Carl Bryan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News, Dark Knight News Reviews: 204
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman (2016) #76

Aug 12, 2019

Again, the artwork alone is worth the price of admission for Batman #76! That cover -remember when you first saw Batman broken by Bane" are we in the midst of another crippled Batman? Or is he out for the count and another of his Robins will assume the mantle? This story is like shoving an octopus into a bag. There are so many ways it can go and you can never be sure. Kudos to Tony Daniel's art, but also Tom King has penned a special series!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Pennyworth R.I.P. #1

Feb 16, 2020

The fact that this is Issue #1 begs that is there going to be an Issue #2 of Batman Pennyworth: RIP. This stand-alone project was well written, well illustrated, and simply well done. Again, in the words of Barbara Gordon"."So Beautiful"Thanks for this Alfred."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): The Joker War Zone #1

Sep 30, 2020

Again, James Tynion IV delivers a book end set that delivers, and the meat of the comic is also rich! The first story between Joker and Bane is worth the price of admission, but pages 22-23 resonated with me. Sometimes a comic world even in chaos is a better world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #2

Jul 31, 2019

Batman Secret Files #2 is worth the investment. The stories are solid and each one displays Batman as either a detective, a master of disguise, a brute force against crime or a someone that mad men are queuing up to defeat. This was a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #3

Jun 10, 2020

The authors, the artists, and the Batman! The stories are thought provoking and the ending leaves you wondering who is "Designing" all of this! See what I did there!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 12, 2019

There has never been an artist that clearly draws Batman and Bruce Wayne with such care and precision. And Adam's contributions to the Batman canon are an art to behold (ManBat, Ra's Al Ghul). However, the dialogue and rhythm of this story is a tough read. If you are into retro, and you want your characters around the 1970s and 1980s, then perhaps this is your Batman. It's a lighter, different side of Batman (albeit a whining side and not a winning side). However, this is your father's Batman"not yours.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #2

Oct 11, 2019

There has never been an artist that clearly draws Batman and Bruce Wayne with such care and precision. And Adam's contributions to the Batman canon are an art to behold (ManBat, Ra's Al Ghul). However, the dialogue and rhythm of this story is a tough read. If you are into retro, and you want your characters around the 1970s and 1980s, then perhaps this is your Batman. It's a lighter, different side of Batman (albeit a whining side and not a winning side). However, this is your father's Batman"not yours.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #3

Dec 7, 2019

There has never been an artist that clearly draws Batman and Bruce Wayne with such care and precision. And Adam's contributions to the Batman canon are an art to behold (ManBat, Ra's Al Ghul). However, the dialogue and rhythm of this story is a tough read. If you are into retro, and you want your characters around the 1970s and 1980s, then perhaps this is your Batman. It's a lighter, different side of Batman (albeit a whining side and not a winning side). However, this is your father's Batman"not yours.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #4

Feb 16, 2020

There is a time when all good athletes must retire. And while Mr. Adams can dribble and shoot, he can no longer remember the plays (script). As for Batman Vs Ra's al Ghul #4, leave the script ideas to someone new and keep drawing. His art is awesome. His scripts are not!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman's Grave #6

Mar 13, 2020

The more of these issues that mount up, the more I wish it was a trade paperback immediately. But as a fan of the serial novel style, you can see why Ellis keeps cliff hanging the story!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman's Grave #7

Jun 10, 2020

The more of these issues that mount up, the more I wish it was a trade paperback immediately. But as a fan of the serial novel style, you can see why Ellis keeps cliff hanging the story! Get in while you can as this is a refreshing ride on a new Batman train.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #1

Sep 3, 2019

If you didn't get The Batman Who Laughs seven issue series or the Grim Knight one shot…shame on you! Get to your nearest comic store and get the back story. Scott Snyder did a lot to plant the seeds, but now Joshua Williamson is behind the wheel. Change is a coming and we already see in the last frame of the story, we are in for quite the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #2

Oct 6, 2019

I am ready for issue #3, and issue #4. The wait will kill you…or it may give you a visor headache! At any rate, you have time to add this pivotal issue to your collection. Seeing Shazam in this light is going to turn heads! And seeing the last frame of the comic…this version of the World's Finest! DC is not going to be the same!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #3

Nov 3, 2019

Batman/Superman #3: Where is my change jar? I used to look forward to buying World's Finest as a kid. And while the prices have increased from 25 cent to the current market prices, the work is priceless! We are inching closer to the revelation of the entire Sinister Six and TBWL's plan. Can it get any better?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #4

Dec 9, 2019

Batman/Superman #4 " TBWL's infection is about to take off. He's opened a portal to the Dark Multiverse. What will be left to consume after this happens? Scott Snyder let all of this out of his sandbox and Joshua Williamson keeps making an even bigger, prettier, "evilier" mess!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #6

Jan 22, 2020

Batman/Superman #6 " Communication is the theme of this issue. Secrets never really help on any level. And Joshua Williamson does a great job of taking Batman and Superman to a level of realization that they are accountable to others"especially to Diana! This issue is a turning point and a story that should be devoured simultaneously with Year of the Villain: Hell Arisen. There is more to those meal visits to Gordon than meets the eye!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2019) #7

Feb 26, 2020

Batman/Superman #7 " Just seeing two iconic villains come face to face with Superman and Batman really in the wings on this one, it just seems right. I don't like that we have to wait to see what implications this may have for The Batman Who Laughs. With a story line this important, it seems odd to take a bit of a time out. But time will tell how important this story contributes to the demise or rise of The Batman Who Laughs!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2019) #8

Apr 1, 2020

Just seeing two iconic villains come face to face with Superman and Batman really in the wings on this one, it just seems right. I don't like that we have to wait to see what implications this may have for The Batman Who Laughs. With a story line this important, it seems odd to take a bit of a time out. But time will tell how important this story contributes to the demise or rise of The Batman Who Laughs!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2019) #9

Jun 9, 2020

Batman/Superman #8 " Ultra-Humanite. Can I write that again"Ultra-Humanite! DC goes to the vault and comes back with a treasure! Thanks Joshua Williamson for getting the comics back to some of its roots. I love a good visit back in time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2019) #10

Jul 30, 2020

Batman/Superman #10 - Ultra-Humanite's gorilla body bites the dust. Or does it? We can't be going into the toy closet only to let the family pet destroy our antiques. Come on DC"let's keep all of our action figures in pristine condition!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman/Superman (2019) #11

Sep 2, 2020

Batman/Superman #11 " Has this sewn up the World's Finest and their tiff over Clark's decision to reveal his identity? Can Bruce really perform computerized open heart surgery on himself with no anesthesia? And is that the Atomic Skull coming back from the dead faster than the Bride from Kill Bill? This comic is all over the place!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #12

Sep 23, 2020

Batman/Superman #12 " To see Superman and Batman defeated on their own home court of the Batcave (Not the Fortress of Solitude".) is pretty astounding. Tom Taylor's work on DCeased is worthy of this digital treatment in the cave. But to catapult them into a confrontation with inhabitants of Planet Brainiac that look to be doppelgangers of their greatest defeats. This is going to be a book for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) #13

