Branden Murray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 135
7.1Avg. Review Rating

7.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 8, 2017

While I came into this issuenot expecting much I was pleasantly surprised by what was delivered. I had afew issues with the art, it wasn't enough to lower my score for this book. Itwas a fun read full of humor and action and with the way that this book ended Ican't wait to see what Duggan has to offer us with this ongoing Guardians book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #22

Dec 26, 2016

Bits and Pieces If you're following the Clone Conspiracy event this is amust read for the backstory of “Jackal” alone. If this is an issue you may have an interest in as a stand-aloneSpider-Man story wait things out until the event is over because it's become atrue tie-in to the event … enjoyable but still just a tie-in story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #23

Jan 23, 2017

Amazing Spider-Man continues to be the best of the tie-inissues that accompany the Spider event Clone Conspiracy. This issue spotlights acloned Gwen Stacey and Peter Parker who take the reader through a worthy andenjoyable trip down memory lane. However to see this story all the way through,and make it truly worth a purchase, an investment in the event would benecessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #24

Feb 27, 2017

I wont rush to revisit this event again soon but I did like seeing the journey and will be back for the Omega issue next week ... why not? 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #25

Mar 20, 2017

How much do you love Spider-Man, because Marvel sure istesting that love with a ten dollar price tag for issue twenty-five. Althoughthere are stories to like within the pages of this extended issue only abouthalf of them will truly please even the most hardcore Spidey lover.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #26

Apr 17, 2017

My interesthas been luke-warm so far with at the start of this latest Goblin arc, inthe pages of the Amazing Spider-Man by Dan Slott, mostly because its been heavy on action, fuzzy on character motivations for its stars, and very light on providing important information needed. Although the art is the highlight of the issue,I'm finding the pages colored way too dark lately for my liking, sinceClone Conspiracy, and hope the second half of this story returns this book to alighter color palate and tone overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #27

May 15, 2017

The AmazingSpider-Man #27 has some great action while making progress to the overall story(as the title settles to prepare for its Secret Empire crossover). However thethreat of the Green Goblin has felt hallow and impersonal throughout this arcand not much is done here to improve upon that.    

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #28

Jun 12, 2017

Spider-Manwraps up the latest Norman Osborne storyline in exciting fashion and provided ussome of Dan Slot's most exciting and well-paced story in a while. The new artteam officially gets me onboard this issue with some creative paneling andsharp artistic choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #30

Jul 17, 2017

Spider-Man/Peter and his corporation are in for some trouble down the road and the ground workfor the ivory tower to come crumbling down is laid here in this issue. Despite the tie-in status between art and afew of the important story beats present this issue is worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #31

Aug 14, 2017

Spider-Man/PeterParker goes back to basics by the conclusion of this issue, which is a little sadto me in the long run of this story as a whole. However Slott did a good job withthis action oriented tie-in story while also moved the Spider-Man narrative atlarge forward in a big way for the Legacy initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #789

Oct 16, 2017

Issue #789 was enjoyable, and very new reader friendly, but having read Spider-Man for years this issue to me just feels get a very generic superhero one shot when it's all said and done. I just expected more of a hook, and a less cookie cutter approach, to keep me wanting to read the Legacy version of the Amazing Spider-Man title as a whole. As it stands for now, after one Legacy issue, the art is more appealing than the overall direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #2

Dec 19, 2016

Overall it feels like this beginning story arc is being usedas a way to establish each characters role inside the family.  Peter is of course who he's always been justmore fatherly, Mary Jane comes across as a character fans have been beggingfor, and Annie is getting opportunities to develop into a hero that shows promise. Its cliche to say but there really is somethingfor everyone to enjoy in this title if you're not looking to take it toseriously and just enjoy a continuity free ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #3

Jan 16, 2017

Bits and PiecesAlthough the story has been stuck in neutral, this issue wasmy personal favorite of the three we've been given so far, providing informationon a young Annie May readers previously weren't privy to.  There is something for everyone in this titlehumor, action, even heart felt family moments, you could share this book withyour girlfriend and she might not hate you. If you're someone still upset aboutBrand New Day this title may help ease that pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #4

Feb 13, 2017

Renew Your Vows continues to be a fun, family driven title,about watching a young hero find her way, under the guidance of a Marvel legendwho also happens to be dear ol' dad.  There'senough humor, action, and even a few heart stealing moments in this issue tofind something for everyone to enjoy here. Aside from a few pacing issues this arc overall this is truly a Spider book to sharewith the family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #5

Mar 27, 2017

I recommendthis issue and series to anybody that wants a little bit of family flavor addedinto their super hero lineup each month. This really is Marvel's best answer to the Superman lineup that DC putsout and is really equally as enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #6

Apr 17, 2017

The story isgripping and moves at a perfect pace, the art is fantastic and attentiongrabbing, there really is very little not to like found inside the pages ofthis title. This is how a Spider book should look and feel and I wish the main AmazingSpider-Man title would take a few notes from its B title counterpart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #7

May 15, 2017

Renew YourVows continues to provide a fresh take on a different version of the Marveluniverse while highlighting the plights, fun, and drama of Peter fighting crimewith his family.  Action, laughs, andsome great art, and fun stories have propelled this to a Marvel must have.  

