Rokk's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Revolution Reviews: 161
6.5Avg. Review Rating

7.5
A+X #1

Nov 2, 2012

A+X provides the vehicle for readers to go on an adventurous romp throughout the entire Marvel Universe with the characters from Marvel's two tent pole franchises serving as their guides. The one-shot nature of the stories also makes this A+X a title that a reader can pick up at any point without worrying about understanding what is going on in the title. I must admit that the entire philosophy and concept behind A+X is a brilliant one and something that Marvel desperately needed to do with the Marvel NOW relaunch. Now, if only they could figure a way to make their product more financially attractive to new readers and younger readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
A-Force #1

May 22, 2015

A-Force #1 was an average read. I can't recommend buying it, but I can't recommend avoiding it, either. It is just an awkward in-between issue. Like I said before, I think an all female team is as weird and unappealing as an all male team. So, A-Force #1 had limited appeal to me in the first place. If you just cannot get enough all female action then A-Force #1 will probably be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Action Comics (2011) #41

Jun 9, 2015

Action Comics #41 was a weak start to this "new" direction for this franchise. I was not impressed with the unoriginal plot foundation for this new direction for Superman. Editorially driven plots rarely excited me. However, I wanted to like this issue because I am a fan of Pak's writing. Unfortunately, the product that was delivered with Action Comics #41 was of low quality. I cannot recommend that people spend their hard-earned money on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Adventures Of Superman #522

Jan 7, 2011

Adventure Comics #522 was another solid read. This was the best issue by Levitz since he took over Adventure Comics. The story on this title has lagged behind the excellent work that Levitz has been delivering on Legion of Super Heroes. Now that the two titles are synced together in terms of the story I believe that Adventure Comics will rapidly become an entertaining read each and every month. I would recommend giving Adventure Comics a chance. Levitzs Legion of Super Heroes is still the best super hero team title on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Age of Ultron #1

Mar 6, 2013

To be sure, Age of Ultron #1 was not a terrible read. It was simply a decidedly average read in just about every aspect. Readers who prefer some substance to their stories and like creative plotlines that intrigue the reader will surely be disappointed in this shallow story. Readers who have been enjoying the breath of fresh air provided to the Marvel Universe by MarvelNOW will be disappointed in this issue that reads very much like a Marvel comic from the 2000's. I would only recommend Age of Ultron to readers who loved Bendis' run on the Avengers and New Avengers. This title is definitely tailor made for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #0

Oct 8, 2015

Less is more. It would be great to see Marvel scale back the Avengers franchise so that it is not stretched so far that it loses its core qualitiesand no longer becomes something that is special or interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #1

Nov 12, 2015

Overall: All New All Different Avengers #1 was a wretched debut issue for this new direction for Marvel's flagship title. Waid underperformed and underdelivered with this issue. The reader gets little in the way of substance or entertainment with this issue. This title blends into the tapestry of the horde of super hero comics already crowding the shelves. Waid fails to sell the reader on this new direction for the Avengers. Waid fails to get the reader invested in the characters or the story. And the result is an issue that is simply not worth the $4.00 price tag.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #6

Feb 29, 2016

Honestly, you cannot make this kind of stuff up! The mind-boggling attitude of the assistant editors response is a wonderful insight into the mind-set of Marvel's editorial staff. Marvel's editors believe they alone have all the answers and their clients, the readers, need to shut up and eat what they are served. Brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #9

May 16, 2016

I certainly would not recommend spending your hard-earned money on All New All Different Avengers #9. There are so many other superior super hero comics on the market that are far more deserving of your money. I would only recommend All New All Different Avengers #9 if you are a die-hard fan of one of the characters on this roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New Hawkeye #3

Jun 2, 2015

All New Hawkeye #3 was another good read. Lemire continues to deliver an entertaining read with this title. This issue offered the reader a nice blend of action, humor and mystery. If you are looking for something different from the usual super hero fare offered up by Marvel and DC then All New Hawkeye is certainly worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2011) #41

Jun 24, 2015

Aquaman #41 was a great read. Bunn and McCarthy combine to deliver an entertaining read that offered an excellent balance of action, adventure, mystery and drama. I am stunned at how much I enjoyed this issue. I would definitely recommend giving Aquaman #41 a try. I have a feeling that Bunn has something special in store for us with this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #43

Aug 31, 2015

Aquaman #43 deliveredexcellent straight up action/adventure super hero fun. This title has quickly become one of my favorite DC comics currently on the market. Bunn is delivering a classic super hero tale that should appeal to a wide range of readers. This is definitely a title that is worth giving a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Avengers (2012) #1

Dec 13, 2012

Avengers #1 is a great start to a fresh new beginning for this franchise. It is great to see the Avengers being restored to their proper glory. For any Avengers fans who dropped this title during Bendis' run this is the perfect time for you to come back home. I think you will like what Hickman is delivering. Also, any new readers who liked the Avengers movie and were curious about the Avengers comic then this is also an excellent time for you to start reading this title. Lastly, Avengers #1 is a good issue for any super hero fan looking to pick up a new title. This is well crafted issue that appears to have a wild, exciting and grand ride in store for the reader. MarvelNOW hits another homerun with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2012) #7

Mar 24, 2013

Avengers #7 was another cerebral read. Hickman is simply operating at an entirely differently level since coming to the Avengers. I strongly recommend Avengers to anyone who loves meticulously plotted stories full of detailed and intricate plot lines. Readers who love wildly imaginative stories with a seemingly infinite scope and a grand scale will surely enjoy Hickman's Avengers. Right now, Avengers is one of the must reader titles currently on the market. I don't care if you read it in the bi-weekly floppy format or if you read it in trade format. Just read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Academy #1

Jun 11, 2010

Avengers Academy #1 is a solid debut issue. This title has plenty of potential. Hopefully, Gage will be able to tap the full potential of Avengers Academy. I would certainly recommend Avengers Academy to readers who enjoy teen super team titles. But, this title is more than just that. Readers who like classic super hero stories as well as readers who like stories that are a bit dark should also enjoy this title as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 18, 2012

I have absolutely no idea why anyone would want to waste $3.00 on Avengers Arena #1. Instead, go purchase either the Hunger Games Trilogy boxset on Amazon for $25 or Battle Royale manga. You can get all 15 volumes for just $3-5 a pop over on Amazon. That way you will get a far better bang for your buck and also enjoy far superior stories than the unoriginal and unimaginative slaughter-fest that Hopeless is offering with Avengers Arena. Hell, you can go to Amazon and buy the granddaddy of them all, The Lord of the Flies for just $7.00! The point is that I simply do not see who Avengers Arena #1 will appeal to other than readers that dig stories about slaughtering teen-agers.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers Prime #2

Aug 5, 2010

Avengers Prime #2 is not worth the $3.99 cover price. There are far superior titles out there at the $2.99 price let alone at $3.99. I would only recommend Avengers Prime #2 to die-hard Bendis fans and to die-hard Avengers fans. I would recommend to everyone else to pass on Avengers Prime #2. Save your money and go buy an issue of Hawkeye and Mockingbird instead which at $2.99 is superior in terms of content and price.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers Standoff: Assault on Pleasant Hill Omega #1

May 6, 2016

Overall:Avengers Standoff: Assault on Pleasant Hill Omega #1 was a lifeless read that never succeeds in engaging the reader's attention or interest. This bland and uncreative issue serves several editorially mandated stories and plot points and that is about it. There is no way in the world that this issue is worth you hard-earned money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #1

Apr 5, 2012

I really wanted Avengers vs. X-Men #1 to be an incredible read. Even though I grew up loving Marvel and DC almost equally, I would have to admit that at my core I am a Marvel guy first. I have dropped all of the DC titles that I was getting after the New 52 reboot. And none of the second and third wave of titles from Warner Brothers has done anything to get me excited about their new universe and line of comics. So, Marvel has become my only outlet for my super hero addiction. Therefore, I wanted to love this big event and have something that would get me excited about super hero comics once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers Vs. X-Men #2

