Tony Thornley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 27
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #5

Aug 15, 2016

Roberts still continues to sell me on his continuation of the adventures of Archer and Armstrong. Valiant is just knocking it out of the park lately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #965

Nov 2, 2016

After a bumpy couple of issues, Jurgens jumps the story forward tremendously in this issue, while tying the entire Superman line together. Its a great issue, and like I said for the last issue of Action, Im looking forward to whats next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 19, 2017

Overall, this is the complete package. Snyder and team have bumped this issue up to another level entirely. A must-buy issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Animosity: The Rise #1

Feb 1, 2017

It sounds like The Rise is going to be a semi-regular companion to Animosity, so I definitely welcome learning more about this new world, alongside the main series. If it can built connections like its companion, and make us care about its character, Bennett has a home run on her hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #21

May 5, 2017

Pick this issue up. It's not just an important bit of world building, it's GOOD. It doesn't feel disposable like other crossovers sometimes do. It's thrilling and fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

As a full package, this is the weirdest must-read story that DC Comics has published in years. But the important part of that sentence is MUST READ. Seriously, go check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Cloud #1

May 4, 2017

With a little more character world, this is going to be a strong and incredibly fun series. You need to get in on the ground floor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Blood Blister #1

Feb 9, 2017

This is a great start to a horrifying story that I cant wait for more of!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Aug 4, 2017

In all, this is a damn near perfect package. Buy it when its out on 9/20. Between this and XO Manowar, Valiant is putting out some of the best books on the market right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 13, 2017

Greg Capullo and Jonathan Glapion turn in the work of their careers. Ive said a few times that I hope this entire creative team ends up on Justice League, and this issue is proof of concept for that. There is nothing Capullo cant capture here, from small moments with Zatanna and Constantine, the big chase with the League and the false Batmen, and the issue-ending two page spread debuting the Dark Knights. All of it is intense, engaging, and spot on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 26, 2017

As far as setting up Batwoman, this issue thrills me for what Tynion and Bennett have in store. As an ongoing part of the Detective Comics story, it mostly succeeds. A must buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Eclipse #1

Sep 27, 2016

Eclipse #1 is a good start to a mini series with an interesting concept. Im onboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #3

Aug 15, 2016

I wont fault Humphries or the art team for what happened here, but the issue does get significantly lower marks than if theyd simply had a single fill in penciller to help Rocha get ahead. Its an issue worth reading if you want to keep up with the story, but its a jarring experience at several points in the issue. Hopefully things are back on track next issue, and we get a more cohesive reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #11

Dec 22, 2016

Again, I really enjoyed this issue. I definitely think its still the Lantern book to beat, and gives us some of our best superheroes out there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #1

Nov 2, 2016

I was incredibly excited to hear about this miniseries when it was announced, and it lives up to the concept. If youre a fan, pick this issue up. Your inner child will thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Loose Ends (2017) #1

Jan 30, 2017

If you picked up the original series, do yourself a favor and re-buy this re-issue and refresh your memory. If you didnt, but are a fan of Latours other work, buy this series. Its a southern noir masterpiece that you will not be able to put down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Marvel Legacy #1

Sep 28, 2017

In all, if you're a Marvel fan, this book should excite you, despite its flaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reborn #2

Dec 7, 2016

It was the biggest release of the month last month, and really its a killer second issue, which is exactly what it needed. I would highly recommend this issue, and look forward to the rest of the series!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rough Riders: Riders on the Storm #1

Feb 23, 2017

Steampunk fans will love this series, but really anyone interested in Houdini, Roosevelt, et al, would enjoy it too. The story feels like a lost chapter in their history, not something made up by a Hollywood writer. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Runaways (2017) #1

Sep 18, 2017

While not totally perfect, its close, and it sets my expectations incredibly high for the future of the series. If youre a long-time fan, pick it up. If not, give it a try, and go get some collections to catch yourself up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #2

Jun 1, 2017

This is a tie-in done right. I haven't read the core Secret Empire at all yet, but I jumped right in with this story and loved it. It doesn't feel like a big "you have to read these other ten issues to get it" tie in. It's a self-contained and fun story, and really establishes this book's mission statement. Absolutely a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #2

Jul 22, 2016

In three issues, Id definitely call Superman the most improved Rebirth title from the one-shot, and a worthy addition to the mythos. I cant wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

Superman Reborn is going to be a game-changer for the Man of Steel, and really its just scratching the surface. However, if it continues this momentum, itll be a Superman epic for the ages. I cant wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fix #5

Sep 27, 2016

Its the best reviewed series of the year for good reason. In fact, I almost feel bad heaping more praise on it (and Steve, Nick, if youre reading this, you can use that on the cover of volume 2). Go read it. But its mature readers only, so dont give it to your kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 4, 2017

Marvel is kicking off the year strong with this issue. This is the kind of weird super-science that I LOVE, and Nadia is the perfect character to follow into the thick of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 14, 2017

All together, this book feels like a grindhouse movie with a massive budget, while also doing some great things that really have fun with the comics format. It's a great book that needs to be picked up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

In the end, this is the best sort of relaunch, and a great way for Valiant to start the year. I cant wait for more. This is a book you want to be on the ground floor.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More