Hussein Wasiti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 190
7.1Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Scott Snyder crafts yet another incredible issue, with even the back-up story impressing me greatly. Camuncoli's art was beautiful and Snyder's writing proves once again why his Batman is going to be remembered for a long time. The tease of the big bad of this arc kicks into high gear, as we will find out next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

While Snyder does a good job crafting these stories, and is even better at letting his indie book voice sing through this arc, he needs to find a way to balance this well-established theme with the more traditional elements of the character. This issue satisfied me overall, and I'm excited for the stories going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #10

May 10, 2017

Snyder impresses with this fun, fresh Batman story set in Miami. It fits in with Snyder's aspirations for weird stories set within the DC Universe, but does so with a more accessible story and accompanying artwork. The back-up piqued my interest, and I hope the writers can pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 21, 2017

Snyder continues to prove that he's the best Batman writer of the last few years, tying together Alfred's past with a new threat here to haunt Batman. Albuquerque's art was stellar and the story is very engaging. Buy it for the main story, ignore the back-up if you want.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #12

Jul 26, 2017

In a somewhat down issue, the back-up outshines the main story in some respects, but not all. The art on both fronts is pitch perfect but the story for each felt a bit lacking, despite the excellent fun to be had in the initial pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #13

Aug 30, 2017

Snyder's wrapping up his story, and I'm in for the ride. The ending has me excited and I'm invested in the characters. The colourist change irked me at first but Peter's art seems to be a better match for Albuquerque than Bellaire. Also, people should be singing praise towards Fiumara, who is producing some of the best Batman art out there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #14

Oct 4, 2017

In the final issue of the series, we get a bit predictable with a villain revelation but we get a decent enough ending to wrap it all up. The back-up tries too hard to make itself relevant but the art is just too great to completely write off. Whether or not this series was successful will be up to the format Snyder is interested in exploring. Until then, we got a mostly consistently good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

We get a slightly horror-themed issue of Aquaman here, and it worked very well. Abnett teases an intriguing mystery and his mature, confident storytelling rubs off on the main character. Briones' art was excellent as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

There honestly wasn't much wrong with this issue. Abnett's story keeps building and building, with the writer excellently using the horror elements he presents and crafts a tight, very human-driven story with Aquaman making sporadic appearances here and there. The art was fantastic and the mystery deepens.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #26

Jul 19, 2017

While the art wasn't as strong in this issue, it still delivered with well-drawn dialogue scenes. Abnett seems to be having a lot of fun with this story, which looks to be the best Aquaman arc since Geoff Johns' conclusion in the New 52, despite some of the shortcomings in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

This was stronger than the last issue in every way, restoring my faith for this creative team. Aside from a glaring lettering issue, the art was extremely solid and the ending has me fantasising about where the book might go after this arc is done. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #28

Sep 20, 2017

This is a disappointing issue, and I wholeheartedly recommend you skip it. It's just a catch-up issue, and what little happens here will definitely be explained in the next issue. Save your $4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #29

Oct 18, 2017

This is a very tight issue on the story front, but some of the art was lacking for me. Sejic continuously impresses me with his character work but some of the shading that he's well-known for isn't present and the art is depicted as somewhat undetailed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016) #30

Nov 15, 2017

Everything about this issue is mediocre; the story is at a standstill, the art is crossing into bland territory, and even the lettering doesn't help the story. This series needs another jump-start soon in order to get me back on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

A Bane-centric issue is what we needed to really add more dimensions to the character, as well as fleshing out his perspective of this story. I can't help but understand where he's coming from based on his story. Finch's art was beyond excellent, but King continues to add little details with his dialogue that I didn't feel mattered in the end, and somewhat detracted from the overall story presented here. I shouldn't be giggling when Bane is very seriously crushing bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

In what could be the worse issue of the arc so far, King gives us an extended dinner scene which was riddled, no pun intended, with problems. The pacing was off and Batman's plan didn't make much sense to me, especially since he should have been able to stop this war the moment in began. The art was excellent though, and that has always been the best part about King's run on the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Doing little to advance the story forward, this issue spends time with the characters getting back to the way things used to be, which makes for some satisfying moments but doesn't feel as memorable as the last arc. The art was lacking as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

In what should have been the first issue of the arc, Terry acts like an idiot while Bruce sheds some emotional light on his absence. Chang's art was good but felt lacking during the action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

If you're not picking this book up, you should start now. The story is fun and ties back into Batman's current status quo in a really fun and inventive way. The art is fantastic and the final page will make you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

If you're not picking this book up, you should start now. The story is fun and ties back into Batman's current status quo in a really fun and inventive way. The art is fantastic and the final page will make you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

In the strongest issue of the arc so far, Terry and Damian battle it out. The fight has a certain symbolic significance and I'm glad Jurgens recognises it, as he and Chang craft quite the showdown. I'm really excited to see where the story goes from here, and I'm curious to see what other story Jurgens and Chang will tackle next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

I was having fun with this arc but it seems to be two issues too long. I guess the next issue is going to be the arc's final issue, but it needed a severe cut down for the sake of pacing. Bernard Chang's art continues to stun, but the story was severely lacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #11

Aug 23, 2017

In a repetitive and rushed finale, Jurgens fails to finish this uncompelling story and doesn't manage to make it satisfying. Chang's art is still the major highlight of the book, and I wouldn't recommend coming back to this title until the regular Jurgens/Chang creative team returns in November.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