Apr 20, 2012

Avengers vs. X-Men #2 is shallow, lacks character work, has some bad dialogue and narration and lacks internal logic at times. And that is also part of its charm as it effectively channels the style of super hero stories that Marvel cranked out in the 60's, 70's and 80's. If you are a fan of traditional super hero stories or old school Marvel comics then check out Avengers vs. X-Men #2. I think you will enjoy what Marvel is serving. For the rest of you? I would recommend staying as far away from this big event as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #4

May 18, 2012

Avengers vs. X-Men #4 was a completely superfluous issue. I see no reason in the world why anyone should waste their hard earned money on this pointless read. Save your money and go buy Versus #2 instead. It is a far more entertaining read. I would also suggest looking into some of the tie-in issues since they have been more entertaining than what we have gotten on the core Avengers vs. X-Men title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #5

Jun 7, 2012

Avengers v. X-Men #5 continues the trend of disappointing reads for this big event. There is no way I would recommend this issue to anyone other than hardcore Marvel fans. The $4.00 cover price is a financial raping considering the pathetic amount of actual content that the reader gets in this issue. I would be fine with paying .99 for this issue. Maybe even $1.50. But, $4.00? For this? No way. A total waste of money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
AVX: VS #3

Jun 13, 2012

Avengers vs. X-Men Versus #3 was another entertaining read. This title has lived up to the promise of being nothing but fun. Pure and simple. And this is exactly why I am having such a wonderful time reading this title. Putting the fun back in comics is something that both Marvel and DC should be making a priority. I love the unapologetic approach of this title. If you like pure super hero slufgest entertainment then definitely check out AvX Versus #3. You will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #702

Aug 27, 2010

Batman #702 was a wonderfully crafted read. Fans of Grant Morrison are sure to love this issue. Morrison brings such a captivating story that has plenty of substance for the reader to chew on. What is great is that not only do you get an issue that is impressively written and posses far more depth than most comic books on the market, but the cover price is only $2.99. There really is not much to dislike about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman and Robin #8

Feb 10, 2010

Batman and Robin #8 had the potential to be quite an enjoyable story. Unfortunately, the technical aspects of this issue were so poor that it made it difficult to enjoy the story to its fullest potential. Despite the parts of this issue that I greatly enjoyed, I simply cannot recommend Batman and Robin #8. Some action fans might get a kick out of the excellent brawl scene in this issue. However, there are plenty of other comic books that have a story that is much more new reader friendly and are easier to follow that offer up the same type of high octane action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and Robin #19

Jan 13, 2011

Batman and Robin #19 was an enjoyable read. Cornell deserves credit for being able to deliver a story that even a reader like myself who dislikes the Batman, Inc. concept still be able to enjoy this story. If you enjoy an interesting character story then I would recommend giving Batman and Robin #19 a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #21

Jun 11, 2015

Batman/Superman #21 was an uneven read at best. The few bright moments were overshadowed by the schizophrenic narration, inconsistent presentation of Superman's character, some weak dialogue and unintentionally goofy moments. This new direction for Superman continues to be underwhelming. It also appears that DC has no real idea of where they want to go with this "new" Superman. And Mecha Batman? That is just a hot mess from start to finish. Batman/Superman #21 is not worth price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Canary (2015) #1

Jun 17, 2015

Buy this issue! Run out to your local comic shop and pick up a copy of Black Canary #1! Unique and off-beattitles like Black Canary deserve strong fan support. It is so refreshing to get a title that presents the super hero genre in a different fashion than the 1990's Image style that DC's New 52 titles have consistently been giving readers over the past several years. Black Canary #1 is a fun issue. And fun is good. Support fun. We need more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Knight (2015) #1

Nov 20, 2015

Black Knight #1 was an excellent read. Tieri came out firing on all cylinders with this issue and did not let up until the very last page. Black Knight #1 is an action and adventure title that stands out and separates itself from all of the other titles from Marvel and DC that are flooding the market. This title offers the reader excellent character work, good plotting and great action. Black Knight #1 is a well-balanced read that offers something for just about everyone. Black Knight is absolutely a title that is worth the price of admission. Stop reading this review and go to your comic book store. Now. Put this issue in your grubby paws and then enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Panther (2016) #2

May 11, 2016

Black Panther #2 was a disappointing read. I would not recommend this issue to anyone other than die-hard Black Panther fans. Once again, Marvel Comics misses the chance to make a title more mainstream by focusing on delivering yet another niche title under the All New All Different initiative. It is a shame that Marvel Comics is not trying to build on Black Panther's debut on the silver screen with a comic that would appeal to a large cross-section of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Widow (2016) #1

Mar 2, 2016

Overall: Black Widow #1 was an unsatisfyingdebut issue. I finished the issue and had the feeling of wanting so much more for my money. I love action as much as the next reader. However, I also like some character work and interesting plot lines, too. I do not feel that I am asking for too much by wanting more substance and content to a debut issue of a new title. Black Widow #1 felt lacking in so many ways. The fact is that Black Widow #1 is a $4.00 comic book. That is a lot of money and I expect more than just an issue that reads like a prelude. I would only recommend Black Widow #1 to diehard Black Widow fans or extreme action fans. For all other readers, Black Widow #1 simply does not deliver enough content to justify the $4.00 price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Blackest Night #7

Feb 25, 2010

I enjoyed Blackest Night #7. But, I must point out that I am a fan of the Green Lantern mythos so I am enjoying the little wrinkles that Johns is adding to Green Lanterns continuity. The neat plot twists and nice character bits that were sprinkled throughout this issue made Blackest Night #7 an enjoyable read for me. The final twelve pages of Blackest Night #7 made up for the fact that nothing really happened at all in the first thirteen pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Blackest Night #8

Apr 1, 2010

Blackest Night #8 possesses the same positives and negatives as previous issues. This issue was a serviceable ending to Blackest Night. This final issue certainly succeeded in properly establishing strong foundation for Brightest Day. The majority of readers who have been following Blackest Night should greatly enjoy Blackest Night #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blackest Night: Wonder Woman #3

Feb 7, 2010

Blackest Night Wonder Woman #3 was a good character study that helped to give a little more depth to the plotlines involving Wonder Woman and Mera over in Blackest Night itself. This mini-series moved at a pleasant pace and presented the reader with good character work, nice dialogue and entertaining action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Brightest Day #0

Apr 15, 2010

Brightest Day #0 was a disappointing read. This was a slow and relatively boring read. Johns and Tomasi failed to kick this title off with a dynamic and exciting story that immediately captivates the readers attention. Having said that, Johns and Tomasi did just enough, barely, to get me to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Brightest Day #8

Aug 19, 2010

Brightest Day #8 continues the trend of this title being a disappointing read. This title certainly has failed to live up to my initial expectations. Perhaps Brightest Day will read better in trade format. At this point, I certainly would not recommend getting Brightest Day. If any of the plotlines in this story sound interesting to you then I would suggest waiting and getting Brightest Day when the trade is released.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Captain America (2004) #602

Jan 24, 2010

Captain America #602 was a disappointing and weak start to this new story arc. I was hoping that after such a long hiatus that Brubaker was going to kick this title off with a real bang. Instead, we got a small whimper. I did not have much to say about this issue, because nothing really happened at all in this issue. There just wasn't much to talk about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America (2011) #12

May 29, 2012

Captain America #12 was another solid read. If you have not given this title a try then now is the perfect time to hop aboard this title. This issue delivers an enjoyable blend of action, adventure, mystery and drama all wrapped up in some good looking artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Civil War (2015) #1

Jul 15, 2015

Secret Wars Civil War #1 was a solid debut issue. If Soule can crank up the emotional side of his story then we could end up getting a real treat of a story. Soule certainly gave me enough in this issue to get me to come back for more. This is quality writing and I think that anyone who enjoyed the Civil War big event will also enjoy Secret Wars Civil War #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Civil War (2015) #2

Aug 6, 2015

Secret Wars: Civil War #2 was a fantastic read. Soule delivers a nuanced and multifaceted read that captivates the reader's attention from start to finish. This is an issue that warrants several reads. I love an issue with plenty of substance. Soule certainly treats the reader to an issue that is worth every penny of the cover price. I would certainly recommend giving this Secret Wars tie-in mini series a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War (2015) #3

