B. Radtz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 29
9.0Avg. Review Rating

9.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #68

Jun 9, 2021

Were quickly approaching the Sinister War, and Spencer and the gang are chugging along. This issue is full of subplots featuring new faces, old faces, and possibly cloned faces? Spencer brings lot of energy with this book, and theres loads of potential for greatness. Hopefully the pay off will be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Avengers (2018) #43

Mar 3, 2021

This issue was filler, and doesnt move the story more than a few beats forward, but the art (and my OCD) has me firmly committed to this title. If I had to say anything its Jason Aaron really needs to stay away from the Phoenix. He doesnt seem to understand what it is on a fundamental level, and is using it to give the story some cosmic gravitas thats just missing the mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Cat (2020) #6

May 12, 2021

High stakes, impressive feats of character for the Black Cat, and a double crossing by a Val Kilmer Black Fox that will have you asking whats next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Cat (2020) #7

Jun 2, 2021

The work Jed has put out on this book between Cat and the Fox really blooms to fruition in this issue. Theres a connection that is something Felicia needed in order to step out of the shadows and become more of her own character. Light on the fisticuffs, but heavy on the feels.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Widow (2020) #7

May 27, 2021

Black Widow by Thompson and Casagrande looks to be a book with absolutely amazing art, and a story where we can be treated to a deep introspection for the characters involved. Hopefully this run takes off with fans, because itd be a real shame to lose it just after finding its feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Cable (2020) #9

Mar 25, 2021

Gerry Duggan and Phil Noto continue the journey of Baby Cable, or Bable (as Ive grown accustomed to calling him), and his Stryfe, and the missing mutant babies...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Captain Marvel (2019) #26

Mar 4, 2021

Carol fights like she always fights, yet sacrifices her own happiness with hopes for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Captain Marvel (2019) #27

Mar 17, 2021

A fun, introspective issue that Kelly really excels at when shes done with a big storyline. Mixed with beautiful pages by David Lopez, and youve got a gorgeous piece of art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Captain Marvel (2019) #28

Apr 22, 2021

Kelly continues to kill it with Carol, and her world. Fun and funny moments with some talking snakes, and a veritable whos who of the magic community telling Carol byeeeeeeeee.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Catwoman (2018) #29

Mar 16, 2021

Phenomenal storytelling, captivating art, and colors this book scratches the itch that only a few other current books (Zdarskys Daredevil) hold a candle to it. This should be on everyones pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #30

Apr 22, 2021

Ram and Blanco turn up the heat on the beginning of their run, forcing Selina to entrench herself into a new status quo thats sure to shake up Sels role in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #31

May 18, 2021

Selinas troubles seem to just be getting started, as we see a new clandestine mastermind with his own vision of what Gotham should beespecially on the part Catwoman and her allies call home. Ram V and Fernando Blanco serve us with another chapter in the ongoing saga of Catwoman, Alleytown, and saving Ivy from the horrors shes had to endure. Its packed full of story, and continues to deliver every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Detective Comics (2016) #1035

Apr 27, 2021

A promising start, with great art, and some much welcomed gravitas to the Huntress, this is a run that should be ping on your radar. Hopefully the team will be able to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Eternals (2021) #3

Mar 10, 2021

This issue was brought to you by the word: lush. From the art to the prose, youre in for a lush ride into a whole new world next door.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Eternals (2021) #4

Apr 22, 2021

This book, while very decompressed and slow, is a beautiful comic dedicated to introducing some very obscure, yet rich with potential characters to the general buying public. Id suggest waiting for the first trade if you arent already familiar with these characters, but I wouldnt deprive myself of breathing in Gillens exquisite monthly tale, either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marvels Snapshot (2020): Captain Marvel #1

Feb 24, 2021

A comic full of emotional punches more than fisticuffs, it gives the reader a chance to peer into the lives of the superheroes through the eyes of a bystander that idolizes them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Non-Stop Spider-Man (2021) #3

Jun 2, 2021

We get one of the most action packed comics on the stands, where we have Spider-Man and Norah Winters are trying to figure out who's killing these kids with this intelligence enhancing super drug, while on the run from a pair of luchadors. Its loads of fun, and high octane, but a little light on plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Robin (2021) #1

Apr 27, 2021

The book is pedal to the metal almost from the jump, and the art and colors are kinetic, but it was the tender moments with Batman and the Bat family, and a brief interlude thats just a figment of the grandson of the demons (told you) imagination that were the biggest winners for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Robin (2021) #2

May 25, 2021

Lots of bang for your buck, cute characters, Rose, and some much needed fun development for Flatline, a character I rolled my eyes so hard, I almost fell over last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Shadecraft #1

Mar 31, 2021

This book is an engaging teen drama with a mix of supernatural forces, with beautiful art, and a relatable protagonist thatll keep me around for at least the first arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shang-Chi (2021) #1

May 19, 2021

There are few series that I think are flawless from the jump, but this is one. I believe in this first issue so much Ive ordered multiple copies that I plan on passing around at work. If the rest of this storyline is this good, Marvels got a stone groove winner on their hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Silk (2021) #1

Mar 31, 2021

A book with a lot of potential, and beautiful art, and I love all of the Asian representation here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Woman (2020) #10

Mar 18, 2021

A fun, fast, and witty book, thats pleasing to the eye. The characters are a treat to read as well. Plus a gorgeous variant by Jen Bartel makes this a book to keep an eye out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Spider-Woman (2020) #11

Apr 20, 2021

The book is fun, and fast, with lots of action and beautiful art, but this aint your Dennis Hopeless Spider-Woman, as Jessica is here to rock out with her smock out. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys strong female lead books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Superman (2018) #31

May 11, 2021

Superman and Superman Jr. are racing to save the Thakkramites from the Shadowbreed, but are they too late? AlsoJon learns a new trick with one of his abilities! Pick it up to find out which one!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Girl (2021) #1

May 18, 2021

Jones and Bellaire have a promising start for this up and coming Amazon. The art is beautiful, and Jones went all out for Yara. Time will tell if they have there wherewithal to capitalize on the potential. I have high hopes they can.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #771

Apr 15, 2021

The new status quo has just begun, but we're already treated to a story that has Wonder Woman hero shaming Thor, meets a giant snake, an eagle, murk elves, with a demi-goddess omelet, and that's just in the main story, while we continue Diana's history lesson of the Amazons of Themyscira in this cute 10 page backup.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Wonder Woman (2016) #772

May 11, 2021

Adventure in Valhalla, and one step closer to finding out who she is, and where she truly belongs! Oh, and making a giant snake have a gnarly case of acid reflux that you just cant miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Woman (2016) #773

Jun 8, 2021

Diana remembers who she is, and lets the Asgardian pantheon know it in the final chapter of her adventures in Valhalla amongst the fallen soldiers. The cover is misleading, and the payoff to who was manipulating all of these events was rather uneven with the rest of the book, but I hope we get bigger things in the coming months from both the team, and characters involved in the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More