Spencer Perry's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBook.com, Super Hero Hype Reviews: 116
7.5Avg. Review Rating

6
2020 iWolverine #1

Jul 16, 2020

The usually reliable Roland Boschi delivers the pencils here, and his heart is clearly in the designs for Albert himself as the work done in the robo-Wolverine are the real highlight. Everything else though feels largely forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
2020 Machine Man #1

Feb 19, 2020

The advantage of Machine Man's tie-in to the Iron Man 2020 event is how seamlessly it brings the reader up to speed with just what the heck it all actually means.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
2020 Machine Man #2

Mar 18, 2020

Perhaps if I was 9 with a belly full of cereal I'd be gripped by this, but as it stands now it lacks much appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New X-Men #1

Nov 14, 2012

Bendis knows a thing or two about these characters and he is really at his best writing their interactions over combat sequences. This comic squeezes a lot of stuff into one issue and does the opposite you'd think by spending more time on plot points we've seen before and glossing over the new story threads, which might make your head spin. I'm sure by the end of this arc we'll have a fantastic story inside All New X-Men, but as far as the first issue goes it leaves some elements to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Archie Meets: The B-52s #1

Feb 19, 2020

Overall though there's not much going on that makes this nearly as interesting a crossover as Archie's darker corners, and in the end it just feels fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2012) #1

Dec 5, 2012

Hickman is starting off his run on Avengers strong. While he takes a less is more apporach in the writing and a bigger is better in terms of the cast, they both have their advantages and work in favor of each other. Opea's art is the main selling point though, because it is without question the best artwork from Marvel NOW! If you want to get into the Avengers, you need look no further than this and it helps that it's a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 12, 2012

The first issue of Avengers Arena is solid. If you think that you won't be able to read it due to your sworn allegiance to The Hunger Games or Battle Royale you should take a deep breath, put that aside, and pick it up anyway, it's a great read. Hopeless juggles a wide cast of characters with ease and Walker's art has us eager for the rest of the series because he draws the brutality beautifully. Marvel has a golden opportunity here to tell a great story and show that they're capable of killing of characters and not bringing them back magically. Let's pray they don't mess that up. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Avengers of the Wastelands #1

Jan 29, 2020

I think the tank might be empty on this one but its climactic surprise might spark it back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers of the Wastelands #2

Feb 26, 2020

Artist Jonas Scharf is at his best when drawing the grotesque and monstrous, luckily he gets a chance to do that here more than once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers of the Wastelands #3

Mar 11, 2020

Avengers of the Wasteland isn't an "Old Man" comic so it's not playing by that type of story, instead it's working on building a legacy of hope in this hopeless world, but I don't think it's working.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and Robin (2011) #1

Jul 18, 2012

This is more then just a superhero comic. This is a tale of a father and son at odds with each other, an age old premise that's been done a million times over but not with this kind of spark. Batman and Robin are one of the most iconic pairs that have ever existed in American culture and while this story respects that, it takes them, simply put, beyond it. We've seen Bruce acting in a parental role for the previous Robins before yes, but here his real parenting skills are put to the test. If you've had your appetite whet by Scott Snyder's Batman comic and need more, buy this. I couldn't put this down when I was reading it and it made me very upset that I hadn't been picking up the issues of it from the start of the reboot. Batman and Robin rules the night.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman/Superman (2019) #6

Jan 22, 2020

It's bound to happen when you're telling a story that has begun across other titles, but Batman/Superman #6 is the perfect example of a filler issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Death By Design #1

Jun 15, 2012

While the comic is sometimes wordy and the first few pages of set up seem to drag Batman: Death By Design is a really good read. It has all the components that many would consider vital to a good Batman tale and its art is top notch. I'm hoping in a year or two we can get a good follow up to this. I like seeing 40s Batman with modern influence.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Before Watchmen: Comedian #1