Aug 27, 2015

Secret Wars: Civil War #3 is another brilliant read. If you have not hopped aboard this title then I definitely encourage you to do so. If nothing else, at least get this title when it gets released in trade format. Soule is delivering such an enjoyable read. I adore this world that Soule has created and I just cannot get enough of it. Secret Wars: Civil War #3 is an intelligent read that also offers plenty of excitement and adventure. Go buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Civil War (2015) #4

Sep 14, 2015

Secret Wars Civil War #4 was another wonderful read. Soule has impressed me so much with his work on this title. If you still have not jumped aboard this train then I absolutely recommend getting Secret Wars Civil War when it comes out in trade format. This story is well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Civil War II #0

May 19, 2016

Overall: Civil War II #0 is a poor start to this new big event. I would only recommend this issue to die-hard Bendis fans. This is an inauspicious start for this new big event. Not too many readers are going to pick up Civil War II #0 and get excited and anxious to spend their hard-earned money on Civil War II and the various tie-in issues based on what they get in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #1

Jun 2, 2016

Overall: Civil War II #1 was a much better read that I was expecting. Bendis delivers a solid start to this new big event. Bendis certainly delivered a strong later half in Civil War II #1 that is sure to get many readers excited about this big event and eager to come back for the next issue. And that is the main goal with any debut issue of a big event. So, Bendis deserves credit for pulling that off with this issue. I would certainly recommend Civil War II #1 to any readers who enjoy big event comics. The stage has been set for what may, potentially, be a rather exciting big event.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #2

Jun 16, 2016

There is absolutely no way that I could ever recommend anyone plunking down $5.00 of their hard-earned money for literally nothing substantive at all in return. The cover price is half of a month's subscription to Netflix! You would be much better off spending money on Netflix than purchasing Civil War II. You certainly get far more bang for your buck. It just is not even close.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #3

Jul 13, 2016

Civil War II #3 was another shallow, dull and repetitious read. There is very little in the way of actual substance for the reader to chew on with this issue. Civil War II continues to be a small and subdued big event. Honestly, readers can simply skip this issue and get Civil War II #4 and not miss any true plot progression at all. Nothing new was introduced in this issue. And the two existing plot lines were left in stasis during Civil War II #3. I would only recommend Civil War II #3 to die-hard Bendis fans. For everyone else? I have no idea why any other readers would want to spend $5 of their hard-earned money on Civil War II #3. A $5 cover price is extraordinary. And for such a steep price of admission I firmly expect plenty of quality substance. That is not the case with this issue. Civil War II #3 delivers the smallest bang for the buck that I have seen froma comic book in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #4

Aug 2, 2016

Civil War II #4 is another poor read. It is stunning how little actual new content Bendis delivers to the reader with the issue. That is even further compounded by the fact that nothing much really happens at all and that we get zero action. This is a slow, boring and unappealing issue. And the fact that all of this comes with a ridiculous $5.00 cover price? Insane. There is no reason for any reader, other than die-hard Bendis fans, to spend their hard-earned money on Civil War II #4. If you love big events crammed full of interesting plot lines and plenty of action and adventure then definitely look elsewhere. There is nothing here in Civil War II #4 that will satisfy you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #6

Nov 1, 2016

The reader could easily skip Civil War II #6 and hop aboard for Civil War II #7 and not miss a thing at all. That is simply inexcusable for a $5.00 big event issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Convergence #7

May 20, 2015

Convergence #7 delivered excitement and set the stage for a fantastic ending for this big event. It is too bad that we know this big event is going to end with a giant re-set button. And it is too bad this event was not that engaging for the first five issues. But, at least we are getting a wild action packed ending. Those of us who stuck with this event after the first five issue are getting paid for our loyalty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence #8

May 27, 2015

Convergence #8 was a huge ending to this big event. DC delivered a wild ending that ushered in a new era in the DCU. For the first time since Flashpoint I actually feel cautiously optimistic about the direction DC is headed. Of course, this is DC that we are talking about so the chances of them screwing the pooch are still likely. Still, I am far more optimistic about DC after reading Convergence #8 than I was before reading this issue. Hopefully, Convergence #8 is just the start of DC offering readersan alternative to what we have been getting since the New 52 reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Cyblade #3

Feb 26, 2009

This would be okay for a starting point if they found a way to make it different. I did not see anything new from this issue. And the last page revelation of Ripclaw (Image's version of Wolverine) only serves as a reminder of the lack of new ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cyborg #1

Jul 22, 2015

Cyborg #1 was a disappointing read. There are literally hundreds of super hero titles on the market each and every month. That means it is difficult for a new super hero title to stand out from the crowd and give the reader a reason to purchase it. Therefore, it is imperative that thewriter give the reader a reason to come back for more and to become interested and invested in the new super hero title. The fact is that Cyborg #1 does nothing at all to help itself to standout from the rest of the super hero titles that flood the market each month. There are so many super hero titles that offer a far superior read than Cyborg #1. I cannot recommend that anyone spend their hard-earned money on Cyborg #1. There are just too many other excellent super hero titles on the market that are more deserving of your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 26, 2016

How DC pivots and proceeds forward from this moment is vital. This is a defining moment for DC Comics. They can either someone fill Johns' shoes and take his blueprint mapped out in DC Universe: Rebirth #1 in order to rebuild the company and their line of comics. Or, they will flounder without Johns and fail to follow his blueprint in DC Universe: Rebirth #1 and continue to lose dollar share and market share to Marvel on their slide to irrelevancy. The next couple of years should be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2014) #10

Sep 25, 2015

Deathstroke #10 is an enjoyable read. This issue offers up a great mix of fighting and violence. If you enjoy badass characters and lots of brawling then you definitely need to give Deathstroke a chance. I like the direction that this title is headed and I feel positive about the future of Deathstroke. This issue certainly delivered enough entertainment value to justify the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #6

Nov 12, 2012

Earth 2 #6 was another poorly written issue. From plotting and pacing to character and dialogue there is not much to be found in this story that is worth your hard earned money. While I do love Scott's artwork, I simply cannot recommend spending $3.00 on Earth 2 #6. I definitely would not recommend Earth 2 #6 to any fans of the JSA in their prior incarnations. And I would not recommend it to newer readers who might be open to this radically different interpretation of the JSA. The simple fact is that it is not well written and there are far better titles on the market for new readers to try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Earth 2: Society #1

Jun 16, 2015

Earth-2 Society #1 was a disappointing read that failed to capture on the potential that Convergence offered DC. Wilson's story was simply average. This issue offered up nothing more than what DC was dishing out with the old New 52 Earth-2 title. If Convergence and the subsequent DCYOU campaign was designed to bring lapsed readers back into the fold then Earth-2 Society #1 certainly failed in that endeavor. I would recommend this issue only to readers who were already buying the old New 52 Earth-2 title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Extraordinary X-Men #1

Nov 9, 2015

Extraordinary X-Men #1 is a strong debut issue. This comic should appeal equally to old and new readers. Lemire and Ramos kick this title off in style. If you like super hero team titles then I would certainly recommend giving Extraordinary X-Men #1 a try. This is a well crafted issue that is more than worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Fantastic Four #587

Jan 26, 2011

Fantastic Four #587 was a cheap gimmick and nothing more. This issue completely failed to live up the high standard that Hickman has set over the course of his run on this title. The story read like an editorial mandated gimmick rather than an interesting, intelligent and creative plot direction by Hickman. Personally, I have found Hickman's Fantastic Four to be the best Marvel title. That is why it is so disappointing to see such a feeble effort with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fear Agent #26

Mar 3, 2009

Recommended to fans of E.C. comics and to readers looking for something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Fear Itself #2

Nov 30, -0001

The lack of substance to the story combined with the paucity of plot progression and slow pace combine to create a rather unpalatable reading experience. The fact is that Fear Itself #2 is 100% pure fluff. Readers who prefer some actual plot progression and content will be disappointed with Fear Itself #2. Readers who crave some depth and substance to their comics will also be disappointed with Fear Itself #2. I see no reason at all why anyone should waste $4.00 of their hard earned money on this issue. At this point, Fear Itself lacks any content and is nothing more than a shallow cash grabbing move by Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Fear Itself #3