Oct 28, 2020

Batman/Superman #13 " This has now catapulted Steel and Batwoman to a new level. Steel has been underplayed a bit in recent times, but it is time for he to come to the forefront. Perhaps Steel, Cyborg, Black Lightning, and Jessica Cruz can be the DC Fantastic Four. I digress". but the World's Finest doesn't! Buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2019) Annual #1

Sep 30, 2020

Batman/Superman Annual #1 " Buy this book, sit in a hammock and enjoy your favorite snack you had as a fourth grader. You'll appreciate that time if you are an adult reader!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 26, 2019

Verdict Batman: White Knight was special. The beginning of this new chapter of White Knight is like “The Empire Strikes Back” It's going to eclipse the White Knight. Think about when Frank Miller got his mitts on Batman. Sean Murphy has the same hold on Batman and it is a white knuckle thriller. Go back and get White Knight. But make sure you get into this ground floor issue of Batman: Curse of the White Knight. Bring Azrael into the fray is magnificent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2

Sep 3, 2019

Again…Batman: White Knight was special. And this sequel is a fun ride. Murphy reduces the character down to bare bones in this issue. Support for Bruce is waning. And that dinosaur we all love to see….well, you just have to see!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #3

Oct 6, 2019

Again…Batman: White Knight was special. And this sequel is a fun ride. Murphy reduces the character down to bare bones in this issue. What is really the lineage of Bruce Wayne? And how does Azrael fit in on all of this? What a great time to be a Batman fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #4

Nov 3, 2019

Batman: White Knight was special. And this sequel is really really special. You should go to your local comic store, ask for the White Knight and ask for every issue thus far of Curse of the White Knight. You can't drink this story in fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #5

Dec 22, 2019

Again…Batman: White Knight was special. And this sequel is really really special. You should go to your local comic store, ask for the White Knight and ask for every issue thus far of Curse of the White Knight. You can't drink this story in fast enough (pun intended when you look at the graphics included in the review). This is a pivotal issue, so buy immediately. This series is going into some reprints fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #6

Jan 22, 2020

White Knight should be on your shelf! It's a must read to get you into this series that Sean Murphy is painting for his readers. This issue shakes it down to the core a bit. Again, no purposeful spoilers here, but the last few pages make you gasp for breath!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #7

Feb 26, 2020

White Knight should be on your shelf! It's a must read to get you into this series that Sean Murphy is painting for his readers. This issue shakes it down to the core a bit. Again, no purposeful spoilers here, but the last few pages are there to throw more gas on the fire that Murphy has lit!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #8

Apr 1, 2020

Okay…the interviews told us that he wanted to explore one more character within this universe. Murphy feels like a little more can be told on this birdy…this Robin that met a different fate at the hands of readers. If I were you, I'd re-read the entire series again…issues 1-8, and then look at the Easter Eggs Murphy provides. And then tell me if you saw this return coming at all. Maybe he even dropped the title to the next part within this issue……?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Curse of the White Knight: Von Freeze #1

Dec 9, 2019

Sean Murphy is building his case for more and more content in his DC Universe. I really can't wait to see how this "watch" plays into the Curse of the White Knight story. And I really wish he would go all "Stephen King" in producing more additions to his reinvention of the Batman world. Finally, Harley and Bruce sitting in a tree". when's that kiss going to happen?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Apr 1, 2020

This is a strong first issue. Burnett and Dini give us a lot to work with initially and bait our Bathooks with several cliff hangers and questions just hanging in the air. I don't want to spoil anything about a Lex and Batman battle, but a green beam of light? What's up with that? Well done in wetting the appetite!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Adventures Continue #2

Apr 28, 2020

That green beam of light! Whew I was right from my last review, and the authors provide another clue"that's what I love about this new series"ahem"comic is that the first issue provides a mystery upon another mystery in each issue. Where's my milk and cookies? I need the next chapter now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #1

Aug 26, 2020

I'm in! I'm really in. This is a great pairing of heroes and to see how they all face the purple demon is going to be interesting!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #2

Sep 30, 2020

I'm in! I'm really in. This is a great pairing of heroes and to see how they all face the purple demon(s) is going to be interesting!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #3

Oct 27, 2020

Was Three Jokers #3 worth the wait? Yes! Should you buy all three? Yes? Do we want Geoff Johns to work this angle with Bane? YES!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight Presents: Harley Quinn #1

Oct 22, 2020

Sean Murphy, Matteo Scalera and Katana Collins have started quite the storyline here for Harley. I'm excited to read the next issue of Batman: White Knight Presents Harley Quinn and the next, and the next, and hope this Murphyverse continues to expand. If you have “knot” (there's your clue) read Murphy's prior White Knight series, it would be “good if you did”! 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Catwoman (2018) #11

May 9, 2019

Time will tell on Catwoman. After her recent departure from Batman's life in a pretty dramatic way, we can only hope their paths will cross sooner than later. Catwoman is having a tough time carrying her own title and perhaps its time for her to go away for a bit. Too much of any good thing is too much!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #12

Jun 17, 2019

Cover art " superb! Story line " it's getting better. New love interest for Selina " I'm not a fan as I'm still holding out for her to settle down with Bruce after the Year of the Villain. We can all dream".right? Damian needs a little brother to take his edge off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #13

Jul 15, 2019

Cover art " superb! Story line " it's amping up with Lex in the picture! Mrs. Creel has her relic and that can spell a lot of trouble for Selina! This is a great time to jump into all DC titles as the Year of the Villain is taking shape! Get in while the getting is good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #14

Aug 24, 2019

Unless I missed something, Issue 14 was an abrupt transition from Issue 13, and it serves as a stand alone beginning to a new adventure. While overtones of messing with the Creel family in Villa Hermosa, there are a few cliff hangers that need to be addressed. That's the problem lately in that sticking with the Catwoman series is like riding a roller coaster of emotion" you don't know what to expect from her or from Ram V or Jolle Jones

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #15

Sep 15, 2019

This is an issue that, arguably, has a lot of foreshadowing to it. This could be Catwoman being either bad or good (again?)! And given the recent events of Year of the Villain, Luthor's offers, and City of Bane, this is going to go down as a fork in the road for Catwoman readers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #17

Nov 17, 2019

If nothing else, you need to make sure if you are a collector to sew your timelines together. Jones has turned a corner from the past issues as the new writer and illustrator. She has breathed new life into this comic and it should definitely be a part of your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #18

Dec 22, 2019

If nothing else, you need to make sure if you are a collector to sew your timelines together. Jones has turned a corner from the past issues as the new writer and illustrator. She has breathed new life into this comic and it should definitely be a part of your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #19

Jan 14, 2020

If you have been following Catwoman in her Batman adventures lately, you know she is now at Bruce's side. This emotional farewell from Carlos and Selina's sister can either make this break easy or it can pull her away from Bruce. Not to mention that Raina Creel is a formidable foe now with the possession of Lazarus Water from a Lazarus Pit. Outstanding job on Catwoman #19, Ms. Jones!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #20

Feb 16, 2020

To see how Raina Creel has evolved into a very important player in the Batman Family landscape, you'll need to pick up several past issues of Catwoman. But to truly appreciate the writing of Jolle Jones you need to grab every issue you can of Catwoman. Besides, we all love Alfred and the few pages he is remembered is worth the purchase!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #21

