Mikkel Snyder's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 144
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Die #1

Dec 5, 2018

Die Demands to Be ReadDie #1 is a tribute and subversion of childhood fantasy, of the games we played when we didn't fully understand the rules. Gillen and Hans are a dynamic duo that have created an alarmingly alluring world of horror and fantasy and I'm so excited to add this to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
The Sandman Universe #1

Aug 8, 2018

This is a series that deserves to be discovered with fresh eyes and for fellow fans of the series, it will very much feel like a homecoming. For those uninitiated, 1) please read Sandman. It still holds up and 2) while some of the references and characters may be lost on you, the emotional resonance and eye candy on each page should be enough to convince you of one. This issue has assuaged any apprehension I had. This is the start of something truly spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 1, 2018

With the real world summer giving way to fall, Adventure of the Super Sons is must-read maxi-series. It shows evergreen optimism and the rediscovery of heroism through the eyes of the best boys in the DC canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 5, 2018

Even as a big fan, Adventures of the Super Sons #2 constantly surprised me. Whether it was the callback to Manchester Black from way back in the original Superman: Rebirth or some of the plot twists in the second half of the comic, there was a smile on my face the entire time. Tomasi captures the spirit of growing up. As out of this world as these adventures are, there are kernels of honesty and truth littered throughout the issue. Out of all the comics in the DC roster at the moment, this remains my favorite title by a mile and a half.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Adventures of the Super Sons #3

Oct 3, 2018

I love Damian's cockiness, and I love how poorly Damian is handling the two Jon's being that cocky. I love how the Gang, this mini-Legion of Doom, captures the exact type of kid who worshipped villains and tried to aspire to be like them because they thought they were "edgy" and "cool." And I love the fact that the Super Sons have been jettisoned to space after spending so much time on Earth and how ridiculous the whole situation is. It's just fun and bombastic and such a great palette cleanser to all of the darkness currently swirling in DC comics at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Adventures of the Super Sons #4

Nov 7, 2018

Everything about this comic is just brilliant. Tomasi's script aside, Barberi's artwork is absolutely top-notch and pops off the page with Santorelli's inks and Protobunker's colors. As I said earlier, this series is the bright beacon of hope in the DC Universe. It's a whole post coming-of-age of story. If Super Sons was the traditional "we have to learn to work together by leveraging our uniqueness," Adventures of the Super Sons is the mature follow up. The one where our heroes are tested against an antagonist who stands in opposition of their ideals. It's my jam. It's fantastic. Jon Kent and Damian Wayne deserve a full series run under Tomasi's guiding hand. It's just so whole and good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Adventures of the Super Sons #5

Dec 5, 2018

The final pages of Adventures of the Super Sons #5 show the creative team in top form. Tomasi's dialog and narration is near perfect and cleverly plays with the various tropes utilized to continue the story of the Super Sons. It's a bombastically fun read, easily the happiest, go-luckiest DC title on the market and this series embodies the very tenants of superheroism. Pick this title up now. Whether it's for you or a younger reader, Adventures of the Super Sons has a lot of heart that will capture your imagination and kindle the innate desire to try and do good in a world that doesn't always do good by you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 18, 2018

At the end of the day though, when I finished reading Action Comics #1000, I smiled. I smiled because of the pop culture history that was made. I smiled because the more I grow up, the more I realize that Superman is the hero I needed growing up and the hero I continually strive to be. I smiled because it's Superman and how the character Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster has remained stalwart through the years. I mean, how could you not?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic Man (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Plastic Man #1 is part origin story, part whodunit, part mafia film. The script is hilarious, the visuals are pure eye-candy, and neither shies away from the horribly dark happenings of Cole City. This is an all-female creative team breathing new life into gleeful Plastic Man, and you should make it a point to pick it up this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

There are so many twists and turns, 'a-ha' moments, and winks at the reader in this issue. Here is a wonderful, colorful world of sex, crime, and conspiracy; with a quirky charm to it. Simone and Melo are an immaculate duo, and will make you a fan of Plastic Man in short order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Plastic Man (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

Plastic Man is unapologetically hopeful and unrelentingly funny. This is the perfect supplement to your weekly pull and will endear itself to you in shorter order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Plastic Man (2018) #4

Sep 12, 2018

The joy of Plastic Man is the joy of the absurd. If you will pardon every single one of the puns I'm about to make, it's a title that stretches the imagination of what you think superhero stories can do. It's a story that you can chew on like taffy. It bends all of the classic genre tropes and transforms them into something wonderful to behold. Plastic Man is just fun, unashamedly so, but also has one hell of a heart of gold at its crux.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic Man (2018) #5

Oct 10, 2018

As we approach the finale, I'll emphasis what I've said the past four issues: Plastic Man is everything I want from a superhero comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Plastic Man (2018) #6

Nov 14, 2018

Plastic Man, the character, is one of the most powerful characters in the DC universe with a sleezy exterior and heart of marshmallow fluff. Plastic Man, the series, is a self-contained story that is a long love letter to the marriage of classical and modern superheroe stories. Simone and Melo have created a must read for any DC fan, and arguably any comic book fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Saga #49

Feb 28, 2018

It's good to have Saga back in the pull. The new arc is off to a very promising start, and there is nothing quiet like this particular emotional roller coaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #50

