Morgan Hampton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 46
9.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

In the end, Drowned Earth delivered on its promise of being a 90's influenced swashbuckling journey through the waters of the universe while putting our heroes in some weird predicaments (and costumes). But in addition to that, it created some vacuums of power and presence that will be interesting to see filled in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

Bitter Root #1 sinks a hook so deep that you can't help but look up everything about the Harlem Renaissance until the next issue comes out. The characters are distinct. The art is striking. And most importantly, the renaissance feels authentic. If you've been looking forward to this series, it doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitter Root #2

Dec 11, 2018

Bitter Root #2 flips the rules it established in issue one on their head while piling on a healthy serving of action, backstory, and philosophy. Oh, and if you like racist Klansman getting what's coming to them, you'll feel seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bonehead #1

Dec 27, 2017

The thing this issue left me wanting more of was a stronger sense of story elements. They brought that heat with everything else, but I'm not sure I have an idea where this story is going after this. I'm sure that's the point, as it hides so much of 56 from the reader. But I want to know what the conflict is, what 56 wants, and how they're going to achieve it. But this is the first issue and it had to establish an entire world let alone its protagonist. I can't wait for issue 2 to come out to see what unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bonehead #2

Jan 31, 2018

Hill & Marcellius deliver a fast-paced issue filled with backstory and insight. Interesting relationships are on the horizon and our protagonist remains an elusive enigma. I just hope to see more things from his perspective in the future as the story is at its best when he's at the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bonehead #3

Mar 14, 2018

Other than a few sections with some clunky dialogue, Bonehead continues to deliver a well-paced, action-packed story with just the right amount of mystery. This was a really balanced issue. I feel like the first issue was all action while the second issue was backstory and setup. This time around, we get a healthy serving of everything. Everybody eats. In the few areas that it may lack, Bonehead clearly makes up for that with how fun it is to read. There's a character named Pumpkin Juice for crying out loud!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #27

Feb 21, 2018

Lemire and Nguyen deliver a relatively standalone issue that, at the same time, seems to have some pretty huge implications on the greater arc of the series. And I can't wait to find out how. It's almost not fair how great these two are together. All I know is one thing: They can have my bank routing numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #28

Mar 21, 2018

Lemire and Ngyuen yet again deliver a solid, seemingly effortless issue where almost all of our questions are answered without compromising the intrigue. In fact, I'm just as, if not more excited for whatever is coming as I would normally be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #29

Apr 18, 2018

Issue #29 of Descender provides action that propels the story forward. If you've been reading the series in real time, this is the issue that responds to that cliffhanger from a few months ago. It seems from here on out, the narrative is gonna get a little bit tighter as characters that were separate, are now getting closer together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #30

May 29, 2018

As the series enters its possible twilight, Descender #30 provides emotional context over story progression. These puffy eyes wouldn't have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #32

Jul 23, 2018

Descender may be gone, but it delivered a solid finale. Questions it posed and answered will lead us into the future of Ascender. You won't be disappointed with this final issue, but you will be sad… because from here on out, everything changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fearscape #1

Sep 18, 2018

Fearscape manages to blend a lot of familiar elements into a story that feels wholly original. It's hilarious, clever, and intriguing. If you're a fan of reading, no matter the genre, or the medium, this is a story you can appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

Nothing but respect for my Green Lantern. Other than the story which was a bit on the safe side, Priest sets up some interesting themes in trust and culpability that Batman is going to have to grapple with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Justice League (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Along with the much-needed variety, this issue brings a fun, humorous, and wacky adventure with some surprising faces. However, the team is haunted by their mistakes and their public perception. Things are going to get a lot worse before they get better. But for the first time in a long time, I'm rooting for them not just because they're the Justice League, but because I know a bit more about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #36

Jan 2, 2018

This was a solid issue that doubled down on the conflict and even added a new layer. The League is bickering with each other and the world doesn't want their help anymore. They've hit rock bottom. Which means next issue is the start of the rise. With this killer on the lose, maybe they'll finally have something to punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

