Morgan Hampton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 220
9.2Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (2016) #1029

Mar 24, 2021

In a short backup story, we follow Midnighter as his story from Infinite Frontier continues and he has to deal with some timey wimey stuff that would bother just about anyone. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

In the end, Drowned Earth delivered on its promise of being a 90's influenced swashbuckling journey through the waters of the universe while putting our heroes in some weird predicaments (and costumes). But in addition to that, it created some vacuums of power and presence that will be interesting to see filled in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #1

Apr 24, 2019

Ascender was worth the wait for anyone patiently biding their time until this powerhouse creative team returned to this beloved universe. Is it different? At the surface, yes. But at its heart, this is still a story about a beacon of hope in a bleak world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #2

May 29, 2019

Ascender #2 gives us a short reunion between some lifelong friends and fan favorites while further planting the seeds of this series' big bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #3

Jun 27, 2019

Ascender #3 surprises with some welcomed flashbacks that really help you start to piece together the ten-year gap of time that bridges DescendertoAscender. As always, Lemire & Nguyen don't mess around in the craft department.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #4

Jul 25, 2019

In Ascender #4, Mother gets a fiery surprise while Andy, Mila, and Bandit flee some hot-breathed dragons in the most jaw-dropping issue of this young series. Dustin Nguyen & Jeff Lemire are really in their bags right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #5

Aug 30, 2019

Ascender #5 gives us pirates vs. vampires plus a jaw-dropping moment from one of the series' main characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #6

Oct 22, 2019

Ascender #6 gives all of the main characters a bad day by stripping them of what they desire most. A father and daughter are split up, a drunk has lost her leisure, and an evil witch loses her patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ascender #7

Nov 27, 2019

Ascender #7 uses a handful of Captain Tesla's flashbacks to help bridge the gap between Descender and Ascender.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #87

Jan 22, 2020

Tynion IV and March continue to take Batman in a new direction while the Caped Crusader juggles rebuilding Gotham and hunting down an unknown figure who wants to usurp the renovation from under his feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #97

Aug 19, 2020

As always, issue #97 makes sure that Batman is having the worst day of his life. There's zombies, a clown killer, and Joker in a swimsuit. You don't wanna miss it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #101

Oct 22, 2020

Batman #101 signals a new era for the Caped Crusader and Gotham as Bruce Wayne grapples with how to change his approach to protecting the city. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2016) #102

Nov 4, 2020

Batman #102 pits Batman against Ghost-Maker, a new villain that Bruce has a shared past with. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #104

Dec 2, 2020

Batman #104 gives us a history lesson on Ghost-Maker, who turns out to be an old acquaintance of Bruce's, like everyone else in his rogues gallery. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #105

Dec 16, 2020

Harley vs. Clownhunter. Batman vs. Ghost-Maker. This fight may not be what you were expecting, but it has huge ramifications for the ever-expanding Bat-Lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #12

May 6, 2020

If you want a masterclass in character development and how it intertwines with the plot and conflict of a story, this is a comic book you need to be reading. Bryan Hill and Dexter Soy are bringing the fan favorite but often ignored characters out of obscurity and doing the important work to prove why they belong. You truly love to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #13

Jun 17, 2020

In an issue that allows the Outsiders to breathe, they regroup and gear up for the next inevitable showdown with Ra's Al Ghul as they also work out some of their more personal conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #14

Jul 8, 2020

The Outsiders continue to inch ever so slowly toward their retaliation against Ra's Al Ghul. If you wanna see Black Lightning levitate or Duke teeter over to the dark side, you're gonna want to pick up this issue. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #16

Sep 9, 2020

The penultimate issue of Batman & The Outsiders puts Black Lightning and Orphan front and center while they take on Ra's Al Ghul for the final time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/Superman (2019) #15

Dec 24, 2020

Batman / Superman #15 gives us a heartwarming story fit for the holidays as best friends in a snowstorm try to get their other friend to his home before it's too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #3

Dec 18, 2019

It's like you've gotta go through so much hell before you can achieve true happiness, but it's the hell that puts the happiness in perspective and allows you to appreciate it. If this is truly Snyder and Capullo's last teamed take on the Caped Crusader, what a better way to send him off? They have tortured him senselessly over the years, all the way up until the final pages of this book. And finally he's repaid with a younger, less injury-ridden body and a world that he gets to help jumpstart instead of one he's trying to save.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #2

Sep 30, 2020

Two issues in, I think you could say there are more questions than answers, but the mystery is good enough to keep you coming back for more. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

Bitter Root #1 sinks a hook so deep that you can't help but look up everything about the Harlem Renaissance until the next issue comes out. The characters are distinct. The art is striking. And most importantly, the renaissance feels authentic. If you've been looking forward to this series, it doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitter Root #2

Dec 11, 2018

Bitter Root #2 flips the rules it established in issue one on their head while piling on a healthy serving of action, backstory, and philosophy. Oh, and if you like racist Klansman getting what's coming to them, you'll feel seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #3

Jan 9, 2019

Bitter Root doubles down on its world-building as action propels the story forward into uncharted territory. If you'd been on the fence about this series so far, this was the issue that sinks its hooks in and makes the set up worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bitter Root #4

Feb 21, 2019

Bitter Root #4 provides mind melting action as the conflict reaches its boiling point. This is the point of no return as it seems like things are about to drastically change moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bitter Root #5

Mar 20, 2019

Bitter Root #5 had all the smoke. Action? Bet. Ass whoopins? You got it. Colors that pop more than a bowl of Rice Krispies?! Come on, son!! You already know!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitter Root: Red Summer Special #1

Jul 10, 2019

The Bitter Root Summer Special keeps us satisfied by giving us a collection of short stories that fill in our gaps of information regarding characters and events from the past. It's the perfect bridge between two arcs and it does a lot of work to flesh out some of the questions that we had after the cliffhanger at the end of the last arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Manta (2021) #1

Sep 8, 2021

Val Del Andro is doing the damn thing on the art in this debut issue. This promises to be a gritty book, and I think he captures a lot of what that feels like in Manta's design. His hardened face with a scar running down the right side tells the story of a man who you don't want to mess with. Equally, Marissa Louise on the colors has captured lots of muted greens and blues that give off an unsettling feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bonehead #1

Dec 27, 2017

The thing this issue left me wanting more of was a stronger sense of story elements. They brought that heat with everything else, but I'm not sure I have an idea where this story is going after this. I'm sure that's the point, as it hides so much of 56 from the reader. But I want to know what the conflict is, what 56 wants, and how they're going to achieve it. But this is the first issue and it had to establish an entire world let alone its protagonist. I can't wait for issue 2 to come out to see what unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bonehead #2