Mar 28, 2018

This is the zenith of storytelling. This is the textbook on how to construct simultaneous narratives and still feel like the overarching story arc is progressing at full speed. This is just the latest example of how Saga has fundamentally altered the world of comics and how it's not to late to start reading. This is a reminder to pick up your pull so you can see the saga unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Saga #51

Apr 26, 2018

I honestly wouldn't have it any other way. This continues to be the comic I put at the top of my pull every week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Saga #52

May 30, 2018

Saga #52 continues building a house of cards on top of dominoes that were laid out last issue. At any moment, you know something is going to give. Something is going to break beautifully and horrifically. It's an issue that showcases what Vaughan and Staples do best: lure you into a magical world and challenge every single one of your perceptions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #53

Jun 27, 2018

Next issue is the quote unquote season finale. I am currently exceedingly stressed out that I have to wait another month to see how this all wraps up. This arc has been harrowing every step of the way, and there are only so many ways that I can say Saga is going down in the history books as one of the greatest stories in any medium. But Vaughan and Staples continue to show the fuck off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #54

Jul 25, 2018

This issue was difficult to read. So much of the story is told in silence which only bolsters the impact Vaughan's incredible dialogue has when it shows up. Staples' artwork is visceral, vibrant, and brutal. Each wordless panel hits like a bag of bricks. The deftness with which the two are capable of changing tone is awe-inspiring. It's the comic book manifestation of multiple punches to the gut. It hurts, in a tragically beautiful way. It's truly the only way the arc could have ended, but it makes it no less difficult to process. I'm gonna need that year to recoup. I got no quips at the end of this review. Just a simple fact.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 7, 2018

Lemire and Sorrentino have struck gold. While this story won't appeal to everyone, those who like dark speculative fiction will quickly find home within the brilliantly dark tale of faith and you'll definitely want to be caught up when #2 drops in April.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gideon Falls #2

Apr 11, 2018

Gideon Falls is quickly becoming a must-read, and this is coming from someone who usually doesn't love horror. The slow burn of the central mystery is allowing for some fascinating character studies and truly haunting moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gideon Falls #3

May 16, 2018

Gideon Falls is slowly piecing itself together as one of the greatest horror mysteries of the decade thanks to the combined efforts of a staggeringly magnificent creative team, and I cannot laud the series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 20, 2018

There is a sense of dread and fear that exist within the pages that I haven't experienced in some while and that anxiety only makes me more excited for the next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #5

Jul 17, 2018

As we near the end of the first arc, Gideon Falls reminds us that we are always grasping for an understanding in a chaotic world where senseless things happen. It reminds us of loneliness, of desperately wanting someone to understand what we are experiencing and the internalized dread we carry. Lemire and Sorrentino just decided to give it an actual form and name in the form of the Black Barn. My god, if all of this isn't making a horror fan out of me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Gideon Falls #6

Aug 14, 2018

And let me reiterate once again, Sorrentino's artwork paired with Stewart's colors is one of the visually most stimulating and stressful experiences I have reading comics, and I absolutely adore the direction and general aesthetic. This recurring visual mechanic has done so much work over the last few months and still causes heart palpitations. It's wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gideon Falls #7

Oct 17, 2018

It is entirely unsurprisingly that Gideon Falls was optioned for a TV series. It is a brilliantly constructed story that engrosses the reader with its clever writing and awe-inspiring art. This is a title you're definitely going to want in your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #8

Nov 11, 2018

There is nothing quite like this comic on the market. The magnificent slow burn of the narrative compounded with the riveting art creates a stunning horror story and if you're a fan of your heart racing, I really must implore you to read this series immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hunters #1

May 1, 2018

Maybury and Tierney have essentially provided a textbook on phenomenal worldbuilding and showcased their universe and the talents of their extensive creative team. Hunters gives us diversity on and off the page and showcases the nature of storied fables. While the drastic shifting in tone don't always work out, Hunters as a cohesive collection is a cleverly crafted concoction. It is a dense work that rewards the reader and harkens back to olden days, where forces of natures were gods and heroes were merely humans going up against a world seemingly stacked against them. It is a truly ambitious work of fiction that is as unrelentless as the hunters whose stories it tells.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 14, 2018

Eternity Girl #1 is a dense story. It's a beautifully realized story, but one that requires precise reading and a willingness to be led along the narrative arc. The exposition occurs in intermittent bursts, and it's a dark tale in more ways than one. It very much exists in conversation with the other Young Animal titles, so if you've enjoyed any of them, you'll be at home. Individual panels and pages left me absolutely floored but when I was finished reading, I was left wanting. Perhaps given the context, that is an appropriate reaction. We'll see what happens in #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 11, 2018

It's hard to predict where exactly the journey will end, but I'm now completely ready for stuff to get even weirder.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Eternity Girl #3

May 9, 2018

It feels weird to say that Eternity Girl, the comic, keeps getting better and better, while Eternity Girl, the character continues to spiral down. The continual descent and multiple storylines read significantly better as the stakes are raised and the pacing gets faster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternity Girl #4

Jun 13, 2018

This is one of the finest examples of the comic craft that I think you could read. There is so much to love and so much to appreciate in this issue and makes me even more exciting for the last act.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Eternity Girl #5

Jul 11, 2018

When I think back to where we started, I didn't imagine this is where we'd be ending up. I couldn't fathom the intricacies that have slowly unfurled. But now that we are at the penultimate issue, I'm going to once again request that you go out of your way and buy the back issues for the series so you can be ready for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternity Girl #6