All in all, Justice League continues to be pretty solid. I'm happy to finally know who's causing the League so many problems. But what makes me even more hype is thinking about how when the League stops this new adversary, the world's disdain for it will be even more amplified. It really hammers home the duality of a hero. Yeah, the League is in a position of privilege. That's the only word to describe someone who gets to chill in the Watchtower, but that privilege comes with a burden. I'm happy to see that things aren't gonna be resolved by simply shifting the blame onto an adversary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

As much as I've loved Priest's run so far, 5 issues in, I am still yearning for a bit more conflict. I love the development of these characters but at times it feels like it might be at the expense of the action. There haven't been a lot of punches thrown and while that was okay in the beginning, it's starting to drag a little. It feels like every issue ends on a cliffhanger and then it's barely addressed if at all in the next issue. Hopefully, it picks up. I'm optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

My one issue with this issue (hahaha) is that yet again it seems like the plot isn't progressing much. Really interesting things keep happening, but they never seem to move the narrative forward. I could definitely see the fallout of what's going on lingering into Snyder's run, and I really hope that's what happens. I'm not saying I need the League to throw more punches, I'd just like to see the resolution on the horizon at this point. But the predicament that Grobyc is in (for me) more than makes up for it. I'm just trynna be objective and give a well-rounded analysis, okay?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

This book's conflict continues to rise, and though The Fan's motives are clearer than ever, the team is still only in a reactionary mode. They haven't made any strides in taking him out. That's where this run has lacked thus far. They're getting their asses handed to them mentally, physically, and socially. And they can't seem to figure out how to make a move. It does seem like things are tying together a bit more over the past few issues, so maybe there is some sort of restitution on the way. Overall this was a solid issue filled with thought-provoking commentary on the rights and wrongs of vigilante justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

Things are beginning to wrap up in this arc. There's still some gas in the tank but we've entered the third act. I've liked this run a lot since the beginning, but this was one of my favorite issues so far. It had a little bit of everything. Action, commentary, and humor. And it was all balanced really well. It also capitalizes on the Black Panther craze by centering a story in Africa. Not that it was intentional, but it can only help.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

No joke, I've had some all-time favorite comics moments while reading this, and for that, I am forever grateful. Issue #43 of Christopher Priest and Pete Wood's Justice League ties up every major plot point while leaving the reader more than satisfied. It also leaves the door wide open for Snyder to take the reins in a few weeks. Justice League will return on May 9th, with No Justice, a weekly event that will spill right into Scott Snyder's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Justice League sets out to be Snyder's most ambitious comic to date. After one issue, it's holding up to its promise. Snyder and his team are focused and full of purpose, all while having a bit of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

So far, two issues in and this series is everything that's been promised. They swing for the fences, and we reap the benefits. Justice League is epic, personal, mysterious, and authentic. This feels like it's gonna shape up to be a definitive run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

Justice League continues to make my 10-year-old self happy, while delivering a complex story filled with authentic character-driven moments. Snyder and Jiminez are delivering their best work twice a month without missing a beat. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 17, 2018

Justice League #4 displays the book's balance as more characters are explored without sacrificing the other things that make this series work so well. If we've learned anything other than the fact that Snyder is reaching for GOAT status with this book " it's that Justice League is a model of consistency.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Even with a different creative team, Justice Lea"I mean Legion of Doom #1 delivers everything we've come to expect from this title along with a fresh perspective: both on the page, and behind the scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

Seriously, if you're not reading this series at this point, you're doing yourself a disservice. Justice League is indulging us in all our urges and cravings: Conflict, balance, shock, awe, and humor. The only disappointing thing is that each issue has to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

Though it left some things to be desired, the finale of Justice League's first arc undoubtedly planted seeds that will blossom into the most viciousvenus fly trap of misfortune. And they ain't ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

Justice League #8 used the evilest villains of the DC Multiverse to conduct a case study on trust. I think it's safe to say that there isn't much of it to go around. And with The Batman Who Laughs rearing his creepy ass head, the Justice League & the Legion of Doom are both in for some trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 3, 2018

Justice League #9 shows us a day in the life of the team when the world isn't in immediate danger. Some powerful and relatable themes are explored in a way that really brings these gods and aliens down to Earth. To say this was one of my favorite comics to come out this year would be an understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