Jan 31, 2018

Hill & Marcellius deliver a fast-paced issue filled with backstory and insight. Interesting relationships are on the horizon and our protagonist remains an elusive enigma. I just hope to see more things from his perspective in the future as the story is at its best when he's at the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bonehead #3

Mar 14, 2018

Other than a few sections with some clunky dialogue, Bonehead continues to deliver a well-paced, action-packed story with just the right amount of mystery. This was a really balanced issue. I feel like the first issue was all action while the second issue was backstory and setup. This time around, we get a healthy serving of everything. Everybody eats. In the few areas that it may lack, Bonehead clearly makes up for that with how fun it is to read. There's a character named Pumpkin Juice for crying out loud!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dark Nights: Death Metal #1

Jun 17, 2020

Snyder and Capullo are back like they never left with their debut of Dark Nights: Death Metal, and somehow, they are still able to take it to another level with the absolute insanity on the page. If you've read any of their stories from the past few years, you're gonna want to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal #7

Jan 6, 2021

Death Metal leads right into DC's Future State, which explores new alternate futures as a result of the events of Death Metal. I don't really know how this is gonna play out in the years to come, but I will say that for the first time maybe ever, I'm leaving a big crossover event feeling a sense of finality, like maybe things will stick this time around. And if that's the case, I think the DC Universe will be better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Robin King #1

Oct 22, 2020

Robin King is another one-shot in a long line of one-shots for the Dark Nights: Death Metal event that was super enjoyable. It adds context and nuance to the character that I honestly wasn't expecting to get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Infinite Hour Exxxtreme! #1

Nov 11, 2020

Dark Nights Metal: Infinite Hour Exxxtreme! is all Lobo, all the time. If you can't handle The Main Man, get the frag out the kitchen!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal: The Secret Origin #1

Dec 24, 2020

This is another tie-in to the main Death Metal story that actually holds quite a bit of weight. It has huge ramifications for the final issue, so I'd say it is necessary to read it before Death Metal #7 comes out. Lucky for us fans, it's worthy of our time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Trinity Crisis #1

Sep 9, 2020

Death Metal: Trinity Crisis #1 is a tie-in that adds some context to the conflict of the main story. It also features art from Francis Manapul, which is all you really need to know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Death Metal Metaverse's End #1

Sep 30, 2020

Multiverse's End provides us with some light-hearted multiversal fun, proving that alternate universes don't have to be dark and brooding, even if they're filled with Batmen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC Cybernetic Summer (2020) #1

Jul 28, 2020

If you want some comics to distract you from the world burning while also giving you that sweet Summer content that we all desperately crave, the DC Cybernetic Summer Special is the book you're gonna want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC's Very Merry Multiverse (2020) #1

Dec 9, 2020

Season themed anthologies are where it's at. DC has produced a few this year, but Very Merry Multiverse is without a doubt my favorite. Make some hot chocolate, sit back, and enjoy your favorite characters celebrating the holidays that you can't this year. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #27

Feb 21, 2018

Lemire and Nguyen deliver a relatively standalone issue that, at the same time, seems to have some pretty huge implications on the greater arc of the series. And I can't wait to find out how. It's almost not fair how great these two are together. All I know is one thing: They can have my bank routing numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Descender #28

Mar 21, 2018

Lemire and Ngyuen yet again deliver a solid, seemingly effortless issue where almost all of our questions are answered without compromising the intrigue. In fact, I'm just as, if not more excited for whatever is coming as I would normally be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #29

Apr 18, 2018

Issue #29 of Descender provides action that propels the story forward. If you've been reading the series in real time, this is the issue that responds to that cliffhanger from a few months ago. It seems from here on out, the narrative is gonna get a little bit tighter as characters that were separate, are now getting closer together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Descender #30

May 29, 2018

As the series enters its possible twilight, Descender #30 provides emotional context over story progression. These puffy eyes wouldn't have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Descender #32

Jul 23, 2018

Descender may be gone, but it delivered a solid finale. Questions it posed and answered will lead us into the future of Ascender. You won't be disappointed with this final issue, but you will be sad… because from here on out, everything changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #3

Jan 23, 2020

Far Sector #3 goes a long way in showing us that Jo Mullein is experienced with the types of inequality prevalent on The City Enduring because of her own experience with it on Earth as a black woman. Having that type of history inform the will and decision making of a Green Lantern is the type of stuff that I crave. Give me more!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #5

Mar 25, 2020

Far Sector #5 gives us a lot of background on Jo Mullein that informs so much about the character in the present day. As a person of color, if you've ever wanted to relate to a Green Lantern, this is the one. Jo Mullein is for the people.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #9

Dec 2, 2020

Far Sector #9 reminds us that planets halfway across the galaxy are a lot like Earth. The people are miserable, and memes run the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #10

Feb 3, 2021

Far Sector #10 drops the answer to every question you might have as it sets up a climax guaranteed to grab your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #11

Apr 9, 2021

Far Sector's penultimate issue brings the action and the conflict as it sets up a finale where Jo Mullein has more ways to fail than she does to succeed. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Far Sector #12

Jun 9, 2021

I'm so excited for her next adventures. She's already a main character in the new Green Lantern series also featuring John Stewart, so I think it's safe to say she's not going anywhere any time soon. Jo Mullein is the future. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fearscape #1

Sep 18, 2018

Fearscape manages to blend a lot of familiar elements into a story that feels wholly original. It's hilarious, clever, and intriguing. If you're a fan of reading, no matter the genre, or the medium, this is a story you can appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Justice League #1

Jan 14, 2021

Justice League: Future State shows us that a team must come together to be successful. And in an additional story, the Justice League Dark tries to hide out before they're hunted by Merlin. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Suicide Squad #1

Jan 27, 2021

Future State: Suicide Squad proves that no matter when, no matter how, Amanda Waller is gonna put a bomb in some people's brains.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future State (2021): Green Lantern #1

Jan 14, 2021

Green Lantern: Future State #1 gives us a glimpse into the lives of some of our favorite Green Lanterns as they navigate their place in the galaxy without the power of their rings. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Aquaman #1

Jan 27, 2021

The fact that I've been convinced to invest myself in the year of our Poseidon 2021 into an Aquaman book is proof that when there's representation on the page, backed up by representation behind the scenes, stories can be elevated at least one letter grade. But probably more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): The Flash #1