Aug 8, 2018

Eternity Girl demands to be read. It is thought provoking and deeply personal. If you've read any of the prior issues, you deserve to read the conclusion immediately. If you haven't read any yet, keep it on the radar. Visaggio and Liew are a force to be reckoned with, and the final issue is proof of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 26, 2018

This is going to be a difficult series to read. It's delved into some pretty dark subject matter already, and future installments will continue even deeper in this 9-issue run. At its core King asks us to remember that our heroes are still human, that we are still human. That we're all just trying to get better, and that it's okay to ask for help. I have no idea what's going to happen next, but I can't wait to see the story unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Heroes In Crisis #2

Oct 31, 2018

In a timeline with a harrowing 24-hour news cycle, Heroes in Crisis #2 is an exhausting read that reminds us that we are all struggling. It is a series that shows us that no matter how powerful you are, how powerful the world perceives you, you are still vulnerable. You are still human, and there's something intriguing in that meditation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Heroes In Crisis #3

Nov 28, 2018

Heroes in Crisis #3 takes us a few hours before the start of the series proper and fleshes out this secretive bit of the world. It's an interesting element of DC mythos that I am captivated by and while I understand the misgivings some will have about the sheer bleakness of the series. There is something appealing about the humanity King is trying to uncover, and I remain here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

To reiterate, the reason we keep getting Batman stories is because there never seems to be enough of them. They go in so many different directions and speak to something unabashedly human that we as the reader connect to as we follow along on the panels and pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Milk Wars: JLA/Doom Patrol Special #1

Jan 31, 2018

If I had time, I'd take a corkboard and start arranging comic book clippings with color strings to try and make sure I understand everything that's happened in the book. There's a lot going on and the rest of the Milk Wars are probably going to follow suit. But if you've been following any of the Young Animal titles, if you're a fan of offbeat, off-the-rails humor, you'll find yourself bewildered in the best possible way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Feb 28, 2018

There are hauntingly beautiful moments and equally jubilant moments that leave you trying to verbalize "$%!?" It's weird. It escalates quickly. If you haven't been keeping up, maybe wait for the trade. If you have been though, pick up your pull and put this on top. You're in for a trip and the genesis of the next wave of Young Animal titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Catalyst Prime: Accell #7

Jan 11, 2018

Issue #7 offers insight into the inner workings of the Catalyst Prime universe. It's not a perfect jumping on point, but it's definitely tantalizing enough to make you want to read the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Catalyst Prime: Accell #8

Feb 12, 2018

As the Catalyst Prime universe continues to grow, I implore more and more people to delve into the smartly constructed and wonderfully illustrated world. And Accell will often be the first title I recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Super Sons #11

Dec 20, 2017

As the action continues rising, it's become apparent this is a very ambitious story. The final page of the issue adds an entirely new foil to the already packed story, welding together multiple arcs from multiple titles. It's a little darker, it's a little denser, but it's fascinating nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Super Sons #12

Jan 17, 2018

It's a fitting conclusion. It wraps up the storylines and makes you want more of the characters. You can't really ask for better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Super Sons #13

Feb 21, 2018

I'm glad to see Damian and Jonathan get to live out the normal parts of childhood after twelve issues of all the super heroics. I'm glad to see Talia al Ghul back in the fold. The series exudes joy, and I'm here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Super Sons #14

Mar 21, 2018

It's an honest shame that we don't get to spend more time with Lois and Talia. While the series has made it very clear the traits that the Super Sons inherit from the Super Fathers, this issue scratches at the surface of what they inherited from their Super Mothers. It's a fantastic story, it just runs a little short.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Super Sons #15

Apr 18, 2018

Super Sons has always been a simple outing. It's never been more complicated than the Son of Batman and the Son of Superman getting into all sorts of shenanigans as they try to figure out how to become better versions of the parents. Yet, it has always been an endearing story and Tomasi's final arc promises to be the only thing we could ever want: Superboy and Robin rising to the occasion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Super Sons #16

May 30, 2018

The World's Soon-to-Be Finest are very much their fathers' sons. Tomasi has written them so brilliantly that it's clear that while they still have plenty of growing up to do, they are on the right trajectory to surpass the cape and cowl before long. There are plenty of winks and nudges to the fans, and there is a peculiar type of triumph that'll make you smile when you get to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bone Parish #1

Jul 24, 2018

This is a strong opening chapter, serving as a tantalizing start to the series. A lot of the more exciting developments occur in the second half of the issue, but it still remains a fun read and another example of excellent horror coming out this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Breathless #1

Mar 28, 2018

Shand and Rodriguez have a brilliant chemistry and all the essential elements: a diverse cast, a poignant premise, and monsters of all varieties. If you're in the mood for more speculative fiction in your pull, make sure you add Breathless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark (2018): Witching Hour #1

Oct 31, 2018

The end of The Witching Hours lives up to its haunting name and the promise it made to change how we view magic in the DC multiverse, and I can't wait to see the repercussions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lucy Dreaming #1

Mar 21, 2018

If you liked the 1994 film The Pagemaster or enjoyed Vertigo's more contemporary The Unwritten, you're going to adore Lucy Dreaming. If you have a younger reader that has a knack for daydreaming, they're going to love watching Lucy's opening chapter unfold. It's a familiar premise that has gotten a much-needed upgrades than to the thoughtful and fantastic creative team. It's fun and smart in all the ways you want a young-adult comic in 2018 to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quincredible #1