Jun 20, 2012

Trying to make a character piece out of someone as flat as The Comedian was a difficult task for Brian Azzarello, but he tried and he doesn't totally fail. While the concept is a good idea for a book, it just seems to lack the spark of greatness that we've come to expect from Azzarello's work. It's not a total loss since it's the first issue and maybe it will serve better as a completed miniseries, but I'm expecting something more from the rest of the issues and I hope I'm not wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan #1

Aug 23, 2012

Now, if you're like me and hate these ridiculous call back references to the original story planted within the 'prequel' story then this book will more annoy you than entertain you, and if for some reason you don't know how Dr. Manhattan operates in Watchmen then this is a good introduction but there's nothing of substance here that you haven't read already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Before Watchmen: Minutemen #1

Jun 6, 2012

If Before Watchmen: Minutemen is representative of the quality of work that we will be getting from the rest of the series, then consider me signed up. If not, then at least we'll be getting a quality Minutemen comic. Do you consider yourself a fan of Watchmen? Ever wonder what life was like for the original heroes? This is the series for you and not just because you like the original or the characters, because it's a good comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #1

Jun 27, 2012

If you like Nite Owl, I'm sure you'll like this comic, but I was rather disappointed with it all. It seems rather rushed with little time put into careful plotting and creation. I realize the story has to be set up in order to tell what will happen in the rest of the mini-series and I hope this one gets better, but for now it's a real swing and a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Before Watchmen: Ozymandias #1

Jul 5, 2012

Before Watchmen: Ozymandias was a great read. I'm excited to see where this one goes and I really hope it doesn't start spreading into territory that made Comedian and Nite Owl boring and uninteresting. As long as Wein keeps up the cool, collected attitude of Veidt and Lee keeps crushing the art, it should be a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1

Aug 15, 2012

Before Watchmen: Rorschach is one of the best first issues of the entire run, and with next week's Dr. Manhattan series being the last to debut, it will be a while before you read anything on SuperHeroHype about the prequel series, but rest assured we've got more to say. While you wait though, go read this Rorschach book, it's damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jun 13, 2012

Though I won't spoil the ending for Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre for you, I will say that I have a fear that it will be a predictable series in the long run, but I do hope I'm wrong. I'm also afraid that even though next week's issue Before Watchmen: Comedian is written by Brian Azzarello that I've been spoiled by the goodness of Darwyn Cooke and Amanda Conner. The product so far doesn't rival Moore and Gibbons' original, but it's a very valuable companion piece and absolutely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Big Girls #1

Aug 12, 2020

With Big Girls #1 Howard has made a point to deliver a world that feels fresh while also flipping the script on comic characteristics, and making sure to paint an explicitly political stance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cable and X-Force #1

Dec 12, 2012

Cable and X-Force is a unique comic because it has the heroes becoming the 'bad guys.' New readers shouldn't worry about not being able to understand it, because it's fitted perfectly for newcomers though they may not fully appreciate the characters if they don't know their histories. Hopeless has a great team in this series in both the characters and his artist. This comic is interesting because it doesn't sound or look like anything else Marvel is doing. If you're looking for comics with superheroes that don't exactly feel like superhero comics you can do better, but there's a charm this one has that you won't find anywhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain America (2012) #1

Nov 26, 2012

Where this comic gets it right is in the character himself. The action scenes look fun, but they don't hold a candle to the rest of the comic. Captain America #1 does what the best of the Marvel NOW! comics are doing, it's trying to tell it's own story without worrying about tying into every other series or appealing to the casual fan with cameos.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Agnes #1

Feb 5, 2020

There's no hook into the larger scheme of Dark Agnes, and perhaps a purely standalone title will be a draw to some, but so far it feels like a half-baked idea that is looking for purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Agnes #2

Mar 4, 2020

There's fun to be had in this new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Cybernetic Summer (2020) #1

Jul 29, 2020

A ten part experiment on being silly, DC Cybernetic Summers a series of stories that are seemingly out of canon and thus more equipped to be ludicrous and frontloaded. Though these antics works for some of the tales, others fail to inspire.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool (2012) #1