Mar 13, 2020

Raina Creel"no spoilers here, but this is the type of villain that Selina needs to have going against her. Jolle Jones has found her book and I would love to find her influence in other story lines that are predominately female protagonist driven (hint, hint"Zatanna".Jessica Cruz".Power Girl" the list can go on and on.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #22

Jun 9, 2020

These "maids" are no match for Selina. Who really is on this level? I mean, she's ran with the Joker and Penguin. She needs a Rogues Gallery and soon. But in the meantime, she needed to get a breath of air in this story to set up what we hope will be an intriguing storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #23

Aug 7, 2020

Murphy's contribution saves the day! And I'm in on a two-parter with a Don Johnson white suit and electric blue t-shirt! Throw in the sound track and the big cat and you have a pretty eccentric tale!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #24

Aug 26, 2020

This is a good "sewing it up" story and setting up Selina's return to Gotham. We shall see what we shall see! But I have a feeling Selina may have to plunge back to her criminal past to save Bruce.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #25

Sep 15, 2020

She's corrected a major wrong in her relationship with Bruce. They are so intertwined, but she deserves her own adventures as well. Personally, I don't like these other guys hanging around her, but it is a comic soap opera at times. Add this issue to your collection in the Joker War!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #26

Oct 22, 2020

I love the intertwined comic story that DC paints between all the Batfamily has been awesome this year. Catwoman doesn't disappoint either. This book has come from being pages upon pages of silent art and no pop in the script to Ram V taking it to the level it needs to be! Kudos to a new villain. He's a bad man!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) Annual #1

May 31, 2019

The annuals are always a great read. Each DC reader needs to purchase them, but more importantly, Jones provides a great Catwoman story that is worthy of this character! You would be wise to buy this one! It's purrrfect!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Damage #11

Nov 24, 2018

To be honest, I am now curious as to where a creature like Damage goes now that he is now confronted with the most powerful hero on the planet. If Superman has indicated that the quartet of heroes before him has taken it easy on Damage, and Damage has withstood a heat vision blast from Supes, then we may be in for some interesting future issues as this collision of old mainstay heroes and new creatures may be infusing their will upon the DC landscape at a pretty rapid pace. I'll take a chance on following Damage….hope you will!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Damage #12

Dec 21, 2018

I'm in for the long haul. The JLA now has a member that is more powerful than Doomsday and arguably an equal to Superman. How Ethan/Damage chooses to use his powers is an open slate that I think DC readers should enjoy for issues to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Damage #13

Jan 25, 2019

I didn't like the inconsistency and also the mistake of having Batman being the one to order Ethan around. Damage needed a softer recruitment to the JLA, something that Batman is not necessarily known for! The art work is great and sharp! The characters are rendered in a great way, and I love the colors! With a book like Damage, they always deliver a battle. And each cliff hanger has been worth it, so we are now past a “Baker's Dozen” in issues, so make sure you go back and “re-read” to get started on this character!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Damage #14

Feb 24, 2019

The art is like the Dan Jurgen's run on Death of Superman. But the writing is not superlative at this point as I think enough Damage has been done. As they say in social media"."I'm just going to leave this right here"." I hope the writers do the same with Damage.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Damage #15

Mar 27, 2019

The art is solid, but the storyline doesn't save the character. This is a story of a super soldier formula gone awry. And the story has been told so often, nothing is a surprise and everything is absurd. From what I understand, only one issue remains in this series, so a collector would be wise to gather up all issues. It may be possible that another crew of artists and writers can get a hold of this character and paint a better situation for Ethan/Damage. In the case of this series, too much Damage has already been done (pun intended)!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Damage #16

Apr 19, 2019

Damage is going to end up in the $1.00 rack with some other titles from years gone by. I really had hoped this would have worked out as a "HulK" or "Doomsday turned good" character for DC, but I'm glad he's sailing off into the sunset. I hope he finds an island with cheap drinks and an easy way to get into a witness protection program. He and We are better off with him gone!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal #1

Jun 18, 2020

Capullo draws a mighty intimidating cast of heroes. Snyder weaves what may be the final tale of the Metal/Multi Universes. All hands on deck for this" and Clark has not even weighed in yet. Get your hands on this comic. This is as iconic as the issues where Superman's tattered cape is flapping in the wind and Batman's spine was cracked by Bane.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal #2

Jul 17, 2020

Capullo draws Wonder Woman. That literally should be enough. Dark Nights: Death Metal #2 is five stars, but it leaves a very different taste in your mouth. I think Perpetua knows something we don't know. Fear is in the air, and I hope Clark is up there too! We need Superman to make his appearance!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal #4

Oct 14, 2020

These Death Metal issues will have you scratching your head one moment, but they appear to be shaping DC for years to come! Here's to this issue and hoping time flies so we can get the next one!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Rise of the New God #1

Oct 28, 2020

Tynion IV is a master in the Batman books, but this book is not anything what I thought it would be. Perhaps I am not deep into the story enough, but I've been a Metal reviewer for some time now, and while Robin King is worthy of throne, this new incarnation of The Batman Who Laughs needs to be swept to the trash.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Death Metal Metaverse's End #1

Sep 29, 2020

Flip a coin! If you want a walk down memory lane with a lot of characters in a comic, this one is for you. But if you are scratching your head at the end, please do a search of everything Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo has contributed to this series. Maybe I am cynical, but find what you like, eliminate what you don't, and keep an eye out for anything Capullo draws that features Wonder Woman! That's where this series is perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Death Metal Guidebook #1

Aug 26, 2020

There is a lot jammed into this Death Metal Guidebook. And you have to be a specific fan of Batman, Harley, Wonder Woman and Aquaman to appreciate this particular filler book. I've given you the major Easter Egg in Luthor's quest. Perhaps there is more than met my eye in this issue, so invest in this Metal!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Robin King #1

Oct 22, 2020

Tomasi even included an acknowledgement of the Anti-Life Equation from Tom Taylor's DCeased series. This book covered it all like a local Waffle House does with its hashbrowns! The battle scenes alone are great and the "dunking" of the Robins is reminiscent of the 1966 Batman series when the Dynamic Duo are in a cage above"..well you know.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Trinity Crisis #1

Sep 14, 2020

Trinity Crisis has become an interesting omelette of story telling. The art is amazing and Snyder has been setting this up for quite some time. But we don't seem to be marching to a definitive end. At least in this issue...

