn will be an evil, psychopathic megalomaniac. If you've read Edge of Spider-Geddon #4, then you know that the same is the case for this one and he's sure to cause some trouble down the line. With another fun issue of Spider-Geddon in the books, we'll just have to wait and see how it plays out down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Geddon #4

Nov 25, 2018

Meanwhile, tensions with Spider-Nor-Man reach their limit and honestly, I have to question why Otto recruited him in the first place. If there is anyone who Octavius hates more than anyone, it's Norman Osborn. Even worse, bringing Norman into the mix may have just doomed their world. Norman and Spiders-Man (who honestly just stills the scenery) make their move and it's a pretty big one. The ramifications are huge, causing characters to make some interesting choices and I can't wait to see how it plays out in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #238

Mar 9, 2018

I like this issue despite the fact that I didn't get my fight with Miles and the Six. Hopefully, we will get that showdown soon. Also, I don't know where the setup with Miles' parents is going, I just hope it's something good. Moving them away from the situation just seems like it robs the reader the opportunity to see them interact with Aaron, which is something we desperately need. They are just as much invested in this as Miles is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #239

Apr 4, 2018

What we have here is a really solid issue. It's going to be interesting to see the resolution between Miles and Uncle Aaron as this current arc meets its end. At first – for me at least – it was a bit surreal to see Uncle Aaron come back from the dead but Bendis has made the most of it. The dynamic between Miles and Aaron is strong and makes for some great drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man (2016) #240

May 4, 2018

Bendis' run on Miles Morales tale ends on a whimper. Plot lines are completely dropped without any forethought and we are all left with possibly the last Miles Morales solo story for a long time. It's more than a disappointment and my boy deserves better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man (2016) Annual #1

Aug 10, 2018

This Annual is definitely an interesting read. It attempts to add some background to Miles' life in the 616 and succeeds for the most part. Again, Hill's story doesn't top the original for me but it's a solid tale that gets the basic story beats right. Add in the return of Mark Bagley and great art by Nelson Blake and Alitha Martinez, and this issue is something every Miles fan should read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stellar #1

May 2, 2018

The first issue of Stellar works. While not wholy original in its premise, it knows its genre well. Combined that with an interesting and mysterious character, and you have a solid first issue that gives you enough to make you want to stick around for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stellar #2

Jul 18, 2018

Keatinge could do more to make some of the scenes less confusing during the flashbacks. Blevins using a different filter on those scenes would help as well. I just feel like some indicator that we are taking a look into her past would add clarity to what is happening on the page. Stellar is still a compelling story. While it's still a very familiar sci-fi tale, that doesn't stop it from being enjoyable. Hopefully, we get to see this world expand more as we dive deeper into this mysterious character's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Siege #1

May 29, 2018

I'm optimistic after the first issue. Solid art by Justin Greenwood nails the vibe – muttonchops, pecking ravens and all. He also does some kickass action scenes, which is always a plus in my book. I just hope that Walker isn't afraid to take this book as far as it needs to go to deliver that shocks and awes that we deserve. I need that drama, that shady backstabbing and them twist and turns at every corner. Now, all I need to know is when is our mystery hero gonna let that samurai sword bang?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #2

Jul 4, 2018

The end of the issue is a game-changer and if you thought Lord Fiest's story was over, think again. I'm liking The Last Siege so far, and want to see where this goes. Hopefully, we get some good deception, more scheming, and surprises along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Last Siege #3

Aug 1, 2018

With this issue ending the way it does, I'm hopeful that we will finally get more details and clues about the Stranger's identity. I also hope that more focus is put on Lady Cathryn. We still know so little about her and I want her character to be more than the silent damsel in distress. The Last Siege is a great book for those who like to see gritty Medieval action with a great story. I can't wait for whatever twists and turns come next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #4

Sep 5, 2018

It's exciting stuff in a series that knows how to do Medieval action and drama right. While the Stranger and Cathryn seem to have found their second wind, the King's army is approaching fast against the little kingdom that could. I can't wait for the desperate battle that is sure to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Last Siege #5

Oct 3, 2018

During their interaction, it seems like the Stranger is blind to all this. Like, there isn't even an inkling in his mind that his family may have mistreated these people in the slightest and they may have had it coming. Anyway, whatever tricks the Stranger has under his chain mail and whenever he decides to use that gunpowder of his will have to wait until next issue. For now, we will all have to enjoy the deep backstory we are given.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Last Siege #6

Nov 7, 2018

While the heroes seem to have turned the tide, I'm worried that things are going too well. Ivan may be a huge coward but he has a massive army, and there is only so much the gunpowder can do. It feels like sooner or later, the Stranger and Cathryn's luck is going to run out. I mean, that's just the ways these Medieval dramas go, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #7

Dec 6, 2018

Walker and Greenwood definitely made the right decision to use visual-only storytelling for this issue. No amount of words would've painted a better picture of this climactic battle between the little kingdom that could and Ivan's overwhelming force of power-hungry soldiers. With the end in sight, I can't wait to see how Walker wraps this story up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Venom (2018) #1

