Kevin Rossi's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 56
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Comics (2016) #1011

May 22, 2019

Though readers will be able to jump right into Event Leviathan, Leviathan Rising seems too good to pass up. Grab Action Comics #1007-1011 to prepare for a ride that will be one of the highlights of the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Action Comics (2016) #1012

Jun 26, 2019

A great story, stellar art, and a surprise appearance by our favorite Destiny Hunter running Leviathan. I wouldnt miss Bendis run on Action Comics or Event Leviathan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Action Comics (2016) #1013

Jul 25, 2019

I was worried the Leviathan story line would be stretched too thin across Action Comics and Event Leviathan, but Bendis continues to prove me wrong with each issue. Though, you're not missing much if you skip this issue. A quick summary or review (like this one) can get you up to speed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2016) #1014

Aug 29, 2019

Bendis masterful writing is finally starting to reveal where the event of the summer is going but is he throwing us a curve ball? Action Comics and Event Leviathan have both kept my attention all summer. Though sometimes slow, Action Comics #1014 contains enough suspense and action to hold me over until the next issue. If you are following this run, grab a copy at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Action Comics (2016) #1015

Sep 26, 2019

I am excited to see what is to come with Naomi. It was fun to see Superman and Batman give some advice to the young hero, but I am not sure what happened in this issue. My only take away is that Batman wants Naomi to eat more eggs. If you are following Bendis Action Comics run then I would pick up this issue. For those new to Action Comics, this is not the issue to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Action Comics (2016) #1016

Oct 25, 2019

I am loving the dynamic between Naomi, Batman, and Superman. Superman and Batman feel like cool parents; Superman is the mother who only wants the best and Batman is the father who gets to have all of the fun. Bendis does a great job making Naomi feel youthful and not just telling us she is young. I am curious to see where Bendis takes the storyline, but I am definitely excited to see more of Naomi, Superman, and Batman together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics (2016) #1017

Nov 28, 2019

I like both Bendis and Romita Jr.s take on Superman so it is nice to see it all in one place. If you are on the fence about picking up this issue then I would wait. If you need your Gorilla City fix that I would pick up immediately. Regardless, issue 1017 was a nice filler issue between Event Leviathans conclusion and Action Comics #1018.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Action Comics (2016) #1018

Jan 5, 2020

The highlight of this issue was Goodes origin story. It felt human and horrifying and learning how she became the Red Cloud this late in the game makes her that much more of a compelling character. Besides the first chunk of this issue, I do not think it is essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Action Comics (2016) #1019

Feb 2, 2020

Action Comics #1019 picks up on the momentum that the last few issues started. Everything seems to be coming together and I am looking forward to see how it all plays out. If you have been following the series this far then I recommend grabbing a copy at your local comic book shop or where ever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Action Comics (2016) #1020

Feb 27, 2020

Action Comics #1020 raises the stakes in the fight to save Metropolis in an issue driven by Romita Jr.'s art. With Superman down, everything seems to be going according to plan for Lex Luthor, but what happens when he's just part of Leviathan's? Grab a copy at your local comic book shop or wherever you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Action Comics (2016) #1021

Mar 26, 2020

Action Comics #1021 is a crowded issue that concludes an arc that had already strayed away. A few fun action sequences save the issue, but not by much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Action Comics (2016) #1022

Jun 4, 2020

Action Comics #1022 (Bendis, Romita Jr., Miki, Anderson) continues to show how well Bendis and Romita Jr. work together. The dust is still settling since the previous issue, but a strange family reunion leaves Superman with more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
American Carnage #7

May 17, 2019

This issue is mostly filler and setting up for the next issue. That being said, the art and writing work so well together that it doesnt matter. American Carnage hasn't let me down yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
American Carnage #8

Jun 23, 2019

Im still eager to see what happens to Rick but Im hoping it all pays off. I am always excited when a new issue drops but Im starting to think it would be worth it to wait for the trade to be released.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
American Carnage #9