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Deathstroke/Yogi Bear #1

Nov 2, 2018

Each of these mashups remind us of why we love comics and when you blend characters from different universes, it reminds you of how much you love comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Nightwing/Magilla Gorilla #1

Nov 2, 2018

Each of these mashups remind us of why we love comics and when you blend characters from different universes, it reminds you of how much you love comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC/Looney Tunes: Harley Quinn/Gossamer #1

Sep 1, 2018

Dave Alvarez's drawing of Harley saves the day. It's unusual in these team ups that the lighter side wins over the deeper story, but in this case it is a ninth inning catch at the fence! Fisch's story makes so much more sense than the throwback "lost dog" movie that Harley is part of in "A Hairy Predicament". Here's hoping Harley and Poison Ivy can swim in deeper waters, and that Bugs Bunny will anchor one of these team-up soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Sep 1, 2018

Both stories are pretty great! And while the reader may be expecting just the pairing (or "trioing") of Catwoman, Tweety and Sylvester, you actually get many more heroes and villains for your venture into this book. Cheetah attacking Hawkman is poster worthy for any wall!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: The Joker/Daffy Duck #1

Sep 1, 2018

"Why Tho Theriouth" alone should be a leaping point for a more serious Daffy Duck in the vein of Scooby-Doo Apocalypse. Maybe Gotham does have a new force to be reckoned with that can be alongside Joker in future tales. That story alone, along with the wonderful artist depictions of the Joker and Batman, is well worth the price of admission. "Silence of the Lame" is the cherry on top!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC: The Doomed and The Damned (2020) #1

Oct 14, 2020

I love mixing characters! Tom Taylor does it in DCeased and it works! The more these characters interact, the more we buy into the world of DC being interconnected! Great issue at a great time of the year! Kudos to all authors on their stories and again, Riely Rossmo's art is super cool!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #1

Jul 13, 2020

Taylor gave us the story, peppered it with some prequels and now takes us to the sequel. He's on fire lately with what he is turning out for DC. Take pause and go back to refresh yourself as to how we got to Dead Planet. Then read this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #3

Sep 2, 2020

Taylor gave us the story, peppered it with some prequels and now takes us to the sequel. He's on fire lately with what he is turning out for DC. Take pause and go back to refresh yourself as to how we got to Dead Planet. Then read this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #4

Oct 6, 2020

Last frame of the comic! Last frame of the comic! Did I mention the LAST FRAME OF THE COMIC? What zombie language for "the crap is hitting the fan"? Taylor never disappoints! Even with a couple of negatives, this is a five star comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: Hope At World's End #1

Jun 3, 2020

My hope that this digital and future ones come into print and are part of a huge trade paperback. In the mean time, enjoy another visit using Jimmy's lense into the DCeased universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: Hope At World's End #2

Jun 9, 2020

I love it when an author takes a villain,who thinks he is a hero, and then really turns the villain/hero on his or her head! Taylor has done just that with Black Adam in this DCeased universe! Well done!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Hope At World's End #3

Jul 29, 2020

Taylor does some of his best writing in this issue as he is treating this prequel as a character exploration. Carmine Di Giandomenico does some of the best work you'll see in visual story-telling. I echo what I have always said about Taylor's work! I hope this series continues as there are too many great stories within Taylor's DCeased World!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Hope At World's End #4

Jul 29, 2020

I continue to sing Tom Taylor's praises as he could have stopped with the 2019 DCeased. But he is as strong as creating his "Taylorverse" as Sean Murphy has with his White Knight "Murphyverse". I hope this series continues as there are too many great stories within Taylor's DCeased World!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: Hope At World's End #5

Jul 30, 2020

Taylor does some of his best writing in this issue as he is treating this prequel as a character exploration. Marco Failla does some of his best work as well as this issue needed to be simple. A child dealing with the death of his father and a mother who is none too sympathetic. The frames are lighter due to Failla's pencils. I hope this series continues as there are too many great stories within Taylor's DCeased World!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: The Unkillables #2

Apr 1, 2020

This is quite a series and one in which will be a great stand alone trade paperback. This second issue sets up quite an apocalyptic nightmare and questions as to how are they going to survive? After all, the Creeper and DeathStroke can't be the cure to this"or can they?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: The Unkillables #3

May 28, 2020

This is quite a series and one in which will be a great stand alone trade paperback. This third installment sets up quite an apocalyptic future"if you don't mind hearing the scratching against the garden walls.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dial H For Hero (2019) #1

Mar 30, 2019

I'm in. Somethings are too tried and true. And the little kid in me loves that red phone as it reminds me of Commissioner Gordon and Chief O'Hara calling Batman. Everyone wants that phone and I do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dial H For Hero (2019) #2

Apr 26, 2019

Again, this subtle reinvention of the red phone with the "Tingling 4" has me all in. And it's only the second issue and the kids are going to meet up with Superman. If Sam Humphries does us all right, Supes may have a tingling 4 on his forehead. Wait is that a phone ringing...?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dial H For Hero (2019) #3

May 24, 2019

It's a nostalgic return of Robby Reed! "Sockamagee!" I love it when a comic pays homage to aspects of its origin, and we get to see an older Robby Reed! That brings the generations of this comic back full circle (ala an older Bruce Wayne). We are down the hatch now in a road trip to find out more about the H-phone. Let's hope we find out a new power or letter combo!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dial H For Hero (2019) #4

Jun 28, 2019

DC has extended this series to a twelve issue arc. It's a fun ride and I hope Miguel can tap into his own "Sockamagee" in the Hero Verse, and come out on the other side as a hero. Dial H for Hero is fun"Sam Humphries is picking up where this series left off and it's not too heavy and has just the amount of JLA to keep it relevant. Who knows"maybe Miguel is the key to Leviathan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dial H For Hero (2019) #5

Jul 26, 2019

This is what readers have been waiting for. An explanation of the Dial H for Hero Heroverse! Throw in some nostalgic glimpses of comics from yesteryear and a visit from Superman, Summer's encounter with Two-Face in Metropolis (That's right"Metropolis) and some antique comic frames and you have a pretty good read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dial H For Hero (2019) #6

Sep 3, 2019

Miguel story arc is perfect! And as a fan, it's what you want for him. Sockamagee! This may be the new Shazam! Readers will love playing match up with the "new" characters in the mix! Frank Miller"."Frank don't shiv!"" There's your second clue, but you have a lot more ahead! Dial H this month! You won't get a wrong number!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #7

Oct 7, 2019

Here's hoping that Robby Reed returns to the story and we can continue on the story line provided earlier. And here's hoping that if Humphries wants to go down this route, he remembers that Wonder Comics is debatably not the audience format he needs for this!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #8

Nov 3, 2019

I'm in too deep. Once I start a story line, I cannot give it up. And the past two issues have me scratching my head. Somewhere Humphries put this on a shelf, and forgot where the story was going. Shame on me if I am missing the clues, but there are more phones out here than a cellular store has to sell.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #9

Dec 9, 2019

While this issue brought some issues to full circle (the allure of dialing the phone"any of the H phones and Miguel's motivation to help but at a cost), but I feel like things have been forced from a six-issue run to a longer stint. And while I'm not sure how this is going to end, I don't know that Humphries does either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dial H For Hero (2019) #10

Jan 4, 2020

This issue gets things back on track and provides the duality issues of Robby Reed/The Operator /Mr. Thunderbolt. And it looks like Miguel has made an impulsive decision to stick things out with Robby Reed and a trip to Apokolips. All the pieces look like they are fitting together in this thing called Dial H for Hero!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #11

Feb 4, 2020

What started out with Miguel's quest to be a hero has ended up being an odd maze of characters and a thinly veiled plot line to coincide with the recent issue of Justice League in what may be a major "reset' in time lines. To borrow a phrase from an old phone book commercial, "Let your fingers do the walking!" Unless you have some nostalgia for The Reign of the Supermen, walk on by this one. It's a 12 issue series and next issue will wrap this up. I hope Miguel and Summer find a home in Young Justice as this ride has been tough.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dial H For Hero (2019) #12

Feb 26, 2020

I hope Miguel and Summer find a home in Young Justice as this ride has been tough. I think those two characters can be perfect wild cards to the stability of the characters in Young Justice. If this is what it took to get them into the DC Universe, then so be it. Or rather "Sockamagee!"