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #8

Jun 19, 2017

Renew Your Vows continues to hit the high points of Spider-Man lore, keeping readersengaged in a well done elseworlds tale.This was a setup issue for the arc to come, and had some good moments highlightingM.J.'s plight, with great art to compliant the series as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #12

Oct 16, 2017

As a final send off issue from the original creative team, this was a very heart warming and a touching conclusion. You don't get many happy ending stories like this, so this was a special one. With this final arc, the book focus seems to shift from a Spider family centric book to more about their daughter and I'm sure we'll get to see more of it with the new creative team of Jody Houser and Nick Roche. The art was a bit of a downer for me coming from Level's previous issue, but Aburtov's colours make it all better. This was a proper love letter ending to the full year we've received of Renew Your Vows and I'm all in for teenager Spiderling and her adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 24, 2017

This is thebest individual issue of a team X-Men comic book I've read in a long time. Withan action heavy start the issue does an excellent job of bringing a teamtogether all while revealing to the reader the threat this rag tag group ofX-Men will take on. The start of this series shows a lot of promise and is arare case of, dare I say it, #1 Marvel issue being worth $4.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #2

Dec 14, 2016

It difficult not to compare this crossover to the one done by James Tynion IV and Freddie Williams but it's really two totally different animals altogether. Batman/TMNT Adventures has a much more kid friendly feel than its predecessor at this point, which is ok. However if you're an adult here looking for enjoyment from the crossover, it would be primarily for the art because the story beats provided, up to this point, need to pick up. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #3

Jan 26, 2017

Batman TMNT Adventures puts out another strong issue with someclever humor bits that stole the show for me personally (see Robin and anybody).The art continues to be a reason to also consider purchasing this title becauseif you're a fan of either cartoon series represented here there is plenty tolook at and enjoy overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #4

Feb 16, 2017

There were a few unexpected surprises in issue four Ipersonally enjoyed that brought some new life into a paint by numbers crossoverstory.  The art continues to be carry thebook and make it worth the price of admission especially for fans of the cartoonproperty its borrowed from.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #5

Mar 22, 2017

Thepenultimate issue of Batman/TMNT Adventures is the most fun in the series I'vehad so far.  The story finally cametogether, the homage and art style was spot on, and it's truly a book parentscan appreciate for nostalgia, while sharing and reading along with their kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #6

May 17, 2017

Batman TMNT Adventures concludes with a thud, throwing in what felt like an afterthought of an issue, to a story that already felt mostly complete. Unless you need the final issue of the series or need more of this art style this is an issue to avoid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #1

May 1, 2017

Ben Reilly:Scarlet Spider was my surprise title of the week as I really appreciated thejourney Peter David has begun going in a very non-traditional direction notnormally seen in mainstream super hero comic books.  Mark Bagley on art duties doesn't hurt mattereither making this title an easy recommendation especially for long time BenReilly fan boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #2

May 29, 2017

So far BenReilly: Scarlet Spider by Peter David has been a slow, intriguing burn, that I'llsee through to the end of the first arc to make my ultimate judgement to keepreading or let go.  The art by Bagley hasbeen awesome so far and is worth checking out. However if Ben/Kane arecharacters you're new to there might be some issues for you with this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #3

Jun 19, 2017

Although theissue ultimately reaches a very 'fan service-y' conclusion, with not muchhappening that adds to the overall narrative of the story moving forward, Davidand his art team of Bagley and company do a great job sucking the reader intoan intriguing world I keep wanting to revisit. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #5

Jul 31, 2017

Ben Reilly:Scarlet Spider is a book with several lingering plot threads that have done agood job of keeping me intrigued going forward complimented with some of Marvelbest monthly art on any title this year. Any fan of Spider-Man's clone family would enjoy this new take on thecharacters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #6

Aug 28, 2017

Issue six takes some time to introduce some new story elements while recapping what's gone on in the series so far for newer readers.  While David does a nice job of weaving an effective narrative this month Sliney taking over art duties is a bummer especially transitioning from Bagley to kick this series off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #7

Sep 18, 2017

Scarlet Spider comes out with a crazy issue, that goes about things the right way in repairing the image of one Ben Reilly.  Light on action but heavy on surprises this is a must buy for any long time Scarlet Spider fan or anyone who soured on the character in Clone Conspiracy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America (2017) #695

Nov 6, 2017

While nothing out of this world, or really too exciting, happens in this issue I get the sense it will please a lot of long time Captain America fans to know the Steve they love is back.  The art by Samnee puts the issue over the top to make it something to recommended. I would say see if you like #695 and possibly continue going forward but the simplicity might not be for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #8

Jan 2, 2017

In summary don't waste your money. Marvel just charged everyonefor a delayed solicit to the line of NOW! Books, which have already released anyway,disguised as a wrap up to an awful event comic. DC's Convergence, and Marvel'sown Axis, was War and Peace compared to this title.  Chalk up Civil War as an event that shouldn't evenbe enjoyed in an ironic way like a bad movie might be because it's worse thanthat. If Marvel thinks there getting any money out of me for Monsters Unleashedor any future event title after this stunt they are so wrong I can't even beginto think of an analogy to compare it to. If you wan to look at the bright side at least the art was good right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cougar and Cub #2

