John Jack's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 128
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #993

Dec 18, 2017

A solid start to what is certain to be a good arc from Superman legend Dan Jurgens. I'm really excited to see where this arc takes us, and really hope to see more Booster Gold!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #994

Jan 1, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Action Comics (2016) #995

Jan 12, 2018

This was a great week for books! 2018 is the year of the comic book! I cannot wait for the week after next! Zod is going to be in Action (in the future, or an alternate timeline, not sure) and Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps (which I am also reviewing this week *spoiler* it was amazing!) Seriously this arc might be my favorite since Dan Jurgens' triumphant return! Also, only 4 more issues until QUADRUPLE DIGITS!!!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #996

Jan 27, 2018

This arc is seriously can't miss, and ties into one of my favorite Rebirth series, so naturally this issue is an instant favorite. I can't get enough of Jurgens on Superman and his creation Booster Gold! He has such a firm grasp on the characters and it really shows in the story, even Skeets is fleshed out a bit at points. I can't wait for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #997

Feb 18, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #998

Mar 8, 2018

Great finale to a great arc, knocked a couple points off for the aforementioned complaints, but definitely worth a read for a fan of Time's Finest duo! It will definitely make for an interesting trade with all the different artists, I'm sure it'll be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #999

Mar 18, 2018

All in all, I feel like this issue was acceptable, not great, but like I said, at the end of a long run an issue wrapping things up is pretty necessary so I won't rail on this one too hard, next stop 1000!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1000

May 6, 2018

Phenomenal milestone in the history of the Man of Steel, I'm touched that I was a part of it, and the more I think about it the happier I am, here's to Superman, I hope he goes another thousand issues, if I'm still alive in 2098 when it happens I'll probably review it then too. Joking. Anyway, a huge thanks to everyone who worked to make this article, and the hundreds of creators involved in the hero over the years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Aug 7, 2018

Flawless art, pretty good developing story, I have a good feeling about Bendis' Reign over Superman, if the last round of issues is any indication I think Bendis will do just fine, excited for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 25, 2018

Decent second entry in Bendis' Action Comics run, but I'm still not 100% sold on handing him the keys to the kingdom just yet. Time will tell how history views this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Action Comics (2016) #1003

Oct 2, 2018

I might like some Superman in this Superman book. Maybe next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #1004

Oct 28, 2018

Worth reading if you're following Lois and Superman, but if you're following the arc and you skipped this issue you wouldn't miss out on anything you didn't already know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Dust to Dust #1

May 8, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupsfor the love of comic booksandNew Fans, Old Comics, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Superman,Indie Comics,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie Goldies, andHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Aliens: Dust to Dust #3

Oct 29, 2018

A fun series that I highly recommend you read in trade if you haven't picked it up yet, delays aside damn good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #793

Dec 31, 2017

Loved Venomized Spider-Man, he was cracking me up, a bunch happened this issue I didn't describe I highly recommend picking it up. The end was pretty great although wholly expected. Anyone who likes Spidey or Venom or any of their stories will likely enjoy this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 17, 2018

A great story for fans new and old and a great point for fans turned away by the previous creative team to jump back into Marvel's greatest solo book. It feels like I never left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

I've now read this issue 4 times and highly enjoyed it all 4, I'd call it a win, this arc is a great jumping on point for any new readers, and a return to form for older readers jilted by the huge changes made during Dan Slott's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #3

Aug 12, 2018

Really fun start to this new Spider-man series, glad to be reading it and looking forward to more, if nothing else than to figure out what the heck that b story from the first issue was about because that was insane! Eagerly awaiting next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #4

Aug 28, 2018

A pretty fun issue that provided some interesting plot points to be resolved later and a few really great panels. All in all it's kind of hard to say much about this issue though because it didn't make a huge impression on me. As a single issue, it doesn't seem overly vital, although I'm sure it will be a good facet of the larger story once more events unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #5

Sep 23, 2018

Not a bad issue, but a lot of lazy writing makes this issue pretty dang toothless, and in this day and age books are too expensive to buy if you're iffy about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #6

Oct 19, 2018

Better than last arc, this arc so far hasn't blown my mind but I will continue buying it for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #8

Oct 29, 2018

An interesting and fun direction, but whether or not it's a good story remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) Annual #1

Oct 1, 2018

A fine issue with minimal impact, pick it up if you're a fan of the story and want to see it from a new perspective, hardly can't miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Avengers (2018) #11

