kcscribbles's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comicbook Dispatch Reviews: 19
8.3Avg. Review Rating

7
Apache Delivery Service #1

Jan 5, 2022

His style is unique, but I dont feel like its a good fit for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Arrowsmith: Behind Enemy Lines #1

Jan 19, 2022

Final ThoughtsArrowsmith: Behind Enemy Lines #1 takes Fletcher on a new mission behind enemy lines, and we get to spend some time with him now that a year has passed since the original series. The cliffhanger ending seems to put Fletcher in a no-win situation, and itll be interesting to see what happens next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Ben Reilly: Spider-Man (2022) #1

Jan 17, 2022

Ben Reilly Spider-Man #1 is a slow start to a 5-part story. It gives brief insights into Ben's current situation, introduces a mystery and sets up a conflict with another villain for next issue, which hopefully will expand the story to make it more epic than it appears here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bolero #1

Jan 19, 2022

Over the course of the story, Devyn gets more and more tattoos, and by the end of the issue, Devyn is gloriously arrayed in flowers, symbols and webs, swirling and dotting her body like beautiful battle scars. The sci-fi part of the issue is drawn in a surreal fashion thats diametrically opposite to what wed seen to that point, but equally beautiful and edgy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #39

Jan 19, 2022

The StoryIt's great to see Catwoman back in Gotham again as Catwoman #39 opens.  It never feels right when shes in some other city or country, her home should always be Gotham, cartwheeling on that razor edge between the heroine and criminal and occasionally rubbing shoulders with Batman and his nemeses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1

Jan 10, 2022

As she talks to an old acquaintance in a diner, the details of the diner stand out.  The steam wafting off the coffee cups, the grainy texture of the booths and walls, and the street lights gently illuminating the interior.Im looking forward to seeing his art on what promises to be a knock-down-drag-out battle next issue.  If he draws it as expertly as he draws the quiet scenes, itll look amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #4

Dec 29, 2021

Joshua Williamson writes Black Canary dark and grim, and I like her this way.  Shes been independent of Green Arrow for a while, and its nice to see her get her own personality and identity, rather than be just Green Arrow Lite.   Slade Wilson is his usual vicious self.  He doesnt like being used, and he wants to know whats really going on with Libra and T.R.U.S.T., and hes not letting anyone stop him from finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Echolands #5

Dec 29, 2021

On top of that, the backgrounds are filled with massive detail across the pages.I cant imagine how long it took him to draw these issues, it must have been painstaking work, but I marvel (no pun intended) at every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Elektra: Black, White & Blood #1

Jan 5, 2022

The StoriesThe highlight of Elektra: Black, White & Blood #1 is the story titled Not the Devil (written and drawn by Leonardo Romero) which, after a brief opening, turns into one long John Wick-style action tale, as Elektra takes out as many of Kingpins men as she can, wielding a Katana and her trademarks sais as the thugs speed down the road. Theres no setup given for her vendetta, and it doesnt really matter, because watching Elektra wipe the thugs out with Jason Voorhees-style efficiency and brutality is amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Hell Sonja (2022) #1

Jan 12, 2022

The battle scenes take place on the ground and in the air, and the air battle looks like something out of one of Ray Harryhausens old films like Clash of the Titans or The Golden Voyage of Sinbad as titanic Kaiju-like creatures battle each other for air supremacy, the Sonjas holding on for dear life amidst the chaos.  Its beautiful work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ice Cream Man #27

Dec 29, 2021

Ice Cream Man #27 is a wonderfully done-in-one-issue story. Its not full-out horror, its more like a David Lynch style thriller, a look at a bizarre event happening in a mundane world, but its a gripping story that I enjoyed, and it makes me want to go back and read previous stories in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
One-Star Squadron (2021) #2

Jan 5, 2022

The StoryThe One-Star Squadron series is an edgier version of the Keith Giffen/J.M. Dematteis Justice League from the 1980s, with Red Tornado the manager of  a Heroz4u office.  Heroz4u provides work to those heroes who have been forgotten or never got the acclaim of heroes such as Superman.  Its like Luke Cage and Danny Rands Heroes for Hire, except Heroz4u does Bar Mitzvah appearances, birthday parties and Cameo videos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Pantha (2022) #1

Jan 5, 2022

I especially loved the way Lima drew Samira (who is Panthas human form).  Her elegant nose and smile reminded me a bit of actress Cate Blanchett, and Sekhmets human form Lora Dunmore reminded me a bit of Janine Turner, an actress I loved back in the 90s.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Sonja (2021) #5

Jan 5, 2022

Red Sonja #5 starts off interesting but soon fizzles out. Theres not enough in the issue, either with the characters or the plot, to encourage me to want to read the next issue.This issue is for Red Sonja completists only.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Spider-Woman (2020) #18

Jan 12, 2022

Spider-Woman #18 is a great action-heavy issue, with lots of furious conflict and Jessica's race against time to keep her friend alive. With the surprise villain that appears at the end, it looks like things are going to get even more complex for Spider-Woman, and I look forward to seeing how she handles this new threat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Death of Doctor Strange: X-Men Black Knight #1

Jan 19, 2022

The StoryThe Death of Doctor Strange: X-Men Black Knight #1 drops us right into the middle of the action as the book opens, with London already being devoured, and Dane Whitman perched on a Game of Thrones style throne, monitoring his daughter Jakes as she goes out in the field to deal with the threat.Black Knight is a great character that I lost track of over time.  He was at his best back in the 90s, when he lead the Avengers during Operation Galactic Storm and had a romance with Sersi of the Eternals.  Now he shares the ebony blade with his daughter Jacks.I dont like Dane here, hes written like a Booster Gold-style buffoon.  I suppose having a daughter and adjusting to the powers of the Siege, which reminds me of a cross between the throne from Game of Thrones and Metrons chair from DC, giving Dane telepathic and divination abilities.  During the book, he keeps having visions of the Arthurian age, even as he tries to guide Jacks in combat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Death of Doctor Strange: Bloodstone #1

Jan 12, 2022

The Death of Doctor Strange: Bloodstone #1 has a couple of good action scenes, but doesn't add any new layers to Elsa Bloodstone's character. The new Bloodstone family member and the twist at the end set up a new direction for Elsa, which hopefully will pay off in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Timeless (2021) #1

Dec 29, 2021

If you're interested in this comic, series, related trades, or any others that were mentioned then simply click on the title/link to snag a copy through Amazon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Vampiverse (2021) #5

Jan 12, 2022

Bloodwings soldiers are drawn as a cross between the zombies in Dawn of the Dead and the Gamorrans from Star Wars.  Theyre as terrifying as Bloodwing herself.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More