Jimmy Hayes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 38
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.1
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #30

Sep 29, 2019

Usually event tie-issues are boring or they don't make sense and take you out of the "real" story that you're following in the comic, That's not the case here, The main storyline is taking a break and this is the perfect spot to drop this adventure in, not to mention it's a plain-out great issue,

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #31

Oct 9, 2019

This comic is definitely worth buying. You're gonna get your money's worth of thrills, drama, action, and fun. It also adds an extra bonus if you're following the Absolute Carnage storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #32

Oct 24, 2019

Another installment in this really solid Amazing Spider-Man run. This is one of those "you better not miss it!" issues, because it kicks off a few pretty great storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #33

Nov 6, 2019

I'm not even going to ask the hypothetical "Is it worth your money?" question that I always do. In every way, shape, and form this is a Marvel comic. I mean, it's a Marvel comic from back when Marvel comics used to be Marvel Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #34

Nov 21, 2019

Like I stated above, I don't quite know how I feel about this issue. I liked it, but depending on what happens in 2099 Alpha and Amazing Spider-Man #35, I might love this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie Halloween Spectacular: 2019 #1

Oct 6, 2019

You're gonna have a great time letting the Riverdale gang getting you in the mood for Halloween. A never too scary and fun special to kick off that spooky time of year!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #2

Oct 20, 2019

Wow, this was a fun issue!! I liked the story a lot and I was glad that Zub didn't waste time building characters that we're all familiar with. Add to that the amazing art of Medina and this one's totally worth the price of admission!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #3

Nov 18, 2019

If you're not reading this book, please start. Even though it's the third issue, it's a great jumping-on point for new readers. Plus, it's awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Cobra Kai: The Karate Kid Saga Continues #1

Oct 10, 2019

No matter if you're a fan of the original movie, or have only caught the Cobra Kai series on Youtube, this book is gonna be a great compliment to the story of Johnny Lawrence. Is it worth the $4? I'd say so. It's definitely worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Doctor Doom (2019) #1

Oct 10, 2019

Is it worth the $4.99? I'd say maybe. Though I enjoyed the story quite a bit, there wasn't a real sense of urgency in this book. I'm very interested to see what happens in the next issue, but I don't quite know if it's a book that I'll think about until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Doctor Doom (2019) #2

Nov 7, 2019

Buy this issue and the previous one, if you didn't. I guarantee you this book isn't what you think it is. I have a feeling this title is going to be very sought out once people start hearing about how good it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
G.I. Joe (2019) #1

Sep 21, 2019

I really can't believe how much I like this book!! I wasn't expecting it to be bad, but I wasn't expecting the book to be what it is, and I think that's why I enjoyed it so much. If you're a long-time Joe fan, you'll want to pick this up. If you're a person who's never read a GI Joe comic, you NEED to pick this up!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
G.I. Joe (2019) #2

Oct 23, 2019

I little light in the action department, but we get a lot of character origins and backstory. Add to that, an underlying storyline that will have you holding you're breath and you've got a really solid issue here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #263

Sep 10, 2019

This might not be the book I'd give someone that's never read GI Joe before, but it's the book that I'd give the lapsed GI Joe reader/fan. A great issue that brings the reader up to speed on what characters are and aren't part of the current GI Joe team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #266

Oct 2, 2019

Holy crap, this issue is awesome!! And if this is any indication of the way the whole story is going to go, then it's going to be a pretty wild ride. Fantastic writing, stellar art, this issue has it all. Call your comic shop NOW and get them to put you down for this title, you're not gonna want to miss a single chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #267

Oct 12, 2019

Do you know what you should buy? This comic. Is it worth $4? Nope. I think it's worth about $8, so just think of it as getting it for half price. Buy it, read it, then read it again. I've read it twice all ready, and I've only had access to it for an hour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #268

Nov 19, 2019

If you like war movies or comics, anything in the spy genre, action movies, hell if you like LIFE, then this comic is for you!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
James Bond 007 (2018) #11

Sep 30, 2019

This is a great beginning to the third-act of this storyline, loads of action, great Bond dialogue, everything that you'd want in a James Bond comic, Definitely worth the price of admission,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
James Bond 007 (2018) #12