The prelude to “Drowned Earth” makes your mouth water with thirst quenching art from Francis Manapul, while simultaneously convincing you how dope Space Krakens are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

Justice League #11 follows Mera's lead as unconventional groups begin to find the answers they need to turn the tide of the conflict in their favor. If you like swashbuckling adventures featuring superheroes, this is the issue you've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

Justice League #12 gives the fractured teams of the JL a small W as they gear up for what's gonna be an uphill battle to drain the Earth of the infectious space water. Meanwhile, the Ocean Lords and Black Manta, trying to dodge defeat, are about to throw their hail mary" The Death Kraken.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #13

Dec 5, 2018

Justice League #13 gives us one of the darkest issues of the series as the Joker reveals his true reasoning for joining the Legion of Doom. The answer shouldn't shock you, but it is kind of funny. Remember, everything's all one big joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Oct 31, 2018

All is lost for our heroes as they're drowning in the rising flood waters of the conflict. There's a glimmer of hope on the horizon as they regroup and figure out how to get rid of all this purple water.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

No Justice is a Double Stuf Oreo on the page and behind the scenes, but the beautiful art coupled with the promise of some great action make up for it a bit. Those who have been wanting a wider-scope Justice League story will have their appetites fed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 16, 2018

No Justice #2 defines each team's objectives while delivering refreshing character moments that you could only get with teams this random. Etrigan droppin' bars to help bring to life magic zombie aliens is also a plus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 22, 2018

No Justice #3 continues to provide interesting character dynamics, but at times, all that gets lost in the A1 stake sauce.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 31, 2018

In the end, No Justice was more icing than cake, but I've got a sweet tooth so I ate it all up anyway. Things were wrapped up nicely in a way that gets you excited and optimistic for Snyder's take on this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 26, 2018

Following No Justice, Justice League Odyssey sends a diverse team of heroes (and one mad, manipulative villain), to the far corners of space. While it may be a bit hard to place in regard to the main Justice League title, this is still a book that feels like it will have some big implications on this new and expanding DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 23, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #2 reveals the strange space religions revolving Starfire, Cyborg, and Azrael, and it's as creepy as you'd think it'd be. But the strength of the issue was how the character's motivations pull us forward in the story by providing organic situations that convey their stances.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League: Odyssey #3

Nov 28, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #3 gives us some hearty moments with our characters as they get some time to just be people in the midst of all the craziness. But that moment is fleeting as a new threat is revealed to be on their tail.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Martian Manhunter (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

Simply put, if you're a fan of Martian Manhunter aka The Green Sad Boi, you won't be disappointed with this first issue. It gives us a unique glimpse into the mind of one of the most private characters in the DC Universe. We're gonna get to discover J'onn as he discovers himself. I'm so happy my dawg is getting the shine he deserves, even if he's probably afraid of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Submerged #3

Oct 17, 2018

Submerged #3 provides a hurricane of emotions as our protagonist Elysia must confront and swim through a downpour of horrible memories that stand in the way of her and her lost brother. Ayala, Sterle, Delladia, and Deering are the perfect storm of artists for this story, conveying everything with the heights of their talents. If you aren't reading this book, put on your wetsuit and swim to your local comic book store to pick it up. And hurry before the ink starts to bleed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 11, 2018

Snyder and Jock convey a quiet intensity that leaves you unsettled well after you've finished reading. Few times do I have audible reactions while reading a comic book, but while reading this first issue, I gasped or winced more than once. That's how you know you've got something special on your hands. Something you know they're gonna be talking about for years to come. Who knows, when it's all said and done, it might be up there as one of the best Batman stories of all time" but we've still got five issues until we get to the punchline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wasted Space #1

Apr 13, 2018

Wasted Space is a welcomed newcomer to the space saga genre. It gives you many things that you've seen before, but in a very different way. That's one of Vault's strengths as a publisher. I'm in the camp that it's impossible to come up with something 100% original, but if you put the right spin on it, it can make your story feel like something that's never been seen before. That's what Wasted Space seems to be shaping up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More