Nov 7, 2012

Now since I'm not the best scholar for Deadpool in the world, I could be in a minority here, but I think this is the best way to take the character and reintroduce him to the world. Many will lament at the changes to the character, whose inner monologues are notably absent here, but why say in three speech bubbles what you can say in one? This was definitely added to my pull sheet today, I drank the kool-aid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1023

Jul 8, 2020

Peter J. Tomasi continues to do stellar work in Gotham City, delivering a tense and harrowing tale that could easily have been set-up fodder for the upcoming "Joker War" crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1024

Jul 22, 2020

If Detective Comics #1023 was the enticing set-up for a larger narrative, Detective #1024 is where they realized they'd used up most of their story already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dying Is Easy #1

Dec 11, 2019

Master storyteller Joe Hill lays a unique groundwork here, setting the stage for his cop-turned-comedian story with a slew of off-putting jokes that frame his lead character in a proper fashion for this neo-noir.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #2

Jan 8, 2020

Simmonds once again elevates a decent story idea to new heights with his scratchy art, giving the world a unique edge and palette that makes it shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #3

Feb 26, 2020

Dying is Easy is finally at a place where it's fun to look at and to follow, and if it can maintain a consistency like this it will be a fun series for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #4

Mar 25, 2020

Joe Hill's neo-noir mystery continues to ride high in the latest issue but is at its best in terms of its narrative when it's focusing strictly on the characters at play and their interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #5

Jun 17, 2020

Joe Hill and Martin Simmonds modern riff on Sherlock Holmes comes to a satisfying conclusion, sticking the landing on a series that had a shaky start with its first couple of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (2012) #1

Nov 14, 2012

What Fraction has crafted here really feels like a family though. Even if this comic is connected to the upcoming FF relaunch, it doesn't feel like half of a story. Big fans of the series will really enjoy this, but newcomers might leave a little more to be desired. Don't expect anything from this that the Fantastic Four has never been, because it's not a drastic change to anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fantastic Four: Negative Zone #1

Nov 27, 2019

Mike Carey crafts a Fantastic Four tale that feels entirely new and also so classically ingrained in the characters that you'll wonder when it was first published.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
FF (2012) #1

Nov 29, 2012

I was really surprised by this book. I'll admit that I wasn't all that excited for it in the beginning and I'm all turned around. FF is one of the most interesting and well-written comics to come out of Marvel NOW! and you should be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #1

Mar 28, 2013

Guardians of the Galaxy #1 offers a great jumping on point for interested fans and its ensemble cast of characters, with one of the best writers in the business putting words in their mouths, will keep you grinning from ear to ear while reading it. It's gorgeous, well plotted, captivating, and one of the best comics I've read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gwen Stacy (2020) #1

Feb 12, 2020

I was as ready as anyone to ponder the easy cash grab of a non-super powered Gwen Stacy solo series, but it quickly won me over. There's no cynicism here; it's all sincerity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gwen Stacy (2020) #2

Mar 11, 2020

Gwen Stacy remains as compelling and interesting as ever as well, with fun beats for obscure and fan-favorite Spider-Man villains as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Heart Attack #1

Nov 20, 2019

The storytelling density is a hindrance at times (a major motif of the world is relegated to the back when it should probably have started the story), but by the end a fun world has been established with an interesting hook.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Indestructible Hulk #1

Nov 26, 2012

Indestructible Hulk is a good debut issue. It may not have all the elements that fans want from the start, but it's building towards a run that I think will leave a lasting impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Joker: Killer Smile: The Smile Killer #1

Jun 24, 2020

Batman: The Smile Killer follows suit, picking up the reins where that series ended in a fashion, but this issue is able to capitalize on the ideas of its predecessor in a more interesting fashion to greater effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Journey Into Mystery (2011) #646