Feb 18, 2017

Cougar and Cub is a brand of comedy satire I can get behind andlove how it's being told. Nick Marino and Daniel Arruda Massa have put outanother creative little ditty here, in line with previous works, only this onehas a throwback feel involving super hero ‘affairs' of simpler times … with atwist of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cougar and Cub #3

Apr 2, 2017

The comedyhomage title, Cougar and Cub, continues on moving forward with a greatpremise and art style which sets our heroes up to face their final conflictthat could possibly reunite them (and their passions) after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cougar and Cub #4

Apr 30, 2017

The penultimate issue of Cougar and Cub continues to hit the right comedy beats,while being accompanied by some beautiful art, and ultimately concluding this issue with the 'Rouges' winning the day, setting the stage for an interesting final showdown and a much earned conclusion to this comedic satire romp I find nothing but a lot of enjoyment in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Cougar and Cub #5

Jun 4, 2017

I wholeheartedly recommend this series to any fan interested in Action Lab Danger Zone'sofferings who's unsure what to checkout next. This is a story with a sense ofhumor at play here that perfectly captures the whole late night adult cartoontype feel and is deserving of your attention.  

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 29, 2017

While it'snot without its flaws this story continues to be a worthy addition to DarkKnight lore for this Batman fan.  If you'vestuck around for this long in the series, through the delays, you're treated toan epic battle issue, light on Batman, but heavily featuring Wonder Woman andthe Amazons in all their glory. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 7, 2017

The DarkKnight III: Master Race wraps up with a satisfying conclusion featuring a bunchof cameos from characters from throughout the series both in the main title andmini-comic companion pieces.  This was avery worthy addition to the Dark Knight trilogy for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2015) #34

Jul 31, 2017

The Deadpoolseries, despite its tie-in status, is capitalizing on an interesting premise,dragging Deadpool's personal life and decisions, into a line wide event in avery intriguing way.  The art complimentsthe story telling very well, with Act 2 of the issue, being a very impactfulfight scene that will have implications going forward for Deadpool as a whole.     

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again #1

Jul 10, 2017

Deadpool returns to kill everyone again and the title doesn't necessarily feel like a directfollow up to the initial mini-series its spawned from, just another go aroundwith the same concept. If you're a truered blooded Deadpool fan Im sure this may be something you find enjoyment inbut a casual Marvel reader will get more bang for their buck elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doctor Strange (2015) #381

Nov 20, 2017

Dr. Strange comes out firing with a strong Legacy issue by Cates, Hernandez Walta, and Bellaire and one of my favorite single issues efforts so far for this latest Marvel Comics marketing initiative. While Loki takes the title of Sorcerer Supreme Dr. Strange still has a presence and both characters are more interesting for it.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Edge of Venomverse #1

Jul 3, 2017

Edge ofVenomverse does a decent enough job of providing an intriguing first issue but doesn'tmake the overall point of the story being published overtly clear justyet.  In a crowded summer comic bookmarket it's tough to make a case for this mini-event to warrant much attentionjust yet, unless some must see moments happen quickly, recapping a version of X-23's origin isnt that just yet ... but hey at least its not $4.99!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
FCBD 2017: X-O Manowar #1

May 6, 2017

Everything in this free book looks amazing so despite its cheap price tag all creators involved still appear to have put some hard earned blood sweat and tears into their work here, so you're getting several high quality featurettes. If you're a fan of X-O or just interested in getting a better taste of the Valiant universe as a whole do yourself a favor sneak out Saturday and pick this lil' guy up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Generations: Phoenix & Jean Grey #1

Aug 14, 2017

Generations:Jean Gray is another forgettable Marvel cash grab that doesn't provide much ofa story to enjoy but does find success artistically. Grab this 'Generations'Marvel imprint at your own risk and only if you are a completionist ofcharacter collecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 7, 2017

After apromising start to the issue, the story spends too much time repeating the sameevents over and over, making this a pointless one shot with too high a pricepoint to recommend. I still have no idea what Generations is other than randommeetings between heroes I wanted to care more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Gotham City Garage #1

Aug 16, 2017

Gotham CityGarage comes out of the gate firing with a cool concept then building a worldaround it I want to continue reading more about going forward.  If any part of this concept soundsinteresting to you jump on and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham City Garage #2

Aug 30, 2017

Gotham City Garage is a high octane hit! Chapter 2 (of the possible biweekly series?) is just as strong an issue as the debut all while answering just enough of the lingering questions I had. I really look forward to the coming conflict, and mystery of Kara's history, there's a ton going right here … check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #3

Sep 21, 2017

Gotham Garage #3 is a fun action heavy issue that continues to unravel this world we're being introduced to in fun ways. There's changes here in the point of view the stories being told from, and artistically, that may throw people off who've read from the start, but the book remains strong regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Gotham City Garage #4

Oct 4, 2017

Gotham City Garage concludes its first arc by introducing a likable character, in a very interesting and mysterious corner of the DC Multiverse, that has me interested going forward. So far this series has been an enjoyable hero's journey to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #5

Oct 17, 2017

Gotham City Garage takes us back to the Garden for awhile before providing us a Harley origin story that initially felt tacked on but came full circle Tarantino style in the end.  The art, although it's changed throughout the series, gets its best showing yet in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Gotham City Garage #6

Oct 24, 2017

Gotham City Garage issue six is a giant fight between the Harley, Batgirl, and Batman that doesn't do much to move the story forward but provides enough eye candy to action fans to make it worth a look.  This felt more like a throw away issue in the series when I'm begging for more of this world to be unraveled.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #3

Dec 21, 2016

Overall the He-Man/Thunder Cats crossover continues to impress me all the wayfrom the cover to last cliffhanger page each and every issue so far.  It may be one of those rare crossovers thatyou don't necessarily have to be a fan of the properties,  He-Man and Thundercats, to enjoy because its just a damn good comic book at this point.   