Aug 1, 2019

A powerful series reflecting our times, American Carnage comes to an end that feels premature but still carries weight. The open-endedness of the story may feel unsatisfactory to some, but in these times most things leave a lot to think about. I recommend not to miss this series. Grab any issues you can or wait for a trade to be released.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #10

Feb 16, 2020

Nothing really stands out in Batman and the Outsiders #10. Once the excitement starts the issue is over. If you are currently following the series then pick up a copy. If you have not been following then wait for a trade or the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #11

Mar 12, 2020

Batman and the Outsiders #11 is a visually pleasing issue with some fun action but held back by some choppy dialogue. Though not the strongest issue in the series, it contains enough to keep the reader interested in what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #13

Jun 22, 2020

Batman and The Outsiders #13 shows an inkling of potential in an otherwise dull series. It is time for the Outsiders to leave Batman's shadow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Blackwood: The Mourning After #1

Feb 16, 2020

Blackwood: The Mourning After #1 is a solid start to this chapter. The visuals were absolutely gorgeous and engaging. The writing feels natural and relatable while still holding a supernatural feel. I absolutely recommend picking up an issue at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Blackwood: The Mourning After #2

Mar 23, 2020

Blackwood: The Mourning After #2 is a blast to read and perfectly balances reality in a magic setting. Dorkin's talent shines in his characters; the students don't feel like caricatures. The Fish's art is the frosting on the cake you can't get enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Blackwood: The Mourning After #3

Jun 20, 2020

Blackwood: The Mourning After #3 continues to be a blast to read and see with its vibrant yet dark visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 12, 2019

Event Leviathan kicks off in style leaving me wanting more. Go grab a copy at your local comic book shop as soon as you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Event Leviathan #2

Jul 10, 2019

Bendis has masterfully put together an extremely complicated plot with a still growing cast of characters all within two issues. I am completely stoked to see what happens in issue #3. I wouldnt miss this issue or this event. Grab a copy wherever you get your books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Event Leviathan #3

Aug 15, 2019

This issue was the turning point for me. It has a really intriguing story, an awesome cast, and some of the most exciting action scenes Ive seen in a long time. Go support your local comic book shop because you are going to want to hold this issue in your own hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Event Leviathan #4

Sep 12, 2019

Every issue of Event Leviathan increases my excitement. Bendis has me hooked and at this point, the ride is so good Im not worried about the payoff. Event Leviathan was essential summer reading and it looks like it will be for the fall too. Pick up a copy at your local comic shop or however you read comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Event Leviathan #5

Oct 10, 2019

Skeptical at first, Bendis now has my complete attention with Event Leviathan #5. I am usually not a fan of big events because they never seem to make a real impact. Regardless, this event has been such a fun ride I am not worried about the impact it will make. If anything, I wish it could keep going. Pick this issue up at your local comic book shop or whatever way you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Event Leviathan #6

Nov 14, 2019

Besides having a great writer and artist, Event Leviathan #6 fell flat for me. There were too many characters and I cant even remember the first three issues. If you havent been following Event Leviathan since issue #1 then I suggest waiting for the trade to be released. In the entire six issue run there wasnt a standout issue, so reading them in one collection will probably work much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Joe Golem: Occult Detective: The Conjurors #1

May 21, 2019

Though a promising start, Joe Golem: Occult Detective -- The Conjurers #1 may not satisfy casual and new readers of the series. I recommend waiting until #2 drops and picking up #1 with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 30, 2019

Sandman Universe is quickly becoming one of the strongest series of titles in comics. Spurrier is at the top of his game with both The Dreaming and John Constantine: Hellblazer. Whether you are new to the series or a seasoned fan, this issue jumps right in without leaving anyone out. Pick up a copy at your local comic book shop or however you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
John Constantine: Hellblazer #3

