Morgan Hampton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 104
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

In the end, Drowned Earth delivered on its promise of being a 90's influenced swashbuckling journey through the waters of the universe while putting our heroes in some weird predicaments (and costumes). But in addition to that, it created some vacuums of power and presence that will be interesting to see filled in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #1

Apr 24, 2019

Ascender was worth the wait for anyone patiently biding their time until this powerhouse creative team returned to this beloved universe. Is it different? At the surface, yes. But at its heart, this is still a story about a beacon of hope in a bleak world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #2

May 29, 2019

Ascender #2 gives us a short reunion between some lifelong friends and fan favorites while further planting the seeds of this series' big bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #3

Jun 27, 2019

Ascender #3 surprises with some welcomed flashbacks that really help you start to piece together the ten-year gap of time that bridges DescendertoAscender. As always, Lemire & Nguyen don't mess around in the craft department.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #4

Jul 25, 2019

In Ascender #4, Mother gets a fiery surprise while Andy, Mila, and Bandit flee some hot-breathed dragons in the most jaw-dropping issue of this young series. Dustin Nguyen & Jeff Lemire are really in their bags right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #5

Aug 30, 2019

Ascender #5 gives us pirates vs. vampires plus a jaw-dropping moment from one of the series' main characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #6

Oct 22, 2019

Ascender #6 gives all of the main characters a bad day by stripping them of what they desire most. A father and daughter are split up, a drunk has lost her leisure, and an evil witch loses her patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #7

Nov 27, 2019

Ascender #7 uses a handful of Captain Tesla's flashbacks to help bridge the gap between Descender and Ascender.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

Bitter Root #1 sinks a hook so deep that you can't help but look up everything about the Harlem Renaissance until the next issue comes out. The characters are distinct. The art is striking. And most importantly, the renaissance feels authentic. If you've been looking forward to this series, it doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitter Root #2

Dec 11, 2018

Bitter Root #2 flips the rules it established in issue one on their head while piling on a healthy serving of action, backstory, and philosophy. Oh, and if you like racist Klansman getting what's coming to them, you'll feel seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #3

Jan 9, 2019

Bitter Root doubles down on its world-building as action propels the story forward into uncharted territory. If you'd been on the fence about this series so far, this was the issue that sinks its hooks in and makes the set up worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bitter Root #4

Feb 21, 2019

Bitter Root #4 provides mind melting action as the conflict reaches its boiling point. This is the point of no return as it seems like things are about to drastically change moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bitter Root #5

Mar 20, 2019

Bitter Root #5 had all the smoke. Action? Bet. Ass whoopins? You got it. Colors that pop more than a bowl of Rice Krispies?! Come on, son!! You already know!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitter Root: Red Summer Special #1

Jul 10, 2019

The Bitter Root Summer Special keeps us satisfied by giving us a collection of short stories that fill in our gaps of information regarding characters and events from the past. It's the perfect bridge between two arcs and it does a lot of work to flesh out some of the questions that we had after the cliffhanger at the end of the last arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bonehead #1

Dec 27, 2017

The thing this issue left me wanting more of was a stronger sense of story elements. They brought that heat with everything else, but I'm not sure I have an idea where this story is going after this. I'm sure that's the point, as it hides so much of 56 from the reader. But I want to know what the conflict is, what 56 wants, and how they're going to achieve it. But this is the first issue and it had to establish an entire world let alone its protagonist. I can't wait for issue 2 to come out to see what unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bonehead #2

Jan 31, 2018

Hill & Marcellius deliver a fast-paced issue filled with backstory and insight. Interesting relationships are on the horizon and our protagonist remains an elusive enigma. I just hope to see more things from his perspective in the future as the story is at its best when he's at the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bonehead #3

Mar 14, 2018

Other than a few sections with some clunky dialogue, Bonehead continues to deliver a well-paced, action-packed story with just the right amount of mystery. This was a really balanced issue. I feel like the first issue was all action while the second issue was backstory and setup. This time around, we get a healthy serving of everything. Everybody eats. In the few areas that it may lack, Bonehead clearly makes up for that with how fun it is to read. There's a character named Pumpkin Juice for crying out loud!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #27

Feb 21, 2018

Lemire and Nguyen deliver a relatively standalone issue that, at the same time, seems to have some pretty huge implications on the greater arc of the series. And I can't wait to find out how. It's almost not fair how great these two are together. All I know is one thing: They can have my bank routing numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #28

