Josh Allen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Initiative Reviews: 22
8.7Avg. Review Rating

7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2022) #52

Jun 19, 2024

The issue is good, and a fun read if you've been keeping up with the story to this point. But if you're just jumping in, you might be a little confused at what's going on. There aren't any huge stakes or a cliffhanger ending with the issue, and to be honest it feels like an interlude between stories, or a prelude to what's to come with the inevitable end of the Zeb Wells run. Regardless, there are some interesting plot threads brought up in this issue that I'm interested to see where things go from here. And the next few months should be VERY interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Blood Hunt (2024) #2

Jun 12, 2024

Justina Ireland does an incredible job of taking Spider-Man, a character that has been around for nearly 62 years, and putting him into a story that's compelling and interesting. And one that feels different than some of the stuff you might've read the last few years, and Spider-Man has been run through the ringer the last couple of years for sure. It's a read an issue every Spider-Man should check out, because it's a ton of fuin and an interesting read that looks like it's building to a very interesting boil. I for one, cannot wait to see how things play out next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man: Blood Hunt (2024) #3

Jul 17, 2024

As I said before, this issue has something for absolutely everyone. And it's honestly the most well rounded issue I've read in recent memory. The actions sequences are great, there's a confrontation readers of the series will have seen coming but it's still shocking to see it play out, and the ending is very intriguing. I won't go into spoilers, but let's just say I don't think this is going to be "happily ever after. But we'll just have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars (2020) #46

May 22, 2024

Charles Soule is one of the best storytellers in Star Wars right now, and this another entry is another feather in his cap. A compelling story that gives some backstory, and fleshes out one of the more unknown figures in the Star Wars franchise in Mon Mothma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars (2020) #47

Jun 5, 2024

Charles Soule tells another fantastic story in his run on Star Wars that is a nice change of pace from the usual action packed stuff you might expect. I won't spoil the ending because yes we do know what ends up happening, it does fill in a little bit of interesting info about how things progressed with Lando between The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. This issue is definitely a must read for Star Wars fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2020) #48

Jul 17, 2024

Charles Soule continues to shine in his Star Wars work, and this issue is a fantastic jumping on point for fans looking to get into the mainline comic series. It's the start of a new story, and one that looks like it's going to be very interesting. And since it's Charles Soule, it's going to be about as can't miss as you can imagine. This is one that all Star Wars fans are going to want to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Ahsoka (2024) #1

Jul 10, 2024

The issue is a fun, quick read that all fans will enjoy no matter if they've seen the show or not. It's an incredibly faithful adaptation that follows the source material to a T, and is a fun way to revisit the show in a different medium. You should absolutely pick this issue up if you're looking for something different at the comic shop this week, or you haven't seen the Ahsoka series in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Darth Maul - Black, White & Red (2024) #2

May 29, 2024

This is a fun issue to read, and is an easy pickup for all Star Wars fans. Do you know who Darth Maul is? You're good to go! That's all you'll need. Mark Russell does a wonderful job of showing just dangerous he is and why you really cannot underestimate him. And given the ending of this issue, it's going to be interesting to see if maybe that plays a factor into the story going forward. I HIGHLY recommend this issue to all Star Wars fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Star Wars: Darth Maul - Black, White & Red (2024) #3

Jun 26, 2024

Much like pervious issues of the Black, White & Red series (Maul & Vader) this issue is a fun read. It's an easy pickup for any Star Wars fan, no matter what your level of fandom is. From the most diehard to the fan who might have only seen the films once. Like I said when I reviewed issue #3, do you know who Darth Maul is? If the answer is "yes, than you're good to go! I HIGHLY recommend this entire series to Star Wars fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #46

May 8, 2024

The end of the issue is another example of the incredible storytelling, and jaw dropping moments that the series has become known for. And it will leave readers wondering how Vader is going to get out of the mess this time. Only the Greg Pak knows, but readers should know that it's going to be incredible and a moment to remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #47

Jun 12, 2024

The issue ends on a cliffhanger, but it's not entirely surprising. Because it's a moment that has been building for some time now. And what happens next is going to be awesome to read, and a story you're not going to want to miss if you're a fan of the prequel and/or original trilogies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #48