Feb 3, 2020

If you aren't already reading John Constantine: Hellblazer then you are completely missing out. Every issue this far has been an absolute blast. I am incredibly excited to see where Spurrier, Campbell, and Bellaire take it. You should already have this issue sitting on your coffee table, but if not, pick up a copy immediately at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
John Constantine: Hellblazer #4

Mar 2, 2020

John Constantine: Hellblazer #4 begins a new arc in fresh clothes, that is until Constantine ruins them. In this visually gorgeous issue, Constantine meets Tommy Willowtree, who just might be everything he hates. Still, Willowtree needs Constantine's help, but Constantine might need Willowtree's more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
John Constantine: Hellblazer #5

Apr 2, 2020

John Constantine: Hellblazer #5 offers stunning storybook-like visuals and writing so raunchy and British that youd think Spurrier is the magician himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
John Constantine: Hellblazer #6

Jun 13, 2020

John Constantine: Hellblazer #6 (Spurrier, Campbell, Bellaire) is visually terrifying with writing so relevant that it is even scarier. Spurrier, Campbell, and Bellaire offer a great Constantine issue that is meant to be read this very moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League: Odyssey #18

Feb 10, 2020

I am new to Justice League Odyssey and new to a lot of these characters. Based on that, I liked this issue and Im rating it without prior knowledge of the entire run. The opening fight was really cool. Im really excited to see more of Eskaton and to see if they can take down Darkseid. The rest of the issue did not lose me after the excitement of the first few pages. The dialogue is well written and I really enjoyed the art. Overall, I had a lot of fun reading this issue and Id recommend checking out this series. If you have been following since the start, pick up this issue at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League: Odyssey #19

Mar 10, 2020

Justice League Odyssey #19 offers a well-balanced combination of seriousness and good ol' fashioned fun. There is enough mystery surrounding Epoch that leaves the reader with no idea what is coming next. Only time will tell. There are enough fun bits that make picking up an issue worth it. Head over to your local comic book shop or wherever you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Leviathan Dawn #1

Feb 26, 2020

Like any Bendis and Maleev book, Leviathan Dawn is an enjoyable book with great dialogue and stunning visuals. Though you can probably wait until Event Leviathan: Checkmate in April, Leviathan Dawn sets the scene and lets you meet the team before the action starts. Make this your weekend reading, and pick up a copy at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Lucifer (2018) #13

Oct 17, 2019

Lucifer #13 felt extremely satisfying to me. The buildup to this issue completely paid off despite not being much action. Lucifer and Caliban's character development especially standout to me, most notably Lucifer whispering to his son as he passes away. I am really interested to see where issue #14 takes Lucifer after all of this. I am absolutely loving Lucifer and suggest readers pick up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lucifer (2018) #14

Nov 26, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Lucifer #14 from start to finish. I would suggest this issue to readers new to the series. It allows you to get a feel for the character without having to know everything that came before. Pick up a copy of Lucifer #14 at your local comic book store or however you get your comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Lucifer (2018) #15

Dec 31, 2019

Lucifer #14 and now Lucifer #15 have been highlights of the series for me. This issue continues to show that this will be an entertaining arc. It also works great as a standalone issue in case you missed #14. Regardless, I recommend you pick up both issues at your local comic book shop or wherever you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Lucifer (2018) #16

Jan 26, 2020

I am thoroughly enjoying this story arc. It is exciting and easy to follow, which is ideal for readers looking to jump in. Pick up an issue at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lucifer (2018) #17

Feb 24, 2020

This was a great issue. I think the pacing of the writing was top-notch, and I was especially blown away by the art. Like always, Lucifer is the coolest character, but I am loving him being paired off with Beverly. I recommend picking up a copy of Lucifer #17 at your local comic book shop or wherever you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Lucifer (2018) #18

Mar 28, 2020

Lucifer #18 brings the hunt home and leaves the reader questioning which side Lucifer is on. This arc is a blast, so I suggest helping out your local comic book shop and getting a copy if you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #3