Mar 21, 2018

Lemire and Ngyuen yet again deliver a solid, seemingly effortless issue where almost all of our questions are answered without compromising the intrigue. In fact, I'm just as, if not more excited for whatever is coming as I would normally be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #29

Apr 18, 2018

Issue #29 of Descender provides action that propels the story forward. If you've been reading the series in real time, this is the issue that responds to that cliffhanger from a few months ago. It seems from here on out, the narrative is gonna get a little bit tighter as characters that were separate, are now getting closer together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Descender #30

May 29, 2018

As the series enters its possible twilight, Descender #30 provides emotional context over story progression. These puffy eyes wouldn't have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #32

Jul 23, 2018

Descender may be gone, but it delivered a solid finale. Questions it posed and answered will lead us into the future of Ascender. You won't be disappointed with this final issue, but you will be sad… because from here on out, everything changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fearscape #1

Sep 18, 2018

Fearscape manages to blend a lot of familiar elements into a story that feels wholly original. It's hilarious, clever, and intriguing. If you're a fan of reading, no matter the genre, or the medium, this is a story you can appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

Nothing but respect for my Green Lantern. Other than the story which was a bit on the safe side, Priest sets up some interesting themes in trust and culpability that Batman is going to have to grapple with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Justice League (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Along with the much-needed variety, this issue brings a fun, humorous, and wacky adventure with some surprising faces. However, the team is haunted by their mistakes and their public perception. Things are going to get a lot worse before they get better. But for the first time in a long time, I'm rooting for them not just because they're the Justice League, but because I know a bit more about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #36

Jan 2, 2018

This was a solid issue that doubled down on the conflict and even added a new layer. The League is bickering with each other and the world doesn't want their help anymore. They've hit rock bottom. Which means next issue is the start of the rise. With this killer on the lose, maybe they'll finally have something to punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

All in all, Justice League continues to be pretty solid. I'm happy to finally know who's causing the League so many problems. But what makes me even more hype is thinking about how when the League stops this new adversary, the world's disdain for it will be even more amplified. It really hammers home the duality of a hero. Yeah, the League is in a position of privilege. That's the only word to describe someone who gets to chill in the Watchtower, but that privilege comes with a burden. I'm happy to see that things aren't gonna be resolved by simply shifting the blame onto an adversary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

As much as I've loved Priest's run so far, 5 issues in, I am still yearning for a bit more conflict. I love the development of these characters but at times it feels like it might be at the expense of the action. There haven't been a lot of punches thrown and while that was okay in the beginning, it's starting to drag a little. It feels like every issue ends on a cliffhanger and then it's barely addressed if at all in the next issue. Hopefully, it picks up. I'm optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

My one issue with this issue (hahaha) is that yet again it seems like the plot isn't progressing much. Really interesting things keep happening, but they never seem to move the narrative forward. I could definitely see the fallout of what's going on lingering into Snyder's run, and I really hope that's what happens. I'm not saying I need the League to throw more punches, I'd just like to see the resolution on the horizon at this point. But the predicament that Grobyc is in (for me) more than makes up for it. I'm just trynna be objective and give a well-rounded analysis, okay?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

This book's conflict continues to rise, and though The Fan's motives are clearer than ever, the team is still only in a reactionary mode. They haven't made any strides in taking him out. That's where this run has lacked thus far. They're getting their asses handed to them mentally, physically, and socially. And they can't seem to figure out how to make a move. It does seem like things are tying together a bit more over the past few issues, so maybe there is some sort of restitution on the way. Overall this was a solid issue filled with thought-provoking commentary on the rights and wrongs of vigilante justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

Things are beginning to wrap up in this arc. There's still some gas in the tank but we've entered the third act. I've liked this run a lot since the beginning, but this was one of my favorite issues so far. It had a little bit of everything. Action, commentary, and humor. And it was all balanced really well. It also capitalizes on the Black Panther craze by centering a story in Africa. Not that it was intentional, but it can only help.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

No joke, I've had some all-time favorite comics moments while reading this, and for that, I am forever grateful. Issue #43 of Christopher Priest and Pete Wood's Justice League ties up every major plot point while leaving the reader more than satisfied. It also leaves the door wide open for Snyder to take the reins in a few weeks. Justice League will return on May 9th, with No Justice, a weekly event that will spill right into Scott Snyder's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Justice League sets out to be Snyder's most ambitious comic to date. After one issue, it's holding up to its promise. Snyder and his team are focused and full of purpose, all while having a bit of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