Jan 6, 2021

Future State is off to a solid start as the Flash navigates a future without the Speed Force while searching for an evil Wally West channeling his best Eobard Thawne impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Immortal Wonder Woman #1

Jan 20, 2021

Immortal Wonder Woman reminds us that no matter who dons the name, Wonder Woman isn't going anywhere anytime soon, and when other heroes fade, Amazons will always persist. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Superman: House of El #1

Feb 24, 2021

Future State: Superman: House of El #1 introduces some new characters in the Kryptonian family that will make you want to pick up all Superman-related books to see where they might pop up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Nightwing #1

Jan 20, 2021

Future State: Nightwing gives us a different perspective of Gotham City, as Nightwing is on the run from the ever determined Magistrate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Shazam! #2

Feb 17, 2021

Future State: Shazam caps off its two issues by revealing who is controlling Shazam and what will happen if he says his famous catchphrase one more time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Green Lantern #2

Feb 10, 2021

Future State: Green Lantern #2 ends and promises a really compelling story on the horizon spanning the entire Green Lantern Corps. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Justice League #2

Feb 10, 2021

Justice League: Future State ends with the Justice League opening themselves up to each other to save the day, while Justice League: Dark weighs the options on how to take out Merlin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): The Flash #2

Feb 3, 2021

Future State: The Flash #2 pits science against speed as Barry takes one last stand against Famine to save Wally from certain doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Nightwing #2

Feb 17, 2021

Future State: Nightwing #2 closes with Nightwing and the new Batman taking down the new head of the Magistrate as they live to fight another day. But what it's really about, is the budding bromance between Dick Grayson and Tim Fox. I think we have two new best friends on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #3

May 6, 2020

The Green Lantern Season Two #3 quadruples down on the craziness that this series promises to deliver. We've got alternate dimensions, sad clouds, and a little love story all fitting neatly in 32 pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #5

Jul 8, 2020

This ain't your daddy's Green Lantern. But the crazed villain Hyperman and the Silver Age art will lead you to believe that this is the next best thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #7

Sep 9, 2020

The Green Lantern Season Two #7 sets up the book's future conflict while dazzling with some incredible panel layouts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #9

Nov 11, 2020

Green Lantern Season Two #9 plucks Hal from his universe and drops him into another one where Earth is protected by a group of women, and the Green Lantern Corps is a bunch of simps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #10

Dec 16, 2020

Green Lantern Season Two #10 is a multiversal story about love, being misunderstood, and wanting to be yourself. There are also a few extremely clever instances of wordplay that will guarantee a chuckle out of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2021) #1

Apr 9, 2021

Green Lantern #1 gives us John Stewart as the man in charge as he leads the Green Lantern Corps into a new era of galactic history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2021) #2

May 5, 2021

I'm really loving how this series is wasting no time ramping up the stakes, and how after the second issue, it seems things are going in a different direction than I initially thought. This series is safe in Thorne, Soy, and Santucci's hands. My mouth is full of popcorn and my hands buttered up while I wait to see how these characters navigate these unprecedented situations they find themselves in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2021) #3

Jun 4, 2021

And on top of all of that, this issue receives extra credit for focusing on its two main Black characters. I know that that's what this book essentially will be from here on out, but this issue was just really successful at displaying their agency. If you read this site, you know how important it is to see ourselves in these characters and behind the scenes. It's truly a joy. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2021) #6

Sep 8, 2021

Things are slowly setting up to come to a head in the next few issues. Sinestro affectionately and accurately called Jo Mullein "Last Lantern" during their confrontation, and while it's accurate, and dope as hell, I hope it doesn't spell too much danger in Jo's future. At least not before she can meet up with some of her other Oan homies.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hardware (2021): Season One #1

Aug 13, 2021

All in all, like Icon, Hardware's debut issue wasn't too different from the original run back in the day, but I'm sure as things really get going, things will take a few unexpected turns. I know I'm here for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Icon & Rocket (2021): Season One #1

Jul 27, 2021

All in all, Icon & Rocket still have really strong chemistry, even in 2021. They still feed off of each other really well. Icon is more than a Black Superman, and Rocket is more than a sidekick. Hudlin does a good job conveying that to us in this debut.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Icon & Rocket (2021): Season One #2

Aug 25, 2021

In Icon & Rocket #2, we see the dynamic duo go through a montage of crime fighting as they clean up their neighborhood and inspire their community.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Frontier (2021) #0

Mar 3, 2021

There were some really promising glimpses in this zero issue. Even some connections to things we saw in Future State.  Everything seems to have a level of connectivity that hasn't been felt in a while. Some of the swings are big, and I hope they stick to some of the changes that are being made. All in all, Infinite Frontier really looks to fulfill its promise in being infinite, at least when it comes to what the possibilities may be. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Frontier (2021) #1

Jun 23, 2021

Xermancio did something really cool with the art in this Infinite Frontier #1. When Flash makes it to Earth Omega, he meets a big bad who I won't mention, but his presence makes Flash cycle through different versions of this meeting that have taken place over the multiverse. Or at least that's how I interpreted it. Xermancio conveys this by illustrating in a different art style in each panel that passes. It's reinforced by different lettering styles as well. It was really well done and I'm not sure if I've seen something like that in a comic before. At least not anything I can remember. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infinite Frontier (2021) #2

Jul 14, 2021

The DEO essentially wants the same thing that Justice Incarnate wants, but they operate more like a bureaucratic agency with agents in the field and guns and paperwork. Not too dissimilar to the Time Variance Authority on the Loki show. Operating in this way allows them to get deeper into the mystery of what's going on than Justice Incarnate. They seem to be handling the big stuff. The DEO is handling the stuff falling through the cracks, but even their motivations are yet to be revealed. I can't really say if they're the good guys or the bad guys at this point, but they are getting some answers. What they've found out in this issue in regards to whose influencing things is a major development. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #4

May 6, 2020

Issue #4 of Criminal Sanity follows Harley as she gets closer than ever in figuring out who the Joker is. At the same time, he's seemingly leaving breadcrumbs that lead to him on purpose. Their inevitable meeting is getting really close.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

Nothing but respect for my Green Lantern. Other than the story which was a bit on the safe side, Priest sets up some interesting themes in trust and culpability that Batman is going to have to grapple with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Justice League (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Along with the much-needed variety, this issue brings a fun, humorous, and wacky adventure with some surprising faces. However, the team is haunted by their mistakes and their public perception. Things are going to get a lot worse before they get better. But for the first time in a long time, I'm rooting for them not just because they're the Justice League, but because I know a bit more about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #36