Nov 26, 2012

Journey Into Mystery is the kind of thing Marvel wanted with their 'Point One' campaign many years ago, an accessible story in an already established series that can draw in new readers. This is the kind of comic that stands out from the rest of their comics both because of it's content and it's female protagonist. This could quickly become one of my favorite comics Marvel is currently making.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League of America (2013) #1

Feb 20, 2013

Justice League of America has quickly jumped to the top of my read pile every week. Johns' signature writing style will keep it interesting for as long as he remains on it and he's setting up enough potential stories for the future that the well won't be going dry anytime soon. Plus, he's at his best when he's writing ensembles of characters and the cast here doesn't get as much love as they should.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League Of America's Vibe #1

Feb 20, 2013

Vibe #1 isn't a mess like some debuts have been lately, but it's not that close to being a comic I would get excited for every month. The artwork is fine for what it is, but the story is boring and forced at times. It plants a lot of seeds for an awesome future, but I have my doubts I'll be sticking around to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Katana #1

Feb 14, 2013

Katana #1 is as good an introduction to the character as you're going to get. Those unfamiliar with her that have interest, or are simply looking to mix up their pull list, should really consider checking it out. There aren't a lot of comics out there that prominently feature ninjas and Katana is changing that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kill Whitey Donovan #1

Dec 4, 2019

Sydney Duncan has plotted a thoroughly pulpy western with this new series, featuring all the hallmarks of a gritty southern-set shoot em up though some might be a hair cliched.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kill Whitey Donovan #2

Jan 8, 2020

The strength in Kill Whitey Donovan's narrative is how it's able to subvert the lifestyles and traits of Civil War era America, specifically the losing side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kill Whitey Donovan #3

Feb 5, 2020

This is the best issue yet and I think it can stick the landing after a shaky take off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kill Whitey Donovan #4

Mar 4, 2020

Overall, it's a solid series with a gripping story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kill Whitey Donovan #5

May 20, 2020

Barahona's colors remain a high point for me, giving the story its signature look in what can best be described as Blade Runner 2049 by way of True Grit

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marvel 2099 (2019): Venom #1

Dec 4, 2019

Overall it's a fine piece, but nothing about it screams 2099 like one would expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel's Avengers (2019): Black Widow #1

Mar 25, 2020

Marvel fans with a broad knowledge of the Marvel Universe won't find many surprises here but it's as decent enough of an elseworlds set-up that feels familiar for long time readers and manages to remain engaging for newcomers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel's Voices #1

Feb 19, 2020

Adapted from the acclaimed podcast series, Marvel's Voices does what any good anthology comic would do, tell unique and interesting stories in quick and fun ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Metalshark Bro: Vol. 2 #1

Aug 5, 2020

Artist Walter Ostlie does great work with the sequences that keep the action still, but moments of swift movement and combat don't really work and are difficult to navigate. In the end it's a fun read but sometimes stale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #13

Dec 11, 2019

Saladin Ahmed maintains a clear understanding of what makes for fun Spider-Man stories, specifically Miles stories, crafting a narrative here that is a fun version of The Warriors with the webhead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #14

Jan 1, 2020

It's not reinventing the wheel, but it's a satisfying tale that works. The overall hang ups stem from the inconsistency in the art, with Ray-Anthony Height, Z Carlos, and Beln Ortega splitting duties with varying degrees of success.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #15

Feb 5, 2020

Always accessible, always relatable, always in peril.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #16

Mar 4, 2020

Saladin Ahmed continues to hit home runs with his take on Miles Morales: Spider-Man and the latest issue is nothing short of genius understanding of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #17

Jun 10, 2020

The balance between Miles' personal life and the civil/superheroics of being Spider-Man is done to perfection by the writer but artist Carmen Carnero helps with the heavy lifting in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mister Terrific #1

Jun 29, 2012

Mister Terrific is a lot better than I expected. It has a great story, good writing, manages to tackle social issues in a way only comics can, and a surprising set of interesting and diverse villains. The art though isn't the greatest, some issues are better than others, and if the inconsistency in the drawings doesn't upset you then the fact that there's not ever going to be a Volume 2 might.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Morbius: The Living Vampire #1