Nov 4, 2018

The creative team has clearly poured their heart and soul into the title. Espiritu's artwork with Fitzpatrick's colors craft a vibrant world that shows off the grandeur and splendor of New Orleans and the lives of its citizens. Barnes's dialog is perfect for the aspiring teenager comic book reader. If you, or a younger reader in your life, love Luke Cage, Cloak of Cloak and Dagger, Static Shock, Mile Morales, may I introduce you to Quincredible? This comic is a necessary work in this days and age and continues to prove that Lion Forge is doing the work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
The Dreaming (2018) #3

Nov 7, 2018

The Dreaming #3 is a story that fundamentally changes the status quo of the greater universe. It presents an oddly familiar allegory, and proves that Spurrier can capture the sense of epic storytelling, and Evely can manifest truly wondrous things to fill the world. It's a little dense but sets up a brilliant next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Dreaming (2018) #4

Dec 5, 2018

While the first half of the issue kind felt a little encumbered, the second half continues to upheave all expectations and continues to dramatically increase the intrigue already heavily steeped into the series. If you're a fan of the original Sandman, you owe it to yourself to see the current iteration in all of its magnificence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

As each week brings us closer to wedding bells, Seeley is reveling in the chance to share how the BatCat union is affecting the different members of the Batfamily and at the end of the day, it's just a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 31, 2018

Seeley and crew clearly had a blast creating this issue, and you can feel it in your bones. It's a strong start to what will be a rollercoaster of a prelude before the big day.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

I think this is the strongest showing of the Prelude to the Wedding so far. Red Hood was at the focal point of the issue, but also had the advantage of having a great supporting cast and a villain who had the clearest ideological connection to Red Hood's relationship with Batman. Anarky was a weird choice to bring in, but he ended up being a crucial part of the formula that made this all work. Seeley and Fernandez played off each other to craft a night to remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 26, 2018

It's about Harley and Joker addressing their explosive personalities, and the pain they inflict on each. It's about the patterns of abuse. It's about obsession. It's such a twisted, terrifying thought; and a bittersweet, poignant reflection to end on before the big day. Hats off to Seeley for sticking the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

There are some interesting questions brought up about both characters' identities, although the big plot doesn't feel like it had enough set up or time to breath before quickly moving to the next plot point. Yet, Seeley's playing the long con and helping Tom King out with this fascinating parallel story telling, so I'm willing to forgive a little bit of pacing hiccups as the wedding bells grow louder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Blackbird #1

Sep 9, 2018

Opening acts are difficult because being thrown into a new world with new rules can be disoriented. It helps that Nina herself is still quiet disoriented in this strange variant of Los Angeles and there is something relatable about her struggles to self-affirm and discover purpose in a midst of a chaotic, seemingly random world. Humphries and Bartel play brilliantly off each other. I'm excited to see the world through Nina's eyes going forward in this imaginative playground the two have built.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Blackbird #2

Nov 7, 2018

Ultimately, the sophomore issue of Blackbird finds it's groove. The strengths of the first issue were bolstered, resulting in a much more natural pacing that fleshes out of the world(s) of the universe in intriguing ways that make it a must read for urban fantasy fans. Nina's journey to face the magical underworld Cabal is definitely worth keeping an eye on if the gorgeous artwork wasn't enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Blackbird #3

Dec 5, 2018

The end of the issue of the is what cements this series as must read though. While avoiding spoilers, all I'll say is that Humphries nails the emotional throughline and the way Bartel brings the story to life is magical. It simplifies and solidifies the series as one of my favorite comics to come out in 2018, and if you were hesitant beforehand, you should see how you're feeling after this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Catalyst Prime: Astonisher #4

Jan 11, 2018

Astonisher challenges the traditional superhero narrative. The impact of trauma is not skirted around. It's not an afterthought, it's tackled head-on again and again. It is acknowledged and addressed and at the center of Magnus' arc. It's refreshing in its honesty, and I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 25, 2018

I enjoyed the time I spent in the magical realms of the DC universe, plus I think Tynion is a great match for the tone and characters. It's a fun opener, and any excuse to spend time with this particular cast is more than welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 22, 2018

Justice League Dark has found its footing. Tynion and Martnez Bueno keep you glued to the current panel, before revealing something exceedingly clever in the next. They are perfectly suited to take you through this tour of the dark, magic-fueled side of the DC universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 26, 2018

As this arc ends, you'll want to catch up and get ready for the tricks that Tynion has up his sleeves. It is a wonderfully inventive book with a lot of heart that is a pleasure to experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Justice League Dark (2018) #4

Oct 17, 2018

As the stakes continue to rise, Tynion continues to distill the best of the magic in the DC Universe and give us an explosive rising action as the The Witching Hour persists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Justice League Dark (2018) #5

Nov 21, 2018

Yet, the start of The Shadow Pact is less eldritch horror, and more personal demons. Whereas the last couple of issues have been exceeding high fantasy with world-ending spells at the ready, the journey into Myrra feels more subdued, although no less dark. This arc looks like it will be a chilling examination of Detective Chimp as the rest of the Justice League Dark continues to try and preserve the magic of the DC universe. Although Tynion and Sampere seem to be imparting magic every issue, I think everything will be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Sci-Fu #1

Mar 2, 2018

By the time I finished reading Sci-Fu, I had a huge smile on my face. I'd be very excited to see a sequel or animated adaptation. Mercado's comic could just as well be a beautiful storyboard. Sci-Fu was fun. It had fun bridging the generation gaps. It will be a great gift for the young adults in your life that you may want to get into comics, or maybe just for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