If a comic can make me laugh and think at the same time, then it's a comic worth buying. Rush out, get this, and read it. It plays up to King's strengths and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Ignore the back-up, the Fudd/Batman story is worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

I've been enjoying the one-shot tie-ins, but I must recommend to skip this one despite how much I liked the art. The story just doesn't make much sense and I hope that the next few writers have a better grip on the characters than Humphries does.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 1, 2017

If you've been buying these one-shots, this review probably won't stop you. If you're interested in checking them out, I recommend skipping this one and waiting for the next and final one-shot in the series, which focuses on the Batman Who Laughs. This issue was light of a tight story but the art was simply gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: The Drowned #1

Oct 18, 2017

I like what Abnett did with this character; I felt more of a connection to her than I did with other Dark Knights, probably because of her perspective being the focus of this issue. Tan and Kirkham's artwork impressed me, particularly Kirkham's. Despite my enjoyment of the issue, I wouldn't rank it high on the list of these one-shots.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 25, 2017

This isn't the strongest issue of the series of one-shots, but it looks absolutely beautiful, save for the instances where Manapul had to draw boring scenes not involving the Merciless Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 27, 2017

I was very impressed with this issue, and I'm going to recommend going out to pick this up. Scott Snyder publicly said that it isn't necessary to buy the tie-ins, but these issues seem very integral to the whole event as backstories to the villains and I don't see anyone truly appreciating what's going on without this knowledge. The writing is strong, the very foundation of the plot is creepy, and the art is thematic and great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

Aside from a few pacing issues, this origin tale impressed me and has me even more excited for the upcoming one-shots. Based on the strength of this issue, I hope DC markets these one-shots more aggressively. The story was fresh and creepy, and the art was stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 15, 2017

This is the one-shot I was looking forward to the most, and it didn't disappoint. The story horrified me at multiple points and the art was impressive, especially from an artist whose work I don't connect with. Even the lettering is done exceptionally well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 19, 2017

Bennett and Tynion IV clearly care about the character of Batwoman and want to do right by her, but the very nature of her story here is contrived, mostly because of the Night of the Monster Men story looming ever so ominously over the title. Kate's mysterious past lacks a spark, and the story wasn't engaging. The one saving grace was Epting's art, which was genuinely great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #3

May 17, 2017

The Monster Men story seems to be on hold, as Batwoman has her sights on liberating Coryana, resulting in a pretty typical, white saviour plot. With two issues left in this opening arc, I can't see how this storyline will conclude in a clean, satisfying manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 21, 2017

The ending to Batwoman's first Rebirth arc was a severe disappointment. It certainly tied things together, but the story being told isn't very interesting and can sometimes be very convoluted. Epting's art was great but it's doubtful he'll ever contribute to the series again.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #5

Jul 19, 2017

In one of the most skippable issues I've ever read, Bennett and Tynion decide to go back to Coryana for yet another story featuring Safiyah and Tahani. Hans' art is worth looking at but you should avoid this issue entirely.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 16, 2017

If you're reading Detective Comics, I recommend you pick this issue up. If you're not and are reading this title on its own, stay far away from it and come back next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #7

Sep 20, 2017

This issue is better than what we've been getting recently, but there's still a ways to go before this book becomes the book we want it to be. I understand the hesitation to set the story in Gotham, which is why we're location hopping a lot, but this book needs an identity and the messy plot doesn't help. Blanco does a great job with the art, however, and I'm excited to see more of his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 21, 2017

This issue surprised me. I had no expectations and the story that Simone and Staggs are telling looks to be a lot of fun, with Staggs' art in particular being a standout.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crosswind #2

Jul 26, 2017

I really do recommend picking this book up, as well as checking the last issue out. It's such fun storytelling and is thoroughly refreshing, and just a lot of fun. The art is so good and the writing is some of the best I've seen in a while. Buy this!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crosswind #3

Aug 30, 2017

This is the most satisfying issue of the series yet, expanding the scope of the story, which got me excited for the future. According to the November solicitations, the sixth issue is the final issue, so we're at the halfway point here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crosswind #4

Sep 27, 2017

This is a great issue, and I'm confident Simone and Staggs will stick the landing come November. The story is fresh and deep and the art is simply fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #5

Nov 1, 2017

This is the weakest issue of the series, but it's still quite good. The final few pages will make anybody want to pump their fists in the air and scream in triumph, but the early focus on Cruz's menace as well as the magic behind the story fell flat for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 14, 2017

This issue is a promising start to this new Azrael-focused arc, but Tynion's persistent dialogue and pacing problems arise again here. The art team of Martinez and Anderson shines here though, and I'm looking forward to what they do with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

This isn't the best issue of the arc, but it tells its story well and the art was incredible. I was very pleased with the way it ended, which was a bit more unconventional than I expected, and I hope Tynion continues his slow winning streak.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 23, 2017

This issue mostly consists of filler, but isn't bad by any means. The art by Carnero is absolutely gorgeous and if you're excited for Tim's return, it was nice to see him for even this brief time. However, Tynion and Sebela cram the book with filler, so if you're looking for obvious set-up and weak pacing, this is your issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 12, 2017