Jan 2, 2013

I was pumped for Morbius, and while it's an interesting start, overall I was let down by it. It's not that I got so worked up about the comic that it didn't meet my expectations, it's just kind of boring. Some of the things in the comic are a lot of fun, but the plot threads and retreads inside it just didn't do it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 2, 2013

New Avengers is a wicked cool comic. It's got a really solid story, a fantastic cast, and some of the best art we've seen from the Marvel NOW! relaunch. The only fault in it is the selected style of storytelling which no longer feels like a unique perspective to start a 'Super team' story. In short, it's a great addition to the rest of the titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2013) #1

Feb 20, 2013

If you're looking for something to start reading that is a character you haven't seen in a movie and has a different feel to it compared to the other hero comics, then Nova is a good start. Loeb's grasp of the characters are the best part of his writing, while the plot feels like a street covered in fog. The artwork by Ed McGuinness is pretty jaw dropping at times but often feels cluttered and out of place. If you've been following this new character since he first appeared in Marvel's comics, this debut issue might bring up a lot of unanswered questions as it did for me, but it gives you plenty of reasons to come back, especially with the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rai (2019) #1

Nov 20, 2019

Colors by Andrew Dalhouse make it all pop in a way that feels unique from other Valiant titles, and elevates the minutiae of Ryp's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai (2019) #2

Dec 11, 2019

Imagine a road trip where every stop is an episode of Black Mirror and you've got this new version of Rai, a new classic in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai (2019) #3

Jan 15, 2020

The same way that Dan Abnett and Juan Jose Ryp's series does not beat around the bush, I won't do it either. I love this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai (2019) #4

Feb 12, 2020

Ryp once again knocks it out of the park, making the extensive expository moments feel just as full of life as the action bits.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai (2019) #5

Mar 11, 2020

If you're in the market for a new obsession with little continuity baggage and a guaranteed good time, Rai will knock your socks off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Sabretooth #1

Jan 15, 2020

Taking a page from Immortal Hulk and the spooky Archie books, writer Frank Tieri and artists Angel Unzueta and Guillermo Sanna have crafted a unique and necessary story for Marvel comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Savage Wolverine #1

Jan 16, 2013

Savage Wolverine is one of the most uniquely written comics to come out of Marvel in a while. Its story is entertaining on many levels and it has artwork that is gorgeous and nearly perfect. A few story issues and art discrepancies hold this back from being a perfect debut, but it's a solid start for what could be a great run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Avengers (2013) #1

Feb 14, 2013

It's quite obvious from the cover art, the title design, and the team's roster that this comic is catering toward the film audience, but that doesn't mean it's trying to pander to an unfamiliar crowd. Secret Avengers is a wild ride that will keep you guessing from start to finish. Spencer has a clear grasp on his team and how they react to almost anything, and it sticks out from everything else Marvel is doing because it's no generic superhero comic. If you like your Marvel characters well written and drawn with a piping cup of espionage thriller, this is the comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shazam! (2018) #8

Nov 27, 2019

There's enough interesting ideas in the story to carry it, and for the most part the art looks fine, but fleeting moments of stiff character work stick out like sore thumbs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shazam! (2018) #9

Dec 18, 2019

Johns' run with Earth's Mightiest Mortal is starting to hit a standstill.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shazam! (2018) #10

Jan 22, 2020

In truth there is nothing else like Shazam! on the shelves at your local comic shop. Though it has the capes and heroics of all the others, the latest issue continues to push the title into perhaps the most unique territory of any DC title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shazam! (2018) #11

Feb 26, 2020

Artist Scott Kolins does a killer job with the Monster Society, which all have a unique pastiche to them that gives them an edge over just reading about the Shazam family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #303

Dec 4, 2019

Jason Shawn Alexander's art remains the primary selling point for the book and he's able to stretch his legs into exciting and peculiar territory here. There's also a killer cover by Francesco Mattina!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spawn #304

