Ross Hutchinson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 66
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.2
Acts of Evil: Wolverine Annual #1

Oct 1, 2019

Overall a sterling effort from Houser and the art team which ultimately ends up telling the kind of Wolverine story I like to read: one that looks at the tragedy of Logan as a character while examining the greedy selfish nature part of the human condition as the man known as the Wolverine continues in his long life to try to make up for the sins of his past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Archangel 8 #1

Mar 18, 2020

It's a solid, well-written and decently-illustrated opener from Michael Moreci and company who manage to balance the gritty action elements with the supernatural ones to offer something engaging and interesting without falling too deeply into the pit of feeling like just some sort of supernatural Punisher knock off. It's worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Archangel 8 #2

Jun 17, 2020

Archangel 8 #2 is a violent, intriguing and even better executed second chapter in this supernatural noir tale with strong moody art and writing that balances some heavy, violent action with good character work and tension building storytelling from the team. It's well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Widow (2019) #1

Jan 24, 2019

It's a mixed bag issue one with things to recommend it but also things that do not seem to fit. Overall a middling start to a series for a character who's previous two series I enjoyed immensely. I need to be sold a lot more on this creative team though and hopefully, the next issue will do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #1

Oct 1, 2019

Catalyst Prime: 7 days #1 is a prime (haha) example of the excellence that can be achieved by any publisher if you have the right creative team on a book. It's this type of solid opening issue that every comic book event series should aspire to be. Well written, superbly executed in all parts of the art from lines to lettering (lettering IS an art for the people at the back) and carries weight and gravitas that sucks you in and leaves you wanting more. Highley recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #2

Nov 13, 2019

This is a perfect issue. It has everything from beautiful drawn and colored art on every page to an exciting and engaging story that balances action and mystery with an absolutely amazing cross-section of human emotion... it's modern comics at its absolute finest. Bravo!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #3

Dec 16, 2019

Catalyst Prime: 7 days issue three continues to be a fantastically written and drawn outing from Lionforge, Simone and the rest of the creative team. It's an excellent example of what inclusive comic storytelling should be while not feeling like one giant cliche. This is a comic I recommend to EVERYBODY who loves the superhero genre...no scratch that. I recommend this comic to EVERYONE who loves great comics!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #4

Jan 18, 2020

Issue #4 of this CATALYST PRIME: & DAYS is a packed bag of revelations, strong emotional character writing and action that is an absolute masterclass in inclusive storytelling that engages you from the first to the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Seven Days #7

Jun 25, 2020

7 Days issue #7 is a thrilling conclusion to a series that has been flawlessly executed on fronts. It's a superb example of a comic and series where every aspect of the creative process matches the other in its excellence. It perfectly balances the excitement of a classic style, high stakes superhero action yarn with positive inclusive storytelling that examines the best and worst of the human condition and I highly recommend it to everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 15, 2018

This creative team has really put together a fun and exciting start. Their enthusiasm for the subject matter and what they are doing emanates straight out of the pages as you read them and is infectious. I am looking forward to more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Domino (2018) #2

May 12, 2018

Domino #2 continues to be a fantastic read with excellent art from Baldon and Aburtov and exceptional writing from Gail Simone. This is a creative team who clearly loves the characters and are having immense fun with this book and that comes right off every page. Domino #2 does well to maintain the high standard coming from the majority of mutant-related books coming from Marvel at the moment

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino (2018) #3

Jun 21, 2018

Domino continues to be the fun ride I hoped it would be in every respect. As a fan of the character, it fills me with joy to watch a great writer and superb artistic team add to Domino's history in the best way possible!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino (2018) #5

Aug 10, 2018

This comic continues to outdo itself week after week! #TeamDomino deliver a book full of action, drama, humor, and fun with character development in an amazingly written, beautifully drawn, colored and lettered package that continues to surpass every expectation a fan of Domino like myself could have for a solo title. In other words perfection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Domino (2018) #6

Sep 22, 2018

I highly recommend the series to anyone looking for a beautifully drawn, superbly written action series with a great dose of humor and heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Domino (2018) #7

Oct 18, 2018

Overall a solid action and humor-filled romp from team Domino who deliver quality comic entertainment month after month. This title continues to be one of my favorite from the X character stable and I really think it is the best Domino has ever been written.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Domino (2018) #8

Nov 21, 2018

This issue is entertaining from start to finish as #teamDomino continues to romp through fun, action-packed and engaging stories that are a pleasure to read, provide laughs and butt-kicking action galore with a healthy dose of my favorite ingredient: Heart