Dec 12, 2018

Bit heavy on setup, so the next couple of issues might be fun where this one wasn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #8

Dec 12, 2017

I'm really enjoying this series, I'm sad its past halfway over. Definitely worth a read if you were at all a fan of Dixon's work in the 90's.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bane: Conquest #9

Feb 13, 2018

Not a terrible issue by any means, just not overly compelling on its own, as a larger part of the story I'm sure it'll work fine, just largely forgettable in the short term. That said the overall story is great and based heavily on lore I'm veeery familiar with if you couldn't tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2016) #1

Aug 30, 2018

A great miniseries for fans of Batman in the 90s, or new fans curious what a good Batman book looks like. I can't wait for next issue and couldn't recommend it more!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #15

Jan 2, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my group for the love of comic books , I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves, Batman, Spider-man, Marvel, Oldie Goldies and Hats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter @johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #16

Jan 28, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 29, 2018

Really enjoying this series, certainly more than the main Batman title. Worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Dec 4, 2018

Getting to the point where the novelty of this series is wearing off and mid mini slump is evident, if next issue isn't better I might not finish this 6 issue series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Betrothed #1

Feb 26, 2018

Cool start to what promises to be an interesting series, I'll definitely be picking this up come March 14th, it'll be one to watch I'm sure. If the future covers are any indication this is going to go some crazy places!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #4

Dec 26, 2017

Slightly less dynamic than last issue, but definitely due to a large set up for the final act of the miniseries, I can't wait for next issue, I'm so sad we're over halfway through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #5

Feb 3, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #1

Jan 12, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #11

Nov 25, 2018

A stellar entry in a really fun series, this issue and i suspect the next can practically be read alone. Really fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool vs. Old Man Logan #3

Dec 26, 2017

Funny comic for a fan of either character and a fairly accessible and more or less PG version of Deadpool, somewhat violent but more or less appropriate for younger readers despite hilariously saying for mature audiences only on the front.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool vs. Old Man Logan #4

Jan 23, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie Goldies, andHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 20, 2018

What a cool issue, I hope to see more of this creative team on Detective in the future, it'll be disappointing if it's just this one issue, interested to see what the future brings for this title. You know what else I miss? B side stories, someone needs to bring those back! One shots and B stories, remnants of a bygone era"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jul 11, 2018

Solid first entry in the arc, the rating might raise or lower depending on how plot details pan out. I would consider this issue a good jumping on point, as the large-scale paradigm shift from the Gotham Knights stories to whatever the new run is building towards means a day one reader knows almost as much as anyone else at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 7, 2018

I will definitely be reading this series going forward, it feels like a decent jumping on point for readers unfamiliar with concepts, as it may turn you onto some new facets of GL lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Green Lantern (2018) #2

Dec 6, 2018

I consider this book a must read for fans of sci fi, Green Lantern or crime dramas, just incredible. So much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #33

Dec 8, 2017

This is a great series on all fronts, I would recommend it to anyone, easily one of the top 5 rebirth series. Hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #34

Dec 17, 2017

Whenever anyone asks where to start with rebirth I almost always say Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps, this issue is a continuation of that excellence, nearly perfect in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #35

Dec 30, 2017

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #36

Jan 13, 2018

I love this series, and this issue was amazing, this book has been consistently excellent, definitely one of the series everyone should be reading! I can't wait, next issue, KNEEL BEFORE ZOD!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #37

Jan 26, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #38

Feb 20, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #39

Mar 5, 2018

I seriously can't wait for next issue, if nothing else than to see if I'm right! Man, I love this book, this is a fantastic arc it's gonna be a big one I have a feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #40

Mar 19, 2018

Man, I can't wait for next issue, this arc rules. Fans of the series shouldn't miss it! Get on this if you aren't already. Man, I'm gonna miss Venditti.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #41

Apr 2, 2018

Darn near a perfect finale to a fantastic arc, much better than a clean victory it takes the time to lend a little gravitas and intrigue at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #42

Apr 20, 2018

Might be a bad issue to jump on for a new reader, as 99% of this issue hinges on prior knowledge of characters involved, but if you're a fan of Green Lantern and aren't reading this book, you're wrong. READ IT!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #43

Apr 30, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupsfor the love of comic booksand New Fans, Old Comics, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Superman,Indie Comics,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #44