There simply isn't much to talk about here since the story is bare-boned. As I said before, this isn't a bad issue, so I recommend picking this up if you haven't been following the Anarky/Spoiler storyline previously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #965

Sep 27, 2017

It's great that we have two Mr. Oz stories going on simultaneously in both Action and Detective, which it seems the latter simply has the more interesting story. I'm not saying to stop reading Action, but the story presented here is much more personal and compelling than others. This seems to be more integral to the series itself rather than the whole Rebirth initiative, which I admire.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #966

Oct 11, 2017

This is a very disappointing issue and a hard left turn to what we were promised. We don't learn anything new about the prison nor its inhabitants, and Tynion is instead using this issue to set up his next arc in the series. It's a confusingly obnoxious choice, and it resulted in a mess of an issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #967

Oct 25, 2017

In a claim I'm not afraid to make, this is the best issue of the series. When Tynion is good, he's really good, and everything shines here, from the dialogue, to the humour, to the art, despite some inking and colouring inconsistencies I found troublesome. Tynion is building up to something special, so get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #968

Nov 8, 2017

There simply isn't much to talk about since this issue revisits many beats, themes, and conversations from previous issues. It's still a good comic, but the arc has gone on for an issue too long which shouldn't really be the case in a four-issue arc. The art is pretty great, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #23

May 31, 2017

Williamson provides the very best issue of this series yet, as he teases us with the presence of Reverse-Flash in a creepy and brilliant way. It's nice to have Di Giandomenico back on the book since his artwork is always sublime, and I'm so pumped for this summer's big arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #33

Oct 25, 2017

I'm really excited for this crossover, and I have high hopes that it'll be one of the best things to come out of this event. It seems to be telling a more traditional good vs. evil story which I think this event needs right now. Williamson impressed me on the writing front and Porter hit it out of the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the art and the recap, there isn't much to this issue. We know a lot of the information given to us, but this set-up has me excited for the story going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

If anything, this series is a vessel for incredible art. Otto Schmidt is great but Juan Ferreyra's scope cannot be questioned. The story moves along nicely and we get to see how Ollie is affected by the Ninth Circle, which may or may not drive his allies away. And they're who he needs right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

The story picks up quite a bit here, which feels rawer and more earned as Oliver begins to fall to the mind games Broderick and the Ninth Circle have been playing. The art is near perfect, which I'll never get tired of saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

I'm looking forward to where the story's going but I felt a bit sour when I finished this issue. I didn't exactly feel cheated by the ending, but I expected more. Going into it further will result in me spoiling it so I'm curious to know what people think of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

This over-sized issue is light on new developments and heavy on exposition. While not necessarily a bad thing, it does get in the way of providing a proper epilogue to The Rise of the Star City storyline that just wrapped up. Schmidt's art was missed and it's as gorgeous as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

This was one of the most fun issues of the series yet, which was slightly bogged down by the art. Byrne isn't as good as Juan Ferreyra and Otto Schmidt, although his art had moments of greatness. Branching out this book to have Oliver interact with a bunch of DC heroes is something I'm looking forward to see, which will make for a nice Green Arrow summer read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

In a very politically-charged and gorgeous issue, Benjamin Percy and Jamal Campbell join forces and team Green Arrow up with Wonder Woman. Their banter and relationship is a lot better established and genuine than Oliver's relationship with the Flash in the last issue, and the art was pretty gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

Green Arrow's stop at Metropolis was a fun one, and is definitely the best issue of the arc yet. If you're not yet convinced of the awesomeness that is Juan Ferreyra, then pick this issue up and see for yourself. Aside from some minor story problems, this is a great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

There's not much here in terms of story, but this issue is an absolutely joy to behold. Excellent panelling and great character designs are what you'll find in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

Despite some of my criticisms, the story is still fun, and it's genuinely nice to see these two characters together once again. The art was pretty stellar and, based on the ending, it looks like this story is going to continue in the next issue. Which means we might not be rid of Hal Jordan just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #31

Sep 20, 2017

While I admired the endgame and the execution of the ending, I didn't think it felt particularly earned despite how much Benjamin Percy clearly thinks it is. The art was stellar as I expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #32

Oct 4, 2017

The final portion of the story is a whole load of fun, but I had to slog through the initial story beats before getting there. The divide between these two sections feels very evident in that we have two writers credited here, but the art is just so fantastically stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

As you can tell, this series just keeps on disappointing me. Percy's insistence on keeping the Ninth Circle around and attempting to pay off weird storytelling decisions he made earlier in the series don't come across as satisfying in the slightest. The art, however, is absolutely great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

This isn't a bad issue by any means, but it does nothing special at the same time. The art is almost mediocre while the story is fun but not as deep as I thought it would be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 19, 2017

While my emotional investment in the story was stunted as a result of the rushed ending, I still somewhat enjoyed the read. The art is fantastic and it's clear that while Humphries didn't know what to do with the story, he still poured as much heart as he could into the character of Simon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

This is the much-needed boost the series has been lacking the past ten or so issues. A fun story taking advantage of these characters is what makes the book shine, and we get this here. The art was fun and seeing beloved characters from the perspective of the rookies was handled very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #23

May 17, 2017

While a lot of fun, Volthoom's plans stopped the issue from reaching full greatness. Seeing Guy and Kyle train the rookies was very fun, and I wouldn't mind having either of them show up in this book down the line since they were such a fun presence here. Pansica's art was missed and looked great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 7, 2017