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Domino (2018) #9

Jan 2, 2019

Another solid installment in the story of Neena Thurman and the interesting characters that cross her path. Team Domino continues to give us fun stories with some of my favourite (Longshot is a favorite of mine, so is Morbius from the previous arc) characters that are great to see on the page as well as the full introduction of a new young female character into the Marvel comics universe which is always an exciting thing to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Domino (2018) #10

Jan 16, 2019

Simply another outstanding chapter in the story of Domino and her Posse. Gail Simone gets it spot on with both guns blazing as the entire #teamdomino brings their A game to this issue which finds the right balance between action and emotion ... perfection

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Domino: Hotshots #1

Mar 13, 2019

One couldn't ask for a better start to this mini series. From writing to art this Domino: Hot Shots #1 is on point as we get an action-packed but funromp. Getting to see Natasha and Neena together in a comic is personally a massive thrill but even more thrilling is the premise of this comic. There is huge potential for an ongoing Marvel action comic featuring an all-female team here and this is how you do it! It's just pure fun comics nonsense of the best kind and I am all in!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Domino: Hotshots #2

Apr 7, 2019

Great writing balancing both humor and pathos with tension and action in a beautifully drawn and colored book. What's not to love about this book... nothing as far as I am concerned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Domino: Hotshots #4

Jun 8, 2019

Once again, the Domino Hotshots team delivers a gloriously packed book with all the right ingredients to make for a fun and engaging read which ticks every box imaginable from superb action and laugh out loud humor to heart filled dialogue and interaction between the characters that succeeds on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Domino: Hotshots #5

Jul 22, 2019

Domino Hotshots #5 is a fantastic finish to a series that has balanced absolutely crazy cosmic action and the very human story of one Neena Thurman aka Domino and the exceptional woman that have made up this team. I give it my highest recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hunt For Wolverine: Mystery In Madripoor #1

May 30, 2018

The hunt is on and it will be interesting to see where Zub and the team take it next. I am looking forward to seeing more glimpses into the past and previously unseen moments between the lead characters and Logan as well as more of the Femme Fatales. Bring on issue #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #1

Jan 17, 2019

If I have any criticism at all it relates to the actual cover of the book. The cover art by Art Adams is awesome but the spacing of the text and informational trade dressing feels cluttered. That being said, it's a minor gripe and I thoroughly enjoyed this first issue. If the rest of the issues are as strong as this one readers are in for a treat!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #3

Apr 4, 2019

Issue three of MCP is a solid installment. The Captain America story is worth the price of admission alone but it's accompanied by a really interesting ongoing Wolverine story and a fun Spider-man piece which makes it a great read from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #4

Apr 29, 2019

Another impressive installment in the series. Anthology short stories can be very hit and miss and can often feel like throwaway pieces ie; story for the sake of the story but Marvel seems to have found the formula and all three chapters are engaging and well executed by the writers and artists involved. This issue provides three interesting chapters in this series and I am happy to recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #5

May 28, 2019

Marvel Comics Presents#5 is a mixed bag of good to great writing and some excellent to below average art in a series that continues to bring clever ideas and present them in short story form which sometimes works well and other times not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel's Avengers (2019): Black Widow #1

Apr 4, 2020

A really well written, beautifully drawn and colored one-shot highlighting some early history of the Black Widow in this canon and setting up things to come with the forthcoming game release. Definitely worth a read for people who are planning on buying the game but also a great read if you just want a good Black Widow yarn to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Prodigy #1

Dec 28, 2018

The next chapter in the construction of the Millarverse isn't quite as genius as it's namesake but it's a solid, well written first issue that ticks all the boxes. It is well executed by a talented art team and has just enough of a hook to make me want to read the next issue and see where we are headed with the storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Return of Wolverine #1

Sep 23, 2018

Overall a good start to the series. I am thrilled to have him back and hope that Soule keeps up the momentum and throws us some heavy curveball surprises through the full five issue arc to make it a memorable return that's more than just beautiful to look at with a story worth being called The Return of Wolverine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Return of Wolverine #2

Nov 2, 2018

The issue is actually titled Limbo and it is an apt name cause that'swhere I felt the issue left me. It drops at least two gears from the opening issue and ends up being a 26-page filler that only asks more questions, offers no solid answers, a decent fight scene thrown in for good measure and the introduction of the actual X-Men into the mix. I am hoping for much better from issue #3

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Return of Wolverine #4

Jan 26, 2019

It's been a competently executed but overly protracted story arc with very little advancement till this issue which feels like a bit of a let down after all the build-up to Wolverine's return from the dead. I am hoping the last issue will bring something to change my mind but I have a feeling...