May 23, 2018

I could rate it higher but I need to be able to rate the next ones higher somehow, as I have a feeling this arc is only going to get better! My one disclaimer is that this issue isn't very new reader friendly, but we're in the home stretch of the series, which ends with #50, so that's to be expected, this is the endgame!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #45

Jun 2, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupsfor the love of comic booksandNew Fans, Old Comics, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Superman,Indie Comics,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie Goldies, andHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #46

Jun 21, 2018

Tons of payoff for longtime readers of Green Lantern this issue, with a bunch of plot threads and callbacks present, not very new reader friendly but very rewarding for a fan. Amazing arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #48

Jul 25, 2018

Phenomenal end to a great series, these next two issues are going to be great I already know it, I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #49

Aug 5, 2018

Also, did you guys catch the connecting variants for this one and the one before? Cooool!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #50

Aug 14, 2018

Sorry to see this series end, but nothing good lasts forever, the story continues in Dan Jurgens' Green Lanterns run (beginning with issue #50 out last month) and Hal will be appearing in Grant Morrison and Liam Sharpe's Green Lantern series beginning this November. Coool. I'm gonna miss Venditti, fingers crossed he gets my numerous tweets about a Guy Gardner/ Arkillo Team up mini, because I still want that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heavenly Blues #6

May 14, 2018

I couldn't recommend this series more, it's novel, interesting and often surprising. This finale is such a strong ending to the series, and it goes to show that even bad people can have a happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 14, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Immortal Hulk #1

Dec 11, 2018

Why isn't everybody talking about this issue? This just confirms my opinion that comic readers are uncultured dips, not you guys though! Get out and buy this issue if you haven't already! I dinged the cover a half point because I don't give out 10/10s but this is about as close as I'll ever get!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ironheart #1

Nov 30, 2018

A seriously excellent start to what promises to be an interesting series, pick this issue up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 23, 2018

A fantastic jumping on point for new readers, the new Justice League series is top notch across the board, setting up events that could effect the DC universe as a whole, or serve to show how the new leagues are formed, either way, I'm really excited for what the future brings!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 17, 2018

I do enjoy it when the start of a new series seems to serve a purpose, rather than just being a gimmick for a quick buck. This arc so far feels like a good jumping on point for a new reader, but different and interesting enough to keep a seasoned veteran interested. Great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 28, 2018

Amazing art saves this otherwise average read, I think Snyder needs to find his team book legs he's trying too hard to set up 14 stories at once, I much prefer the route Tynion went in Detective Comics recently, making each arc a vignette highlighting a different team member. Not to say Snyder isn't possibly building to that but I feel like this opening arc is starting to unravel a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Dec 3, 2017

I love this series, its been building up so well, I can't wait for the next issue. The demon is back!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #15

Jan 13, 2018

My god, it's good to have Kill or be Killed back after a 6-week break! I am so glad it's back! If you aren't reading this series you seriously need to get on it! Love it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #17

Mar 23, 2018

Resolved several plot points raised in the last few issues, and even had a bit of action! Phenomenalissue for what will likely be the last part of volume 4! Pick up this issue if you haven't already!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Klaus: The Crisis in Xmasville #1

Dec 25, 2017

Go ahead and call this John Jack's pick of the week, no small feat as this week is chock full of killer reads! I would recommend this book as an ideal Christmas present for just about anyone, but it's too late for that isn't it? Man, I can't get over how much I liked this book! I'm gonna go read it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

Jun 8, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groups for the love of comic books andNew Fans, Old Comics, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves, Batman, Superman, Indie Comics, Spider-man, Marvel, Oldie Goldies, and Hats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter @johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 15, 2018

All in all, I thought this issue was good fun, and the art was killer. Definitely decent fun and a good start for new fans, but also full of small details to keep longtime fans interested. Feels like a nice campy bronze age tale at times, although slightly modernized.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 19, 2018

This mini continues to be one of my favorite things that have been done with Superman of late, I will be a fan for as long as this quality keeps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 24, 2018

So far Brian Bendis has succeeded in creating a Superman miniseries that is fun for all varieties of Superman fans, despite some detractors I've heard overwhelmingly positive things, it even passed the crabby comic store person test, my buddy at Arcane Comics in Seattle who usually hates everything has even said it's pretty good, which is a test not many books pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jul 1, 2018