Jul 6, 2011

So, is Fear Itself #3 worth the cover price of $4.00? No. Not by any stretch of the imagination. The story is unintelligent and lacks any substance. Most readers would feel unsatisfied and disappointed with spending $4.00 for this issue. Do not get caught up in the big event hype. I would recommend avoiding the colossal waste of time and money known as Fear Itself. There are plenty of other titles on the market that are far more worthy of your hard earned money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Firebreather #4

Mar 2, 2009

Hester and Kuhn have crafted a fascinating story. The adventure of the half human, half monster Duncan are very well done. Duncan's thoughts and actions are realistic for a teenage boy. He tries to make the best of a bad situation. I am definitely on board for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
First Wave #1

Mar 11, 2010

First Wave #1 was a good debut issue to this min-series. I would recommend this issue to any fans of the old pulp comic stories of the 1930s. I would also recommend First Wave #1 to readers who like complex and dense readers that require some effort on the readers part to try and put the various pieces of the story together. First Wave #1 certainly presents to the reader a much different type of story than the average super hero comic book that is currently being published brings to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Flash (2010) #1

Apr 20, 2010

Flash #1 was a fresh start for this franchise that has had nothing but turbulence ever since Johns left the title after Flash #225 in 2005. Since then the franchise declined with the disastrous Flash Fastest Man Alive title featuring Bart Allen as the Flash for an entire thirteen issues before DC pulled the plug on that experiment. The regular Flash title then resumed but was a sub-par read until it was finally cancelled with issue #247 last year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2010) #4

Aug 1, 2010

Flash #4 was a wonderful read. At this point, Flash and Legion of Super Heroes are the two DC titles that I am enjoying the most. I strongly recommend giving Flash a try. This is a well crafted super hero story that offers the reader some enjoyable escapist entertainment. Flash #4 is more than worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Flash (2011) #44

Sep 23, 2015

The Flash #44 was an average read. There are some nice aspects to this issue, but I cannot recommend spending $4.00 for this title. This is a great example of how the rising cost of comics can turn away readers. At $2.00, I would be more likely to recommend giving The Flash #44 a try. But at $4.00? No. I expect a higher quality of writing and a better reading experience once I start shelling out $4.00 for a comic book. On top of that, I am not sure any other readers other than loyal Flash fans would find the story in Flash #44 all that interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash: Rebirth #6

Mar 1, 2010

Flash Rebirth #6 was consistent with what we have been given on this title since the first issue. I am just glad that this story is over so we can move onto the new Flash monthly title. Despite all the problems with Flash Rebirth, I still remain extremely confident that Johns is going to crank out a quality read with the new Flash monthly titles. If you skipped Flash Rebirth, or dropped it, and are planning on getting the new Flash title then I recommend you pick up Flash Rebirth #6 for all the preview pages. This issue serves as a nice little appetizer to the new Flash monthly.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 9, 2016

Overall: Flash Rebirth #1 was an issue that has followed up on Rebirth #1 far more than any subsequent title with the Rebirth banner on the cover. Flash Rebirth #1 is new reader friendly and is absolutely a fantastic hopping on point if you are new to this title. If you have ever been interested in checking out the Flash then Flash Rebirth #1 is a perfect issue to start. I would recommend this issue for new readers. For long-time readers or even relatively recent readers? I would pass on Flash Rebirth #1. Nothing new of any real substance occurs in this issue at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Imperfect #1

Jun 8, 2015

Future Imperfect #1 is another excellent Secret Wars tie-in issue. If you like classic super hero romps then definitely check this title out. You will get treated to an excellent blend of action, adventure and humor. This is a fun issue and is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 4, 2017

Overall: Generations " Banner Hulk Totally Awesome Hulk #1 was an enjoyable read that did not accomplish anything at all that Marvel was attempting to accomplish with this issue. Despite the various positive aspects of this issue, this is still a hard comic to recommend to readers. The main reason is the whopping $4.99 cover price. That is way too much to pay for any comic that does not deliver a superlative story. This issue was fun but it most definitely does not read like a $4.99 comic. I would only recommend Generations " Banner Hulk Totally Awesome Hulk #1 to die-hard Bruce Banner fans who miss his character and want to see the real Hulk in action once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Arrow (2011) #42

Jul 2, 2015

Green Arrow #42 is marred by flawed and undeveloped writing. This issue reads like it was written by a student in a creative writing course in undergraduate school. However, Zircher's artwork is so enjoyable that it alone almost makes this issue worth the price of admission. Still, I have a hard time ever recommending a comic book based on the artwork alone. In the end, Green Arrow #42 is such a dull and unoriginal read that I simply cannot recommend that anyone spend their hard earned money on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #50

Jan 29, 2010

Green Lantern #50 was an entertaining Blackest Night tie-in issue. Is this issue worth purchasing? If you are interested in seeing the return of Hal Jordan as Parallax then, yes, run out and get this issue. I would also recommend this issue to action fans who just cannot get enough zombie action and love seeing the Rainbow Raiders in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #51

Feb 19, 2010

Green Lantern #51 was an incredibly exciting read. Johns serves up an issue that delivers a well-plotted story, plenty of substance as well as a fair amount of action. I would imagine that most readers who are following Blackest Night will enjoy Green Lantern #51. I would certainly recommend getting Green Lantern #51.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #52

Mar 25, 2010

Green Lantern #52 was entertaining and provided for some nice character growth for John Stewart and a good resolution with the plotline involving Black Lantern Xanshi. While the reader does get the story of the creation of the universe, it is not a terribly complex story nor is it anything that different from what Johns had already hinted at in previous Blackest Night related issues. Therefore, readers do not have to read Green Lantern #52 at all in order to enjoy Blackest Night #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2005) #53

Apr 27, 2010

Green Lantern #53 was a well-crafted teaser issue that succeeded in selling me on the Brightest Day storylines for all of the Green Lantern titles. This issue is a great jumping on point for new readers. Green Lantern has been an excellent mix of Sci-Fi and super hero action ever since Johns took over the reigns of this title. I have a good feeling that the future for the Green Lantern franchise remains extremely bright.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #43

Aug 11, 2015

Overall: Green Lantern #43 was a solid issue that was sadly brought down a few notches by being too decompressed. If Venditti can tighten up his plotting and pacing then Green Lantern would be a quality comic book that would be worth reading. However, it is hard to justify spending $4.oo on a single issue that offers so little plot progression. Readers could easily skip Green Lantern #43 and pick up the next issue and not miss too much at all. Green Lantern certainly has lots of potential. I will keep this title on my radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern Corps #44

Jan 22, 2010

Green Lantern Corps #44 was another fun read. This title continues to give me more entertainment value than either Blackest Night or Green Lantern. I would strongly recommend Green Lanterns Corps #44 to Science Fiction fans and to action adventure fans. Tomasi certainly has demonstrated the ability to write incredibly large-scale cosmic battles. Green Lantern Corps #44 is not necessary at all for readers who are only following Blackest Night itself. However, this title does help make Blackest Night more of a cosmic war than just a small Earthbound DCU event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #45

Feb 22, 2010

Green Lantern Corps #45 was the weakest issue that we have gotten from Tomasi in quite a long time on this title. I would certainly recommend this issue to fans of Guy Gardner. However, readers who are simply following Blackest Night do not need to bother buying this Blackest Night tie-in issue. Absolutely nothing happens of real importance in this issue. Simply pick up Blackest Night #7 and you will be just fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #46

Mar 23, 2010

Green Lantern Corps #46 was enjoyable popcorn for the brain. While there is not much depth to this issue, Green Lantern Corps #46 still offers the reader a pretty looking issue that is a fast paced and action packed read. I would suspect that most readers who have been following Blackest Night will enjoy this issue. However, you certainly do not need to read Green Lantern Corps #46 in order to enjoy Blackest Night #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Lantern Corps #56

Jan 20, 2011

Green Lantern Corps #56 should appeal to readers who like lots of action and are not too concerned with the depth of story or plot development. This issue is attractive to the eye and does offer up some popcorn for the brain in terms of entertainment value. However, for everyone else out there I would recommend passing on Green Lantern Corps #56. This issue simply does not offer enough content or value to justify the $3.00 price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #1