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #4

Jan 18, 2017

This “silly” crossover, between two 80's TV/toy properties,continues to be an enjoyable story and is entering into the territory of beingbetter than it has any business to be. Even if your aren't a fan of the He-Manor Thunder Cat lines there is no denying the art is incredibly pleasing to lookat making this comic well worth its cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #5

Feb 15, 2017

He-Man/Thunder Cats continue to bring what the fans want tothe table despite a few minor hiccups. If you're a fan of these properties andyou've come this far along in the series issue five is truly a book to lookover twice. Make sure you don't miss anything fun, important, or even severalthrowbacks to your childhood straight from creators who care. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #6

Mar 15, 2017

He-Man and Thunder Cats provides a satisfying conclusion toa pretty epic mini-series, while also continuing to acknowledge these character‘share' the Multiverse with fellow DC characters, a nice little callback, ifyou ask me, for following He-Man stories DC has published.  Come for the characters you loved as a childstay for the great story and fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Injustice 2 #19

Aug 19, 2017

Batman'steam pursuing the kids' Ra's has kidnapped has really grabbed my attention. Thisseries, which continues to put out high quality issues week in and week out, isa must read for anyone even remotely interested in the Injustice concept, novideo game experience needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #20

Aug 22, 2017

Injustice 2 chapter 20 starts a little off balance but by the conclusion of the issue I was back on board and begging for more like always. Plus, this issue contains a cliffhanger that'll put a smile on any DC fans face.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Injustice 2 #21

Aug 29, 2017

Chapter 21 is another solid addition to the Injustice 2 series. We get some forward momentum towards our heroes mission and an awesome boxing glove arrow cameo " all well worth $.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #22

Sep 5, 2017

Chapter 22 is a fantastic issue with a great cliffhanger, building on the continued momentum, story wise, going forward.  The art never has a down week as all characters and backgrounds look excellent consistently. Check this out if you have any interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Injustice 2 #23

Sep 12, 2017

Tom Taylor and company keep up the unrelenting pace, action, and drama in a great issue this week. The highlight of a long gone character from this series is a welcome addition to a crowded cast I'm becoming very attached to.  

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Injustice 2 #24

Sep 19, 2017

Injustice 2 Chapter 24 wraps up the saga in Ra's Sanctuary and moves the story forward setting up a new conflict and enemies from here. The art continues to be consistently amazing making this a must buy each week for me digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Injustice 2 #25

Sep 26, 2017

The story jumps back to dealing with the Supergirl situation on Kahndaq as we get an interesting mix of characters interacting in some cool ways.  The art change does a good job of holding the quality set by the team before them. Continues to be a great value read for $.99 a week.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice 2 #26

Oct 3, 2017

Injustice 2 puts out a great issue highlighting the genuine goodness in Supergirl and the best written Damien in all of DC Comics. This may have been my favorite issue of the series to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #27

Oct 10, 2017

Issue #26 is a setup heavy issue, for long time readers, seeding threads to be explored further in the next arc of the story. Not a lot happens, but the developments are interesting enough to check out, especially for Booster and Beetle fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Injustice 2 #28

Oct 17, 2017

Injustice 2 #28 plays a few clever tricks, to get what could be a dull setup issue about Batman's entire plight, into a genuinely good read you'll have to go through twice. The art continues to wow as do the consistently great cliffhangers.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #29

Oct 24, 2017

The story of late has lacked the focus and weight of the previous 22 issues as it settles into developing the story and teams that are being reformed throughout the universe.  While the overall book still remains enjoyable, and art continues to be out of this world, I'm ready for some big time things to start shaking out again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Injustice 2 #30

Nov 3, 2017

The Kara Supergirl intermission continues as she is essentially just still a pawn in a Black Adam's larger scheme.  Theres good stuff to be found in the issue but I have preferred the stories on Earth to be more engaging thus far. The art never fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #31

Nov 7, 2017

Supergirl continues to shine in the latest arc of Injustice 2 #31 as the adventure on Themyscira wraps up and is now headed elsewhere.  I like what happens here just eager to get back to Earth now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice 2 #32

Nov 15, 2017

Injustice 2 #32 shifts the focus of this issue to Barry Allen literally and figuratively on the road to redemption. Tom Taylor uses every page of this digital comic to deliver an emotionally impactful issue that can be enjoyed by series regulars, Barry Allen fans, or even just anybody who finds joy in comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #33