As such, Imperius Lex in large part has been a return to more iconic elements, with the larger focus on both Apokolips and Lex Luthor and the eternal question: what does one do with all that power? It's certainly a fun way to start the end of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Superman (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2017

Time travel and alternate reality stories are difficult to follow. There's a lot of bookkeeping involved, a lot of narrative jumps that need to be ordered and made, and you're going to want your back issues near, along with some notes. But if you just want to jump aboard and see what happens, you're in good hands and company.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Superman (2016) #38

Jan 1, 2018

The penultimate issue of the Super Sons of Tomorrow event weaves together all of the disparate elements that led up to it. Much like Tim Drake, it has evolved into something else entirely than what its start seemed to indicate and has this reviewer more hyped than ever for the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

Fictional heroes represent the virtues we hope to embody. With all of their powers, they choose to protect and inspire. On a fundamental level, they illicit wonder. With its premise, its dialogue, its fantastic artwork, Superman #39 is a one-shot story that masterfully demonstrates why Superman and Co. have captured the collective imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Superman (2016) #40

Feb 7, 2018

I don't want to say it falls flat. Robinson weaves his narrative into the preexisting canon and thematically, it builds off The Oz Effect and the idea of a lost home, and Super Sons of Tomorrow and Jon's attempt to take control of his personal life. But it's rough around the edges, a bit heavy handed at points, and too on the nose. The issue has its moments though, and if you're fan of Superman, you'll find something to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #41

Feb 21, 2018

While I can appreciate the attempt, this retread of the science and religion dichotomy with a Superman spin leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #42

Mar 7, 2018

It is a very poetic way to end with a Bizarro storyline. I'm sad to see the end. But by that same virtue, I'm happy to have Gleason and Tomasi back in the driver's seat, showing off how much they love and respect the Superfamily. I'm happy that the start of this arc is bringing everything full circle for an appropriate bookend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 21, 2018

Superman is just" fun. It's the type of story that you can appreciate whether you're enfranchised or new to the series. Gleason and Tomasi have curated such a wonderful sandbox and they continue to deliver stellar storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Superman (2016) #44

Apr 4, 2018

Superman #44 is the penultimate issue of Gleason and Tomasi's run with the Superfamily. The entire Superman: Rebirth has been some of the finest storytelling that DC Comics has produced, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #45

Apr 18, 2018

Gleason and Tomasi capture the voices of the character in their dialog and internal monologue. Gleason's artwork is as beautiful as ever. I've said this before, but the truly great Superman stories are the ones where his powers can't save the day. They're the stories where his innate moral compass and compassion do. And my Rao, Clark and Lois raising Jon has been truly brilliant story and this is an equally awesome conclusion to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Terrifics Annual #1

Oct 31, 2018

All in all, The Terrifics is a love letter to all of the cool things that made the Terrifics such a fun cast of characters. While nothing status quo shattering was introduced, we instead got to see some nooks and crannies of the world with a little bit more light.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 16, 2018

Interestingly enough, each of these stories had enough merit to warrant their own issue. The combination of all three into a single package makes this is a very desirable issue for the Superman fan, particularly for those who loved the Tomasi/Gleason run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
American Carnage #1

Nov 21, 2018

The inaugural issue is enticing because it shows the jagged edges. It does not shy away from brutality, but it does not revel in it. If this honest reflection can continue throughout the series, American Carnage will be a fascinating social critique, but this book will not be for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2018

Getting a glimpse into the newsroom of Gotham is a welcome change of pace as Percy draws several parallels between the familiar inundation of information and familiar chants of fake news. Some of the quips are a bit heavy-handed, but that's part of the charm of comics. As the issue progresses, the main themes are paired with beautiful artwork courtesy of Schmidt. The integration of television static is a wonderful visual element and the action sequences give such a fun liveliness to our acrobatic hero. Plus Vire, the villain on the cover, becomes that much more frightening when given a chance to flex on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Terrifics #1

Feb 28, 2018

The visuals are absolutely gorgeous. Plastic Man's odd shapeshifting completely steals the shows, and light cosmic horror atmosphere and elements help distinguish the series. I wish there was a little more room to let characters and moments breathe, but it's a fun start to a fun mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
The Terrifics #2

Mar 28, 2018

It's a fun story that makes you wish you could spend a little more time with it. But you'll definitely enjoy what time you have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Terrifics #3

Apr 25, 2018

The Terrifics has got the right balance of offbeat humor, the joy of superheroics, and a directed mytharc. As long as Bennett and Lemire continue their playfulness when dealing with the Dark Multiverse, I'm going to continue to reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Terrifics #4

May 23, 2018

Shaner and Lemire clearly have a fantastic time creating all sort of wacky antics, and Fairbairn's colors give everything a retro, futuristic pop. It's a simple encounter along the way to the real destination story. The dark thematics and larger myth arc that enchanted me during the first three issues are kind of toned down, but I have faith that things will pick up steam as we enter into the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Terrifics #5

Jun 26, 2018

The Terrific #5 is largely a set up for the next arc, but it's a enjoyable jaunt. Shaner and Lemire do a lot of really cool things with four panels of the team and there is a lot of eye candy and plot to keep a smile on your face. The Terrifics are the exact kind of B team you should be reading this summer vacation. It's just fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Terrifics #6