Jan 15, 2020

The wheels spin on the actual narrative in this issue as McFarlane gets the pieces in place for what will surely be an explosive final issue of the "Hell Hunt" arc, but for now, lots of standing and talking.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #305

Feb 19, 2020

It's a testament to how these books are written and put together that they're as accessible and engaging as they are even 300 issues deep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #306

Mar 18, 2020

A solid entry into this new era of Spawn, and though perhaps not the best jumping on point, still a fun read with great atmospheric artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Spawn #307

Jun 24, 2020

Tan's artwork remains unparalleled though, delivering the kinds of dynamic and versatile splash pages that keep you reading as the plot lags.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #308

Jul 29, 2020

Classic fans will be eager to pick this one up too though as it continues to tie the entire mythos together in a unique and prescient way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2019) #1

Dec 18, 2019

This debut issue is setting up a story that could be a fruitful deconstruction of the plot tropes that have become ingrained in the title for too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2019) #2

Jan 29, 2020

Taylor's group dynamic writing remains a high point and Redondo should be given even more opportunities to draw monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #3

Feb 26, 2020

The way you know that this series is a fun read is that even its slower, dialogue heavy moments are still a treat. You have to read this book if you're looking for something fresh in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #4

Mar 25, 2020

The new Suicide Squad written by Tom Taylor continues to impress, managing to fold in familiar faces in exciting ways that continue to push the plot forward and enhance its new roster of expendables.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 9, 2013

The Superior Spider-Man has a really ambitious plot that works surprisingly well. It's a well-written story with good touches of character, but the artwork just isn't up to par for what's going on here. Spider-Man purists might not like what's going on, but it seems like the future holds something bright for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Blackest Night #1

Nov 13, 2019

Amusing ideas aren't in short supply but Its ambition doesn't satisfy the clumsy handling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tarot (2020) #1

Jan 1, 2020

Davis has conceived of a narrative that fits into the grand ideas of the Marvel U and a perfect place for new fans to jump on for a story with their favorite characters from the big screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tarot (2020) #2

Jan 29, 2020

It may be a story that crosses generations, realms, and dimensions, but it feels intimate, and best of all it works. This is the secret event Marvel isn't telling you about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tarot (2020) #3

Feb 26, 2020

You need to be reading this series, it's grand.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tarot (2020) #4

Mar 25, 2020

If this was a wholly original story Hollywood would be in a bidding war over adapting it into a movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #1

Feb 12, 2020

It may take a bit of re-reading in the first part to grasp it all, but on the whole it's a stellar debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tartarus #2

Mar 18, 2020

Fans of Star Wars and Dune should take note of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #3

Jun 17, 2020

This sci-fi epic by writer Johnnie Christmas & artist Jack T. Cole remains a dense and tough to navigate story. If you can push through and engage though you'll find an engaging and prescient series that could be your new favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #4

Jul 22, 2020

Tartarus continues to check all the boxes for hard sci-fi and fantasy storytelling, delivering another issues that feels like a future staple of the genres in this medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thanos Rising #1

Apr 3, 2013

Thanos Rising is a rich comic. There's more material to chew on and discuss than a lot of comics ever hope to achieve. Aaron is a masterful character writer and even though the art isn't at its peak in some areas, Simone Bianchi still does a great job. I'm confident, that when completed, Thanos Rising will be a modern classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The End: Miles Morales #1

Jan 8, 2020

Few ideas about this world stand out as unique, and with so little connective tissue to Miles' overall journey it hits the ground with a thud instead of swinging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Fearless Defenders #1

Feb 6, 2013

I remember when I saw the roster for The Fearless Defenders I thought, 'I bet it'll be great, but I think it will be the first one to get cancelled.' I really want to be wrong, because it's a good series that offers a look at corners of the Marvel Universe that you're not going to get in the other comics. If you want to be up on the really obscure things happening in mainstream comics, this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion: Hazel and Cha Cha Save Christmas #1