Feb 21, 2020

I have had a blast reading this series, including Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #3. This issue has the perfect combination of heavy profound ideas mixed with good ol violent fun. If I were you I would pick up a copy at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4

Apr 4, 2020

Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #4 is a force to be reckoned with thanks to killer art that keeps up with the fast-paced and action packed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #5

Jun 9, 2020

Revenge Of The Cosmic Ghost Rider #5 concludes a miniseries that is so action-packed that it will leave the readers ears ringing. Though issue #5 finishes the miniseries, it still packs the same exciting punch as the previous issues and leaves the reader right where they started, but in a good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
She Could Fly: The Lost Pilot #5

Sep 15, 2019

She Could Fly is a hidden gem in todays comic book world. It features brilliant writing and beautiful art and colors supplied by the talented Martin Morazzo and Miroslav Mrva respectively. The series contains something for all comic fans: horror, suspense, romance, and even a little flying. I greatly recommend picking up the first four issues to get caught up and then The Lost Pilot whether it is single issues, trades, or digital. This series should be missed by any comic book reader, and I am excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

Definitely leaving me wanting more, Superman: Leviathan Rising Special lays the groundwork for what will surely be an exciting and memorable event. Leviathan is the most interesting villain introduced in a while, but will the mystery surrounding him have a satisfying pay-off?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Dreaming (2018) #15

Nov 15, 2019

Like Cain, I love a mystery and I am excited to see where the mystery leads Matthew and the reader. Knowing this creative team I know it will be worth the wait and an incredible ride. Whether you are new to the Sandman Universe or not, I think The Dreaming #15 is worth picking up at your local comic book shop or whatever way you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Dreaming (2018) #16

Dec 11, 2019

With a reveal that doesnt feel cheap, The Dreaming #16 was a highlight of the series for me. There has been a lot of moving pieces and so far none of them have felt unnecessary. Well-written and beautifully illustrated, this issue feels fresh while still feeling connected to the original series. Pick up a copy at your local comic book store or wherever you get your comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Dreaming (2018) #17

Jan 11, 2020

The Dreaming #17 is a heartbreaking and suspenseful nail biter. A lot happens but nothing feels rushed or brushed over. This issue may be one of my favorites from the series. Pick this issue up at your local comic book shop or wherever you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Dreaming (2018) #18

Feb 15, 2020

This issue had stellar writing and beautiful art. The Dreaming has been one of the only series that I reread the current issue a couple of times. I am a big fan and recommend picking up this issue at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Dreaming (2018) #19

Mar 13, 2020

The Dreaming #19 finally sees the Dreaming back in the hands of its inhabitants. With Lucien back, it is now time to confront Wan in an exciting issue that boasts gorgeous scenes that feel too big for a comic book. Go grab a copy at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Dreaming (2018) #20

Apr 30, 2020

The Dreaming #20 marks the end of an incredible run by an even more incredible creative team. Daniel is back and the Dreaming is restored in this gorgeous and exciting issue that lives up to the Sandman name!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Question: The Deaths of Vic Sage #1

Nov 21, 2019

Even if you are not familiar with The Question, The Question: The Deaths of Vic Sage #1 is a great place to start. I think the book is worth picking up based just on the art. With a creative team this good, I know there are good things to come. Pick up The Question: The Deaths of Vic Sage at your local comic book shop or however you get comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Question: The Deaths of Vic Sage #2

Jan 19, 2020

I am interested to see where the series goes. The one big takeaway from issue #2 is that Vic now has his mission: kill the man with a thousand faces. Other than that the issue was just good ol wild west violence which is always fun. Pick up a copy at your local comic book shop or wherever you get your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 31, 2019

John Constantine seems to be a perfect addition to The Sandman Universe. The Sandman Universe Presents Hellblazer one-shot sets up what is expected to be a great series with a classic character. With a great creative team, the one-shot is perfectly paced with great writing and art. New and old readers should have no problem with getting into the one-shot as well as the series starting in November.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More