Nov 21, 2017

Injustice 2 really gets back on track here this issue with a focus on the villains plans and Harley, which Tom Taylor writes fantastically.  If you've fallen off with the snippets that have been taking place lately this will get you back on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, when going into this crossover, you have to askyourself a few questions. Do you enjoy the characters in this comic book? Are you in the mood for a little bit of over thetop, crazy, crossover fun? If your answers are "yes" to these questions thenthis title is for you even if you may think you're too old for the likes of thePower Rangers. Tom Taylor, a WeirdScience favorite, and Steven Byrne have established a shocking tone, to go withan interesting premise in the first issue, and all the characters together earlyto make it a crossover I want to read going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

Overall issue two remains decent, albeit a little similar tothis series' first outing last month, but what I'm most excited about, now thatthe formal introductions are out of the way, is that we can finally get down tochewing gum and kicking ass now … I'm not even sure they sell gum in Gotham so that'sgood news for us readers here for the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

Justice League Power Rangers #3 is another suitable issue ina crossover that's so far had a solid story with great art.  I really think this maybe a better book ifyou're a parent and have a preteen aged child interested in either propertiesor attempting to get into comics. However for a regular monthly reader of avariety of different, as well as related properties, to this title it's failingto hold my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 17, 2017

Bits and PiecesThe JusticeLeague/Power Rangers fourth issue continues the trend in the series of providingan entertaining crossover to sink your teeth into with some great art fans ofeither property highlighted will appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 9, 2017

JusticeLeague/Power Rangers is a paint by numbers crossover title but not in a bad way.The story is decent enough, and the art looks great, but this isn't really thebook I expected however it is something I'd recommend more for younger readers into these teams.   

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #6

Sep 27, 2017

The story felt like a pretty generic crossover, that reached the natural conclusion you thought it might by the end of the story. However coupled with some great art by Byrne the overall product is an above average effort keen for a younger audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 13, 2017

R.L. Stinedoes an excellent job of setting the tone and establishing the premise for the beginningof this story raising a few questions along the way I'm excited to find theanswers to.  Both art teams present on thestories in the book do a great job of capturing the tone and emotions presentmaking this something I wholeheartedly recommended to any fan of ahorror/comedy type of comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Man-Thing (2017) #2

Apr 3, 2017

Man-Thing hasbeen a hit so far with R.L. Stine, a proverbial childhood author for a largegroup of readers, penning an action packed, mystery/horror story supported withgreat art. Mini-series sometimes don't get the attention they deserve but thisis just different enough to warrant your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Man-Thing (2017) #3

May 1, 2017

Man-Thingseems to have stalled while inexcusably going back on the progress anddecisions our hero previously made in the story.   I'mnot sure what happened from last month to this month but there are charactersjumping in and out of the title all over the place and the story in general just seems to havelost its footing in a race to a conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Man-Thing (2017) #4

Jun 12, 2017

With storybeast that feel completely random and a character that's becoming difficult toroot for I'm not sure what crowd this book is aiming to please. While not whollyunenjoyable there is not enough I find to like that make me recommended this toothers.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Man-Thing (2017) #5

Jun 26, 2017

Man-Thingstarted pretty intriguing as a mini-series but ultimately morphed into a randomseries of events for the story to reach a ho-hum conclusion.  The art looks pretty, and can get trippy whenthe characters are in Nexus, but there's nothing special that make this issue orseries ultimately worth it as a whole to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Marvel Legacy #1

Oct 1, 2017

A worthwhile effort from some of Marvel's best talent hopefully providing Marvel a roadmap easily followed to draw some inspiration back into their Universe. The title is far from perfect, but the right amount of fun, and good art make it worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2017) #188

Nov 13, 2017

What an introduction to this series! I have to say that it's a good read despite the titular character's absence. The art was very well done (and what a beautiful cover!). I feel confident in saying we can look forward to a good looking book going forward. We get a very good introduction to what I expect to be a major villain going forward and I can't wait to continue the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #23

Oct 16, 2017

G. Willow Wilson continues to keep Ms. Marvel in her own self-contained story within the Marvel Universe with this issue. This arc is a palette cleanser after what happened in the previous arc and I do find Kamala struggling internally with being Ms. Marvel interesting, but her jealousy over Red Dagger's quick popularity to be way over the top. If you enjoy the usual silliness of Ms. Marvel filler issues, you'll enjoy this one, especially with beautiful art from Olortegui to show it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #24

Nov 13, 2017

This was a quick read with some hilarious dialogue and I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. There wasn't any forced romance with Red Dagger, just self re-evaluation for Kamala's character. As a filler arc, I didn't love it or hate it as a whole. In the way she stopped the train, she could have done it when it was only going at a snail's pace, but we wouldn't get to see her make a decision and be responsible for it and I liked that aspect of her character, so I'll overlook that. I'm looking forward to seeing our hero put away the costume and focus on being Kamala Khan for Legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Jun 26, 2017

SpectacularSpider-Man is filled with hit and miss humor, leaning heavily towards the missend of the spectrum, while also not offering up much in the story department sofar, other than a semi intriguing cliffhanger, and barrage of never endingjokes that progress the story forwards. Artistically this issue is also veryaverage, and looks very rushed in spots, especially when compared to the FCBDissue released just last month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prowler #3