Aug 13, 2010

Green Lantern Emerald Warriors #1 was a good debut issue. This issue was certainly worth the $3.99 cover price. Fans of Tomasis Green Lantern Corps are sure to enjoy this issue. Fans of Blackest Night will also enjoy Green Lantern Emerald Warriors #1. I would certainly recommend this issue to readers who like either super hero stories or Sci-Fi stories. This is a quality read that delivers a satisfying and polished product.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #0.1

Feb 28, 2013

Guardians of the Galaxy #0.1 was a good read and a great new start for this franchise. Bendis is like the Baltimore Ravens in the Super Bowl. He started off stinking up the joint before suddenly pulling off an unexpected turnaround and delivering an awesome read after a slow start. Bendis won my confidence with this issue. I have faith that Bendis has a good plan in store for this franchise and will be leading them in the right direction under the MarvelNOW initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye & Mockingbird #3

Aug 8, 2010

Hawkeye and Mockingbird #3 was a blast to read. This issue delivers fun super-hero action and adventure like no other title currently on the market. Readers who like super hero titles should run, not walk, to their nearest Local Comic Book Shop and pick up a copy of this issue. Hawkeye and Mockingbird #3 is an incredible value at just $2.99. This title is superior to many titles with a cover price of $3.99. Readers will definitely get the best bang for their buck with Hawkeye and Mockingbird.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
House Of M (2015) #2

Sep 4, 2015

If you hate decompressed comic books then you will love Secret Wars House of M #2! This issue is the cure to your decompression blues. This issue packs in a ton of content and delivers a satisfying read that places an emphasis on fun and adventure. This is definitely a title that is worth checking out. You will get your money's worth with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Incorruptible #10

Oct 8, 2010

Mark Waid is so much better than what he is giving us on Incorruptible. This title does have potential. The opening story arc proved that point. Waid has an interesting character with Max Damage. I will be curious to see if Waid can do anything with Max and turn this title around. At this point, I would recommend passing on Incorruptible and spending your hard earned money on Irredeemable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Incredible Hulk (2009) #606

Jan 31, 2010

Incredible Hulk #606 was an entertaining read. Honestly, I had low expectations for this issue and did not expect for this story to hook me. I was incorrect. Pak delivered a balanced read that should appeal to a wide ranger of readers. Now, I have not read any of the other Fall of the Hulk issues, and I have not been a fan of Jeph Loeb since he came over to Marvel. Therefore, I am hesitant to recommend Fall of the Hulks as a whole. However, I can say that Incredible Hulk #606 was a good straight up super hero story. I will definitely come back for the next issue of Incredible Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Incredible Hulk (2011) #8

Jun 1, 2012

Incredible Hulk #8 was a miss with me. I feel good in my decision to avoid this title. I would only recommend The Incredible Hulk #8 to big action fans or to die-hard fans of Aaron and Dillon. Outside of those readers, I do not think that this issue offers up enough quality in order to justify the popular character tax in the $4 cover price. Save your money and use it on some of the other titles on the market that are far more worth it. Some of them even at a cheaper price than $4, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Incredible Hulk (2011) #9

May 31, 2012

Incredible Hulk #8 was a miss with me. I feel good in my decision to avoid this title. I would only recommend The Incredible Hulk #8 to big action fans or to die-hard fans of Aaron and Dillon. Outside of those readers, I do not think that this issue offers up enough quality in order to justify the popular character tax in the $4 cover price. Save your money and use it on some of the other titles on the market that are far more worth it. Some of them even at a cheaper price than $4, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infinity #2

Sep 19, 2013

Infinity #2 is another intelligent read. Hickman is an impressive wordsmith who is up there with the likes of Grant Morrison. There are few comic book writers writing for Marvel or DC that I would place in that category. Of course, Infinity is not for everyone. Readers who prefer linear reads that are easy to consume and veer more to cotton cnady for the brain will probably not be enamored with Hickman's big event. Also, this is not a big event that can be enjoyed by only reading the core Infinty mini-series. Both Avengers and New Avengers are required reading. However, if you enjoy a big event with an epic scope and a grand scale along with a story that is complex and truly engages the reader's mind then Infinity is certainly worth giving a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #3

Nov 4, 2015

I would only recommend Invincible Iron Man #3 to older comic book readers who are die-hard Bendis fans. The average comic book reader will find this issue to be shallow, uninteresting and most certainly not worth the $4 cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Iron Man (2012) #1

Nov 8, 2012

Iron Man #1 was a well crafted debut issue. I am so impressed how new reader friendly Gillen made this issue. This is something that is not found that often in Marvel or DC comics. And what is equally impressive is that Gillen remains true to Iron Man's core character traits and values in the process. This issue is proof that massive trashing of a characters established history and personality is not necessary at all when refreshing a title and making it new reader friendly. Another lesson that could be learned by the distinguished competition.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JSA All Stars Vol. 2 #3

Feb 14, 2010

JSA All-Stars #3 is an incredibly generic super hero read. It is not a bad read. It simply is nothing out of the ordinary. Nothing about JSA All-Stars #3 sets itself apart from the tons of other super hero titles on the market. I cannot recommend spending your hard earned money on a completely average title like JSA All-Stars. There are so many better super hero team titles on the market that are more deserving of your money. I would only recommend JSA All-Stars #3 to die-hard JSA fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #1

Aug 31, 2011

Justice League #1 was a failure as a debut issue of a new team title and a failure as the debut of the DC Re-launch. DC simply overpromised and under delivered with the flagship title of the DCnU. As the flagship title and the banner holder for the DCnU, Justice League #1 had a heavy burden and it simply failed to live up to its mission or the hype surrounding its midnight release.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League #4

Dec 22, 2011

Justice League #4 certainly is skewed for a younger audience. Which is not entirely a bad thing. Not ever title needs to be written for a long time reader like myself. I would imagine that boys between the ages of 10 to 17 will find Justice League to be immensely entertaining. Everyone else? Not so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League #43

Aug 19, 2015

Justice League #43 was an excellent read from start to finish. Johns treats the reader to an issue that has something for everyone. Great character work, engaging dialogue, entertaining action and adventure all wrapped up in some gorgeous artwork by Fabok. If you like super hero comic books then run out and buy Justice League #43. Johns is delivering a classic super hero epic that will appeal to readers both young and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League #44

Oct 2, 2015

Justice League #44 is a fantastic read that delivers a story in a grand and epic fashion. This is the type of larger-than-life super hero action and adventure that makes comic books so much fun. I cannot recommend Justice League #44 enough. You need to give this title a try. At the very least, get this story arc when it is released in trade format. Justice League #44 continues to be one of the few mainstream super hero titles that is worth every penny of its cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #46

Dec 16, 2015

Overall: Justice League #46 is another fantastic read. What Johns continues to deliver on this title is exactly what super hero comic books should be all about. Grand stories of action and adventure. Modern day mythology crammed full of the gods and heroes of our time. Darkseid War is fun. Pure and simple. Johns fully understands the original intent of mainstream super hero comics which seems to get lost on many writers these days. If you crave fun, excitement and pure escapism then you will want to pick up what Justice League #46 is putting down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League #47

Dec 31, 2015

Overall: To be sure, Justice League #47 suffers from pacing issues that made it not up to the same level as the previous issues in The Darkseid War story arc. But, this issue is still a solid read as Johns is still delivering a compelling and intriguing story. And Fabok's artwork makes this issue an absolute treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League #48

Feb 25, 2016

Justice League #48 continues to be an unabashedly grand and epic super hero tale.Justice League #48 is another engrossing read. Johns pulls the reader deeply into the story and captivates their attention. This is an issue that is easy to get lost in. If you love the super hero genre and love when a writer embraces the genre for all of its strengths then you have to read the Darkseid War.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 25, 2016

Justice League #1 does provide that fun summer blockbuster vibe. Yes, this issue does have numerous weaknesses. However, it does a goodjob at delivering straight up classic super hero action and adventure. Better than many of the comic books that are currently masquerading as super hero comics. And, you get the further bonus of the cover price only being $2.99. Yeah, that is still not a cheap price tag. But in a market where comics are routinely being placed at the $5.00 mark having to only pay $2.99 for the price of admission is quite enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 9, 2017

