Jimmy Hayes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 77
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.1
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #30

Sep 29, 2019

Usually event tie-issues are boring or they don't make sense and take you out of the "real" story that you're following in the comic, That's not the case here, The main storyline is taking a break and this is the perfect spot to drop this adventure in, not to mention it's a plain-out great issue,

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #31

Oct 9, 2019

This comic is definitely worth buying. You're gonna get your money's worth of thrills, drama, action, and fun. It also adds an extra bonus if you're following the Absolute Carnage storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #32

Oct 24, 2019

Another installment in this really solid Amazing Spider-Man run. This is one of those "you better not miss it!" issues, because it kicks off a few pretty great storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #33

Nov 6, 2019

I'm not even going to ask the hypothetical "Is it worth your money?" question that I always do. In every way, shape, and form this is a Marvel comic. I mean, it's a Marvel comic from back when Marvel comics used to be Marvel Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #34

Nov 21, 2019

Like I stated above, I don't quite know how I feel about this issue. I liked it, but depending on what happens in 2099 Alpha and Amazing Spider-Man #35, I might love this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #35

Dec 7, 2019

A really decent issue. I think the art could've been better, but it doesn't take away anything from the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #36

Dec 19, 2019

Did I forget to mention that this issue has an excellent story? Well. It does. Its technically a 2099 tie-in (that takes place before 2099 Omega), but really its only a quick cameo that ties it into that story, and it was a bit confusing, as the 2099 part seems like its going to be continued in a future issue of this series. Aside from that, we have some plotlines that are finally tied up. A couple that has gone on about two issues too long in my opinion. As always, Spencer gives us some killer dialogue and some really crazy ideas like a Spider-Man version of the movie Groundhog Day. A great issue that quickly turns the action up to eleven and doesnt slow it down until the very last panel. And then, he turns it up to twelve! I cant recommend this book highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #37

Jan 9, 2020

A classic Spider-Man comic if there ever was one. How do Nick Spencer & Ryan Ottley out Spider-Man creators that came decades before them?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #38

Jan 23, 2020

Good, but not great. If this issue had a little more substance to it, it would've been pretty great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Archie Halloween Spectacular: 2019 #1

Oct 6, 2019

You're gonna have a great time letting the Riverdale gang getting you in the mood for Halloween. A never too scary and fun special to kick off that spooky time of year!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Atlantis Attacks #1

Jan 22, 2020

A really exciting start to this mini-series. Although nowhere near as grand in scale as the original, it's nice to see Namor back in action and ticked off at the surface world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #2

Oct 20, 2019

Wow, this was a fun issue!! I liked the story a lot and I was glad that Zub didn't waste time building characters that we're all familiar with. Add to that the amazing art of Medina and this one's totally worth the price of admission!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #3

Nov 18, 2019

If you're not reading this book, please start. Even though it's the third issue, it's a great jumping-on point for new readers. Plus, it's awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #4

Dec 17, 2019

This book is really good. In an entertaining way, in an artistic way, and it's technically sound as well. I think that covers every base possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #5

Jan 6, 2020

A solid issue. It's got some really good art and a really good story, but I have to be honest, Deadpool really gets in the way. The outcome of this story would be exactly if Deadpool was taken out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Cobra Kai: The Karate Kid Saga Continues #1

Oct 10, 2019

No matter if you're a fan of the original movie, or have only caught the Cobra Kai series on Youtube, this book is gonna be a great compliment to the story of Johnny Lawrence. Is it worth the $4? I'd say so. It's definitely worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Cobra Kai: The Karate Kid Saga Continues #2

Dec 3, 2019

A great second chapter to the series, and a great book overall. Even if you've never seen the original movie, you'll have no trouble following and enjoying this issue,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Daredevil (2019) #14

Dec 13, 2019

An excellent book that's easily worth both your time and money! Zdarsky & company take this book to another level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Daredevil (2019) #15

Dec 27, 2019

PLEASE! I'm begging you!! For your own good, buy this comic!!! Look, you're really gonna like it and this issue is a "read more than once" kind of comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Daredevil (2019) #16

Jan 10, 2020

A great read! Zdarsky does a lot of storytelling with very few words. Add to that Fornes' excellent art and Woodard's amazing colors, and you've got one great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Doctor Doom (2019) #1