Jan 2, 2018

This was a solid issue that doubled down on the conflict and even added a new layer. The League is bickering with each other and the world doesn't want their help anymore. They've hit rock bottom. Which means next issue is the start of the rise. With this killer on the lose, maybe they'll finally have something to punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

All in all, Justice League continues to be pretty solid. I'm happy to finally know who's causing the League so many problems. But what makes me even more hype is thinking about how when the League stops this new adversary, the world's disdain for it will be even more amplified. It really hammers home the duality of a hero. Yeah, the League is in a position of privilege. That's the only word to describe someone who gets to chill in the Watchtower, but that privilege comes with a burden. I'm happy to see that things aren't gonna be resolved by simply shifting the blame onto an adversary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

As much as I've loved Priest's run so far, 5 issues in, I am still yearning for a bit more conflict. I love the development of these characters but at times it feels like it might be at the expense of the action. There haven't been a lot of punches thrown and while that was okay in the beginning, it's starting to drag a little. It feels like every issue ends on a cliffhanger and then it's barely addressed if at all in the next issue. Hopefully, it picks up. I'm optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

My one issue with this issue (hahaha) is that yet again it seems like the plot isn't progressing much. Really interesting things keep happening, but they never seem to move the narrative forward. I could definitely see the fallout of what's going on lingering into Snyder's run, and I really hope that's what happens. I'm not saying I need the League to throw more punches, I'd just like to see the resolution on the horizon at this point. But the predicament that Grobyc is in (for me) more than makes up for it. I'm just trynna be objective and give a well-rounded analysis, okay?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

This book's conflict continues to rise, and though The Fan's motives are clearer than ever, the team is still only in a reactionary mode. They haven't made any strides in taking him out. That's where this run has lacked thus far. They're getting their asses handed to them mentally, physically, and socially. And they can't seem to figure out how to make a move. It does seem like things are tying together a bit more over the past few issues, so maybe there is some sort of restitution on the way. Overall this was a solid issue filled with thought-provoking commentary on the rights and wrongs of vigilante justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

Things are beginning to wrap up in this arc. There's still some gas in the tank but we've entered the third act. I've liked this run a lot since the beginning, but this was one of my favorite issues so far. It had a little bit of everything. Action, commentary, and humor. And it was all balanced really well. It also capitalizes on the Black Panther craze by centering a story in Africa. Not that it was intentional, but it can only help.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

No joke, I've had some all-time favorite comics moments while reading this, and for that, I am forever grateful. Issue #43 of Christopher Priest and Pete Wood's Justice League ties up every major plot point while leaving the reader more than satisfied. It also leaves the door wide open for Snyder to take the reins in a few weeks. Justice League will return on May 9th, with No Justice, a weekly event that will spill right into Scott Snyder's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Justice League sets out to be Snyder's most ambitious comic to date. After one issue, it's holding up to its promise. Snyder and his team are focused and full of purpose, all while having a bit of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

So far, two issues in and this series is everything that's been promised. They swing for the fences, and we reap the benefits. Justice League is epic, personal, mysterious, and authentic. This feels like it's gonna shape up to be a definitive run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

Justice League continues to make my 10-year-old self happy, while delivering a complex story filled with authentic character-driven moments. Snyder and Jiminez are delivering their best work twice a month without missing a beat. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 17, 2018

Justice League #4 displays the book's balance as more characters are explored without sacrificing the other things that make this series work so well. If we've learned anything other than the fact that Snyder is reaching for GOAT status with this book " it's that Justice League is a model of consistency.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Even with a different creative team, Justice Lea"I mean Legion of Doom #1 delivers everything we've come to expect from this title along with a fresh perspective: both on the page, and behind the scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

Seriously, if you're not reading this series at this point, you're doing yourself a disservice. Justice League is indulging us in all our urges and cravings: Conflict, balance, shock, awe, and humor. The only disappointing thing is that each issue has to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

Though it left some things to be desired, the finale of Justice League's first arc undoubtedly planted seeds that will blossom into the most viciousvenus fly trap of misfortune. And they ain't ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

Justice League #8 used the evilest villains of the DC Multiverse to conduct a case study on trust. I think it's safe to say that there isn't much of it to go around. And with The Batman Who Laughs rearing his creepy ass head, the Justice League & the Legion of Doom are both in for some trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 3, 2018

Justice League #9 shows us a day in the life of the team when the world isn't in immediate danger. Some powerful and relatable themes are explored in a way that really brings these gods and aliens down to Earth. To say this was one of my favorite comics to come out this year would be an understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

The prelude to “Drowned Earth” makes your mouth water with thirst quenching art from Francis Manapul, while simultaneously convincing you how dope Space Krakens are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

Justice League #11 follows Mera's lead as unconventional groups begin to find the answers they need to turn the tide of the conflict in their favor. If you like swashbuckling adventures featuring superheroes, this is the issue you've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

Justice League #12 gives the fractured teams of the JL a small W as they gear up for what's gonna be an uphill battle to drain the Earth of the infectious space water. Meanwhile, the Ocean Lords and Black Manta, trying to dodge defeat, are about to throw their hail mary" The Death Kraken.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #13

Dec 5, 2018

Justice League #13 gives us one of the darkest issues of the series as the Joker reveals his true reasoning for joining the Legion of Doom. The answer shouldn't shock you, but it is kind of funny. Remember, everything's all one big joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #14

Dec 17, 2018

If you missed Hawkgirl, John Stewart, and Martian Manhunter the past few issues, this story is here to make sure it was all worth it. The Secret ofHawkworld provides new history, fragmented origins and some deep, dark secrets that promise to make this arc a linchpin of the overarching story Snyder and Co. are crafting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #15

Jan 9, 2019

Justice League #15 gives us some clever action involving Martian Manhunter, Hawkgirl, and John Stewart, while planting the seeds for a new conflict to blossom over the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #16

Jan 23, 2019

Sixteen issues in, Justice Leaguestill feels like one of the most important books on the shelf for DC. It's the type of stuff that's gonna have ripple effects far beyond the tie-in JL books. This is the forefront of the DC multiverse, and you don't want to miss the puzzle pieces being placed week after week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Justice League (2018) #17

Feb 6, 2019

After a brief moment with Justice and Doom on equalfooting, the fate of the universe is still in question. Justice League #17 gave us a heartwarming and heartbreaking flashback with J'onn and Luthor that could end up being the key that opens the door to them working together in order to help save the universe from Perpetua.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #18