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Return of Wolverine #5

Feb 27, 2019

Alls well that ends...Finally. This last issue is a beautifully rendered comic that ultimately fails to impress in the story department which netted us what we always knew we were going to get... a reincarnated Wolverine in the 616. I just am not convinced we needed 5 issues to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars (2014) #1

Mar 27, 2019

Another great sliver of Star Wars entertainment from the whole team on this issue. All the boxes are ticked. Great writing from Hopeless combinedwith very cleverly paneled, well drawn, solidly colored and lettered pages make this second chapter in this anthology series a thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable read. Hopeless really seems to be on his absolute A game with these self-contained single issues so far. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Star Wars (2014): Empire Ascendant #1

Dec 19, 2019

Star Wars: Empire Ascendant #1 is a gloriously well constructed comic book that cleverly points the way forward for the entire STAR WARS comics line while paying respect to what has come before with excellently written and beautifully drawn drawn emotionally impactful short stories that capture the best of Star Wars comics in an old fan and new reader friendly package!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Boba Fett #1

May 8, 2019

This is a great issue. Pak is on top form and that combined with excellent art and coloring from Laming and Menon make it a fun easy read as Marvel continues to deliver excellent Star Wars comics in this series. Highest possible recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Target Vader #1

Jul 4, 2019

This is a great way to start a series with an issue that places everything on the board and sets up the players to lead us into the rest of the series with rock solid writing and excellent art. Strap in and get ready, the hunt has begun and I am here for it. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #1

Mar 7, 2019

Great writing from Hopeless and superb art from the whole team get the opening chapter of this limited series off to a perfect start. A complete treat of a first issue that looks and feels just like a Star Wars comic should! Bravo!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #4

Jun 1, 2019

Not my favorite installment in the series, but still an admirable effort from Hallum and particularly the art team on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #5

Jun 16, 2019

In conclusion, this series ends on a high point as Hallum produces another perfect nugget vignette complimented by really strong and well-executed art from the whole art team from cover to the last panel, in a series that has really managed to truly capture the unforgiving menace of the Star War's universe's most famous Dark Lord and truly lives up to the promise of its title with these dark visions...

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #1

Jun 20, 2018

One couldn't have askedfor a better or more engaging start to the series which I think will go on to be a success not only as a comic book but also on other media platforms too. Bring on issue 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #2

Jul 25, 2018

We learned a lot about certain characters motivations this issue, At this stage, the main villain is for me the biggest curiosity" How did she leave the order and why does she wear that full leather head mask? I have a feeling we will learn soon enough"Can I get a time eater to eat the time between now an the next issue?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #3

Aug 26, 2018

It's a week since I read it for the first time and I am still going back to it to stare in amazement at what these guys have accomplished here. This is a comic every comic fan should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #4

Oct 10, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter in the series and cannot wait for the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #5

Dec 20, 2018

A shockingly good fifth installment with a twist and reveal worthy of the greatest stage magicians makes this the best issue yet from a story point of view as Millar leaves us with a cliffhanger going into the final issue. This issue twisted my guts inside out! Pure magic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Magic Order #6

Feb 14, 2019

A stunning and satisfying conclusion to an absolutely remarkable series that hit all the right notes in every single department. Millar once again showing how great a writer he really is in partnership with another absolute dream team of artistic talent to bring this story to the page. I have followed this series since it was first announced and recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who wants to read an absolutely magnificently drawn, colored and lettered and superbly written tale of magic and family. Bring on volume two!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Undiscovered Country #1

Nov 6, 2019

Undiscovered Country #1 is a beautifully illustrated and colored cinematic first issue that draws you in and wraps around your psyche from the opening scene and does not let go till the last page with tight perfectly pitched narrative and highly believable world-building.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Undiscovered Country #2

Dec 12, 2019

Undiscovered Country #2 continues to be as impressive as the hype leading up to it promised. It's a very good example of a perfect balance between well-crafted character writing and storytelling using American symbolism, allegorical concepts, with straight-up dystopian sci-fi to tell a deeply engaging story. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Undiscovered Country #5

Mar 19, 2020

Issue 5 continues to pull us along on this journey through this bizarre but fascinating sci-fi romp of a world we barely recognize and yet is steeped in the trappings and symbols of a world we are familiar with. Soule and Snyder continue to write an original spin on the dystopian trope while playing with symbols of Americana and hardcore sci-fi elements like time travel in a near-future setting in a fascinating and thoroughly engaging way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Undiscovered Country #6

