Carl Bryan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 35
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Damage #11

Nov 24, 2018

To be honest, I am now curious as to where a creature like Damage goes now that he is now confronted with the most powerful hero on the planet. If Superman has indicated that the quartet of heroes before him has taken it easy on Damage, and Damage has withstood a heat vision blast from Supes, then we may be in for some interesting future issues as this collision of old mainstay heroes and new creatures may be infusing their will upon the DC landscape at a pretty rapid pace. I'll take a chance on following Damage….hope you will!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #12

Dec 21, 2018

I'm in for the long haul. The JLA now has a member that is more powerful than Doomsday and arguably an equal to Superman. How Ethan/Damage chooses to use his powers is an open slate that I think DC readers should enjoy for issues to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #13

Jan 25, 2019

I didn't like the inconsistency and also the mistake of having Batman being the one to order Ethan around. Damage needed a softer recruitment to the JLA, something that Batman is not necessarily known for! The art work is great and sharp! The characters are rendered in a great way, and I love the colors! With a book like Damage, they always deliver a battle. And each cliff hanger has been worth it, so we are now past a “Baker's Dozen” in issues, so make sure you go back and “re-read” to get started on this character!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damage #14

Feb 24, 2019

The art is like the Dan Jurgen's run on Death of Superman. But the writing is not superlative at this point as I think enough Damage has been done. As they say in social media"."I'm just going to leave this right here"." I hope the writers do the same with Damage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Deathstroke/Yogi Bear #1

Nov 2, 2018

Each of these mashups remind us of why we love comics and when you blend characters from different universes, it reminds you of how much you love comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Nightwing/Magilla Gorilla #1

Nov 2, 2018

Each of these mashups remind us of why we love comics and when you blend characters from different universes, it reminds you of how much you love comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Harley Quinn/Gossamer #1

Sep 1, 2018

Dave Alvarez's drawing of Harley saves the day. It's unusual in these team ups that the lighter side wins over the deeper story, but in this case it is a ninth inning catch at the fence! Fisch's story makes so much more sense than the throwback "lost dog" movie that Harley is part of in "A Hairy Predicament". Here's hoping Harley and Poison Ivy can swim in deeper waters, and that Bugs Bunny will anchor one of these team-up soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Sep 1, 2018

Both stories are pretty great! And while the reader may be expecting just the pairing (or "trioing") of Catwoman, Tweety and Sylvester, you actually get many more heroes and villains for your venture into this book. Cheetah attacking Hawkman is poster worthy for any wall!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: The Joker/Daffy Duck #1

Sep 1, 2018

"Why Tho Theriouth" alone should be a leaping point for a more serious Daffy Duck in the vein of Scooby-Doo Apocalypse. Maybe Gotham does have a new force to be reckoned with that can be alongside Joker in future tales. That story alone, along with the wonderful artist depictions of the Joker and Batman, is well worth the price of admission. "Silence of the Lame" is the cherry on top!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Looney Tunes #244

Jul 25, 2018

If you are looking for a visit back to years gone by, then this is the title you should buy. And if your kids are new to comics, then this is a great introduction to both reading and colorful art!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Looney Tunes #245

Sep 27, 2018

Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. Parents who buy comics should invest in the Looney Tunes series for the opportunity to hook their kids into the world of comic books. Looney Tunes is an easy read for kids, but has the dry humor that is appreciated as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Looney Tunes #246

Nov 28, 2018

Again, Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. But in this issue, there is plenty of satire for the readers and great commentary on today's society. Right when we need to take a step back and look at things through a different lense, Looney Tunes delivers! This issue is a bit high brow for youngsters, but the art is phenomenal to keep them engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Looney Tunes #247

Feb 1, 2019

Again, Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. This issue was light hearted and provides some old standbys for delivering the laughs! And this cover art looks great! Young kids should get this and read with their parents and grandparents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Naomi #2

Feb 24, 2019

I'm in and you should be too! It's early! Pick up #1 and #2 now. You have the luxury now of getting in on the ground floor of something special!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #33

Jan 16, 2019

I'm hooked and I am in. There is enough shreds of the Saturday Morning Gang I have known since I was a kid, and the re-imagining of characters is spot on! Given the strong writing and a bit of fluff provided by Atom Ant “shorts” that have been peppering the comic, there is something for everyone! I just wish Daphne had her old Fred!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #34

Feb 14, 2019

Lots of action in this issue and a great job of catching up the reader to the origin of the Apocalypse. That was needed for any new invested reader. I like how the issues end with an Atom Ant humor story as this is a heavy Scooby story that is not easily resolved as his cartoon counterparts do on Saturday mornings!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #35

Mar 19, 2019

The twist at the end makes me want the next issue immediately. You have to buy into this new version of Scooby. Each week I keep remarking that it is new, but given that I have grown up with Scooby and the Gang as a formula mystery and the old “i would have gotten away with it if not for you kids and your pesky mutt”, I'm still in the honeymoon phase of this reimagination of these characters! Given the strong writing and a bit of fluff provided by Atom Ant “shorts” that have been peppering the comic, there is something for everyone! Again, I just wish Daphne had her old Fred!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #94

Aug 15, 2018

I give the comic four stars as the new format of a cliff hanger ending and an ending where you pick the villain is an awesome twist to an old comic format. Scooby-Doo comics are a great way to teach kids critical thinking skills as well after you see the evidence, and they pick who is the culprit. So if you enjoy the game of Clue, you should pick up this copy of Scooby-Doo! Where Are You?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #95