Feb 20, 2019

Luthor calls game on Braniac as the two gargantuan intellects join forces like KD and the 73-9 Warriors. The Justice League are now the clear underdogs. Let's hope they can pull off a major upset. The fate of the universe depends on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #19

Mar 7, 2019

Snyder, aka The Architect, has laid out a solid set up issue for what might just be the most fun arc of the series so far. And when you pair that with Jiminez's wholesome art, you've got yourself a comic book experience that feels like a warm hug. Every panel of this issue took me back to the moments that made me fall in love with comics as a kid. You can't go wrong with wacky fun and DLC skins for the whole squad. You just can't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #20

Mar 20, 2019

Justice League #20 delivers some satisfying sights into the future, both for the characters and the audience. This arc continues to display one of the boldest stories Snyder's ever written and gives us some of the most enjoyable art from Jimenez. Missing out on this arc is like choosing not to eat dessert after dinner. Shame on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #21

Apr 3, 2019

Justice League #21 gives us a healthy balance of giant imps, uncharacteristic Batman opinions, and overpowered index fingers. It's proven yet again that it's a series that is without a doubt about that life. You better recognize.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #22

Apr 17, 2019

Justice League #22 gives us a history of the DC multiverse in a way that plants Perpetua front and center. She's the mother of everything. And she's disappointed in her kids. The only problem with that is, the entire multiverse could pay the price.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #23

May 1, 2019

Justice League #23 brings us back to the sixth dimension where our heroes' quest for justice once again is held under a microscope. Good is bad. Bad is good. And Batman might have the power to end everything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #24

May 15, 2019

Justice League #24 gives us an interesting dynamic between the Justice League and the alternate future version of the Legion of Doom while Batman contemplates a decision that might change what you think about him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #25

Jun 5, 2019

Justice League #25 manages to stick the landing on one of the most satisfying and thought-provoking comic arcs to come out of the big two in recent memory. And the best word to describe the set up for what's to come is" Doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #26

Jun 19, 2019

Justice League #26 ushers in a new arc filled with comic book eye candy, hella stressed heroes, and an expanded team that brings me back to the days of Justice League Unlimited, when the whole DC squad could pull up on you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #27

Jul 3, 2019

Justice League #27gives us a Martian Manhunter damsel in distress, with Hawkgirl coming to the rescue murkin' everyone with her mace. Meanwhile, their alternate future son has an existential crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #28

Jul 17, 2019

Justice League #28 closes out the Apex Predator arc providing us with a whole milk, mayonnaise infused Lex Luthor who is one step closer to his plans coming to fruition along with the destruction of the DC multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #29

Aug 7, 2019

As we head into the “Justice/Doom War,” Snyder, Tynion IV, Redondo, and Jarro refresh our memories on the past few years of the DC Universe in a way that still manages to flesh out the characters of the story– especially some of the ones lacking exposure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #30

Aug 28, 2019

If you haven't been reading this series so far, this is a pretty good point to jump in. As I stated, it does a good job of streamlining the conflict of the past 29 issues and clearly stating what the good guys and the bad guys want. So, if you're not a completionist like me, jump right in blind! You won't be confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 5, 2019

All in all, this was a fantastic issue filled to the brim with a plethora of things that make comics great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #33

Oct 2, 2019

Justice League #33 sets the heroes up for a stellar come back while doubling down on the time travel multiversal madness that's made this run so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2018) #34

Oct 16, 2019

Justice League #34 handed a big fat L to the Justice League with their most pivotal player choking when the team needed her most. You can't blame her, there's a lot at stake and she wants to make Luthor pay for what he's done. Okay, maybe you can blame her. But her mistake only sets her up for a stellar comeback.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #35

Nov 6, 2019

The Legion of Doom are out here comin' with all the smoke like an underground group trying to get signed to a record deal by putting out the hottest mixtape the streets have seen in years. Their schemes? Flawless. Their execution? Airtight. Their style and charisma? Toxic. They bodied the Justice League this issue without even directly throwing a single punch. Meanwhile, the Justice League is out here hiring ghost-writers for their response track.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #36

Nov 20, 2019

Despite the heavy themes the art was still loose and fun to offset some of the darker moments that the implications of the narrative imply.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #38

Dec 18, 2019

Characters like Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman have taken a back seat during this run so others could get the spotlight. And I'm glad that that's the case. But It was also great to see this moment play out with these characters. Their intertwined stories made it a more than earned scene. And I think it ultimately did its job, as it wound up taking Lex down a few pegs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #40

Feb 5, 2020

Justice League #40 debuts with a new creative team, new approach, and new conflict. The League faces the Eradicator and his Daxamite army as they look to conquer Earth and put the smackdown on our favorite Kryptonian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #42

Mar 6, 2020

In Justice League #42 the Eradicator and his Daxamite army continue to reign supreme over the Justice League, but a new plan promises to turn the tide over in the good guys' favor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #45

May 28, 2020

Justice League #45 was a fun read that provided a dope fight between the team that ultimately sets up the conflict they'll face for this arc and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #48

Jul 8, 2020

Justice League #48 makes our heroes face a moral choice when a new species of aliens wants them to become their Gods. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #51

Aug 19, 2020

If you want something dark featuring the Justice League while also not having much to do with the grander stakes of the DC narrative, this is a book you're gonna want to read. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #55

Oct 22, 2020

Justice League #55 pits the team against each other and Nightwing will have to trust Luthor if he wants everyone to survive. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #56

Nov 4, 2020

Justice League: Death Metal #56 gave us a battle of the wits and fists with Hawkgirl and Mindhunter fight for the fate of J'onn J'onnz.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #59

Mar 17, 2021

Bendis' Justice League debut is a solid start for what promises to be an interesting take on the flagship DC team. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #60

Apr 21, 2021

In a short in the back of the issue, the Justice League Dark team meets the OG Justice League and Zatanna is appointed the leader of the JLD. Meanwhile, Merlin is out in the streets bringing monsters to life from classic literature.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #61

May 18, 2021

In the Justice League Dark short at the end of the book, our magical heroes fight literature (literally) in a possessed library. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #62

Jun 4, 2021

In the bonus Justice League Dark story, the JLD are learning fast that you can't fight literature with measly weapons. You gotta get down and dirty with the magic. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) Annual #1

Jan 30, 2019

Look, I've been pretty high on this series from the jump, but this issue right here is easily the best issue of the entire series. Snyder, Tynion IV, and company are at the top of their game, yet they're still reaching for the stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Oct 31, 2018

All is lost for our heroes as they're drowning in the rising flood waters of the conflict. There's a glimmer of hope on the horizon as they regroup and figure out how to get rid of all this purple water.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Infinity (2021) #1