A little bit of a step down from previous issues solely because it's a bit light on content (basically 3 things happen in the entire issue) but visuals and pitch-perfect character work more than make up for it, I'm really excited for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 26, 2017

Great start, if this is the direction this series is headed I will very much enjoy it. I've been waiting on trade paperbacks with Nightwing but man, I might step it up and buy single issues with this team, I knew I should have been buying singles! Anyway, you want this book, you'll like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #36

Jan 8, 2018

I am loving this book lately, the previous creative team was great but this first arc from the new creative team is shaping up to be a memorable one. Fingers crossed this momentum keeps up, this is how you hook and build an audience. I have a great feeling about this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 22, 2018

Man, I am loving this arc! The Judge is cool and it's more of a mystery than a superhero story, I don't think there's been a ton of action, but I've hardly noticed super fun arc. I think this arc will be remembered as a part of Robin and Nightwing canon for some time. See you next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 12, 2018

An awesome issue within a great arc, tons of fun and really beautiful to look at. Couldn't recommend this series more! The Judge might be one of the better new villains in recent memory, hope he sticks around!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #39

Mar 1, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing: The New Order #4

Nov 27, 2017

Although I'm enjoying the series this issue didn't seem up to par story or artwise, hoping it picks up again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #5

Dec 31, 2017

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing: The New Order #6

Jan 31, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Oblivion #1

Feb 12, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ragman #3

Dec 16, 2017

In my opinion, there's no such thing as a perfect issue but Ragman number 3 is about as close as you can get for me, this series is, in my opinion, a can't miss for new fans of the character or old fans looking for a new read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ragman #4

Jan 15, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ragman #5

Feb 19, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #29

Dec 10, 2018

A neat little standalone issue that exists to team Red Hood with Batwoman and practically nothing else, I didn't hate it but unless you're invested in either character maybe skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royals #11

Dec 12, 2017

An excellent entry in a good series, excited for next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Royals #12

Dec 18, 2017

This issue is worth reading for a die-hard Inhumans fan, but I don't see regular fans sticking around much longer if the book quality does not improve.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #10

Dec 23, 2017

An interesting issue in the series, although not really a can't miss arc if you aren't particularly interested in the Inhumans in particular. I'm curious where all this is going and eagerly await the next issue for the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #12

Jan 14, 2018

An excellent sendoff to a decent series, definitely worth a read, I wish all the best to the team and look forward to their next project!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Solar Flare #4

Feb 21, 2018

A big ending to this issue helps (hopefully) push the plot forward some, next issue will determine the strength of this arc compared to the first one, I am optimistic writer James Haick will pull through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Solar Flare Season 2 #3

Jan 9, 2018

Displaying a flair for storytelling (ha pun) that isn't often present in the big 2, this book has become one of my favorites almost overnight (I picked up issue 1 of season 2 last week at the LCS and ran back the next day for volume 1 I liked it so much) and I've been recommending it all over town! Seriously, pick up a copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Solar Flare Season 3 #1

Oct 14, 2018

Great issue I'm glad Solar Flare it's a solid series, can't wait for next issue season 2 ended on a huge cliffhanger!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #31

Dec 20, 2017

Not a great example of this series, which I am otherwise a huge fan of. If it wasn't on my pull list I probably would've put this book back on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #32

Dec 30, 2017

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 12, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #34

Jan 29, 2018

I'm still loving this arc, I'd call the new creative team a resounding success, last review I said I couldn't decide if this arc was trying to get too meta introspective and now that we're a couple issues in I'll say Si Spurrier seems to be pulling it off. Here's to hoping the quality of this book continues to be as good as it has been, and doesn't devolve into something lesser like the previous arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #35

Feb 19, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #36

Mar 5, 2018

Decent arc so far, but it feels like it's building to one of two super predictable outcomes, which takes away from its impact overall. I'll be following it through to the end, but I feel like I already know what happens. By the way, if you have the chance get the B covers by Andrea Sorrentino, they're killer and seem like they'll form a set once they're done, downright framable!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) #40

Feb 13, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) #41

Feb 28, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #44

Apr 11, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Superman,Indie Comics, (Featuring Scout News as well as others ;))Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 22, 2018

I feel like this issue was a slight step down from the Man of Steel miniseries, although as I said I liked more than I didn't and overall it was pretty good. A good starting point for new fans, and a different take for old ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman: Earth One #1