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #1

Sep 11, 2019

I have been waiting since the 1980s for a solid Monster storyline to appear in comics. JL Dark is a perfect compliment to this new part of Gotham, but in the meantime, settle in with a good road map towards Monstertown in Gotham City Monsters #1. You know what can happen in an alley in this city, but you never know what might be around the corner in this part of town!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #2

Oct 9, 2019

Gotham City Monsters #2 doesn't disappoint and with the appearance of The Phantom of the Opera (Theatre?), I just know that there are more homages to be paid to Forrest J. Ackerman Famous Monsters titles! Now, where is all that toilet tissue coming from?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #3

Nov 13, 2019

Gotham City Monsters #3 doesn't disappoint and the pace gets a bit quicker as Melmoth pulls a disappearing act, forcing the GC Monsters to become a more formidable team together. Here's hoping this is more than a six issue run as this team deserves to be either in the pages of Batman on a regular basis, or as another Suicide Squad or yet again, part of JL Dark! Time will tell, so buy those issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #4

Dec 12, 2019

Gotham City Monsters #4 doesn't disappoint and the pace picks up, as Melmoth pulls the formidable four of classic monsters into the mix. It's old school versus new kids on the block in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #5

Jan 8, 2020

Steve Orlando… you have our attention!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham City Monsters #6

Feb 13, 2020

Steve Orlando… Thanks for this side street in Gotham City! I hope you take us down it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn: Black + White + Red (2020) #1

Sep 15, 2020

Stjepan eji's provides the perfect intro to the Black, White, and Red series. It will be interesting to see how this progresses. But her pens and prose have given this reviewer the Harley he has always wanted to see!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn: Black + White + Red (2020) #2

Sep 15, 2020

Fifty-Fifty...Where's Harvey Dent when you need to make a decision like this? Light Harley or Serious Harley. Either way you can't go too wrong as there seems to be a Harley for everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn: Black + White + Red (2020) #3

Sep 15, 2020

Chapter Three is part Frank Miller's Sin City and Part Charles Dickens mixed with a dash of 1940's crime noir. Add Harley"shake, stir, and pour for a pretty good read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker: Killer Smile: The Smile Killer #1

Jun 26, 2020

I'm in despite the parallel story lines of the movie and Snyder's recent work. The darkness of any Joker tale is too good to not read. But my guard is up as I am not a fan of reruns on already explored ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #17

Jan 15, 2020

I'm to the party a bit late. As Justice League Odyssey #17 is the first issue I've read of this series. I'm compelled to get a back story of how this team was forged, but again, I'm a big fan of Jessica Cruz, so any way you cut it, I'm in. Justice League comics don'tt have to be so Trinity laden and the folks at DC have re-imagined a team where other heroes can be a part of the Major League on the outskirts! Hooray for Gamma – everyone loves the cavalry!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #18

Feb 5, 2020

This series provides a spotlight on some “lesser known” JL members and, as usual, I am a big fan of Jessica Cruz and her journey. Once again, this is another series that's well worth reading and Justice League Odyssey #18 is well worth the price of admission, just for finding clues as to what the DC Universe's writers are planning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #19

Mar 4, 2020

I'm loving Jessica Cruz's humanistic leadership in Justice League Odyssey #19, as she's basically the thread holding the whole team together. I'm hoping that the original JLO can be picked back up, despite some crucial departures in this issue courtesy of some cold and calculated deaths (oops…a spoiler or two). But we are dealing with Epoch, and if the math is correct, no one ever really dies in the comics. Right Jessica?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League: Odyssey #20

May 12, 2020

Again, readers of the more mainstream comics may well be scratching their collective heads if they miss this issue, and this title. Justice League Odyssey is Jessica Cruz' team, and now it really shows. There are no self-confidence issues here from Cruz, and she's becoming a major player in the DC Universe. My advice? You really want to catch up on this series fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League: Odyssey #21

Jun 9, 2020

Let's hope he helps with next issue's story line!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #22

Jul 8, 2020

Let's hope that Ms Cruz gets back to her own timeline. We all know what happened when Bruce Wayne was banished to the past… Dark Nights: Metal anyone?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #24

Sep 10, 2020

Justice League Odyssey #24 proves that Darkseid is… Darkseid, and he seems to have recruited a JLO member or two, just so his timeline can exist.If Perpetua's doing her thing in the universe, and Darkseid's in the midst of rewriting history, what will happen when they collide? Let's hope that Dan Abnett and Scott Snyder are on the same page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League: Odyssey #25

Oct 14, 2020

DC has done a great job in getting all of its writers on one page!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #1

Nov 6, 2019

Buy Legion of Super-Heroes #1!!!!! This is ground floor “re-imagination” of the team. The only drawback of this issue is that it's not bigger, as there are so many characters that need to be highlighted. I hope that Bendis can balance all of these mainstay characters, while telling rich stories, issue after issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #2

Dec 18, 2019

Add Legion Of Super-Heroes #2 to your collection. If treated as admirably as I think it will be, this series could be the extensive “X-Men” effort that DC has needed for quite some time! I just hope, as a parent, that Jon will go visit his folks once in a while, when he comes home!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #3

Jan 15, 2020

The art is fantastic and the re-imagination of the team is perfect! My only regret is that there's so much going on that you really want the issues to come faster and faster! Well done Mr. Bendis and the gang!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #4

Feb 20, 2020

We needed to slow down a bit as preceding issues were at a break neck pace. And if we are going to spend time with these characters for quite some time, we needed a back story. Well done Mr. Bendis and the gang!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #5

Mar 25, 2020

President Brande has a great idea about forming a Legion based on history. The JLA and the Teen Titans seem to be Brande's inspiration and her speech before government leaders seems straight out of Episode 2 or 3 of Star Wars. I appreciate the origin story, but don't want pull too hard on some of the strings. I'm not sure which timeline these Legion members are prepping Superman/Superboy for, and what the heck is going on with Aquaman's Trident?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #6

Jun 9, 2020

The roster grows… well at least it appears to, so how do we continue to keep up? The readers and long time fans need more solid roots for a bit, to kelp us get to know everyone introduced thus far. Newcomers have to get some traction with these heroes, and older fans need to move towards either accepting this new Legion incarnation. or dismissing it, as it's not their Legion of old. Either way, let's take a breath Mr. Bendis, give us some character development, and let us enjoy this Legion. Put a bouncer at the door… the dance floor's overcrowded.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #7

Jul 27, 2020

Bendis' work on the Legion is becoming a bit formula driven. It's a huge task with a LOT of characters to keep new and old readers involved in the Legionnaires, and the storyline. It all seems to be an enormous task for Bendis as of late. Jonathan Kent and Brainiac 5 recently visited Superman. Perhaps it's time for the Legion to find two arenas…. it works for the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #8

Aug 28, 2020

Bendis' work on the Legion is becoming a bit formulaic. It's a huge task with a LOT of characters to keep new and old readers involved in the team, and the storyline. For me the series is dragging, but that's to be expected with so many people involved, and with Bendis wanting to pay tribute to all the Legion members.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #9

