Ross Hutchinson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 25
8.8Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Black Widow (2019) #1

Jan 24, 2019

It's a mixed bag issue one with things to recommend it but also things that do not seem to fit. Overall a middling start to a series for a character who's previous two series I enjoyed immensely. I need to be sold a lot more on this creative team though and hopefully, the next issue will do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 15, 2018

This creative team has really put together a fun and exciting start. Their enthusiasm for the subject matter and what they are doing emanates straight out of the pages as you read them and is infectious. I am looking forward to more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Domino (2018) #2

May 12, 2018

Domino #2 continues to be a fantastic read with excellent art from Baldon and Aburtov and exceptional writing from Gail Simone. This is a creative team who clearly loves the characters and are having immense fun with this book and that comes right off every page. Domino #2 does well to maintain the high standard coming from the majority of mutant-related books coming from Marvel at the moment

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino (2018) #3

Jun 21, 2018

Domino continues to be the fun ride I hoped it would be in every respect. As a fan of the character, it fills me with joy to watch a great writer and superb artistic team add to Domino's history in the best way possible!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Domino (2018) #5

Aug 10, 2018

This comic continues to outdo itself week after week! #TeamDomino deliver a book full of action, drama, humor, and fun with character development in an amazingly written, beautifully drawn, colored and lettered package that continues to surpass every expectation a fan of Domino like myself could have for a solo title. In other words perfection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Domino (2018) #6

Sep 22, 2018

I highly recommend the series to anyone looking for a beautifully drawn, superbly written action series with a great dose of humor and heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Domino (2018) #7

Oct 18, 2018

Overall a solid action and humor-filled romp from team Domino who deliver quality comic entertainment month after month. This title continues to be one of my favorite from the X character stable and I really think it is the best Domino has ever been written.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Domino (2018) #8

Nov 21, 2018

This issue is entertaining from start to finish as #teamDomino continues to romp through fun, action-packed and engaging stories that are a pleasure to read, provide laughs and butt-kicking action galore with a healthy dose of my favorite ingredient: Heart

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Domino (2018) #9

Jan 2, 2019

Another solid installment in the story of Neena Thurman and the interesting characters that cross her path. Team Domino continues to give us fun stories with some of my favourite (Longshot is a favorite of mine, so is Morbius from the previous arc) characters that are great to see on the page as well as the full introduction of a new young female character into the Marvel comics universe which is always an exciting thing to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Domino (2018) #10

Jan 16, 2019

Simply another outstanding chapter in the story of Domino and her Posse. Gail Simone gets it spot on with both guns blazing as the entire #teamdomino brings their A game to this issue which finds the right balance between action and emotion ... perfection

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Domino: Hotshots #1

Mar 13, 2019

One couldn't ask for a better start to this mini series. From writing to art this Domino: Hot Shots #1 is on point as we get an action-packed but funromp. Getting to see Natasha and Neena together in a comic is personally a massive thrill but even more thrilling is the premise of this comic. There is huge potential for an ongoing Marvel action comic featuring an all-female team here and this is how you do it! It's just pure fun comics nonsense of the best kind and I am all in!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hunt For Wolverine: Mystery In Madripoor #1

May 30, 2018

The hunt is on and it will be interesting to see where Zub and the team take it next. I am looking forward to seeing more glimpses into the past and previously unseen moments between the lead characters and Logan as well as more of the Femme Fatales. Bring on issue #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #1

Jan 17, 2019

If I have any criticism at all it relates to the actual cover of the book. The cover art by Art Adams is awesome but the spacing of the text and informational trade dressing feels cluttered. That being said, it's a minor gripe and I thoroughly enjoyed this first issue. If the rest of the issues are as strong as this one readers are in for a treat!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Prodigy #1

Dec 28, 2018

The next chapter in the construction of the Millarverse isn't quite as genius as it's namesake but it's a solid, well written first issue that ticks all the boxes. It is well executed by a talented art team and has just enough of a hook to make me want to read the next issue and see where we are headed with the storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Return of Wolverine #1

Sep 23, 2018

Overall a good start to the series. I am thrilled to have him back and hope that Soule keeps up the momentum and throws us some heavy curveball surprises through the full five issue arc to make it a memorable return that's more than just beautiful to look at with a story worth being called The Return of Wolverine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Return of Wolverine #2

Nov 2, 2018

The issue is actually titled Limbo and it is an apt name cause that'swhere I felt the issue left me. It drops at least two gears from the opening issue and ends up being a 26-page filler that only asks more questions, offers no solid answers, a decent fight scene thrown in for good measure and the introduction of the actual X-Men into the mix. I am hoping for much better from issue #3

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Return of Wolverine #4

Jan 26, 2019

It's been a competently executed but overly protracted story arc with very little advancement till this issue which feels like a bit of a let down after all the build-up to Wolverine's return from the dead. I am hoping the last issue will bring something to change my mind but I have a feeling...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Return of Wolverine #5

Feb 27, 2019

Alls well that ends...Finally. This last issue is a beautifully rendered comic that ultimately fails to impress in the story department which netted us what we always knew we were going to get... a reincarnated Wolverine in the 616. I just am not convinced we needed 5 issues to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #1

Mar 7, 2019

Great writing from Hopeless and superb art from the whole team get the opening chapter of this limited series off to a perfect start. A complete treat of a first issue that looks and feels just like a Star Wars comic should! Bravo!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #1

Jun 20, 2018

One couldn't have askedfor a better or more engaging start to the series which I think will go on to be a success not only as a comic book but also on other media platforms too. Bring on issue 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #2

Jul 25, 2018

We learned a lot about certain characters motivations this issue, At this stage, the main villain is for me the biggest curiosity" How did she leave the order and why does she wear that full leather head mask? I have a feeling we will learn soon enough"Can I get a time eater to eat the time between now an the next issue?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #3

Aug 26, 2018

It's a week since I read it for the first time and I am still going back to it to stare in amazement at what these guys have accomplished here. This is a comic every comic fan should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #4

Oct 10, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter in the series and cannot wait for the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #5

Dec 20, 2018

A shockingly good fifth installment with a twist and reveal worthy of the greatest stage magicians makes this the best issue yet from a story point of view as Millar leaves us with a cliffhanger going into the final issue. This issue twisted my guts inside out! Pure magic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Magic Order #6

Feb 14, 2019

A stunning and satisfying conclusion to an absolutely remarkable series that hit all the right notes in every single department. Millar once again showing how great a writer he really is in partnership with another absolute dream team of artistic talent to bring this story to the page. I have followed this series since it was first announced and recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who wants to read an absolutely magnificently drawn, colored and lettered and superbly written tale of magic and family. Bring on volume two!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More