Oct 10, 2019

Is it worth the $4.99? I'd say maybe. Though I enjoyed the story quite a bit, there wasn't a real sense of urgency in this book. I'm very interested to see what happens in the next issue, but I don't quite know if it's a book that I'll think about until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Doctor Doom (2019) #2

Nov 7, 2019

Buy this issue and the previous one, if you didn't. I guarantee you this book isn't what you think it is. I have a feeling this title is going to be very sought out once people start hearing about how good it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Doctor Doom (2019) #3

Dec 9, 2019

A really good catch your breath issue. After the first two issues had things flying fast and furious, this one lets you sit back and dig into the real meat of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doctor Doom (2019) #4

Jan 3, 2020

Everybody has an off day. Let's just say that the creative team had a bad day when they did this comic. It's not on the level of previous issues, so we'll brush it off and start fresh next issue. That's a really nice way of saying skip this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
G.I. Joe (2019) #1

Sep 21, 2019

I really can't believe how much I like this book!! I wasn't expecting it to be bad, but I wasn't expecting the book to be what it is, and I think that's why I enjoyed it so much. If you're a long-time Joe fan, you'll want to pick this up. If you're a person who's never read a GI Joe comic, you NEED to pick this up!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
G.I. Joe (2019) #2

Oct 23, 2019

I little light in the action department, but we get a lot of character origins and backstory. Add to that, an underlying storyline that will have you holding you're breath and you've got a really solid issue here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
G.I. Joe (2019) #3

Dec 30, 2019

A really solid issue. I liked almost everything about this issue, and the story is really starting to move along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
G.I. Joe (2019) #4

Jan 7, 2020

I surprise, sleeper hit of an issue, don't let this one pass you by. it's a great book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #263

Sep 10, 2019

This might not be the book I'd give someone that's never read GI Joe before, but it's the book that I'd give the lapsed GI Joe reader/fan. A great issue that brings the reader up to speed on what characters are and aren't part of the current GI Joe team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #266

Oct 2, 2019

Holy crap, this issue is awesome!! And if this is any indication of the way the whole story is going to go, then it's going to be a pretty wild ride. Fantastic writing, stellar art, this issue has it all. Call your comic shop NOW and get them to put you down for this title, you're not gonna want to miss a single chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #267

Oct 12, 2019

Do you know what you should buy? This comic. Is it worth $4? Nope. I think it's worth about $8, so just think of it as getting it for half price. Buy it, read it, then read it again. I've read it twice all ready, and I've only had access to it for an hour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #268

Nov 19, 2019

If you like war movies or comics, anything in the spy genre, action movies, hell if you like LIFE, then this comic is for you!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #269

Jan 8, 2020

The best way to spend your time, money and brain cells. But it and then add it to your pull list at your local comic shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Glow vs. The Babyface #1

Dec 1, 2019

If you're not a die-hard wrestling fan or a fan of the Netflix series, don't worry. You're going to get a heart-warming, interesting, and funny story that's a pleasure to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Glow vs. The Babyface #3

Jan 19, 2020

This issue accomplishes everything it needs to. It entertains the reader, looks fantastic and sets up the story for its big climax next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #1

Jan 22, 2020

A really solid first issue and a great jumping-on point for new readers, It introduces the characters and sets them off on their first great big mission (in this series) into space, while teaming up with some other heroes. You get a pretty good idea of what the series is going to be like going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye: Freefall #1

Jan 7, 2020

It's books like this that made me love comics, that made me want to dive deeper into the world of comics, and that made me want to sell comics for a living. But a couple of extra copies. Give one to a friend and leave one in a waiting room, a coffee shop, a movie theater, anywhere that someone who's never read a comic might find it. This is a book that we want people's introduction to comics to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
He-Man & the Masters of the Multiverse #1

Nov 25, 2019

If you've never been a He-Man fan, this is the book for you. You can learn all about the different versions of the property and pick the one you like, and go from there. If you're a hardcore fan, it's an absolute thrill to see the different versions of Masters interacting with each other, Bottom line: This is a great comic

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
He-Man & the Masters of the Multiverse #2