This book provides to provide surface-level fun but nothing else. The characters aren't changing, they're being tested in the most menial ways, and they continue to have no solid identity as characters 24 issues in. Barbieri's art was a welcome breathe of goodness and I hope the story can finally move on from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #25

Jun 21, 2017

In a somewhat middling issue made more tolerable by its ending, Humphries finally moves along his Volthoom/Rami story by injecting some tension into the mix. Rocha's art was fantastic as usual, and I hope to see more of his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

This issue really picks up the series, as it almost seemed like Sam Humphries didn't know what to do with his own characters. Here the pieces he set up begin to make sense and fall into place, though I wish he did set everything up in a better way before. Cliquet's art was fantastic too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

There simply isn't much to this issue. It moves quick and is kind of fun, and has some nice art to boot. I just take issue with Humphries' sometimes laughable dialogue and pacing problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 16, 2017

At this point I'm just counting down the issues until Humphries leaves the book. His bafflingly slow pace is unparalleled, surpassing the pacing issues of even Bryan Hitch and Tom King's Batman. Pansica's art was a treat to look at, but I'm afraid it was the only saving grace of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 6, 2017

This issue is incredibly disappointing on many levels, particularly with its ending. To call the issue boring would be an overstatement, as the art really helped me get through this issue. I'm tired of this story and I'm very excited to see it end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #31

Sep 20, 2017

Sam Humphries isn't done with this book yet, as his next issue is his last. If this issue was his last, however, I would be immensely pleased with the way it ended. This issue, however, was a lot of fun to read and looks gorgeous to boot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #32

Oct 4, 2017

In a weirdly bad issue, Humphries ends his run. As far as I'm concerned, Tim Seeley should do a better job with these characters and their stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #33

Oct 18, 2017

Seeley impresses with his debut issue on this series. These are great characters with limitless possibilities and it's nice seeing a writer making it a point to further grow these characters in order to tell new stories. While I would have preferred a new artist to also make their debut, Pansica's art was fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #35

Nov 15, 2017

Seeley mostly impresses me yet again with this issue. You can see the seeds being planted for a bigger story down the line in addition to him already picking up on some very recently seeded threads. Barberi's art was a joy to behold as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Despite its flaws, the third instalment of the Quest for Hope storyline fleshes out the universe more while reuniting former friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Robert Venditti and Ethan Van Sciver craft the best issue of the series so far, which is unsurprising given it spends most of its time focusing on the characters, their relationships, and the bigger Rebirth implications presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

While the ending was very interesting, the slow progression of the series has really gotten to me. Everything that happened in the first half of this issue, all of the conflict between the Green and Yellow Lanterns, should have been resolved by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #19

Apr 26, 2017

While there wasn't anything really wrong with this issue, it didn't do anything to wow me and seems to be setting up next issue's big action scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #20

May 10, 2017

I've found myself not knowing what to say whenever a new issue of this series comes out. Not much happens in each instalment, which makes for a slow pace and an uninteresting story. The art was brilliant, but it needs to tell a good, fun story with these great characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

While this issue doesn't exactly fizzle out, it deflates the story being told with how quickly and easily the threat was dispatched, making the past few issues almost seem like filler. Marion's art was great though, and I'd like to see him on the book more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

While this issue doesn't exactly fizzle out, it deflates the story being told with how quickly and easily the threat was dispatched, making the past few issues almost seem like filler. Marion's art was great though, and I'd like to see him on the book more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #22

Jun 14, 2017

Despite it's weirdly stuttering start, Venditti told a smaller scale story which I think this series needs more of. Ethan Van Sciver's art is the cherry on top, and the cliffhanger got me really excited for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jun 28, 2017

Venditti chooses to frame this murder mystery in the mindset of John and his desperation to keep the two Lantern Corps united. Despite this, the story was still on the predictable side and I wish it could have been more dynamic. Van Sciver's art is still epic, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Aside from a rushed ending and a confusing heel turn, Robert Venditti dials up the tension and adds some much-needed adrenaline to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #25

Jul 26, 2017

If you're thinking about picking anything up this week, this is it. The art is extremely strong and Robert Venditti fills this over-sized issue with so much story. I had a few problems with some story beats that weren't properly resolved not set up, but this is the best issue of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #26

Aug 9, 2017

This book has seen an upsurge in quality with the entirety of the last arc, and this issue is no different. The story was engaging and fun, and the art was incredible. New Gods fans will want to check this out as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 23, 2017

In one of the most stunning and fluid issues of the series yet, Venditti and Sandoval tell one of the premier New Gods stories at DC right now, one which still has some New Gods goodness left to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 13, 2017

Get this issue. It doesn't matter if you've been reading this series; just pick it up. It mostly explains what's been happening. If you're any kind of Green Lantern fan, you'll enjoy it. The art is stunning and the story is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #29

Sep 27, 2017

Despite my enjoyment of the issue, there simply isn't much to say. The Corps fight the giant mechs and it ends. I appreciate the ending and I wouldn't mind seeing Orion in this book a bit more. Sandoval's art was just incredible and I can't wait to read his next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 11, 2017

This is a brief interlude, but what a pleasant one it was. I like these smaller stories and it also benefits from actually continuing a story set up in another book. More Zircher art is something we all need and he gets to shine in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #31