Jul 24, 2024

This is a great issue from Greg Pak and the entire creative team. It brings together the prequel & original trilogies in a really fun and interesting way. It also teases some information that Luke doesn't know but is obviously curious about on some level. Where things go from here is anyone's guess, and not everyone might like that but I do. I prefer to be surprised and shocked by what I read, and I know Greg Pak is going to do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Jango Fett (2024) #3

May 29, 2024

This issue is a fun read for anyone who's a fan of Star Wars, no matter what level of a fan you are. It does a great job expanding on a character that's so integral to the story, but one we admittedly don't know a whole lot about. The action sequences are spectacular, and the story is very memorable. I highly recommend this series to everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Mace Windu (2024) #4

May 15, 2024

Marc Bernadin tells an awesome story that weaves together multiple facets of the Star Wars universe and leaves it open ended for more to possibly come. While this appears to be the end for this series, I hope it isn't the full end. Because I truly feel there's a lot of room in the current universe for a Mace Windu story. So Marvel, please continue this story!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Phantom Menace 25th Anniversary Special (2024) #1

May 1, 2024

The issue isn't reinventing the wheel when it comes to telling the story of Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace. It's a film we've all seen at least once, and are pretty familiar with the finer details of the story. But it is undaunted by the task of retelling the story. It breeze's through the scene's from the film & fleshes out some moments that happened off screen. It's a fun read for anyone who's seen the film, no matter how big of a Star Wars fan you are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: The High Republic (2023) #7

May 8, 2024

Cavan Scott weaves a masterful story that gives the reader very little time to breath and instantly kicks the story back into high gear in an incredibly gripping way. It brings together an unlikely group that has to put aside a lot of baggage and work together at a time when it seems like no one in the group wants to, and the group is mostly Jedi! And with the final frame, it will leave readers of The High Republic novels curious of just what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic (2023) #8

Jun 5, 2024

The issue ends on a great cliffhanger that I'm definitely interested to see, and Cavan Scott does a great job telling a story with a lot of different characters uniting for a common goal. It's going to be interesting to see where things go from here, and it's definitely a story that Star Wars fans should add to their pull list and catch up on if they're not doing so already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: The High Republic (2023) #9

Jul 3, 2024

This issue is another example of what I've been saying, and that is that The High Republic has some of the BEST storytelling in Star Wars right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: The High Republic - Adventures (2023) #2

May 29, 2024

The issue isn't the strongest work that Cavan Scott has ever done. But that's okay, not every issue can be a hit. The issue largely feels like filler and more than half of the issue is focused on an event that won't have any impact on the story going forward, but the parts that do have an impact on the story will be interesting to see how they play out going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Star Wars: The High Republic - Adventures (2023) #3

Jun 26, 2024

The issue is a strong return to form for Cavan Scott after a brief hiccup in the last issue, and it's an issue that pulls at the heartstrings a little bit. The issue feels like the first step in the next chapter of this story, and it's going to be interesting to see where it goes from here. It's a great read and one that I think Star Wars fans should give a chance and read. If you're a newer Star Wars fan you might not want to jump in on this issue specifically, but if you're a seasoned Star Wars fan you'll definitely want to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic - Adventures (2023) #6

May 29, 2024

Daniel Jose Older is a phenomenal story teller and I would definitely put him in the category of "can't miss anytime a new project of his releases. And the story Older tells in this issue is a great one. I've said it before and I'll say it again, the storytelling the entire crew are doing with The High Republic series are phenomenal and some of the best storytelling being done in Star Wars today at any level. This issue is a great jumping on point for new readers young or old, and gets a story going while also catching people up on things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars: The High Republic - Adventures (2023) #7

Jul 10, 2024

The artwork is as great as ever, and kudos to the whole team for that. The issue is a fun read for fans of The High Republic new & seasoned. It's an easy jumping in point since it's the start of a new story, and while you might not be familiar with all of the characters right away you'll learn them over time. I'm also very interested to see where this story goes, because the ending is very interesting and the possible routes this could go are doubly interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More