Jan 5, 2020

A very well done comic that you're going to enjoy. All action, all story, with no filler. Keeps you engrossed from the first page to the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
James Bond (2019) #1

Dec 5, 2019

You're gonna want to call your local comic shop and have them put this on your pull list. It's pretty high up on the list of Bond comics, and take it from me, I've read them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
James Bond (2019) #2

Jan 16, 2020

Another great, fast-paced issue. This has all the fun and excitement that a Bond movie does, and that ever comic should.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
James Bond 007 (2018) #11

Sep 30, 2019

This is a great beginning to the third-act of this storyline, loads of action, great Bond dialogue, everything that you'd want in a James Bond comic, Definitely worth the price of admission,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
James Bond 007 (2018) #12

Nov 12, 2019

This comic is SO worth your time and money. You're going to get a great read, filled with great action, great art, and an all-around great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Josie and the Pussycats in Space #1

Oct 29, 2019

While appropriate for all ages, this book is clearly playing to the adolescent audience. The bad news is that the book doesn't play to that audience. The good news is that it plays to EVERY audience. In my opinion, this book is well worth the price. If you're so inclined, give it to a friend when you're done so that they can enjoy it. Whatever you do-pick it up!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Marvel 2099 (2019): Conan #1

Nov 29, 2019

Even though I harped on the writing, this book is still a lot of fun. It's a really good Conan story in a very unfamiliar setting and some really fantastic art. Worth both your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Marvel 2099 (2019): Doom #1

Dec 16, 2019

A very impressive and important chapter in this new 2099 story. A strong story, unbelievable art, put them together and you've got one great comic!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Marvel 2099 (2019): Ghost Rider #1

Dec 7, 2019

A good issue that totally stands on its own, until it doesn't. This is good, but if it would've been self-contained, it would've been great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Marvel 2099 (2019): Alpha #1

Nov 26, 2019

What are you waiting for? Get this book!!!! What's that? You say you're not a fan of the 2099 universe? Good news!! This is a brand NEW future!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Marvel 2099 (2019): Omega #1

Dec 23, 2019

Not as epic as a story as I wanted, but it entertains and serves its purpose. A popcorn movie told in comic form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Marvel Action: Spider-Man #11

Nov 14, 2019

A solid issue of this title, and a solid issue in general. This one's a great choice for you and every member of your family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Money Shot #1

Oct 25, 2019

I really wish that I could've given a little more detail when it came to story on this book, but I really don't want to spoil anything, not even in the slightest. Trust me when I say that this book is absolutely worth the time and money. Also, if you're under 18 don't even think about touching this book!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Money Shot #2

Nov 23, 2019

A great second chapter in this series. It'll give you some answers that you didn't quite know you were looking for. Add to that some great sci-fi action and you've got a fantastic issue that leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Case of the Missing Adults #1

Oct 27, 2019

I'd recommend buying this book. It's entaining on so many levels. A good mystery, a good comic, a good BOOK, period. There's just one thing. When you're done reading it, give it to a kid. Leave it in your doctor's waiting room, Donate it to your local library. Whatever you need to do to get it out there for other people to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Robotech Remix #1

Oct 17, 2019

While this issue was really good, if you're not familiar with the franchise, it's not a great jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Robotech Remix #2

Nov 16, 2019

If you're a Robotech fan, give this one a look in the store to see if it's something that you like. If not, November is Diabetes Awareness month. Please consider donating the price of a comic book to www.diabetes.org to help all of us blue warriors get closer to finding a cure for this awful disease.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
ROM: Dire Wraiths #1

Jan 20, 2020

I know it's only two weeks in, but this is my favorite comic I've read this year. Yes, I am a HUGE ROM fan, so I'm over the mooned thrilled that he's back. But, I am still able to be objective on whether or not a comic about something that I love is good or bad. Thankfully this one's awesome, so I don't have to make that choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Spider-Ham (2019) #1

Dec 30, 2019

A very well executed issue. Lots of heart, jokes, and action, Worth both your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Verse (2019) #1

Oct 6, 2019

While this issue was disappointing, it does have a new creative team every issue, and I think that that could either be very good or very bad, we'll just have to wait and see. Bottom line: Is this comic worth your $4? Yes, it is. Buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.4
Spider-Verse (2019) #2