Oct 1, 2020

I appreciated all the artistic interpretations, but it's time for this book to become grounded, and get out of the Bendis formula. Over in Three Jokers, Geoff Johns is telling stories with six to seven frames a page. I need more meat on these Legion bones!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion of Super-Heroes (2019) #10

Oct 28, 2020

Not sure about the Legion history and the impending darkness, however, the introduction of a Krypton killer such as Rogol Zaar seems to be Bendis' last ditch effort to make this villain as iconic as Zod or Doomsday. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #244

Jul 25, 2018

If you are looking for a visit back to years gone by, then this is the title you should buy. And if your kids are new to comics, then this is a great introduction to both reading and colorful art!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #245

Sep 27, 2018

Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. Parents who buy comics should invest in the Looney Tunes series for the opportunity to hook their kids into the world of comic books. Looney Tunes is an easy read for kids, but has the dry humor that is appreciated as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #246

Nov 28, 2018

Again, Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. But in this issue, there is plenty of satire for the readers and great commentary on today's society. Right when we need to take a step back and look at things through a different lense, Looney Tunes delivers! This issue is a bit high brow for youngsters, but the art is phenomenal to keep them engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #247

Feb 1, 2019

Again, Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. This issue was light hearted and provides some old standbys for delivering the laughs! And this cover art looks great! Young kids should get this and read with their parents and grandparents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #248

Mar 31, 2019

Again, Great stories, Great art, and always, the lighter side of Saturday morning cartoons that an older generation yearns for. This issue was light hearted and provides some old standbys for delivering the laughs! And this cover art looks great! Young kids should get this and read with their parents and grandparents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #249

May 31, 2019

Always a crowd favorite, the Justice League of Looney Tunes comedy (Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, and Wile E Coyote) are always worth the price of admission. I always love these comics for teaching another generation where their comic roots come from! And Looney Tunes always delivers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #250

Jul 26, 2019

The art work in Foggy at the Bat is worth the price of the comic alone! And the sports issue is a perfect way to introduce team work, attempting a new sport, or cherishing the history of sport gone by. Pick it up as you will be glad you did!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #251

Oct 7, 2019

If ego is the order of the day, then this comic fulfills. Settle in with a bowl of cereal and pretend it's Saturday morning as you read this one! Looney Tunes never fails to please!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #252

Dec 7, 2019

I am very liberal in my four stars here as the Personal Fowlstory is the main emphasis of this issue. If you have not picked up an issue of Looney Tunes in a while, you will not notice the repeat story. But for those that consider the comic an investment in their childhood, it was a let down to not have a different sport story or at least another basketball story in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #253

Jan 22, 2020

Looney Tunes is back on track as there are three separate stories that celebrate vacation and there are no repeats as was the last issue. There is a sincere effort by the comic in celebrating taking some time away from the "rat race". And to make it even better, Bugs Bunny is the focus in two of the three tales. That's Looney Tunes at its finest!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #254

Mar 13, 2020

Looney Tunes is back on track as there are three separate stories that place their main characters in all three stories and provide that dry humor we have all come to enjoy. A bit adversarial on all three stories, but that's the throw back to slap stick humor we all need!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #255

Jul 17, 2020

Looney Tunes is back on track as there are three separate stories that place their main characters in all three stories and provide that dry humor we have all come to enjoy. A bit adversarial on all three stories, but that's the throw back to slap stick humor we all need!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Looney Tunes #256

Sep 28, 2020

Looney Tunes is back on track as there are three separate stories that place their main characters in all three stories and provide that dry humor we have all come to enjoy. A bit adversarial on all three stories, but that's the throw back to slap stick humor we all need!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Naomi #2

Feb 24, 2019

I'm in and you should be too! It's early! Pick up #1 and #2 now. You have the luxury now of getting in on the ground floor of something special!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Naomi #3

Mar 28, 2019

I'm in and you should be too! It's early! Pick up #1, #2 and #3 now. Issue #3 is going to be underestimated as that is the turning point as you get light shed on her adoptive parents. You thought Bendis was going to swerve around the curves, but he literally takes us down a new road! Pick up #3! You will not be sorry!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Naomi #4

Apr 19, 2019

Naomi's slowly finding out her origin, and we are too! It is very hard to write something new and refreshing and to not follow the same formula. But Bendis has a new take that is both exciting and curious. But Campbell's artwork is what is winning everyone over! Jump in while you can in the early issues"Naomi is a keeper!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Naomi #5

May 17, 2019

Rare do you find the perfect pairing of artists and writers! This is that perfect balance. A rich back story accompanied by the best comic eye candy one has seen in quite some time! For those of you with daughters, pick up issues 1-5 now and keep collecting this. Your daughters will thank you one day for letting them in on the ground floor of Naomi!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Naomi #6

Jul 15, 2019

As always with Naomi, you should invest in past issues, and after reading them, hang them on your walls! Campbell's art is magnificent and poster worthy at every turn!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Represent! (2020) #1

Sep 14, 2020

Well Done DC! Thanks for initiating a spark to teach, to listen and to learn. You would be well served to use this resource.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #33

Jan 16, 2019

I'm hooked and I am in. There is enough shreds of the Saturday Morning Gang I have known since I was a kid, and the re-imagining of characters is spot on! Given the strong writing and a bit of fluff provided by Atom Ant “shorts” that have been peppering the comic, there is something for everyone! I just wish Daphne had her old Fred!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #34

Feb 14, 2019

Lots of action in this issue and a great job of catching up the reader to the origin of the Apocalypse. That was needed for any new invested reader. I like how the issues end with an Atom Ant humor story as this is a heavy Scooby story that is not easily resolved as his cartoon counterparts do on Saturday mornings!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #35

Mar 19, 2019

The twist at the end makes me want the next issue immediately. You have to buy into this new version of Scooby. Each week I keep remarking that it is new, but given that I have grown up with Scooby and the Gang as a formula mystery and the old “i would have gotten away with it if not for you kids and your pesky mutt”, I'm still in the honeymoon phase of this reimagination of these characters! Given the strong writing and a bit of fluff provided by Atom Ant “shorts” that have been peppering the comic, there is something for everyone! Again, I just wish Daphne had her old Fred!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #36

Apr 11, 2019

Well done! Really well done! The crew that provided us a 36 issue joy ride should be commended as this took us where Scooby and the Gang had not before. The art work, the reimagination of characters, and a story that is timely in the era of pop culture made for a great run! Here's hoping you buy the last issue, but more importantly, here's hoping there is a trade paperback to amalgamate all issues together for a Saturday afternoon reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #94

Aug 15, 2018

I give the comic four stars as the new format of a cliff hanger ending and an ending where you pick the villain is an awesome twist to an old comic format. Scooby-Doo comics are a great way to teach kids critical thinking skills as well after you see the evidence, and they pick who is the culprit. So if you enjoy the game of Clue, you should pick up this copy of Scooby-Doo! Where Are You?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #95

Oct 18, 2018

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna Barbara simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #96

Dec 22, 2018

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna Barbara simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery! And the countdown is on for issue #100. Let's hope a lot of guest stars are in that one!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #97

Feb 24, 2019

As always, Scooby is a great buy for the nostalgic reader as well as the parent looking to introduce their kids to the Hanna-Barbera simpler times of a good Saturday morning mystery! And the countdown is on for issue #100. Let's hope a lot of guest stars are in that one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #99