Overall: Justice League #22 is an absolute blast to read from start to finish. Fontana succeeds in tapping into that old classic JLA feel with this issue. This is a tightly plotted and paced issue that puts an emphasis on fun. The reader gets treated with an issue that has great artwork and a classic super hero story. Justice League #22 is certainly worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 23, 2017

Justice League #27 is a solid but certainly not spectacular read. The $2.99 cover price makes the lack of any substantial plot progression a little less irritating than when it is a $3.99 or #4.99 Marvel comic book. However, the lack of depth to the story and the lack of real plot progression make this issue tough to completely recommend. If you like character drive stories then definitely pick up Justice League #27. However, if you demand a fair amount of action and adventure in your stories then you might not find Justice League #27 worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 20, 2017

Overall: Justice League #28 is an issue that will appeal to readers who like quality character work and dialogue. However, the slow pacing, lack of plot progression and absence of action make it hard for me to recommend that readers spend their hard earned money on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 26, 2017

Overall: Justice League #29 was an enjoyable read. Hitch delivers an issues that treats the reader to an excellent combination of strong character work, good dialogue and exciting action. Justice League #29 delivers exactly what I expect from a mainstream super hero comic. This story arc keeps getting better with each issue. The reader certainly gets their money's worth with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #3

Aug 28, 2015

Justice League of America #3 is an issue that has a cool plot and some neat ideasbut Hitch's technical writing skills are so lacking that we never get to enjoy the full potential of this story. I love this roster of characters in all of their classic glory. And I want so badly to recommend this title. But, given the expensive cover price and the numerous other superior super hero comics currently being published I just cannot recommend spending your money for this issue. Hitch's Justice League of America may be a comic that is better served reading in trade format if at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 14, 2017

Overall: Justice League of America #12 was an ordinary read. But, the fact that the cover price is just $2.99 helps soften the blow. I do think that this story arc has plenty of potential. And I am certainly aboard for this entire story arc. Still, I would only recommend this issue to die-hard Justice League of America and/or Ray Palmer fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Legion of Super-Heroes (2010) #1

May 27, 2010

Legion of Super Heroes #1 was a fantastic read. Levitz blew me away with an incredibly strong debut issue to this new title. I strongly urge readers to give this title a try. Legion of Super Heroes #1 offers the biggest bang for the buck that you can find on the market. Seriously. The amount of content and the sheer entertainment value of this issue cannot be matched by most comic books currently being published. The reader will be more than satisfied with the dense and entertaining story and will certainly feel that they got their moneys worth for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2010) #8

Dec 29, 2010

Legion of Super Heroes #8 was another fun read. Levitz continues to impress with his hard work on this title. If you are looking for a classic super hero team title then I highly recommend giving Legion of Super Heroes a try. This title combines quality action, strong plotting and solid character work all into one enjoyable package.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Lobo #10

Sep 2, 2015

Lobo #10 is a read that simply does not deliver the type of satisfying read that justifies the price of admission. Fair or not, given the ever-increasing price of comics, it is expected for readers to begin increasing their standards as to what is an acceptable amount of content for their dollar. While back in the day, an issue like Lobo #10 would have been acceptable when the cover price for a comic was just .75. But, not these days. If I plunk down $3.00 then I expect a comic book that offers a reading experience that lasts more than five minutes and has enough depth and substance for me to feel satisfied when I reach the end of the issue. There is just no way I can recommend Lobo #10 to anyone outside of die-hard Lobo fans or die-hard fighting fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Martian Manhunter (2015) #1

Jun 22, 2015

Martian Manhunter #1 is technically a well crafted debut issue. And I do think that this issue will appeal to many readers. Williams does deliver a high quality product with this issue. If only DC's editorially mandated direction with J'onn's character didn't taint the product. It would be great to see this title break free from the New 52 interpretation of J'onn's character. Williams' writing is strong enough that I am willing to give this title a chance to see what Williams can do with J'onn's character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Legacy #1

Oct 2, 2017

Overall: Marvel Legacy #1 earned a higher score than it technically should have from The Revolution. But, anytime an issue delivers the return of Tony Stark, Bruce Banner and Wolverine plus Steve Rogers embracing being Captain America and a Fantastic Four sighting then that issue is going to get a high score no matter the issues' weaknesses. Marvel Legacy #1 is certainly no DC Rebirth #1. But, Marvel Legacy #1 is most definitely a step in the right direction in what is going to be a long uphill battle for Marvel to win back readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 16, 2017

Mister Miracle #3 was a disappointing read. King has the kernel of what could be a really interesting story. However, the execution is so poor that it ruins the potential of the story. The problem is exacerbated by the artwork in this issue. I would not recommend Mister Miracle to readers who are long time Jack Kirby fans. Nor would I recommend Mister Miracle #3 to long time Fourth World fans. I would not recommend Mister Miracle #3 to fans of mainstream super hero comics. However, I would definitely recommend Mister Miracle #3 to readers who are fans of indie comics and indie style super hero comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #1

Feb 6, 2014

Ms. Marvel #1 was brilliant marketing by Marvel but, unfortunately, an extremely unimpressive read. This issue is most definitely not worth your hard earned money. You want to support a monthly comic with a female lead? Great, go buy Wonder Woman. It is a well done comic that deserves your support. But, Ms. Marvel? No. If you want my money you have to actually provide me with a well crafted professional comic book. I do not and never will purchase a comic book based only on the characters ethnicity, sex or religion. Niche titles that are written well can justify their existance. But, niche titles written poorly cannot. At this point, I am just curious to see if Ms. Marvel crashes and burns as fast as DC's Katana and Vibe comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nemesis #1

Mar 29, 2010

Nemesis #1 is a solid offering popcorn for the brain. The reader need not engage their mind. Just sit back and enjoy the action packed adventure ride. I would definitely only recommend Nemesis #1 to action junkies. Most other readers will probably find Nemesis #1 too shallow and unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
New Avengers (2010) #1

Jun 22, 2010

New Avengers #1 is a poor read. This issue reads much like fanfiction where the writer ignores what they do not like or simply bends things in order to create their story. I would not recommend wasting your time and money on this completely unnecessary Avengers title. There are so many other titles far more worthy of your hard earned money than New Avengers. I would only recommend New Avengers #1 to die-hard Bendis fans and die-hard Luke Cage fans. For everyone else, go elsewhere with your entertainment dollars.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
New Avengers (2015) #2

Oct 30, 2015

Overall: New Avengers #2 is a poorly written read. The All New All Different direction of the Marvel Universe is a plan that appears flawed to me. However, that does not mean that quality writing cannot overcome what is initially a stupid idea by Marvel's editorial staff. Unfortunately, Ewing fails to deliver anything that would be confused with quality writing. I have no idea who New Avengers #2 would appeal to other than diehard fans of the niche characters that appear in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Superman #1

Jul 19, 2016

New Super-Man #1 was a slightly better than average read. However, I am not sure that Yang did enough to distinguish New Super-Man #1 from the myriad of super hero titles already on the market. Readers have limited dollars to spend and getting readers to jump aboard a new title requires giving a strong reason why this title is different the other super hero titles being published. New Super-Man #1 was not special enough to demand that readers come back for the next issue. In general, the story itself was a bit forgettable and felt somewhat formulaic. Having said that, there is no doubt that New Super-Man #1 does display the potential to become a quality read. New Super-Man is a title worth keeping an eye on to see if this potential ever gets fully realized.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Planet Hulk #2

Jun 25, 2015

Secret Wars Planet Hulk #2 was a solid read. It would have been nicer if Humphries had delivered a more compressed read. But, this issue was still entertaining and worth the price of admission. This Secret Wars tie-in title does make me realize one thing. That Marvel needs to publish an ongoing title chronicling the adventures of Battleworld Captain America and Devil Dinosaur once Secret Wars has concluded!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #2

Jul 18, 2015

Robin: Son of Batman #2 was a blast to read. This is a balanced issue that treats the reader to quality character work and exciting action all wrapped up in a well constructed plot. This is a fun adventure title that will appeal to a wide range of readers. I definitely recommend giving Robin: Son of Batman a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
S.H.I.E.L.D. #1

Apr 12, 2010

SHIELD #1 was a superb read and I strongly recommend that you give this title a try. Hickman and Weaver are a dynamic team and they complement each other perfectly. This issue should appeal to super hero fans as well as fans who typically avoid super hero titles. SHIELD #1 is simply a cut above the other comic books that currently populate the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scarlet Witch #1