Nov 20, 2019

Overall it's an interesting web to be spun, but doesn't play to the strengths of this franchise in a meaningful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Visitor (2019) #1

Dec 18, 2019

Some of the cleanest art you'll find in a modern superhero book (done with precision and admirable clarity by MJ Kim) can't save this bloated and meandering narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Visitor (2019) #4

Mar 18, 2020

The techno-babble plot can be left at the door but it wouldn't work at all without the visuals they bring to tie it all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor: God of Thunder #1

Nov 14, 2012

I was surprised to find a lot of restraint in this debut issue. There are really good ideas that Aaron and Ribic execute perfectly with little flack. Thor: God of Thunder is doing what every Marvel NOW! book should and that's redefine the character while staying true to what people love about them. This is already one of my favorites from the relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2012) #1

Dec 5, 2012

Thunderbolts is a solid debut issue. The writing is very good, but the direction of the story isn't there, so it might lose only half-interested readers quickly. Dillon's art has never looked better, but that's because the colorist does a lot of the heavy lifting. If you like any of the characters on this team, this is almost a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Uncanny X-Force (2013) #1

Jan 23, 2013

Uncanny X-Force is the kind of comic that will either really please or disappoint fans, there isn't much middle ground here. It feels like a rushed and silly debut issue that moves so fast, it's hard to even get a grasp for what is going to happen or what will happen. I hope this series gets more interesting. The characters in it are too good to fall into oblivion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #1

Feb 14, 2013

I understand that a #1 issue should set up the premise of the entire series, and Uncanny X-Men does that, but the amount of information it does a retread on from other X-Men issues released just weeks ago is almost offensive. I have faith that Bendis won't keep this up and turn Uncanny into its own title, but for the time being the only thing that will keep me reading is Chris Bachalo's amazing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Web Of Venom: The Good Son #1

Jan 22, 2020

Moments of greatness can be found in the art by Dio Neves but overall it cannot overcome the general lacklust in the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Witchfinder: The Reign of Darkness #1

Nov 27, 2019

Sadly a good first and final page don't make the whole story worthwhile just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Witchfinder: The Reign of Darkness #2

Dec 18, 2019

Artist Christopher Mitten's line work depicts a disheveled world, though perhaps intentional, it never quite works and makes the Witchfinder series as a whole one of the weakest chapters of this franchise in a visual sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Witchfinder: The Reign of Darkness #3

Jan 29, 2020

Perhaps overall this is a step above volume 4, but Witchfinder seems to not work much on his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Witchfinder: The Reign of Darkness #4

Feb 26, 2020

The pieces are finally together in this series as the two issues worth of droning exposition are out of the way and it's pure plot from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Witchfinder: The Reign of Darkness #5

Mar 25, 2020

In the end this experiment of offering a story from a throwaway line in a comic years ago doesn't seem to have worked overall beyond connecting further threads.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine (2013) #1

Mar 14, 2013

Wolverine isn't the be-all-end-all of "Wolverine" comics, but it is certainly trying to craft its own unique story for the character's mythology. As far as debut issues go, this isn't going to rock your world, but it could end up being a really neat arc for the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Legacy (2012) #1

Nov 14, 2012

X-Men Legacy is a very unique book. It's telling a story that you won't really see in the rest of the Marvel Universe and given that its character is a bit of an outcast, it might stay that way for good. Spurrier and Eng Huat should be proud about what they've done here. This team has created a comic about a character that no one was really asking for in the Marvel U and made it a really interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Young Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 23, 2013

Young Avengers is at a disadvantage before it even got published, though. Part of the reason for Marvel NOW! is to create good jumping on points for new readers, but how many of them are going to willingly try a team of heroes they've never heard of? If I fancied a guess, not many, but what do I know. If you're reading this, consider yourself a new reader, and want to start reading quality comics and not just comics with your favorite hero in them. Young Avengers is as good a place as any to start. It has a good ensemble of characters, a wonderful message, and great artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More