So far, two issues in and this series is everything that's been promised. They swing for the fences, and we reap the benefits. Justice League is epic, personal, mysterious, and authentic. This feels like it's gonna shape up to be a definitive run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

Justice League continues to make my 10-year-old self happy, while delivering a complex story filled with authentic character-driven moments. Snyder and Jiminez are delivering their best work twice a month without missing a beat. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 17, 2018

Justice League #4 displays the book's balance as more characters are explored without sacrificing the other things that make this series work so well. If we've learned anything other than the fact that Snyder is reaching for GOAT status with this book " it's that Justice League is a model of consistency.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Even with a different creative team, Justice Lea"I mean Legion of Doom #1 delivers everything we've come to expect from this title along with a fresh perspective: both on the page, and behind the scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

Seriously, if you're not reading this series at this point, you're doing yourself a disservice. Justice League is indulging us in all our urges and cravings: Conflict, balance, shock, awe, and humor. The only disappointing thing is that each issue has to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

Though it left some things to be desired, the finale of Justice League's first arc undoubtedly planted seeds that will blossom into the most viciousvenus fly trap of misfortune. And they ain't ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

Justice League #8 used the evilest villains of the DC Multiverse to conduct a case study on trust. I think it's safe to say that there isn't much of it to go around. And with The Batman Who Laughs rearing his creepy ass head, the Justice League & the Legion of Doom are both in for some trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 3, 2018

Justice League #9 shows us a day in the life of the team when the world isn't in immediate danger. Some powerful and relatable themes are explored in a way that really brings these gods and aliens down to Earth. To say this was one of my favorite comics to come out this year would be an understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

The prelude to “Drowned Earth” makes your mouth water with thirst quenching art from Francis Manapul, while simultaneously convincing you how dope Space Krakens are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

Justice League #11 follows Mera's lead as unconventional groups begin to find the answers they need to turn the tide of the conflict in their favor. If you like swashbuckling adventures featuring superheroes, this is the issue you've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

Justice League #12 gives the fractured teams of the JL a small W as they gear up for what's gonna be an uphill battle to drain the Earth of the infectious space water. Meanwhile, the Ocean Lords and Black Manta, trying to dodge defeat, are about to throw their hail mary" The Death Kraken.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #13

Dec 5, 2018

Justice League #13 gives us one of the darkest issues of the series as the Joker reveals his true reasoning for joining the Legion of Doom. The answer shouldn't shock you, but it is kind of funny. Remember, everything's all one big joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #14

Dec 17, 2018

If you missed Hawkgirl, John Stewart, and Martian Manhunter the past few issues, this story is here to make sure it was all worth it. The Secret ofHawkworld provides new history, fragmented origins and some deep, dark secrets that promise to make this arc a linchpin of the overarching story Snyder and Co. are crafting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #15

Jan 9, 2019

Justice League #15 gives us some clever action involving Martian Manhunter, Hawkgirl, and John Stewart, while planting the seeds for a new conflict to blossom over the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #16

Jan 23, 2019

Sixteen issues in, Justice Leaguestill feels like one of the most important books on the shelf for DC. It's the type of stuff that's gonna have ripple effects far beyond the tie-in JL books. This is the forefront of the DC multiverse, and you don't want to miss the puzzle pieces being placed week after week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Justice League (2018) #17

Feb 6, 2019

After a brief moment with Justice and Doom on equalfooting, the fate of the universe is still in question. Justice League #17 gave us a heartwarming and heartbreaking flashback with J'onn and Luthor that could end up being the key that opens the door to them working together in order to help save the universe from Perpetua.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #18

Feb 20, 2019

Luthor calls game on Braniac as the two gargantuan intellects join forces like KD and the 73-9 Warriors. The Justice League are now the clear underdogs. Let's hope they can pull off a major upset. The fate of the universe depends on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #19

Mar 7, 2019

Snyder, aka The Architect, has laid out a solid set up issue for what might just be the most fun arc of the series so far. And when you pair that with Jiminez's wholesome art, you've got yourself a comic book experience that feels like a warm hug. Every panel of this issue took me back to the moments that made me fall in love with comics as a kid. You can't go wrong with wacky fun and DLC skins for the whole squad. You just can't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #20