Jun 22, 2019

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo, Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #100

Aug 26, 2019

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo, Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #101

Nov 2, 2019

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo, Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #102

Dec 22, 2019

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo, Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #103

Feb 21, 2020

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo, Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #104

Jun 10, 2020

I think it is great that DC is carrying a line for it's junior audiences. Scooby-Doo! Where Are You?, Scooby-Doo Team-Up, Looney Tunes and Teen Titans Go! It's great as a parent to see that kids have a place to go for some fun and some challenging reading and sleuth skills. And the artists make these characters so "traceable" that you can see how these books become the building blocks to a new age of fans, artists, and writers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #105

Aug 26, 2020

Scooby-Doo comics are a great way to teach kids critical thinking skills as well after you see the evidence, and they pick who is the culprit. So if you enjoy the game of Clue, you should pick up this copy of Scooby-Doo! Where Are You?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #106

Oct 26, 2020

Scooby-Doo comics are a great way to teach kids critical thinking skills as well after you see the evidence, and they pick who is the culprit. So if you enjoy the game of Clue, you should pick up this copy of Scooby-Doo! Where Are You?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #303

Dec 22, 2019

Fourteen Spawns"oh the possibilities are endless. It's a world of Spidermen! It's every Superman imaginable! It's getting every costumed action figure you wanted for Christmas! I guess you could say you need to buy this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2018): Villains #1

Mar 4, 2020

Given that I wanted this issue to be over 100 pages long, I still hope there are more editions! Keep 'em coming. I like the sand between the rocks. It works!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 6, 2019

VerdictThe artwork alone is worth the price of admission! The Doomsday shot as well as Superman talking to Wonder Woman while she is defeating a huge creature. It is like they are enjoying a coffee at a local bistro while she is actually embroiled in full on battle and Superman is passively having a conversation knowing the outcome of Diana's efforts! There is a lot of tongue in cheek stuff in this art! I like Tom King's take on Superman and how this story works! If you have not read it already, give it a purchase! You'll be glad you did!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #2

Aug 12, 2019

Again, the artwork alone is worth the price of admission! From the sheer brutal display in the boxing ring to the poignant comforting of the Healer's family"this is a heart wrenching story! Invest in this one as you'll reread it for years to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #3

Sep 12, 2019

Again, the artwork alone is worth the price of admission! All this and Sgt Rock! Wow! Buy this issue as even as a standalone within the story, it is a perfect glimpse into the human side of Superman!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #4

Oct 7, 2019

He's been beat up physically and emotionally. He's been tested to his limits. And now he faces the race to end all races and the struggle within himself. Again, the old story about a kid throwing star fish into the ocean. It makes a difference to that star fish he tells the old man. And this story makes a difference to Alice…and to hope!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #5

Nov 17, 2019

As if more could not happen to the Man of Steel, Tom King runs him through the ringer one last time. Alice awaits her hero. But can he really make it to the finish line to save her? You'd be remiss if you did not read this entire story. It's truly a love letter to Superman!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Up In the Sky #6

Dec 9, 2019

Again, this is Tom King's love letter to Superman. But it is also a testament to all that is good about the world. And what a great homage to Clark's upbringing. In totality, it really is a love letter to Ma and Pa Kent! And that is what makes Superman: Up in the Sky so great!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Knightfall #1

Oct 16, 2019

These Dark Multiverse tales could really be AWESOME! I can't wait for Tempus Fuginaut to make more rounds around the DC Multiverse, as he has to find that one, true hero" the one woman or man who can aid our traditional heroes as they go through the Crisis at hand. However, this is one search that could end up being a long one, but anything that Scott Snyder touches these days is on fire!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

This character. The Batman Who Laughs, had me from the beginning. The artwork of Capullo and Jock and imagination of Scott Snyder is well worth the investment into this series. Plan now to visit all your local comic store to invest in this issue and the five more planned. Move over Joker….. you have just been demoted to second string in the Rogues Gallery!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Again, The Batman Who Laughs is years in the making. What a great imagination from Scott Snyder and Jock is providing the right ways to depict all of these characters. To this reviewer, this is a brand new way to run Batman through another gauntlet. You are not too late to buy the first issue and now the second one as these will be as valuable as when Frank Miller put the Dark into the Dark Knight! Get yours today. All that and a few new drawings of The Batman Who Laughs that are frame worthy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 14, 2019

I cannot say enough about Jock's artwork bringing Scott Snyder's work to life. This is a new injection of life into the myth of Batman. What a ride! This issue means there are only three more to go and that is sad! As a collector or a Batman fan, you have to grab this mini-series. And from seeing other items in celebration of Batman, TBWL and the Grim Knight have already shown that they are going to be around a while in the Batman realm. Grab your copy as soon as possible!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 11, 2019

I cannot say enough about Jock's artwork bringing Scott Snyder's work to life. This is a new injection of life into the myth of Batman. What a ride! This issue means there are only two more to go and that is sad! As a collector or a Batman fan, you have to grab this mini-series. And from seeing other items in celebration of Batman, TBWL and the Grim Knight have already shown that they are going to be around a while in the Batman realm. Grab your copy as soon as possible!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 17, 2019

At this point in the DC time line, I am pretty shook. The last time I felt this obligated to buy any and all comics was when Superman died, and Batman was broken by Bane. DC is well on its way to returning to its number one comic line ranking as they have all the right pieces put together. You would do well to buy all of The Batman Who Laughs issues along with The Grim Knight one shot. You'll be glad you did!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Aug 2, 2019

Run to your nearest comic store and buy every issue and explore the Dark Metal origins of The Batman Who Laughs. This run by Snyder has been epic and has gotten everyone back on board the Batman train (as if we ever left".). And what a cliff hanger... A case of Visine cannot get this red out of the eyes!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 19, 2019

I loved the diversion from the main story and it was definitely needed. We needed to know what the back story was for the Grim Knight. We are left with more questions in what the ultimate plan is for TBWL and how the Grim Knight fits into it as I cannot imagine a world where both of these creatures co-exist. The egos are too big. Jim Gordon turns out to be the real hero in this as his police training and interrogation skills keep peeling back layer after layer in the Grim Knight. This Grim Knight wants to get a second chance at Gordon. A Gordon that Jim doesn't know, but the goodness that is Jim Gordon appears to permeate through all time lines. Hooray for Jim and Hooray for us….this is the best story line for Batman since Bane broke his back!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Infected: King Shazam #1

Nov 17, 2019

I simply don't know how it can get any better. Dark Metal is spreading its influence at a rampant pace among Batman and Superman's reach. Shazam's family is about to find out how bad this stuff really is. And the Year of the Villain marches on!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Infected: The Commissioner #1

Dec 18, 2019

A true vigilante with a badge, this is not your 1966 Commissioner Gordon who only talks on a red phone. I hope the influence of Dark Metal continues to influence the DC Universe. "The Year of the Villain" certainly rewrote some chapters. I can't see where this goes!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Lost Carnival: A Dick Grayson Graphic Novel OGN

May 5, 2020

So whatever blender that Morecci used and whatever his influences are, I appreciated his adding his twists to Dick's history!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Silencer #11