Jan 2, 2017

Overall this is an entertaining action filled romp thatshould hold the attention of people reading the Clone Conspiracy event.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Prowler #4

Jan 30, 2017

Bits and PiecesAfter a fascinating start to the series, the Prowler as a stand-alonebook is struggling to find an intriguing conflict for our hero to really sinkhis teeth into.  Combine all that withfighting skills that seem sub-par and an unlikable demeanor, especially thisissue, and this maybe something to avoid until it can steer clear of tie-instatus and truly allow the character to flourish … if it gets that chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Prowler #5

Feb 27, 2017

Pairing Ryan's twists in story telling with the art team of JamalCampbell & Javier Saltares makes this a tie-in worth checking out foranyone invested in the Clone Conspiracy story as a whole. If you are howeverlooking for an independent Prowler tale there may be better options out there available for the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rocket Raccoon (2016) #2

Jun 12, 2017

There was a lot ofaction packed into this issue and at the end of the instalment Rocket has beenleft in a tailspin employing some of Earth's finest swear words. As always witha Rocket Raccoon book we get some laughs. The plotline is insane and the art isgood. It is not gonna break any conventions, or scale any new heights in theworld of comics - but guess what? It is a fun series, and that's why we all gotinto this comic business in the first place - fun. I'm happy with the return onthis book and am looking forward to see how Rocket schemes his way out of hispresent difficulties. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 24, 2017

While this is nothing more than another one of Marvel's overpriced andoverhyped event comics it does manage to avoid total disaster with a premisethat has the potential to be very interesting. While the release schedule and sheeramount of tie-ins scare me away from engaging fully into the narrative I willpay attention to the main title to keeps tabs on how our heroes bring their onetime greatest ally to justice.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #1

May 8, 2017

There are things I like here but where the zero issue played a clever game of moving chess pieces around the game board for the reader to see, Secret Empire #1 stalls that momentum, and just wants you to believe things happened, like America has given up under Hydra control, moves forward united, all simply because of a leap forward in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #2

May 22, 2017

Overall I'mjust not in love and committed to repeatedly paying $4.99 repeatedly multipletimes per month for another overly long event comic book series from Marvelcomics again. Unless it was Nick Spencer knocking my socks off of course whichSecret Empire so far is still far from doing.    If you're a fan of Sorrentino's art style,that is where most of your enjoyment will be found in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire #3

Jun 4, 2017

If you'resolely invested in this main Secret Empire title so far you've spent $18.96(cover price) on a total of four issues that feel like they could have beenshortened and cut down to two.  The paceis awful and this book is becoming less and less intriguing with each passingissue … wake me up when something actually happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #4

Jun 19, 2017

Secret Empire continues to be the worst kind of event comic, a dull one, much like its predecessor Civil War 2. The art is a step up this issue from the last couple in the series but the overall story is in love with hearing itself speak and preach to the reader showing little in terms of progress after five issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Secret Empire #5

Jul 3, 2017

Ill sum up Secret Empire #5 in one sentence, I feel asleep three times reading this book, itsjust flat out boring. It continues the trend of revealing very little, progressing the story even less, just about turning into the over bloated messwe all feared it would be at the start. Tie-in'sappear to be telling too much of the story, while the main event book feelslike a series of uninteresting random scenes that just aren't keeping myattention anymore. To many questions, too few answers, and a poorly thought out,and now expanded idea, make this a low point for Marvel event comics since Fear Itself. Honestly I think I liked Civil War II more and Im saying that with acompletely straight face.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire #9

Aug 28, 2017

Was anybody was in the mood for Civil War 3? No? Me either! This is again your standard Marvel Cosmic Cube nonsense, combined with uneven tone and storytelling, accompanied with a corny narration the entire way through that just doesn't raise the provoking thoughts Nick Spencer feels it should. With everyone after a giant reset button to begin with, at least the end is on the horizon, and we can all forget this ever happened soon enough … kind of like the events of Civil War 2 and Axis. At least your eyes will enjoy themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Secret Empire #10

Sep 4, 2017

The audience for Secret Empire knew what this ending would be before issue #0 was even published. If you're interested, and want to confirm what you most likely thought all along anyway, buy and read this issue. For the rest of us with any common sense, Im sure we can find something better to do with your time, avoid this disaster porn altogether, its a waste of time and money. 

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Secret Empire: Omega #1

Sep 18, 2017

Any lasting effect of Secret Empire is wiped out until an infuriating cliffhanger that anyone with a brain saw coming. There's no redeeming value in this book, this is an exercise in pointless event excess to the highest degree, even the artists are bored.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #13

Jan 16, 2017

Overall this was an entertaining issue of Spider-Man/Deadpool that provides plenty of jokes and gags that hit the mark, while the art on the title continues to be something to follow, and a worthy selling point. However we have a Peter Parker/Spider-Man in this series making decisions that feels very out of place,and although I understand it's only part of his story, and crisis he's going through, I don't buy they're decisions he'd ever consider making from years of reading the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man/Deadpool #14