Oct 25, 2017

While light on the story front, the art really impressed me in the conclusion to this two-parter before the big METAL crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #32

Nov 8, 2017

My excitement for this crossover is officially dead, no matter how excellent the art we've been getting is. Seriously: Porter, Sharp, and Van Sciver have gotten the short shrift when it comes to the quality of writing here. This issue focused on the wrong things when it had this big sandbox to play in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 15, 2017

This arc has so far unsuccessfully juggled three different storylines all at once, and this issue also falls prey to the muddled pacing. However, the bits involving Harley were a lot of fun, unlike the vampire and the future story, which we get in such small doses that they seem like filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 5, 2017

Paul Dini's back-up was fun but couldn't save this slog of an issue. The cannibal/homeless people storyline fizzled out in the previous arc, so it failed before it even technically began. The art was passable and the story moved very slowly, even at 15 or so pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the way over-the-top sexualisation of the Batman: The Animated Series version of Harley, this issue provided a lot of fun on both fronts with some nice art and wacky characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 3, 2017

The series continues to go uphill as the team finishes up the storyline in a clean, satisfying way. The art on both ends impressed me greatly, with both artists adding more dynamic imagery that spiced up the story, with the first story in particular looking fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 17, 2017

This issue falls flat with the little story it provides, and what story it does provide simply isn't interesting or hasn't since the beginning, such as Harley Sinn's whole job. The art change bugged me a little too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 7, 2017

This issue really does a good job at making me care for this story again because the last issue simply fizzled. The story was fun and the reveal is sure to get people talking. Still, the art inconsistencies are unforgivable and they detract from the overall experience. The back-up provides such little doses of fun that I don't really see the need for them anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

The only saving grace of this issue was Bret Blevins' back-up art. In all other respects, the issue was dull and boring, presenting storylines that aren't interesting in the slightest while ignoring plot beats ripe for awesome stories that can be a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The arc is almost over but, given the strength of the earlier issues, I'm genuinely curious as to how this story will end. The art was mostly nice save for the horrendous faces, but the pacing was off and pages were wasted on completely meaningless storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

Hitch ends the best arc of the series so far with a fizzle of an ending, and not much else. There are some Rebirth teases here and there, but they offer nothing new that we don't know. A major plus was that the art was consistent across the arc, which is something DC should strive for when it comes to the rest of their series. What this book needs is a new writer, plain and simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

With both the art and writing off-kilter, Hitch proves once again he bases these stories on these giant-scale ideas that don't move nicely and don't feel satisfying once they're over. While there was a certain degree of fun, the typical Hitch nonsense still finds it way to irk me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #21

May 17, 2017

Another arc, and another disappointing story. While Hitch's art wasn't bad and the story had a bit of a different structure than his previous stories, it still didn't deliver on character and plot. Things have been conveniently wrapping up recently when it comes to this series, and it needs to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Shea Fontana and Philippe Briones come aboard the series for a simple one-shot story, and manage to fit a slightly chunkier story into one issue. The smaller moments are the ones that shine and the artwork was consistent throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

In this tie-in to the current Aquaman storyline, Dan Abnett deflates Mera's journey in this unnecessary action-heavy issue, which is made up for by Ian Churchill's awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

With this issue, we're given a stark reminder as to what evil we've been dealing with for the past year: Bryan Hitch, an immortal being who can't write dialogue to save his life. This over-sized issue is poorly paced and makes little to no sense, and is genuinely one of the worst issues of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

I'm personally very divided on this issue, which I think is impressive. I want to see where the story goes yet I'm hesitant to the very idea of these characters hating their parents. The art was quite fantastic and I'm cautiously looking forward to the rest of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

This is already the best arc we've seen in this series. This is a story I want to see told and I have a genuine trust in Hitch to deliver it to us in spectacular fashion. Pasarin's art is the most appealing its ever been and I look forward to where the story goes based on the small hints Hitch drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 6, 2017

This arc has been impressing me, and this issue is no exception. The art is mostly strong and Hitch goes much deeper in the story and there's some immediate payoff to it. I'm genuinely excited for this story to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

In yet another awesome issue of this series, Hitch and Pasarin amp up the tension as well as the action. While I would have liked to see more of the children in this issue, the other plotlines kept me interested and I can't wait to see where the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #30

Oct 4, 2017

This is the weakest issue of the arc so far, and I won't lie when I say I'm pretty worried. Some of Hitch's trademark grievances make an appearance, yet it's also balanced by some of his character work, particularly his focus on Cyborg Aquaman. The art looks good but some pages simply confused me with that they were trying to portray, and the last few pages looked quite rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #31

Oct 18, 2017

Hitch closes out his run on the title with a great issue. This is most definitely the best non-METAL Justice League story we've had since the Darkseid War. The art was a bit more jumbled than usual but was more than readable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2016) #32

Nov 1, 2017

I'd wholeheartedly recommend this issue based on the art alone but the story is so very weak. This might be the worst written issue of this event yet, which is a shame since I've been enjoying a large amount of the output.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #33

Nov 15, 2017

This crossover ends on a mostly high note, though I do think it's sole purpose was to simply set up the next issue of the METAL event. It delivered some fairly satisfying character moments as well as extremely cool art by Kirkham and Janin.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Mar 29, 2017