Nov 28, 2018

This confrontation is what the readers have been wanting and next issue should provide the reward. Excellent cliffhanger and more importantly, wonderful artwork! If you haven't checked out the Silencer, now is the time to get on board as worlds are colliding in the Batman universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Silencer #12

Jan 3, 2019

After a dozen issues, it is not too late to add the Silencer to your constant readership. It is an official part of the Batman saga via Talia Al Ghul and the Silencer's skill set seems to be developing more and more! It's a keeper for a new title and turning the corner for the new year should provide more twists and turns…..provided the cliff hanger ending gets resolved!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #13

Feb 1, 2019

The "Baker's Dozen" issue does the trick. It literally is a catch up issue to provide an origin story to the Silencer and how she came to be under Talia Al Ghul's tutoring. And it goes with the current "wiping the slate" clean within some of the Batman storylines (cue Ric Grayson's current storyline in Nightwing. However, the Lazarus Pits are always the perfect "control, alt, delete" within Talia and Ra's' world so they can erase any mistakes and have things their way. With the current state of the Silencer, you have to stay tuned to see how she can escape Talia's clutches and how her husband and son will fare. And you have to keep seeing how Talia is drawn as she is once again illustrated beautifully!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #14

Mar 8, 2019

I loved the family twist in the midst of all this chaos. I never saw it coming, but maybe I was too into the story line to see the clues. However, I am now wanting a bit more of a pace as I want to see an all out League of Shadows versus Leviathan war for all the marbles. And of course"you have to do that in Gotham. But wishful thinking aside, we have another great add on in the Batman world via Talia al Ghul and her shenanigans. Keep with this comic as this is a tale of two sisters you don't want to miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #15

Mar 30, 2019

No wonder Talia wants everyone gone! Geesh " these new sisters are something to behold. Cue the Brady Bunch Theme and an utterance of "Marcia, Marcia, Marcia"! I think we have not heard the last of these three sisters! And who are these people talking to Blake".warning him to back off! Batman is going to have to come into this at some point to figure it all out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silencer #16

Apr 25, 2019

These three sisters are awesome! In a world that could only have one Talia, we now get Honor and Smoke! Can it get any better? I sure hope so! Mom's Home and she's expecting guests! It's going to be quite a family reunion!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Silencer #17

May 31, 2019

As sad as I am with the demise of Smoke, I am elated that this is a turning point for Honor/Silencer. However, the Leviathan is coming and she could play a big part in either its defeat or reign. But for now, let's enjoy her reunion with Blake and Ben.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Silencer #18

Jun 28, 2019

An 18 issue run is not bad, and any collector that wants to get in on this comic should gobble up this issue as well as issues 1-17. Silencer needs to return, and it is always great to see when and where a new character is introduced. Here's hoping DC keeps trying to expand its universe! The New Age fell victim on a lot of fronts to reader apathy and sales, but Silencer is a keeper who deserves a sequel. Until then".. reread your issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Triage #3

Nov 17, 2019

Levy paints wonderful female portraits and his pencils are strong. He's immediately thrown these women into an emotional crock pot. However, he is not cheap with this trick. While it is very hard to have an original idea and it appears some of his methods are borrowed a bit in this issue, it will be interesting to see how he sews this event up. And if these women can either co-exist in the same dimension given the events in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #1

Sep 5, 2018

If you like a good origin story that is going to have a lot of layers, then this may be the journey for you. Bendis' work is proven over time, and this should be a fun ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #2

Oct 3, 2018

Bendis' prior work entitles a reader to stay with this title as he is laying the ground work for an “on the run” story like no other. You would do well to pick up the first issue and start collecting this title!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #3

Nov 7, 2018

Too much family and not enough Rose. However, to really develop a character and the background, one needs issues like these to fill in the blanks! A reader still has time to pick up the early issues. This is a great ride that Bendis is taking us on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #4

Dec 5, 2018

Best issue thus far for Bendis, but I didn't like Rose taking a bullet. Let's hope this is a minor setback, but we now know, this is a very adult read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #5

Jan 11, 2019

I loved the new insight into Valentine's plight. But hated that there was no Jagger Rose. She was hurt in issue #4, so I hope she is still around. But time will tell, and I'm hooked. Once again, this series is still in its infancy to pick up back issues at a bargain as Bendis's work will command top dollar by collectors, especially with a story this good! Do yourself a favor, and read (or re-read) Issues #1 – #4 to gain perspective and appreciate the new America that Bendis is painting!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
United States vs. Murder Inc. #6

Feb 7, 2019

This series is in its infancy and there is still time to get caught up and get on the Murder Inc train! In this world of "binge watching", a new reader seriously needs to check out this series as it is dark and gritty! Cheers to Bendis for creating an alternate universe for these characters to play in!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #1

Jul 19, 2019

VerdictAmanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti weave a great tale of Wonder Woman and her love for Steve Trevor. It'll be interesting to see how this unfolds if you have not read the Walmart Giant issues. Given the span of dimensions this character has gone through in DC with JLA Dark, the JLA, and the events that are upcoming in Leviathan, this story gets us back to her core.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #2

Aug 26, 2019

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti weave a great tale of Wonder Woman and her love for Steve Trevor. Wonder Woman continues to go through an interesting evolvement. However, if Connor and Palmiotti give her heat vision. I'm out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #3

Oct 6, 2019

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti are painting an interesting love story set in the Bermuda Triangle. It's not a Harlequin Romance novel, but it's as close as we can come between these two" nice beach, huge bugs impaling people, a loose super villain, and an alien brigade who has orders to kill upon sight. Ain't love grand?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #4

Oct 27, 2019

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti are painting an interesting mystery now with this issues contribution to the story line. If you have been reading all along, it is too late to turn back, and you should be all in! Here's hoping we find out in the next issue where all of this is headed and any ramifications in the rest of Wonder Woman's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #5

Dec 9, 2019

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti take us right to the edge and pull the curtain aside so we can see what has really transpired- amusement for a spoiled princess. I'm looking forward to seeing how Wonder Woman treats the Princess now that they are in a "real life" and not in a virtual video game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #6

Dec 9, 2019

This ending of this issue faded! I like seeing a strong Amazon and I am not sure I got out of this issue what was intended. However, once you begin a journey with the Princess, you are all in! I now enjoy Wonder Woman with the JLA and JLA Dark. That's the side I enjoy now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 9, 2019

No need for Luthor to give the a clown z Prince Of Crime a gift, in The Joker: Year of the Villain. John Carpenter gives the gift to everyone reading! What a horror writer! I hope that DC provides him more opportunities to play in DC's Rogues playground!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 17, 2019

Mark Russell provides even the most seasoned Batman fan with a story that really examines what it's like to be a villain. Are they truly evil, or people that are a bit misguided, or have lost their way? At any rate, it'll be interesting to see what the future holds for Edward Nigma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: Hell Arisen #3

Feb 27, 2020

Lex and the Joker " Just seeing two iconic villains teaming up"albeit, can those egos ever really work together".is worth the price on this one! And you get another glimpse at Punchline"can't wait until Harley sees her! This might be one of those obscure issues you wished you had invested in!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: Hell Arisen #4

Mar 31, 2020

If this is missing from your shelf, as you are collecting anything dealing with Dark Metal and The Batman Who Laughs, you will regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

September

More