Nov 20, 2019

This issue was a missed opportunity, which is very unfortunate, Hopefully, things will turn around next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spider-Verse (2019) #3

Dec 13, 2019

Unfortunately, when it comes to this particular issue, the negatives outweigh the positives. If I were you, I'd skip this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: Picard - Countdown #1

Dec 2, 2019

A great start to what I believe to be a great series. More than just a media tie-in, this is a story that will get you ready for the upcoming Picard TV series, but more importantly, for the rest of the comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Picard - Countdown #2

Dec 29, 2019

Writers Kirsten Beyer & Mike Johnson do a stellar (no pun intended) job on the story for the second month in a row. The story gains a lot more tension in this issue, and Beyer & Johnson sure know how to convey it to the audience. They use a great mixture of dialogue, scenery, and body language to give the reader that there is a real sense of urgency about whats going on in this story. They also manage to deliver a couple of shocking revelations in the final pages of the issue that really make me anxious for the next issue. Im not sure if the next issue will be out before the series starts, but I sure hope it is. Itd be nice to read this series before watching the show because I can almost guarantee events here will be touched on in Picard. All said and done, a really great issue that I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Star Trek: Year Five #7

Nov 1, 2019

All in all, if you're a Star Trek fan, this book is definitely worth your time and money. If you're not a Star Trek fan, you might be lost in a couple of places, but you're still going to be entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Trek: Year Five #8

Dec 3, 2019

If you're a Star Trek fan, grab this and add it to your pull list while you're at it. The consistently great content of this book makes it worth $4 a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Trek: Year Five #9

Dec 23, 2019

Watch out! This comic is gonna make you think!! Aside from that, it's a great Star Trek adventure. I highly recommend that you pick this one up this week when you head into your local comic shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Starcadia Quest #1

Sep 28, 2019

This book has potential, and so do these creators, I firmly believe that they can do better than this, and I challenge them to do so. But this offering fell pretty flat for me,

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Transformers (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2019

A great issue that loses you in the story and I guarantee you don't lift your head up until you come to the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Transformers (2019) #14

Nov 11, 2019

I have a feeling that this issue sets certain characters into place for some things that are going to happen later down the road. While it's not action-packed, it's a very interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Transformers: Galaxies #1

Sep 25, 2019

Good. Really good. Even though it got a little bit confusing here and there, it was never too much to spoil the issue for me. The Constructicons each have distinct, identifiable personalities that stand out from each other. That, combined with some decent art makes the book a nice treat and a fresh change of pace from the other Transformers title,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Transformers: Galaxies #2

Nov 5, 2019

You're gonna want to pick this one up. It's rare that a Transformers comic goes this deep, and after reading this I wish more of them would try to. If you didn't pick up the first issue, you should pick that up as well. Don't be the guy or gal that everyone points and laughs at for missing a good comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Transformers: Galaxies #3

Nov 28, 2019

This issue is worth both your time and your money. It's a great read, and we finally get some payoff from the build of the last two issues. Time to put this book on your pull-list!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
WWE: Smackdown #1

Oct 8, 2019

A great creative team and some of the most popular wrestlers of the past and the present make this issue a great read. Is it worth your $5? You know it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 24, 2019

Good, but not great. This book could've been a lot of fun, but unfortunately, it missed the boat. If you're enjoying the Year of the Villain specials, pick this up. If you're just a casual Shazam fam, I'd recommend picking up the regular book or even Batman/Superman instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 20, 2019

Lex Luthor is the ultimate super-villain, and this book should've reflected that instead, we get example after example of Luthors that do nothing but fail epically. Yes, the ending is pretty great, but it can't save the rest of the issue from being mediocre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 11, 2019

Ambitious, but it just falls short. This story had tons of potential and once I realized what the issue was going to be, I got very excited at its possibilities. I was hoping for Jack Nicholson, but I got Jared Leto.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 12, 2019

Yeah, there are some goofy moments in this issue, but this book is leaps and bounds better than the typical event tie-in book. I was expecting a left-over issue of "New Year's Evil", but was pleasantly surprised by how much better this issue was,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Year of the Villain: Ocean Master #1

Dec 11, 2019

This book is totally worth your time and money. Enjoyable from start to finish and filled with breath-taking art and surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More