This issue digs the series' grave one step further. A boring read and an uninspired story, coupled with disappointing art, made this issue a tough one to sit through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

I hope this series finds itself next issue. It has all the necessary elements for good stories with fun characters, but Orlando felt the need to drill it in our heads that this team is progressive and exists for the good of the people.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

While obviously made with good intentions when it comes to social justice, this issue sacrificed important storytelling for the sake of hammering home the point of the JLA being a more human and personal group. They seem to completely ignore the villain in order to conversate. The art was good but Reis' involvement seems to be for the sake of name recognition alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

While this was a better read due to the character moments, the story and art still frustrated me. The villains so far haven't been compelling in the slightest, and the inconsistent art is making it harder for me to be invested in the story. I appreciate Orlando keeping it fresh by utilising different characters for these confrontations, but they need to be more developed.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Steve Orlando continues to confuse me, giving us this one-and-done setting up events and villains that aren't compelling in the slightest. I loved Jamal Campbell's art and hope he continues to get more DC work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Steve Orlando continues to confuse me, giving us this one-and-done setting up events and villains that aren't compelling in the slightest. I loved Jamal Campbell's art and hope he continues to get more DC work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 14, 2017

Orlando's new story fizzles almost immediately, which is due to his terrible plotting and supremely awful exposition. I liked mostly nothing about this issue. Watanabe's art was mediocre but mostly readable.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #9

Jun 28, 2017

In what might be the worse issue of the series, Orlando continuously demonstrates his poor plotting and awful storytelling. His dialogue wasn't as annoying as it normally is but I didn't understand what Orlando was even trying to say with this story. It made no sense as well. Watanabe's art was good-looking but flawed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2017) #10

Jul 12, 2017

Orlando provides a simply dull and boring issue, with little-to-no sensical explanation of what the Kingbutcher is all about. MacDonald's art was good but nothing special.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #11

Jul 26, 2017

I wouldn't even say to get excited about the next arc because of Orlando's involvement. I hope I'm very wrong and it ends up being a blast, but this entire series has been disappointing nonsense. Neil Edwards' art is so great, however, and is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 9, 2017

The long anticipated Microverse arc begins with half a whimper, even with the great Reis artwork. It'll take a lot for this storyline to win me over and so far it isn't impressing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #13

Aug 30, 2017

In what is definitively the best issue of the series, Orlando presents a world that is much more engaging than the previous locations and characters we've spent time with. The story is intriguing and the art is absolutely stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #14

Sep 13, 2017

This is a hard issue to recommend to anyone. While it's somewhat mediocre, there is a major turning point in the story here that will be important going forward. Ivan Reis' art is fantastic, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #15

Sep 27, 2017

Just avoid this. This arc may seem important but a quick recap would serve your brain better than to read this nonsense. It's offensively boring and the art isn't consistently good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #16

Oct 11, 2017

This is a filler issue, plain and simple. Reis needs more time to draw the finale next issue and we are subjected to this painful interlude. Stay as far away from this series as you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #12

Jun 14, 2017

This is another strong outing for the series. Kong's rivalry with Super-Man Zero begins here and I'm excited to see how their relationship develops. Tan's art was great, as usual, and the cliffhanger should entice some more readers to finally hop into the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #13

Jul 12, 2017

I wouldn't say you should skip this issue, because you shouldn't, but not much happens aside from the nice teaser ending. Tan's art is as good as ever and Super-Man's character development remains the major draw of this book for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Superman #14

Aug 9, 2017

This is a fun issue and I highly recommend it. You might be a bit lost if you're jumping on so I recommend reading this first part of this storyline, which is the previous issue. Read it and get the word out, speak with your money!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

This arc has been getting worse with each issue, and I hope that the next issue is able to build on the momentum of the awesome ending and provide a worthwhile conclusion. Javier Fernandez is very much the wrong artist for the title, which has been demonstrated with the arc's lacking art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 23, 2017

My only issue with this… issue is the exposition. It's unescapable, since Higgins is introducing us to a whole new world where superheroes are outlawed, so there must be some type of explanation frequently, despite it feeling a tad clunky at times. However, I wholeheartedly recommend this issue to fans of the character as well as those missing DC's Elseworlds stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #2

Sep 27, 2017

If you're not picking this up, I'd wholeheartedly recommend it. The story is fresh and it's only going to get fresher from here on out. The art is great too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Mar 8, 2017

A problem I thought I was going to have with the series was its apparent focus on Red Hood and Bizarro, with their relationship really forming the emotional spine of the book up until this point. Bizarro doesn't even show up in this issue, as Lobdell wisely develops the relationship and chemistry between Jason and Artemis. Despite the contrivances with the nature of their conversation, I found myself enjoying their banter and dialogue, since they haven't had a moment of peace together since they first met.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 12, 2017

Scott Lobdell has been defying expectations and proving his detractors wrong. Dexter Soy's art was incredible and this issue remarkably balanced its action and character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

Aside from a cool cliffhanger, there's not much to this issue. The characterisation remains strong and the art is great, but Lobdell seems to want to stress Jason's mental deterioration, which we already know is a big problem. He made it a bit more obvious with an extended hallucination sequence that I didn't really care for, so I hope he got it out of his system so we can move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