Nov 12, 2019

This comic is SO worth your time and money. You're going to get a great read, filled with great action, great art, and an all-around great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Josie and the Pussycats in Space #1

Oct 29, 2019

While appropriate for all ages, this book is clearly playing to the adolescent audience. The bad news is that the book doesn't play to that audience. The good news is that it plays to EVERY audience. In my opinion, this book is well worth the price. If you're so inclined, give it to a friend when you're done so that they can enjoy it. Whatever you do-pick it up!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Marvel Action: Spider-Man #11

Nov 14, 2019

A solid issue of this title, and a solid issue in general. This one's a great choice for you and every member of your family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Money Shot #1

Oct 25, 2019

I really wish that I could've given a little more detail when it came to story on this book, but I really don't want to spoil anything, not even in the slightest. Trust me when I say that this book is absolutely worth the time and money. Also, if you're under 18 don't even think about touching this book!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Case of the Missing Adults #1

Oct 27, 2019

I'd recommend buying this book. It's entaining on so many levels. A good mystery, a good comic, a good BOOK, period. There's just one thing. When you're done reading it, give it to a kid. Leave it in your doctor's waiting room, Donate it to your local library. Whatever you need to do to get it out there for other people to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Robotech Remix #1

Oct 17, 2019

While this issue was really good, if you're not familiar with the franchise, it's not a great jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Robotech Remix #2

Nov 16, 2019

If you're a Robotech fan, give this one a look in the store to see if it's something that you like. If not, November is Diabetes Awareness month. Please consider donating the price of a comic book to www.diabetes.org to help all of us blue warriors get closer to finding a cure for this awful disease.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 6, 2019

While this issue was disappointing, it does have a new creative team every issue, and I think that that could either be very good or very bad, we'll just have to wait and see. Bottom line: Is this comic worth your $4? Yes, it is. Buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

This issue was a missed opportunity, which is very unfortunate, Hopefully, things will turn around next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Star Trek: Year Five #7

Nov 1, 2019

All in all, if you're a Star Trek fan, this book is definitely worth your time and money. If you're not a Star Trek fan, you might be lost in a couple of places, but you're still going to be entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Starcadia Quest #1

Sep 28, 2019

This book has potential, and so do these creators, I firmly believe that they can do better than this, and I challenge them to do so. But this offering fell pretty flat for me,

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Transformers (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2019

A great issue that loses you in the story and I guarantee you don't lift your head up until you come to the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Transformers (2019) #14

Nov 11, 2019

I have a feeling that this issue sets certain characters into place for some things that are going to happen later down the road. While it's not action-packed, it's a very interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Transformers: Galaxies #1

Sep 25, 2019

Good. Really good. Even though it got a little bit confusing here and there, it was never too much to spoil the issue for me. The Constructicons each have distinct, identifiable personalities that stand out from each other. That, combined with some decent art makes the book a nice treat and a fresh change of pace from the other Transformers title,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Transformers: Galaxies #2

Nov 5, 2019

You're gonna want to pick this one up. It's rare that a Transformers comic goes this deep, and after reading this I wish more of them would try to. If you didn't pick up the first issue, you should pick that up as well. Don't be the guy or gal that everyone points and laughs at for missing a good comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
WWE: Smackdown #1

Oct 8, 2019

A great creative team and some of the most popular wrestlers of the past and the present make this issue a great read. Is it worth your $5? You know it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 11, 2019

Ambitious, but it just falls short. This story had tons of potential and once I realized what the issue was going to be, I got very excited at its possibilities. I was hoping for Jack Nicholson, but I got Jared Leto.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 12, 2019

Yeah, there are some goofy moments in this issue, but this book is leaps and bounds better than the typical event tie-in book. I was expecting a left-over issue of "New Year's Evil", but was pleasantly surprised by how much better this issue was,

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 24, 2019

Good, but not great. This book could've been a lot of fun, but unfortunately, it missed the boat. If you're enjoying the Year of the Villain specials, pick this up. If you're just a casual Shazam fam, I'd recommend picking up the regular book or even Batman/Superman instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 20, 2019

Lex Luthor is the ultimate super-villain, and this book should've reflected that instead, we get example after example of Luthors that do nothing but fail epically. Yes, the ending is pretty great, but it can't save the rest of the issue from being mediocre.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More