Dec 10, 2015

Scarlet Witch #1 was such a disappointing debut issue. I love this character and wanted to love this issue. But, the fact remains that Scarlet Witch #1 was a lifeless and boring read. There is nothing in this issue that gets the reader excited to come back for more. There is nothing in this issue that helps Scarlet Witch to stand out from the crowded racks full super hero titles. There are too many other quality titles on the market more deserving of your hard-earned money than Scarlet Witch #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Secret Avengers #27

May 29, 2012

Your enjoyment of Secret Avengers #27 will greatly vary depending on if you are a Mar-Vell fan or not. Mar-Vell fans will probably be annoyed that our hero is being used as a cheap gimmick. Again. On the other hand, regular readers will probably find Secret Avengers #27 to be an entertaining big event tie-in issue. As a general rule, big event tie-in issue are often crap stories that are heavily editorial mandated that are imposed upon writers and usually break the flow of whatever story the writer had been trying to build on the title. However, Remender does the best he can and actually delivers an issue that offers up a quality classic super hero story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire #2

May 26, 2017

Secret Empire #2 is a lackluster read. This issue offers up a thin read with little substance or actual plot progression. Keep in mind that Marvel is charging $5.00 for the price of admission with Secret Empire #2. That is a massive cover charge for a show that offers very little in return. Secret Empire #2 offers up little bang for the buck. For $5.00 I require far more content and plot progression than what Spencer dishes out with this issue. There is just no way I could recommend any reader spending their hard-earned money for Secret Empire #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire #3

Jun 2, 2017

Keep in mind that Marvel is charging a whopping $4.00 for Secret Empire #3! That is a horrible return on your dollar. $4.00 can buy me several songs, several apps or even half a month of Netflix. There is simply no way Secret Empire #3 is worth a $4.00 admission price.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Secret Empire #4

Jun 16, 2017

I enjoyed Secret Empire #4 and found this to be easily the best issue of this big event to this point. However, it is tricky recommending Secret Empire #4 to readers. For me, the Pym and the two teams of Avengers plot line that dominated this issue made Secret Empire #4 worth the price of admission. However, for readers who are not a fan of Hank Pym or who do not care much about old 1970's and 1980's continuity then Secret Empire #4 will probably not be worth purchasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #6

Jul 24, 2017

Secret Empire #6 was another slow read that offers a thin story. There is simply not enough content in this issue to justify the massive $4.99 cover price. For that much money the reader has a right to demand that Marvel deliver an exciting issue full of content and plot progression. That is certainly not the case with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #7

Jul 31, 2017

Secret Empire #7 is another average read. This big event continues to have no heart and no soul. What it does continue to have is a massive $4.99 cover price. At this point, there is no reason to keep hope alive for this big event turning into anything that will be considered a quality story years from now. Hopefully, Marvel can regroup and rebound from what has been a disappointing big event in terms of sales numbers.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire #8

Aug 10, 2017

Secret Empire #8 was another mess of a read. Having said that, I loved the ending to this issue. And I am glad that Spencer finally engaged in some plot progression even if it lead to an imbalanced delivery of the story. The return of Bucky and Kobik marks the first time in this entire big event that my interest has actually been piqued. I will be looking forward to seeing what Spencer does with both characters in the final two issues of Secret Empire.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #9

Aug 29, 2017

Overall: Secret Empire #9 is a sloppy read that is not particularly well constructed. This issue certainly is not worth the $3.99 cover price. At this point, Secret Empire just needs to end so Marvel can forget about this dull mess and move on to something better in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #10

Aug 31, 2017

So, in the end, what was the point of Secret Empire? It failed to establish any of the All New All Different MarvelNOW Point One heroes. It failed to bring back the classic heroes. It failed to post big sales numbers. And it failed to offer a creative and exciting story that was worth the price of admission. I suppose it is fitting that this pointless and underwhelming big event conclude with a final issue with a $4.99 cover price. Because, perhaps the only point of Secret Empire was to rob readers of their money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #2

May 15, 2015

Secret Wars #2 was a magnificent read and made up for what I found was a lackluster debut issue in Secret Wars #1. I am not excited about this big event and eager to see what Hickman has in store for us. I wish Marvel was handling the publishing schedule better for this big event. I do not want to see Hickman getting screwed by Marvel's editorial decisions the way Morrison got screwed on Final Crisis with DC's horrible publishing decisions. I also wish that Marvel was more upfront about what is in store for their line of comics post-Secret Wars. However, none of that changes my belief that we are in store for a real treat with Secret Wars. It is clear to me that Hickman has a grand tale in mind for this big event and is going to deliver something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Wars #3

Jun 3, 2015

Secret Wars #3 was a brilliant read. I simply cannot get enough of what Hickman is dishing out in this title. Secret Wars continues to be an intricately constructed story that is treating readers to a level of writing and storytelling that is simply superior to anything else currently on the market from DC and Marvel. If you enjoy stories that have lush settings, detailed plot lines and a truly epic feel then definitely check out Secret Wars. This is one big event that truly feels special. And that is a rarity for big events.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Wars #4

Jul 1, 2015

Secret Wars #4 is a beautiful issue in terms of the quality of writing and artwork. However, therampant decompression of the story makes it hard to justify spending $4 on an issue that only delivers 5 pages of new content.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #5

Aug 12, 2015

Secret Wars #5 was another brilliant installment in this truly epic big event. Marvel has an absolute classic on their hands with Secret Wars. At the rate Hickman is going, when this big event is concluded, Secret Wars is going to be viewed as Marvel's grandest big event. Secret Wars #5 offers beautiful dialogue, engaging character work, intricate plotting and stunning artwork. This issue is worth every single penny of its $4.00. And then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #9

Jan 15, 2016

Secret Wars #9 was a beautifully written issue that serves as a satisfying ending to what was a truly remarkable nearly 7 year story. I am sad to see Hickman leaving Marvel, but what a wonderful way for Hickman to leave. If you skipped on Secret Wars #9 then you should absolutely go and purchase this story when it comes out in trade format. Secret Wars is simply writing that is on a much higher level than what you get on 90% of the super hero comic books that are currently on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars: Battleworld #1

May 21, 2015

Secret Wars: Battleworld #1 far exceeded my expectations. Normally, support titles like Battleworld tend to be weak or simply cheap cash grabs by the publisher. Secret Wars: Battleworld #1 actually provided me with some quality entertainment and gave me further insight into the setting of Secret Wars and what some of the more minor characters are up to during this big event. I really could not ask for much more than what I got with this issue. I also loved the nice contrast in this issue between the heavy and dark first story with the much lighter and humorous second story. This approach gave this issue nice variety in themes. There really was something for everyone in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Wars: Battleworld #2

Jun 4, 2015

Secret Wars: Battleworld #2 was a step several notches down from the debut issue of this mini-series. The Blade/Howard the Duck story was excellent. However, it is hard for me to recommend buying a comic book for just half of the contents. The fact is that the Ross story really is not worth the price of admission. For $4.00 a comic book has to deliver more than just half a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Siege #2

Feb 4, 2010

Siege #2 was a dull and ordinary read. Bendis simply is not a big event writer and I do not think that he ever will be. I would like to see Marvel turn to some of their other writers in their stable for all of their big events in the future. Siege #2 is a creatively bankrupt read that offers little in the way of substance or entertainment to the reader. I would only recommend Siege #2 to die-hard Bendis fans. Action fans might get some limited enjoyment out of the mindless fighting and the Sentry/Ares squash scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Siege #3

Mar 18, 2010

Siege #3 was another incredibly disappointing issue. I have never thought that Bendis was a big event writer and Siege is simply confirming my beliefs on that matter. If you enjoyed Siege #1 and #2 then I would certainly encourage you to get Siege #3. You will probably enjoy this issue. I would also recommend Siege #3 to action fans who do not care at all about dialogue, character work and a deep and complex story. Readers who just enjoy fighting and seeing things get blown up should get plenty of entertainment value out of Siege #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Siege #4