There just isn't much to talk about here, since Scott Lobdell obviously doesn't care. This story needed to be longer and delve deeper into Artemis as a character. The art was nice, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 12, 2017

This issue jumpstarted the series for me, providing a fun, emotional, and worthwhile issue that read really quickly. The art was superbly stellar, and this is a great jumping-on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

In a fun, simple story, we get reminded of the character's relationships to one another, particularly that of Jason and Dick. I loved the simple conversation scenes, which provided some of the best character moments of the series yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

An element of the plot that's been teased for quite some time is the presence of a spy in the Squad. We found out who the spy is in this issue, and it is entirely unexpected. I can't wait to see where Rob Williams takes it from here. Certain members of the Squad such as Hack and Deadshot are given more time to develop. We still have characters that need serious work, such as Rustam. I very much appreciate that he didn't end up in the dumpster following Justice League vs. Suicide Squad and is the villain of this arc, but he needs to do more than simply taunt Flag and Katana. I want to see him as an actual physical threat, someone who is genuinely a danger to the Squad and the world. We haven't been getting that, and it disappoints me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

This issue proves that it is by far the weakest double-shipped book that DC is currently putting out. While there is a foundation for a solid, interesting story, the division of the book into two parts, the bad art, and the unnatural pace of this arc just make this issue quite unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 12, 2017

With Tony S. Daniel coming on the book, and the team featuring General Zod, I really hope this series finds itself out of the dump brought onto it by Justice League vs. Suicide Squad. This issue, and this whole arc for that matter, was just not good at all. Eddy Barrows' art is the one saving grace, and there's not enough of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

With strong art and a great ending, Suicide Squad gets out of the rut it's been in for the past few months and tells a fun, simple story starring Lex Luthor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 10, 2017

Zod's presence makes for a radically different, and significantly more entertaining, book. It's fresh and fun, and Williams is clearly having fun with the dialogue while also telling a serious story with characters that we love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 24, 2017

In a story tying into the current Action Comics arc featuring the Superman Revenge Squad, Williams crafts a tightly-paced and fun issue, and Daniel's art ever fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 24, 2017

In a story tying into the current Action Comics arc featuring the Superman Revenge Squad, Williams crafts a tightly-paced and fun issue, and Daniel's art ever fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #19

Jun 14, 2017

Williams wraps up this short arc in a fun, explosive way, one that'll see a couple of characters really deal with the events in the stories to come. The art couldn't hold up to Daniel's previous work but Edwards was the best replacement they could have found.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #20

Jun 28, 2017

This one-shot explored some the dynamics between the characters in the Suicide Squad, with the standout being Sejic's art, who is quickly becoming one of my favourite artists. Pick this issue up, as well as Aquaman #25 to really see what I'm talking about. I think this story was necessary to provide a bit of breathing room and to let this book have its own story as opposed to playing second fiddle to other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #21

Jul 12, 2017

For those looking to jump in on the series, this issue is for you. For regular readers, you're going to find a lot to like here in the new direction for Harley's character, as well as an awesome art team. The issue was fun throughout too, and I'm excited for this story to move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #22

Jul 26, 2017

This was surprisingly underwhelming. Both the art and the story were incredibly lackluster, which is a shame because I really enjoyed the last issue and wanted to see more. The ending interested me and I'm excited to see some of these events play out, but I'm mostly disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #23

Aug 9, 2017

I recommend everyone to stay away from this issue. Skip it and the events depicted here will definitely be summarised in a few lines in the next issue. The art looked bad at times and the dialogue was completely out of character.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #24

Aug 23, 2017

While the ending has me interested in the next issue, everything in this issue was lacking to some degree; the writing and plotting is slow, there's an art change near the end of the issue, and it falls into the same formula the series has been falling into.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 13, 2017

This issue just disappointed be deeply. The only hope I have for this series is a switch from biweekly to monthly, along with a shake-up of the team. I'd like to see more interesting characters take the spotlight. Hell, Williams almost struck gold with that hammer guy who could only say "peanut". But then he died. Anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #26

Sep 27, 2017

I personally wouldn't recommend this crossover unless you've been reading Nightwing. Otherwise, stick to the main event or the one-shots. However, the issue was fun and the art was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

The true star of this book, and the main reason why everyone should pick this up, is the Snagglepuss story by Mark Russell and Howard Porter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

The mystery of Kid Amazo continues, while Jon and Damian continue to bond in what is a near perfect balance of fun and serious storytelling. Tomasi and Jimenez provide such a warm take on the relationship between the superheroes in the making in what could be one of the top titles DC is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #5

Jun 21, 2017

In a mostly fun interlude, Tomasi falls into the same old trap of having Jon and Damian needlessly fight, while also counteracting this with a pretty great series of scenes near the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 19, 2017

In a somewhat confusing yet fun issue, the Teen Titans get in the way of Jon and Damian's night out. This issue is worth it just for the brilliant art and fantastic scenes between the titular characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #7

Aug 16, 2017

I reserve judgment for the ending until the next issue, as it seemed like the story wrapped up nicely until it suddenly jumpstarted for that cliffhanger. I'm all for shorter arcs in monthly books and I hope Tomasi and Jimenez wow me with the next issue. Despite this, this might have been the best issue of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #10