Jan 14, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold #28

Dec 28, 2017

A great and interesting issue, definitely worth your time. If you have a vague idea what happens (and you likely do) you could skip this issue without suffering terribly. But I personally thought it was a lot of fun and a stellar entry for the era.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Silencer #11

Dec 3, 2018

As the series begins to head towards it's end, an unsurprising twist leads into a potentially lackluster finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #159

Dec 26, 2017

As far as crossovers go this one is awesome, and not too extensive or intimidating. I like it when crossovers are somewhat contained and don't force readers to buy a bunch of books they wouldn't otherwise lest they are crucial tie-ins (I'm looking at you, Deadpool Secret Empire tie-in issues!) All in all I would recommend this book to others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #160

Jan 11, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #161

Feb 12, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #164

Apr 10, 2018

A good to great issue, the Shocker fight alone makes it worth your time, everything else is just a bonus. Totally recommend it if you like the character at all, maybe less so if you aren't already semi-interested, hard to recommend the last couple issues before a renumber. (Just ask me, proud owner of Batman issues 620-713, last 20 are basically pointless thanks to the new 52)

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom (2016) #165

Apr 30, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupsfor the love of comic booksand New Fans, Old Comics, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Superman,Indie Comics,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 23, 2018

A solid step up from the last series, I'll gladly spend my money on it provided quality keeps up. An interesting first arc. Can't wait to see Symbiote god!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2018) #3

Jul 11, 2018

Might warrant a higher rating depending on how the rest of the story pans out, but I was much more impressed with the Miles vs. Venom fight than the big villain reveal. Hopefully, the villain evolves somewhere beyond menacing dialogue while casually crushing police helicopters, a step down from screaming how humans are all worms on the ruins of Avengers Mansion. Which is to say he could be Kang, the Challenger, Thanos, Loki or anyone else. Of course, on the other hand, all of those villains are iconic, and I could be reading things wrong. As a friend of mine is fond of saying, your mileage may vary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2018) #4

Jul 31, 2018

Very gratifying single issue but felt like it had very minor short-term effects despite some very big long-term effects including a Symbiote origin retcon and at long last an origin for All-Black the Necrosword. The issue itself makes a great one shot but I feel it's a weak link as part of an arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Venom (2018) #5

Aug 27, 2018

A decent facet of a larger story that has little merit of its own besides the art but just exists as a cog within the wheel. If it's on your pull you've already got it but if you don't I wouldn't consider it essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Venom (2018) #6

Sep 25, 2018

A can't miss the conclusion to Donny Cates first Venom arc can't wait for the aftermath!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Venom (2018) #7

Oct 27, 2018

Interesting start to the second arc, which I'm not completely sold on, we'll see how we feel once Eddie gets to San Fransisco.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Venom (2018) #9

Dec 7, 2018

A really interesting direction to take this book, obviously the symbiote will be back someday but for now this book has a really unique tone, almost like a monster movie or even something out there like Insomnia. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2018) Annual #1

Oct 26, 2018

All in all, a decent annual with a handful of stories I may read again someday.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Violent Love #10

Dec 8, 2017

This was an incredible finish to a great series, I would recommend this series to anyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Web Of Venom: Carnage Born #1

Nov 23, 2018

So far these one shots feel like a far cry from the cash grab nature of most one shot tie ins, being full of backstory and substance. I couldn't recommend more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Web Of Venom: Ve'Nam #1

Sep 4, 2018

Really fun one shot, that is right on the cusp of a standalone story, I think you can read and enjoy it on it's own but the Venom main series does a lot of the initial stage setting. Really fun, can't wait for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #3

Dec 17, 2017

Although not bad, this series could be so much better at times, and this issue has been the weakest so far. The next issue could be the deciding factor on whether this series succeeds or fails in terms of storytelling. The issues seem weak on their own but work well when reading in succession, a common issue with comics these days. If you're going to lay a story out in a way that only really works in trade form then don't release single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #4

Jan 12, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #5

Feb 18, 2018

If anyone ever wants to contact me, look me up in my groupfor the love of comic books, I also have several comic pages dedicated to my various true loves,Batman,Spider-man,Marvel,Oldie GoldiesandHats! (Long story on that last one haha) or on Twitter@johnbatusijack

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Zinnober #4

Oct 1, 2018

If anything this issue should be read before the series, it contains a load of backstory I've been missing, this series just became more interesting, can't wait for #5!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More