May 13, 2010

Siege #4 is a complete waste of your money. Do not bother buying it. All you need to know is that Steve now has Norman Osborns job, the Registration Act has been repealed and that the real Avengers are back. Forget about Siege and look to the future and think only about the Heroic Age. That is the best approach to take. I would suggest saving your money for the numerous interesting looking Heroic Age titles that Marvel is trotting out over the course of the next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Soldier Zero #1

Oct 19, 2010

And I live in a military town and am constantly around military guys. You would have to be an absolute moron if you joined the military after 9/11 with the impression that you were not going to go fight in a war for the US government. Nobody is that stupid.Quote Refresh comments list

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 3, 2016

Spider-Man #1 was such an unimpressive debut issue. Bendis appears to have given little effort or attention to this issue. It is shocking at how lackadaisical Bendis was with this issue. Spider-Man #1 is a shallow read that feels more like a throw-away filler issue that writers slot in between major story arcs. If you are a die-hard Miles Morales fan then you will enjoy this issue. If you are a die-hard Brian Bendis fan then you will also enjoy this issue. For everyone else? Pass on Spider-Man #1. There is absolutely nothing here worth the high $4.00 price tag.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #12

Aug 27, 2012

Its a good read and a good way to kill some time during the day. I feel that this series will get even better as it progresses to more issues in the future and it will have you put Star Trek in a whole another light.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars (2014) #7

Jul 31, 2015

Star Wars #7 was another excellent read. Star Wars continues to be a must read title. This comic is well worth the price of admission. If you still have not given one of Marvel's Star Wars titles a chance then I would recommend giving it a try. This title is a fun combination of action, adventure and drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Maul - Death Sentence #1

Aug 21, 2012

Death Sentence is yet another fun travel through the Star Wars universe provided by the good people at Dark Horse comics. While all of the Star Wars comics over the years have been pretty solid, it is even more rewarding to see a very good comic that is also set in the sometimes shaky realm of the prequels. Basically, if you are looking for a good read, I recommend Death Sentence to Star Wars and comic fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Starborn #1

Dec 14, 2010

Starborn #1 was a fun read. Super hero fans that enjoy action adventure stories with a Sci Fi flair are sure to enjoy this debut issue. This is certainly a new title that is worth giving a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Starfire #1

Jun 10, 2015

All I can say at this point is go buy this issue! Support this title! Right now! Stop reading this review and run to your nearest local comic book shop and pick up a copy of Starfire #1. Comic books like Starfire #1 are such a refreshing change of pace from most of what DC shovels down our throats. This is a positive, upbeat and fun comic book. Trust me, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Starfire #2

Jul 8, 2015

Starfire #2 was another wonderful read. Starfire is a welcoming fresh summer breeze that washes over the reader whisks away the stench that the New 52 has left on most of DC's titles. Starfire is easily one of the most unique super hero titles on the market. The emphasis on fun, positivity and honest heroism makes this title stand out among the other super hero titles crowding the shelves at your local comic book store. I would highly recommend buying Starfire #2. This is a title that deserves strong support.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior #4

Jan 26, 2011

Superior #4 was a slightly above average read. Millar does a great job capturing Simon's emotions as he adjusts to being a real life super hero. And I appreciate the love and affection that Millar clearly has for the super hero genre. Currently, it seems that many comic book writers have disdain for the genre that pays them so handsomely. And their lack of love for the genre shows in the titles that they write for Marvel. Millar certainly loves the super hero genre and he handles this modern version of Superman with respect to the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Superman (2011) #42

Jul 29, 2015

Superman #42 was an average read. Since this issue offers little in the way of new plot development readers can easily skip this issue and not miss much. The super hero comic market is a tough and brutal market. There are so many great options before the reader these days. Issues like Superman #42 that offer a middle of the road read are easy to passover. With an expensive $4.00 cover price, Superman #42 has to deliver more of an interesting and creative story in order to justify such a price tag. Unfortunately, it does not.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #19

Jul 15, 2015

Superman/Wonder Woman #19 was a poor read. There is no way I would ever recommend anyone spend their hard earned money on this issue. The only readers that I believewould enjoy this issue are die-hard Wonder Woman fans and any Dude Bro Superman fans. There are so many othersuper hero comics on the market that offer a far superior bang for your buck. Honestly? If you are just hankering for some Wonder Woman or some Superman then go buy a trade paperback of some older pre-New 52 Wonder Woman or Superman stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #20

Aug 23, 2015

Superman/Wonder Woman #20 was a brilliantly written read. Tomasi demonstrates why he is still one of DC's top writers. Given the horrible editorial decisions with Superman and Wonder Woman, it is nothing short of stunning that Tomasi is able to take what he is given and craft it into such a well written and enjoyable comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teen Titans (2014) #10

Jul 23, 2015

All in all, the bland and shallow story combined with the sketchy and suspect artwork make Teen Titans #10 a dismal read. This issue is nothing more than a time waster. Mere filler designed to stretch out a rather thin plot line. There are tons of super hero comics on the stands that offer such a better reading experience that this issue. Do not waste your money on Teen Titans #10. It is sad to see such a great franchise still spinning its wheels in the mud.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Toy Story #5

Aug 3, 2010

Toy Story is due out tomorrow, August 4. Toy Story #5 does trend to younger readers than some of the other all-ages titles. I would recommend this issue for readers between the ages of 5-8. The good thing is that Toy Story #5 is an issue you can read to your kid without being entirely bored in the process.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ultimate Comics Avengers #5

Mar 4, 2010

Ultimate Avengers #5 was another fun read. Millar continues to approach this title like it was a summer blockbuster movie. Millar is not trying to re-invent the genre. Instead, what Millar is doing is delivering a solidly crafted action themed super hero tale. I strongly recommend Ultimate Avengers to any fans of action/adventure based comic books. If you are simply looking for some quality entertainment then Ultimate Avengers definitely worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ultimate Comics New Ultimates #1

Mar 8, 2010

New Ultimates #1 was a pedestrian read. I would only recommend this title to die-hard Defenders and Ultimates fans or to fans of Frank Cho. This issue is incredibly new reader friendly and is a simple and easy read. You do not have to have ever read any of the previous installments of The Ultimates or Ultimatum in order to understand what is going on in New Ultimates #1. That might make it appealing to some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #2

Nov 19, 2015

Uncanny Avengers #2 was a fun read. This issue is exactly what I love to get with my super hero comics. Action, adventure, good team chemistry all wrapped up in a fun and entertaining package. What is also nice about Uncanny Avengers #2 is that it is new reader friendly as well as being accessible to readers of all ages. This is a quality super hero read that is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #2

Mar 1, 2013

Uncanny X-Men #2 was a waste of time and paper. Skip this issue. There is absolutely no reason for you to waste your hard earned money on it. Just go pick up Uncanny X-Men #3 instead. That appears to be the issue where all the fun is going to start. Despite my criticisms of this issue, I still believe that Bendis is the right guy to breath life into the X-Men franchise. His incredible work over on All New X-Men is proof of that. Hopefully, Bendis can get Uncanny X-Men up to the same standards and do so quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #1

Jan 7, 2016

Uncanny X-Men #1 was a great read. Bunn delivers a well crafted issue that kicks off this new title in a splendid fashion. Yeah, you have to deal with Greg Land's artwork and all of its annoyances, but Bunn's writing more than makes up for that. Uncanny X-Men #1 offers up a balanced read that has action, adventure, mystery and great character work. There is a lot in this issue that will appeal to a wide range of readers. If you like comic books that are not ashamed to embrace their super hero roots then you definitely need to buy a copy of Uncanny X-Men #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underground #5

Mar 2, 2010

Underground #5 was a strong ending to what was an enjoyable mini-series. If you missed out on Underground then I strongly suggest that you get the trade paperback of Undeground once Image releases it. This is a story that is worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Men Vol. 4 #1

Jul 19, 2010

X-Men #1 was certainly a new reader friendly issue. Readers need not be scared off by the X-Mens ridiculously convoluted continuity when considering purchasing this title. If you like vampires then I would definitely recommend purchasing X-Men #1. However, for everyone else, I would recommend passing on X-Men #1. This title fails to distinguish itself from the countless other super hero titles already on the market. X-Men #1 also fails to state a claim for why the X-Men need a third title.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More