Jul 7, 2021

All in all, if you're a fan of the animated show, reading this book will make you happy. It's new stories with the same version of the cast of characters that you know and love so well, shepherded by those who helped bring them to life back in the day. There's a lot to love about this book. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Last Ride #1

May 12, 2021

Mendona on art is doing a good job drawing the generalized versions of these characters. They may not have their most up-to-date uniforms on, but they still embody the characters we know and present the visual motifs that make them who they are. Mendona has also done a good job making everyone look eternally sad and tired. I finished this issue really wanting to give Superman a hug. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Last Ride #2

Jun 9, 2021

Justice League: Last Ride #2 also deals with the idea of "Batman's orders," which is also the name of this chapter. Where the past and present show us the Caped Crusader barking demands left and right. In the past, things go smoothly – right up until the moment that they don't. In the present, with the ‘Batman dropped the ball last time' context, we get the feeling that Bruce doesn't hold as much weight in the League as he used to. Batman's orders don't ring the same bells and Zdarsky lets the reader sit with that. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Last Ride #3

Jul 14, 2021

Justice League: Last Ride #3 gives us Batman eating S'mores, and Superman making a cross galactic phone call. What more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Last Ride #4

Aug 13, 2021

Issue after issue, Zdarsky formats these books with "Before" taking place in the first half of the issue, showing us events in the past, and "Now" showing us the present. This structure is really effective in informing the new narrative by giving context from the past. It's like a recap of a story we haven't read before, and it always makes things in the present hit harder than they would have if we just learned about all of this in some exposition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Last Ride #5

Sep 15, 2021

We all know the popular "Darkseid is." line. It's eerie and ominous and reassures dominance. And this book plays with that line masterfully: Darkseid is power. It's simple and on its own doesn't have a lot of impact. But coupled with the image of the central power battery exploding and Darkseid absorbing all of its energy like a souped up Thanos with the Infinity Gauntlet, that line is chilling. Mendona and Angiolini were in their bags for that scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

No Justice is a Double Stuf Oreo on the page and behind the scenes, but the beautiful art coupled with the promise of some great action make up for it a bit. Those who have been wanting a wider-scope Justice League story will have their appetites fed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 16, 2018

No Justice #2 defines each team's objectives while delivering refreshing character moments that you could only get with teams this random. Etrigan droppin' bars to help bring to life magic zombie aliens is also a plus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 22, 2018

No Justice #3 continues to provide interesting character dynamics, but at times, all that gets lost in the A1 stake sauce.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 31, 2018

In the end, No Justice was more icing than cake, but I've got a sweet tooth so I ate it all up anyway. Things were wrapped up nicely in a way that gets you excited and optimistic for Snyder's take on this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 26, 2018

Following No Justice, Justice League Odyssey sends a diverse team of heroes (and one mad, manipulative villain), to the far corners of space. While it may be a bit hard to place in regard to the main Justice League title, this is still a book that feels like it will have some big implications on this new and expanding DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 23, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #2 reveals the strange space religions revolving Starfire, Cyborg, and Azrael, and it's as creepy as you'd think it'd be. But the strength of the issue was how the character's motivations pull us forward in the story by providing organic situations that convey their stances.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League: Odyssey #3

Nov 28, 2018

Justice League Odyssey #3 gives us some hearty moments with our characters as they get some time to just be people in the midst of all the craziness. But that moment is fleeting as a new threat is revealed to be on their tail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #4

Jan 2, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #4places Cyborg front and center as he grapples with the morality of accepting his role as a god if it means being able to save an entire race of people. That might seem like a heavy burden, but it's just a normal Wednesday for Vic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League: Odyssey #5

Jan 30, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #5 reminds us that this book is a puzzle piece in the enormous Justice League story being told across three books right now. If you're a completionist like myself, this is one of the things you live for. All these books are droppin' mad breadcrumbs, and I'm getting fat off all the clues and threads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #6

Feb 27, 2019

The underdog team regroups as they gear up to confront Darkseid about his plans to build a New Apokolips. New revelations, new motivations, and renewed purpose all make for a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Odyssey #7

Mar 27, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #7 returns to the space-based action that propelled us through the first few issues as Starfire loses control of herself and her powers, Jessica Cruz's power depletes more of its charge, and Darkseid is a sad sack of potatoes sprawled out on a foreign alien planet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #8

Apr 10, 2019

Darkseid teaches a freshman-level philosophy class in Justice League Odyssey #8. And your classmates are Cyborg, Starfire, and Azrael. Green Lantern Jessica Cruz is trying to add the class but it's full right now. Make sure you don't miss more than three days before the midterm otherwise he'll drop you and you'll get that nasty W on your transcripts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #9

May 8, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #9 aligned us with Jessica Cruz's perspective as the rest of the team is coming off like they've been drinking too much of Darkseid's Kool-Aid. Jessica might have to throw some Lantern hands with her buddies in the coming issues. And if it's anyone, I'm glad it's her. She's the most level headed out of all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #10

Jun 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #10 brings us to the point that the series has been building towards from its first issue: A confrontation with Darkseid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #11

Jul 10, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #11 sets us up for some internal conflict that the heroes will have to overcome if they're gonna be able to stop Darkseid from enacting his plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Odyssey #12

Aug 14, 2019

The Odyssey team faced an impossible task as they geared up to face a calculated Darkseid that's planned out every move that's taken place since the beginning of the series. The only intangible is Green Lantern Jessica Cruz. But she may not be enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #13

Sep 12, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #13 switches up the beat by introducing us to some new faces with the same aspirations to defeat Darkseid. Also, Jessica Cruz channels her inner Jesus and enters her life after death.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #5

Mar 25, 2020

Legion of Superheroes #5 continues to expand the conflict between the President of United Planets and the young hero taskforce that she helped create. We also get more confused Superboy. And we can never have enough of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #7

Jul 29, 2020

Legion of Super-Heroes #7 packs it's pages with a moment for the Legion to regroup, and they spend that time figuring out who should be their new leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #9

Sep 30, 2020

While it was a fun and often exciting way to read a comic, I do think the story suffered a bit from this approach. It quickly got formulaic and after a while, you wanted something else to happen. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Martian Manhunter (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

Simply put, if you're a fan of Martian Manhunter aka The Green Sad Boi, you won't be disappointed with this first issue. It gives us a unique glimpse into the mind of one of the most private characters in the DC Universe. We're gonna get to discover J'onn as he discovers himself. I'm so happy my dawg is getting the shine he deserves, even if he's probably afraid of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #2