Mar 20, 2019

Justice League #20 delivers some satisfying sights into the future, both for the characters and the audience. This arc continues to display one of the boldest stories Snyder's ever written and gives us some of the most enjoyable art from Jimenez. Missing out on this arc is like choosing not to eat dessert after dinner. Shame on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #21

Apr 3, 2019

Justice League #21 gives us a healthy balance of giant imps, uncharacteristic Batman opinions, and overpowered index fingers. It's proven yet again that it's a series that is without a doubt about that life. You better recognize.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #22

Apr 17, 2019

Justice League #22 gives us a history of the DC multiverse in a way that plants Perpetua front and center. She's the mother of everything. And she's disappointed in her kids. The only problem with that is, the entire multiverse could pay the price.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #23

May 1, 2019

Justice League #23 brings us back to the sixth dimension where our heroes' quest for justice once again is held under a microscope. Good is bad. Bad is good. And Batman might have the power to end everything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #24

May 15, 2019

Justice League #24 gives us an interesting dynamic between the Justice League and the alternate future version of the Legion of Doom while Batman contemplates a decision that might change what you think about him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #25

Jun 5, 2019

Justice League #25 manages to stick the landing on one of the most satisfying and thought-provoking comic arcs to come out of the big two in recent memory. And the best word to describe the set up for what's to come is" Doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #26

Jun 19, 2019

Justice League #26 ushers in a new arc filled with comic book eye candy, hella stressed heroes, and an expanded team that brings me back to the days of Justice League Unlimited, when the whole DC squad could pull up on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #27

Jul 3, 2019

Justice League #27gives us a Martian Manhunter damsel in distress, with Hawkgirl coming to the rescue murkin' everyone with her mace. Meanwhile, their alternate future son has an existential crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #28

Jul 17, 2019

Justice League #28 closes out the Apex Predator arc providing us with a whole milk, mayonnaise infused Lex Luthor who is one step closer to his plans coming to fruition along with the destruction of the DC multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #29

Aug 7, 2019

As we head into the “Justice/Doom War,” Snyder, Tynion IV, Redondo, and Jarro refresh our memories on the past few years of the DC Universe in a way that still manages to flesh out the characters of the story– especially some of the ones lacking exposure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #30

Aug 28, 2019

If you haven't been reading this series so far, this is a pretty good point to jump in. As I stated, it does a good job of streamlining the conflict of the past 29 issues and clearly stating what the good guys and the bad guys want. So, if you're not a completionist like me, jump right in blind! You won't be confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 5, 2019

All in all, this was a fantastic issue filled to the brim with a plethora of things that make comics great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #33

Oct 2, 2019

Justice League #33 sets the heroes up for a stellar come back while doubling down on the time travel multiversal madness that's made this run so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #34

Oct 16, 2019

Justice League #34 handed a big fat L to the Justice League with their most pivotal player choking when the team needed her most. You can't blame her, there's a lot at stake and she wants to make Luthor pay for what he's done. Okay, maybe you can blame her. But her mistake only sets her up for a stellar comeback.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #35

Nov 6, 2019

The Legion of Doom are out here comin' with all the smoke like an underground group trying to get signed to a record deal by putting out the hottest mixtape the streets have seen in years. Their schemes? Flawless. Their execution? Airtight. Their style and charisma? Toxic. They bodied the Justice League this issue without even directly throwing a single punch. Meanwhile, the Justice League is out here hiring ghost-writers for their response track.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #36

Nov 20, 2019

Despite the heavy themes the art was still loose and fun to offset some of the darker moments that the implications of the narrative imply.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) Annual #1

Jan 30, 2019

Look, I've been pretty high on this series from the jump, but this issue right here is easily the best issue of the entire series. Snyder, Tynion IV, and company are at the top of their game, yet they're still reaching for the stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Oct 31, 2018

All is lost for our heroes as they're drowning in the rising flood waters of the conflict. There's a glimmer of hope on the horizon as they regroup and figure out how to get rid of all this purple water.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

No Justice is a Double Stuf Oreo on the page and behind the scenes, but the beautiful art coupled with the promise of some great action make up for it a bit. Those who have been wanting a wider-scope Justice League story will have their appetites fed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 16, 2018