Jul 25, 2018

This series feels like a Saturday Morning Cartoon reincarnated for New Comic Book Day Wednesdays. It's a little darker, a little moodier; but features that same high-strung energy that makes superhero stories fun. There's a surprising amount to latch onto, and every issue continues to be a much-appreciated breath of levity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Terrifics #7

Aug 22, 2018

The New Age of Heroes titles fill a very important niche. They are prompts to the histories of comics, while embellishing some newer characters in engaging storylines. Eaglesham and Lemire know how to create just the right amount of tension and suspense. I'm hoping the next installment capitalizes on the set-up here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Terrifics #8

Sep 26, 2018

It's hard to predict exactly where the story will go next. The moment I thought I figured out the pattern of where I thought the arc would land, Eaglesham and Lemire bent my expectations, and I found an involuntary smirk on my face. The Terrifics is created by a duo that knows all the genre conventions but knows exactly how to tinker with the formula to make a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Terrifics #9

Oct 24, 2018

Lus and Lemire know how to have fun with this particular cast. It's definitely a particular niche when it comes to science driven heroes, but it's one that I continue to have a good time with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Terrifics #10

Nov 28, 2018

Still, I'm optimistic for the future of the series. The core quartet continues to have a stellar chemistry, and their adventures will continue to be a fun reprieve thanks to all of the camp and unbridled joy that comes from having four science-y heroes continue to do science things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 13, 2018

If you've been reading Batman or Nightwing " or any Batfamily title really " but still finding yourself needing more, Detective Comics is a great entryway. It's a dark jaunt that encapsulates all of the best parts of the thriller aspects of the characters and still retains the relentless optimism that draws most us to superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 27, 2018

Detective Comics #983 gets your heart bumping. The action is thrilling, and the dramatic scenes really hit home. Hill does an incredible job at setting up the rest of the arc, and builds a wonderful stage for Wayne, Pierce, Duke Thomas, and Cassandra Cain to fight the latest madman in Gotham. It's a story you're not going to want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

Conversing the momentum of such an ambitious arc is difficult, but the creative team is more than up to the challenge. The narrative is engaging, the artwork is breathtaking, and the promises it makes are just tantalizing. You're gonna want in on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

Detective Comics #985 is a much needed moment of introspection for the arc. Mind you, this is the Hill Administration here. ‘Slower' is a relative term, and there are still plenty of wonderfully drawn action and jaw-dropping moments that'll keep your eyes glued to the page. At the midway point of the arc, Hill allows us to steep in the emotional intensity of the situation. He gives us a peek into the premeditated, rather than the reactionary. It's a wonderful shift in gears and Detective Comics remains mandatory reading for Bat-fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 8, 2018

After shifting gears last issue, we are back at full speed, no breaks. The Hill Administration knows how to get the people going, and the epic conclusion is going to be one for the ages. My only complaint is that we are so close to the end and I just want to spend more time with Black Lightning in Gotham acting as a substitute teacher for Duke Thomas and Cassandra Cain with disgruntled TA Barbara Gordan while Batman is working some stuff out. It's a summer blockbuster within a neat 20 pages that I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Detective Comics (2016) #987

Aug 22, 2018

It such a good time to be a Batman fan! There is some incredible creative talent working with the character, and if you're not keen to Hill, you should be. His On the Outside is a well-paced and conceived story that sets up so many cool things for the future. I can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 12, 2018

All in all, the issue is fine. It tells a neat, self-contained story which adds a little more texture to Batman which we may or may not have needed. The idea of 'no simple murders in Gotham City' makes perfect sense, and Robinson executes the concept enjoyably. Segovia's art is on point, but unlike the large cast leveraged in On the Outside or even the last self-contained story way back in #982 (which went full-on psychological horror), Deface the Face doesn't feel like it has that same hook beyond being a Batman story. Sometimes, that's enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Detective Comics (2016) #989

Sep 26, 2018

If there is any saving grace of the issue, it is Segovia's artwork. The costume work and atmosphere is the only strength really maintained throughout this mini-arc. I enjoy the dynamic action shots and the lighting. Honestly, this was the first time in a long while where at the end of a Batman issue I was disinterested in what came next. Hopefully, the conclusion can salvage some of the notes that made #988 entertaining, but I am not an optimistic reader this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 11, 2018

Deface the Face suffers from trying to cover a lot of ground. Its solution to a lot of the narrative questions is to throw most stuff into the mix and see if it works. Ultimately, this approach leaves it a bit muddied in its intent and execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Detective Comics (2016) #991

Oct 24, 2018

This latest arc continues to drag. While we started off with some brisk pacing, the slower pacing to allow for exposition of a convoluted plot and half-thought philosophical musings don't really live up to the murder mystery we were promised inDeface the Face. The quips have fallen flat, and this one's only gonna be for the most dedicated Batman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 14, 2018

Or perhaps it's all the side comments: The "You know this or that" supposed winks to the camera and the repetitive construction of information. It feels like Robinson is so convinced that we haven't retained any memory of what happened in the current arc or the arcs before it. It gets tiresome. Much like the arc itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Detective Comics (2016) #993

Nov 28, 2018

The few lines that resonate are few and far between and Deface the Face lacks the same change up and unique insights into the World's Second Greatest Detective. It's a perfectly serviceable Batman story, but it's nothing more than that unfortunately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #994