May 10, 2018

That sucks that this is what holds the book back for me because there is a lot to enjoy. I like the art by Ryan Stegman, who plays a lot with Venom in the darkness and making him look monstrous. There is also the idea of Venom facing off against something more terrifying them himself and Eddie struggle to keep it under control. However, nothing has yet to convince me that Eddie or Venom works as a heroic character. It just seems a bit crazy that Eddie is trying to be a hero when he carries an uncontrollable monster on his back, which leads him to do more harm than good. We'll see how the book develops but for now it's off to an average start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 15, 2018

It's funny too because Venom feels less like the character is trying to be a hero and more like he is just trying his best to survive and not to kill any and everything in his path. I like this version of Eddie, who is just trying to survive. Confronting the giant creature that attacked him last issue seems to be the solution of all his problems. However, with the symbiote out of control and other obstacles in his way, it looks like Venom is going to have a hard time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #3

Jun 29, 2018

Combine Miles' and Venom's showdown with Eddie confronting the dragon, add in some great art by Ryan Stegman, and this is another solid issue in a series I had reservations about. I especially like the dark feel Stegman's art brings to the book, and how he draws the dragon's monstrous form as it wrecks havoc on the city. It's a giant monster-movie type feel that I can jam to. While I have my gripes about the end of the issue and the new revelation we get, I'm looking forward to what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2018) #4

Jul 27, 2018

The Venom series is moving in a weird direction. Some days I like it, while other days I feel it's doing too much. Sure, Cates is doing something different, and Stegman's art makes certain scenes look like something out of a hellish nightmare. However, messing with origin stories is a mixed bag. It paints the character in new light and sometimes it's not necessarily for the better. Hopefully, the conflict evolves into the horror story I want to see. If not, I'm just left asking "What's the point?"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Venom (2018) #5

Aug 24, 2018

Tonally, I do think Cates is capable of nailing down that horror vibe I so desperately want from a book like Venom. Combined with Stegman's art, there are moments where Venom looks and acts like the monster he is. However, the deeper we dive into the story, I see less and less of that and more over the top comic book action. The story is starting to lose me, the revelations aren't all that exciting, and I just want Venom's encounter with Knull to end so that we can get a fresh start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom (2018) #6

Sep 23, 2018

While I think there are some elements of Donny Cates story that work, I think what dragged this book down for me was that the tone felt off. As far as Venom is concerned, I'd rather see Eddie be the villain than a hero. This book hasn't really sold me on the idea that Venom is a "lethal protector" and tries to do too much, which is a classic Marvel sin. Where ever they decide to go with the story next, I hope it tries to bring Venom back to basics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) #9

Dec 7, 2018

There is a lot of other great character moments as well. I like the confrontation Eddie has with his father and the dive we take into his past. We're reminded that Eddie's life was troubled way before he became Venom. If you think about it, his past might even be the reason Venom was birthed to begin with. Towards the end of the issue, Eddie deals with some unexpected revelations. I'm looking forward to seeing how the Abyss arc dives into the family drama down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) Annual #1

Oct 21, 2018

I'm down for more solid one-shots of Venom like this. While each writer has different takes on the symbiote, they all manage to stay consistent with his character in a way. In a way, they all portray him as a sinister figure and walking nightmare that likes to play with his victims, whether he is doing good or bad. If you are a fan of Venom, you should do yourself a favor and give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #1

Jul 13, 2018

In the end, it's just business as usual. X-23 #1 is a solid issue. I wish the were more behind the start of a new series but continuing the same kind of storytelling we got in All-New Wolverine isn't bad either. Also, without spoiling too much, the villains for this first arc are an excellent choice. They play well thematically to Laura's story and I can't wait to see more as they come head to head with Laura and Gabby.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #2

Jul 27, 2018

At least by the end, after a great scene drawn by Cabal, the confrontation with the Cuckoos escalates. Their story is pretty interesting as they deal with their own clones issues. It will be great to see Laura and the Cuckoos' separate ideas of what it's like to be a clone clash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-23 (2018) #3

Aug 30, 2018

While I still feel like X-23's story would have worked if Laura was still Wolverine, I'm going to put that issue behind me for now. Tamaki knows the character well and is giving us a great arc that finally has Laura confronting her past rather than just running into it. Honesty, my only gripe is that there wasn't enough Gabby. There can never be too much Gabby.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-23 (2018) #4

Sep 16, 2018

We're a bit light on the action but the team delivers another solid issue of X-23. Putting the focus on the Cuckoos and their own internal drama was a good idea. So far, they've been compelling villains for Laura, and it's nice to get some insight on them. Now, let's get Gabby back into action before you make a grown man cry, okay?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #5

Oct 17, 2018

Gabby is a bright spot and change of pace for the Wolverine lineage of characters. In the end, I'm glad that she's back in the fold, musing about clone dynamic and cracking jokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #6

Nov 9, 2018

Still, the predictable plot doesn't stop the issue from being enjoyable. It's mindless superhero action at its best and a fun little distraction until the plot comes right back around. If anything, readers should pick this issue up just for the Gabby quotes alone – always golden.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More