No Justice #2 defines each team's objectives while delivering refreshing character moments that you could only get with teams this random. Etrigan droppin' bars to help bring to life magic zombie aliens is also a plus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 22, 2018

No Justice #3 continues to provide interesting character dynamics, but at times, all that gets lost in the A1 stake sauce.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 31, 2018

In the end, No Justice was more icing than cake, but I've got a sweet tooth so I ate it all up anyway. Things were wrapped up nicely in a way that gets you excited and optimistic for Snyder's take on this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 26, 2018

Following No Justice, Justice League Odyssey sends a diverse team of heroes (and one mad, manipulative villain), to the far corners of space. While it may be a bit hard to place in regard to the main Justice League title, this is still a book that feels like it will have some big implications on this new and expanding DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 23, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #2 reveals the strange space religions revolving Starfire, Cyborg, and Azrael, and it's as creepy as you'd think it'd be. But the strength of the issue was how the character's motivations pull us forward in the story by providing organic situations that convey their stances.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League: Odyssey #3

Nov 28, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #3 gives us some hearty moments with our characters as they get some time to just be people in the midst of all the craziness. But that moment is fleeting as a new threat is revealed to be on their tail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #4

Jan 2, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #4places Cyborg front and center as he grapples with the morality of accepting his role as a god if it means being able to save an entire race of people. That might seem like a heavy burden, but it's just a normal Wednesday for Vic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League: Odyssey #5

Jan 30, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #5 reminds us that this book is a puzzle piece in the enormous Justice League story being told across three books right now. If you're a completionist like myself, this is one of the things you live for. All these books are droppin' mad breadcrumbs, and I'm getting fat off all the clues and threads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #6

Feb 27, 2019

The underdog team regroups as they gear up to confront Darkseid about his plans to build a New Apokolips. New revelations, new motivations, and renewed purpose all make for a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Odyssey #7

Mar 27, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #7 returns to the space-based action that propelled us through the first few issues as Starfire loses control of herself and her powers, Jessica Cruz's power depletes more of its charge, and Darkseid is a sad sack of potatoes sprawled out on a foreign alien planet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #8

Apr 10, 2019

Darkseid teaches a freshman-level philosophy class in Justice League Odyssey #8. And your classmates are Cyborg, Starfire, and Azrael. Green Lantern Jessica Cruz is trying to add the class but it's full right now. Make sure you don't miss more than three days before the midterm otherwise he'll drop you and you'll get that nasty W on your transcripts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #9

May 8, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #9 aligned us with Jessica Cruz's perspective as the rest of the team is coming off like they've been drinking too much of Darkseid's Kool-Aid. Jessica might have to throw some Lantern hands with her buddies in the coming issues. And if it's anyone, I'm glad it's her. She's the most level headed out of all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10 brings us to the point that the series has been building towards from its first issue: A confrontation with Darkseid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #11

Jul 10, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #11 sets us up for some internal conflict that the heroes will have to overcome if they're gonna be able to stop Darkseid from enacting his plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #12

Aug 14, 2019

The Odyssey team faced an impossible task as they geared up to face a calculated Darkseid that's planned out every move that's taken place since the beginning of the series. The only intangible is Green Lantern Jessica Cruz. But she may not be enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #13

Sep 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #13 switches up the beat by introducing us to some new faces with the same aspirations to defeat Darkseid. Also, Jessica Cruz channels her inner Jesus and enters her life after death.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Martian Manhunter (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

Simply put, if you're a fan of Martian Manhunter aka The Green Sad Boi, you won't be disappointed with this first issue. It gives us a unique glimpse into the mind of one of the most private characters in the DC Universe. We're gonna get to discover J'onn as he discovers himself. I'm so happy my dawg is getting the shine he deserves, even if he's probably afraid of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #2

Jan 9, 2019

Martian Manhunter continues to be a treasure trove for renewed Martian lore as it creates an authentic representation for an entire fictional culture in ways that haven't been done before. You find yourself lost in the hopes and dreams of these characters– some of them green blobs– and then you remember that they're all gonna die. Powerful stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #3

Feb 27, 2019

Another issue, another look into the lonely life of J'onn J'onnz. My favorite thing about this book is that it's really enabled J'onn to wear his heart on his sleeve. In the first 2 issues, that was solely for the sake of the audience. But now we get to see the first time that he opens up to a human and it's a beautiful thing. This is the wholesome Martian goodness I've always wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #4