Jan 9, 2019

Martian Manhunter continues to be a treasure trove for renewed Martian lore as it creates an authentic representation for an entire fictional culture in ways that haven't been done before. You find yourself lost in the hopes and dreams of these characters– some of them green blobs– and then you remember that they're all gonna die. Powerful stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #3

Feb 27, 2019

Another issue, another look into the lonely life of J'onn J'onnz. My favorite thing about this book is that it's really enabled J'onn to wear his heart on his sleeve. In the first 2 issues, that was solely for the sake of the audience. But now we get to see the first time that he opens up to a human and it's a beautiful thing. This is the wholesome Martian goodness I've always wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #4

Mar 27, 2019

As we reach the end of the first third of the series, Orlando and Rossmo double down on the choices that make Martian Manhunterone of the boldest books on the shelves. It's intimidating but always rewarding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #5

May 22, 2019

Martian Manhunter #5 disrupts J'onn's flow as an adversary from his past shows up on present-day Earth. Orlando and Rossmo continue to sprinkle in important moments from J'onn's life on Mars, but it looks like this issue is setting up for a major deep dive into the past that should inform the motivations of the characters for the second half of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #6

Jun 26, 2019

Martian Manhunter shows us every corner of J'onn's history as he attempts to piece himself back together and become the hero that we all recognize. The first six issues of this series show J'onn as a lonely wanderer. By the end of the next six, he'll be a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #7

Jul 24, 2019

J'onn and Meade begin to mend their fractured relationship as they inch closer to finding Ashley and her Martian kidnapper Charnn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #8

Aug 28, 2019

Martian Manhunter #8 makes me cry yet again as we delve into Meade's rough past and the early days with her late partner John Jones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Martian Manhunter (2018) #9

Oct 23, 2019

J'onn gets what he needs from the fossilized memories, and Charnn is about to level up now that he has a human subject that isn't dying from his experiments. In order to match Charnn's strength, J'onn is gonna have to step it up himself. He reveals that he hasn't been operating at 100% this whole time, and in order to fully commit to the Martian Manhunter that he is, he must fully confront his past and deal with the repressed trauma of his family and an entire race of people dying. He's got about a couple of hours to do all that, but I've got faith in my guy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Martian Manhunter (2018) #10

Nov 27, 2019

This whole issue is a true testament to the teamwork on display with Orlando and Rossmo. This wouldn't work as uniquely well as it does without them. I'm not even sure anyone else would have thought of doing this the way that they did. It was really cool to see the comics medium borrow some aesthetics from the gaming world. We see a lot of back and forth between comics and movies due to how similar they are, and I'm not at all trying to insinuate that this is the first time we've seen a comic implore some visual cues familiar to video games, but it was a nice change of pace and the perfect metaphor for what J'onn is going through and how he had to overcome it. Not to mention it was executed so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #12

Feb 5, 2020

Twelve issues and a year later, this series is over. But its legacy is going to last for a long time. Comics are so prevalent in pop culture now that there's a new fan every day. People are constantly getting into the medium as a fan. And it can be hard to know where to start. This Martian Manhunter series serves as the perfect jumping-off point for J'onn and incredibly sets the tone for the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

May 26, 2021

In the meantime, let's all celebrate Shilo Norman's moment in the limelight, and hope he's here to stay. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister Miracle #2

Jun 23, 2021

I gotta give a quick shoutout to Rico Renzi on the colors for Mister Miracle #2. One, because colorists never get the love that they deserve, but also because my guy is killing it with 2/3rds of the primary colors prevalent in the book. Mister Miracle has a lot of red and yellow in his costume and surroundings, but Renzi continually finds a way to make those colors feel fresh and have purpose when I imagine that's got to be incredibly hard. So yeah, shout out to him. My eyes are thankful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle: The Source of Freedom (2021) #4

Aug 25, 2021

Mister Miracle: Source of Freedom #4 is my favorite issue of this series so far. It's giving HBO Watchmen Hooded Justice vibes. They really just revamped and re-contextualized a Golden Era DC character right before our eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #78

Mar 17, 2021

This is set up to be an all-time run if you ask me. Taylor and Redondo are two of the best talents in comics, and Nightwing is a fan favorite who needs a little TLC. I'm so excited to see where this story goes. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #79

Apr 21, 2021

Nightwing #79 gives us some heart, then rips it away. If you haven't been reading this book, shame on you. Change that now. You won't regret it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #80

May 19, 2021

Nightwing's gonna have to take a double dose of the H-Factor for his meeting with Heartless next issue. We still know so little about him, other than, you know, he takes people's hearts. Can't wait to see how Nightwing handles this dude. Check back for next month's review where I have an over 60% chance of referencing Kanye West's song "Heartless."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #81

Jun 16, 2021

There's some more heavy heart stuff in this Nightwing #81, but I'm not gonna spoil it here. I'll save that for you when you read the actual book. Be ready, though. Long time Nightwing fans are gonna feel some type of way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #82

Jul 21, 2021

Tom Taylor and Co. really have something special on their hands with this Nightwing book. I feel like I'm saying this every issue now, but this might wind up being an all-time run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #83

Aug 18, 2021

Why am I crying right now? Because Nightwing is one of the best books out right now. I keep saying this month after month, and each time I pick up a new issue I think no way can this top last month" and then it does.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punchline (2020) #1

Nov 11, 2020

Punchline #1 gives Gotham's newest villain the spotlight in a series that promises to have as many twists and turns as it does "WTF" moments. If you like podcasts, this one is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shazam! (2021) #1

Jul 21, 2021

Henry on the art adds a stylized flair to Shazam #1 that lightens up the mood and keeps it fun, especially in the areas that get kind of heavy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shazam! (2021) #2

Aug 18, 2021

Shoutout to Henry and Maiolo on the art in Shazam #2, because it never even crossed my mind that demonic figures named Sulibak could look like they just walked out of a club in 1984 and hopped in a Corvette with the top down playing Push It To The Limit. But I'm glad that I know what that looks like now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Static (2021): Season One #1

Jun 16, 2021

Milestone is back! And hopefully it's here to stay this time. That's all up to us. Let's not give them any reason to think these books don't deserve to be on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Static (2021): Season One #2

Jul 28, 2021

Static #2 provides some breathing room for characters and audience alike after a debut issue filled to the brim with action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Static (2021): Season One #3

Sep 1, 2021

We may be two issues into this book, but it's really not until this issue where Static is truly born.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange Adventures (2020) #2