Jun 10, 2020

Undiscovered Country #6 is a superb action-filled next installment in a story that speaks very much to the world today but at the same time is so well crafted that it never gets hung up on the cleverness of the symbols and iconography it references at the cost of the story or pacing. Beautifully crafted in word and image, it's an almost flawless next chapter in this strange land that the creative team is building.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Web of Black Widow #1

Sep 5, 2019

Web Of Black Widow #1 is a strong opening from the creative team. This issue has no real flaws to speak of. The tight writing from Houser balanced with Mooney's perfectly suited art style along with excellent coloring and lettering make for a sleek action spy comic which acknowledges the history of the character and sets up a thrilling ride for long-time and new fans of the character alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Web of Black Widow #2

Oct 12, 2019

Another excellent installment to go with the strong first issue as the mystery around Black Widows faceless opponent deepens. This creative team is delivering exactly the kind of story that I enjoy: Sexy action-packed entertainment executed with style!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Web of Black Widow #3

Nov 13, 2019

The strongest installment in a really well written and superbly executed series Black Widow #3 is everything a fan of the character and the genre could possibly hope for: an action and mystery packed romp with perfectly pitched dialogue balanced against believable emotionally written characters. Thrilling!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Web of Black Widow #4

Dec 7, 2019

This issue continues the great writing and art that has characterized this series and leaves us on a cliff hanger of note as the enemy's face is finally revealed. I am sorry this is only a limited series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Web of Black Widow #5

Jan 2, 2020

This final issue perfectly caps off a fantastic series that finely balances, action, and intrigue with genuine emotional growth for Natasha as a character. Superbly written, drawn, colored and lettered, it deserves its place alongside the best Black Widow stories ever told. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Wolverine (2020) #1

Feb 19, 2020

it's a double feature with an issue one that showcases exactly why Benjamin Percy is the writer to take us onward into the next era of stories about Marvel's most popular Canadian mutant. Percy obviously loves the character and that comes through in the writing. This combined with top-notch art from Kubert, Bogdanovic and the art teams make it a very solid and promising start to the series that really makes you feel like you got your moneys worth for this oversized issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Wolverine (2020) #2

Mar 26, 2020

Wolverine #2 drags Logan even further down into darkness as Percy balances the hardcore violence of the title with mystery and strong emotional interactions between characters and commentary on the current mutant status quo played out on a canvas of absolutely top quality art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wolverine Vs. Blade Special #1

Jul 11, 2019

A basic piece of writing accompanied by eye-popping art make this one-shot a mixed bag of what is ultimately a throwaway piece of entertainment that people will probably read again for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
X-Force (2019) #1

Nov 6, 2019

X-Force #1 fits perfectly into the new Dawn Of X line up by establishing itself as the most serious of the books in the line up so far. It is tension-filled, gritty, brutal, does not shy away from violence and is an excellent start to this new chapter in X-Force's history!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Force (2019) #2

Nov 27, 2019

X-Force kicks the Law & Order procedural feel, Percy promised leading into the run, into high gear as the characters involved go looking for answers in a dark tension noir-like book with art that feels perfectly complementary to the writing and the story being told. It grabs you tightly in its sharp-clawed hands and doesn't let go not even for a second.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Force (2019) #3

Dec 12, 2019

X-Force #3 is another very strong installment in what is most definitely a personal favorite in the DOX line up. This issue balances the gritty noir of the procedural with a more philosophical tone this time that is both interesting and enjoyable!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
X-Force (2019) #5

Jan 8, 2020

The creative team on this book continues to find the perfect balance of action, emotion, and humor that have characterized this series so far making it a reader favorite and X-Force issue five is no exception. Highly, highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
X-Force (2019) #6

Jan 29, 2020

X-Force #6 pulls you deeper into the morally grey world of Krakoa's black bag operations team in a story that uses Beast as the focus to ultimately ask questions about the morality of what X-Force is doing... It really asks: is "a little evil" in the name of the "greater good" really how things need to be done? You decide.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
X-Force (2019) #7

Feb 12, 2020

X-Force #7 is a brilliant balance of James Bondesque shenanigans and emotional introspection and continues to be the best book in the line in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
X-Force (2019) #8

Feb 26, 2020

X-Force #8 is a solid issue that finds its strength in both the commonality and contrasting positions of its two main characters with a bit of detective work and action thrown in for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Force (2019) #9

Mar 18, 2020

Benjamin Percy and company continue to make X-Force a nuanced and subtle affair with stories that examine the cracks in this new mutant status quo through strong character writing while also delivering gut-wrenching x style gritty action... the sense of unease that runs through this book is palpable and intoxicating all at once! Do not miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More