Mar 27, 2019

As we reach the end of the first third of the series, Orlando and Rossmo double down on the choices that make Martian Manhunterone of the boldest books on the shelves. It's intimidating but always rewarding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #5

May 22, 2019

Martian Manhunter #5 disrupts J'onn's flow as an adversary from his past shows up on present-day Earth. Orlando and Rossmo continue to sprinkle in important moments from J'onn's life on Mars, but it looks like this issue is setting up for a major deep dive into the past that should inform the motivations of the characters for the second half of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #6

Jun 26, 2019

Martian Manhunter shows us every corner of J'onn's history as he attempts to piece himself back together and become the hero that we all recognize. The first six issues of this series show J'onn as a lonely wanderer. By the end of the next six, he'll be a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #7

Jul 24, 2019

J'onn and Meade begin to mend their fractured relationship as they inch closer to finding Ashley and her Martian kidnapper Charnn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #8

Aug 28, 2019

Martian Manhunter #8 makes me cry yet again as we delve into Meade's rough past and the early days with her late partner John Jones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Martian Manhunter (2018) #9

Oct 23, 2019

J'onn gets what he needs from the fossilized memories, and Charnn is about to level up now that he has a human subject that isn't dying from his experiments. In order to match Charnn's strength, J'onn is gonna have to step it up himself. He reveals that he hasn't been operating at 100% this whole time, and in order to fully commit to the Martian Manhunter that he is, he must fully confront his past and deal with the repressed trauma of his family and an entire race of people dying. He's got about a couple of hours to do all that, but I've got faith in my guy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #10

Nov 27, 2019

This whole issue is a true testament to the teamwork on display with Orlando and Rossmo. This wouldn't work as uniquely well as it does without them. I'm not even sure anyone else would have thought of doing this the way that they did. It was really cool to see the comics medium borrow some aesthetics from the gaming world. We see a lot of back and forth between comics and movies due to how similar they are, and I'm not at all trying to insinuate that this is the first time we've seen a comic implore some visual cues familiar to video games, but it was a nice change of pace and the perfect metaphor for what J'onn is going through and how he had to overcome it. Not to mention it was executed so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Submerged #3

Oct 17, 2018

Submerged #3 provides a hurricane of emotions as our protagonist Elysia must confront and swim through a downpour of horrible memories that stand in the way of her and her lost brother. Ayala, Sterle, Delladia, and Deering are the perfect storm of artists for this story, conveying everything with the heights of their talents. If you aren't reading this book, put on your wetsuit and swim to your local comic book store to pick it up. And hurry before the ink starts to bleed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 11, 2018

Snyder and Jock convey a quiet intensity that leaves you unsettled well after you've finished reading. Few times do I have audible reactions while reading a comic book, but while reading this first issue, I gasped or winced more than once. That's how you know you've got something special on your hands. Something you know they're gonna be talking about for years to come. Who knows, when it's all said and done, it might be up there as one of the best Batman stories of all time" but we've still got five issues until we get to the punchline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #2 will make you do anything but laugh. In fact, whatever time you read this will be the farthest you'll be from laughter all day. Bruce is having a really bad time, and Jock and Snyder use every tool in the shed to put the audience in his shoes so we can not only see what Bats is going through, we but feel it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 10, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #4 highlights Batman's descent into darkness with its stellar lettering by Sal Cipriano. Snyder and Jock create a story that's mentally and visually unsettling, but Cipriano's eerie lettering hits you in the soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #5 puts Batman against one of the toughest walls ever built. What opens as an issue with a glimmer of hope, eventually turns into one of the darkest cliffhangers in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #6 throws everything at the kitchen sink as it evens the playing field and answers a lot of questions except the big ones. It prepares us for a finale that promises to challenge what we think is going to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 31, 2019

In The Batman Who Laughsfinale, Bruce has to accept that he's trash and bad at his job in order to stop his evil counterpart from turning the entire city into hateful human beings. He's the worst Batman, but that just makes him the best one for the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wasted Space #1

Apr 13, 2018

Wasted Space is a welcomed newcomer to the space saga genre. It gives you many things that you've seen before, but in a very different way. That's one of Vault's strengths as a publisher. I'm in the camp that it's impossible to come up with something 100% original, but if you put the right spin on it, it can make your story feel like something that's never been seen before. That's what Wasted Space seems to be shaping up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More