Feb 27, 2017

Brothers from other mothers, Spider-Man and Deadpool, takingon the likes of Itsy-Bitsy continues to be enthralling, but its releaseschedule is less than ideal, taking another break until MAY! However Kelly andMcGuiness, when present on the title, make it worth paying attention too. Therevolving door of guest writers, outside that main team though, make it hard torecommend on a month in and  month outbasis when they're absent too often. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Men II #1

Jul 17, 2017

This is adecent but not jaw dropping start to a mini-series bringing Peter and Milesback together to investigate the cliffhanger from the first series.  While the first issue didn't tackle thisproblem head-on and running enough of my interest was piqued for a return visitto this series especially with Pichelli and Ponsor on art duties.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Spider-Men II #3

Sep 25, 2017

Spider-Men 2 #3 continues to tread water and is still looking for a purpose as a whole three issues into a five issues mini series.  This idea for this title feel strangely rushed, and five years too late all at the same time, this is nothing I'd recommended even to the most loyal Spider-Man fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spirits of Vengeance (2017) #1

Oct 9, 2017

Spirits of Vengeance gets off on the right foot introducing everyone to its intriguing cast of characters and sending them off on their way.  Not many answers so far but the quality seems there enough to keep me coming back for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #15

May 22, 2017

When Marvel does Star Wars well (which having read all their new output I'd estimate is about 75% of the time) we get material such as the Han Solo mini-series - which is what this series should be aiming to emulate - or Shattered Empire where we got to know Poe's parents. When it goes badly though we end up with trash like this issue thrown at us, which was a consistent result from the Darth Vader title and books like Dr Aphra and large parts of the main Star Wars book. After last month's high point in the Poe series- with the moving funeral scenes - the fall in quality seems so much further in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #3

Dec 12, 2016

This is an event story after all so it isn't perfect by anymeans but the plot elements are doing enough to keep me on the edge of my seatand I'm excited to see what, or who in this case, is around each corner. Thingswill be coming to a roaring conclusion in the coming months and I can't imaginehow all this will wrap up because after the reveals this issue I'm out ofguesses of whose left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #4

Jan 23, 2017

The story as a whole continues to be interesting, and well-drawn,which has taken Peter/Spider-Man on an emotional journey, testing the foundational beliefs of him as a person established at a young age. I appreciate the story at its core, which feels like a more traditional Spider-Man tale than more recent events, like Spider-Verse. If you felt like Peter (Spidey) has been a little too much like Tony(Iron Man) lately, Clone Conspiracy might be the righting of the ship you've been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Clone Conspiracy #5

Feb 20, 2017

Clone Conspiracy #5 ends in lackluster fashion continuing thetrend of strange Spidey related clone saga shenanigans that have preceded it.  This story also continues the Marvel eventstrategy of ending things with non-endings forcing you, a reader, further intoa currently convoluted Marvel lineup, you may end up regretting … but hey atleast Clone Conspiracy looked good doing it. Right?!         

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Clone Conspiracy: Omega #1

Mar 6, 2017

Clone Conspiracy Omega #1 is an issue that, new and long-timeSpider-Man readers alike, will find aspects to enjoy. There's a decent story toread through and take in here albeit with some flaws. At the same time buyers arealso treated to a few teases about the future of Spider-Man and where he'sheaded next which is sure to draw some interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Mighty Thor (2015) #700

Oct 23, 2017

Thor #700 throws a lot at you throughout the 50 plus pages of story both artistically and story wise while Jason Aaron continues his Thor epic and sets the stage for the future of the title going forward. Despite a few hiccups I'd recommended this to long time fans of the book title as well as newcomers.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Unstoppable Wasp #6

Jun 12, 2017

In summary, I expected this issue to push onwards and upwards after a rather stagnant last issue. Instead it undermined the expressly stated goals of the book in two ways. The science angle was turned into a bit of a joke (way beyond suspension of disbelief) and the crackpot G.I.R.L. team was bailed out by a dude. I still hold out hope for a title which had shown itself to be a lot of fun in the first 4 issues; but it needs to start doing better again, and fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
U.S.Avengers #11

Oct 30, 2017

This Legacy issue is a barely comprehensible story for newcomers, too goofy to be carrying the Avengers title on its cover, while providing little to no answers within its pages about our villain and why we should care about this situation anybody find themselves in at all. The art present in this title deserves a story worth being told that just isn't here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Ultimates 2 (2016) #100

Aug 21, 2017

The series finale of the Ultimates 2 wraps up in high style as Al Ewing brings all his threads toa very satisfying conclusion. To anybodywho waited for just one more person to recommend they check this series out wait no more and catch up you won't regret it and your eyes will have as much fun as your brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #9

Jan 9, 2017

Bits and Pieces  Please forgo all your judgements and preconceptions you haveabout this character/title. Just spend a little money and I guarantee you'llhave yourself a good little bit fun because there's a ton to enjoy here in thisbook.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #10

Jan 30, 2017

The second arc of Gwenpool concludes with the patented comedy it's known for now just with a touch of feeling in the end this time which was unexpected and very welcome. The conclusion sets our 'hero' up for step two of her journey into the Marvel Universe and I continue to look forward to what will be in store for our hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #11

Feb 13, 2017

This one shot issue provides a nice little jumping on pointfor anyone who may want to dip their toes into the waters of Gwen Poole (akaGwenpool).  As you've come to expect fromthis book the laughs are abundant, the art is on point, all coming together toprovide a quick enjoyable story any comedy comic fan would enjoy.   