Jun 17, 2020

If you like sad heroes with a personal conflict, but more importantly, Black super genius detectives, then Strange Adventures #2 is out here to tell you that you should be reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Submerged #3

Oct 17, 2018

Submerged #3 provides a hurricane of emotions as our protagonist Elysia must confront and swim through a downpour of horrible memories that stand in the way of her and her lost brother. Ayala, Sterle, Delladia, and Deering are the perfect storm of artists for this story, conveying everything with the heights of their talents. If you aren't reading this book, put on your wetsuit and swim to your local comic book store to pick it up. And hurry before the ink starts to bleed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #4

Mar 25, 2020

Suicide Squad #4 dives deep into just who the Revolutionaries are and why they're in the Suicide Squad. Oh, and some Captain Boomerang too. Can't get enough of that guy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #5

May 28, 2020

Suicide Squad #5 continues to impress with its character work, incredible art, and numerous twists and turns that keep me on the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #7

Jul 29, 2020

Suicide Squad #7 provides us with a John Wick-esque story centered around Deadshot. There's a disgruntled protagonist who wants to throw his dangerous life away in an effort to spend more time with his family, a shaggy head of hair and even a cute little dog. Nothing could go wrong, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2021) #3

May 5, 2021

It's safe to say this book is in good hands, and it's heading in a good direction. I'm looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2021) #5

Jul 7, 2021

Aside from the story, I liked learning a bit about Bloodsport as he's going to be a major character in the new Suicide Squad movie. I'm not ashamed to say I'd never heard of him before seeing the trailer, but now I can go in with a base level of knowledge. It definitely seemed like Thompson made an effort to give us a little backstory to help bring the character out of obscurity. I'm also pretty sure his entire existence in this book is informed by the fact that he's about to be in a movie. I know how capitalism works. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman (2018) #29

Mar 10, 2021

In a short secondary story at the end of the issue, we get Tales From Metropolis, where Jimmy Olsen heads out into the field to interview some of the more unique citizens of Metropolis. This first story follows DC Comics' everyman, Bibbo Bibbowski. It's a pleasant and organic view of a legendary city through eyes other than Superman's. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018) #30

Apr 14, 2021

We're three issues into this new run and no matter what the conflict is, wholesome familial bonds are at the center of the overarching story. I love that. And I think it's perfect for a Superman story at this point in time. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018): Villains #1

Mar 6, 2020

Superman:Villains #1 provides us with an unfiltered look at the impact that Superman's Clark Kent reveal has on his loved ones, and those he's been fighting with for so long. If you've ever wanted to see how Lex Luthor is taking the news that Superman is just a regular degular guy, this is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Flashpoint #1

Dec 9, 2020

Tales from the Dark Multiverse: Flashpoint is yet again a fire tie-in to the Dark Night's storyline. Do you need to read it? No. Will your life be better if you do? Hell yes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Hush #1

Nov 4, 2020

Batman Hush haunts us all with another fantastic one-shot tie-in. It's not necessary to read, but you'll regret not reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 24, 2021

If none of that is enough for you, Beast Boy is a full-on Zaddy with a full torso and a beard and Cyborg actually has something to do. You love to see it, and let's hope to see more stuff we love in the coming issues.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

Teen Titans Academy #3 centers a story around new Teen Titan Bolt as she tries to flee the captive claws of the Suicide Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 11, 2018

Snyder and Jock convey a quiet intensity that leaves you unsettled well after you've finished reading. Few times do I have audible reactions while reading a comic book, but while reading this first issue, I gasped or winced more than once. That's how you know you've got something special on your hands. Something you know they're gonna be talking about for years to come. Who knows, when it's all said and done, it might be up there as one of the best Batman stories of all time" but we've still got five issues until we get to the punchline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #2 will make you do anything but laugh. In fact, whatever time you read this will be the farthest you'll be from laughter all day. Bruce is having a really bad time, and Jock and Snyder use every tool in the shed to put the audience in his shoes so we can not only see what Bats is going through, we but feel it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 10, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #4 highlights Batman's descent into darkness with its stellar lettering by Sal Cipriano. Snyder and Jock create a story that's mentally and visually unsettling, but Cipriano's eerie lettering hits you in the soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #5 puts Batman against one of the toughest walls ever built. What opens as an issue with a glimmer of hope, eventually turns into one of the darkest cliffhangers in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs #6 throws everything at the kitchen sink as it evens the playing field and answers a lot of questions except the big ones. It prepares us for a finale that promises to challenge what we think is going to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 31, 2019

In The Batman Who Laughsfinale, Bruce has to accept that he's trash and bad at his job in order to stop his evil counterpart from turning the entire city into hateful human beings. He's the worst Batman, but that just makes him the best one for the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Joker (2021) #1

Mar 10, 2021

In a short at the end of the issue, Punchline faces trial for crimes committed under Joker's tutelage. While in prison on the days between facing the judge, she makes a name for herself by picking fights with the top dog in her cell block. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Joker (2021) #2

Apr 14, 2021

In a short at the end of the issue, we get the continued story following Harper Row as she tries to figure out what Puncline is planning while behind bars and on trial for aiding the Joker in multiple murders. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Joker (2021) #3

May 12, 2021

In a short at the end of the book, Harper Row starts to piece together Punchline's past, in an effort to understand what made her such a big fan of the Joker.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #5

May 28, 2020

The second to last issue of The Low, Low Woods perfectly sets up a dramatic and dynamic ending for El and Octavia, as they're finally going to be in a position to find out what the missing chunks of their memories are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans United (2021) #1

Sep 15, 2021

You know these characters so well already, so the book doesn't need to waste any time introducing you. And Scott has a good handle on them as well. Nobody feels out of place, and their characteristics are so well defined.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wasted Space #1

Apr 13, 2018

Wasted Space is a welcomed newcomer to the space saga genre. It gives you many things that you've seen before, but in a very different way. That's one of Vault's strengths as a publisher. I'm in the camp that it's impossible to come up with something 100% original, but if you put the right spin on it, it can make your story feel like something that's never been seen before. That's what Wasted Space seems to be shaping up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Girl (2021) #3

Sep 1, 2021

You wanna talk about colors? Let's talk about colors. Jones' colors on her section of the book make me feel like I've just discovered color for the first time in my life. Like I was born a minute before I opened the book. I thought I knew what brown, pink, and yellow were. But Jones showed me that I had no idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #4

Aug 19, 2020

Wonder Woman: Dead Earth gives us a dark look at a world that Wonder Woman broke and is now burdened with fixing. If you like giant monsters with tendrils and corpses in superhero costumes, this might be the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More