Dec 12, 2018

It's hard to predict the exact direction this latest arc will take given how hard it pivoted in the back half of the issue. There are a lot of interesting seeds and while it's hard to see how they're going to connect, I'm 100% ready to see Batman persevere against the strange confluence of conditions. Tomasi's writing and Mahnke's artwork combine to create quite the opener to this latest arc, and it's going to be one hell of a ride to #1000.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nightwing (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

After 34 issues, we get Nightwing's answers to those questions. After 34 issues, we get to reflect on our own answers because of it. A fitting end to a series so grounded in revealing character through a myriad of reflections.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

Yet, while there is a fair bit of action and a lot of happens during the issue, things don't quite connect for me. I'll read a scene I'm fully invested in, but will lose a bit of momentum as it shifts to the next in what feels like a rough transition. In part, I think it is because this is the new status quo of Nightwing. But I'm intrigued enough to gamble that the next issue is going to pay off now that the ante has been set.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Nightwing (2016) #36

Dec 27, 2017

Overall, the pacing of the issue felt smoother aided by the vignette style of storytelling. Nightwing continues to be the fun to follow. But my verdict on the Judge, and the arc as a whole, remains up in the air.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

My enduring, continual skepticism of the Judge's efficacy as a villain aside, this issue begins paying out some of the gambles the earlier issues took. Nightwing is given the chance to the take entire stage, making full use of it. I'm excited to see where this goes, if only to see more of Dick Grayson's past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

The last few pages make me really excited for the inevitable showdown between Nightwing and the Judge. The Rise and Fall of Bldhaven has clarified the trajectory of the arc, and for that I'm thankful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

Perhaps The Untouchable is a story arc that's a bit too ambitious for its own good; the creation of a new villain while expanding on unexplored parts of Dick Grayson's past as it connects to aforementioned villain and setting it in a modernized Bldhaven. With all the elements finally coalescing, I'm happy that I don't know what's going to happen next now that I have all the flashbacks in context.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Nightwing (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

Perhaps, that is my main gripe. While we have a strong voice and visual for Dick Grayson and Nightwing, it's a story that seems more and more suited for Gotham and not Bldhaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

I get the intent. I get what Humphries was trying to do. But I'm ending the series feeling like when I first started: interested, but not compelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 4, 2018

But all in all, it told a fun, off-beat one-of story and it did it well. If nothing else, Nightwing #42 has made me that much more excited for the upcoming release of Batman Ninja, and I can be thankful for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

In many ways, it's diametrically opposed to The Untouchable story arc. It's short, team-oriented, and attempts to be comedic in a sharp contrast to the long, solo, serious musing that was Nightwing's struggle against The Judge. You may enjoy the issue more than I did. I just want a Nightwing that better blends the two extremes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 2, 2018

This is looking like a start to my favorite type of Nightwing story. The one where Nightwing is talking to his friends and allies and trying to make sense of things. The one where Nightwing isn't overtly brooding or overtly stylized. The one where Nightwing feels more like the next-door-neighbor, street level superhero that's a little more grounded. Honestly, my biggest complaint is that Nightwing makes one too many mentions about his stripper pants. So personally, I can't wait for part 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 6, 2018

The Bleeding Edge breathes new life into Nightwing, while also serving as an interesting meditation on our current technological usage. It leverages the superheroics in all the right ways, and this is an arc that you're not going to want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

Nightwing #46 continues to be an exhilarating exhibition and examination of contemporary social issues. It has carefully leveraged the superheroic nature of the DC universe to give physical manifestation of our everyday fears. As the conspiracy behind Mirage Industries slowly unfurls to both us and our protagonist, we are forced to question the layered reality that we reside in — the intertwined nature of our physical and digital life. Percy continues to orchestrate an engaging tale that is peak Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nightwing (2016) #48

Aug 31, 2018

Between the commentary on social media, fake news, and information security, the Dark Web saga has largely been introspective. The action-packed premise of “win a race to save your friends” keeps some of the overtones, while being a bit easier to parse. Nightwing #48 is a fun issue that reads like a self-contained story, while doing some wonderfully intriguing worldbuilding. It's one of my favorite issues of Percy's run to date and I can't wait to get my hands on the next part of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 18, 2018

This is probably the best kind of filler arc that you could hope for in modern comics. It's a quick two-part joint that gets your adrenaline jumping and serves as a nice stand-alone story that still has pertinent consequences to the main arc. Nightwing #49 is the type of issue that leaves you out of breath at the end. And if this is just the appetizer to the milestone issue coming out next October, I can't' wait for the main course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

This isn't exactly what I was expecting for the milestone issue of Nightwing, in that it's not really a Nightwing story, as it is a Dick Grayson rediscovering who he is story. This brooding aftermath of horrible incidents is probably the biggest change up to the series in a minute. Still, I'm a fan of the creative team, and I am absolutely fascinated to see how the story is resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 17, 2018

To reiterated, Moore and Brown's artwork is fantastic, and the switches between artist highlight the different scenes brilliant mini-arcs that Lobdell and Nicieza set up, even if the content isn't the greatest filler. I'm hoping the next issue will bring some of the spark back to the series, because this one dragged just a little.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 7, 2018

I miss Dick Grayson. I miss Nightwing. I miss the quips and the joy of the acrobatic hero. The thought experiment continues to drag and while there are parts that intrigue, the fascination with Ric's repetitive lifestyle is, unsurprisingly, repetitive.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

Moore's and Zircher's artwork continue to delight, with dynamic action shots and wonderful panel work, but the colorful depiction of Bldhaven is the most lively thing about the issue. I want to know how this all ends, but it seems like the machination are still getting into gear.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 5, 2018