Oct 18, 2018

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna Barbara simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #96

Dec 22, 2018

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna Barbara simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery! And the countdown is on for issue #100. Let's hope a lot of guest stars are in that one!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #97

Feb 24, 2019

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna-Barbera simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery! And the countdown is on for issue #100. Let's hope a lot of guest stars are in that one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

This character. The Batman Who Laughs, had me from the beginning. The artwork of Capullo and Jock and imagination of Scott Snyder is well worth the investment into this series. Plan now to visit all your local comic store to invest in this issue and the five more planned. Move over Joker….. you have just been demoted to second string in the Rogues Gallery!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Again, The Batman Who Laughs is years in the making. What a great imagination from Scott Snyder and Jock is providing the right ways to depict all of these characters. To this reviewer, this is a brand new way to run Batman through another gauntlet. You are not too late to buy the first issue and now the second one as these will be as valuable as when Frank Miller put the Dark into the Dark Knight! Get yours today. All that and a few new drawings of The Batman Who Laughs that are frame worthy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 14, 2019

I cannot say enough about Jock's artwork bringing Scott Snyder's work to life. This is a new injection of life into the myth of Batman. What a ride! This issue means there are only three more to go and that is sad! As a collector or a Batman fan, you have to grab this mini-series. And from seeing other items in celebration of Batman, TBWL and the Grim Knight have already shown that they are going to be around a while in the Batman realm. Grab your copy as soon as possible!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 19, 2019

I loved the diversion from the main story and it was definitely needed. We needed to know what the back story was for the Grim Knight. We are left with more questions in what the ultimate plan is for TBWL and how the Grim Knight fits into it as I cannot imagine a world where both of these creatures co-exist. The egos are too big. Jim Gordon turns out to be the real hero in this as his police training and interrogation skills keep peeling back layer after layer in the Grim Knight. This Grim Knight wants to get a second chance at Gordon. A Gordon that Jim doesn't know, but the goodness that is Jim Gordon appears to permeate through all time lines. Hooray for Jim and Hooray for us….this is the best story line for Batman since Bane broke his back!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #11

Nov 28, 2018

This confrontation is what the readers have been wanting and next issue should provide the reward. Excellent cliffhanger and more importantly, wonderful artwork! If you haven't checked out the Silencer, now is the time to get on board as worlds are colliding in the Batman universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #12

Jan 3, 2019

After a dozen issues, it is not too late to add the Silencer to your constant readership. It is an official part of the Batman saga via Talia Al Ghul and the Silencer's skill set seems to be developing more and more! It's a keeper for a new title and turning the corner for the new year should provide more twists and turns…..provided the cliff hanger ending gets resolved!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #13

Feb 1, 2019

The "Baker's Dozen" issue does the trick. It literally is a catch up issue to provide an origin story to the Silencer and how she came to be under Talia Al Ghul's tutoring. And it goes with the current "wiping the slate" clean within some of the Batman storylines (cue Ric Grayson's current storyline in Nightwing. However, the Lazarus Pits are always the perfect "control, alt, delete" within Talia and Ra's' world so they can erase any mistakes and have things their way. With the current state of the Silencer, you have to stay tuned to see how she can escape Talia's clutches and how her husband and son will fare. And you have to keep seeing how Talia is drawn as she is once again illustrated beautifully!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #14

Mar 8, 2019

I loved the family twist in the midst of all this chaos. I never saw it coming, but maybe I was too into the story line to see the clues. However, I am now wanting a bit more of a pace as I want to see an all out League of Shadows versus Leviathan war for all the marbles. And of course"you have to do that in Gotham. But wishful thinking aside, we have another great add on in the Batman world via Talia al Ghul and her shenanigans. Keep with this comic as this is a tale of two sisters you don't want to miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #1

Sep 5, 2018

If you like a good origin story that is going to have a lot of layers, then this may be the journey for you. Bendis' work is proven over time, and this should be a fun ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #2

Oct 3, 2018

Bendis' prior work entitles a reader to stay with this title as he is laying the ground work for an “on the run” story like no other. You would do well to pick up the first issue and start collecting this title!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #3

Nov 7, 2018

Too much family and not enough Rose. However, to really develop a character and the background, one needs issues like these to fill in the blanks! A reader still has time to pick up the early issues. This is a great ride that Bendis is taking us on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #4

Dec 5, 2018

Best issue thus far for Bendis, but I didn't like Rose taking a bullet. Let's hope this is a minor setback, but we now know, this is a very adult read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #5

Jan 11, 2019

I loved the new insight into Valentine's plight. But hated that there was no Jagger Rose. She was hurt in issue #4, so I hope she is still around. But time will tell, and I'm hooked. Once again, this series is still in its infancy to pick up back issues at a bargain as Bendis's work will command top dollar by collectors, especially with a story this good! Do yourself a favor, and read (or re-read) Issues #1 – #4 to gain perspective and appreciate the new America that Bendis is painting!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
United States vs. Murder Inc. #6

Feb 7, 2019

This series is in its infancy and there is still time to get caught up and get on the Murder Inc train! In this world of "binge watching", a new reader seriously needs to check out this series as it is dark and gritty! Cheers to Bendis for creating an alternate universe for these characters to play in!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More