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #12

Mar 6, 2017

The Unbelievable Gwenpool is a comedic superhero title thatis among the best being published today by any company.  Christopher Hastings paired with Gurihiru area creative team I can't get enough off. To top it all off their latestadventure, a spoof on RPG dungeon crawlers,  with a self-aware hero whose played ElderScrolls once or twice, is the best story idea to date making this a must readfor anybody still on the fence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #13

Mar 13, 2017

Although the conclusion to this two part dungeon crawl arcfelt a little rushed to make way for the coming stories there is still, asalways, plenty to enjoy within the pages of Gwenpool.  This has been and remains one of the mostconsistently enjoyable and funny books on my pull list. The art is also always treatto behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Unbelievable Gwenpool #14

Apr 24, 2017

This is anothersolid outing from Christopher Hastings and the rest of the Gwenpool team thatfans of the series will undoubtedly continue to enjoy. However to the outsiders this isnt an issue that has all the magic in place and I dont think it will convert the haters or anybody on the fence with theGwenpool concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #16

Jun 5, 2017

This issue finally begins to shed some light on Gwen's history and backstory with an introduction to her family and life prior to becoming Gwenpool. There are some interesting twists and turns any follower of the title will be sure to take note off and I for one can't wait until next month when we hopefully get some answers to some long lingering questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Unbelievable Gwenpool #22

Nov 13, 2017

Gwenpool firmly earns its place on my pull list month in and month out. This issue like many in the series before it is a fun read providing action, laughs, and perfectly interesting storytelling remaining a must purchase for me each month.  I'm always eager to see what Hastings and company have up their sleeve next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #6

Apr 24, 2017

If you're a fanof the classic Venom stories of the 90's which consistently featured Spider-Manthis is a callback of sorts to those times establishing the connection thosetwo used to share.  The cover delivers onthe promise it sets up in an interesting way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Venom (2016) #150

May 29, 2017

An oversizedVenom #150 Issue Spectacular for $5.99 is filled with a throwback feel to howthe character used to operate which seems to be the way this series is progressing. This may be a development to upset long time followers of Venomthe last few years after some interesting forward progress for the symbioteitself as a character. The art from the middle story featuring Sandoval remainsmy favorite way Venom has been rendered plus you gotta love that classic cover style!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #151

Jun 26, 2017

Venomcontinues to answer some questions about why the symbiote is acting the way itis while throwing Venom into a new adventure versus Stegron.  The book remains an action heavy titleanybody who enjoys the Spider family lineup of books will undoubtedly enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #2

May 1, 2017

As of rightnow out of the three X titles out this is the one to read. The pacing is good,the art is fantastic and it is extremely new reader friendly, so if you're notpicking this book up you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
X-Men: Blue (2017) #14

Oct 30, 2017

X-Men: Blue delivers a run of the mill issue giving us more of the same we've seen from Mojo in the previous issues of this crossover.  Not bad but nothing I'd run to the comic store to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 10, 2017

X-Men Gold#1 brings a more classic group to the forefront, in an issue filled with enoughcallbacks to please any easily satisfied X-Men fan who's seeking a nostalgia trip.So far though if you're looking for something with more of a fresh feel to itinvolving this group of much maligned heroes some of the future books may bemore up your ally.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #2

May 1, 2017

While theart is decent enough to appreciate for what it is, the X-Men in action, the storyis just too random, scattered, and even worse treading into uninteresting territory for my tastes.  There are no bombastic X-Men: Gold team adventuresto be found here, just poorly done politics, and a 'been there done that'feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #3

May 8, 2017

X-Men: Goldis a book that I find to be telling just generic X-Men stories, with aboveaverage art, and not really having a solid storyline going forward I findmyself investing in or committing to purchase twice per month. Now that ouropening three part story is out of the way I hope we can get down to more seriousbusiness highlighting the strengths of the characters on our team movingforward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #4

May 22, 2017

X-Men: Goldcontinues to provide pretty to look at cookie cutter X-Men stories that aren'ttaking any risks or even developing the relationships between team members muchat all. It's tough to suggest you invest in a book that releases twice a month,at the price it does, when there isn't much to write home about just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #5

Jun 12, 2017

X-Men: Goldrebounds a bit this week in the story department with a nice twist on Sentineltechnology run amok. The art however is starting to show signs of a bi weeklyrelease schedule.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 26, 2017

X-O is back with a vengeance which is something long timeand new readers will enjoy equally. Thisis Valiant, Kindt, and the art team of Giorello and Rodriguez at their best, abook for comic book fans in general, and a treat that needs to be seen to be believed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

Apr 28, 2017

X-O Manowar#2 continues to bring what comic fans want to the table and I'll be back forthirds next month and fourths the month after that.  The story, the art, and the action it's allhere and it's with my strongest recommendation you give it shot.      

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 27, 2017

X-O Manowarcontinues to be the comic book I look most forward to reading, re-reading, andjust absorbing all month long.  There's agreat story being told accompanied with stunning art. If you're on the fenceabout trying this come on down its cooler down here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

More