Nov 15, 2017

As far as interludes go, this is up there. The character relationships, their interplay, and the dialogue all worked so well and Luis provided the best non-Jimenez art this series has had yet. This upcoming crossover looks really interesting so I recommend to jump onto the series now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

The ending of this issue worried me. I absolutely will not spoil anything because people are very excited about this crossover and the questions we will be getting answered, but I'm concerned about the direction the character of Superman is going upon reaching the twist at the end of this issue. This issue is very strong and is the best issue of this crossover so far, but with one issue left, I'm officially worried.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

Tomasi and Gleason are back in full force, and I wholeheartedly recommend this issue to everyone. This is the Superman that brought people back in Rebirth, and Mahnke's art is quite excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

This issue isn't as strong as the previous issue but Lois gets a whole bunch of moments to shine, while Tomasi and Gleason slowly progress the Superman and Jon plots.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #35

Nov 15, 2017

This was a zany, fun issue that contains some of the best Apokalips moments since perhaps DARKSEID WAR. Whether or not this arc is important to the overall universe or not, there are genuine stakes involved and I'm confident that Tomasi and Gleason will stick the landing in next month's conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

If you're going to pick up one of the three annuals releasing today, I'd recommend this one. It feels the most complete since it's a singular story that doesn't require much prior reading, and you can jump in right here. I'm curious as to where the story will go but the ending got me pretty excited for the upcoming story. The art by March was strong and Williams' dialogue was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

So far, the Godwatch storyline is a lot more impressive and personal than The Truth, which has been underwhelming so far, but seems to be picking up now that Diana has her identity back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The straight-forward narrative of Godwatch has fortunately bled into The Truth, as this issue moved along fine and swiftly. The dialogue and the relationship between all the characters worked, especially with the excellent storytelling of the previous Godwatch issue. The surprising ending solidifies the threat of the Diana's enemies, and I hope it continues to impact the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

The team impresses yet again with another incredible issue. The art was Evely's best on the series so far, and the inclusion of a new character brought a huge amount of freshness to the story. Veronica Cale's character is the most developed in the book, making her very sympathetic, which excuses the lack of Wonder Woman in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

This was a very tight issue, story-wise. Not much happened aside from an amazing cliffhanger teasing next month's continuation of the story. Sharp's art is just brilliant on every level, and Rucka's build-up begins to pay off here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #22

May 10, 2017

In what felt like a filler issue, Rucka and guest artist Mirka Andolfo break the pace by telling a story that just didn't need to be told. Andolfo's art got me worried about her upcoming run on the title, but some sequences alleviated a bit of my worry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #23

May 24, 2017

Rucka's storytelling skills are unquestioned and I'll miss his presence on the book. Here, his dialogue us stunning and contrasts very well to Sharp's mature, detailed art. The truth has been revealed, and I loved the answer we've been given.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #23

May 24, 2017

Rucka's storytelling skills are unquestioned and I'll miss his presence on the book. Here, his dialogue us stunning and contrasts very well to Sharp's mature, detailed art. The truth has been revealed, and I loved the answer we've been given.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #24

Jun 14, 2017

This issue was quite sublime. Rucka does a great job at tying up some loose ends and setting up character motivations and story beats for other writers, or himself eventually, to take on in due time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #25

Jun 28, 2017

With Shea Fontana doing a short run on the title before James Robinson advancing the Jason storyline, I'm looking forward for the book to move past this storyline and try something new. As for this issue, it left a sour taste in my mouth and I'm bummed that Rucka's run had to end on a whimper.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

In a less-than-standard issue, Fontana and Andolfo debut in full force. While I was disappointed with the issue, I recommend new readers, to comics or Wonder Woman in general, to check this issue out. It's a fine starting point with the character, especially for those jumping off from the new film.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

Unfortunately, there isn't much to talk about in this issue. With these two issues in mind, I might recommend that regular readers of this series should skip this and just wait for James Robinson's upcoming run on the series in September.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #28

Aug 16, 2017

There simply isn't much to talk about in this issue. The story is incredibly bare and the art was mediocre. I reiterate what I said in my previous review; stay away from this run until James Robinson comes on the title to tell the story of Wonder Woman's brother.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Aug 30, 2017

This is the best issue of Fontana's run by far, and I hope she keeps up the momentum. Miranda's artwork was awesome, and I wouldn't mind seeing their art in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

This was a fine issue, but this run was disappointing. I was excited to see what Fontana would do with it but it felt fairly generic to me. I'm sure a more younger audience would absolutely love this run though, so I'd recommend the upcoming trade to a younger friend or family member.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #31

Sep 27, 2017

The art is gorgeous and the plotting is great, but the dialogue leaves a bit to be desired. It's either unnecessarily detailed or just contrived. It's not a bad read at all, though, so I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #32

Oct 11, 2017

I was excited for this story but this issue really put a damper on my excitement. It was a fine issue, but its baffling plotting and pacing confused me and the art simply wasn't up to par with what we got last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #34

Nov 8, 2017

Not much happens in this issue. I believe the next issue will focus on Jason's past so don't expect any more exploration of this issue's story until next month. The story is fine, the dialogue is awkward, and the art isn't consistently good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

Annuals are hard to sell, but I recommend this one. The first story alone might be worth the price of admission itself since the art is so good. The art in the rest of the book has some highs and lows, but doesn't stand up to the quality of the first story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More