The issue definitely reinvigorated my interest in the series, and I'm actually excited to see how what happens now that the three plots are converging on a crash course. Still a little rough around the edges, but it's the most fun I've had with Nightwing in a minute.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Wonder Woman (2016): Witching Hour #1

Oct 3, 2018

Still, The Witching Hour plays to the strengths of the magic side of the DC universe and continues the current trend of showing all sorts of fantastical horrors in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Catalyst Prime: Incidentals #5

Jan 16, 2018

With any ensemble cast this large, there is a lot of mental tracking that needs to happen. This has always been one of my personal struggles with the book, and I'm thankful how Casey manages to help anchor the story with Bo Vincent Chen. His charismatic demeanor is familiar, but that is one of the recurring charms of Catalyst Prime, the subtle reinvention of classic archetypes. Couple that with the sleek sci-fi styling, you got a fun book on your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 31, 2018

It's a solid crossover. It's a fun little one-off and any excuse to let Tomasi flex his skills writing Superboy and Robin is always welcomed. It's a fitting tribute to Dynomutt and Blue Falcon, and it's worth the pick up if you're a fan of any of the characters involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinity 8 #1

Mar 21, 2018

Infinity 8 succeeds in the same arenas as its predecessors. There is a strong central mystery set in the backdrop of a vibrant, colorful world of aliens, and a human protagonist for the reader to latch onto. If adult themed pulp science fiction is up your alley, consider picking it up. There's definitely a lot to love in this niche.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman: Sins of the Father #1

Feb 21, 2018

All in all, if you need more Telltale Batman in your life, you really should pick this up. And if you don't know if you do, well, play the game and realize that you do need more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Batman: Sins of the Father #2

Mar 21, 2018

Like your typical episode, we juggle between the different facets of Bruce. We get to see Bruce Wayne, local billionaire pariah and currently working with the police. We get investigator Batman, strong-arming criminals to find out crucial bits of information that we would be linking together if we were in the typical Telltale interface. We get Batman unmasked, talking candidly with Alfred. And finally, we get action hero Batman with all the quick time events and flashy fight sequences. The dialog is crisp and Ienco continues to perfectly capture the Telltale visual aesthetic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Batman: Sins of the Father #3

Apr 18, 2018

This issue definitely erred more on the Batman side of the of the narrative and vets of the games probably can deduce what this means for the next issue, but Gage has raised the stakes and it's anyone's guess how deep Bruce Wayne will get into when confronting his past. I'm definitely looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Sins of the Father #4

May 16, 2018

Now, some qualms still apply. The emotional impact of the story is highly contingent on having an emotional investment into the first season of Telltale's Batman. This particular take on the Wayne family is a drastic deviation from accepted cannon and without the full story of Thomas Wayne's "sins" the story won't hit as heard. But for those who went through the game, Sins of the Father continues to be an exemplar side story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Batman: Sins of the Father #5

Jun 20, 2018

All in all, it's a fun edition to the series, but doesn't have the same charm as its predecessor. It does set the stage for an interesting finale, so hopefully the last issue can tie it all together. I've enjoyed the miniseries thus far and tonally it's a perfect interlude to the two seasons, but I was hoping that the penultimate issue would distinguish past its identity as a tie-in like the second act managed to accomplish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batman: Sins of the Father #6

Jul 18, 2018

Ultimately, it looks my initial speculation was right: if you're a fan of the Telltale games and wanted more of that particular tone and story, Sins of the Father will quench that thirst. If you're not a fan of Telltale (don't know why you wouldn't be, though) or want a more impactful Batman storyline, there's a lot of other great starting points you should pursue first.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 31, 2018

This is definitely a different take on Superman than I am used to. This is a story where Clark/Superman are isolated and online, and his interactions with the auxiliary cast are a little more stilted than usual. I'll go ahead and reserve judgement on what this means for the future. Right now, I'm just glad the next issue is next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 6, 2018

I don't know. The mini-series is ambitious, and there are a lot of things to enjoy, but there's also so much that is still indeterminate. Next week brings the next chapter, so maybe it'll become clearer then, but I'm still uncertain about the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

At the half way point of this epic prologue, however, I'm still waiting for all the elements to meld together. For a six-issue series that leads into two different titles, the pacing is feels glacial even with a lot of explosions on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 20, 2018

The final pages are the only real moment of solace for me. Issue #5 is the start of the final act of this saga, and I really hope that after all the build up we can let loose. I want to be excited about this new direction, but it's hard when I don't have much to latch onto other than a good internal monologue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 27, 2018

But the men of the hour are Rogol Zaar and Superman, and while I love Superman, Rogol Zaar gave me one interesting speech way back at the beginning of the series. There are very clearly defined stakes. The action is quick paced. The plot is finally picking up. I have to admit that the final spread is tantalizing. The epic conclusion to the mini-series is next week and yet, I am more curious than I am anticipatory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 4, 2018

This was not the grand finale Man of Steel needed to salvage its self-indulgent pacing. It did not instill great confidence in the adventures continuing with Superman #1 and Action Comics #1. The story it was trying to tell was finished in a technically proficient manner, but the charm of a sympathetic Superman was lost halfway through the mini-series. Readers are left with a kind of sadness. While this may be what was intended, I have relied on Superman to be a beacon of hope in desolate times. I just want better for the Man of Steel.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More